DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1 and 3-21 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 11, 12, 16, and 18-20.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 1: “lumen” should apparently read --the lumen--.
In claim 3, line 2: “second portion” should apparently read --a second portion--.
In claim 4, line 4: “begin” should apparently read --being--.
In claim 5, line 4: “begin” should apparently read --being--.
In claim 18, line 3: “having an outer surface having an outer surface” should apparently read --having an outer surface--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the outer surface of the inflatable member" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; an outer surface of the sidewall has been previously recited, but not an outer surface of the inflatable member.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the outer surface of the inflatable member" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; an outer surface of the sidewall has been previously recited, but not an outer surface of the inflatable member.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a reservoir" in line 2. It is not clear if this is intended to be the same reservoir recited in claim 1 or to be a separate reservoir.
Claim 14 also recites the limitation "the pump" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; only a pump assembly has been previously recited
Claim 14 also recites the limitation "a transfer" in line 3. It is not clear if this is intended to be the same transfer recited in claim 1 or to be a separate transfer.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the second portion" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 also recites the limitation "the length" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 10-14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lund et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0309490 A1; hereinafter known as “Lund”).
Regarding claim 1, Lund discloses an implant (Abstract; Figs. 1, 12), comprising: an inflatable member 102 and a pump assembly 104 configured to facilitate a transfer of a fluid from a reservoir 106 to the inflatable member ([0036]-[0037])), the inflatable member having a sidewall that defines a lumen 122, the sidewall having an outer surface 114 and an inner surface 116/126 disposed opposite the outer surface, at least a portion of the lumen having a spiral shape ([0042]; [0047]; [0067]).
Regarding claim 3, Lund discloses that the lumen defined by the sidewall of the
inflatable member includes a first portion having a first diameter and second portion having a second diameter, the second diameter being larger than the first diameter ([0072]; e.g., a first portion may have a first diameter in an uninflated condition, a second portion may have a second, larger diameter in an inflated condition).
Regarding claim 4, Lund discloses that the lumen defined by the sidewall of the
inflatable member includes a first portion having a first diameter, a second portion having a second diameter, and a third portion having a third diameter, the second portion being disposed between the first portion and the third portion, the second diameter begin larger than the first diameter, the second diameter being larger than the third diameter ([0072]; e.g., a first portion towards a proximal end may have a first diameter in an uninflated condition, a third portion towards a distal end may have a third diameter in an uninflated condition, and a second portion in the middle may have a second, larger diameter in an inflated condition).
Regarding claim 5, Lund discloses that the lumen defined by the sidewall of the
inflatable member includes a first portion having a first diameter, a second portion having a second diameter, and a third portion having a third diameter, the second portion being disposed between the first portion and the third portion, the second diameter begin larger than the first diameter, the second diameter being larger than the third diameter, the second portion being disposed between the first portion and the third portion along a longitudinal axis of the inflatable member ([0072]; e.g., a first portion towards a proximal end may have a first diameter in an uninflated condition, a third portion towards a distal end may have a third diameter in an uninflated condition, and a second portion in the middle may have a second, larger diameter in an inflated condition).
Regarding claim 6, Lund discloses that the outer surface of the inflatable member is substantially smooth (Fig. 1; [0036]; [0040]).
Regarding claim 10, Lund discloses that the inflatable member is configured to be placed in an inflated configuration and a deflated configuration ([0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 11, Lund discloses that the inflatable member is configured to be placed in an inflated configuration or a deflated configuration, the inflatable member having a tubular shape when in the deflated configuration (Fig. 1; [0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 12, Lund discloses that the inflatable member is configured to be placed in an inflated configuration or a deflated configuration, the inflatable member configured to extend along a longitudinal axis when placed in the inflated configuration (Fig. 1; [0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 13, Lund discloses a first cap 120 coupled to a first end portion of the inflatable member and a second cap 118 coupled to a second end portion of the inflatable member ([0039]).
Regarding claim 14, Lund discloses a reservoir 106 configured to retain the fluid, wherein the pump is configured to help facilitate a transfer of the fluid from the reservoir to the inflatable member when the implant is in an inflation mode ([0037]).
Regarding claim 21, Lund discloses that the second portion of the lumen extends linearly along the length of the inflatable member ([0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuyava (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0105530 A1). Lund discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose that the outer surface of the inflatable member includes a series of undulations. Kuyava discloses a similar implant (Abstract) comprising an inflatable member with an outer surface that includes a series of undulations in order to allow for a smaller deflated state without a smaller inflated state, allowing easier installation and providing greater comfort ([0016]-[0020]; [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lund with a series of undulations on the outer surface of the inflatable member, as taught by Kuyava, in order to allow easier installation and provide greater comfort.
Claims 8 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morningstar (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0053401 A1). Lund discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose that the inflatable member is unitarily formed or is monolithic. Morningstar discloses a similar implant (Abstract) comprising an inflatable member that is unitarily formed and monolithic in order to integrally form a one-piece unit ([0026]-[0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lund so that the inflatable member that is unitarily formed and monolithic, as taught by Morningstar, in order to integrally form a one-piece unit.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0027696 A1). Lund discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose that the pump assembly includes a valve body and a pump bulb member (though Fig. 1 appears to show a pump bulb). Taylor discloses a similar implant (Abstract) comprising a pump assembly that includes a valve body and a pump bulb member in order to control fluid flow for inflation/deflation ([0036]; [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lund with a valve body and a pump bulb member, as taught by Taylor, in order to control fluid flow for inflation/deflation.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubalak et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0065419 A1; hereinafter known as “Kubalak”), in view of George et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0132044 A1; hereinafter known as “George”).
Regarding claim 16, Kubalak discloses an apparatus (Abstract; Figs. 1-3), comprising: a core member 40/70 for forming an elongate member of a bodily implant, the core member having a longitudinal axis and an outer surface ([0048]), the core member being formed of a material that is configured to dissolve ([0040]; [0043]; [0046]; [0075]); and a tubular member 28 defining a lumen configured to receive at least a portion of the core member ([0034]; [0039]). Kubalak fails to disclose that the outer surface having a series of undulations, but does teach that the core member improves the implantation procedure ([0039]). George discloses a similar apparatus (Abstract; Figs. 1-3) that comprises a core member 100 with an outer surface having a series of undulations 110/112/114/118/120/122 in order to require less force to bend and reduce springback ([0007]; [0010]-[0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kubalak so that the outer surface of the core member has a series of undulations, as taught by George, in order to require less force to bend and reduce springback, thus further easing implantation.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kubalak and George discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Kubalak further discloses that the core member defines a lumen 74, the lumen extends substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the core member (Figs. 3A-B; [0048]).
Regarding claim 18, Kubalak discloses a method of making an elongate member for a bodily implant (Abstract; Figs. 1-3), comprising: forming a core member 40/70 having an outer surface ([0040]; [0043]; [0046]; [0048]); disposing the core member within a lumen of a tubular member 28 ([0034]; [0039]); placing material within the lumen of the tubular member and removing the core member from the tubular member ([0040]; [0043]; [0046]; [0048]; [0052]). Kubalak fails to disclose that the outer surface having a series of undulations, but does teach that the core member improves the implantation procedure ([0039]). George discloses a similar apparatus (Abstract; Figs. 1-3) that comprises a core member 100 with an outer surface having a series of undulations 110/112/114/118/120/122 in order to require less force to bend and reduce springback ([0007]; [0010]-[0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kubalak so that the outer surface of the core member has a series of undulations, as taught by George, in order to require less force to bend and reduce springback, thus further easing implantation.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kubalak and George discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Kubalak further discloses that the core member is formed of a material that is configured to dissolve ([0040]; [0043]; [0046]; [0048]; [0052]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kubalak and George discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Kubalak further discloses that the removing the core member from the tubular member includes dissolving the core member ([0040]; [0043]; [0046]; [0048]; [0052]).
Double Patenting
Claims 16 and 18-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,324,595. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite essentially identical limitations such that they would not meet a one-way test for distinctness. The claims of the issued patent include the limitations of present claim 16 (reciting such a core member with a longitudinal axis and outer surface with a series of undulations, which can dissolve, and a tubular member with a lumen that receives the core member; the casing is taken to be such a tubular member) and claims 18-20 (reciting such a core member with a longitudinal axis and outer surface with a series of undulations, the core member disposed within a tubular member with a lumen; the casing is taken to be such a tubular member; as the core member is formed of a material that is configured to dissolve and is dissolved, this is taken to include placing material within the lumen as some sort of fluid must be introduced so that the material can dissolve).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Phelan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0142666 A1) and Newman (U.S. No. 4,881,939) each teach implants with inflatable members and pumps, wherein the inflatable member has a lumen with a spiral shape. It is noted that neither of these references would be applicable to the present invention if the present invention was limited to a penile prosthesis instead of a generic implant.
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791