DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed on 05/04/2026, claims 1-9 and 16-22 are pending. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 10-15 are canceled, and no claim is newly added. Claims 16-22 are withdrawn. Claims 1-9 are considered in this office action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the second layer of the product on the target surface being remote from, coplanar with, and independent of, the first layer” in lines 32-34. Instant Specification does not support the underlined limitation – i.e., “the second layer is independent of the first layer.” Instant Specification does not explicitly disclose the independent relation between the first and the second layers. Claim 1 also recites that “the second droplet forming a second hydrogel material layer over the target surface and the first layer” (claim 1 lines 28-29), as being consistent with the instant disclosure of fig. 1E. Here, the second layer is being formed by applying the second hydrogel layer over the second layer as well. When the second layer is required to be formed as the second droplet is applied to the first layer as well, the second layer cannot be “independent of” the first layer. For the purpose of examination, the limitation would be interpreted as being consistent with Instant Specification as presented in figs. 1E-F. Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as being dependent from claim 1.
Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the upper surface” in lines 16-17. It is unclear whether the limitation means the same as (1) “an upper surface of the first layer” (claim 1 line 15), or (2) “an upper surface of the carrier fluid” (claim 1 line 16). For the purpose of examination, either of these limitations would read on the claim.
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being dependent from claim 1.
Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillette (US 5573721) in view of Yost (US 20150375453 A).
Examiner wishes to point out to applicant that claims 1-9 are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under such conditions.
The limitations which are directed to articles or products worked upon by the claimed apparatus are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115 and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) for further details.
The limitations which are directed to intended uses or capabilities of the claimed apparatus are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2114, Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) for further details.
Regarding claim 1, Gillette teaches an additive manufacturing apparatus for building a product (abstract, figs. 1, 9: system 20), comprising:
at least one three dimensional image of the product (figs. 1, 9, 12-14, 26 and claim 1: coordinate information defining a 3D objects of required configuration);
a target surface formed by a substrate (figs. 1, 9, 12-14, 26; col. 7 line 65 – col. 8 line 8: upper surface 52 of a platform 44 which is selectively movable from the surface 28 to a base 54; col. 14 lines 35-43: a platform 210 having an upper surface 208 within a reservoir 200);
an elevator to control an elevational position of the substrate (figs. 1, 9, 12-14, 26; col. 16 lines 21-23: a screw shaft 226 or other suitable elevating device);
a UV curable hydrogel material (figs. 1, 9, 12-14, 26 and col. 13 lines 1-42: reactive liquid media discharged from extrusion die 118; col. 8 lines 12-35: curable by desired wavelength region of interest, including ultraviolet radiation; col. 14 lines 17-21: a reactive liquid medium forming a thin layer 202; of note, although Gillette is silent that the UV curable material is hydrogel, the limitation “a UV curable hydrogel material” is considered as articles worked upon by the claimed apparatus, see MPEP 2115);
at least one functional constituent (figs. 1, 9, 12-14, 26 and col. 13 lines 1-42: reactive liquid media discharged from extrusion die 118; col. 14 lines 17-21: a reactive liquid medium forming a thin layer 202; of note, the limitation “at least one functional constituent” is considered as articles worked upon by the claimed apparatus, see MPEP 2115);
a droplet dispenser [controllable for depositing droplets each being less than 200 µl containing] said hydrogel material and said functional constituent on said target surface, such that said droplet dispenser controls a release of the hydrogel material forming a first droplet to cover the target surface with a first hydrogel material layer (figs. 1, 9, 11, 12-14, 26 and col. 13 lines 1-56: the use of the extrusion die 118 offers the potential of delivering reactive liquid media whose flow characteristics would not permit coating within reasonable times if other methods were used, and the die 138 is translated across the surface of the reactive liquid medium; col. 17 lines 5-8: the dispenser 218 supplying the reactive liquid medium; col. 19 line 45 – col. 20 line 7: an extrusion coating die 268 is employed as a dispenser to directly deposit the thin layer 202 of the reactive liquid medium overlying the upper surface 208 of the most recently solidified layer of the object 204; of note, the limitations of “said hydrogel material” and “said functional constituent” are considered as articles worked upon by the claimed apparatus, see MPEP 2115);
a reservoir (figs. 1, 9, 12-14, 26; col. 7 line 31-64: reservoir 22; col. 14 line 15 – col. 20 line 20: reservoir 200; col. 19 lines 46-55: reservoir 270);
a carrier fluid in said reservoir contained in said reservoir (figs. 1, 9, 12-14 26 and col. 7 line 31-64: liquid medium 24; col. 14 line 15 – col. 20 line 20: non-reactive liquid medium 206), and the substrate being positioned within the carrier fluid by the elevator after the first droplet has been deposited to form the first layer, and further such that an upper surface of the first layer is approximately level with an upper surface of the carrier fluid, leaving the upper surface exposed and free from the carrier fluid, but surrounded by the carrier fluid (figs. 12-14; col. 14 lines 14-59: layerwise building process; col. 16 lines 21-23: a screw shaft 226 or other suitable elevating device; of note, here, the underlined limitation is directed to intended uses or capabilities of the claimed apparatus (i.e., the apparatus comprising a substrate, a carrier fluid in a reservoir, an elevator of the substrate, and a droplet dispenser) and does not require any further structure of the claimed invention, see MPEP 2114); and
an energy source including a digital light processor (DLP) configured to modulate UV light onto only a first subportion of the target surface, and adapted to deliver UV energy only to the first subportion of the first layer which forms a first image representing at least one layer of said at least one three dimensional image of the product onto said droplets of said hydrogel material and said functional constituent on said target surface in said reservoir for building the product to form a first layer of the product (fig. 1 and col. 8 lines 9 – col. 9 line 31: source of synergistic stimulation 26 (e.g., a tungsten halogen bulb) with a programmable mask 34 capable of modulating the projected intensity of individual picture elements, or pixels, in real time (e.g., LCD, micro-mirror arrays) and control signals serving to modulate the image via means of computer, and image translation can be performed by various known ways such as physical translation of the programmable mask/optics across the surface and translation of the projected image by optical means; fig. 10 and col. 12 lines 63-67: imaging mechanism including a panel 114 comprising a plurality of light emitting diodes 116 providing a plurality of individual pixels; of note, (1) the energy source is capable of delivering UV energy, see MPEP 2114; (2) the energy source with programmable mask capable of modulating the projected intensity of individual picture elements, or pixels, in real time, such as LCD or micro mirrors or with a plurality of light emitting diodes satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation of “an energy source including a digital light processor”; (3) when the image translation can be performed by various ways, any subportions of the target surface, which are arbitrarily and respectively selected as a first subportion and a second subportion which is remote from, coplanar with, the first subportion, can be selectively and respectively irradiated with a target irradiation image to form a first layer and a second layer as recited, and (4) the underlined limitation is directed to intended uses or capabilities of the claimed apparatus (i.e., an energy source including a DLP) and does not require any further structure of the claimed invention, see MPEP 2114);
the droplet dispenser being controlled to deposit a release of an additional amount of the hydrogel material in the form of a second droplet on the target surface, the second droplet forming a second hydrogel material layer over the target surface and the first layer ( figs. 1, 9, 11, 12-14, 26 and col. 13 lines 1-56: the use of the extrusion die 118 offers the potential of delivering reactive liquid media whose flow characteristics would not permit coating within reasonable times if other methods were used, and the die 138 is translated across the surface of the reactive liquid medium; col. 17 lines 5-8: the dispenser 218 supplying the reactive liquid medium; col. 19 line 45 – col. 20 line 7: an extrusion coating die 268 is employed as a dispenser to directly deposit the thin layer 202 of the reactive liquid medium overlying the upper surface 208 of the most recently solidified layer of the object 204; of note, (1) the limitation “said hydrogel material” is considered as articles worked upon by the claimed apparatus, see MPEP 2115, (2) when the die dispenser deposits reactive liquid media over the surface while translating across thereon, any subportions of the target surface can be arbitrarily and respectively selected as a first subportion and a second subportion which is remote from, coplanar with, the first subportion, and each subportions can be selectively deposited with the reactive liquid media and then selectively irradiated to form a first layer and a second layer as recited, and (3) the underlined limitation is directed to intended uses or capabilities of the claimed apparatus (i.e., a droplet dispenser) and does not require any further structure of the claimed invention, see MPEP 2114), and the energy source being controlled to modulate the UV light onto only a second subportion, remote from the first subportion, to project additional UV energy forming a second image to form a second layer on the target surface, the second layer of the product on the target surface being remote from, coplanar with, and independent of, the first layer (fig. 1 and col. 8 lines 9 – col. 9 line 31: source of synergistic stimulation 26 (e.g., a tungsten halogen bulb) with a programmable mask 34 capable of modulating the projected intensity of individual picture elements, or pixels, in real time (e.g., LCD, micro-mirror arrays) and control signals serving to modulate the image via means of computer, and image translation can be performed by various known ways such as physical translation of the programmable mask/optics across the surface and translation of the projected image by optical means ; of note, (1) the energy source is capable of delivering UV energy, see MPEP 2114; (2) when the image translation can be performed by various ways, any subportions of the target surface, which are arbitrarily and respectively selected as a first subportion and a second subportion which is remote from, coplanar with, the first subportion, can be selectively and respectively irradiated with a target irradiation image to form a first layer and a second layer as recited, and (3) the underlined limitation is directed to intended uses or capabilities of the claimed apparatus (i.e., an energy source including a DLP) and does not require any further structure of the claimed invention, see MPEP 2114).
Gillette does not specifically teach the bracketed limitation(s) as presented above, i.e., “a droplet dispenser is controllable for depositing droplets each being less than 200 µl,” but Yost teaches the limitation(s) as follows:
Yost teaches a system for 3D printing including a plurality dispensers configured to deposit material from their tips to a printing surface for receiving the materials (abstract, fig. 1). Yost teaches a droplet dispenser controllable for depositing droplets each being less than 200 µl containing (figs. 1, 2 and [0057]: dispensers configured to deposit materials such as any extrudable material including biological materials, each of the dispensers can deposit material having a volume as small as about 0.2 µl (e.g., drops, bricks) through a dispenser tip, a volume grater between 0.2 to 1.0 µl or between 0.2 and 0.4 µl; here, the disclosed range of a dispensing volume anticipates the recited range; [0058]: dispensers controlled by a computing device).
Both Gillette and Yost teaches an apparatus and a method for 3D printing (abstract), and Gillette further discloses that the present invention provides complete control of microstructure for unrestricted object geometry (col. 5 lines 19-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify or substitute the extrusion die/dispenser of Gillette with a known dispenser which can dispense a volume as small as about 0.2 µl as taught by Yost in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of forming a 3D printed object with improved smoothness, resolution, precision, and accuracy by forming an individual layer in a finer manner.
Regarding claim 2, modified Gillette teaches that said droplets of said hydrogel material and said functional constituent contain less than 10 μL of said hydrogel material and said functional constituent (Yost: [0057]: e.g., a volume grater between 0.2 to 1.0 µl or between 0.2 and 0.4 µl; here, the disclosed range anticipates the recited range).
Regarding claims 3-7, modified Gillette does not specifically teach that said functional constituent includes biomolecules for building of artificial organs (claim 3), enzymes (claim 4), nanotubes (claim 5), a multi-color constituent (claim 6), or a tissue growth constituent (claim 7). However, the limitation “said functional constituent” is considered as articles worked upon by the claimed apparatus and does not effect the structure of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2115
Regarding claim 8, modified Gillette teaches that additive manufacturing apparatus for building a product of claim 1 wherein said energy source is a light source (Gillette: figs. 1, 9 and col. 8 lines 13-60, col. 12 lines 55-60: source of synergistic stimulation 26 or source of light 112).
Regarding claim 9, modified Gillette teaches that additive manufacturing apparatus for building a product of claim 1 wherein said energy source is an ultraviolet light source (Gillette: figs. 1, 9 and col. 8 lines 13-60, col. 12 lines 55-60: source of synergistic stimulation 26, for example, having a tungsten halogen bulb, or source of light 112).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted that the applicants have modified the claims with the latest amendment dated 05/04/2026, and the arguments are based upon these change.
The Applicant argues (see pages 8-9) that Gillette in view of Yost does not disclose or suggest (A) a droplet dispenser applying a hydrogel material as Gillette’s dispenser discharges a carrier fluid, (B) the newly added limitation that the energy source being controlled to modulate the UV light onto “only a second subportion, remote from the first subportion, to project additional UV energy forming a second image to form a second layer on the target surface, the second layer of the product on the target surface being remote from, coplanar with, and independent of, the first layer”, (C) generating an image to form each layer, and (D) the motivation to combine Gillette and Yost.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument.
Regarding the argument (A), Gillete teaches that a droplet dispenser applies a reactive liquid medium not a carrier fluid (figs. 1, 9, 11, 12-14, 26 and col. 13 lines 1-56: the use of the extrusion die 118 offers the potential of delivering reactive liquid media whose flow characteristics would not permit coating within reasonable times if other methods were used, and the die 138 is translated across the surface of the reactive liquid medium; col. 17 lines 5-8: the dispenser 218 supplying the reactive liquid medium; col. 19 line 45 – col. 20 line 7: an extrusion coating die 268 is employed as a dispenser to directly deposit the thin layer 202 of the reactive liquid medium overlying the upper surface 208 of the most recently solidified layer of the object 204). Although Gillete does not explicitly teach that the reactive liquid medium is a hydrogel material, the limitation “a/said hydrogel material” is considered as articles worked upon by the claimed apparatus, see MPEP 2115.
Regarding the argument (B), when the die dispenser of Gillette deposits reactive liquid media over the surface while translating across thereon, any subportions of the target surface can be arbitrarily and respectively selected as a first subportion and a second subportion which is different from the first subportion, and each subportions can be selectively deposited with the reactive liquid media (Gillette: figs. 1, 9, 12-14, 26 and col. 13 lines 1-56; col. 19 line 45 – col. 20 line 7). Moreover, when the energy source can generate individual picture elements or pixels in real time and the image translation of the energy source can be performed by various ways, any subportions of the target surface, which are arbitrarily and respectively selected as the first subportion and the second subportion, can be selectively and respectively irradiated with a target irradiation image to form a first layer and a second layer as recited (Gillette: figs. 1, 10 and col. 8 lines 9 – col. 9 line 31). Moreover, the newly added limitation that the energy source being controlled to modulate the UV light onto “only a second subportion, remote from the first subportion, to project additional UV energy forming a second image to form a second layer on the target surface, the second layer of the product on the target surface being remote from, coplanar with, and independent of, the first layer” is directed to intended use of the apparatus as recited in claim 1. Thus, the apparatus comprising all the claimed structural elements (i.e., the apparatus comprising a substrate, a carrier fluid in a reservoir, an elevator of the substrate, a droplet dispenser, and an UV energy source including a DLP configured to deliver an UV image for each layer) is capable of performing the newly added limitation. The limitation do not require any further structure of the claimed invention, see MPEP 2114.
Regarding the argument (C), Gillette teaches generating an image to form each layer (Gillette: fig. 1 and col. 8 lines 9 – col. 9 line 31: source of synergistic stimulation 26 (e.g., a tungsten halogen bulb) with a programmable mask 34 capable of modulating the projected intensity of individual picture elements, or pixels, in real time (e.g., LCD, micro-mirror arrays) and control signals serving to modulate the image via means of computer, and image translation can be performed by various known ways such as physical translation of the programmable mask/optics across the surface and translation of the projected image by optical means; fig. 10 and col. 12 lines 63-67: imaging mechanism including a panel 114 comprising a plurality of light emitting diodes 116 providing a plurality of individual pixels).
Regarding the argument (D), the Applicant’s statement that there is no reason in Gillette that would lead to substitute the nozzles of Yost is mere allegation. No explicit disclosure of the reason of Gillette is required to be modified with other prior art. As addressed in the 103 rejection of claim 1, upon the substitution of a die dispenser of Gillette with the nozzles of Yost as another known types of dispensers, one of ordinary skill in the art would obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of forming a 3D printed object with improved smoothness, resolution, precision, and accuracy by forming an individual layer in a finer manner.
Thereby, after reconsideration, claim 1 remains rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shanjani (US 20180243982 A1) teaches systems and methods for additive manufacturing of hybrid multi-material constructs (abstract, fig. 1).
Dean (US 20130304233 A1) teaches a continuous digital light processing device for additive manufacturing (fig. 1, [0024-0026], claim 1).
Zhang (US20050259785A1) teaches a method/apparatus to fabricate 3D complex micro/nano structures by digital light processing using a dynamic mask ([0012], fig. 1).
Ermoshkin (US 20170173871 A1) teaches methods and apparatus for the fabrication of solid three-dimensional objects from liquid materials using a radiation source 11 such as a digital light processor (DLP) providing electromagnetic radiation 12 ([0002, 0089, 0101]).
Schillen (US 8845316 B2) teaches a device for producing at least one three-dimensional object by solidifying a solidifiable material comprising a digital light projector (DLP) (claims 11-13).
Scholz (US 5120476) teaches three-dimensional objects are produced by the polymerization of a photopolymerizable liquid medium with the aid of high-energy radiation by continuously introducing the liquid medium in lamina form from a casting means onto the surface of a carrier liquid (abstract, fig. 1).
Ederer (US 6838035) teaches a rapid-prototyping production method for producing a structural body by deposition (abstract, figs. 1, 2).
Pan (US 20050025905) teaches a stereolithographic method and apparatus for forming three-dimensional structure (abstract, fig. 1).
Serbin (US 5665401) teaches an apparatus for producing an object using stereolithography (abstract, figs. 1, 5, 7).
Aghababaie (US 20140339741 A1) teaches an apparatus for bottom-up fabrication of three dimensional objects (abstract), and the digital projector may be based on Digital Light Processing (DLP), Digital Micromirror Device (DMD), Liquid Crystal Display (LCD), or Liquid Crystal on Silicon (LCOS) ([0012]).
/INJA SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1744