DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1-14 and 16-18. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on March 9, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 11,324,596 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: at line 1, --penile-- should be inserted prior to “implant” in order to maintain consistent terminology with Claims 1-14 . Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,813,762. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate all of the limitations of claim 16 of the instant application.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,813,762 in view of Daniel et al. (EP 2,992,858). Claims 8 and 16 of the patent teach all of the claim limitations except for specifically teaching that the coating is a "molded coating". While it is considered to be obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the coating in any well known manner, Daniel et al. discloses a penile prosthesis with cylinders or inflatable members (22) and teaches it is well known to use a molded coating (paragraph [0035], Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify claims 8 and 16 of the patent such that the coating is a "molded coating" since applying the coating in any well known manner, including a molded coating (as taught by Daniel et al), would merely be applying a known coating to a known penile prosthesis in a known manner with predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund et al (WO 2013/096615), cited by applicant in view of Poucher et al (US 2018/0214271).
Lund et al discloses a method of making an inflatable member for a "bodily" implant (inflatable penile prosthesis (100)) comprising providing an inflatable member (102,144,116) that includes a sidewall defining a lumen (inner chamber (132)), passing a structural member (116) through the inflatable member at a first and second locations (along the length of the lumen), and applying a coating to the member (paragraph [0046)). Lund et al. teaches all of the limitations of the claim except for disposing a dissolvable rod member within the lumen and dissolving the rod member.
Poucher et al disclose disposing a rigid rod made of salt within the inflatable member of a penile implant to provide column strength to the prosthetic when the surgeon delivers the distal end portion of the penile prosthetic into the glans penis that subsequently dissolves when the prosthetic is filled with liquid (see at least paragraph [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose a dissolvable salt rod in the inflatable member of Lund et al when manufacturing the bodily implant in view of the teachings of Poucher et al so as to provide the prosthetic with additional column strength to allow the surgeon to deliver the prosthetic to the desired location within the body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 of the Remarks filed March 9, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 112(a), claims 1-2, 6-13 and 16 under 35 USC 102(a)(1), claims 3-5, 14-15 and 17-18 under 35 USC 103, and claims 1-20 under nonstatutory double patenting over US 11,324,596 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made hereinabove.
Conclusion
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791