DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-27 and 31-32, and the species T. parareesei strain T6, T. virens strain T59, mannitol as the stabilizer, kaolin as the solid carrier, boron as the metabolic inhibitor, stabilizer, nutrient or additive, lysine as the biostimulant, and cellulose as the spore coating in the reply filed on 19 September 2025, is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
The preliminary amendment, filed on 30 June 2022, is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 5, 7, 11-16, 19, 22-26, 28, and 30 are amended.
New claims 31-35 have been entered.
Claims 1-35 are pending in the instant Office Action.
Claims 28-30 and 33-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 19 September 2025.
Claims 3-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 19 September 2025.
Claims 1-2, 5-27, and 31-32 are under consideration in the instant Office Action, to the extent of the following elected species:
the specific Trichoderma isolates are T. parareesei strain T6 and T. virens strain T59;
the specific stabilizer is mannitol;
the specific solid carrier is kaolin;
the specific nutrient is boron;
the specific biostimulant is the amino acid lysine; and
the specific spore coating is cellulose.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 September 2025, was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 11-14 recite “wherein a concentration” in lines 1-2 of each claim. The article “a” should be replaced with “the”, so the resulting phrases recite “wherein the concentration” (bold added for emphasis).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 13, 17-25, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “(w/w)” in the second line. It is unclear whether “w/w” is a unit that is intended to limit the preceding concentration or if it is an example provided in parentheses, and is therefore indefinite.
Claim 13 recites “(w/v) or (v/v)” in the second line. It is unclear whether “w/v” or “v/v” are both units intended to limit the preceding concentration, both are examples provided in parentheses, or a combination of the two, and is therefore indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 17 recites the broad recitation “one or more Trichoderma isolates”, and the claim also recites “(e.g., cellulose coated spheres)” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 17 also recites the broad recitation “a liquid carrier”, and the claim also recites “(e.g., water)” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claims 18-25 and 31-32 depend from claim 17 and do not resolve the ambiguity. Claims 17-25 and 31-32 are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 21 recites the broad recitation “a polysaccharide”, and the claim also recites “(e.g., cellulose)” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 11-15, 17-19, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutfiyya et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,560,342 B2, priority to 27 December 2018, hereafter referred to as Lutfiyya) in view of Morán-Diez et al. (Curr. Genet. 2010, 56, 63., provided by Applicant in IDS filed on 19 September 2025, hereafter referred to as Morán-Diez) and Rubio et al. (Appl. Environ. Microbiol. 2014, 80, (6), 1864., provided by Applicant in IDS filed on 19 September 2025, hereafter referred to as Rubio).
Lutfiyya teaches microbial compositions that may be applied to plants, plant parts, or plant seeds to improve plant yields or other beneficial plant traits (Abstract). The inoculant compositions comprise one or more strains of the bacteria Bacillus megaterium alongside additional microorganisms, one or more stabilizing compounds, and other components in an agriculturally acceptable carrier (column 1, lines 46-67) and may be applied to a plant, plant part, or “plant growth medium”, e.g. soil (column 3, lines 42-58). Examples of acceptable additional microorganisms are taught to be fungal extracts, including strains from the Trichoderma genus, species virens, due to their ability to act as biopesticides and be “agriculturally beneficial” (column 22, lines 56-64, column 33, line 62 - column 34, line 3, and column 96, lines 52-60). The fungal microorgansims are present as extracts of growth media comprising spores of the fungal strain, which is interpreted as equivalent to the isolates, spores, and/or isolates comprising mycelium and/or spores recited in instant claims 1-2, 5-27, and 31-32 (column 5, lines 6-11, column 11, lines 13-14, column 17, lines 34-36, and column 99, lines 3-23). The additional microorganisms are taught to be present in an amount “ranging from about 1x101-1x1012 colony-forming units (cfu) per gram or mL of the composition (column 98, lines 53-64). The additional microorganisms are also taught to comprise “about 0.1 to about 90% (by weight) of the inoculant composition)” (column 99, lines 3-15).
Lutfiyya teaches additional components in the compositions to include one or more liquid carrier(s), which in one embodiment is water (column 13, lines 48-58 and column 14, lines 1-8). The one or more carrier materials is taught to optionally be a solid (column 13, lines 48-58). The one or more solid carriers are taught in some embodiments to be powders and/or granules, such as clays, and in one embodiment may specifically be kaolin, which can also serve as a pigment (column 13, lines 59-67 and column 81, lines 21-24). The compositions are also taught to comprise one or more sugar alcohols, such as mannitol, which can also assist in culturing the one or more microorganisms in the inoculant composition (column 15, lines 50-54 and column 81, lines 45-51), and suitable nutrients, such as the trace mineral boron (column 23, lines 4-19).
Guidelines on the obviousness of similar and overlapping ranges, amounts, and proportions are provided in MPEP § 2144.05. With respect to claimed ranges which “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). These guidelines apply to the concentration of colony forming units and the quantity of microorganisms in the composition. In each case, the range recited in the instant application significantly overlaps with the ranges taught by Lutfiyya.
Lutfiyya does not teach the specific Trichoderma strains T. virens T59 and T. parareesei T6. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of Morán-Diez and Rubio.
Morán-Diez teaches the impact of the TvDim1 gene of T. virens T59 on plants (Abstract). Most species of Trichoderma are taught to have been “linked to biocontrol and biotechnological applications”, including promoting plant growth and inducing plant defense mechanisms (pg. 63, right column, para. 1). In this study, Morán-Diez teaches that the strain T59 of species T. virens contains the gene TvDim1, which was found to be a stress response-related gene (pg. 67, left column, para. 1 and pg. 71, left column, para. 2). Further investigation of the gene found that the gene can “confer resistance to oxidative stress and…reduce H2O2” (pg. 72, left column, para. 2).
Rubio teaches the beneficial qualities of the species Trichoderma parareesei for plants, including the strain T6 “showing biocontrol potential against fungal and oomycete phytopathogens and enhance hyphal growth in the presence of tomato exudates or plant cell wall polymers in in vitro assays” (Abstract). Trichoderma is taught to be a genus of fungi that contains strains which are agriculturally beneficial due to their ability to act as antagonists against phytopathogenic fungi and oomycetes, which arise from their “production of antibiotics and/or hydrolytic enzymes as well as competition for nutrients” (pg. 1864, left column, para. 1). In particular, T. reesei is taught to be widely used for its beneficial properties and its “descendant”, T. parareesei, is taught to encompass many of the same benefits without requiring sexual reproduction, in addition to showing faster growth on a wider spectrum of carbon sources, producing a high number of propagules, adapting to a variety of light conditions, and displaying stronger antagonistic potential against pathogenic fungi (pg. 1864, left column, para. 2). Following studies on the ability of T. parareesei T6 to inhibit the oomycete Pythium irregulare, the basidiomycete Rhizoctonia solani, and the ascomycete Botrytis cinerea, as well as interactions with tomato plants upon which the fungus was applied, Rubio concluded that T. parareesei T6 has interactions with tomato plants that are “beneficial to both partners and [exert] long-term positive effects on seedlings or adult plants in terms of systemic plant defense against B. cinerea and increased lateral root development and growth promotion under salt stress conditions” (pg. 1864, right column, para. 2 - pg. 1865, left column, para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, in view of the teachings of Morán-Diez and Rubio to use the specific Trichoderma strains T. virens T59 and T. parareesei T6 in the Bacillus megaterium composition taught by Lutfiyya because combining prior art elements to impart known benefits according to known methods yields predictable results. Lutfiyya teaches microbial compositions that may be applied to plants, which may comprise microorganisms including strains from the Trichoderma genus, one or more liquid carrier(s) which may be water, one or more solid carrier(s) which may be kaolin, one or more sugar alcohol(s) which may be mannitol, and suitable nutrients, such as the trace mineral boron. In view of the teachings of Morán-Diez, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to use the specific Trichoderma strains T. virens T59 because Morán-Diez teaches said strain to contain the gene TvDim1, which can confer resistance to oxidative stress and reduce H2O2 presence. One of ordinary skill would desire a composition intended to protect a plant following application to comprise components that are resistant to stress, such as H2O2, and could provide additional protection to the plant substrate.
A person of ordinary skill would further be motivated, in view of the teachings of Rubio, to use the specific strain T. parareesei T6 in their composition because Rubio teaches the strain to inhibit pathogenic fungi and to have beneficial interactions with tomato plants following application, including improved plant defense, increased lateral root development, and growth promotion under stress. The ordinary artisan would desire these properties to be applied to the plants which their composition is intended to protect. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1-2, 5-7, 11-15, 17-19, and 22-24 in view of the teachings of Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutfiyya (U.S. Patent No. 11,560,342 B2, priority to 27 December 2018) in view of Morán-Diez (Curr. Genet. 2010, 56, 63., provided by Applicant in IDS filed on 19 September 2025) and Rubio (Appl. Environ. Microbiol. 2014, 80, (6), 1864., provided by Applicant in IDS filed on 19 September 2025) as applied to claims 1-2, 5-7, 11-15, 17-19, and 22-24 above, and further in view of Bhattacharyya et al. (Appl. Environ. Microbio. 1982, 44 (3), 751., hereafter referred to as Bhattacharyya).
Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio teach the above.
Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio do not teach the spores of Trichoderma to be disposed on or within the kaolin particle. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of Bhattacharyya.
Bhattacharyya teaches the use of kaolin powder as a carrier of spores from the Aspergillus genus (Abstract). One species from the Aspergillus genus is taught to be useful for “softening and upgrading barky jute”, but needed a suitable carrier so the fungus could be distributed to farmers for use (pg. 751, left column, para. 1). Kaolin, a nearly chemical inert complex aluminum silicate, is taught to be readily available and inexpensive, and was tested for its suitability as an appropriate carrier for fungi (pg. 751, left column, para. 1-3). Cultures of Aspergillus were incubated with washed and dried kaolin to produce kaolin-culture inoculants, in which the fungus was contained within the kaolin particles (pg. 751, left column, final para. - right column, para. 3). While growth of the fungus slowed over a period of 90 days, the fungus was found to be preserved inside the powdered kaolin and viable over the full period (pg. 751, right column, para. 3). Further, Bhattacharyya taught that the kaolin-culture inoculants were capable of growing the Aspergillus fungus while “suppressing the growth of other organisms” (pg. 751, right column, para. 3). The encapsulated fungus was found to retain its activity regarding barky jute and Bhattacharyya concluded that kaolin could be used as a carrier for other species of fungi and could be a method of preservation (pg. 752, left column, final para. - pg. 753, left column, para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to modify the invention rendered obvious by the teachings of Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio above with the teachings of Bhattacharyya to dispose Trichoderma spores within kaolin particles because the use of a known technique to improve a similar product in the same way yields predictable results. Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio rendered obvious a microbial composition that may be applied to plants, which may comprise the Trichoderma strains T. virens T59 and T. parareesei T6, one or more liquid carrier(s) which may be water, one or more solid carrier(s) which may be kaolin, one or more sugar alcohol(s) which may be mannitol, and suitable nutrients, such as the trace mineral boron. In view of the teachings of Bhattacharyya, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to dispose the Trichoderma spores within the kaolin particles because Bhattacharyya teaches the solid particles to be a suitable carrier for fungi and to maintain viability for 90 days following encapsulation. While Lutfiyya teaches the inclusion of kaolin in their composition, they do not teach their interaction with fungal spores. An ordinary artisan would be motivated to dispose the spores within the kaolin particles because they would desire the fungal spores to maintain viability for an extended period of time. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 8-10 in view of the teachings of Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio and further in view of the teachings of Bhattacharyya.
Claims 16, 25-27, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutfiyya (U.S. Patent No. 11,560,342 B2, priority to 27 December 2018) in view of Morán-Diez (Curr. Genet. 2010, 56, 63., provided by Applicant in IDS filed on 19 September 2025) and Rubio (Appl. Environ. Microbiol. 2014, 80, (6), 1864., provided by Applicant in IDS filed on 19 September 2025) as applied to claims 1-2, 5-7, 11-15, 17-19, and 22-24 above, and further in view of Michailidis (European Patent Application Publication No. EP 2537823 A1, published on 26 December 2012, provided by Applicant in IDS filed on 19 September 2025).
Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio teach the above and particularly relevant to claims 16, 25-27, and 31-32, Lutfiyya teaches that their composition may comprise biostimulants (column 3, line 33 and column 81, line 52), which are agents that enhance “one or more metabolic and/or physiological processes of a plant or plant part” (column 4, lines 35-40), and in some embodiments may be the amino acid glycine (col 17, lines 22-26).
Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio do not teach the biostimulant in their composition to be lysine nor the lysine to be contained in a separate formulation that is combined prior to application. These deficiencies are offset by the teachings of Michailidis.
Michailidis teaches a method for supplementing plant growth that comprises administration of a composition comprising free amino acids derived from raw materials of plant origins (Abstract). Traditional fertilizers are taught to negatively impact the environment and human health, in part due to the “overuse of nitrogen based fertilizers”, resulting in “the soil [being] incapable of absorbing nutrients” (para. [0002]. Michailidis teaches that these problems can be alleviated by applying amino acids, which “help plants absorb the appropriate and necessary nutrients from the soil” and avoid negatively impacting the environment by utilizing plants, such as maize, wheat, and soya, as the source of the amino acids (para. [0003]).
The composition taught by Michailidis is produced in a method which uses HCl to hydrolyze maize, wheat, and soy plant material, producing free amino acids and no waste, as “all ingredients used in the method are used in their pure form, with no pre-treatment” (para. [0007-0008] and claims 1 and 3). The final composition is in the form of a liquid (para. [0011]) and comprises peptides, sugars, and residues from plant hydrolysis, water, and 16 species of free amino acids, among which are glycine and lysine (para. [0012-0013] and claims 1 and 3). Advantages imparted by the composition, following application to plants or plant growth media, include improved plant uniformity, improved antioxidant effects following plant consumption, improved plant root growth, improved disease and stress resistance, and stimulated metabolic functions (para. [0005]). These advantages are imparted by mixing the composition with other nutrients, phytoprotection products, and “state of the art foliar fertilizers” in “any proportion” (para. [0005] and [0014]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, in view of the teachings of Michailidis to produce a composition comprising an amino acid mixture containing lysine and combine with the formulation rendered obvious by the teachings of Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio because combining prior art elements to impart known benefits yields predictable results. Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio rendered obvious a microbial composition that may be applied to plants, which may comprise the Trichoderma strains T. virens T59 and T. parareesei T6, one or more liquid carrier(s) which may be water, one or more solid carrier(s) which may be kaolin, one or more sugar alcohol(s) which may be mannitol, and suitable nutrients, such as the trace mineral boron. In view of the teachings of Michailidis, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to produce a composition comprising the amino acid mixture containing lysine, separate from the fungi isolates, because Michailidis teaches that free amino acids provide many benefits to plants, the environment, and humans that ingest the plants. One of ordinary skill would desire the taught benefits in a composition that is intended to be applied to plants, plant parts, or soil. A person of ordinary skill would further be motivated to combine the amino acid-comprising composition with the composition comprising Trichoderma isolates prior to application to a plant because Michailidis teaches a method of producing the amino acid-comprising composition and that it may be combined with outer plant protecting products and/or fertilizers for application to plants. The ordinary artisan would desire a composition comprising amino acids that can be produced with no waste and may be mixed with an existing agricultural composition in any proportion to impart benefits. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 16, 25-27, and 31-32 in view of the teachings of Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio and further in view of the teachings of Michailidis.
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutfiyya (U.S. Patent No. 11,560,342 B2, priority to 27 December 2018) in view of Morán-Diez (Curr. Genet. 2010, 56, 63., provided by Applicant in IDS filed on 19 September 2025) and Rubio (Appl. Environ. Microbiol. 2014, 80, (6), 1864., provided by Applicant in IDS filed on 19 September 2025) as applied to claims 1-2, 5-7, 11-15, 17-19, and 22-24 above, and further in view of Harman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,090,884 B2, priority to 7 September 2006, hereafter referred to as Harman).
Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio teach the above and particularly relevant to claims 20-21, Lutfiyya teaches the composition to optionally comprise one or more polymers, including celluloses (column 16, lines 46-55) and oligosaccharides as adhesives (column 81, lines 4-8).
Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio do not teach the spores of Trichoderma to have a coating comprising cellulose. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of Harman.
Harman teaches formulations comprising viable microorganisms, methods of producing the formulations, and methods of treating plants and/or plant seeds with the formulations (Abstract). A variety of microorganisms are taught to have been commercially used for agricultural purposes, including strains of Trichoderma being used to protect plants from diseases, but typical methods of preparation involve drying the microorganisms which “have the potential to sensitive cells or spores of microorganisms” (column 1, line 29 - column 2, line 7). One particular strain, T. harzianum strain T22, is taught to be useful in improving potato crop yield and size when formulated on a clay-based medium, but had a reduced shelf life (column 2, lines 26-53). To overcome these issues, Harman teaches the necessity of formulations that maintain viable microorganisms with high activity levels and are “capable of being suspended in water and mixed with other biological agents or chemical pesticides without toxic implications on the microorganism” (column 2, lines 54-65).
The invention of Harman addressed the above issues by encapsulating the microorganisms in a water-soluble encapsulating material and mixing with a water-insoluble, water-absorbent substance to produce a dry, free-flowing powder (column 5, lines 25-40 and claim 1). The water-soluble, encapsulating material is in one embodiment modified celluloses and the insoluble, water-absorbent substance was also cellulose (column 5, line 35, Examples 1-2, and claims 2-3, 10, and 12). The advantages of this method are taught to include lower costs (column 3, lines 53-58), improved microorganism resistance to chemical pesticides, increasing their shelf life, and improving mixing with other pesticides/biological products (column 5, lines 41-56).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, in view of the teachings of Harman to surround Trichoderma spores with cellulose in the invention rendered obvious by the teachings of Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio because modifying a known product using a method known in the prior art to impart a known benefit yields predictable results. Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio rendered obvious a microbial composition that may be applied to plants, which may comprise the Trichoderma strains T. virens T59 and T. parareesei T6, one or more liquid carrier(s) which may be water, one or more solid carrier(s) which may be kaolin, one or more sugar alcohol(s) which may be mannitol, optionally cellulose, and suitable nutrients, such as the trace mineral boron. In view of the teachings of Harman, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to configure the composition to encapsulate the spores in cellulose because Harman teaches that such a configuration can maintain microorganism viability for a longer period of time, extending the shelf life, as well increasing their compatibility with other agriculturally active agents. An ordinary artisan would desire improved shelf life and chemical compatibility in a composition that is intended to be sold for agricultural use. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 20-21 in view of the teachings of Lutfiyya, Morán-Diez, and Rubio and further in view of the teachings of Harman.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/S.J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/DAVID J BLANCHARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1619