DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on May 26, 2026. Of prior claims 1-30: a number of the claims were amended, claim 30 was cancelled, and claim 31 was added; claims 1, 9, 17 and 25, are independent claims. Accordingly, claims 1-29 and 31 remain pending, and have been examined in this application. This Action is made FINAL
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) (or 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph) claim interpretation comments.
Applicants’ arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on May 26, 2026, with respect to limitations listed below, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments: In essence, Applicant argues that both Guiterrez and Friedman fail to disclose Applicant’s limitation of “filtering the misbehavior detection mechanisms by at least one of deactivating one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold or activating one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold”.
The Examiner disagrees with Applicant. More particularly, at least Friedman teaches an arrangement: filtering the misbehavior detection mechanisms by at least one of deactivating one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold (Friedman para. [0120], “The algorithm may be used to increase system sensitivity and mitigate false negatives. Although the algorithm may be used to mitigate false positive, the algorithm may also be used to mitigate false negatives. To do this, the costs given as input and the score function may be altered. For example, taking an action that increases system sensitivity (e.g. enabling an element that was previously disabled, lowering a threshold) may increase the benefit.”; Friedman para. [0057], “A threshold th. If the number of destination hosts (e.g., as determined by destination IP address) which a host contacts on the same port during a given period of time exceeds th, then the detector fires an alert.”; Friedman para. [0041], “include the benefits from removing false positive alerts or generating true alerts that are missed by a security system”; Friedman para. [0105], “the tuning parameter selected may be disabling the port scanner detector.”; Friedman para. [0113], “false positive alerts would be missing in the history of alerts if the port scanner detector was disabled”) or activating one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold (Friedman para. [0120], “The algorithm may be used to increase system sensitivity and mitigate false negatives. … taking an action that increases system sensitivity (e.g. enabling an element that was previously disabled”).”
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutierrez et al. (“Gutierrez,” US20200143053A1) in view of Friedman et al. (“Friedman,” US20100083375A1).
Per claim 1, Gutierrez teaches a method (Gutierrez FIG. 19A) performed by a processor (Gutierrez para. [0003], “may include a processor and software that executes on the processor to cause that ECU to perform the desired operations or vehicle functions.”) of a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication system of a vehicle (Gutierrez para. [0055}, “The introduction of V2X into the vehicle network provides a substantial new attack vector for malicious actors”), comprising:
detecting, from the V2X communications from one or more additional vehicles and via misbehavior detection mechanisms, indications of V2X communications misbehavior associated with inaccurate or false information in at least one V2X communication from at least one vehicle of the one or more additional vehicles (Gutierrez para. [0035], “may monitor intrusion detectors and/or IDSs on two different layers. For instance, an inter-layer IDS may monitor a voltage fingerprint IDS for a first ECU on the physical layer and a message time series IDS for a second ECU on the message layer. The voltage fingerprint IDS may detect and report suspicious activity from a first ECU and the inter-layer IDS may monitor the message time series IDS on the message layer for corresponding suspicious activity on the message layer.”; Guiterrez para. [0006], “intrusion detectors may output an indication of the anomalous behavior even though the behavior might be temporary and relate to, e.g., an anomalous external factor”);
obtaining, from the filtered misbehavior detection mechanisms, outputs that correspond to the indications of the V2X communications behavior (Gutierrez para. [0035], “may monitor intrusion detectors and/or IDSs on two different layers. For instance, an inter-layer IDS may monitor a voltage fingerprint IDS for a first ECU on the physical layer and a message time series IDS for a second ECU on the message layer. The voltage fingerprint IDS may detect and report suspicious activity from a first ECU and the inter-layer IDS may monitor the message time series IDS on the message layer for corresponding suspicious activity on the message layer.”; Guiterrez para. [0006], “intrusion detectors may output an indication of the anomalous behavior even though the behavior might be temporary and relate to, e.g., an anomalous external factor”);
aggregating, based on a first type of aggregation, a first subset of the outputs and, based on a second type of aggregation, a second subset of the outputs (Gutierrez para. [0038], “The combined layer IDS may combine outputs from intrusion detectors and/or IDSs in one or more different ways to determine whether suspicious activity represents an intrusion”; Gutierrez para. [0101], “The first inter-layer IDS and the attack characterization logic circuitry 488 may receive the outputs from the voltage FP IDS 451 and the MTS IDS 493. The first inter-layer IDS may combine the outputs….”) to determine that f the filtered misbehavior mechanisms detect the indications of the V2X communications misbehavior (Guiterrez para. [0041], “for a weighted voting, the combined layer IDS may multiply the physical layer IDS output (e.g., probability) by 0.3, multiple the message layer IDS output by 0.3, and multiply the context layer IDS output by 0.4. The combined layer IDS may sum the weighted outputs (e.g., probabilities) and compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion.”; Gutierrez para. [0039], “determine whether the suspicious activity is an intrusion based on the percentage of the votes that indicate an intrusion or attack.”);
determining whether a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs (Gutierrez para. [0039], “determine whether the suspicious activity is an intrusion based on the percentage of the votes that indicate an intrusion or attack”; Gutierrez para. [0101], “The first inter-layer IDS may combine the outputs to determine whether the suspicious activity represents an intrusion (attack)…”; Gutierrez para. [0039], “A majority vote may combine outputs from intrusion detectors”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
transmitting a misbehavior report to an external device via the V2X communication system (Gutierrez para. [0035], “may detect and report suspicious activity from a first ECU”; Gutierrez para. [0101], “The first inter-layer IDS may combine the outputs to determine whether the suspicious activity represents an intrusion (attack) and may output an indication that the suspicious activity is an attack based on the combination of the outputs to the attack characterization logic circuitry 488.”) or taking a responsive action in response to determining that a misbehavior condition exists (Gutierrez para. [0065], “In the case that detection and attacker characterization logic circuitry 250 identifies an anomaly or intrusion, generates an attack characterization or profile and may pass to the attack profile to a forensic logging and/or recovery system to log anomalies and/or to take appropriate remedial action, such as restarting an ECU, redirecting ECU operations to a backup ECU, warning an operator of the vehicle, querying an outside security vendor via the communications interface 232, and possibly forcing the vehicle to a safe resting position until the anomaly can be resolved and the vehicle can again be operated safely.”).
Gutierrez does not disclose a method: filtering the misbehavior detection mechanisms by at least one of deactivating one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold or activating one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold.
However, in an analogous art, Friedman teaches an arrangement:
filtering the misbehavior detection mechanisms by at least one of deactivating one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold (Friedman para. [0120], “The algorithm may be used to increase system sensitivity and mitigate false negatives. Although the algorithm may be used to mitigate false positive, the algorithm may also be used to mitigate false negatives. To do this, the costs given as input and the score function may be altered. For example, taking an action that increases system sensitivity (e.g. enabling an element that was previously disabled, lowering a threshold) may increase the benefit.”; Friedman para. [0057], “A threshold th. If the number of destination hosts (e.g., as determined by destination IP address) which a host contacts on the same port during a given period of time exceeds th, then the detector fires an alert.”; Friedman para. [0041], “include the benefits from removing false positive alerts or generating true alerts that are missed by a security system”; Friedman para. [0105], “the tuning parameter selected may be disabling the port scanner detector.”; Friedman para. [0113], “false positive alerts would be missing in the history of alerts if the port scanner detector was disabled”) or activating one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold (Friedman para. [0120], “The algorithm may be used to increase system sensitivity and mitigate false negatives. … taking an action that increases system sensitivity (e.g. enabling an element that was previously disabled”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gutierrez to include, as taught by Friedman, regarding: filtering the misbehavior detection mechanisms by at least one of deactivating one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold or activating one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold. Motivation for modifying would have been to activate individual sensors in order to increase a sensitivity of the arrangement so as to mitigate false negatives, or to deactivate individual detectors in order to decrease a sensitivity of the arrangement so as to mitigate false positives (Friedman para. [0120]).
Per claim 2, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the method of claim 1. Gutierrez further discloses a method wherein:
aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises determining whether any of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs a misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0051], “the detection logic circuitry to comprise dynamic threshold logic circuitry to dynamically adjust a threshold for detection of suspicious activity by an IDS at a first layer based on a single output or a combination of outputs from at least one other IDS.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to determining that at least one of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs the misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0192], “to combine observations of the one or more control units at the one or more observation layers; and to determine, based on a combination of the observations, that one or more of the observations represent an intrusion” ; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 3, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the method of claim 1. Gutierrez further discloses a method wherein:
aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises determining whether any one of a subset of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs a misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0051], “the detection logic circuitry to comprise dynamic threshold logic circuitry to dynamically adjust a threshold for detection of suspicious activity by an IDS at a first layer based on a single output or a combination of outputs from at least one other IDS.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to determining that at least one of the subset of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs the misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0051], “the detection logic circuitry to comprise dynamic threshold logic circuitry to dynamically adjust a threshold for detection of suspicious activity by an IDS at a first layer based on a single output or a combination of outputs from at least one other IDS.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 4, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the method of claim 1. Gutierrez further discloses a method wherein:
aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises aggregating misbehavior indications output from multiple misbehavior detection mechanisms (Gutierrez Abstract “Logic may implement observation layer intrusion detection systems (IDSs) to combine observations by intrusion detectors and/or other intrusion detection systems.”; Gutierrez para. [0018], “FIG. 13 depicts another embodiment of a combined layer IDS to combine outputs from three MTS IDSs with different size (time frame) windows with an output from a physical layer voltage FP”; Gutierrez para. [0028], “establishing one or more combined layer intrusion detection systems (IDSs) such as one or more intra-layer IDSs, one or more inter-layer IDSs, and/or one or more global IDSs. A combined layer IDS, as discussed herein, may combine information from more than one intrusion detector to advantageously, e.g., increase the confidence or reliability of detection of an intrusion, increase the accuracy of a detection of an intrusion, and/or reduce latency associated with detection of an intrusion”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to a threshold number of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputting misbehavior indications (Gutierrez para. [0161], “the detection logic circuitry may determine whether the in-vehicle system or sub-system is being attacked based on the output from the combination by comparing the output from the combination with a detection threshold. The detection logic circuitry may determine that an attack is occurring if the output from the combination meets or exceeds the detection threshold.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 5, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the method of claim 4. Gutierrez further discloses a method wherein determining that the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to a threshold number of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputting misbehavior indications comprises determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to a majority of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputting misbehavior indications (Gutierrez para.[0039], “A majority vote may combine outputs from intrusion detectors and/or IDSs with two or more intra-layer and/or inter-layer perspectives. For example, if a physical layer intrusion detector and/or IDS indicates suspicious activity, the combined layer IDS may count the output as a vote, determine outputs (as votes) of other intrusion detectors and/or IDSs that may detect related activity, and determine whether the suspicious activity is an intrusion based on the percentage of the votes that indicate an intrusion or attack.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 6, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the method of claim 1. Gutierrez further discloses a method wherein:
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to the outputs of the one or more misbehavior detection mechanisms exceeding an additional threshold (Gutierrez para. [0036], “the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of an IDS in a first layer based on output from IDSs on other layers. For instance, the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of a message layer IDS for the detection of suspicious activity at the message layer for the first ECU and/or a group of ECUs associated with the first ECU in response to detection of the suspicious activity and/or the lack of detection of suspicious activity by the fingerprint IDS at the first ECU. As an example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation to reduce false positives but may be lowered to increase sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to reduce false negatives and increase the chance of detection of (or decrease the chance of failing to detect) suspicious behavior at the message layer. As an alternative example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation but may be increased to decrease sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to decrease the chance of detection of a false positive at the message layer.”).
Per claim 7, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the method of claim 1. Gutierrez further discloses a method wherein:
detecting indications of V2X misbehavior via one or more misbehavior detection mechanism comprises processing received V2X information through a plurality of plausibility and consistency detectors configured to detect misbehavior conditions and output misbehavior indications to a detector selector (Gutierrez para.[0116], “The voting model with selective input based on historical training of the IDSs may select outputs to combine for voting based on a determination that the historical data used to train the model is still valid or has a low margin of error”);
aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises passing outputs of misbehavior indications from a selected subset of the plurality of plausibility and consistency detectors from the detector selector to a misbehavior detector (Gutierrez para.[0116], “The voting model with selective input based on historical training of the IDSs may select outputs to combine for voting based on a determination that the historical data used to train the model is still valid or has a low margin of error.”); and
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises determining by the misbehavior detector that a reportable (Gutierrez para. [0161], “the detection logic circuitry may determine whether the in-vehicle system or sub-system is being attacked based on the output from the combination by comparing the output from the combination with a detection threshold. The detection logic circuitry may determine that an attack is occurring if the output from the combination meets or exceeds the detection threshold”) or actionable misbehavior condition (Gutierrez para.[0099], “attack characterization logic circuitry 488 may output the attack characterization 489 to a forensic logging and/or recovery system to advantageously log the attack/anomaly and/or to facilitate an informed selection of a recovery routine.”) exists in response to misbehavior indication outputs by the selected subset of the plurality of plausibility and consistency detectors.
Per claim 8, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the method of claim 1. Gutierrez further discloses a method wherein:
aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises determining a number of events classified as an attack or misbehavior indications output by each of a plurality of misbehavior detection mechanisms within a window of time or set number of events (Gutierrez para.[0084], “The message layer IDSs 492 may include a message time series (MTS) IDS 493 to monitor a sequence of messages transmitted by the ECU 404 or a group of ECUs including the ECU 404. In many embodiments, the MTS IDS 493 may establish one or more windows of time (or time periods) during which the MTS IDS 493 captures a sequence of messages on the IVN bus.”); and
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to determining that the number of events classified as an attack or misbehavior indications output by any one of the one or more misbehavior detection mechanisms within the window of time or set number of events exceeds an additional threshold (Gutierrez para. [0036], “the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of an IDS in a first layer based on output from IDSs on other layers. For instance, the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of a message layer IDS for the detection of suspicious activity at the message layer for the first ECU and/or a group of ECUs associated with the first ECU in response to detection of the suspicious activity and/or the lack of detection of suspicious activity by the fingerprint IDS at the first ECU. As an example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation to reduce false positives but may be lowered to increase sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to reduce false negatives and increase the chance of detection of (or decrease the chance of failing to detect) suspicious behavior at the message layer. As an alternative example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation but may be increased to decrease sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to decrease the chance of detection of a false positive at the message layer.”).
Per claim 9, Gutierrez discloses a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication system (Gutierrez para. [0055}, “The introduction of V2X into the vehicle network provides a substantial new attack vector for malicious actors”), comprising: a processor configured with processor-executable instructions (Gutierrez para. [0003], “may include a processor and software that executes on the processor to cause that ECU to perform the desired operations or vehicle functions.”) for:
detect, from the V2X communications from one or more additional vehicles and multiple indications of V2X misbehavior via misbehavior detection mechanisms, indications of V2X communications misbehavior associated with inaccurate or false information in at least one V2X communications from at least one vehicle of the one or more additional vehicles (Gutierrez para. [0035], “may monitor intrusion detectors and/or IDSs on two different layers. For instance, an inter-layer IDS may monitor a voltage fingerprint IDS for a first ECU on the physical layer and a message time series IDS for a second ECU on the message layer. The voltage fingerprint IDS may detect and report suspicious activity from a first ECU and the inter-layer IDS may monitor the message time series IDS on the message layer for corresponding suspicious activity on the message layer.”; Guiterrez para. [0006], “intrusion detectors may output an indication of the anomalous behavior even though the behavior might be temporary and relate to, e.g., an anomalous external factor”);
obtain, from the filtered misbehavior detection mechanisms, outputs that correspond to the indications of the V2X communications misbehavior (Gutierrez para. [0035], “may monitor intrusion detectors and/or IDSs on two different layers. For instance, an inter-layer IDS may monitor a voltage fingerprint IDS for a first ECU on the physical layer and a message time series IDS for a second ECU on the message layer. The voltage fingerprint IDS may detect and report suspicious activity from a first ECU and the inter-layer IDS may monitor the message time series IDS on the message layer for corresponding suspicious activity on the message layer.”; Guiterrez para. [0006], “intrusion detectors may output an indication of the anomalous behavior even though the behavior might be temporary and relate to, e.g., an anomalous external factor”);
aggregate, based on a first type of aggregation, a first subset of the outputs and based on a second type of aggregation, a second subset of the outputs from the misbehavior detection mechanisms (Gutierrez para. [0038], “The combined layer IDS may combine outputs from intrusion detectors and/or IDSs in one or more different ways to determine whether suspicious activity represents an intrusion”; Guiterrez para. [0101], “The first inter-layer IDS and the attack characterization logic circuitry 488 may receive the outputs from the voltage FP IDS 451 and the MTS IDS 493. The first inter-layer IDS may combine the outputs….”) to determine that the filtered misbehavior detection mechanisms detect the indications of V2X communications misbehavior is achieved (Guiterrez para. [0041], “for a weighted voting, the combined layer IDS may multiply the physical layer IDS output (e.g., probability) by 0.3, multiple the message layer IDS output by 0.3, and multiply the context layer IDS output by 0.4. The combined layer IDS may sum the weighted outputs (e.g., probabilities) and compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion.”; Gutierrez para. [0039], “determine whether the suspicious activity is an intrusion based on the percentage of the votes that indicate an intrusion or attack.”);
determine whether a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated options (Gutierrez para. [0039], “determine whether the suspicious activity is an intrusion based on the percentage of the votes that indicate an intrusion or attack”; Guiterrez para. [0101], “The first inter-layer IDS may combine the outputs to determine whether the suspicious activity represents an intrusion (attack)…”; Gutierrez para. [0039], “A majority vote may combine outputs from intrusion detectors”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
transmit a misbehavior report to an external device via the V2X communication system (Gutierrez para. [0035], “may detect and report suspicious activity from a first ECU”; Guiterrez para. [0101], “The first inter-layer IDS may combine the outputs to determine whether the suspicious activity represents an intrusion (attack) and may output an indication that the suspicious activity is an attack based on the combination of the outputs to the attack characterization logic circuitry 488.”) or taking a responsive action in response to determining that a misbehavior condition exists (Gutierrez para. [0065], “In the case that detection and attacker characterization logic circuitry 250 identifies an anomaly or intrusion, generates an attack characterization or profile and may pass to the attack profile to a forensic logging and/or recovery system to log anomalies and/or to take appropriate remedial action, such as restarting an ECU, redirecting ECU operations to a backup ECU, warning an operator of the vehicle, querying an outside security vendor via the communications interface 232, and possibly forcing the vehicle to a safe resting position until the anomaly can be resolved and the vehicle can again be operated safely.”).
Gutierrez does not disclose a method: filter the misbehavior detection mechanisms based on at least one of deactivation of one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold or activation of one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold.
However, in an analogous art, Friedman teaches an arrangement to:
filter the misbehavior detection mechanisms based on at least one of deactivation of one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold (Friedman para. [0120], “The algorithm may be used to increase system sensitivity and mitigate false negatives. Although the algorithm may be used to mitigate false positive, the algorithm may also be used to mitigate false negatives. To do this, the costs given as input and the score function may be altered. For example, taking an action that increases system sensitivity (e.g. enabling an element that was previously disabled, lowering a threshold) may increase the benefit.”; Friedman para. [0057], “A threshold th. If the number of destination hosts (e.g., as determined by destination IP address) which a host contacts on the same port during a given period of time exceeds th, then the detector fires an alert.”; Friedman para. [0041], “include the benefits from removing false positive alerts or generating true alerts that are missed by a security system”; Friedman para. [0105], “the tuning parameter selected may be disabling the port scanner detector.”; Friedman para. [0113], “false positive alerts would be missing in the history of alerts if the port scanner detector was disabled”) or activation of one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold (Friedman para. [0120], “The algorithm may be used to increase system sensitivity and mitigate false negatives. … taking an action that increases system sensitivity (e.g. enabling an element that was previously disabled”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gutierrez to include, as taught by Friedman, regarding: filter the misbehavior detection mechanisms based on at least one of deactivation of one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold or activation of one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold. Motivation for modifying would have been to activate individual sensors in order to increase a sensitivity of the arrangement so as to mitigate false negatives, or to deactivate individual detectors in order to decrease a sensitivity of the arrangement so as to mitigate false positives (Friedman para. [0120]).
Per claim 10, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 9. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions for:
aggregate the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs by determining whether any of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs a misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0051], “the detection logic circuitry to comprise dynamic threshold logic circuitry to dynamically adjust a threshold for detection of suspicious activity by an IDS at a first layer based on a single output or a combination of outputs from at least one other IDS.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs by determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to determining that at least one of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs the misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0192], “to combine observations of the one or more control units at the one or more observation layers; and to determine, based on a combination of the observations, that one or more of the observations represent an intrusion”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 11, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 9. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions for:
aggregate the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs by determining whether any one of a subset of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs a misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para. [0051], “the detection logic circuitry to comprise dynamic threshold logic circuitry to dynamically adjust a threshold for detection of suspicious activity by an IDS at a first layer based on a single output or a combination of outputs from at least one other IDS.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs by determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to determining that at least one of the subset of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs the misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0051], “the detection logic circuitry to comprise dynamic threshold logic circuitry to dynamically adjust a threshold for detection of suspicious activity by an IDS at a first layer based on a single output or a combination of outputs from at least one other IDS.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 12, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 9. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to:
aggregate the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs by aggregating misbehavior indications output from multiple misbehavior detection mechanisms (Gutierrez Abstract “Logic may implement observation layer intrusion detection systems (IDSs) to combine observations by intrusion detectors and/or other intrusion detection systems.”; Gutierrez para. [0018], “FIG. 13 depicts another embodiment of a combined layer IDS to combine outputs from three MTS IDSs with different size (time frame) windows with an output from a physical layer voltage FP”; Gutierrez para. [0028], “establishing one or more combined layer intrusion detection systems (IDSs) such as one or more intra-layer IDSs, one or more inter-layer IDSs, and/or one or more global IDSs. A combined layer IDS, as discussed herein, may combine information from more than one intrusion detector to advantageously, e.g., increase the confidence or reliability of detection of an intrusion, increase the accuracy of a detection of an intrusion, and/or reduce latency associated with detection of an intrusion”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs by determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to a threshold number of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputting misbehavior indications (Gutierrez para. [0161], “the detection logic circuitry may determine whether the in-vehicle system or sub-system is being attacked based on the output from the combination by comparing the output from the combination with a detection threshold. The detection logic circuitry may determine that an attack is occurring if the output from the combination meets or exceeds the detection threshold.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 13, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 12. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions for determining that the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to a majority of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputting misbehavior indications (Gutierrez para. [0039], “A majority vote may combine outputs from intrusion detectors and/or IDSs with two or more intra-layer and/or inter-layer perspectives. For example, if a physical layer intrusion detector and/or IDS indicates suspicious activity, the combined layer IDS may count the output as a vote, determine outputs (as votes) of other intrusion detectors and/or IDSs that may detect related activity, and determine whether the suspicious activity is an intrusion based on the percentage of the votes that indicate an intrusion or attack.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 14, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 9. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions for:
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs by determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to the outputs of the one or more misbehavior detection mechanisms exceeding an additional threshold (Gutierrez para. [0036], “the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of an IDS in a first layer based on output from IDSs on other layers. For instance, the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of a message layer IDS for the detection of suspicious activity at the message layer for the first ECU and/or a group of ECUs associated with the first ECU in response to detection of the suspicious activity and/or the lack of detection of suspicious activity by the fingerprint IDS at the first ECU. As an example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation to reduce false positives but may be lowered to increase sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to reduce false negatives and increase the chance of detection of (or decrease the chance of failing to detect) suspicious behavior at the message layer. As an alternative example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation but may be increased to decrease sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to decrease the chance of detection of a false positive at the message layer.”).
Per claim 15, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 9. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions for:
detect indications of V2X misbehavior via one or more misbehavior detection mechanism by processing received V2X information through a plurality of plausibility and consistency detectors configured to detect misbehavior conditions and output misbehavior indications to a detector selector (Gutierrez para.[0116], “The voting model with selective input based on historical training of the IDSs may select outputs to combine for voting based on a determination that the historical data used to train the model is still valid or has a low margin of error”);
aggregate the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs by passing outputs of misbehavior indications from a selected subset of the plurality of plausibility and consistency detectors from the detector selector to a misbehavior detector (Gutierrez para.[0116], “The voting model with selective input based on historical training of the IDSs may select outputs to combine for voting based on a determination that the historical data used to train the model is still valid or has a low margin of error.”);
determining whether the reportable (Gutierrez para. [0161], “the detection logic circuitry may determine whether the in-vehicle system or sub-system is being attacked based on the output from the combination by comparing the output from the combination with a detection threshold. The detection logic circuitry may determine that an attack is occurring if the output from the combination meets or exceeds the detection threshold”) or actionable misbehavior condition (Gutierrez para.[0099], “attack characterization logic circuitry 488 may output the attack characterization 489 to a forensic logging and/or recovery system to advantageously log the attack/anomaly and/or to facilitate an informed selection of a recovery routine.”) exists based on the aggregated outputs by determining by the misbehavior detector that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to misbehavior indication outputs by the selected subset of the plurality of plausibility and consistency detectors;
determining a rate of misbehavior determinations (Gutierrez para. [0098], “IDS monitors the message ID for the ECU; and, in some embodiments, additional detail about the attack such as the percent deviation caused by the attacks from predicted behavior and the frequency of the attacks.”).
Per claim 16, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 9. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to:
aggregate the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs by determining a number of events classified as an attack or misbehavior indications output by each of a plurality of misbehavior detection mechanisms within a window of time or set number of events (Gutierrez para. [0084], “The message layer IDSs 492 may include a message time series (MTS) IDS 493 to monitor a sequence of messages transmitted by the ECU 404 or a group of ECUs including the ECU 404. In many embodiments, the MTS IDS 493 may establish one or more windows of time (or time periods) during which the MTS IDS 493 captures a sequence of messages on the IVN bus.”); and
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs by determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to determining that the number of events classified as an attack or misbehavior indications output by any one of the one or more misbehavior detection mechanisms within the window of time or set number of events exceeds a threshold (Gutierrez para. [0036], “the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of an IDS in a first layer based on output from IDSs on other layers. For instance, the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of a message layer IDS for the detection of suspicious activity at the message layer for the first ECU and/or a group of ECUs associated with the first ECU in response to detection of the suspicious activity and/or the lack of detection of suspicious activity by the fingerprint IDS at the first ECU. As an example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation to reduce false positives but may be lowered to increase sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to reduce false negatives and increase the chance of detection of (or decrease the chance of failing to detect) suspicious behavior at the message layer. As an alternative example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation but may be increased to decrease sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to decrease the chance of detection of a false positive at the message layer.”).
Per claim 17, Gutierrez discloses a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication system of a vehicle (Gutierrez para. [0055}, “The introduction of V2X into the vehicle network provides a substantial new attack vector for malicious actors”), comprising:
means for detecting, from V2X communications from one or more additional vehicles and via misbehavior detection mechanisms, indications of V2X communications misbehavior associated in inaccurate or false information in at least one V2X communication from at least one vehicle of the additional vehicles (Gutierrez para. [0035], “may monitor intrusion detectors and/or IDSs on two different layers. For instance, an inter-layer IDS may monitor a voltage fingerprint IDS for a first ECU on the physical layer and a message time series IDS for a second ECU on the message layer. The voltage fingerprint IDS may detect and report suspicious activity from a first ECU and the inter-layer IDS may monitor the message time series IDS on the message layer for corresponding suspicious activity on the message layer.”; Guiterrez para. [0006], “intrusion detectors may output an indication of the anomalous behavior even though the behavior might be temporary and relate to, e.g., an anomalous external factor”);
means for obtaining, from the filtered misbehavior detection mechanisms, outputs that correspond to the indications of the V2X communications misbehavior (Gutierrez para. [0035], “may monitor intrusion detectors and/or IDSs on two different layers. For instance, an inter-layer IDS may monitor a voltage fingerprint IDS for a first ECU on the physical layer and a message time series IDS for a second ECU on the message layer. The voltage fingerprint IDS may detect and report suspicious activity from a first ECU and the inter-layer IDS may monitor the message time series IDS on the message layer for corresponding suspicious activity on the message layer.”; Guiterrez para. [0006], “intrusion detectors may output an indication of the anomalous behavior even though the behavior might be temporary and relate to, e.g., an anomalous external factor”);
means for aggregating, based on a first type of aggregation, a first subset of the outputs and based on a second type of aggregation, a second subset of the outputs (Gutierrez para. [0038], “The combined layer IDS may combine outputs from intrusion detectors and/or IDSs in one or more different ways to determine whether suspicious activity represents an intrusion”; Gutierrez para. [0101], “The first inter-layer IDS and the attack characterization logic circuitry 488 may receive the outputs from the voltage FP IDS 451 and the MTS IDS 493. The first inter-layer IDS may combine the outputs….”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”) to determine that a threshold of misbehavior detection mechanisms detect the multiple indications of V2X misbehavior (Guiterrez para. [0041], “for a weighted voting, the combined layer IDS may multiply the physical layer IDS output (e.g., probability) by 0.3, multiple the message layer IDS output by 0.3, and multiply the context layer IDS output by 0.4. The combined layer IDS may sum the weighted outputs (e.g., probabilities) and compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion.”; Gutierrez para. [0039], “determine whether the suspicious activity is an intrusion based on the percentage of the votes that indicate an intrusion or attack.”);
means for determining whether a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs (Gutierrez para. [0039], “determine whether the suspicious activity is an intrusion based on the percentage of the votes that indicate an intrusion or attack”; Gutierrez para. [0101], “The first inter-layer IDS may combine the outputs to determine whether the suspicious activity represents an intrusion (attack)…”; Gutierrez para. [0039], “A majority vote may combine outputs from intrusion detectors”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
means for transmitting a misbehavior report to an external device via the V2X communication system (Gutierrez para. [0035], “may detect and report suspicious activity from a first ECU”; Gutierrez para. [0101], “The first inter-layer IDS may combine the outputs to determine whether the suspicious activity represents an intrusion (attack) and may output an indication that the suspicious activity is an attack based on the combination of the outputs to the attack characterization logic circuitry 488.”) or taking a responsive action in response to determining that a misbehavior condition exists (Gutierrez para. [0065], “In the case that detection and attacker characterization logic circuitry 250 identifies an anomaly or intrusion, generates an attack characterization or profile and may pass to the attack profile to a forensic logging and/or recovery system to log anomalies and/or to take appropriate remedial action, such as restarting an ECU, redirecting ECU operations to a backup ECU, warning an operator of the vehicle, querying an outside security vendor via the communications interface 232, and possibly forcing the vehicle to a safe resting position until the anomaly can be resolved and the vehicle can again be operated safely.”).
Gutierrez does not disclose a method: means for filtering the misbehavior detection mechanisms by at least one of deactivating one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold or activating one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold.
However, in an analogous art, Friedman teaches an arrangement:
means for filtering the misbehavior detection mechanisms by at least one of deactivating one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold (Friedman para. [0120], “The algorithm may be used to increase system sensitivity and mitigate false negatives. Although the algorithm may be used to mitigate false positive, the algorithm may also be used to mitigate false negatives. To do this, the costs given as input and the score function may be altered. For example, taking an action that increases system sensitivity (e.g. enabling an element that was previously disabled, lowering a threshold) may increase the benefit.”; Friedman para. [0057], “A threshold th. If the number of destination hosts (e.g., as determined by destination IP address) which a host contacts on the same port during a given period of time exceeds th, then the detector fires an alert.”; Friedman para. [0041], “include the benefits from removing false positive alerts or generating true alerts that are missed by a security system”; Friedman para. [0105], “the tuning parameter selected may be disabling the port scanner detector.”; Friedman para. [0113], “false positive alerts would be missing in the history of alerts if the port scanner detector was disabled”) or activating one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold (Friedman para. [0120], “The algorithm may be used to increase system sensitivity and mitigate false negatives. … taking an action that increases system sensitivity (e.g. enabling an element that was previously disabled”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gutierrez to include, as taught by Friedman, regarding: means for filtering the misbehavior detection mechanisms by at least one of deactivating one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold or activating one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold. Motivation for modifying would have been to activate individual sensors in order to increase a sensitivity of the arrangement so as to mitigate false negatives, or to deactivate individual detectors in order to decrease a sensitivity of the arrangement so as to mitigate false positives (Friedman para. [0120]).
Per claim 18, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 17. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein:
means for aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises means for determining whether any of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs a misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0051], “the detection logic circuitry to comprise dynamic threshold logic circuitry to dynamically adjust a threshold for detection of suspicious activity by an IDS at a first layer based on a single output or a combination of outputs from at least one other IDS.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
means for determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated output comprises means for determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to determining that at least one of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs a misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0192], “to combine observations of the one or more control units at the one or more observation layers; and to determine, based on a combination of the observations, that one or more of the observations represent an intrusion”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 19, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 17. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein:
means for aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises means for determining whether any one of a subset of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs a misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0051], “the detection logic circuitry to comprise dynamic threshold logic circuitry to dynamically adjust a threshold for detection of suspicious activity by an IDS at a first layer based on a single output or a combination of outputs from at least one other IDS.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
means for determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated output comprises means for determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to determining that at least one of the select subset of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs the misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0051], “the detection logic circuitry to comprise dynamic threshold logic circuitry to dynamically adjust a threshold for detection of suspicious activity by an IDS at a first layer based on a single output or a combination of outputs from at least one other IDS.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 20, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 17. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein:
means for aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises means for aggregating misbehavior indications output from multiple misbehavior detection mechanisms (Gutierrez Abstract “Logic may implement observation layer intrusion detection systems (IDSs) to combine observations by intrusion detectors and/or other intrusion detection systems.”; Gutierrez para. [0018], “FIG. 13 depicts another embodiment of a combined layer IDS to combine outputs from three MTS IDSs with different size (time frame) windows with an output from a physical layer voltage FP”; Gutierrez para. [0028], “establishing one or more combined layer intrusion detection systems (IDSs) such as one or more intra-layer IDSs, one or more inter-layer IDSs, and/or one or more global IDSs. A combined layer IDS, as discussed herein, may combine information from more than one intrusion detector to advantageously, e.g., increase the confidence or reliability of detection of an intrusion, increase the accuracy of a detection of an intrusion, and/or reduce latency associated with detection of an intrusion”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
means for determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises means for determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to a threshold number of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputting misbehavior indications (Gutierrez para. [0161], “the detection logic circuitry may determine whether the in-vehicle system or sub-system is being attacked based on the output from the combination by comparing the output from the combination with a detection threshold. The detection logic circuitry may determine that an attack is occurring if the output from the combination meets or exceeds the detection threshold.” ; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 21, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 20. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein means for determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to a threshold number of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputting misbehavior indications comprises means for determining that the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to a majority of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputting misbehavior indications (Gutierrez para.[0039], “A majority vote may combine outputs from intrusion detectors and/or IDSs with two or more intra-layer and/or inter-layer perspectives. For example, if a physical layer intrusion detector and/or IDS indicates suspicious activity, the combined layer IDS may count the output as a vote, determine outputs (as votes) of other intrusion detectors and/or IDSs that may detect related activity, and determine whether the suspicious activity is an intrusion based on the percentage of the votes that indicate an intrusion or attack.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 22, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 17. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein:
means for determining whether a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises means for determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to the outputs of the one or more misbehavior detection mechanisms exceeding a threshold (Gutierrez para. [0036], “the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of an IDS in a first layer based on output from IDSs on other layers. For instance, the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of a message layer IDS for the detection of suspicious activity at the message layer for the first ECU and/or a group of ECUs associated with the first ECU in response to detection of the suspicious activity and/or the lack of detection of suspicious activity by the fingerprint IDS at the first ECU. As an example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation to reduce false positives but may be lowered to increase sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to reduce false negatives and increase the chance of detection of (or decrease the chance of failing to detect) suspicious behavior at the message layer. As an alternative example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation but may be increased to decrease sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to decrease the chance of detection of a false positive at the message layer.”).
Per claim 23, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 17. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement 23 regarding a communication system in which:
means for detecting indications of V2X misbehavior via one or more misbehavior detection mechanism comprises means for processing received V2X information through a plurality of plausibility and consistency detectors configured to detect misbehavior conditions and output misbehavior indications to a detector selector (Gutierrez para.[0116], “The voting model with selective input based on historical training of the IDSs may select outputs to combine for voting based on a determination that the historical data used to train the model is still valid or has a low margin of error”);
means for aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises means for passing outputs of misbehavior indications from a selected subset of the plurality of plausibility and consistency detectors from the detector selector to a misbehavior detector (Gutierrez para.[0116], “The voting model with selective input based on historical training of the IDSs may select outputs to combine for voting based on a determination that the historical data used to train the model is still valid or has a low margin of error.”); and
means for determining whether the reportable (Gutierrez para. [0161], “the detection logic circuitry may determine whether the in-vehicle system or sub-system is being attacked based on the output from the combination by comparing the output from the combination with a detection threshold. The detection logic circuitry may determine that an attack is occurring if the output from the combination meets or exceeds the detection threshold”) or actionable misbehavior condition (Gutierrez para.[0099], “attack characterization logic circuitry 488 may output the attack characterization 489 to a forensic logging and/or recovery system to advantageously log the attack/anomaly and/or to facilitate an informed selection of a recovery routine.”) exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises means for determining by the misbehavior detector that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to misbehavior indication outputs by the selected subset of the plurality of plausibility and consistency detectors.
Per claim 24, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the V2X communication system of claim 17. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein:
means for aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises means for determining a number of events classified as an attack or misbehavior indications output by each of a plurality of misbehavior detection mechanisms within a window of time or set number of events (Gutierrez para.[0084], “The message layer IDSs 492 may include a message time series (MTS) IDS 493 to monitor a sequence of messages transmitted by the ECU 404 or a group of ECUs including the ECU 404. In many embodiments, the MTS IDS 493 may establish one or more windows of time (or time periods) during which the MTS IDS 493 captures a sequence of messages on the IVN bus.”); and
means for determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises means for determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to determining that the number of events classified as an attack or misbehavior indications output by any one of the one or more misbehavior detection mechanisms within the window of time or set number of events exceeds an additional threshold (Gutierrez para. [0036], “the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of an IDS in a first layer based on output from IDSs on other layers. For instance, the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of a message layer IDS for the detection of suspicious activity at the message layer for the first ECU and/or a group of ECUs associated with the first ECU in response to detection of the suspicious activity and/or the lack of detection of suspicious activity by the fingerprint IDS at the first ECU. As an example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation to reduce false positives but may be lowered to increase sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to reduce false negatives and increase the chance of detection of (or decrease the chance of failing to detect) suspicious behavior at the message layer. As an alternative example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation but may be increased to decrease sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to decrease the chance of detection of a false positive at the message layer.”).
Per claim 25, Gutierrez discloses a non-transitory processor-readable medium (Gutierrez para. [0168], “storage medium 2000 may include any non-transitory computer readable medium or machine-readable medium, such as an optical, magnetic or semiconductor storage”) having stored thereon processor-executable instructions configured to cause a processor (Gutierrez para. [0003], “may include a processor and software that executes on the processor to cause that ECU to perform the desired operations or vehicle functions.”) of a vehicle-to- everything (V2X) communication system (Gutierrez para. [0055}, “The introduction of V2X into the vehicle network provides a substantial new attack vector for malicious actors”) to perform operations comprising:
detecting, from V2X communications from one or more additional vehicles, via misbehavior detection mechanisms, indications of V2X communications misbehavior associated with inaccurate or false information in at least one V2X communication from at least one vehicle of the one or more additional vehicles (Gutierrez para. [0035], “may monitor intrusion detectors and/or IDSs on two different layers. For instance, an inter-layer IDS may monitor a voltage fingerprint IDS for a first ECU on the physical layer and a message time series IDS for a second ECU on the message layer. The voltage fingerprint IDS may detect and report suspicious activity from a first ECU and the inter-layer IDS may monitor the message time series IDS on the message layer for corresponding suspicious activity on the message layer.”; Guiterrez para. [0006], “intrusion detectors may output an indication of the anomalous behavior even though the behavior might be temporary and relate to, e.g., an anomalous external factor”);
obtaining, from the filtered misbehavior detection mechanisms, outputs that correspond to the indications of the V2X communications misbehavior (Gutierrez para. [0035], “may monitor intrusion detectors and/or IDSs on two different layers. For instance, an inter-layer IDS may monitor a voltage fingerprint IDS for a first ECU on the physical layer and a message time series IDS for a second ECU on the message layer. The voltage fingerprint IDS may detect and report suspicious activity from a first ECU and the inter-layer IDS may monitor the message time series IDS on the message layer for corresponding suspicious activity on the message layer.”; Guiterrez para. [0006], “intrusion detectors may output an indication of the anomalous behavior even though the behavior might be temporary and relate to, e.g., an anomalous external factor”);
aggregating, based on a first type of aggregation, a first subset of the outputs and based on a second type of aggregation, a second subset of the outputs (Gutierrez para. [0038], “The combined layer IDS may combine outputs from intrusion detectors and/or IDSs in one or more different ways to determine whether suspicious activity represents an intrusion”; Gutierrez para. [0101], “The first inter-layer IDS and the attack characterization logic circuitry 488 may receive the outputs from the voltage FP IDS 451 and the MTS IDS 493. The first inter-layer IDS may combine the outputs….”) to determine that a threshold of misbehavior detection mechanisms detect the indications of V2X communications misbehavior (Guiterrez para. [0041], “for a weighted voting, the combined layer IDS may multiply the physical layer IDS output (e.g., probability) by 0.3, multiple the message layer IDS output by 0.3, and multiply the context layer IDS output by 0.4. The combined layer IDS may sum the weighted outputs (e.g., probabilities) and compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion.”; Gutierrez para. [0039], “determine whether the suspicious activity is an intrusion based on the percentage of the votes that indicate an intrusion or attack.”);
determining whether a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs (Gutierrez para. [0039], “determine whether the suspicious activity is an intrusion based on the percentage of the votes that indicate an intrusion or attack”; Gutierrez para. [0101], “The first inter-layer IDS may combine the outputs to determine whether the suspicious activity represents an intrusion (attack)…”; Gutierrez para. [0039], “A majority vote may combine outputs from intrusion detectors”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
transmitting a misbehavior report to an external device via the V2X communication system (Gutierrez para. [0035], “may detect and report suspicious activity from a first ECU”; Gutierrez para. [0101], “The first inter-layer IDS may combine the outputs to determine whether the suspicious activity represents an intrusion (attack) and may output an indication that the suspicious activity is an attack based on the combination of the outputs to the attack characterization logic circuitry 488.”) or taking a responsive action in response to determining that a misbehavior condition exists (Gutierrez para. [0065], “In the case that detection and attacker characterization logic circuitry 250 identifies an anomaly or intrusion, generates an attack characterization or profile and may pass to the attack profile to a forensic logging and/or recovery system to log anomalies and/or to take appropriate remedial action, such as restarting an ECU, redirecting ECU operations to a backup ECU, warning an operator of the vehicle, querying an outside security vendor via the communications interface 232, and possibly forcing the vehicle to a safe resting position until the anomaly can be resolved and the vehicle can again be operated safely.”).
Gutierrez does not disclose a method: filtering the misbehavior detection mechanisms by at least one of deactivating one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold or activating one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold.
However, in an analogous art, Friedman teaches an arrangement:
filtering the misbehavior detection mechanisms by at least one of deactivating one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold (Friedman para. [0120], “The algorithm may be used to increase system sensitivity and mitigate false negatives. Although the algorithm may be used to mitigate false positive, the algorithm may also be used to mitigate false negatives. To do this, the costs given as input and the score function may be altered. For example, taking an action that increases system sensitivity (e.g. enabling an element that was previously disabled, lowering a threshold) may increase the benefit.”; Friedman para. [0057], “A threshold th. If the number of destination hosts (e.g., as determined by destination IP address) which a host contacts on the same port during a given period of time exceeds th, then the detector fires an alert.”; Friedman para. [0041], “include the benefits from removing false positive alerts or generating true alerts that are missed by a security system”; Friedman para. [0105], “the tuning parameter selected may be disabling the port scanner detector.”; Friedman para. [0113], “false positive alerts would be missing in the history of alerts if the port scanner detector was disabled”) or activating one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold; (Friedman para. [0120], “The algorithm may be used to increase system sensitivity and mitigate false negatives. … taking an action that increases system sensitivity (e.g. enabling an element that was previously disabled”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gutierrez to include, as taught by Friedman, regarding: filtering the misbehavior detection mechanisms by at least one of deactivating one or more first detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that exceed a threshold or activating one or more second detection mechanisms of the misbehavior detection mechanisms associated with misbehavior rates that are less than the threshold. Motivation for modifying would have been to activate individual sensors in order to increase a sensitivity of the arrangement so as to mitigate false negatives, or to deactivate individual detectors in order to decrease a sensitivity of the arrangement so as to mitigate false positives (Friedman para. [0120]).
Per claim 26, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 25. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein the stored processor-executable instructions are further configured to cause the processor of the V2X communication system to perform operations comprising:
aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises determining whether any or any one of a select subset of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs a misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0051], “the detection logic circuitry to comprise dynamic threshold logic circuitry to dynamically adjust a threshold for detection of suspicious activity by an IDS at a first layer based on a single output or a combination of outputs from at least one other IDS.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to determining that at least one of misbehavior detection mechanisms or at least one of the select subset of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputs the misbehavior indication (Gutierrez para.[0192], “to combine observations of the one or more control units at the one or more observation layers; and to determine, based on a combination of the observations, that one or more of the observations represent an intrusion”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 27, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 25. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein the stored processor-executable instructions are further configured to cause the processor of the V2X communication system to perform operations comprising:
aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises aggregating misbehavior indications output from multiple misbehavior detection mechanisms (Gutierrez Abstract “Logic may implement observation layer intrusion detection systems (IDSs) to combine observations by intrusion detectors and/or other intrusion detection systems.”; Gutierrez para. [0018], “FIG. 13 depicts another embodiment of a combined layer IDS to combine outputs from three MTS IDSs with different size (time frame) windows with an output from a physical layer voltage FP”; Gutierrez para. [0028], “establishing one or more combined layer intrusion detection systems (IDSs) such as one or more intra-layer IDSs, one or more inter-layer IDSs, and/or one or more global IDSs. A combined layer IDS, as discussed herein, may combine information from more than one intrusion detector to advantageously, e.g., increase the confidence or reliability of detection of an intrusion, increase the accuracy of a detection of an intrusion, and/or reduce latency associated with detection of an intrusion”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “compare the sum of the weighted outputs to determine a combined layer weighted output. If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”); and
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to a threshold number of the misbehavior detection mechanisms outputting misbehavior indications (Gutierrez para. [0161], “the detection logic circuitry may determine whether the in-vehicle system or sub-system is being attacked based on the output from the combination by comparing the output from the combination with a detection threshold. The detection logic circuitry may determine that an attack is occurring if the output from the combination meets or exceeds the detection threshold.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], “If the combined layer weighted output is greater than a threshold, e.g., 50 percent or 70 percent, the combined layer IDS may determine that the combined layer weighted output indicates that the activities detected represent an intrusion”).
Per claim 28, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 25. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement wherein:
determining whether the reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises determining that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to the outputs of the one or more misbehavior detection mechanisms exceeding an additional threshold (Gutierrez para. [0036], “the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of an IDS in a first layer based on output from IDSs on other layers. For instance, the combined layer IDS may dynamically adjust a threshold of a message layer IDS for the detection of suspicious activity at the message layer for the first ECU and/or a group of ECUs associated with the first ECU in response to detection of the suspicious activity and/or the lack of detection of suspicious activity by the fingerprint IDS at the first ECU. As an example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation to reduce false positives but may be lowered to increase sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to reduce false negatives and increase the chance of detection of (or decrease the chance of failing to detect) suspicious behavior at the message layer. As an alternative example, the threshold may reside at a first detection level during normal operation but may be increased to decrease sensitivity in response to the detection of suspicious activity at the physical layer to decrease the chance of detection of a false positive at the message layer.”).
Per claim 29, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 25. Gutierrez further discloses a non-transitory processor-readable medium wherein:
detecting indications of V2X misbehavior via one or more misbehavior detection mechanism comprises processing received V2X information through a plurality of plausibility and consistency detectors configured to detect misbehavior conditions and output misbehavior indications to a detector selector (Gutierrez para.[0116], “The voting model with selective input based on historical training of the IDSs may select outputs to combine for voting based on a determination that the historical data used to train the model is still valid or has a low margin of error”);
aggregating the first subset of the outputs and the second subset of the outputs comprises passing outputs of misbehavior indications from a selected subset of the plurality of plausibility and consistency detectors from the detector selector to a misbehavior detector (Gutierrez para.[0116], “The voting model with selective input based on historical training of the IDSs may select outputs to combine for voting based on a determination that the historical data used to train the model is still valid or has a low margin of error.”); and
determining whether the reportable (Gutierrez para. [0161], “the detection logic circuitry may determine whether the in-vehicle system or sub-system is being attacked based on the output from the combination by comparing the output from the combination with a detection threshold. The detection logic circuitry may determine that an attack is occurring if the output from the combination meets or exceeds the detection threshold”) or actionable misbehavior condition (Gutierrez para.[0099], “attack characterization logic circuitry 488 may output the attack characterization 489 to a forensic logging and/or recovery system to advantageously log the attack/anomaly and/or to facilitate an informed selection of a recovery routine.”) exists based on the aggregated outputs comprises determining by the misbehavior detector that a reportable or actionable misbehavior condition exists in response to misbehavior indication outputs by the selected subset of the plurality of plausibility and consistency detectors.
Per claim 31, Gutierrez and Friedman disclose the method of claim 1. Gutierrez further discloses an arrangement further comprising applying weights to the filtered outputs, wherein the weights are based on an importance of misbehavior detected by a respective misbehavior detection mechanism (Gutierrez para. [0041], "Weighted voting may assign weights to the outputs from intrusion detectors and/or IDSs of a selected subsystem, of a combination of two or more subsystems, and/or of all subsystems. The weights may be based on various factors such as historical reliability and/or accuracy, heuristic reliability and/or accuracy, relative reliability and/or accuracy as compared to other inputs, and/or the like.”; [NOTE:”Importance” is an inherent part of “weighting”, e.g., Collins on-line dictionary (collinsdictionary.com/us/dictionary/English/weighting) defines “weighting” as: “A weighting is a value given to something according to how important or significant it is.”; Guitierrez provides a number of differing examples: Guiterrez para. [0160], “if a source of an observation was not recently trained, the model may …weight the output based on a determined validity of the training in relation to sources of other observations.”; Gutierrez para. [0041], " The weights may be based on various factors such as historical reliability and/or accuracy, heuristic reliability and/or accuracy, relative reliability and/or accuracy as compared to other inputs, and/or the like.''; [NOTE: Using “accuracy” as an example, a “weighted accuracy output” of greater than 50 percent or 70 percent is being interpreted as being based on a highly-weighted, applied “intrusion-type” weighting, whereas an output of less than 50 percent or 70 percent is being interpreted as being based on a lower-weighted, applied “non-intrusion-type” weighting.]).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Paul Skwierawski/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439