DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 3/20/2026 in which Claims 1, 5-6, 8-20, 23-24, 26-29, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40-43 are pending of which Claims 42 and 43 are new and Claims 31, 37 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-19, filed 3/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 20, 29, 30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of LG.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 20, 29, 30 objected to because of the following informalities: “(SCI)2” should be “SCI2”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 29 objected to because of the following informalities: “combining” should be “combine”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 12, 13, 18-20, 23, 24, 26, 28-32, 34, 37-38, 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0080877 to Lee et al (“Lee”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0090001 to Hui et al (“Hui”) in further view of "Discussion on Feasibility and Benefits for Mode 2 Enhancements", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 leeting #104-e, R1-2101786 (Revision of R1-2100518), 3GPP, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, -~06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG1, No. e-Meeting, 20210125-20210205, 28 Pages, 26 January P021, XP051975888, URL: https://ftp.3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG1_RL1/TSGR1_104-e/Docs/R1-2101786.zip R1-2101786 sidelink mode 2 enhancement_rev.docx. to LG ELECTRONICS (“LG”).
As to Claim 1, Lee teaches a method of wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting the first sidelink transmission, to a second UE via a first sidelink control information (SCI)2, to trigger the second UE to transmit a report regarding sidelink resource availability (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through SCI(s). Herein, for example, the TX UE [first UE] may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE [second UE] through a first SCI and/or a second SCI. PSSCH (and/or PSCCH) related resource allocation information (e.g., the location/number of time/frequency resources, resource reservation information (e.g., period)) [trigger second UE to transmit a report regarding sidelink resource availability], see ¶ 0189-0190; a transmitting UE (TX UE) may be a UE which transmits data to a (target) receiving UE (RX UE). For example, the TX UE may be a UE which performs PSCCH transmission and/or PSSCH transmission. For example, the TX UE may be a UE which transmits SL CSI-RS(s) and/or a SL CSI report request indicator to the (target) RX UE, see ¶ 0187),
wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a request for a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through a first SCI and/or a second SCI…SL CSI report request indicator, see ¶ 0189, 0191), wherein the priority of the packet to be transmitted by the first UE comprises a priority of at least one of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) or physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) to be transmitted by the first UE (in step S2310, the TX UE may transmit sidelink information to the RX UE. For example, the TX UE may be a MODE 1 TX UE. For example, the sidelink information may be transmitted through a PSSCH and/or a PSCCH (see ¶ 0254); In step S2320, the TX UE [first UE] may receive SL HARQ feedback information for the sidelink information from the RX UE (see ¶ 0255); the TX UE may know a priority of sidelink information associated with each SL HARQ feedback information. For example, the priority may be a service-related priority and/or a QoS-related priority [priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE] (see ¶ 0257); the TX UE may select or determine or consider the minimum value, among priority values of sidelink information associated with SL HARQ feedback information transmitted through the first channel, as a priority of transmission of the first channel. For example, the TX UE may transmit at least one PSSCH to the RX UE, and the TX UE may receive at least one SL HARQ feedback information from the RX UE through at least one PSFCH related to the at least one PSSCH. In this case, each priority value of the at least one SL HARQ feedback information may be the same as each priority value of the at least one PSSCH transmission [priority of packet to be transmitted by first UE comprises a priority of at least one of a PSSCH] (see ¶ 0258).
Lee teaches receiving, in response to transmitting the first sidelink transmission, the report in a second SCI2, wherein the report that indicates a subset of resources for sidelink communication (the UE may determine a SL transmission resource within a SL resource configured by a BS/network or a pre-configured SL resource. For example, the configured SL resource or the pre-configured SL resource may be a resource pool. For example, the UE may autonomously select or schedule a resource for SL transmission. For example, the UE may perform SL communication by autonomously selecting a resource within a configured resource pool. For example, the UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure. For example, the sensing may be performed in unit of subchannels. In addition, the UE 1 which has autonomously selected the resource within the resource pool may transmit the SCI to the UE 2 through a PSCCH [receiving the report that indicates a subset of resources for SL communication], and thereafter may transmit data based on the SCI to the UE 2 through a PSSCH, see ¶ 0151; SL MODE 2 may refer to a resource allocation method or a communication method in which a UE independently selects SL transmission resource(s) in a resource pool pre-configured or configured from a base station or a network, see ¶ 0207; if the priority related to transmission of the first channel is relatively high compared to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially allocate transmit power to transmission of the first channel. For example, if the priority related to transmission of the first channel is relatively high compared to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially perform transmission of the first channel. For example, if the priority value related to transmission of the first channel is smaller than priority value(s) related to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially allocate transmit power to transmission of the first channel. For example, if the priority value related to transmission of the first channel is smaller than priority value(s) related to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially perform transmission of the first channel, see ¶ 0263),
Lee does not explicitly disclose performing channel sensing for one or more slots prior to transmitting a first sidelink transmission.
Hui teaches performing channel sensing for one or more slots prior to transmitting a first sidelink transmission (During the sensing window, the wireless device may observe SCI transmitted by other wireless devices using the sidelink resource pool. The SCIs may identify resources that may be used and/or reserved for sidelink transmissions. Based on the resources identified in the SCIs, the wireless device may select resources within the selection window (for example, resource that are different from the resources identified in the SCIs). The wireless device may transmit using the selected sidelink resources [performing channel sensing prior to transmitting a first sidelink transmission], see ¶ 0235; a sensing window of the resource selection procedure may start at time (n−T0) (e.g., parameter sl-SensingWindow). The sensing window may end at time (n−T.sub.proc,0) [performing channel sensing for one or more slots]. New data of the one or more sidelink transmissions may arrive at the wireless device at time (n−T.sub.proc,0), see ¶ 0279).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee with Hui to teach performing channel sensing for one or more slots prior to transmitting a first sidelink transmission. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the wireless device to transmit using the selected sidelink resources (see ¶ 0235).
Lee and Hui do not expressly disclose wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE, a number of sub-channels to be used for transmission of the packet; wherein the subset of resources includes one or more first resources that the second UE prefers the first UE use for sidelink communication and excludes one or more second resource that the second UE does not prefer the first UE use for sidelink communication; and combining information gathered from the channel sensing with information in the report.
LG teaches wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE, a number of sub-channels to be used for transmission of the packet (if request-based inter-UE coordination information transmission is supported…the request signalling can implicitly indicate full or partial UE-B’s packet information (e.g. TX priority…number of sub-channels), see page 8, 7th para),
wherein the subset of resources includes one or more first resources that the second UE prefers the first UE use for sidelink communication and excludes one or more second resource that the second UE does not prefer the first UE use for sidelink communication; and combining information gathered from the channel sensing with information in the report (UE-A sends to UE-B the set of resources preferred for UE-B’s transmission, e.g., based on its sensing result; UE-A sends to UE-B the set of resources not preferred for UE-B’s transmission, e.g., based on its sensing result and/or expected/potential resource conflict; FFS: details of sensing operation of UE-A side; Note: these different types may be used in combination with each other, see Section I: Introduction, lines 4-14).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee and Hui with LG to teach wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE, a number of sub-channels to be used for transmission of the packet; wherein the subset of resources includes one or more first resources that the second UE prefers the first UE use for sidelink communication and excludes one or more second resource that the second UE does not prefer the first UE use for sidelink communication; and combining information gathered from the channel sensing with information in the report. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the UE-A to decide when the UE can perform SL reception and which resources are preferable in terms of detection performance to receive UE-B’s PSCCH/PSSCH transmission (see page 4, 4th para).
As to Claim 6, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, LG teaches wherein the first UE transmits the first sidelink transmission on a same number of sub-channels as used when transmitting a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission (the PSCCH/PSSCH TX UE can determine transmission resources based on inter-UE coordination information provided by the target PSCCH/PSSCH RX UE…UE(s) receiving the information can use it to transmit PSCCH/PSSCH to other UE in the group, see section 2.1, UE which is supposed to transmit PSCCH/PSSCH for data transmission is determined as UE-B, and the intended receiver of the UE-B is determined as UE-A providing the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, proposal 7).
As to Claim 12, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, Lee teaches wherein the first UE transmits the first sidelink transmission on a single sub-channel (the TX UE may select or determine or consider the minimum value, among priority values of sidelink information associated with SL HARQ feedback information transmitted through the first channel, as a priority of transmission of the first channel. For example, the TX UE may transmit at least one PSSCH to the RX UE, and the TX UE may receive at least one SL HARQ feedback information from the RX UE through at least one PSFCH related to the at least one PSSCH, see ¶ 0258).
As to Claim 13, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, LG discloses transmitting or re-transmitting a transport block (TB) on resources based on the report (UE which is supposed to transmit PSCCH/PSSCH for data transmission is determined as UE-B, and the intended receiver of the UE-B is determined as UE-A providing the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, proposal 7; PSFCH associated with PSSCH containing the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, observation 18; UE-A can know whether or not UE-B successfully decode the inter-UE coordination information when the SL HARQ-ACK feedback is enabled for the TB, see section 2.2, observation 20; PSFCH format is used to indicate whether the TX UE needs to perform retransmissions or not [re-transmitting a transport block on resources scheduled by the second UE).
As to Claim 18, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, Lee teaches wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising at least one of, a number of sub-channels to be used for the (PSSCH) or the (PSCCH), a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of a corresponding packet, a transport block (TB) size of a subsequent transmission from the first UE, a request for a channel state information (CSI) report and corresponding CSI-reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS), a reliability requirement for a corresponding packet, power control levels used by the first UE, communication range requirements on a link from the first UE to the second UE, a cast type of communications for a packet, a set of resources based on channel sensing by the first UE, a resource reservation interval, a start time of a resource selection window, an end time of the resource selection window, or other data multiplexed in the first sidelink transmission (the first device may determine a priority related to a channel for reporting information on SL HARQ feedback to the base station. For example, in response to sidelink information transmitted by the first device to the second device, the first device may receive information on SL HARQ feedback from the second device. For example, the sidelink information may include at least one of a sidelink message, a sidelink packet, a sidelink service, sidelink data, sidelink control information, and/or a sidelink transport block (TB). For example, the priority related to the channel may be determined based on the priority of the sidelink information [first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE]. For example, the priority related to the channel may be configured or determined by the base station, see ¶ 0288).
As to Claim 19, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, Lee teaches wherein the report is received on time resources determined as a function of at least one of: a resource used for a first (PSSCH) transmission or a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmissions based on the first sidelink transmission; a periodic or an aperiodic generation of traffic; or at least one relative distance from the resource used for the first PSSCH or the PSFCH transmission (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through SCI(s). Herein, for example, the TX UE [first UE] may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE [second UE] through a first SCI and/or a second SCI. PSSCH (and/or PSCCH) related resource allocation information (e.g., the location/number of time/frequency resources, resource reservation information (e.g., period)) [trigger second UE to transmit a report regarding sidelink resource availability], see ¶ 0189-0190).
As to Claim 20, Lee teaches a method for wireless communications by a second user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving the first sidelink transmission, from a first UE via a first sidelink control information (SCI)2, to trigger the second UE to transmit a report regarding sidelink resource availability (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through SCI(s). Herein, for example, the TX UE [first UE] may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE [second UE] through a first SCI and/or a second SCI. PSSCH (and/or PSCCH) related resource allocation information (e.g., the location/number of time/frequency resources, resource reservation information (e.g., period)) [trigger second UE to transmit a report regarding sidelink resource availability], see ¶ 0189-0190; a transmitting UE (TX UE) may be a UE which transmits data to a (target) receiving UE (RX UE). For example, the TX UE may be a UE which performs PSCCH transmission and/or PSSCH transmission. For example, the TX UE may be a UE which transmits SL CSI-RS(s) and/or a SL CSI report request indicator to the (target) RX UE, see ¶ 0187),
wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a request for a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through a first SCI and/or a second SCI…SL CSI report request indicator, see ¶ 0189, 0191), wherein the priority of the packet to be transmitted by the first UE comprises a priority of at least one of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) or physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) to be transmitted by the first UE (in step S2310, the TX UE may transmit sidelink information to the RX UE. For example, the TX UE may be a MODE 1 TX UE. For example, the sidelink information may be transmitted through a PSSCH and/or a PSCCH (see ¶ 0254); In step S2320, the TX UE [first UE] may receive SL HARQ feedback information for the sidelink information from the RX UE (see ¶ 0255); the TX UE may know a priority of sidelink information associated with each SL HARQ feedback information. For example, the priority may be a service-related priority and/or a QoS-related priority [priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE] (see ¶ 0257); the TX UE may select or determine or consider the minimum value, among priority values of sidelink information associated with SL HARQ feedback information transmitted through the first channel, as a priority of transmission of the first channel. For example, the TX UE may transmit at least one PSSCH to the RX UE, and the TX UE may receive at least one SL HARQ feedback information from the RX UE through at least one PSFCH related to the at least one PSSCH. In this case, each priority value of the at least one SL HARQ feedback information may be the same as each priority value of the at least one PSSCH transmission [priority of packet to be transmitted by first UE comprises a priority of at least one of a PSSCH] (see ¶ 0258).
Lee teaches transmitting the report in a second SCI2 and in response to receiving the first sidelink transmission, wherein the report that indicates a subset of resources for sidelink communication (the UE may determine a SL transmission resource within a SL resource configured by a BS/network or a pre-configured SL resource. For example, the configured SL resource or the pre-configured SL resource may be a resource pool. For example, the UE may autonomously select or schedule a resource for SL transmission. For example, the UE may perform SL communication by autonomously selecting a resource within a configured resource pool. For example, the UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure. For example, the sensing may be performed in unit of subchannels. In addition, the UE 1 which has autonomously selected the resource within the resource pool may transmit the SCI to the UE 2 through a PSCCH [receiving the report that indicates a subset of resources for SL communication], and thereafter may transmit data based on the SCI to the UE 2 through a PSSCH, see ¶ 0151; SL MODE 2 may refer to a resource allocation method or a communication method in which a UE independently selects SL transmission resource(s) in a resource pool pre-configured or configured from a base station or a network, see ¶ 0207; if the priority related to transmission of the first channel is relatively high compared to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially allocate transmit power to transmission of the first channel. For example, if the priority related to transmission of the first channel is relatively high compared to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially perform transmission of the first channel. For example, if the priority value related to transmission of the first channel is smaller than priority value(s) related to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially allocate transmit power to transmission of the first channel. For example, if the priority value related to transmission of the first channel is smaller than priority value(s) related to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially perform transmission of the first channel, see ¶ 0263),
Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a start time of a resource selection window and an end time of the resource selection window.
Hui teaches wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a start time of a resource selection window and an end time of the resource selection window (a sensing window of the resource selection procedure may start at time (n-TO) (e.g., parameter sl- SensingWindow). The sensing window may end at time (n-T.sub.proc,0). New data of the one or more sidelink transmissions may arrive at the wireless device at time (n-T.sub.proc,0). The time period T.sub.proc,0 may be a processing delay of the wireless device to determine to trigger the resource selection procedure. The wireless device may determine to trigger the resource selection procedure at time n to select the resources for the new data arrived at time (n-T.sub.proc,0). The wireless device may complete the resource selection procedure at time (n+T1). The wireless device may determine the parameter T1 based on a capability of the wireless device. The capability of the wireless device may be a processing delay of a processor of the wireless device. A selection window of the resource selection procedure may start at time (n+T1). The selection window may end at time (n+T2) indicating the ending of the selection window, see 1 0279).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee with Hui to teach wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a start time of a resource selection window and an end time of the resource selection window. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the wireless device to transmit using the selected sidelink resources (see ¶ 0235).
Lee and Hui do not expressly disclose wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE, a number of sub-channels to be used for transmission of the packet; wherein the subset of resources includes one or more first resources that the second UE prefers the first UE use for sidelink communication and excludes one or more second resource that the second UE does not prefer the first UE use for sidelink communication.
LG teaches wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE, a number of sub-channels to be used for transmission of the packet (if request-based inter-UE coordination information transmission is supported…the request signalling can implicitly indicate full or partial UE-B’s packet information (e.g. TX priority…number of sub-channels), see page 8, 7th para),
wherein the subset of resources includes one or more first resources that the second UE prefers the first UE use for sidelink communication and excludes one or more second resource that the second UE does not prefer the first UE use for sidelink communication (UE-A sends to UE-B the set of resources preferred for UE-B’s transmission, e.g., based on its sensing result; UE-A sends to UE-B the set of resources not preferred for UE-B’s transmission, e.g., based on its sensing result and/or expected/potential resource conflict; FFS: details of sensing operation of UE-A side; Note: these different types may be used in combination with each other, see Section I: Introduction, lines 4-14).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee and Hui with LG to teach wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE, a number of sub-channels to be used for transmission of the packet; wherein the subset of resources includes one or more first resources that the second UE prefers the first UE use for sidelink communication and excludes one or more second resource that the second UE does not prefer the first UE use for sidelink communication. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the UE-A to decide when the UE can perform SL reception and which resources are preferable in terms of detection performance to receive UE-B’s PSCCH/PSSCH transmission (see page 4, 4th para).
As to Claim 23, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 20, LG teaches prior to transmitting the report, transmitting a second sidelink transmission to the first UE (triggering the request can include when the UE-B tries to transmit data to another UE or the UE-B triggers resource (re)selection procedure for its own transmission, see section 2.2, observation 16; TB consists of the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, observation 18); wherein the second sidelink transmission comprises a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) with an acknowledgment feedback regarding whether the first sidelink transmission was received by the second UE (the condition can include when the UE-B determines a number of NACK for the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission [acknowledgment feedback regarding whether the first sidelink transmission is received by the second UE] from the UE-B during a certain duration of time, see section 2.2, observation 16; PSFCH associated with PSSCH containing the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, observation 18).
As to Claim 24, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 23, LG teaches wherein based on the acknowledgement feedback, indicating a successful reception of the first sidelink transmission, the report is transmitted to the first UE in a subsequent sidelink transmission (PSFCH associated with PSSCH containing the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, observation 18; UE-A can know whether or not UE-B successfully decode the inter-UE coordination information when the SL HARQ-ACK feedback is enabled for the TB, see section 2.2, observation 20; PSFCH format is used to indicate whether the TX UE needs to perform retransmissions or not).
As to Claim 26, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 20, Lee teaches wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising at least one of: a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of the packet, a transport block (TB) size of a subsequent transmission from the first UE, a request for CSI report, a reliability requirement for a corresponding packet, power control levels used by the first UE, communication range requirements on a link from the first UE to the second UE, a cast type of communications for a packet, a set of resources based on channel sensing by the first UE, a resource reservation interval, or other data multiplexed in the first sidelink transmission (the first device may determine a priority related to a channel for reporting information on SL HARQ feedback to the base station. For example, in response to sidelink information transmitted by the first device to the second device, the first device may receive information on SL HARQ feedback from the second device. For example, the sidelink information may include at least one of a sidelink message, a sidelink packet, a sidelink service, sidelink data, sidelink control information, and/or a sidelink transport block (TB). For example, the priority related to the channel may be determined based on the priority of the sidelink information [first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE]. For example, the priority related to the channel may be configured or determined by the base station, see ¶ 0288).
As to Claim 28, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 20, Lee teaches wherein the report is transmitted on time resources determined as a function of at least one of: a resource used for a first (PSSCH) transmission or a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmissions based on the first sidelink transmission; a periodic or an aperiodic generation of traffic; or at least one relative distance from the resource used for the first PSSCH or the PSFCH transmission (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through SCI(s). Herein, for example, the TX UE [first UE] may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE [second UE] through a first SCI and/or a second SCI. PSSCH (and/or PSCCH) related resource allocation information (e.g., the location/number of time/frequency resources, resource reservation information (e.g., period)) [trigger second UE to transmit a report regarding sidelink resource availability], see ¶ 0189-0190).
As to Claim 29, Lee teaches a first user equipment (UE), comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the first UE to: transmit the first sidelink transmission, to a second UE via a first sidelink control information (SCI)2, to trigger the second UE to transmit a report regarding sidelink resource availability (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through SCI(s). Herein, for example, the TX UE [first UE] may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE [second UE] through a first SCI and/or a second SCI. PSSCH (and/or PSCCH) related resource allocation information (e.g., the location/number of time/frequency resources, resource reservation information (e.g., period)) [trigger second UE to transmit a report regarding sidelink resource availability], see ¶ 0189-0190; a transmitting UE (TX UE) may be a UE which transmits data to a (target) receiving UE (RX UE). For example, the TX UE may be a UE which performs PSCCH transmission and/or PSSCH transmission. For example, the TX UE may be a UE which transmits SL CSI-RS(s) and/or a SL CSI report request indicator to the (target) RX UE, see ¶ 0187),
wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a request for a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through a first SCI and/or a second SCI…SL CSI report request indicator, see ¶ 0189, 0191), wherein the priority of the packet to be transmitted by the first UE comprises a priority of at least one of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) or physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) to be transmitted by the first UE (in step S2310, the TX UE may transmit sidelink information to the RX UE. For example, the TX UE may be a MODE 1 TX UE. For example, the sidelink information may be transmitted through a PSSCH and/or a PSCCH (see ¶ 0254); In step S2320, the TX UE [first UE] may receive SL HARQ feedback information for the sidelink information from the RX UE (see ¶ 0255); the TX UE may know a priority of sidelink information associated with each SL HARQ feedback information. For example, the priority may be a service-related priority and/or a QoS-related priority [priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE] (see ¶ 0257); the TX UE may select or determine or consider the minimum value, among priority values of sidelink information associated with SL HARQ feedback information transmitted through the first channel, as a priority of transmission of the first channel. For example, the TX UE may transmit at least one PSSCH to the RX UE, and the TX UE may receive at least one SL HARQ feedback information from the RX UE through at least one PSFCH related to the at least one PSSCH. In this case, each priority value of the at least one SL HARQ feedback information may be the same as each priority value of the at least one PSSCH transmission [priority of packet to be transmitted by first UE comprises a priority of at least one of a PSSCH] (see ¶ 0258).
Lee teaches receive, in response to transmitting the first sidelink transmission, the report in a second SCI2, wherein the report indicates a subset of resources for sidelink communication (the UE may determine a SL transmission resource within a SL resource configured by a BS/network or a pre-configured SL resource. For example, the configured SL resource or the pre-configured SL resource may be a resource pool. For example, the UE may autonomously select or schedule a resource for SL transmission. For example, the UE may perform SL communication by autonomously selecting a resource within a configured resource pool. For example, the UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure. For example, the sensing may be performed in unit of subchannels. In addition, the UE 1 which has autonomously selected the resource within the resource pool may transmit the SCI to the UE 2 through a PSCCH [receiving the report that indicates a subset of resources for SL communication], and thereafter may transmit data based on the SCI to the UE 2 through a PSSCH, see ¶ 0151; SL MODE 2 may refer to a resource allocation method or a communication method in which a UE independently selects SL transmission resource(s) in a resource pool pre-configured or configured from a base station or a network, see ¶ 0207; if the priority related to transmission of the first channel is relatively high compared to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially allocate transmit power to transmission of the first channel. For example, if the priority related to transmission of the first channel is relatively high compared to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially perform transmission of the first channel. For example, if the priority value related to transmission of the first channel is smaller than priority value(s) related to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially allocate transmit power to transmission of the first channel. For example, if the priority value related to transmission of the first channel is smaller than priority value(s) related to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially perform transmission of the first channel, see ¶ 0263),
Lee does not explicitly disclose perform channel sensing for one or more slots prior to transmitting a first sidelink transmission.
Hui teaches perform channel sensing for one or more slots prior to transmitting a first sidelink transmission (During the sensing window, the wireless device may observe SCI transmitted by other wireless devices using the sidelink resource pool. The SCIs may identify resources that may be used and/or reserved for sidelink transmissions. Based on the resources identified in the SCIs, the wireless device may select resources within the selection window (for example, resource that are different from the resources identified in the SCIs). The wireless device may transmit using the selected sidelink resources [performing channel sensing prior to transmitting a first sidelink transmission], see ¶ 0235; a sensing window of the resource selection procedure may start at time (n−T0) (e.g., parameter sl-SensingWindow). The sensing window may end at time (n−T.sub.proc,0) [performing channel sensing for one or more slots]. New data of the one or more sidelink transmissions may arrive at the wireless device at time (n−T.sub.proc,0), see ¶ 0279).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee with Hui to teach perform channel sensing for one or more slots prior to transmitting a first sidelink transmission. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the wireless device to transmit using the selected sidelink resources (see ¶ 0235).
Lee and Hui do not expressly disclose wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE, a number of sub-channels to be used for transmission of the packet; wherein the subset of resources includes one or more first resources that the second UE prefers the first UE use for sidelink communication and excludes one or more second resource that the second UE does not prefer the first UE use for sidelink communication; and combining information gathered from the channel sensing with information in the report.
LG teaches wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE, a number of sub-channels to be used for transmission of the packet (if request-based inter-UE coordination information transmission is supported…the request signalling can implicitly indicate full or partial UE-B’s packet information (e.g. TX priority…number of sub-channels), see page 8, 7th para),
wherein the subset of resources includes one or more first resources that the second UE prefers the first UE use for sidelink communication and excludes one or more second resource that the second UE does not prefer the first UE use for sidelink communication; and combining information gathered from the channel sensing with information in the report (UE-A sends to UE-B the set of resources preferred for UE-B’s transmission, e.g., based on its sensing result; UE-A sends to UE-B the set of resources not preferred for UE-B’s transmission, e.g., based on its sensing result and/or expected/potential resource conflict; FFS: details of sensing operation of UE-A side; Note: these different types may be used in combination with each other, see Section I: Introduction, lines 4-14).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee and Hui with LG to teach wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE, a number of sub-channels to be used for transmission of the packet; wherein the subset of resources includes one or more first resources that the second UE prefers the first UE use for sidelink communication and excludes one or more second resource that the second UE does not prefer the first UE use for sidelink communication; and combining information gathered from the channel sensing with information in the report. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the UE-A to decide when the UE can perform SL reception and which resources are preferable in terms of detection performance to receive UE-B’s PSCCH/PSSCH transmission (see page 4, 4th para).
As to Claim 30, Lee teaches a second user equipment (UE), comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the second UE to: receive the first sidelink transmission, from a first UE via a first sidelink control information (SCI)2, to trigger the second UE to transmit a report regarding sidelink resource availability (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through SCI(s). Herein, for example, the TX UE [first UE] may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE [second UE] through a first SCI and/or a second SCI. PSSCH (and/or PSCCH) related resource allocation information (e.g., the location/number of time/frequency resources, resource reservation information (e.g., period)) [trigger second UE to transmit a report regarding sidelink resource availability], see ¶ 0189-0190; a transmitting UE (TX UE) may be a UE which transmits data to a (target) receiving UE (RX UE). For example, the TX UE may be a UE which performs PSCCH transmission and/or PSSCH transmission. For example, the TX UE may be a UE which transmits SL CSI-RS(s) and/or a SL CSI report request indicator to the (target) RX UE, see ¶ 0187),
wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a request for a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through a first SCI and/or a second SCI…SL CSI report request indicator, see ¶ 0189, 0191), wherein the priority of the packet to be transmitted by the first UE comprises a priority of at least one of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) or physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) to be transmitted by the first UE (in step S2310, the TX UE may transmit sidelink information to the RX UE. For example, the TX UE may be a MODE 1 TX UE. For example, the sidelink information may be transmitted through a PSSCH and/or a PSCCH (see ¶ 0254); In step S2320, the TX UE [first UE] may receive SL HARQ feedback information for the sidelink information from the RX UE (see ¶ 0255); the TX UE may know a priority of sidelink information associated with each SL HARQ feedback information. For example, the priority may be a service-related priority and/or a QoS-related priority [priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE] (see ¶ 0257); the TX UE may select or determine or consider the minimum value, among priority values of sidelink information associated with SL HARQ feedback information transmitted through the first channel, as a priority of transmission of the first channel. For example, the TX UE may transmit at least one PSSCH to the RX UE, and the TX UE may receive at least one SL HARQ feedback information from the RX UE through at least one PSFCH related to the at least one PSSCH. In this case, each priority value of the at least one SL HARQ feedback information may be the same as each priority value of the at least one PSSCH transmission [priority of packet to be transmitted by first UE comprises a priority of at least one of a PSSCH] (see ¶ 0258).
Lee teaches transmit the report in a second SCI2 and in response to receiving the first sidelink transmission, wherein the report that indicates a subset of resources for sidelink communication (the UE may determine a SL transmission resource within a SL resource configured by a BS/network or a pre-configured SL resource. For example, the configured SL resource or the pre-configured SL resource may be a resource pool. For example, the UE may autonomously select or schedule a resource for SL transmission. For example, the UE may perform SL communication by autonomously selecting a resource within a configured resource pool. For example, the UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure. For example, the sensing may be performed in unit of subchannels. In addition, the UE 1 which has autonomously selected the resource within the resource pool may transmit the SCI to the UE 2 through a PSCCH [receiving the report that indicates a subset of resources for SL communication], and thereafter may transmit data based on the SCI to the UE 2 through a PSSCH, see ¶ 0151; SL MODE 2 may refer to a resource allocation method or a communication method in which a UE independently selects SL transmission resource(s) in a resource pool pre-configured or configured from a base station or a network, see ¶ 0207; if the priority related to transmission of the first channel is relatively high compared to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially allocate transmit power to transmission of the first channel. For example, if the priority related to transmission of the first channel is relatively high compared to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially perform transmission of the first channel. For example, if the priority value related to transmission of the first channel is smaller than priority value(s) related to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially allocate transmit power to transmission of the first channel. For example, if the priority value related to transmission of the first channel is smaller than priority value(s) related to other transmission, the TX UE may preferentially perform transmission of the first channel, see ¶ 0263),
Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a start time of a resource selection window and an end time of the resource selection window.
Hui teaches wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a start time of a resource selection window and an end time of the resource selection window (a sensing window of the resource selection procedure may start at time (n-TO) (e.g., parameter sl- SensingWindow). The sensing window may end at time (n-T.sub.proc,0). New data of the one or more sidelink transmissions may arrive at the wireless device at time (n-T.sub.proc,0). The time period T.sub.proc,0 may be a processing delay of the wireless device to determine to trigger the resource selection procedure. The wireless device may determine to trigger the resource selection procedure at time n to select the resources for the new data arrived at time (n-T.sub.proc,0). The wireless device may complete the resource selection procedure at time (n+T1). The wireless device may determine the parameter T1 based on a capability of the wireless device. The capability of the wireless device may be a processing delay of a processor of the wireless device. A selection window of the resource selection procedure may start at time (n+T1). The selection window may end at time (n+T2) indicating the ending of the selection window, see 1 0279).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee with Hui to teach wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a start time of a resource selection window and an end time of the resource selection window. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the wireless device to transmit using the selected sidelink resources (see ¶ 0235).
Lee and Hui do not expressly disclose wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE, a number of sub-channels to be used for transmission of the packet; wherein the subset of resources includes one or more first resources that the second UE prefers the first UE use for sidelink communication and excludes one or more second resource that the second UE does not prefer the first UE use for sidelink communication.
LG teaches wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE, a number of sub-channels to be used for transmission of the packet (if request-based inter-UE coordination information transmission is supported…the request signalling can implicitly indicate full or partial UE-B’s packet information (e.g. TX priority…number of sub-channels), see page 8, 7th para),
wherein the subset of resources includes one or more first resources that the second UE prefers the first UE use for sidelink communication and excludes one or more second resource that the second UE does not prefer the first UE use for sidelink communication (UE-A sends to UE-B the set of resources preferred for UE-B’s transmission, e.g., based on its sensing result; UE-A sends to UE-B the set of resources not preferred for UE-B’s transmission, e.g., based on its sensing result and/or expected/potential resource conflict; FFS: details of sensing operation of UE-A side; Note: these different types may be used in combination with each other, see Section I: Introduction, lines 4-14).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee and Hui with LG to teach wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a priority of a packet to be transmitted by the first UE, a number of sub-channels to be used for transmission of the packet; wherein the subset of resources includes one or more first resources that the second UE prefers the first UE use for sidelink communication and excludes one or more second resource that the second UE does not prefer the first UE use for sidelink communication. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the UE-A to decide when the UE can perform SL reception and which resources are preferable in terms of detection performance to receive UE-B’s PSCCH/PSSCH transmission (see page 4, 4th para).
As to Claim 31, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, Lee teaches wherein the SCI comprises an SCI2 (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through SCI(s). Herein, for example, the TX UE [first UE] may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE [second UE] through a first SCI and/or a second SCI, see ¶ 0189).
As to Claim 32, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, Lee teaches wherein the report comprises a plurality of indications, wherein each indication of the plurality of indications indicates that a corresponding resource of the subset of resources is available (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through SCI(s). Herein, for example, the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through a first SCI and/or a second SCI. PSSCH (and/or PSCCH) related resource allocation information (e.g., the location/number of time/frequency resources, resource reservation information (e.g., period)) [indications that a corresponding resource of the subset of resources is available], see ¶ 0189-0190; a transmitting UE (TX UE) may be a UE which transmits data to a (target) receiving UE (RX UE). For example, the TX UE may be a UE which performs PSCCH transmission and/or PSSCH transmission. For example, the TX UE may be a UE which transmits SL CSI-RS(s) and/or a SL CSI report request indicator to the (target) RX UE, see ¶ 0187).
As to Claim 34, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 23, LG teaches based on the acknowledgement feedback, indicating an unsuccessful reception of the first sidelink transmission, wherein the second UE transmitted the report to the first UE in a subsequent sidelink transmission, monitoring for a retransmission of the first sidelink transmission (the condition can include when the UE-B determines a number of NACK for the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission from the UE-B during a certain duration of time [unsuccessful reception of first sidelink transmission], see section 2.2, observation 16; PSFCH associated with PSSCH containing the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, observation 18; PSFCH associated with PSSCH containing the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, observation 18; UE-A can know whether or not UE-B successfully decode the inter-UE coordination information when the SL HARQ-ACK feedback is enabled for the TB, see section 2.2, observation 20; PSFCH format is used to indicate whether the TX UE needs to perform retransmissions or not).
As to Claim 37, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 29, Lee teaches wherein the SCI comprises an SCI2 (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through SCI(s). Herein, for example, the TX UE [first UE] may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE [second UE] through a first SCI and/or a second SCI, see ¶ 0189).
As to Claim 38, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 29, Lee teaches wherein the report comprises a plurality of indications, wherein each indication of the plurality of indications indicates that a corresponding resource of the subset of resources is available (the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through SCI(s). Herein, for example, the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through a first SCI and/or a second SCI. PSSCH (and/or PSCCH) related resource allocation information (e.g., the location/number of time/frequency resources, resource reservation information (e.g., period)) [indications that a corresponding resource of the subset of resources is available], see ¶ 0189-0190; a transmitting UE (TX UE) may be a UE which transmits data to a (target) receiving UE (RX UE). For example, the TX UE may be a UE which performs PSCCH transmission and/or PSSCH transmission. For example, the TX UE may be a UE which transmits SL CSI-RS(s) and/or a SL CSI report request indicator to the (target) RX UE, see ¶ 0187).
As to Claim 40, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, Hui teaches wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a start time of a resource selection window and an end time of the resource selection window (a sensing window of the resource selection procedure may start at time (n−T0) (e.g., parameter sl-SensingWindow). The sensing window may end at time (n−T.sub.proc,0). New data of the one or more sidelink transmissions may arrive at the wireless device at time (n−T.sub.proc,0). The time period T.sub.proc,0 may be a processing delay of the wireless device to determine to trigger the resource selection procedure. The wireless device may determine to trigger the resource selection procedure at time n to select the resources for the new data arrived at time (n−T.sub.proc,0). The wireless device may complete the resource selection procedure at time (n+T1). The wireless device may determine the parameter T1 based on a capability of the wireless device. The capability of the wireless device may be a processing delay of a processor of the wireless device. A selection window of the resource selection procedure may start at time (n+T1). The selection window may end at time (n+T2) indicating the ending of the selection window, see ¶ 0279).
As to Claim 41, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 29, Hui teaches wherein the first sidelink transmission conveys information comprising a start time of a resource selection window and an end time of the resource selection window (a sensing window of the resource selection procedure may start at time (n−T0) (e.g., parameter sl-SensingWindow). The sensing window may end at time (n−T.sub.proc,0). New data of the one or more sidelink transmissions may arrive at the wireless device at time (n−T.sub.proc,0). The time period T.sub.proc,0 may be a processing delay of the wireless device to determine to trigger the resource selection procedure. The wireless device may determine to trigger the resource selection procedure at time n to select the resources for the new data arrived at time (n−T.sub.proc,0). The wireless device may complete the resource selection procedure at time (n+T1). The wireless device may determine the parameter T1 based on a capability of the wireless device. The capability of the wireless device may be a processing delay of a processor of the wireless device. A selection window of the resource selection procedure may start at time (n+T1). The selection window may end at time (n+T2) indicating the ending of the selection window, see ¶ 0279).
Claim(s) 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0080877 to Lee et al (“Lee”) in view of in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0090001 to Hui et al (“Hui”) in further view of "Discussion on Feasibility and Benefits for Mode 2 Enhancements", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 leeting #104-e, R1-2101786 (Revision of R1-2100518), 3GPP, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, -~06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG1, No. e-Meeting, 20210125-20210205, 28 Pages, 26 January P021, XP051975888, URL: https://ftp.3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG1_RL1/TSGR1_104-e/Docs/R1-2101786.zip R1-2101786 sidelink mode 2 enhancement_rev.docx. to LG ELECTRONICS (“LG”) and in further view of “Inter-UE coordination in mode 2 of NR sidelink”, 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2100142, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-e, e-meeting, January 25th – February 5th, 2021, XP051970260, Retrieved from the Internet: URL: https://ftp.3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG1_RL1/TSGR1_104-e/Docs/R1-2100142.zip to OPPO.
As to Claim 27, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 20, Lee and Hui do not expressly disclose wherein: the first sidelink transmission conveys a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of a corresponding packet to be transmitted by the first UE; and the report indicates one or more resources within the remaining PDB. OPPO teaches wherein: the first sidelink transmission conveys a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of a corresponding packet to be transmitted by the first UE (inter-UE coordination may introduce additional delay due to the exchange of signaling, PDB of the packet to be transmitted should also be large enough…UE-B should have packet with high reliability requirement and sufficient PDB to transmit, see section 2.4, proposals 9 & 10); and the report indicates one or more resources within the remaining PDB (when resource reselection is triggered at UE-B, UE-B needs to indicate L1 priority, remaining PDB, reservation interval, etc. to UE-A such that UE-A can determine “a set of resources” based on sensing accordingly, see section 2.4, proposal 3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hui and LG with OPPO to teach wherein: the first sidelink transmission conveys a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of a corresponding packet to be transmitted by the first UE; and the report indicates one or more resources within the remaining PDB. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to have a packet with high reliability and sufficient packet delay budget to transmit (see section 2.4).
Claim(s) 5, 8-10, 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0080877 to Lee et al (“Lee”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0090001 to Hui et al (“Hui”) in further view of "Discussion on Feasibility and Benefits for Mode 2 Enhancements", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 meeting #104-e, R1-2101786 (Revision of R1-2100518), 3GPP, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, -~06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG1, No. e-Meeting, 20210125-20210205, 28 Pages, 26 January P021, XP051975888, URL: https://ftp.3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG1_RL1/TSGR1_104-e/Docs/R1-2101786.zip R1-2101786 sidelink mode 2 enhancement_rev.docx. to LG ELECTRONICS (“LG”) and in further view of “Inter-UE coordination in mode 2 of NR sidelink”, 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2100142, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-e, e-meeting, January 25th – February 5th, 2021, XP051970260, Retrieved from the Internet: URL: https://ftp.3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG1_RL1/TSGR1_104-e/Docs/R1-2100142.zip to OPPO.
As to Claim 5, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 4, Lee, Hui and LG do not expressly disclose combining information gathered from the channel sensing with information in the report; and selecting one or more resources for a subsequent sidelink transmission based on the information gathered from the channel sensing combined with the information in the report. OPPO teaches combining information gathered from the channel sensing with information in the report (UE-B can trigger UE-A to evaluate the set of resources within resource selection window of UE-B based on sensing, and then UE-A can identify which resources within the resource selection window of UE-B is suitable/not suitable for UE-B, see section 2.4); and selecting one or more resources for a subsequent sidelink transmission based on the information gathered from the channel sensing combined with the information in the report (the set of resources can be indicated with a bitmap with each bit corresponding to a sub-channel within the super set, in the end the resources preferred/not preferred for UE-B’s transmission can be indicated simultaneously…as “a set of resources” are used by UE-B to determine which resources to be used/not used in upcoming transmissions…Basically, ”a set of resources” could be…a subset of resources reserved by UE-B in the future, see section 2.4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hui and LG with OPPO to teach combining information gathered from the channel sensing with information in the report; and selecting one or more resources for a subsequent sidelink transmission based on the information gathered from the channel sensing combined with the information in the report. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to determine which resources to be used/not used in upcoming transmissions (see section 2.4).
As to Claim 8, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, LG teaches wherein: the first sidelink transmission comprises an initial transmission of a transport block (TB) (triggering the request can include when the UE-B tries to transmit data to another UE or the UE-B triggers resource (re)selection procedure for its own transmission, see section 2.2, observation 16; TB consists of the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, observation 18); and the second sidelink transmission comprises a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) with an acknowledgment feedback regarding whether the first sidelink transmission is received by the second UE (the condition can include when the UE-B determines a number of NACK for the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission [acknowledgment feedback regarding whether the first sidelink transmission is received by the second UE] from the UE-B during a certain duration of time, see section 2.2, observation 16; PSFCH associated with PSSCH containing the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, observation 18).
OPPO teaches monitoring for a second sidelink transmission from the second UE in response to transmitting the first sidelink transmission (the set of resources can be indicated with a bitmap with each bit corresponding to a sub-channel within the super set, in the end the resources preferred/not preferred for UE-B’s transmission can be indicated simultaneously…as “a set of resources” are used by UE-B to determine which resources to be used/not used in upcoming transmissions…Basically, ”a set of resources” could be…a subset of resources reserved by UE-B in the future, see section 2.4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hui and LG with OPPO to teach monitoring for a second sidelink transmission from the second UE in response to transmitting the first sidelink transmission. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to determine which resources to be used/not used in upcoming transmissions (see section 2.4).
As to Claim 9, Lee, Hui, LG and OPPO depending on Claim 8, LG teaches wherein the acknowledgement feedback indicates a successful reception of the first sidelink transmission, and further comprising: refraining from any further transmission of the TB; or waiting for a subsequent sidelink transmission of the report from the second UE (PSFCH associated with PSSCH containing the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, observation 18; UE-A can know whether or not UE-B successfully decode the inter-UE coordination information when the SL HARQ-ACK feedback is enabled for the TB, see section 2.2, observation 20; PSFCH format is used to indicate whether the TX UE needs to perform retransmissions or not).
As to Claim 10, Lee, Hui, LG and OPPO depending on Claim 8, Lee teaches wherein the report includes one or more transmission parameters to be applied to resources indicated in the report, based on the information conveyed in the first sidelink transmission (a receiving UE (RX UE) may be a UE which transmits SL HARQ feedback to a transmitting UE (TX UE) based on whether decoding of data received from the TX UE is successful and/or whether detection/decoding of a PSCCH (related to PSSCH scheduling) transmitted by the TX UE is successful. For example, the RX UE may be a UE which performs SL CSI transmission to the TX UE based on SL CSI-RS(s) [transmission parameters] and/or a SL CSI report request indicator received from the TX UE. For example, the RX UE is a UE which transmits a SL (L1) RSRP measurement value, to the TX UE, measured based on (pre-defined) reference signal(s) and/or a SL (L1) RSRP report request indicator received from the TX UE)).
LG teaches wherein the acknowledgement feedback indicates an unsuccessful reception of the first sidelink transmission, and further comprising: waiting for a subsequent sidelink transmission that includes the report from the second UE, and based on the report, re-transmitting the TB on one or more resources scheduled by the second UE based on the report (the condition can include when the UE-B determines a number of NACK for the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission from the UE-B during a certain duration of time [unsuccessful reception of first sidelink transmission], see section 2.2, observation 16; PSFCH associated with PSSCH containing the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, observation 18; PSFCH associated with PSSCH containing the inter-UE coordination information, see section 2.2, observation 18; UE-A can know whether or not UE-B successfully decode the inter-UE coordination information when the SL HARQ-ACK feedback is enabled for the TB, see section 2.2, observation 20; PSFCH format is used to indicate whether the TX UE needs to perform retransmissions or not).
As to Claim 42, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, Lee, Hui and LG do not expressly disclose wherein: the first sidelink transmission indicates a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of the packet, and the subset of resources for sidelink communication is based on the priority of the packet to be transmitted by the second UE and the remaining PDB of the packet. OPPO teaches wherein: the first sidelink transmission indicates a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of the packet, and the subset of resources for sidelink communication is based on the priority of the packet to be transmitted by the second UE and the remaining PDB of the packet (The measured SL-RSRP and corresponding priority are further used to preclude resources reserved by other UEs within the resource selection window, which is defined within [n + T₁, n + T₂], where T₁ is
selected by UE within 0 ≤ T₁ ≤ TStroc,1, and T₂ is selected by UE within T₂ₘᵢₙ ≤ T₂ ≤ remaining packet budget, see Section 2.1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hui and LG with OPPO to teach wherein: the first sidelink transmission conveys a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of a corresponding packet to be transmitted by the first UE; and the report indicates one or more resources within the remaining PDB. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to have a packet with high reliability and sufficient packet delay budget to transmit (see section 2.4).
As to Claim 43, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, Lee, Hui and LG do not expressly disclose wherein: the first sidelink transmission indicates a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of the packet, and the subset of resources for sidelink communication is based on the priority of the packet to be transmitted by the second UE and the remaining PDB of the packet. OPPO teaches wherein: the first sidelink transmission indicates a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of the packet, and the subset of resources for sidelink communication is based on the priority of the packet to be transmitted by the second UE and the remaining PDB of the packet (The measured SL-RSRP and corresponding priority are further used to preclude resources reserved by other UEs within the resource selection window, which is defined within [n + T₁, n + T₂], where T₁ is
selected by UE within 0 ≤ T₁ ≤ TStroc,1, and T₂ is selected by UE within T₂ₘᵢₙ ≤ T₂ ≤ remaining packet budget, see Section 2.1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hui and LG with OPPO to teach wherein: the first sidelink transmission conveys a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of a corresponding packet to be transmitted by the first UE; and the report indicates one or more resources within the remaining PDB. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to have a packet with high reliability and sufficient packet delay budget to transmit (see section 2.4).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0080877 to Lee et al (“Lee”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0090001 to Hui et al (“Hui”) in further view of "Discussion on Feasibility and Benefits for Mode 2 Enhancements", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 meeting #104-e, R1-2101786 (Revision of R1-2100518), 3GPP, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, -~06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG1, No. e-Meeting, 20210125-20210205, 28 Pages, 26 January P021, XP051975888, URL: https://ftp.3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG1_RL1/TSGR1_104-e/Docs/R1-2101786.zip R1-2101786 sidelink mode 2 enhancement_rev.docx. to LG ELECTRONICS (“LG”) in further view of “Inter-UE coordination in mode 2 of NR sidelink”, 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2100142, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-e, e-meeting, January 25th – February 5th, 2021, XP051970260, Retrieved from the Internet: URL: https://ftp.3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG1_RL1/TSGR1_104-e/Docs/R1-2100142.zip to OPPO and in further view of "Reliability and Latency Enhancements for Mode 2", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting 104-e, R1-2101910, 3GPP, 20210125-20210205, 23 Pages, 29 January 2021, XP051975989 to QUALCOMM INCORPORATED (“QUALCOMM”).
As to Claim 11, Lee, Hui, LG and OPPO depending on Claim 8, Lee, Hui, LG and OPPO do not expressly disclose wherein the first UE does not receive the PSFCH, and further comprising: waiting for the report, wherein the report is expected to arrive before a deadline and the report does not arrive by the deadline; and re-transmitting the TB after the deadline. QUALCOMM teaches wherein the first UE does not receive the PSFCH, and further comprising: waiting for the report, wherein the report is expected to arrive before a deadline and the report does not arrive by the deadline; and re-transmitting the TB after the deadline (when not expecting explicit ACK…start expecting explicit ACK for the next packet the first time it receives any ACK…the transmitter UE should not expect to receive any explicit ACK, otherwise it will keep retransmitting until the maximum number of retransmissions, see pg. 17).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hui, LG and OPPO with QUALCOMM to teach wherein the first UE does not receive the PSFCH, and further comprising: waiting for the report, wherein the report is expected to arrive before a deadline and the report does not arrive by the deadline; and re-transmitting the TB after the deadline. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce the load on feedback channel and allow for power control of feedback transmission (see page 16).
Claim(s) 14-17, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0080877 to Lee et al (“Lee”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0090001 to Hui et al (“Hui”) in further view of "Discussion on Feasibility and Benefits for Mode 2 Enhancements", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #104-e, R1-2101786 (Revision of R1-2100518), 3GPP, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, -~06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG1, No. e-Meeting, 20210125-20210205, 28 Pages, 26 January P021, XP051975888, URL: https://ftp.3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG1_RL1/TSGR1_104-e/Docs/R1-2101786.zip R1-2101786 sidelink mode 2 enhancement_rev.docx. to LG ELECTRONICS (“LG”) and in further view of "Reliability and Latency Enhancements for Mode 2", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting 104-e, R1-2101910, 3GPP, 20210125-20210205, 23 Pages, 29 January 2021, XP051975989 to QUALCOMM INCORPORATED (“QUALCOMM”).
As to Claim 14, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, Lee, Hui and LG do not expressly disclose if the first UE does not receive an acknowledgement feedback regarding whether the first sidelink transmission is received by the second UE prior to reception of the report before a deadline, and further comprising: waiting for the report, wherein the report is expected to arrive before the deadline. QUALCOMM teaches if the first UE does not receive an acknowledgement feedback regarding whether the first sidelink transmission is received by the second UE prior to reception of the report before a deadline, and further comprising: waiting for the report, wherein the report is expected to arrive before the deadline (when not expecting explicit ACK…start expecting explicit ACK for the next packet the first time it receives any ACK…the transmitter UE should not expect to receive any explicit ACK, otherwise it will keep retransmitting until the maximum number of retransmissions, see pg. 17).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hui and LG with QUALCOMM to teach if the first UE does not receive an acknowledgement feedback regarding whether the first sidelink transmission is received by the second UE prior to reception of the report before a deadline, and further comprising: waiting for the report, wherein the report is expected to arrive before the deadline. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce the load on feedback channel and allow for power control of feedback transmission (see page 16).
As to Claim 15, Lee, Hui, LG and QUALCOMM depending on Claim 14, QUALCOMM teaches wherein the report is not received before the deadline, and further comprising re-transmitting the first sidelink transmission after the deadline (when not expecting explicit ACK…start expecting explicit ACK for the next packet the first time it receives any ACK…the transmitter UE should not expect to receive any explicit ACK, otherwise it will keep retransmitting until the maximum number of retransmissions, see pg. 17).
As to Claim 16, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, Lee and Hui do not expressly disclose re-transmitting the first sidelink transmission until: the first UE receives an acknowledgement feedback, the first UE receives the report, or a packet delay budget (PDB) is reached. QUALCOMM teaches disclose re-transmitting the first sidelink transmission until: the first UE receives an acknowledgement feedback, the first UE receives the report, or a packet delay budget (PDB) is reached (when not expecting explicit ACK…start expecting explicit ACK for the next packet the first time it receives any ACK…the transmitter UE should not expect to receive any explicit ACK, otherwise it will keep retransmitting until the maximum number of retransmissions, see pg. 17).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee and Hui with QUALCOMM to teach disclose re-transmitting the first sidelink transmission until: the first UE receives an acknowledgement feedback, the first UE receives the report, or a packet delay budget (PDB) is reached. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce the load on feedback channel and allow for power control of feedback transmission (see page 16).
As to Claim 17, Lee, Hui and LG depending on Claim 1, Lee, Hui and LG do not expressly disclose re-transmitting the first sidelink transmission in response to the report not being received within an amount of time after transmitting the first sidelink transmission. QUALCOMM teaches disclose re-transmitting the first sidelink transmission in response to the report not being received within an amount of time after transmitting the first sidelink transmission (when not expecting explicit ACK…start expecting explicit ACK for the next packet the first time it receives any ACK…the transmitter UE should not expect to receive any explicit ACK, otherwise it will keep retransmitting until the maximum number of retransmissions, see pg. 17).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hui and LG with QUALCOMM to teach disclose re-transmitting the first sidelink transmission in response to the report not being received within an amount of time after transmitting of the first sidelink transmission. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce the load on feedback channel and allow for power control of feedback transmission (see page 16).
As to Claim 36, Lee, Hui, LG depending on Claim 20, Lee, Hui and LG do not expressly disclose wherein the processing system is configured to cause the first UE to: re-transmit the first sidelink transmission until: the first UE receives an acknowledgement feedback, the first UE receives the report, or a packet delay budget (PDB) is reached. OPPO teaches wherein the processing system is configured to cause the first UE to: re-transmit the first sidelink transmission until: the first UE receives an acknowledgement feedback, the first UE receives the report, or a packet delay budget (PDB) is reached (when not expecting explicit ACK…start expecting explicit ACK for the next packet the first time it receives any ACK…the transmitter UE should not expect to receive any explicit ACK, otherwise it will keep retransmitting until the maximum number of retransmissions, see pg. 17).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, Hui and LG with QUALCOMM to teach disclose re-transmit the first sidelink transmission until: the first UE receives an acknowledgement feedback, the first UE receives the report, or a packet delay budget (PDB) is reached. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce the load on feedback channel and allow for power control of feedback transmission (see page 16).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622