DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-9, & 18-19 remain pending in the application. Claims 20-23 were added by the Applicant. The 112(a) rejection of Claim 19 is withdrawn. The previous 103 rejections have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim et al. US 2019/0198865 A1. New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 18, & 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. US 2021/0143474 A1 (herein referred to as Sugimoto ‘474), and further in view of Kim et al. US 2019/0198865 A1 (herein referred to as Kim ‘865).
Regarding Claim 1, Sugimoto ‘474 discloses a solid electrolyte material and battery comprising, in this order [0014]:
a cathode current collector (positive electrode current collector [0014]),
a cathode active material layer (positive electrode [0014]),
a solid electrolyte layer [0014], including a multilayer solid electrolyte layer (a first electrolyte layer and a second electrolyte layer [0014])
Sugimoto ‘474 later discloses that the first electrolyte layer is made of a first solid electrolyte material [0027] that specifically includes a halide [0031], thus including a halide electrolyte
Sugimoto ‘474 later discloses that the second electrolyte layer is made of a second solid electrolyte material [0028] that specifically includes a sulfide solid electrolyte [0036]
an anode active material layer (negative electrode [0014]),
an anode current collector (negative electrode current collector [0014])
The ordering of layers of the battery, more specifically the layering of the first and second electrolyte layers, is illustrated further in annotated Figure 1 below:
Annotated Figure 1
Sugimoto ‘474 fails to specifically disclose a coating layer that includes an oxide active material that is on a surface of the anode active material side of the anode current collector, wherein the oxide active material is an LiTiO compound from group of Li4Ti5O12, Li4TiO4, Li2TiO3, Li2Ti3O7 contained in a proportion of 70wt% or more based on the total amount of the coating layer.
Kim ‘865 discloses an anode for a lithium battery including a current collector (Figure 1 Item 10), and an anode layer (Figure 1 Item 11) with a first anode layer (Figure 1 Item 11a), and a second anode layer (Figure 1 Item 11b) [0030]. Kim ‘865 discloses in Figure 1 that the first anode layer (Item 11a) is on the current collector (Item 10) [Figure 1], thus Kim ‘865 discloses a coating layer on the current collector. Kim ‘865 further discloses that the coating layer (first anode layer) comprises a lithium titanium oxide [0034], and more specifically, Kim ‘865 discloses in the examples that an anode is prepared by disposing the coating layer (first anode layer) containing only Li4Ti5O12 directly on the anode current collector (copper current collector) [0135]. Thus, Kim ‘865 discloses a coating layer comprising an oxide active material that is one of the claimed LiTiO compounds (comprising Li4Ti5O12) wherein the LiTiO compound is contained in a proportion of 70wt% or more in the coating layer (in this case the LiTiO compound was contained in an amount of 100wt%).
Kim ‘865 discloses that a battery with an anode having this configuration (i.e. a first layer and a second layer) can have improved lifespan characteristics [0033].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Sugimoto ‘474 by replacing the anode active material layer of Sugimoto ‘474 with the anode layers of Kim ‘865 (first layer and second layer), thereby creating a battery with an anode having a coating layer (first anode layer) comprising Li4Ti5O12 contained in the claimed weight percentage, to achieve a battery with improved lifespan characteristics.
Regarding Claim 3, Sugimoto ‘474 discloses a first solid electrolyte including a halide that is represented by the formula A1: Li3YdX6
Where Y is Yttrium
0<d<2
And X = Cl, Br, or I [0043-0044].
Thus, Sugimoto ‘474 discloses a halide solid electrolyte meeting the limitations of Claim 3 wherein the halide solid electrolyte has the formula:
LiaMβXγ
where a, β, and γ are respectively a value more than 0 (Sugimoto ‘474 discloses that a is 3, 0<β<2, and γ is 6 [0043-0044]) , "M" is a metal element other than Li or a metalloid element (Sugimoto ‘474 discloses that M is yttrium [0043], and “X" includes at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I (Sugimoto ‘474 discloses that X is Cl, Br, or I [0044].
Regarding Claim 4, similar to Claim 3, Sugimoto ‘474 discloses a first solid electrolyte including a halide that is represented by the formula A2: Li3YX6
where X = Cl, Br, or I [0045-0046].
Thus, Sugimoto ‘474 discloses a halide solid electrolyte meeting the limitations of Claim 4 wherein the halide solid electrolyte has the formula:
Li6-3AMAX6
Where A = 1, "M" is Y or In (Sugimoto ‘474 discloses that M is yttrium [0045], and “X" includes at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I (Sugimoto ‘474 discloses that X is Cl, Br, or I [0046].
Regarding Claim 5, Sugimoto ‘474 discloses a specific embodiment wherein the halide solid electrolyte comprises chloride (Formula A [0047]).
Regarding Claim 6, Sugimoto ‘474 discloses a sulfide electrolyte including Li, P, and S [0036].
Regarding Claim 8, Kim ‘865 discloses that the second anode layer comprises a Si alloy [0060], thus modified Sugimoto ‘474 discloses that the anode active material is Si based [Kim ‘865 0060], as modified by Kim ‘865’s second anode layer.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Sugimoto ‘474 discloses, with the modification of Kim ‘865, that the oxide active material includes Li4Ti5O12 [Kim 0135].
Regarding Claim 20, as mentioned with regards to Claim 1, Kim ‘865 discloses that the coating layer (first anode layer) comprises 100wt% Li4Ti5O12 [0135], thus modified Sugimoto ‘474 reads on the limitations of Claim 20.
Regarding Claim 21, Kim ‘865 discloses that the coating layer (first anode layer) is a single layer structure, as shown in Figure 1 Item 11a, thus modified Sugimoto ‘474 reads on the limitations of Claim 21.
Regarding Claim 22, as mentioned with regards to Claims 1 & 20, Kim ‘865 discloses that the coating layer (first anode layer) comprises 100% Li4Ti5O12 and is coating directly on the anode current collector [0135], thus modified Sugimoto ‘474 discloses that the LiTiO compound of the coating layer is directly in contact with the anode current collector.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto ‘474 and Kim ‘865 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cho US 2011/0070471 A1.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Sugimoto ‘474 describes the advantageous use of silicon-based materials for the anode electrode active material [0086], stating that their capacity density makes them preferable [0086].
Modified Sugimoto ‘474 fails to disclose a more specific volume expansion rate of the anode active material.
Cho discloses a negative active material that has a volume expansion rate of higher than 10%, and includes that the material may by silicon based [0017].
As disclosed in both listed references, and as well known in the art, silicon causes an anode or negative electrode active material to have a larger volume expansion rate when the battery is charging, which increases capacity density [0047].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to use a Si-based anode active material layer of modified Sugimoto ‘474 (Si alloy of Kim ‘865’s second anode layer), to achieve the desired volume expansion rate as disclosed in Cho, to enhance the capacity density of the claimed invention in the present application.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto ‘474 and Kim ‘865 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nagano et al. JP 2020174004 A (citing is to the WIPO machine translation).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Sugimoto ‘474 discloses the battery as described in claim 1 including the anode active material layer and the oxide coating (Kim ‘865’s anode with first layer and second layer [0030]). Kim ‘865 discloses that the coating layer (first anode layer) has a thickness of 100µm or less [0058], but fails to disclose the specific thickness ratios of the coating layer (first anode layer) to the anode active material layer (second anode layer).
Nagano discloses an all-solid battery comprising a negative electrode, further comprising a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode active material disposed on the current collector [0011]. The negative electrode active material layer comprises metal oxides [0028], and further comprises two layers, a first layer and a second layer [0034]. Nagano discloses that it is desirable for the thickness of the first layer, which is adjacent to the current collector, to be smaller than the second layer, more specifically the thickness ratio of the thickness of the first layer (T1) to the total thickness of the first layer and the second layer (T1 + T2) to be 15% or more and 35% or less [0034].
When the ratio of the first layer is 15%, for example:
T
1
T
1
+
T
2
=
15
%
=
0.15
T
1
=
0.15
T
1
+
T
2
=
(
0.15
*
T
1
)
+
(
0.15
*
T
2
)
0.85
*
T
1
=
0.15
*
T
2
T
1
=
0.18
*
T
2
T
1
T
2
=
0.18
=
18
%
Thus Nagano discloses that when the thickness ratio of the thickness of the first layer to total thickness of the first layer and the second layer is 15%, the thickness ratio (T1/T2) of the thickness of the first layer T1 to the thickness of the second layer T2 is 18%, thus disclosing a ratio of a thickness of the coating layer with respect to a thickness of the anode active material layer is 18%, meeting the limitation of Claim 9.
Nagano discloses that constructing an all solid battery with a multi-layer negative electrode active material as in the disclosure with the specific ranges of layer thickness ratios provides a battery with the desired resistance reduction during charging and discharging [0057].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery as described in modified Sugimoto ‘474 to have the specific layer thickness ratios as disclosed in Nagano to achieve a more efficient battery with reduced resistance.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto ‘474 and Kim et al US 2019/0198865 A1 (herein referred to as Kim ‘865) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. US 2014/0349171 A1 (herein referred to as Kim ‘171).
Regarding Claim 23, modified Sugimoto ‘474 is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1, however fails to disclose the surface roughness of the anode current collector.
Kim ‘171 discloses a battery comprising an anode with a current collector and an active material coated on the current collector [0005]. Kim ‘171’ discloses that the current collector can be stainless steel, copper, or other metals or metal alloys [0037], and the anode active material can be a lithium metal oxide [0026], more specifically lithium titanium oxide [0029], similar to Kim ‘865. Kim ‘171 discloses that the current collector has a surface roughness of 0.001-10 µm [0013], which encompasses the claimed range.
Kim ‘171 discloses that a surface roughness of the current collector within this range enhances adhesion between the active material and the current collector [0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the surface roughness as suggested by Kim ‘171, having similar materials to that of Kim ‘865, in the anode current collector of modified Sugimoto ‘474 to provide a battery with improved adhesion between the current collector and the active material layer.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, & 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. WO 2019/146293 A1 (citing is to the WIPO machine translation; herein referred to as Sugimoto ‘293) in further in view of Kim et al. US 2019/0198865 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Sugimoto ‘293 discloses a battery comprising
a cathode current collector [Page 9 Lines 30-31]
a cathode active material layer containing a cathode active material [Page 9 Lines 16-18]
a solid electrolyte layer [Page 9 Lines 24-28]
an anode active material layer containing an anode active material [Page 9 Lines 20-22]
and an anode current collector [Page 9 Lines 30-31]
wherein the solid electrolyte layer comprises a first solid electrolyte layer and a second solid electrolyte layer disposed between the first solid electrolyte layer and the anode active material layer [Page 7 Lines 44-48]
the first solid electrolyte layer includes a halide solid electrolyte [Page 7 Lines 15-18]
the second solid electrolyte layer includes a sulfide solid electrolyte [Page 7 Line 48]
Annotated Figure 2 below shows the order of the layers in the thickness direction:
Annotated Figure 2
Sugimoto ‘293 fails to disclose a coating layer on the anode current collector including an oxide active material on the surface of the anode active material layer side, wherein the oxide active material includes Li4Ti5O12, Li4TiO4, Li2TiO3 or Li2Ti3O7, and that the coating layer is in contact with the anode current collector.
Kim ‘865 discloses an anode for a lithium battery including a current collector (Figure 1 Item 10), and an anode layer (Figure 1 Item 11) with a first anode layer (Figure 1 Item 11a), and a second anode layer (Figure 1 Item 11b) [0030]. Kim ‘865 discloses in Figure 1 that the first anode layer (Item 11a) is on the current collector (Item 10) [Figure 1], thus Kim ‘865 discloses a coating layer on the current collector. Kim ‘865 further discloses that the coating layer (first anode layer) comprises a lithium titanium oxide [0034], and more specifically, Kim ‘865 discloses in the examples that an anode is prepared by disposing the coating layer (first anode layer) containing only Li4Ti5O12 directly on the anode current collector (copper current collector) [0135]. Thus, Kim ‘865 discloses a coating layer comprising an oxide active material that is one of the claimed LiTiO compounds (comprising Li4Ti5O12) wherein the LiTiO compound is contained in a proportion of 70wt% or more in the coating layer (in this case the LiTiO compound was contained in an amount of 100wt%).
Kim ‘865 discloses that a battery with an anode having this configuration (i.e. a first layer and a second layer) can have improved lifespan characteristics [0033].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Sugimoto ‘474 by replacing the anode active material layer of Sugimoto ‘474 with the anode layers of Kim ‘865 (first layer and second layer), thereby creating a battery with an anode having a coating layer (first anode layer) comprising Li4Ti5O12 contained in the claimed weight percentage, to achieve a battery with improved lifespan characteristics.
Regarding Claim 3, Sugimoto ‘293 discloses a first solid electrolyte including a halide that is represented by the formula: Li3YCl6 [Page 2 Line 26]. Thus, Sugimoto ‘293 discloses a halide solid electrolyte meeting the limitations of Claim 3 wherein the halide solid electrolyte has the formula:
LiaMβXγ
where a, β, and γ are respectively a value more than 0 (Sugimoto ‘293 discloses that a is 3, β is 1, and γ is 6 [Page 2 Line 26]) , "M" is a metal element other than Li or a metalloid element (Sugimoto ‘293 discloses that M is yttrium [Page 2 Line 26], and “X" includes at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I (Sugimoto ‘293 discloses that X is Cl [Page 2 Line 26]).
Regarding Claim 4, similar to Claim 3, Sugimoto ‘293 discloses a first solid electrolyte including a halide that is represented by the formula: Li3YCl6 [Page 2 Line 26]. Thus, Sugimoto ‘293 discloses a halide solid electrolyte meeting the limitations of Claim 4 wherein the halide solid electrolyte has the formula:
Li6-3AMAX6
where A = 1, "M" is Y or In (Sugimoto ‘293 discloses that M is yttrium [Page 2 Line 26], and “X" includes at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I (Sugimoto ‘293 discloses that X is Cl [Page 2 Line 26].
Regarding Claim 5, Sugimoto ‘293 discloses a specific embodiment wherein the halide solid electrolyte comprises chloride [Page 2 Line 26].
Regarding Claim 6, Sugimoto ‘293 discloses a sulfide electrolyte including Li, P, and S [Page 8 Line 7].
Regarding Claim 8, Kim ‘865 discloses that the second anode layer comprises a Si alloy [0060], thus modified Sugimoto ‘293 discloses that the anode active material is Si based [Kim ‘865 0060], as modified by Kim ‘865’s second anode layer.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Sugimoto ‘293 discloses, with the modification of Kim ‘865, that the oxide active material includes Li4Ti5O12 [Kim 0135].
Regarding Claim 19, Sugimoto ‘293 discloses that current collectors are located on the upper and lower ends of the laminate [Page 9 Lines 30-31], as shown in Annotated Figure 2 below. Sugimoto ‘293 therefore discloses that the first solid electrolyte is not in contact with the cathode current collector or the anode current collector, and that the second solid electrolyte is not in contact with the cathode current collector or the anode current collector (see Sugimoto ‘293 Annotated Figure 2 below).
Annotated Figure 2
Regarding Claim 20, as mentioned with regards to Claim 1, Kim ‘865 discloses that the coating layer (first anode layer) comprises 100wt% Li4Ti5O12 [0135], thus modified Sugimoto ‘293 reads on the limitations of Claim 20.
Regarding Claim 21, Kim ‘865 discloses that the coating layer (first anode layer) is a single layer structure, as shown in Figure 1 Item 11a, thus modified Sugimoto ‘293 reads on the limitations of Claim 21.
Regarding Claim 22, as mentioned with regards to Claims 1 & 20, Kim ‘865 discloses that the coating layer (first anode layer) comprises 100% Li4Ti5O12 and is coating directly on the anode current collector [0135], thus modified Sugimoto ‘293 discloses that the LiTiO compound of the coating layer is directly in contact with the anode current collector.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto ‘293 and Kim ‘865 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cho US 2011/0070471 A1.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim ‘865 discloses that the second anode layer comprises a Si alloy [0060], thus modified Sugimoto ‘293 discloses that the anode active material is Si based, however fails to disclose a more specific volume expansion rate of the anode active material.
Cho discloses a negative active material that has a volume expansion rate of higher than 10%, and includes that the material may by silicon based [0017].
As disclosed in Cho, and as well known in the art, silicon causes an anode or negative electrode active material to have a larger volume expansion rate when the battery is charging, which increases capacity density [0047].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to use a Si-based anode active material layer as disclosed in modified Sugimoto ‘293 (Kim ‘865’s Si alloy in the second anode layer), to achieve the desired volume expansion rate as disclosed in Cho, to enhance the capacity density of the claimed invention in the present application.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto ‘293 and Kim ‘865 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nagano et al. JP 2020174004 A (citing is to the WIPO machine translation).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Sugimoto ‘293 discloses the battery as described in claim 1 including the anode active material layer and the oxide coating (Kim ‘865’s anode with first layer and second layer [0030]). Kim ‘865 discloses that the coating layer (first anode layer) has a thickness of 100µm or less [0058], but fails to disclose the specific thickness ratios of the coating layer (first anode layer) to the anode active material layer (second anode layer).
Nagano discloses an all-solid battery comprising a negative electrode, further comprising a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode active material disposed on the current collector [0011]. The negative electrode active material layer comprises metal oxides [0028], and further comprises two layers, a first layer and a second layer [0034]. Nagano discloses that it is desirable for the thickness of the first layer, which is adjacent to the current collector, to be smaller than the second layer, more specifically the thickness ratio of the thickness of the first layer (T1) to the total thickness of the first layer and the second layer (T1 + T2) to be 15% or more and 35% or less [0034].
When the ratio of the first layer is 15%, for example:
T
1
T
1
+
T
2
=
15
%
=
0.15
T
1
=
0.15
T
1
+
T
2
=
(
0.15
*
T
1
)
+
(
0.15
*
T
2
)
0.85
*
T
1
=
0.15
*
T
2
T
1
=
0.18
*
T
2
T
1
T
2
=
0.18
=
18
%
Thus Nagano discloses that when the thickness ratio of the thickness of the first layer to total thickness of the first layer and the second layer is 15%, the thickness ratio (T1/T2) of the thickness of the first layer T1 to the thickness of the second layer T2 is 18%, thus disclosing a ratio of a thickness of the coating layer with respect to a thickness of the anode active material layer is 18%, meeting the limitation of Claim 9.
Nagano discloses that constructing an all solid battery with a multi-layer negative electrode active material as in the disclosure with the specific ranges of layer thickness ratios provides a battery with the desired resistance reduction during charging and discharging [0057].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery as described in modified Sugimoto ‘293 to have the specific layer thickness ratios as disclosed in Nagano to achieve a more efficient battery with reduced resistance.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto ‘293 and Kim et al US 2019/0198865 A1 (herein referred to as Kim ‘865) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. US 2014/0349171 A1 (herein referred to as Kim ‘171).
Regarding Claim 23, modified Sugimoto ‘293 is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1, however fails to disclose the surface roughness of the anode current collector.
Kim ‘171 discloses a battery comprising an anode with a current collector and an active material coated on the current collector [0005]. Kim ‘171’ discloses that the current collector can be stainless steel [0037], similar to Sugimoto ‘293, and the anode active material can be a lithium metal oxide [0026], more specifically lithium titanium oxide [0029], similar to Kim ‘865. Kim ‘171 discloses that the current collector has a surface roughness of 0.001-10 µm [0013], which encompasses the claimed range.
Kim ‘171 discloses that a surface roughness of the current collector within this range enhances adhesion between the active material and the current collector [0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the surface roughness as suggested by Kim ‘171, having similar materials to that of Kim ‘865 and Sugimoto ‘263, in the anode current collector of modified Sugimoto ‘293 to provide a battery with improved adhesion between the current collector and the active material layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 22 October 2025