DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9-15, 20-26, 31, and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottingham et al. (2006/0005402), hereinafter Nottingham, in view of, Zeng et al. (2014,01755914), and Patel (2008/0244910).
Regarding claim 1, Nottingham teaches an electric knife substantially as claimed except for the limitations in the bolded texts comprising:
a handle 110 having a forward end and rearward end;
a blade 242 ;
a blade connector 240 supported by the handle and configured to connect to the blade; and
a motor unit 246 in the handle and connected to the blade connector, the motor unit configured to oscillate the blade when the blade is connected to the blade connector, the motor unit including a motor, a motor fan, a motor housing, and a motor housing vent, the motor having a motor shaft 250, the motor being inside the motor housing, the vent motor housing being inside the handle the motor fan arranged to force air out of the motor housing through the motor housing vent, the motor housing vent having a first vent flow area, the motor shaft being rearward of the blade connector and extending forwardly from the motor housing; and wherein the handle comprises a handle vent arranged to permit flow of air out of the handle from the motor housing vent, the handle vent having a second vent flow area greater than the first vent flow area of the motor housing vent.
See Figs. 1-3.
A- Nottingham does not teach the motor unit having a motor fan and a motor housing vent.
Zeng teaches a motor unit including a motor, a motor fan 7, a motor housing, and a motor housing vent (61, 140 and holes on section 5) for cooling the motor unit. See Fig. 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the motor unit in Nottingham a motor fan and a motor housing vent as taught by Zeng for cooling the motor unit and the knife.
B- Nottingham does not teach the handle having a handle vent. The handle vent having a second vent flow area greater than a first vent flow area of the motor housing vent.
Patel teaches a saw comprising a handle having a handle vent (126, 128). See Fig. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the electric knife of Nottingham a handle vent as taught by Patel for cooling the motor and the handle.
Patel does not teach the handle vent having a greater vent flow than the motor vent. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention by make the handle vent having a greater vent flow than the motor vent, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 4-6, the modified electric knife of Nottingham teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the flow area of the handle vent being 20%, 100%, or 300% greater the flow area of the motor vent. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to make the flow area of the handle vent being 20%, 100%, or 300% greater the flow area of the motor vent since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Patel teaches the handle vent 126 being at a rear location.
Regarding claim 2, Nottingham teaches an electric knife substantially as claimed except for the limitations in the bolded texts comprising:
a handle 110 including a forward end and a rearward end, the handle including a grip configured to be grasped by a hand of a user;
a blade 242 configured to be supported by the handle and to extend forward from the forward end of the handle when the blade is supported by the handle; and
a motor unit 246 in the handle and configured to oscillate the blade when the blade is supported by the handle, the motor unit including a motor, a motor fan, a motor housing, and a motor housing vent, the motor being inside of the motor housing, the motor housing vent being inside the handle, the motor fan arranged to force air tangentially with respect to the motor fan out of the motor housing vent;
the handle comprising a handle vent arranged to permit direct flow of air out of the handle from the motor housing vent, the handle vent being arranged to receive direct flow of air tangentially from the motor fan; and
the handle vent and the motor housing vent being disposed rearward of the grip.
See Figs. 1-2.
A- Nottingham does not teach the motor unit having a motor fan and a motor housing vent.
Zeng teaches a motor unit including a motor, a motor fan 7, a motor housing, and a motor housing vent (61, 140 and holes on section 5) for cooling the motor unit. See Fig. 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the motor unit in Nottingham a motor fan and a motor housing vent as taught by Zeng for cooling the motor unit and the knife.
B- Nottingham does not teach the handle having a handle vent. The handle vent having a second vent flow area greater than a first vent flow area of the motor housing vent.
Patel teaches a saw comprising a handle having a handle vent (126, 128). See Fig. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the electric knife of Nottingham a handle vent as taught by Patel for cooling the motor and the handle.
Patel does not teach the handle vent having a greater vent flow than the motor vent. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention by make the handle vent having a greater vent flow than the motor vent, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The modified handle vent and the modified motor housing vent are disposed rearward of the grip.
Regarding claims 10-12, Nottingham teaches the blade oriented in a vertical direction is best seen in Fig. 2. Patel does not show both sides of the tool. However, to provide each motor vent 128 on each half of the housing 112 is known in the art for increasing air flow area. Regarding the limitation of the center of the motor vent located below or above a horizontal plane intersecting an axis of rotation of the motor, to shift the motor vent such that its center below or above the horizontal plane intersecting the axis of rotation of the motor is rearranged location of parts. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 13, Patel does not show both sides of the tool. However, to provide each handle vent 126 on each half of the housing 112 is known in the art for increasing air flow area.
Regarding claim 14, Nottingham teaches the blade oriented in a vertical direction is best seen in Fig. 2. Patel does not show both sides of the tool. However, to provide each motor vent 128 on each half of the housing 112 is known in the art for increasing air flow area. Regarding the limitation of the centers of the motor vents located below and above a horizontal plane intersecting an axis of rotation of the motor, to shift the motor vents such that one of its center above and the other below the horizontal plane intersecting the axis of rotation of the motor is rearranged location of parts. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 15, Patel does not teach the handle vent having a greater vent flow than the motor vent. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention by make the handle vent having a greater vent flow than the motor vent, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 20-23, the motor fan being inside of the motor housing and the motor housing vent being a part of the motor housing are best seen in Figs. 1-2 in Zeng.
Regarding claim 24, Nottingham, Patel and Zeng teach an electric motor. Zeng teaches the electric motor and the motor fan are inside of the motor interior. See Figs. 1-2 in Zeng.
Regarding claim 25, Zeng teaches the fan being on an opposite end of the shaft. See Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 26, Nottingham and Zeng teach the motor unit being separately from the handle.
Regarding claim 31, the modified handle vent and the modified motor housing vent are adjacent to the rearward end of the handle.
Regarding claim 32, the modified electric knife of Nottingham teaches the motor fan disposed rearward of the grip.
Regarding claim 34, Zeng teaches section 14 of the motor housing preventing the air flowing from the top and the bottom of the motor housing.
Regarding claim 35, Patel teaches the vents provided on the side of the handle which prevents the air flowing from the top and the bottom of the motor handle.
Regarding claim 36, a plurality of motor housing vents is best seen in Fig. 1 in Zeng.
Regarding claim 37, a plurality of handle vents is best seen in Fig. 1 in Patel.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottingham et al. (2006/0005402), hereinafter Nottingham, in view of, Zeng et al. (2014,01755914), and Patel (2008/0244910) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cooper et al. (2004/0011544).
Regarding claim 7, the modified electric knife of Nottingham teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the housing vent being a screen.
Cooper teaches an electric tool comprising a vent having screen 15. See Fig. 1.
The vent area in form of slots as taught by Patel and the vent area in form of a mesh as taught by Cooper are art equivalents known in the art since both types of vent area conducting fluid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the vent area in form a mesh in the modified electric knife of Nottingham since it has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is obvious to one skilled in the art. See MPEP. 2144.06.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottingham et al. (2006/0005402), hereinafter Nottingham, in view of, Zeng et al. (2014,01755914), and Patel (2008/0244910) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Talavera (2015/0224655).
The modified electric knife of Nottingham substantially as claimed except for the grip being made from polymeric material and having raised surface patterns.
Talavera teaches a hair trimmer including a grip being made from polymeric material and having raised surface patterns for better gripping and prevent slippery of the grip. See Fig. 1A-B and para. [0021].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the grip in Nottingham from polymeric material that having raised surface patterns as taught by Talavera for better gripping and prevent slippery of the grip.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument with respect to the argument that thermal overload is not an issue in Nottingham, a special teeth design may partially reduce the cutting resistance but does not totally reduce it. Every time the motor run, heat is generated. The heat source is from the motor. Nottingham does not show how to cool down the housing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to study how to design the handle and the motor to reduce heat. Therefore, the combination of Nottingham, Zeng, and Patel is proper.
Regarding Applicant’s argument with respect the size of the tool, Patel teaches a hand tool with vents on the handle for dissipating heat. Furthermore, to make to something big or small is within the knowledge of one skilled in the art.
Regarding Applicant’s argument with respect the venting areas of the motor housing and the handle, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the ratio of the vent areas between the handle and the motor housing, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Applicant’s argument with respect to the limitation of the handle vents and the motor vents being disposed rearward of the grip, the claim language does not clearly define the location of the term “rearward”. Therefore, the venting sections in Patel are considered “rearward” since they are on the rear side of the handle.
Regarding Applicant’s argument with respect to the limitation “rearward” in Nottingham, the term means toward the rear of the handle. The claim language does not define where the rear section of the handle is. The handle in Nottingham has multiple sections. The section forward of the motor shaft is considered a forward section, and the section with the motor housing is considered a rearward section. Therefore, Nottingham reads on the claim language.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724