DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Response, filed 12/18/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-3, 6-10 and 12-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima (US PGP 2013-0244156) in view of Daichi (Japanese Patent Application Publication No. 2021-039284) and further in view of Floess (US PGP 2007-0264502).
Kojima teaches a toner, including base particles and an external additive (Abstract). Kojima does not teach the specific formula of Bt – 0.025 x Ct, wherein Bt is a BET specific surface area of the toner particles, including the irregularities of both the surface of the base particles and the surface of the external additive (Applicant Specification [0139]), and Ct is a percent coverage by the external additive. Applicant’s specification teaches that this formula represents the BET specific surface area of the toner base particles ([0191] line 1-3), and is used as an indicator of surface smoothness of the base particles ([0140]). Kojima directly teaches a BET specific surface area of the toner base particles of 2.5 to 5.0 m2/g ([0048]) rather than the value being represented by a formula. Exemplary toners 7-12, 24-29 and 41-46 possess BET specific surface areas of 2.5 m2/g (Table 2). Controlling this value is important for ensuring the desired coverage of the external additives and how well they stay affixed to the toner particles (Kojima [0048], Applicant [0138]). Based on the base particles having similar smoothness and amounts of external additives added (Kojima, 4.6 parts additives to 100 parts toner base particles [0273]; Applicant, 4.5 parts additives to 100 parts toner base particles [0327]), the coverage percentage of the external additives would also be similar. Kojima teaches that the toner average circularity is 0.97-1.0 ([0173]). The external additive may be silica that is surface treated to increase hydrophobicity ([0121]).
The toner may be used as a two-component developer ([0002]) and the toner is contained in the developing device ([0225]). Kojima teaches an image forming apparatus comprising a photoreceptor (image bearing member), a charger, an exposure device, a developing device, a transferring unit, and a fixing unit ([0217]).
Kojima is silent regarding a THF insoluble component having a glass transition temperature obtained from a differential scanning calorimetry curve at a second warming. However, Daichi teaches a toner having a THF insoluble component having a glass transition temperature, Tg2nd, of -45°C to 5°C (Abstract). A Tg2nd of lower than -45°C lowers the storage stability of the toner, and a Tg2nd of higher than 5°C reduces the low-temperature fixability, and does not suppress peeling of the image ([0016]). Daichi also teaches that the toner circularity should be 0.985 or less in order to improve the cleaning property of the toner and suppress image peeling ([0157] line 6-9). Daichi teaches an external additive that may be silica ([0140]) that is hydrophobized with a silane coupling agent such as methyltrimethoxysilane and methyltriethoxysilane ([0143]), with have an alkyl group with less than 4 carbon atoms. Although Kojima and Daichi employ different methods of solving the problem of low-temperature fixability, a capsule structured toner for Kojima ([0010-11]), and a polyester containing a THF-insoluble component for Daichi ([0008],[0012]), neither teach away from the other methods of addressing the problem. A person of ordinary skill in the art may choose to combine solutions to the same problem to try and produce a toner with improved results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the toner of Kojima to have included a THF-insoluble component having a Tg2nd of -45°C to 5°C and a circularity of not more that 0.985 in order to have produced a toner with good storage stability, low temperature fixability, good cleaning properties, and that does not peel.
Kojima and Daichi teach an external additive of silica with a hydrophobic surface treatment (Kojima [0121], Daichi [0140], [0143]), but both Kojima and Daichi are silent regarding also coating the silica with a metal oxide or hydroxide. Floess teaches a composite metal oxide particle for use with toner that comprises a first metal oxide and a coating consisting of a second metal oxide (Abstract). The first and second metal oxides are selected from the group consisting of silica, alumina, titania, tin oxide, zinc oxide, and cerium oxide ([0017] line 5-7). From this short list of oxides, a particle comprising a core of silica with a coating of zinc oxide would be easily achieved. When the coating consists of a second metal oxide different from the first metal oxide, the composite metal oxide particles advantageously combines the properties of the individual metal oxides ([0019]). The primary particle diameter of the core of the external additive is 5 to 400 nm ([0021]), and the average particle diameter of the composite particle is substantially similar to the diameter of the core ([0028]). The particles may be surface treated with a hydrophobic treating agent such as a silane treating agent ([0031]). The silane treating agent is represented by the general formula (R5)nSiX4-n, wherein R5 may be an alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms ([0034]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the external additive to be a composite metal oxide in order to produce a particle having the benefits of both oxides.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 01/12/2026