DETAILED ACTION
Introductory Notes
Any paragraph citation of the instant is in reference to the U.S. published patent application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 27 is dependent upon previously non-elected and withdrawn claim 14, therefore claim 27 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SUN (US 20220328821 A1, supplied with the IDS of 4/22/2024).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, SUN discloses a positive active material precursor (“positive electrode active material precursor”, Claim 1) for a rechargeable lithium battery (“lithium secondary battery”, Abstract), the positive active material precursor having a form of a core-shell particle comprising a core and a shell around the core (“center portion” and “surface portion”, Claim 1; as well as synonymous use of “core” and “shell” such as in [0105]),
wherein the core comprises a first nickel-manganese-based composite hydroxide comprising nickel and manganese (“a first center portion made of a material represented by a following Chemical Formula 1 … Ni1-xM1x(OH)2”, Claim 1, wherein M1 may be manganese per claim 1 and [0010]),
the shell comprises a second nickel-manganese-based composite hydroxide comprising nickel, manganese, and a pillar element, and the pillar element comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of Al, Mo, Ti, W, and Zr (“a first surface portion made of a material represented by the following Chemical Formula 2 … Ni1-y-zM1yM2z(OH)2”, Claim 1, wherein M1 may be manganese and M2 may be molybdenum, titanium, tungsten, or zirconium per claim 1 and [0010]).
Regarding “a thickness of the shell is at least about 25% of a radius of the core-shell particle”, notably the instant states in paragraph [0124] that ““about” may refer to one or more standard deviations, or ±30%, 20%, 10%, 5% of the stated value”. When applying this definition of about and the ±30% value to the claim, the claimed range becomes ‘at least 17.5%’, where the math is: 25% - (30% of 25%, or 7.5%). SUN discloses “a thickness of the first surface portion with respect to an average radius of the positive electrode active material precursor is in a range of 2% to 20%” in SUN claim 1 as well as Example 1 where relative thickness of the shell to the total core-shell size is 18.2% (per [0105] where core diameter is 9 µm and total diameter is 11 µm giving 2/11 or 18% for shell thickness and radius vs diameter does not alter the relative percent).
Regarding claim 2, SUN discloses the core does not comprise the pillar element (claim 1 wherein M2 is present in Chemical Formula 2 but not in Chemical Formula 1).
Regarding claim 4, SUN discloses a content of the pillar element in the shell is about 1 mol% to about 7 mol% based on 100 mol% of the total metal in the shell (“M2 has a content in a range of 0.5 mol % to 10 mol %”, Claim 4; as well as “M2 has a content in a range of 0.5 mol % to 2 mol %”, Claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, SUN discloses a difference between a molar concentration of nickel based on the total metal in the core and a molar concentration of nickel based on the total metal in the shell is greater than or equal to about 0 mol% and less than or equal to about 40 mol%, and a difference between a molar concentration of manganese based on the total metal in the core and a molar concentration of manganese based on the total metal in the shell is greater than or equal to about 0 mol% and less than or equal to about 40 mol% (“Present Example 9” [0135] with core-shell of: Ni0.8Co0.01Mn0.1(OH)2-Ni0.792Co0.099Mn0.099W0.01(OH)2 wherein the difference in nickel and manganese from core to shell is less than 40% for each).
Regarding claim 7, SUN discloses a difference between a molar concentration of nickel based on the total metal in the core and a molar concentration of nickel based on the total metal in the shell is greater than or equal to about 0 mol% and less than or equal to about 20 mol%, and a difference between a molar concentration of manganese based on the total metal in the core and a molar concentration of manganese based on the total metal in the shell is greater than or equal to about 0 mol% and less than or equal to about 20 mol% (“Present Example 9” [0135] with core-shell of: Ni0.8Co0.01Mn0.1(OH)2-Ni0.792Co0.099Mn0.099W0.01(OH)2 wherein the difference in nickel and manganese from core to shell is less than 20% for each).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the claim states: the core comprises a nickel-manganese-based composite hydroxide represented by Chemical Formula 1, the shell comprises a nickel-manganese-based composite hydroxide represented by Chemical Formula 2:
SUN discloses “a first center portion made of a material represented by a following Chemical Formula 1 … Ni1-xM1x(OH)2”, Claim 1, wherein M1 may be manganese per claim 1 and [0010]; “a first surface portion made of a material represented by the following Chemical Formula 2 … Ni1-y-zM1yM2z(OH)2”, Claim 1, wherein M1 may be manganese and M2 may be molybdenum, titanium, tungsten, or zirconium per claim 1 and [0010]; as well as “0≤x≤0.2, 0≤y≤0.2, and 0.005≤z≤0.1” in Claim 1 and [0010]. Mapping SUN to instant as follows (SUN=instant): 1-y-z = x1, y = y1, z = z1. As such, SUN discloses the claimed chemical formulas as well as the constraints regarding instant x1 (SUN discloses 0.7 to 0.995), y1 (SUN discloses 0 to 0.2), and z1 (SUN discloses 0.005 to 0.1). In regards to instant a1-x1 and b1-y1, these values are within the possible values disclosed in SUN and further they are an alternative restatement of claim 6, see the rejection of claim 6 for further discussion including reference to SUN “Present Example 9” [0135].
Regarding claim 10, SUN discloses the positive active material precursor has a spherical shape (“the first secondary particle may have a substantially spherical shape” [0072]; Figs. 1A, 1B, 2A).
Regarding claim 11, SUN discloses the positive active material precursor has an average particle diameter (D50) of about 8 µm to about 15 µm (“precursor with an average diameter of 11.6 μm was produced” [0135]).
Regarding claim 12, SUN discloses the core-shell particle is a secondary particle in which a plurality of primary particles is agglomerated (“a first secondary particle as an aggregate of a plurality of first primary particles” [0009]).
Regarding claim 26, SUN discloses the core comprises about 0 mol% to about 1 mol% of cobalt based on the total content of metals in the core (claim 1 and [0010] wherein M1 may be manganese and/or aluminum therefore cobalt mol% is zero).
Response to Arguments
Regarding art-based rejections, applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are not persuasive. On page 10 of the remarks applicant states “the amendment introduces a quantitative limitation that is not disclosed or even suggested in Sun”. Examiner disagrees as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Notably the instant states in paragraph [0124] that ““about” may refer to one or more standard deviations, or ±30%, 20%, 10%, 5% of the stated value”. When applying this definition of about to the claim, the claimed range becomes ‘at least 17.5%’, where the math is: 25% - (30% of 25%, or 7.5%). Therefore, the limitation read in its entirety is disclosed and suggested in Sun.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (previously cited):
YUN (US 20200119351 A1) directed to nickel-based active material precursor includes a particulate structure including a core portion, an intermediate layer portion on the core portion, and a shell portion on the intermediate layer portion.
/T.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721