DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Applicant’s amendment for application 17/658,019 dated 10 September 2025, responding to the 21 August 2025 Office Action provided in the rejection of claims 1-20, wherein claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 13, 15, 19, and 20 have been amended, claims 5 and 14 have been cancelled, and new claims 21-22 have been added.
The indication of allowable subject matter presented in the previous Office action has been withdrawn in light of the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-22 remain pending in the application and have been fully considered by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs or columns and lines in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-13, 16-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (JointCloud: A Cross-Cloud Cooperation Architecture for Integrated Internet Service Customization) (Hereinafter Wang) in view of Kirti et al. (U.S. 2015/0172321) (Hereinafter Kirti), further in view Burks et al. (U.S. 2015/0350031) (Hereinafter Burks), further in view of Zhang, Wei (U.S. 2015/0058287) (Hereinafter Zhang), and further in view of Tse et al. (U.S. 9,552,473) (Hereinafter Tse – art made of record).
As per claim 1, Wang discloses a method for multi-cloud service provider operation (see for example Wang, this limitation is disclosed such that JointCloud provides for cooperation among multiple clouds to provide efficient cross-cloud services; Abstract), the method comprising:
generating a correlated data graphical user interface (GUI) based on correlating (see for example Wang, this limitation is disclosed such that data and resources derived from specific clouds can be jointed; p1851 section B. JointCloud enables different clouds to cooperate with each other via software definition, with middleware as an overlay invoking different clouds and providing a uniform interface (i.e. generating a correlated graphical user interface (GUI) based on correlating) to end-users; p.1848 section III);
Wang does not explicitly teach receiving first cloud account data from a first cloud service provider; receiving second cloud account data from a second cloud service provider; and receiving analyzed content from a first software vendor and a second software vendor, the analyzed content based on the first cloud account data and the second cloud account data.
However, Kirti discloses receiving first cloud account data from a first cloud service provider (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that cloud application information is received (paragraph [0071]), wherein a particular user’s accounts in different cloud applications may be linked by associating together the user identifier associated with the accounts (i.e. receiving cloud account data, first cloud account data inclusive); paragraph [0091]. Applications are from respective cloud application providers (i.e. receiving cloud account data from respective cloud service providers, first cloud service provider); paragraphs [0002], [0076]);
receiving second cloud account data from a second cloud service provider (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that cloud application information is received (paragraph [0071]), wherein a particular user’s accounts in different cloud applications may be linked by associating together the user identifier associated with the accounts (i.e. receiving cloud account data, second cloud account data inclusive); paragraph [0091]. Applications are from respective cloud application providers (i.e. receiving cloud account data from respective cloud service providers, second cloud service provider inclusive); paragraphs [0002], [0076]);
receiving analyzed content from a first software vendor and a second software vendor, the analyzed content based on the first cloud account data and the second cloud account data (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that a user identity repository contains information relating together the accounts of each user associated with a tenant; paragraph [0091]. Retrieving and analyzing activity data occurs, including analytics repository activity data from respective tenants associated with the cloud applications (i.e. receiving analyzed content from a first software vendor and a second software vendor, the analyzed content based on the first cloud account data and the second cloud account data); paragraphs [0043], [0099]); and
correlating the first cloud account data, the second cloud account data, and the analyzed content (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that user accounts and user identifier information is correlated; paragraph [0091]).
Wang in view of Kirti is analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, cloud management.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Wang by correlating account data as taught by Kirti because it would enhance the teaching of Wang with an effective means of generating recommendations or a user identified across multiple clouds (as suggested by Kirti, see for example paragraph [0090]).
Wang in view of Kirti does not explicitly teach receiving a cloud account update request via user input to the GUI; and identifying a first software module from a plurality of software modules, based on the cloud account update request.
However, Burks discloses receiving a cloud account update request via user input to the GUI (see for example Burks, this limitation is disclosed such that a generated graphical user interface (GUI) is used for controlling operation of controller functionality based on information, allowing a user to select actions (paragraphs [0040], [0089], [0176]), actions including establishing a pairing and receiving a user input for syncing (i.e. updating) a user’s account at a cloud-based service; paragraphs [0014], [0121]); and
identifying a first software module from a plurality of software modules, based on the cloud account update request (see for example Burks, this limitation is disclosed such that a correct data bundle for a user account is mapped to the user ID (i.e. identifying a first software module from the plurality of software modules), based on the user’s account identifiers at the cloud-based data service for a user’s device synchronization (i.e. cloud account update request); paragraph [0121]).
Wang in view of Kirti is analogous art with Burks because they are from the same field of endeavor, cloud management.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Wang in view of Kirti by identifying bundles (modules) for cloud account synchronization with a user interface as taught by Burks because it would enhance the teaching of Wang in view of Kirti with an effective means of facilitating a user access to an automated environment (as suggested by Burks, see for example paragraph [0126]).
Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks does not explicitly transmitting a signal to a first software module based on the cloud account update request, the signal comprising information to perform the cloud account update.
However, Zhang discloses transmitting a signal to a first software module based on a cloud account update request, the signal comprising information to perform a cloud account update (see for example Zhang, this limitation is disclosed such that a receiving module receives a data synchronization request sent by a mobile terminal, the synchronization request to change data for an account on a cloud server; paragraph [0094]. Modules can be realized by program codes which are executed by the computing device (i.e. modules are software modules); paragraph [0102]).
Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks is analogous art with Zhang because they are from the same field of endeavor, cloud management.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks by using modules as taught by Zhang because it would enhance the teaching of Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks with an effective means of reducing the transmitted traffic caused by data synchronization, reducing the resource consumption of the cloud server, and facilitating the satisfaction of diversified requirements of a user (as suggested by Zhang, see for example paragraph [0094]).
Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang does not explicitly teach the limitations wherein a correlated GUI displays information related to first cloud account data, second cloud account data, and analyzed content simultaneously, and wherein components of a GUI are organized based on correlating first account data, second account data, and analyzed content.
However, Tse discloses the limitations wherein a correlated GUI displays information related to first cloud account data, second cloud account data, and analyzed content simultaneously (see for example Tse, this limitation is disclosed such that a graphical user interface (GUI) displays a first login selector for a first user account, and concurrently displays a second login selector on the GUI for a second user account. The GUI further concurrently displays previews of stored whiteboard files from the first user account and the second user account. Restrictions to user access to whiteboard data in the GUI is based upon respective whiteboard data’s association with the first and second user’s privacy level; clm.1 and associated text), and
wherein components of a GUI are organized based on correlating first account data, second account data, and analyzed content (see for example Tse, this limitation is disclosed such that GUI user whiteboard previews are presented as tiles or folders and displayed being grouped chronologically, and further can be stacked, resized, or arranged on screen by the user (i.e. components of a GUI are organized based on correlating data and content); col.4 lines {19}-{48}, col.5 lines {6}-{24}).
Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang is analogous art with Tse because they are from the same field of endeavor, cloud management.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang by using a GUI as taught by Tse because it would enhance the teaching of Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang with an effective means of allowing a user to quickly pull and push data to and from a cloud-based storage system (as suggested by Tse, see for example col.7 lines {18}-{35}).
As per claim 2, Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Tse discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving first cloud account data includes: retrieving one or more user account credentials for one or more accounts with the first cloud service provider; and transmitting the one or more user account credentials to the first cloud service provider (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that for a plurality of accounts with different cloud services (i.e. a first cloud service provider inclusive, see paragraph [0106]), a tenant’s account credentials are provided by the tenant (i.e. retrieving one or more user account credentials for one or more accounts, see paragraph [0108]), and the credentials are used to log into the cloud application services for respective accounts (i.e. transmitting the one or more user account credentials) (paragraph [0062])).
As per claim 3, Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Tse discloses the method of claim 2, wherein receiving second cloud account data includes: retrieving one or more user account credentials for one or more accounts with the second cloud service provider; and transmitting the one or more user account credentials to the second cloud service provider (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that for a plurality of accounts with different cloud services (i.e. a second cloud service provider inclusive, see paragraph [0106]), a tenant’s account credentials are provided by the tenant (i.e. retrieving one or more user account credentials for one or more accounts, see paragraph [0108]), and the credentials are used to log into the cloud application services for respective accounts (i.e. transmitting the one or more user account credentials) (paragraph [0062])).
As per claim 4, Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Tse discloses the method of claim 1, wherein correlating the first cloud account data, the second cloud account data, and the analyzed content includes using a correlation machine learning model (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that machine learning techniques are used for analyzing data and building the user profiles; paragraph [0089]).
As per claim 7, Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Tse discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the cloud account update request includes a request pertaining to one or more accounts with the first cloud service provider and one or more accounts with the second cloud service provider (see for example Zhang, this limitation is disclosed such that synchronization (i.e. cloud account update requests) are for simultaneously using different accounts (i.e. pertaining to one or more accounts with the first cloud service provider and one or more accounts with the second cloud service provider); paragraph [0002]).
As per claim 8, Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Tse method of claim 7, wherein the signal to the first software module includes information to perform a cloud account update on at least one of the one or more accounts with the first cloud service provider and at least one of the one or more accounts with the second cloud service provider (see for example Zhang, this limitation is disclosed such that a synchronization request carries an identifier of the mobile terminal, time when the mobile terminal synchronizes data last time, and a synchronization account which synchronizes data between the mobile terminal and the cloud server).
As per claim 9, Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Tse discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first software module from the plurality of software modules is a module related to one or more of governance, security, data provisioning, or financial management (see for example Zhang, this limitation is disclosed such that the receiving module (i.e. first software module) is configured to receive a data synchronization request (i.e. related to data provisioning); paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 10, it is a system claim having similar limitations cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 10 is also rejected under the same rationales as cited in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, it is a system claim having similar limitations cited in claim 2. Thus, claim 11 is also rejected under the same rationales as cited in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, it is a system claim having similar limitations cited in claim 3. Thus, claim 12 is also rejected under the same rationales as cited in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, it is a system claim having similar limitations cited in claim 4. Thus, claim 13 is also rejected under the same rationales as cited in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, it is a system claim having similar limitations cited in claim 7. Thus, claim 16 is also rejected under the same rationales as cited in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, it is a system claim having similar limitations cited in claim 8. Thus, claim 17 is also rejected under the same rationales as cited in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 18, it is a system claim having similar limitations cited in claim 9. Thus, claim 18 is also rejected under the same rationales as cited in the rejection of claim 9.
As per claim 19, Wang discloses a computer-implemented method for multi-cloud service provider operation (see for example Wang, this limitation is disclosed such that JointCloud provides for cooperation among multiple clouds to provide efficient cross-cloud services; Abstract), the computer-implemented method comprising:
generating a correlated data graphical user interface (GUI) based on a correlation (see for example Wang, this limitation is disclosed such that data and resources derived from specific clouds can be jointed; p1851 section B. JointCloud enables different clouds to cooperate with each other via software definition, with middleware as an overlay invoking different clouds and providing a uniform interface (i.e. generating a correlated graphical user interface (GUI) based on correlating) to end-users; p.1848 section III);
Although Wang discloses generating a correlated data graphical user interface (GUI) based on a correlation, Wang does not explicitly teach retrieving one or more user account credentials for one or more accounts with a first cloud service provider; transmitting the one or more user account credentials to the first cloud service provider; receiving first cloud account data from the first cloud service provider; retrieving one or more user account credentials for one or more accounts with a second cloud service provider; transmitting the one or more user account credentials to the second cloud service provider; receiving second cloud account data from the second cloud service provider; receiving analyzed content from a software vendor, the analyzed content based on the first cloud account data and the second cloud account data, and generating…a correlation of the first cloud account data, the second cloud account data, and the analyzed content.
However, Kirti discloses retrieving one or more user account credentials for one or more accounts with a first cloud service provider; transmitting the one or more user account credentials to the first cloud service provider (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that for a plurality of accounts with different cloud services (i.e. a first cloud service provider inclusive, see paragraph [0106]), a tenant’s account credentials are provided by the tenant (i.e. retrieving one or more user account credentials for one or more accounts, see paragraph [0108]), and the credentials are used to log into the cloud application services for respective accounts (i.e. transmitting the one or more user account credentials) (paragraph [0062]));
receiving first cloud account data from the first cloud service provider (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that cloud application information is received (paragraph [0071]), wherein a particular user’s accounts in different cloud applications may be linked by associating together the user identifier associated with the accounts (i.e. receiving cloud account data, first cloud account data inclusive); paragraph [0091]. Applications are from respective cloud application providers (i.e. receiving cloud account data from respective cloud service providers, first cloud service provider); paragraphs [0002], [0076]);
retrieving one or more user account credentials for one or more accounts with a second cloud service provider; transmitting the one or more user account credentials to the second cloud service provider (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that for a plurality of accounts with different cloud services (i.e. a second cloud service provider inclusive, see paragraph [0106]), a tenant’s account credentials are provided by the tenant (i.e. retrieving one or more user account credentials for one or more accounts, see paragraph [0108]), and the credentials are used to log into the cloud application services for respective accounts (i.e. transmitting the one or more user account credentials) (paragraph [0062]));
receiving second cloud account data from the second cloud service provider (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that cloud application information is received (paragraph [0071]), wherein a particular user’s accounts in different cloud applications may be linked by associating together the user identifier associated with the accounts (i.e. receiving cloud account data, second cloud account data inclusive); paragraph [0091]. Applications are from respective cloud application providers (i.e. receiving cloud account data from respective cloud service providers, second cloud service provider inclusive); paragraphs [0002], [0076]);
receiving analyzed content from a software vendor, the analyzed content based on the first cloud account data and the second cloud account data (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that a user identity repository contains information relating together the accounts of each user associated with a tenant; paragraph [0091]. Retrieving and analyzing activity data occurs, including analytics repository activity data from respective tenants associated with the cloud applications (i.e. receiving analyzed content from a first software vendor and a second software vendor, the analyzed content based on the first cloud account data and the second cloud account data); paragraphs [0043], [0099]); and
generating…a correlation of the first cloud account data, the second cloud account data, and the analyzed content (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that user accounts and user identifier information is correlated; paragraph [0091]).
Wang in view of Kirti is analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, cloud management.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Wang by correlating account data as taught by Kirti because it would enhance the teaching of Wang with an effective means of generating recommendations or a user identified across multiple clouds (as suggested by Kirti, see for example paragraph [0090]).
Wang in view of Kirti does not explicitly teach receiving, via a correlated GUI, a request for an update to at least one of the first cloud account data and the second cloud account data; and identifying a software module, based on the request.
However, Burks discloses receiving, via a correlated GUI, a request for an update to at least one of the first cloud account data and the second cloud account data (see for example Burks, this limitation is disclosed such that a generated graphical user interface (GUI) is used for controlling operation of controller functionality based on information, allowing a user to select actions (paragraphs [0040], [0089], [0176]), actions including establishing a pairing and receiving a user input for syncing (i.e. updating) a user’s account at a cloud-based service; paragraphs [0014], [0121]); and
identifying a software module, based on the request (see for example Burks, this limitation is disclosed such that a correct data bundle for a user account is mapped to the user ID (i.e. identifying a first software module from the plurality of software modules), based on the user’s account identifiers at the cloud-based data service for a user’s device synchronization (i.e. cloud account update request); paragraph [0121]).
Wang in view of Kirti is analogous art with Burks because they are from the same field of endeavor, cloud management.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Wang in view of Kirti by identifying bundles (modules) for cloud account synchronization with a user interface as taught by Burks because it would enhance the teaching of Wang in view of Kirti with an effective means of facilitating a user access to an automated environment (as suggested by Burks, see for example paragraph [0126]).
Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks does not explicitly transmitting a signal to a software module based on a request, the signal comprising information to perform a requested update.
However, Zhang discloses transmitting a signal to a software module based on a request, the signal comprising information to perform a requested update (see for example Zhang, this limitation is disclosed such that a receiving module receives a data synchronization request sent by a mobile terminal, the synchronization request to change data for an account on a cloud server; paragraph [0094]. Modules can be realized by program codes which are executed by the computing device (i.e. modules are software modules); paragraph [0102]).
Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks is analogous art with Zhang because they are from the same field of endeavor, cloud management.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks by using modules as taught by Zhang because it would enhance the teaching of Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks with an effective means of reducing the transmitted traffic caused by data synchronization, reducing the resource consumption of the cloud server, and facilitating the satisfaction of diversified requirements of a user (as suggested by Zhang, see for example paragraph [0094]).
Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang does not explicitly teach the limitations wherein a correlated GUI displays information related to first cloud account data, second cloud account data, and analyzed content simultaneously, and wherein components of a GUI are organized based on correlating the first cloud account data, the second cloud account data, and the analyzed content.
However, Tse discloses the limitations wherein a correlated GUI displays information related to first cloud account data, second cloud account data, and analyzed content simultaneously (see for example Tse, this limitation is disclosed such that a graphical user interface (GUI) displays a first login selector for a first user account, and concurrently displays a second login selector on the GUI for a second user account. The GUI further concurrently displays previews of stored whiteboard files from the first user account and the second user account. Restrictions to user access to whiteboard data in the GUI is based upon respective whiteboard data’s association with the first and second user’s privacy level; clm.1 and associated text), and
wherein components of a GUI are organized based on correlating the first cloud account data, the second cloud account data, and the analyzed content (see for example Tse, this limitation is disclosed such that GUI user whiteboard previews are presented as tiles or folders and displayed being grouped chronologically, and further can be stacked, resized, or arranged on screen by the user (i.e. components of a GUI are organized based on correlating data and content); col.4 lines {19}-{48}, col.5 lines {6}-{24}).
Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang is analogous art with Tse because they are from the same field of endeavor, cloud management.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang by using a GUI as taught by Tse because it would enhance the teaching of Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang with an effective means of allowing a user to quickly pull and push data to and from a cloud-based storage system (as suggested by Tse, see for example col.7 lines {18}-{35}).
As per claim 20, Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Tse discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the correlation of the first cloud account data, the second cloud account data, and the analyzed content is performed using a correlation machine learning model (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that machine learning techniques are used for analyzing data and building the user profiles; paragraph [0089]).
Regarding claim 22, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 2. Thus, claim 22 is also rejected under the same rationales as cited in the rejection of claim 2.
Claims 6, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (JointCloud: A Cross-Cloud Cooperation Architecture for Integrated Internet Service Customization) in view of Kirti (U.S. 2015/0172321), further in view Burks (U.S. 2015/0350031), and further in view of Zhang (U.S. 2015/0058287), further in view of Tse (U.S. 9,552,473) as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, respectively, and further in view of Gandhi, Gnana Geetha (U.S. 2020/0341876) (Hereinafter Gandhi – art made of record).
As per claim 6, Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Tse discloses the limitation of claim 1 above (see rejection of claim 1 above), Kirti further disclosing a correlated data GUI (see for example Kirti, this limitation is disclosed such that user accounts and user identifier information is correlated, with a user interface screen (i.e. GUI) showing a report of user data using the correlation techniques; paragraphs [0087], [0091]), but does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein a GUI includes an operating status of first and second cloud service providers.
However, Gandhi discloses the limitation wherein a GUI includes an operating status of first and second cloud service providers (see for example Gandhi, this limitation is disclosed such that a user interface includes end-to-end information associated with status of either a first cloud platform or a second cloud platform (i.e. a GUI includes an operating status of first and second cloud service providers); paragraph [0099]).
Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Tse is analogous art with Gandhi because they are from the same field of endeavor, cloud management.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Tse by providing a user interface as taught by Gandhi because it would enhance the teaching of Wang in view of Kirti, further in view of Burks, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Tse with an effective means of maintaining synchronization of a first cloud platform with a second cloud platform (as suggested by Gandhi, see for example paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 15, it is a system claim having similar limitations cited in claim 6. Thus, claim 15 is also rejected under the same rationales as cited in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 21, it is a method claim having similar limitations cited in claim 6. Thus, claim 21 is also rejected under the same rationales as cited in the rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hariri et al. (U.S. 11,645,455) discloses receiving, via a graphical user interface (GUI) presented at a client device, a request for one or more command options associated with a cel, among a plurality of cells, of a client model of a collaborative electronic document hosted by a cloud-based document editing system. The collaborative electronic document is concurrently editable by a plurality of users, providing a first GUI element identifying command options and a second GUI element presenting user attribution information; clm.11 an associated text.
/JONATHAN R LABUD/ Examiner, Art Unit 2196