Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is a non-final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 10/20/2025. Claims 2 – 4, 8 – 9, 11 – 12, and 20 are canceled. Claims 1, 5 – 7, 10, 13 and 18 – 19 are amended. Claims 14 – 17 remain withdrawn.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office action are withdrawn. A new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment is presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for reciting “a cathode including an aluminum foil and printed cathode active material NCM811” and further “wherein the single-ion conducting polymer solid electrolyte comprises a solid electrolyte cured layer, a cathode layer and an electrolyte…where the cathode layer comprises a conducting agent and the photocurable composition mixed with a cathode active material”. Specifically, because the claimed recites “printed cathode active material NCM811” and “a cathode active material” it is unclear if the printed active material of the cathode is the same as the active material of the claimed cathode layer or a different, separate active material.
A review of the instant specification reveals that there is only one cathode structure included in the lithium-metal battery of the instant invention and that active material of the cathode layer is the same cathode active material of the cathode (See Fig. 1 and [0089 – 0094];[0096]). As such, for the purpose of this Office action, the examiner is interpreting the limitation “where the cathode layer comprises a conducting agent and the photocurable composition mixed with a cathode active material” to recite -- where the cathode layer comprises a conducting agent and the photocurable composition mixed with the cathode active material NCM811--.
Additionally, the term “thin ” in line 9 of claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim {i.e. there is no recitation regarding what thickness/thicknesses constitute as “thin”}, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 – 7, 10, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama (US 6,420,072 B1, cited in previous Office action mailed 07/31/2025) in view of Lee (US PG Pub. 2005/0196677 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 07/31/2025), Ishidai (JP2011054463A, cited in previous Office action mailed 07/31/2025), Choi (WO2018190644A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 07/31/2025); Choi (KR20030022588A, cited in previous Office action mailed 07/31/2025), hereinafter Choi II, Park (KR20180020423A, cited in previous Office action mailed 07/31/2025), and Thielen (US PG Pub. 2020/0274124 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 10, Maruyama discloses a single-ion conducting polymer solid electrolyte, that is Murayama teaches a ionically conductive polyelectrolyte gel membrane formed from polymeric and electrolytic components {i.e. nonaqueous solvent and lithium salts} that is applicable as a secondary battery cell electrolyte membrane (Col. 3, lines 66 – 67; Col. 4, lines 1 – 16; Col. 11, lines 2 – 6; Col. 9, lines 33 – 39; Col. 12, lines 54 – 56), which one with ordinary skill in the art would recognize to be a single-ion conducting polymer solid electrolyte.
Murayama further teaches, when using the polymer gel electrolyte for a battery, forming the gel in shape of membrane having a thickness of 1 – 500 µm (Col. 11, lines 54 – 56); and further teaches forming the polyelectrolyte gel by curing {i.e. polymerizing using ultraviolet rays and a photoinitiator} and adding electrolyte {i.e. electrolyte solvent and salts} (Col. 9, lines 33 – 58; Col. 12, lines 22 – 30); therefore Murayama further discloses where the single-ion conducting polymer solid electrolyte comprises a solid electrolyte cured layer and electrolyte.
Murayama further discloses wherein the solid electrolyte cured layer comprises solid electrolyte paste (polyelectrolyte gel solution; Col. 10, lines 1 – 5), comprising a network polymer (polymer component possessing cross-linked, three dimensionally reticulated structure; Col. 4, lines 4 – 16) polymerized from a composition containing a cationic monomer {i.e. monomer having nitrogen-containing functional group} and a polyfunctional monomer {i.e. crosslinkable monomer having at least two reactive functional groups} (Col. 5, lines 21 – 28 and lines 38 – 53; Col. 7, lines 55 – 67; Col. 8, lines 1 – 7).
Murayama does not explicitly disclose the composition to be photocurable; however, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the composition to be photocurable, because Murayama exemplifies polymerizing by ultraviolet rays with benzyldimethyl ketal as a polymerization catalyst (Refer to Example 42; Col, 21 lines 27 – 42), and such a curing method and polymerization catalyst {i.e. photoinitiator} are disclosed to be used to polymerize the photocurable composition claimed/disclosed by the applicant in the instant specification (instant specification: [0081];[0086]).
Maruyama further teaches that the cationic functional group is a nitrogen-containing cationic functional group such as a free primary amino group, a free secondary amino group, a primary ammonium based, a secondary ammonium base, a tertiary ammonium base, or a quaternary ammonium base (Col. 4 lines 65 – 67; Col. 5 lines 1 – 7). By including a quaternary ammonium base as an in a finite list of cationic functional groups, Murayama further appears to render obvious the claimed structure of a cationic monomer including a quaternary ammonium group.
Specifically, since Murayama teaches a finite selection of nitrogen-containing cationic functional groups for the monomer having the nitrogen-containing functional group {i.e. corresponds to claimed a cationic monomer}, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select as the nitrogen-containing cationic functional group, a quaternary ammonium base, with a reasonable expectation of success that such a selection of functional group would be suitable for the monomer and further the polyelectrolyte gel composition [See MPEP 2143(I)(E)].
In addition to the polymer component, the polymer gel of Murayama is taught to formed using electrolyte {i.e. lithium salt dissolved in nonaqueous solvent} (Col. 9, lines 33 – 30).
Murayama does not explicitly disclose the solid electrolyte paste further comprising 100 parts by weight of inorganic nanoparticles with respect to 100 parts by weight of the photocurable composition.
Lee, also directed to polymer electrolyte applicable in lithium secondary batteries, teaches adding a cationic single-ion conducting inorganic filler particles to a polymer matrix of a lithium ion secondary battery polymer electrolyte to achieve an increase in ionic conductivity ([0017];[0021];[0042]). The cationic inorganic filler particles are further taught by Lee to increase high rate discharge characteristics and prevent an increase of inner resistance during charging and discharge cycling ([0021]).
Since Murayama is concerned with achieving a polymer gel with improvements in ion conductivity (Col. 1, lines 64 – 67), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gel membrane of Maruyama by adding a cationic inorganic filler, as taught by Lee, with a reasonable expectation of success in further improving the ionic conductivity of Maruyama’s polyelectrolyte gel membrane and achieving improved charging/discharging characteristics.
Modified Murayama, as established above; however, does not particularly disclose the cationic inorganic filler to be nanoparticles.
Ishidai, also directed to polymer electrolyte compositions, teaches when adding inorganic filler particles to a solid polymer electrolyte composition for a secondary battery, having the particle size be 100 nm or less, and more preferably 20 nm or less ([0029 – 0030];[0092];[110]). Ishidai further teaches that particle sizes greater than 100 nm will have greater difficultly gelling ionic liquid with sufficient strength when forming the electrolyte ([0110]). Like the particles of Lee, the inorganic filler particles of Ishidai are taught to provide improvements in ionic conductivity and also may be inorganic oxides ([0104 – 0105]).
Since modified Murayama’s electrolyte is a gel electrolyte and includes inorganic filler particles with a similar function to Ishidai’s particles, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to particularly control the particle size be on the nanoscale, as taught by Ishidai, and thus obtain the claimed inorganic nanoparticles, with a reasonable expectation of success that such a particle size selection would be suitable for the particles of modified Murayama and further be capable of achieving the desired ionic conductivity improvement effect.
Modified Murayama, as established above includes inorganic nanoparticles; however the nanoparticles are not particularly disclosed to be coated with a metal oxide layer having a thickness between 1 nm and 50 nm and further the metal oxide layer containing titanium dioxide and silicon dioxide (Claim 10).
Park teaches a gel polymer electrolyte membrane including modified inorganic particles having a core-shell structure where the core portion includes aluminum-doped lithium lanthanum titanate (A-LLTO), lithium aluminum germanium phosphate (LAGP), or lithium aluminum titanium phosphate (LATP), and the shell portion includes at least one of silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, zirconium oxide, zirconium nitride, zirconium oxynitride, and aluminum oxide ([0010];[0013];[0016 – 0019]). The shell of the particles in Part are taught to have a thickness of 1 – 10 nm ([0024]). Park further teaches a particular embodiment of the core-shell particles including LLTO as the core and m-SiO2 as the shell (Figs. 4 and 6; [0088]). The core-shell structure is taught to allow for improvements in ionic conductivity and the suppression of lithium dendrite growth, and the silicon dioxide shell is further particularly taught to provide increased chemical stability even when in contact with lithium metal ([0083];[0090]).
Since modified Murayama already teaches, from a finite list of materials, using silica as an inorganic particle material (Lee: [0042]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the inorganic particles of modified Murayama by coating them with a shell including silicon dioxide, as taught and exemplified by Park, and obtain the claimed inorganic particle with a metal oxide coating layer having a thickness within the range of 1 – 50 nm {i.e. 1 – 10 nm}, with a reasonable expectation of success that such a structure would be suitable for the inorganic particles of modified Murayama’s gel electrolyte and further capable of achieving the desired ionic conductivity improvement effect as well as the benefits of lithium dendrite growth inhibition and increased chemical stability.
Ishidai further teaches that combinations of inorganic oxides including Groups IIA to VA metals, such magnesium, silicon, zirconium, and titanium are suitable core-shell inorganic filler particle materials, and further that such materials are capable of providing ionic conductivity improvements ([0092];[0104]).
Therefore, because Park teaches that more than one material can included in the shell layer of the particles, and Ishida teaches that silicon and titanium oxides are a compatible combination of inorganic oxides for core-shell structures of inorganic particles, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further include titanium dioxide in the shell of modified Murayama’s inorganic particles, with a reasonable expectation of success in further achieving the ionic conductivity improvement effect desired by modified Murayama as well as increased chemical stability of the particles.
Lee further teaches including the filler in an amount of 1 – 100 wt% based on the total amount of polymers constituting the polymer matrix ([0048]); therefore, modified Murayama includes an amount of cationic organic filler encompassing the claimed range of 100 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the photocurable composition.
Choi II teaches a polymer electrolyte including a polymer resin for forming a matrix, an inorganic filler, a plasticizer, and a solvent ([15];[38]). The Choi II teaches using inorganic filler such as silica, kaolin, and alumina, and further teaches having the content of inorganic filler be within the range of 10 – 200 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the polymer resin ([40]). Choi II further teaches that the inorganic filler plays a role in improving the mechanical strength of the polymer electrolyte, and that increases in the content of inorganic filler allow for improvements in ion conductivity and mechanical property properties while excessive amounts of inorganic filler {i.e. above taught range} can negatively impact the film formation capability of the electrolyte composition ([40]).
Selection of an amount of inorganic particles within the overlapping portion of Modified Murayama’s taught range, the range taught by Choi II, and the claimed range would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the mechanical characteristics and ionic conductivity of modified Murayama’s gel electrolyte, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)].
With respect to the electrolyte, modified Murayama further discloses the electrolyte being a mixed solution in which a lithium salt is dissolved (Murayama: Col. 9, lines 33 – 39) and where the electrolyte is 100 – 5, 000 parts by weight (Col. 10, lines 1- 4), which overlaps the claimed range of 50 -30 parts by weight, with respect to 100 parts by weight of the photocurable composition.
Murayama further teaches that lower amounts of the electrolyte solvent decreases the flexibility and processability of the gel while higher amounts of electrolyte solvent leaves a non-solid/viscous product or causes phase separation of the gel and solvent (Col. 10, lines 4 – 14).
Selection of an amount of electrolyte within the overlapping portion of Murayama’s taught range and the claimed range would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the structure, flexibility, and processability of the Murayama’s gel electrolyte, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Modified Murayama does not explicitly disclose the solid electrolyte paste having a shear rate and a viscosity having a logarithmic relationship with the viscosity equal to or less than 104 cP for the shear rate between 0 and 10 s or the single-ion conducting polymer solid electrolyte having a current density that is stable at 0.0 mA cm-2 in a voltage range between 0 and 6 V vs Li+/Li; a thermal stability with less than 5% reduction in mass between 30 °C and 150 °C; an ion conductivity of 4.04x10-4 S/cm; and a lithium-ion (Li+) transference number of 0.91; however one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the polymer solid electrolyte of modified Murayama as, established above to possess/provide the claimed shear rate and a viscosity relationship, current density property, thermal stability, ion conductivity, and Li-ion transference number in light of the solid electrolyte of modified Murayama rendering obvious the claimed composition/structure of the electrolyte, indicated in the instant specification to provide such properties {i.e. the instant specification indicates that the claimed properties are dependent on electrolyte composition/structure {i.e. even more specifically the composition/structure of the electrolyte, cationic inorganic particles, and cationic monomer in the composition (Instant specification: [0039 – 0040];[0045];[0059 – 0060];[0067];[0071])}. Furthermore, the examiner notes that Murayama already teaches obtaining a gel that is heat resistant {i.e. can be heat to 80°C without loss of gel (Col. 12, lines 4 – 16)} and superior in ion conductivity {i.e. 3.0 X 10^-3 S/cm or higher (See Tables 1 – 5) , which would reasonably be expected to further increase when including the inorganic particles as established above). Furthermore, the courts have found where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation/obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430 433 (CXPA 19771).
Murayama teaches using the gel as an electrolyte for a secondary battery (Col. 12, lines 54 – 56) but does not disclose the particulars of the battery; therefore, modified Murayama does not explicitly disclose an all solid-state lithium-metal battery, comprising an anode including a lithium metal foil and a copper foil; a cathode including an aluminum foil and printed cathode active material NCM811; and the single-ion conducting polymer solid electrolyte as established above positioned between the cathode and the anode.
Ishidai teaches utilizing a photocurable polymer electrolyte composition as a solid electrolyte in a secondary battery comprising a positive electrode and a negative electrode ([0124];[0126];[0132 – 0133];[0136];[0143]) . The current collector for the positive electrode is particularly taught to be aluminum and the scope of Ishidai’s taught positive electrode active materials include lithium nickel composite oxides ([0136 – 0137]). With respect to the negative electrode, Ishidai’s taught scope include lithium negative electrodes formed from lithium foil attached to copper foil ([0143]). Ishidai’ taught methods of coating the active material onto the collector includes coating methods taught by the applicant to be printing methods {i.e. blade/bar coating}, as such Ishidai further appears to include within its taught scope of suitable electrode configurations, printed electrodes (Ishidai: [0156]; Instant specification: [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when implementing the polymer gel of modified Murayama as an secondary battery electrolyte membrane, to select an anode including lithium metal foil and copper foil and a cathode including an aluminum foil and printed active NCM active material, and thus obtain an all-solid-state lithium-metal battery because such a selection of anode and cathode structures, based on Ishidai’s taught scope, would have a reasonable expectation of success in serving as suitable electrodes for the lithium secondary battery of modified Murayama.
Modified Murayama as established above does not particularly disclose a printed NCM811 cathode active material; however, selection of such cathode active material would have been obvious before the effective filing date because such a selection of cathode active material would be within Ishidai’s taught scope of suitable positive electrode active material ([0135 – 0136]) and further would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a battery with high energy density {i.e. Thielen, also directed to lithium-metal battery cells having polymer electrolytes, teaches that high-energy nickel cobalt manganese oxide, which one with ordinary skill in the art would recognize/appreciate to include NCM811, is a known suitable composite oxide material for such batteries and further is known to provide cells having high energy densities ([0150];[0154 – 0155])}.
The battery of modified Maruyama as established above does not explicitly disclose the solid electrolyte paste being formed as a uniform thin coat on the lithium metal foil; however, the limitation “is formed as a uniform thin coat on the lithium metal foil” is a product-by-process limitation and thus is not limited by the recited steps but rather the structure implied by the steps [See MPEP 2113]. As such, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the instant limitation is determined to include a solid electrolyte layer on a lithium metal foil, and, as the battery of modified Maruyama above includes the modified polymer gel as a 1 – 500 µm thick membrane between the anode and cathode and since the anode is a Li-metal anode where lithium metal foil is placed on a copper foil (Maruyama: Col. 12, lines 54 – 56; Ishidai: [0143]), modified Maruyama’s battery structure necessarily includes the claimed structure of a solid electrolyte paste formed as a uniform thin coat on the lithium metal foil.
Modified Maruyama, as established above, does not explicitly disclose the claimed structure of where the single-ion conducting polymer solid electrolyte includes a cathode layer; the cathode layer is formed as a uniform coat on the solid electrolyte layer; and the cathode layer comprises a conducting agent and the photocurable composition mixed with the cathode active material NCM811--.
Thielen, also directed to lithium-metal battery cells having polymer electrolytes teaches a lithium-meta; battery with a structure including a cathode 2 , a lithium metal anode 3 and a separator 4 disposed between the cathode and anode (Fig. 1; [0154]). The separator is taught to encompass a borate-based polyelectrolyte and/or a sulfonic acid-based polyelectrolyte and/or an imide-based, in particular sulfonylimide-based polyelectrolyte, and/or a polyelectrolyte on the basis of lithiated acrylic acid and/or methacrylic acid and further ceramic and/or glass-like, inorganic ion conductor, in particular single-ion conductor, having a lithium-ion transference number >0.7, for example a lithium argyrodite and/or a sulfidic glass ([0155]). The cathode, in addition cathode active material, is taught to include conductive additive as well as at least one single-ion-conducting polyelectrolyte and/or at least one lithium argyrodite and/or sulfidic glass ([0156]). Thielen also teaches that the single-ion-conducting polyelectrolyte of the cathode can be the same or similar to the single-ion-conducting polyelectrolyte of the separator ([0157];[0159]). The use of polyelectrolyte in the cathode active material layer is taught by Thielen to allow for a lithium-metal with rapid charging and discharging capabilities and an extended service life ([0101 – 0104]).
Since the battery of Murayama includes a polyelectrolyte gel as a electrolyte membrane, and further, as established above, is of a composition that would allow it to be single-ion conducting, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when forming the lithium metal-battery of Murayama to further include the polyelectrolyte in the cathode active material layer with conductive additive, as taught by Thielen, and thus obtain the claimed cathode layer single-ion conducting polymer solid electrolyte further including a cathode layer comprising a conducting agent and the photocurable composition mixed with the cathode active material NCM811, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a lithium-metal with rapid charging and discharging capabilities and an extended service life
The battery of modified Maruyama as established above does not explicitly disclose the cathode layer being formed as a uniform coat on the solid electrolyte cured layer; however, the limitation “is formed as a uniform thin coat on the lithium metal foil” is a product-by-process limitation and thus is not limited by the recited steps but rather the structure implied by the steps [See MPEP 2113]. As such, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the instant limitation is determined to include a cathode layer included on a solid electrolyte layer, and, as the battery of modified Maruyama above includes the modified polymer gel in layer {i.e. membrane} between the anode and cathode and since the cathode active material layer the faces and contacts the gel electrolyte membrane in the battery, modified Maruyama’s battery structure necessarily further includes the claimed structure of the cathode layer formed as a uniform coat on the solid electrolyte cured layer.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Maruyama discloses all limitation as set forth above. Maruyama further teaches that the number of nitrogen-containing cationic functional groups, which correspond to the claimed polymerizable functional groups, is not limited to one group per molecule and teaches that there can be two or more as an alternative to a single group (Col. 6, lines 10 – 15 and lines 25 – 31).
Since Maruyama presents cationic monomers {i.e. unsaturated monomers having nitrogen containing the cationic functional group} including two or more nitrogen-containing cationic functional groups as an obvious variant to cationic monomers having a single group, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to select a cationic monomer with two or more nitrogen-containing cationic functional groups, and thus obtain a monomer with a number of functional groups that overlaps the claimed range two to six polymerizable functional groups, with a reasonable expectation of success that such a selection would be a suitable cationic monomer for the polyelectrolyte gel of Maruyama.
The nitrogen-containing functional group is taught to scavenge counter ions from the lithium compound used as electrolyte in the gel, and by doing so, enhances the transport number of lithium ions (Col. 4, lines 33 – 40). The functional groups included in the polymer components are also suggested to be essential to retaining the structure of the gel {i.e. needed for crosslinking} (Col. 5, lines 7 – 28).
Absent demonstrated criticality, selection of a number of functional groups within the overlapping portion of the claimed range and the taught range would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to routinely optimize the transport number of lithium ions and gel electrolyte structure, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [see MPEP 214405(II)].
Regarding Claims 7 and 18, modified Maruyama discloses all limitation as set forth above. Maruyama teaches a finite list of crosslinkable monomers {i.e. corresponds to claimed polyfunctional monomer} that overlaps in scope with the list of polyol ester-based acrylic compounds exemplified by the applicant in the instant specification (Maruyama: Col. 7, lines 58 – 67 and Col. 8, lines 1 – 14; Instant specification: [0058]).
Maruyama does not explicitly disclose an embodiment wherein the polyfunctional monomer is a polyol ester-based acrylic compound (Claim 7).
However, since Maruyama teaches a finite list of crosslinkable monomers, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select a crosslinkable monomer within the overlapping scope of Maruyama taught examples and the applicant’s taught examples, and thus obtain a polyfunctional monomer that is a polyol ester-based acrylic compound, with a reasonable expectation of success that such a selection would be a suitable crosslinkable monomer for the polyelectrolyte gel of Maruyama.
As established above, the crosslinkable monomer {i.e. corresponds to claimed polyfunctional monomer} of modified Maruyama is a polyol ester-based acrylic compound, such as trimethylolpropane triacrylate {i.e. example monomer included in overlapping portion of Maruyama’s taught list and the list included in the instant specification} (Col. 8, lines 1 – 14; Instant specification: [0058]). The crosslinkable monomers taught by Maruyama are taught to generally have at least two reaction functional groups and Maruyama exemplifies using compounds having up to four or more reactive functional groups (Col. 7, lines 55 – 57 and Col 8, lines 13 – 15). Maruyama further teaches that the number of nitrogen-containing cationic functional groups, which correspond to the claimed polymerizable functional groups, is not limited to one group per molecule and teaches that there can be two or more as an alternative to a single group (Col. 6, lines 10 – 15 and lines 25 – 31).
As such, Murayama teaches amounts of functional groups for the polyol ester-based acrylic compound {i.e. crosslinkable monomer} and cationic monomer capable of providing the claimed structure of wherein a number of polymerizable functional groups of the polyol ester-based acrylic compound is greater than a number of polymerizable functional groups of the cationic monomer (Claim 18), but does not explicitly disclose an embodiment with the clamed structure.
The reactive functional groups on the crosslinking monomer is taught to allow for the crosslinked polymer structure of the gel electrolyte (Col. 7, lines 11 – 32). Additionally, the amount of crosslinkable monomer is taught to effect the degree of crosslinking, specifically a smaller amount of crosslinkable monomer results in a lower degree of crosslinking {i.e. low hear resistance/difficult to solidify gel} while a larger amount of crosslinkable monomer results in a higher degree of crosslinking {i.e. harder, more brittle polymer/high chance of gel developing cracks} (Col. 7, lines 33 – 48). One with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, since the reactive functional groups on the crosslinking monomer are responsible for crosslinking, that the number of reactive groups would also affect the crosslinking degree. The nitrogen-containing functional group is taught to scavenge counter ions from the lithium compound used as electrolyte in the gel, and by doing so, enhances the transport number of lithium ions (Col. 4, lines 33 – 40).
However, absent demonstrated criticality, selection of a number of functional groups for the polyol ester-based acrylic compound and cationic monomer that provides the claimed structure would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, because such a number of functional groups is within the scope of Murayama’s taught ranges, and would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a gel electrolyte with the desired crosslinked polymer structure and transport number of lithium ions.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Maruyama discloses all limitation as set forth above. Modified Murayama, as established above, renders obvious the claimed li-metal ion battery including the composition of the solid electrolyte as well as the particular anode and cathode compositions (Refer to rejection of claim 1 above). As such, while not explicitly disclosed to be operated at 4.V or higher, based on the battery of modified Murayama including the battery structure claimed/taught to be required to operate at the claimed voltage range (Instant Specification: [0076 – 0077];[0094];[0097 – 0098];[0101]), one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the battery of modified Murayama to be capable of operating at the claimed operating voltage range. {Examiner Note: The recitation “is operated at 4.0 V or higher” appears to establish an intended use for the claimed battery rather than a distinct definition of the claimed invention’s limitations, and a claim containing recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim [See MPEP 2114(II)].}
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama (US 6,420,072 B1) in view of Lee (US PG Pub. 2005/0196677 A1), Ishidai (JP2011054463A), Choi (WO2018190644A1); Choi II (KR20030022588A), Park (KR20180020423A) and Thielen (US PG Pub. 2020/0274124 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujioka (US PG Pub. US 2012/0321963 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 07/31/2025).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Maruyama discloses all limitation as set forth above. Murayama generally teaches the unsaturated monomer having nitrogen-containing cationic functional group to be a monomer having functional groups such as primary amino group, secondary amino group, tertiary amino group, primary ammonium base, secondary ammonium base, tertiary ammonium base, quaternary ammonium base, nitrogen-containing heterocyclic residue, residue of heterocyclic salt which has become a cation or the like (Col. 5, lines 64 – 67 and Col. 6, lines 1 – 4).
Modified Murayama does not particularly disclose wherein the cationic monomer comprises diallyldimethyl ammonium bromide or diallyldimethyl ammonium chloride.
Fujioka teaches a gel electrolyte composition including vinyl acetal polymer containing a cationic functional group ([0034]). The polymer is further taught to be prepared by acetalizing a copolymer of a vinyl ester monomer and a polymerizable monomer having a cationic functional group, and Fujioka teaches a preference for using diallyldimethylammonium chloride, (3-methacrylamidepropyl) trimethylammonium chloride and (3-acrylamide-3,3-dimethylpropyl)trimethylammonium chloride as the polymerizable monomers having a cationic functional group ([0026]). Diallyldimethylammonium is taught by Fujioka to be monomer comprising a quaternary ammonium group ([0049]).
Since Murayama generally teaches using monomers having a nitrogen-containing cationic functional group and exemplifies quaternary ammonium groups as a suitable functional group, and since Fujioka teaches a finite list of preferred monomers, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a monomer comprising diallyldimethylammonium chloride, as taught by Fujioka, and thus obtain a cationic monomer within the claimed scope, with a reasonable expectation of success that such a selection of monomer would be suitable for the gel electrolyte composition of modified Murayama.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes:
Song (US 2010/0108955 A1): teaches polyelectrolyte complex comprising anionic polymer and cationic polymer and the cationic polymers include quaternary ammonium group (See abstract and [0025 – 0027]; however does appear to explicitly teach/suggest application as battery electrolyte.
Kim (US 2021/0005930 A1): teaches solid polymer electrolyte composition and the electrolyte composition is photocurable (See abstract); however, is silent to the inclusion of a cationic monomer.
Lee (KR20190019026A): teaches a lithium secondary battery having two different gel polymer electrolytes and the gel polymer electrolytes are tailored to the negative and positive electrode ([0033 – 0034]); however silent to the inclusion of cationic monomers.
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 5/21/2026