DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 12/10/2025.
Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karakoc et al. (US 2024/0064510 A1) in view Wu et al. (US 2022/0174063 A1) hereinafter “Karakoc” and “Wu” respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Karakoc teaches A method of a network entity (Karakoc: paragraph 0115 & Fig. 4, network exposure function (NEF)) in a wireless communication system (Karakoc: paragraphs 0173-0174 & Figs. 4-6, wireless communication network), the method comprising:
receiving, from a server (Karakoc: paragraph 0116 & Figs. 5-6, Application Function (AF)), a user equipment (UE) external identifier (ID) request message (Karakoc: paragraph 0116 & Fig. 6 step 2, Get Request message including indicator to request a UE identifier) including an application function (AF) ID (Karakoc: paragraphs 0111, 0119 & Figs. 4-6, Get Request message including Application Function identifier (AF_ID));
obtaining a UE external ID based on a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) (Karakoc: paragraphs 0112, 0116 & Fig. 6, determine UE identifier to be sent based on SUPI (UE identifier (UE_ID) is SUPI of the UE)) and the AF ID (Karakoc: paragraphs 0111, 0116 & Figs. 5-6, derive (KAF) including expiration time and UE identifier (UE_ID) from AF_ID included in Get Request message); and
transmitting, to the server (Karakoc: paragraph 0116 & Figs. 5-6, said Application Function (AF)), a response message including the obtained UE external ID (Karakoc: paragraphs 0112, 0117 & Figs. 5-6 step 4, transmit Get Response message to AF including KAF and UE identifier (UE_ID)).
Karakoc fails to explicitly teach obtaining a UE external ID specific to the server and the SUPI being obtained based on the IP address of the UE. However, Wu from an analogous art similarly teaches obtaining a key Kakma for the AMKA service of a terminal device to allocate an AKMA temporary identifier to the terminal device in which the AAuF may generate, based on the Kakma and an identifier of the AKMA application function network element, a communication key for communication between the AKMA application function network element and the terminal device (Wu: paragraphs 0089-0092 & Fig. 2) therefore teaching each obtaining temporary identifier or UE external ID is specific to each AMKA service or server. Wu additionally teaches the AKMA temporary identifier or key Kakma for an AKMA service is obtained based on received SUPI based on the home network identifier or routing indicator of the terminal device (Wu: paragraph 0089-0090 & 0113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karakoc to teach obtaining or generating a temporary identifier specific to an AKMA service based on received SUPI/home network identifier information as taught by Wu so as to efficiently configure a temporary UE identifier for services available for a subscriber UE in the mobile communication.
Regarding Claim 3, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches transmitting, to a binding support function (BSF) entity (Wu: paragraph 0086, policy control function), the IP address of the UE (Wu: paragraph 0089-0090 & 0113, said home network identifier or routing indicator of the terminal device); and
receiving, from the BSF entity, the SUPI corresponding to the IP address of the UE (Wu: paragraph 0089-0090, SUPI of the terminal device). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Karakoc-Wu as presented in rejected claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receiving, from the server, an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) key request message including an AKMA key identifier (A-KID) and the AF ID for an AKMA authentication procedure (Karakoc: paragraph 0116 & Fig. 6 step 2, Get Request message including A-KID and AF_ID); and
transmitting, to the server, the UE external ID based on the A-KID and the AF ID (Karakoc: paragraphs 0112, 0117 & Figs. 5-6 step 4, transmit Get Response message to AF based on Get Request message including said A-KID and AF_ID). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Karakoc-Wu to teach a UE external ID specific to the server as presented in rejected claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches transmitting, to a unified data management (UDM) entity, at least one of the obtained UE external ID, the AF ID, or an application port ID (Karakoc: paragraphs 0106, 0116 & Figs. 4-6. transmitting get request message to UDM/AAnF).
Regarding Claim 7, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the UE external ID is a temporary UE external ID (Karakoc: paragraph 0112 & Figs. 5-6, expiration time for KAF and UE_ID, thus teaching the generated information is temporary). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Karakoc-Wu to teach a UE external ID specific to the server as presented in rejected claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches obtaining a SUPI of the UE based on the IP address of the UE (Karakoc: paragraphs 0112, 0116 & Figs. 4-6, UE identifier may be SUPI of the UE);
transmitting the SUPI to an AKMA anchor function (AAnF) entity (Karakoc: paragraphs 0111, 0116 & Figs. 4-6, transmit message including SUPI to AAnF);
receiving, from the AAnF entity, an A-KID corresponding to the SUPI (Karakoc: paragraph 0110, Application Establishment Request including the A-KID from UE); and
generating the UE external ID based on at least one of the A-KID or the AF ID (Karakoc: paragraphs 0111, 0116 & Figs. 5-6, EEC ID based on obtained A-KID and KAF). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Karakoc-Wu to teach a UE external ID specific to the server as presented in rejected claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches mapping and storing the A-KID corresponding to the SUPI and the IP address included in the UE external ID request message (Karakoc: paragraphs 0098 & 0106, key request includes identifier (A-KID) of a security key (KAKMA) associated with the UE).
Regarding Claim 10, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the network entity is a network exposure function (NEF) entity (Karakoc: paragraph 0115 & Fig. 4, network exposure function (NEF)).
Regarding Claim 11, Karakoc teaches A network entity (Karakoc: paragraph 0115 & Fig. 4, network exposure function (NEF)) in a wireless communication system (Karakoc: paragraphs 0173-0174 & Figs. 4-6, wireless communication network), the network entity comprising:
a transceiver (Karakoc: paragraph 0183 & Fig. 13, transceiver circuitry of network node (i.e. NEF)); and
at least one processor (Karakoc: paragraph 0181 & Fig. 13, processing circuitry of NEF) configured to:
receive, from a server (Karakoc: paragraph 0116 & Figs. 5-6, Application Function (AF)), via the transceiver, a user equipment (UE) external identifier (ID) request message (Karakoc: paragraph 0116 & Fig. 6 step 2, Get Request message including indicator to request a UE identifier) including an application function (AF) ID (Karakoc: paragraphs 0111, 0119 & Figs. 4-6, Get Request message including Application Function identifier (AF_ID)),
obtain a UE external ID based on a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) (Karakoc: paragraphs 0112, 0116 & Fig. 6, determine UE identifier to be sent based on SUPI (UE identifier (UE_ID) is SUPI of the UE)) and the AF identifier (Karakoc: paragraphs 0111, 0116 & Figs. 5-6, derive (KAF) including expiration time and UE identifier (UE_ID) from AF_ID included in Get Request message); and
transmit, to the server via the transceiver (Karakoc: paragraph 0116 & Figs. 5-6, said Application Function (AF)), a response message including the generated UE external ID (Karakoc: paragraphs 0112, 0117 & Figs. 5-6 step 4, transmit Get Response message to AF including KAF and UE identifier (UE_ID)).
Karakoc fails to explicitly teach obtaining a UE external ID specific to the server and the SUPI being obtained based on the IP address of the UE. However, Wu from an analogous art similarly teaches obtaining a key Kakma for the AMKA service of a terminal device to allocate an AKMA temporary identifier to the terminal device in which the AAuF may generate, based on the Kakma and an identifier of the AKMA application function network element, a communication key for communication between the AKMA application function network element and the terminal device (Wu: paragraphs 0089-0092 & Fig. 2) therefore teaching each obtaining temporary identifier or UE external ID is specific to each AMKA service or server. Wu additionally teaches the AKMA temporary identifier or key Kakma for an AKMA service is obtained based on received SUPI based on the home network identifier or routing indicator of the terminal device (Wu: paragraph 0089-0090 & 0113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karakoc to teach obtaining or generating a temporary identifier specific to an AKMA service based on received SUPI/home network identifier information as taught by Wu so as to efficiently configure a temporary UE identifier for services available for a subscriber UE in the mobile communication.
Regarding Claim 13, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches transmitting, to a binding support function (BSF) entity, the IP address of the UE (Wu: paragraph 0086, policy control function), the IP address of the UE (Wu: paragraph 0089-0090 & 0113, said home network identifier or routing indicator of the terminal device); and
receiving, from the BSF entity, the SUPI corresponding to the IP address of the UE (Wu: paragraph 0089-0090, SUPI of the terminal device). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Karakoc-Wu as presented in rejected claim 11.
Regarding Claim 15, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receive, from the server via the transceiver, an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) key request message including an AKMA key identifier (A-KID) and the AF ID, for an AKMA authentication procedure (Karakoc: paragraph 0116 & Fig. 6 step 2, Get Request message including A-KID and AF_ID); and
transmit, to the server via the transceiver, the UE external ID based on the A-KID and the AF ID (Karakoc: paragraphs 0112, 0117 & Figs. 5-6 step 4, transmit Get Response message to AF based on Get Request message including said A-KID and AF_ID). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Karakoc-Wu to teach a UE external ID specific to the server as presented in rejected claim 11.
Regarding Claim 16, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches transmit, to a unified data management (UDM) entity via the transceiver, at least one of the obtained UE external ID, the AF ID, or an application port ID (Karakoc: paragraphs 0106, 0116 & Figs. 4-6. transmitting get request message to UDM/AAnF).
Regarding Claim 17, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the UE external ID is a temporary UE external ID (Karakoc: paragraph 0112 & Figs. 5-6, expiration time for KAF and UE_ID, thus teaching the generated information is temporary). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Karakoc-Wu to teach a UE external ID specific to the server as presented in rejected claim 11.
Regarding Claim 18, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches transmit, via the transceiver, the SUPI to an AKMA anchor function (AAnF) entity (Karakoc: paragraphs 0111, 0116 & Figs. 4-6, transmit message including SUPI to AAnF);
receive, from the AAnF entity via the transceiver, an A-KID corresponding to the SUPI (Karakoc: paragraph 0110, Application Establishment Request including the A-KID from UE); and
generate the UE external ID based on at least one of the A-KID or the AF ID (Karakoc: paragraphs 0111, 0116 & Figs. 5-6, EEC ID based on obtained A-KID and KAF). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Karakoc-Wu to teach a UE external ID specific to the server as presented in rejected claim 11.
Regarding Claim 19, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches map and store the A-KID corresponding to the SUPI and the IP address included in the UE external ID request message (Karakoc: paragraphs 0098 & 0106, key request includes identifier (A-KID) of a security key (KAKMA) associated with the UE).
Regarding Claim 20, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the network entity is a network exposure function (NEF) entity (Karakoc: paragraph 0115 & Fig. 4, network exposure function (NEF)).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karakoc- Wu in view of Ge et al. (US 2020/0374352 A1) hereinafter “Ge.”
Regarding Claim 4, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach the UE external ID request message further includes an application port ID. However Ge in an analogous art teaches an NEF receiving a device trigger request message including UE identifier information and an application port ID used to trigger an addressing function on a terminal (Ge: paragraphs 0274 & 0279). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UE ID request message of Karakoc-Wu to include an application port ID taught by Ge so as to identify an application receiving a service from an EAS (application server) in the UE.
Regarding Claim 14, Karakoc-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach the UE external ID request message further includes an application port ID. However Ge in an analogous art teaches an NEF receiving a device trigger request message including UE identifier information and an application port ID used to trigger an addressing function on a terminal (Ge: paragraphs 0274 & 0279). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UE ID request message of Karakoc-Wu to include an application port ID taught by Ge so as to identify an application receiving a service from an EAS (application server) in the UE.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463