DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-21 and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kottas et al (US 2013/0026452) (Kottas) in view of Bae et al (US .
In reference to claims 1-6, 17, and 28-29, Kottas teaches a compound of the formula as shown below (Kottas [0040])
wherein in the formula, n is 1, R1, R2, and R4 are each methyl, R3, R5, R6 and Rb are each H, X is O, to Ra is a combination of aryl and nitrile and X is O or compound 159 with an additional substituent Ra (Kottas [0040]; [0044]).
Kottas discloses the formula that encompasses the presently claimed material, including n is 1, R1, R2, and R4 are each methyl, R3, R5, R6 and Rb are each H, X is O, to Ra is a combination of aryl and nitrile and X is O or compound 159 with an additional substituent Ra. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Kottas are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of the formula.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of the formula to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Kottas and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Kottas does not exemplify the compound with the cyano group as claimed but teaches it as one of a limited number of options.
Bae teaches cyano group substitution on organometallic ligands (Bae Abstract). Bae teaches that by supplying a cyano group substitution to the ligand, the organometallic compound may have a deep HOMO energy level creating high triplet energy levels due to an increased band gap (Bae [0185]) that provides a deep emission color.
In light of the motivation of using cyano group substituents as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the cyano group as described by Bae in order to provide a deep HOMO energy level and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on a complex as claimed wherein m is 1, n is 2, Lb is
, Ra is methyl, Rb is H, Cy is pyridine, Rw is aryl, X is O, each of X# are carbon substituted with hydrogen or a bond to Rw, Cy or a metal.
For Claim 2: Reads on the pyridine group row 1 column 6.
For Claim 3: Reads on m is 1 n is 2 and q is 0, La is
, and Lb is
.
For Claim 4: Reads on formula 3.
For Claim 5: Reads on X is O.
For Claim 6: Reads on wherein each of Y1 to Y4 is CH.
For Claim 8: Reads on wherein each Rx is H.
For Claim 9: Reads on Rw is arylene.
For Claim 10: Reads on wherein Rw is e.g. A-42.
For Claim 11: Reads on wherein each Ry is H or alkyl.
For Claim 12: Reads on wherein R7 is optionally alkyl.
For Claim 13: Reads on wherein R7 is optionally alkyl.
For Claim 14: Reads on La10.
For Claim 15: Reads on Lb3.
For Claim 17: Reads on 502.
For Claim 28: Reads on wherein Rw is phenylene.
For Claim 29: Reads on Ir(La)2(Lb) wherein each of La10 and Lb3.
In reference to claims 18-23 and 26-27, Kottas in view of Bae teaches the compound as described above for claim 1 and further teaches that the compound is used in a device comprising an anode and a cathode, and an organic layer between the electrodes as a dopant at 5 to 15 percent by weight in an emission layer further comprising a host and emitting a green light (Kottas [0019] [0020] [0023] [0053] abstract).
Given that Kottas discloses the device structure that encompasses the presently claimed device, including an anode a cathode an emitting layer with a host that emits green light, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the device, which is both disclosed by Kottas and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
In reference to claims 24-25, the second host is an optional group and therefore the claims are rejected optionally not including the second host.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kottas et al (US 2013/0026452) (Kottas) in view of Bae et al (US 2016/0233440) (Bae) and further in view of Tsai et al (US 2021/0054010) (Tsai).
In reference to claims 22-23, Kottas in view of Bae teaches the device as described above for claim 21 comprising a host that can be mixtures of known materials including carbazole materials (Kottas [0078] [0095] [0070] [0034]).
Kottas in view of Bae does not expressly teach that the host material is one of the claimed materials.
With respect to the difference, Tsai teaches host materials for phosphorescent dopants in OLED devices for example the compound shown below (Tsai [0096]-[0099]) as shown below.
That is, the substitution of the host of Tsai for the carbazole host of Kottas, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of providing an emitting layer host material. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US 2020/0287144) (Hwang).
In reference to claims 1-5 and 7-13, Hwang teaches a compound of formula 1 as shown below (Hwang [0053])
wherein in the formula 1, M is Ir (Hwang [0051]), L1 is a group of formula 2a (Hwang [0058]), CY1 is pyrimidine (Hwang [0077]), the ring system comprising T1 to T8 is CY2-1007 (Hwang [0202]), X21 is O (Hwang [0066]), Z28 is phenyl substituted with cyano (Hwang [0101] [0104] [0205]), L2 is a group of formula 2B (Hwang [0059]), CY14 is CY14(1), R12 is a group 9-12 (Hwang [0154]), X1 is Si (Hwang [0065]), R21 to R23 are each methyl (Hwang [0083]), n1 is 1, n2 is 2 (Hwang [0058] [0059]).
Hwang discloses the formula 1 that encompasses the presently claimed material, including wherein M is Ir, L1 is a group of formula 2a, CY1 is pyrimidine, the ring system comprising T1 to T8 is CY2-1007, X21 is O, Z28 is phenyl substituted with cyano, L2 is a group of formula 2B wherein CY14 is CY14(1), R12 is a group 9-12, X1 is Si, R21 to R23 are each methyl, n1 is 1, n2 is 2. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Hwang are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Hwang and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on a complex as claimed wherein Cy is pyridine, R1 is phenyl, X is O, other X# are carbon or N atoms substituted with hydrogen or a bond to Rw, Cy or a metal and M is Ir, Lb is
wherein Ra is a heteroalkyl.
For Claim 2: Reads on the pyrimidine groups.
For Claim 3: Reads on m is 1 n is 2 and q is 0, La is the group row 2 column 2, and Lb is a group row 1 column 6.
For Claim 4: Reads on formula 3.
For Claim 5: Reads on X is O.
For Claim 7: Reads on wherein one of X3 to X7 is N.
For Claim 8: Reds on wherein each Rx is H.
For Claim 9: Reads on Rw is phenyl.
For Claim 10: Reads on wherein Rw is A-42.
For Claim 11: Reads on wherein each Ry is H.
For Claim 12: Reads on wherein R6 is alkyl.
For Claim 13: Reads on wherein R6 is alkyl.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 04/24/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786