DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 2/18/2026. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 14-17, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. “Yuan” US 2024/0089066 in view of Zhou et al. “Zhou” US 2024/0014975.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Yuan teaches a method and a user equipment (UE) (Figure 5 shows the components of a UE communicating with a base station (See Figure 6), comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive first configuration information including a list of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (the base station sends the TCI state list (428) to the UE; See Figures 4a and 4b, see also Figure 7 step 710 see also Figure 8 step 810/8200; Paragraph 86 which teaches the UE receives the TCI state list from the base station);
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to autonomously determine TCI states, from the list of TCI states, to activate (Paragraph 89 step 730 see also step 830, the UE receives the TCI list from the base station and the UE can apply the TCI states corresponding to the identifiers within the TCI activation. Thus, one can see the UE determines to apply a TCI state (i.e. autonomously determining the TCI state);
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to a base station (BS), information indicating the activated TCI states (step 830 teaches the UE transmits the TCI state associated with a TCI state which is activated);
wherein the first configuration information or a second configuration information includes a quantity of the TCI states from the list of TCI states, to activate (the base station sends the TCI state list (428) to the UE; See Figures 4a and 4b, see also Figure 7 step 710 see also Figure 8 step 810/820; Paragraph 86 which teaches the UE receives the TCI state list from the base station. This list is the information of TCI states that can be activated by the UE. Paragraphs 71, 76, and 18 further disclose the TCI activation includes a TCI state identifier identifying a TCI state within the pool to activate);
wherein:
the processor activates only one UL/Dl/Joint TCI state (the UE may apply a single TCI state for the physical channels; Paragraphs 60-61. This is viewed as activating only one TCI state for either UL or DL or joint);
The state indicates a QCL update after time T1 (Paragraph 83 teaches the TCI states corresponding to changes in QCL. Thus one can see there is a direct link between the TCI state activation and QCL Further, the base station provides beam indication information for activated TCI states. A UE may acknowledge the beam indication and after that, there may be DL TCIs for QCL information. Thus one can see the QCL would be after time T1 which is the beam application time measured from a time of ACK of the activated states as claimed).
Yuan does not expressly disclose the UE determines TCI states to activate directly after measurement of RS associated with the TCI states; however, Zhou teaches the UE determines a TCI state to use without receiving additional message activate that TCI state. The UE measures the pathloss reference signal without receiving any activation messages; Paragraph 112. Thus one can see the UE does not receive a message, and actives TCI states on its own after performing a measurement. Paragraphs 94-95 expressly show the base station does not tell the UE what TCI states to activate, and it is the UE that selects the best TCI state to activate and activates it by itself; Step 610 of Figure 6.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yuan to include a UE activating TCI states on its own after performing measurements of reference signals as taught by Zhou.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the base station can conserve network resources as taught by Zhou; Paragraph 94.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Yuan teaches transmitting, to the BS, a message including code points corresponding to the activated TCI state wherein the code points are activated UL/DL states and/or joint TCI states (Paragraphs 59-61 teaches joint TCI for DL and UL beam indication. Further paragraph 107 teaches that based on the information received from the UE the base station exchanges UL and DL transmissions with the UE. The information causing this to occur is the activating TCI states with respect to the physical channel (Figure 8)).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Yuan teaches receiving, from a BS code points corresponding to activated TCI states, the code points being UL/DL activated TCI states or joint activated states (Paragraphs 59-61 teaches joint TCI for DL and UL beam indication. Further paragraph 107 teaches that based on the information received from the UE the base station exchanges UL and DL transmissions with the UE. The base station sends TCI activation information as shown in (Figure 8). This information is the code points).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, Yuan teaches the activated TCI states is associated with a serving cell (the TCI states are transmit from a base for communication with the base station (See figures 4 and 8). The base station is serving the UE and thus viewed as a serving cell that the TCI states are associated with; Paragraph 63).
Regarding claim 8 Yuan teaches a base station (BS), comprising: a transceiver (Figure 5 shows the components of a UE communicating with a base station (See Figure 6) configured to:
transmit configuration information including a list of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states the base station sends the TCI state list (428) to the UE; See Figures 4a and 4b, see also Figure 7 step 710 see also Figure 8 step 810/820; Paragraph 86 which teaches the UE receives the TCI state list from the base station),
receive a list of activated TCI states based on the list of TCI states, wherein the activated TCI states to activate are autonomously determined by the UE from the list of TCI states (Paragraph 89 step 730, the UE receives the TCI list from the base station and the UE can apply the TCI states corresponding to the identifiers within the TCI activation. Thus, one can see the UE determines to apply a TCI state (i.e. autonomously determining the TCI state. Step 830 teaches the UE transmits the TCI state associated with a TCI state which is activated);
wherein the first configuration information or a second configuration information includes a quantity of the TCI states from the list of TCI states, to activate (the base station sends the TCI state list (428) to the UE; See Figures 4a and 4b, see also Figure 7 step 710 see also Figure 8 step 810/820; Paragraph 86 which teaches the UE receives the TCI state list from the base station. This list is the information of TCI states that can be activated by the UE. Paragraphs 71, 76, and 18 further disclose the TCI activation includes a TCI state identifier identifying a TCI state within the pool to activate);
wherein:
activating only one UL/Dl/Joint TCI state (the UE may apply a single TCI state for the physical channels; Paragraphs 60-61. This is viewed as activating only one TCI state for either UL or DL or joint);
The state indicates a QCL update after time T1 (Paragraph 83 teaches the TCI states corresponding to changes in QCL. Thus one can see there is a direct link between the TCI state activation and QCL Further, the base station provides beam indication information for activated TCI states. A UE may acknowledge the beam indication and after that, there may be DL TCIs for QCL information. Thus one can see the QCL would be after time T1 which is the beam application time measured from a time of ACK of the activated states as claimed).
Yuan does not expressly disclose the UE determines TCI states to activate directly after measurement of RS associated with the TCI states; however, Zhou teaches the UE determines a TCI state to use without receiving additional message activate that TCI state. The UE measures the pathloss reference signal without receiving any activation messages; Paragraph 112. Thus one can see the UE does not receive a message, and actives TCI states on it’s own after performing a measurement. Paragraphs 94-95 expressly show the base station does not tell the UE what TCI states to activate, and it is the UE that selects the best TCI state to activate and activates it by itself; Step 610 of Figure 6.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yuan to include a UE activating TCI states on its own after performing measurements of reference signals as taught by Zhou.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the base station can conserve network resources as taught by Zhou; Paragraph 94.
Regarding claim 9, Yuan teaches receiving a message including code points corresponding to the activate d TCI state wherein the code points are activated UL/DL states and/or joint TCI states (Paragraphs 59-61 teaches joint TCI for DL and UL beam indication. Further paragraph 107 teaches that based on the information received from the UE the base station exchanges UL and DL transmissions with the UE. The information causing this to occur is the activating TCI states with respect to the physical channel (Figure 8)).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan teaches transmitting code points corresponding to activated TCI states, the code points being UL/DL activated TCI states or joint activated states (Paragraphs 59-61 teaches joint TCI for DL and UL beam indication. Further paragraph 107 teaches that based on the information received from the UE the base station exchanges UL and DL transmissions with the UE. The base station sends TCI activation information as shown in (Figure 8). This information is the code points).
Regarding claim 14, Yuan teaches the activated TCI states is associated with a serving cell (the TCI states are transmit from a base for communication with the base station (See figures 4 and 8). The base station is serving the UE and thus viewed as a serving cell that the TCI states are associated with; Paragraph 63).
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Zhou and further in view of Bai et al. Bai” US 2022/0264577.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, while Yuan teaches the ability to send/receive TCI state lists, Yuan does not teach reactivating previously activated TCI states and replacing them with the activated TCI; however, Bai teaches replacing of previously TCI states by using an update for a TCI states which includes deactivating TCI states; Paragraph 24. Thus one can see previously activated TCI states are deactivated and replaced with the currently activated TCI states.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yuan to include deactivating and replacing previously activated TCI states as taught by Bai.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that that system can autonomously update a TCI state as taught by Bai; Paragraph 24.
Regarding claim 13, while Yuan teaches the ability to send/receive TCI state lists, Yuan does not teach reactivating previously activated TCI states and replacing them with the activated TCI; however, Bai teaches replacing of previously TCI states by using an update for a TCI states which includes deactivating TCI states; Paragraph 24. Thus one can see previously activated TCI states are deactivated and replaced with the currently activated TCI states.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yuan to include deactivating and replacing previously activated TCI states as taught by Bai.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that that system can autonomously update a TCI state as taught by Bai; Paragraph 24.
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Zhou and further in view of Yuan et al. “Yuan-2” US 2024/0040584.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Yuan does not expressly disclose the quantity of TCI states to activate is greater than 1 but less than all TCI states on the list; however, Yuan-2 teaches the UE receives a list of TCI state identifiers as well as a second group of TCI states to activate which the UE then activates; Paragraphs 183 and 194. As there is a first and second group of TCI states and the UE is activating the second group, for instance, this shows us that more than 1, but less than all TCI states are activated.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yuan to include activating more than 1 but less than all TCI states as taught by Yuan-2.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can provide repetitions across a set of configured CCs as taught by Yuan-2; Paragraph 183.
Regarding claim 24, Yuan does not expressly disclose the quantity of TCI states to activate is greater than 1 but less than all TCI states on the list; however, Yuan-2 teaches the UE receives a list of TCI state identifiers as well as a second group of TCI states to activate which the UE then activates; Paragraphs 183 and 194. As there is a first and second group of TCI states and the UE is activating the second group, for instance, this shows us that more than 1, but less than all TCI states are activated.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yuan to include activating more than 1 but less than all TCI states as taught by Yuan-2.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can provide repetitions across a set of configured CCs as taught by Yuan-2; Paragraph 183.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues the prior art does not teach or suggest the amended limitations from previous claim 5. In particular, Applicant argues Yuan’s teachings of applying a single TCI state for the multiple physical channels is not the same as activating only one UL/DL TCI state or joint TCI state because the “apply a single TCI state” in Yuan merely describes using one TCI state for certain channels and doesn’t teach the UE is constrained to activate only one UL/DL/joint TCI state. Applicant further argues there are a plurality of states in Yuan and thus Yuan teaches one or multiple activated states applies to physical channels.
Applicant further argues Yuan does not teach a beam application T1 that is measured from the time of an ACK of the activated TCI states.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph 61 of Yuan teaches implementing a TCI state for multiple channels. A TCI state would equate to a singular (i.e. only one) activated TCI state. The claim only requires the activation of a single TCI state which is what Yuan teaches. As shown, only a single/one TCI state is applied/activated. There is nothing in the claim that prevents the singular activated state to be only for one channel, thus Yuan can activate one state for multiple channels. The claims are also not limited in scope such that the UE is prevented from changing states. Thus even if Yuan determines a new TCI state later based on QCL information, only one state is still active at a given time.
Regarding the beam and QCL information Yuan teaches the spatial filters changing (Paragraphs 60, see also paragraph 125 where the QCL and spatial information is associated with the physical channels and included in the channel information). Paragraph 83 teaches the TCI states corresponding to changes in QCL. Thus one can see there is a direct link between the TCI state activation and QCL Further, the base station provides beam indication information for activated TCI states; Paragraph 86 (See also Figure 7). As the UE acknowledge the beam indication and after that, there may be DL TCIs for QCL information, one can see the QCL would be after time T1 which is the beam application time measured from a time of ACK of the activated states as claimed (Paragraph 60).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411