DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority from provisional application 63/225109 filed on 7/23/2021.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18, 21, and 22 are pending.
Claim 12, 19, and 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-7 and 16-18 have been withdrawn from consideration.
The applicant is reminded that withdrawn claims must be amended and updated to be commensurate in scope with the pending claims if the applicant intends for them to be rejoined. If not the applicant is advised to cancel the claims that do not depend upon the pending claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention III and IV (Rotating Hinge Subassembly), Species 1 (Figures 1-4), and Sub-Species A (Figures 8A-C) in the reply filed on 10/21/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The previous drawing objection have been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-11, 13, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 8, has been amended to require “a bearing member between the first and second arm of the femur box and the head of the tibial yoke”, but the elected embodiment only shows the bearing member 60 positioned between one arm and the head. It is unclear how the two separate bearings shown in Figure 4 can be considered a single bearing or how either bearing on its own could be positioned between the other arm and the head. The applicant is advised to amend the claims to define two bearing members.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reeder et al (Reeder) US 2019/0336297 A1.
15. Reeder discloses a rotating hinge subassembly (Figure 1) comprising:
a tibial yoke (22 Figure 5) comprising:
a body member 148 having a head 142 disposed at a first end (left side Figure 5), and
a tibial axial post 146 extending from a second end of the body member (right side Figure 5), the second end being distally disposed from the first end (Figure 5),
the head defining a transverse hinge bore 162 extending through a first side and a second side of the head (Figure 5),
the transverse hinge bore defining a transverse axis 176 extending transversely through the transverse hinge bore,
the tibial axial post defining a midline axis 140 extending longitudinally through the tibial axial post,
wherein a reference axis extends orthogonally through the transverse axis and parallelly to the midline axis (Figure 5), and
wherein an offset distance separates the midline axis from the reference axis (Figure 5);
a femur box (132 Figure 6) comprising:
a first arm and a second arm (flanges 182/184) extending posteriorly from a main body portion 102 (Figure 6),
the second arm opposing the first arm (Figure 6),
the main body portion defining a femoral fastening mechanism 190 configured to engage a transverse surface of a femur box cavity of a femoral component of a knee joint endoprosthesis (Figures 12-13),
wherein the first arm defines a first bore 188, and the first arm is configured to extend in a direction towards the femur box cavity (the first arm of Reeder extends in all directions including up/down, forward/backward, and in/out because the starting point and ending point can be identified anywhere throughout)
wherein the second arm defines a second bore 188, and the second arm is configured to extend in a direction towards the femur box cavity (the second arm of Reeder extends in all directions including up/down, forward/backward, and in/out because the starting point and ending point can be identified anywhere throughout)
wherein the first bore axially aligns with the second bore (Figure 6),
wherein the first arm is adjacently disposed to the first side and the second arm is adjacently disposed to the second side such that the first bore and the second bore axially align with the transverse hinge bore (aligned along axis 176 in Figure 5 and shown assembled in Figures 12-13); and
a transverse hinge pin 164 extending through the transverse hinge bore and into the first bore and the second bore to thereby hingedly engage the femur box to the head of the yoke (aligned along axis 176 in Figure 5 and shown assembled in Figures 12-13).
22. Reeder further discloses an extension stop connected to the first end of the body member (flat surface portion near reference number 140 in Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11, 13, 14, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reeder et al (Reeder) US 2019/0336297 A1 in view of Crabtree et al (Crabtree) USPN 8,545,570 B2.
8. Reeder discloses the invention substantially as claimed being a rotating hinge subassembly (Figure 1) comprising:
a tibial yoke (22 Figure 5) comprising:
a head 142 defining a transverse hinge bore 162 extending through a first side and a second side of the head (Figure 5),
a tibial axial post 146 extending away from the head, and
a body member 148 disposed between the head and the tibial axial post, the body member separating the head from the tibial axial post by an offset distance (Offset to the left and up in Figure 5);
a femur box (102 Figures 5-6) comprising:
a first arm and a second arm (left and right flanges 182/184) extending posteriorly from a main body portion 180,
the main body portion having a femoral fastening mechanism 190 configured to engage a transverse surface of a femur box cavity of a femoral component of a knee joint endoprosthesis (Figures 12-13),
wherein the first arm and the second arm respectively define axially aligned first and second arm bores (188 Figure 6),
wherein the first arm is adjacently disposed to the first side and the second arm is adjacently disposed to the second side such that the first arm bore and the second arm bore axially align with the transverse hinge bore (aligned along axis 176 in Figure 5 and shown assembled in Figures 12-13);
a bearing member 166 between the first and second arm of the femur box and the head of the tibial yoke (shown best in Figures 12-14),
a transverse hinge pin 164 extending through the bearing bore within the transverse hinge bore and into the first arm bore and the second arm bore (aligned along axis 176 in Figure 5 and shown assembled in Figures 12-13).
However, Reeder does not disclose the bearing member including a bearing surface that extends into the transverse hinge bore of the head of the tibial yoke, wherein a bearing bore extends through the bearing member through the transverse hinge bore of the head of the tibial yoke.
Crabtree teaches the use of bearing members 408 that comprise inner flanges that extend into the transverse hinge bore of the head of the tibial yoke (Figure 5 and 6:2-3) in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of acting as a sacrificial bearing reducing the wear on the pin 410 and yoke 400.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add flanges to the inner surfaces of the bearings 166 such that they extend within the transvers hinge bore as taught by Crabtree in order to act as a sacrificial bearing reducing the wear on the pin 164 and the transverse yoke bore 162.
9. Reeder discloses the rotating hinge subassembly is preassembled (this amounts to the applicant’s intended use or method of making their invention, It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed or assembled does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case the assembly of Reeder is fully capable of being assembled during use or prior to implantation. Furthermore the claim fails to identify what it is preassembled relative to. For example is it preassembled prior to implantation, to the surgery, or to closing up the patient? Therefore the assembly is inherently preassembled at least before the surgery concludes).
10. Reeder discloses the first arm and the second arm are flushly disposed against the first and second sides of the head (Figures 5-7 disclose the arms disclosed flushly to the head and bearings in the same manner as the applicant’s invention).
11. Reeder discloses the transverse hinge pin 164 does not extend beyond the outer surfaces of the first and second arms of the femur box (this is best shown in Figure 18).
13. Reeder discloses the femur box is made from a material from a group of materials consisting essentially of: a cobalt chrome molybdenum alloy, a titanium allow, a zirconia toughened alumina ceramic, a ceramic material, an ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene, a polyether ether ketone, and combinations thereof (Reeder discloses forming the implant from cobalt chromium and UHMWPE [0037], [0039], [0052], [0053], [0064]).
14. Reeder discloses the femoral fastening mechanism is selected from the group consisting essentially of: a femur box securing bore configured to receive a femur fastener (190 Figure 6).
21. Reeder further discloses an extension stop connected to the first end of the body member (flat surface portion near reference number 140 in Figure 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 8, the prior art rejection has been modified to include the teachings with respect to the bearing of Crabtree. Therefore the applicant’s arguments directed solely at Reeder are moot.
With respect to claim 15, the applicant argues that the new amendment requiring the arms to extend in a direction towards the femur box cavity overcomes the disclosure or Reeder. This is not persuasive because “configured to extend in a direction towards the femur box is very broad”. Both arms of Reeder extend in all directions including up/down, forward/backward, and in/out because the starting point and ending point can be identified anywhere throughout. Every 3-D object actually manufactures inherently extends in all directions.
With regards to new claims 21 and 22, the applicant fails to define any structure or functionality with respect to the extension stop. Reeder clearly discloses a flat surface portion in the same position as the applicant’s extension stop 30. It can be used to stop a plurality of aspects or components depending on what it is exposed to. Therefore it reads upon the broadly claimed extension stop.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER D. PRONE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3774
/Christopher D. Prone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774