Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Noncompliant Notice
It is to be noted that the applicant has failed to appropriately comply with separating their “Remarks” section from their “Amended Claims”. Compliant amendments require that each section of the response should start on a new page according to MPEP section 1.121 subsection (h) “Each section of an amendment document (e.g., amendment to the claims, amendment to the specification, replacement drawings, and remarks) must begin on a separate sheet”. In order to further prosecution, the examiner has considered the elements recited at the top of the “Remarks” section to be included in the examination process for interpreting the limitations of Claim 18.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khanuja’400 (U.S. Patent Publication 20140163400 A1 – previously cited) in view of Lin'941 (US Patent Publication 20080214941 - cited by applicant) and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 (KR Patent Application 20130115844).
Regarding Claim 1, Khanuja’400 discloses a blood pressure measuring apparatus for performing blood pressure measurement (Paragraph [0038] - The blood pressure recording device may be connected to the user's body and the blood pressure of the user may be recorded),
at least one notification unit comprising one or more of a light-emitting diode (LED) configured to emit light, a vibrator configured to vibrate, a screen display, or a speaker, that performs a notification to prompt a user to perform the blood pressure measurement (Paragraph [0022] - The blood pressure recording device may also include a speaker, and wherein the processor is further configured to generate the alert by causing the speaker to generate an audible alert. The blood pressure recording device may also include a lamp, and wherein the processor is further configured to generate the alert by causing the lamp to generate a visible alert; Paragraph [0044] - the blood pressure recording device may provide reminder alerts to a user. The alerts may be in the form of notifications that indicate a user about an "unfinished" or "to be done" task),
an operation interface configured to receive a blood pressure measurement time by an instruction from the user, the instruction adapted to set said measurement time (Paragraph [0059] - A reminder can be set to display an alert message in the display unit 201 with respect to the multifunction configuration buttons after a predetermined time… The predetermined times may be set via the portal by the user or an authorized person),
a memory storing a control program of the blood pressure measuring apparatus and that further stores a plurality of recommended time periods of the blood pressure measurement (Paragraph [0077] - A reminder time may include or be associated with a window of time…a window of time is 3 hours; Paragraph [0078] - If a reading is outside of an acceptable range, a new reminder time and/or window may be set by the processor 818; Paragraph [0079] - The user may specify multiple reminder times/windows such as multiple reminder times/windows for a given day of week or different reminder times/windows for different days of week; Paragraph [0080] - the reminder time (and/or other data) may be stored in association with other user data at the data processing system),
a control unit comprising a computer processor coupled to the notification unit, the operation interface, and the memory, the processor configured to activate the notification unit that performs control to cause the at least one notification unit to start the notification based on the blood pressure measurement time set by the operation interface (Paragraph [0076] - The processor 818 may compare the reminder time to a time of a clock. If the time of the clock is equal to the reminder time, an alert may be generated), and
to deactivate the at least one notification unit to stop the notification when one of the recommend time periods passes (35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rationale: Paragraph [0077] - only cause an alert to be generated if the user does not use the blood pressure recording device 810 take his or her blood pressure within the reminder time plus the window of time; Paragraph [0078] - If a reading is outside of an acceptable range, a new reminder time and/or window may be set by the processor 818). While Khanuja’400 doesn’t explicitly state ending the notification at the end of the time period, the alarm is only present if a set time period/window has been missed and the time period/window is able to be set to a different time of day by the user. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the alarm would be removed and defaulted back to the original setup until the newly set time period/window has been missed.
Khanuja’400 further discloses the blood pressure measuring apparatus is configured, by way of a pressure sensor, to measure blood pressure within the recommended time periods (Paragraph [0070] - In response to the user taking his or her blood pressure, the blood pressure sensors 812 may generate one or more signals that are communicated from the sensors 812 to the processor 818 where it is received. The blood pressure signals may be used to determine blood pressure and/or related data of the user on the device 810).
Khanuja’400 fails to disclose the recommended time periods being fixed and unchangeable by the user. Lin'941 teaches a measurement schedule fixed by the manufacturer or a physician (Paragraph [0007] - Preferably, the measurement schedule is stored in a memory within the device. It is possible to have a predefined measurement schedule stored in a read only memory. Alternatively, it is also possible to store a specific measurement schedule for an individual patient. Such an individual measurement schedule can be defined by a doctor; Paragraph [0019] - there is provided a predetermined measurement schedule in the device. This may be a preset schedule, e.g. set by the manufacturer of the device. It may also be a schedule which is provided on a patient individual basis in a memory within the device. When certain criteria of the measurement schedule are fulfilled, an alarm signal is generated). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Khanuja’400 to include predefined measurement time periods that are not able to be changed by a user in order to control blood pressure measurement times for optimal and reliable readings required by a healthcare professional as seen in Lin'941 (Paragraph [0006] -The measurement schedule is typically based on clinically tested protocols which have turned out to lead to reliable measurements).
Khanuja’400 further fails to disclose a control unit further configured to change a mode of the notification based on a cumulative number of times of the blood pressure measurement. Ryu et. al.'844 teaches a physiological measurement device comprising a control unit configured to change a color of an LED based on a total number of times a user obtains a measurement (Page 2 Paragraph 7 - a multi-color LED display unit 130 is further provided, and if the number of daily measurements is less than five times for type 1 diabetic patients using the number of daily measurements, the number of daily measurements is 3 for type 2 diabetes patients. If less than times, orange, type 1 and type 2, 5 times or more than 3 times can be displayed in blue to intuitively recognize the current habit of using the blood glucose meter, purple when the measurement result is below the normal range, the measurement result is normal Green within the range, and red if above the normal range, the improvement or confirmation of the measurement results of the elderly or children who are not familiar with the use of the blood glucose meter 100 Ura or even allow the user to recognize intuitively without a manual or a separate study). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Khanuja’400 in view of Lin'941 to include adjusting LED color output to a user based on whether or not the user obtains an appropriate number of total measurements within a specified duration in order to better inform a user of their measurement habits as seen in Ryu et. al.’844 (Page 4 Paragraph 6 - It can inform the measurement habits, call attention to the user, and can direct the attention of the person so that they can be more interested in their blood glucose measurement habits and results).
Regarding Claim 2, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above. Khanuja’400 further discloses the operation interface sets the blood pressure measurement time within a range of one of the recommended time periods (Paragraph [0077] - A reminder time may include or be associated with a window of time…within the reminder time plus the window of time…The window may also extend to times prior to the reading time).
Regarding Claim 3, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above. Khanuja’400 further discloses the plurality of the recommended time periods are set and stored in the memory (Paragraph [0079] - user may specify multiple reminder times/windows such as multiple reminder times/windows for a given day of week; Paragraph [0080] - the reminder time (and/or other data) may be stored in association with other user data at the data processing system).
Regarding Claim 4, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above. Khanuja’400 further discloses the plurality of recommended time periods are a morning time period and an evening time period (Paragraph [0056] - one person can track their blood pressure at home and work, during the day and night, or the like).
Regarding Claim 5, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above. Khanuja’400 further discloses the notification unit performs the notification by light emission (Paragraph [0074] - A lamp 816 may be used as a reminder to the user to take action, as will be further discussed below. A lamp 816 may include one or more LEDs or other light-emitting devices), and the control unit stops the notification by stopping the light emission or changing a mode of the light emission (Paragraph [0077] - only cause an alert to be generated if the user does not use the blood pressure recording device 810 take his or her blood pressure within the reminder time plus the window of time; Paragraph [0078] - If a reading is outside of an acceptable range, a new reminder time and/or window may be set by the processor 818).
Regarding Claim 7, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above. Khanuja’400 further discloses the notification unit includes the screen display adapted to perform the notification by screen display (Paragraph [0059] - A reminder can be set to display an alert message in the display unit 201 with respect to the multifunction configuration buttons after a predetermined time), and the control unit stops the notification by stopping the screen display or changing a mode of the screen display (Paragraph [0077] - only cause an alert to be generated if the user does not use the blood pressure recording device 810 take his or her blood pressure within the reminder time plus the window of time; Paragraph [0078] - If a reading is outside of an acceptable range, a new reminder time and/or window may be set by the processor 818).
Regarding Claim 8, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above. Khanuja’400 further discloses the notification unit includes the speaker adapted to perform the notification by voice output (Paragraph [0061] - be an audible sound to remind the user to complete the task), and the control unit stops the notification by stopping the voice output or changing a mode of the voice output (Paragraph [0077] - only cause an alert to be generated if the user does not use the blood pressure recording device 810 take his or her blood pressure within the reminder time plus the window of time; Paragraph [0078] - If a reading is outside of an acceptable range, a new reminder time and/or window may be set by the processor 818).
Regarding Claim 11, Khanuja’400 discloses a non-transitory recording medium storing a control program of a blood pressure measuring apparatus for performing a notification to prompt a user to perform blood pressure measurement (Paragraph [0044] - the blood pressure recording device may provide reminder alerts to a user. The alerts may be in the form of notifications that indicate a user about an "unfinished" or "to be done" task),
the control program causing a computer to execute (Paragraph [0076] - The processor 818 may compare the reminder time to a time of a clock. If the time of the clock is equal to the reminder time, an alert may be generated) the steps of:
activating a light-emitting diode (LED) to emit light based on a blood pressure measurement time configurable by an instruction from the user, the instruction adapted to set said measurement time (Paragraph [0022] - wherein the processor is further configured to generate the alert by causing the lamp to generate a visible alert; Paragraph [0074] - A lamp 816 may be used as a reminder to the user to take action, as will be further discussed below. A lamp 816 may include one or more LEDs or other light-emitting devices; Paragraph [0076] - The processor 818 may compare the reminder time to the time of a clock. If the time of the clock is equal to the reminder time, an alert may be generated); and
deactivating the LED when one of the plurality of recommended time periods of the blood pressure measurement passes (Paragraph [0077] - only cause an alert to be generated if the user does not use the blood pressure recording device 810 take his or her blood pressure within the reminder time plus the window of time; Paragraph [0078] - If a reading is outside of an acceptable range, a new reminder time and/or window may be set by the processor 818).
While Khanuja’400 doesn’t explicitly state ending the notification at the end of the time period, the alarm is only present if a set time period/window has been missed and the time period/window is able to be set to a different time of day by the user. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the alarm would be removed and defaulted back to the original setup until the newly set time period/window has been missed.
Khanuja’400 further discloses wherein the blood pressure measuring apparatus is configured to measure blood pressure during the blood pressure measurement within one of the recommended time periods (Paragraph [0070] - In response to the user taking his or her blood pressure, the blood pressure sensors 812 may generate one or more signals that are communicated from the sensors 812 to the processor 818 where it is received. The blood pressure signals may be used to determine blood pressure and/or related data of the user on the device 810).
Khanuja’400 fails to disclose the recommended time periods being fixed and unchangeable by the user. Lin'941 teaches a measurement schedule fixed by the manufacturer or a physician (Paragraph [0007] - Preferably, the measurement schedule is stored in a memory within the device. It is possible to have a predefined measurement schedule stored in a read only memory. Alternatively, it is also possible to store a specific measurement schedule for an individual patient. Such an individual measurement schedule can be defined by a doctor; Paragraph [0019] - there is provided a predetermined measurement schedule in the device. This may be a preset schedule, e.g. set by the manufacturer of the device. It may also be a schedule which is provided on a patient individual basis in a memory within the device. When certain criteria of the measurement schedule are fulfilled, an alarm signal is generated). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Khanuja’400 to include predefined measurement time periods that are not able to be changed by a user in order to control blood pressure measurement times for optimal and reliable readings required by a healthcare professional as seen in Lin'941 (Paragraph [0006] -The measurement schedule is typically based on clinically tested protocols which have turned out to lead to reliable measurements).
Khanuja’400 further fails to disclose a control unit further configured to change a mode of the notification based on a cumulative number of times of the blood pressure measurement. Ryu et. al.'844 teaches a physiological measurement device comprising a control unit configured to change a color of an LED based on a total number of times a user obtains a measurement (Page 2 Paragraph 7 - a multi-color LED display unit 130 is further provided, and if the number of daily measurements is less than five times for type 1 diabetic patients using the number of daily measurements, the number of daily measurements is 3 for type 2 diabetes patients. If less than times, orange, type 1 and type 2, 5 times or more than 3 times can be displayed in blue to intuitively recognize the current habit of using the blood glucose meter, purple when the measurement result is below the normal range, the measurement result is normal Green within the range, and red if above the normal range, the improvement or confirmation of the measurement results of the elderly or children who are not familiar with the use of the blood glucose meter 100 Ura or even allow the user to recognize intuitively without a manual or a separate study). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 to include adjusting LED color output to a user based on whether or not the user obtains an appropriate number of total measurements within a specified duration in order to better inform a user of their measurement habits as seen in Ryu et. al.’844 (Page 4 Paragraph 6 - It can inform the measurement habits, call attention to the user, and can direct the attention of the person so that they can be more interested in their blood glucose measurement habits and results).
Regarding Claim 12, Khanuja’400 discloses a blood pressure measuring apparatus for performing blood pressure measurement (Paragraph [0044] - the blood pressure recording device may provide reminder alerts to a user. The alerts may be in the form of notifications that indicate a user about an "unfinished" or "to be done" task) comprising:
a light-emitting diode (LED) configured to emit light that performs a notification to prompt a user to perform the blood pressure measurement (Paragraph [0022] - wherein the processor is further configured to generate the alert by causing the lamp to generate a visible alert; Paragraph [0044] - According to one inventive technique, the blood pressure recording device may provide reminder alerts to a user. The alerts may be in the form of notifications that indicate a user about an "unfinished" or "to be done" task; Paragraph [0074] - A lamp 816 may be used as a reminder to the user to take action, as will be further discussed below. A lamp 816 may include one or more LEDs or other light-emitting devices);
an operation interface configured to receive a blood pressure measurement time by an instruction from the user, the instruction adapted to set said measurement time (Paragraph [0059] - A reminder can be set to display an alert message in the display unit 201 with respect to the multifunction configuration buttons after a predetermined time… The predetermined times may be set via the portal by the user or an authorized person);
a memory storing a control program of the blood pressure measuring apparatus and that further stores a plurality of recommended time periods of the blood pressure measurement (Paragraph [0077] - A reminder time may include or be associated with a window of time…a window of time is 3 hours; Paragraph [0078] - If a reading is outside of an acceptable range, a new reminder time and/or window may be set by the processor 818; Paragraph [0079] - The user may specify multiple reminder times/windows such as multiple reminder times/windows for a given day of week or different reminder times/windows for different days of week; Paragraph [0080] - the reminder time (and/or other data) may be stored in association with other user data at the data processing system),
a control unit comprising a computer processor coupled to the LED, the operation interface, and the memory, the processor configured to activate the LED to emit light that performs control to cause the at least one notification unit to start the notification based on the blood pressure measurement time set by the operation interface (Paragraph [0074] - A lamp 816 may be used as a reminder to the user to take action, as will be further discussed below. A lamp 816 may include one or more LEDs or other light-emitting devices; Paragraph [0076] - The processor 818 may compare the reminder time to a time of a clock. If the time of the clock is equal to the reminder time, an alert may be generated), and
to deactivate the LED when one of the recommend time periods passes (35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rationale: Paragraph [0077] - only cause an alert to be generated if the user does not use the blood pressure recording device 810 take his or her blood pressure within the reminder time plus the window of time; Paragraph [0078] - If a reading is outside of an acceptable range, a new reminder time and/or window may be set by the processor 818). While Khanuja’400 doesn’t explicitly state ending the notification at the end of the time period, the alarm is only present if a set time period/window has been missed and the time period/window is able to be set to a different time of day by the user. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the alarm would be removed and defaulted back to the original setup until the newly set time period/window has been missed.
Khanuja’400 further discloses the blood pressure measuring apparatus is configured, by way of a pressure sensor, to measure blood pressure within the recommended time periods (Paragraph [0070] - In response to the user taking his or her blood pressure, the blood pressure sensors 812 may generate one or more signals that are communicated from the sensors 812 to the processor 818 where it is received. The blood pressure signals may be used to determine blood pressure and/or related data of the user on the device 810).
Khanuja’400 fails to disclose the recommended time periods being fixed and unchangeable by the user. Lin'941 teaches a measurement schedule fixed by the manufacturer or a physician (Paragraph [0007] - Preferably, the measurement schedule is stored in a memory within the device. It is possible to have a predefined measurement schedule stored in a read only memory. Alternatively, it is also possible to store a specific measurement schedule for an individual patient. Such an individual measurement schedule can be defined by a doctor; Paragraph [0019] - there is provided a predetermined measurement schedule in the device. This may be a preset schedule, e.g. set by the manufacturer of the device. It may also be a schedule which is provided on a patient individual basis in a memory within the device. When certain criteria of the measurement schedule are fulfilled, an alarm signal is generated). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Khanuja’400 to include predefined measurement time periods that are not able to be changed by a user in order to control blood pressure measurement times for optimal and reliable readings required by a healthcare professional as seen in Lin'941 (Paragraph [0006] -The measurement schedule is typically based on clinically tested protocols which have turned out to lead to reliable measurements).
Khanuja’400 further fails to disclose a control unit further configured to change a mode of the notification based on a cumulative number of times of the blood pressure measurement. Ryu et. al.'844 teaches a physiological measurement device comprising a control unit configured to change a color of an LED based on a total number of times a user obtains a measurement (Page 2 Paragraph 7 - a multi-color LED display unit 130 is further provided, and if the number of daily measurements is less than five times for type 1 diabetic patients using the number of daily measurements, the number of daily measurements is 3 for type 2 diabetes patients. If less than times, orange, type 1 and type 2, 5 times or more than 3 times can be displayed in blue to intuitively recognize the current habit of using the blood glucose meter, purple when the measurement result is below the normal range, the measurement result is normal Green within the range, and red if above the normal range, the improvement or confirmation of the measurement results of the elderly or children who are not familiar with the use of the blood glucose meter 100 Ura or even allow the user to recognize intuitively without a manual or a separate study). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 to include adjusting LED color output to a user based on whether or not the user obtains an appropriate number of total measurements within a specified duration in order to better inform a user of their measurement habits as seen in Ryu et. al.’844 (Page 4 Paragraph 6 - It can inform the measurement habits, call attention to the user, and can direct the attention of the person so that they can be more interested in their blood glucose measurement habits and results).
Regarding Claim 13, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 12 above. Khanuja’400 further discloses the time setting unit sets the blood pressure measurement time within a range of one of the recommended time periods (Paragraph [0079] - The user may specify multiple reminder times/windows such as multiple reminder times/windows for a given day of week or different reminder times/windows for different days of week).
Regarding Claim 14, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 12 above. Khanuja’400 further discloses the plurality of the recommended time periods are set and stored in the memory (Paragraph [0077] - A reminder time may include or be associated with a window of time; Paragraph [0079] - The user may specify multiple reminder times/windows such as multiple reminder times/windows for a given day of week or different reminder times/windows for different days of week; Paragraph [0080] - the reminder time (and/or other data) may be stored in association with other user data at the data processing system).
Regarding Claim 15, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 14 above. Khanuja’400 further discloses the plurality of recommended time period are a morning time period and an evening time period (Paragraph [0056] - The User 1 or User 2 buttons can be used by two users individually, or one person can track their blood pressure at home and work, during the day and night, or the like).
Regarding Claim 16, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 12 above. Khanuja’400 further discloses the notification unit performs the notification by light emission, and the control unit stops the notification by stopping the light emission or changing a mode of light emission (Paragraph [0074] - A lamp 816 may be used as a reminder to the user to take action, as will be further discussed below. A lamp 816 may include one or more LEDs or other light-emitting devices; Paragraph [0077] - processor 818 may only cause an alert to be generated if the user does not use the blood pressure recording device 810 take his or her blood pressure within the reminder time plus the window of time).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khanuja’400 (U.S. Patent Publication 20140163400 – previously cited) in view of Lin'941 (US Patent Publication 20080214941 - cited by applicant), further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 (KR Patent Application 20130115844), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu’710 (CN Patent Application 104287710 – previously cited).
Regarding Claim 6, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above. Khanuja’400 further discloses a blood pressure measuring apparatus with a notification unit that performs a notification (Paragraph [0044] - the blood pressure recording device may provide reminder alerts to a user. The alerts may be in the form of notifications that indicate a user about an "unfinished" or "to be done" task) but fails to disclose a vibration as the mode/form of the notification. Xu’710 teaches the notification in the form of a vibration (Paragraph [0013] - indicating warning through small loudspeaker, and the vibration motor vibrates). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the notification system of Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 to include the vibration aspect that was taught by Xu’710 in order to provide a different notification element. Vibration is known in the art and Xu’710 has stated that the vibration is an alternative to noise-related alerts/notifications (Paragraphs [0013] - avoid excessive noise does not hear the voice alert).
Claims 9-10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khanuja’400 (U.S. Patent Publication 20140163400 – previously cited) in view of Lin'941 (US Patent Publication 20080214941 - cited by applicant), further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 (KR Patent Application 20130115844), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Misako et. al.’798 (JP Patent Application H11178798 – cited by applicant).
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above, but fails to disclose a control unit that changes a mode of the notification based on execution history as well as where the execution history is a history of the frequency in which the blood pressure measurement was taken. Misako et. al.’798 teaches the mode of the notification based on the history of the blood pressure measurement data (Paragraph [0017] - a person who uses the device every day may be notified of "boo" by a small sound, and a person who has not measured it may be notified by a loud sound of "bub"…the mode and intensity of the warning sound may be changed according to the number of days that have not been measured). Misako et. al.’798 further teaches the execution history is a history of the frequency in which the blood pressure measurement was taken (Paragraph [0016] - The notification pattern is based on, for example, a measurement frequency). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the notification system of Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 to include a notification system that alters the mode of the notification based on the frequency in which the blood pressure measurement was obtained in order to catch the user’s attention better and improve motivation to get blood pressure measurements as seen in Misako et. al.’798 (Paragraph [0017] - for a person who is infrequently used, a notification pattern emphasizing the meaning of warning and caution is set to be notified, thereby obtaining an effect of increasing motivation).
Regarding Claims 17 and 18, Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 discloses the system outlined in Claim 12 above, but fails to disclose a control unit that changes a mode of the notification based on execution history as well as where the execution history is a history of the frequency in which the blood pressure measurement was taken. Misako et. al.’798 teaches the mode of the notification based on the history of the blood pressure measurement data (Paragraph [0017] - a person who uses the device every day may be notified of "boo" by a small sound, and a person who has not measured it may be notified by a loud sound of "bub"…the mode and intensity of the warning sound may be changed according to the number of days that have not been measured). Misako et. al.’798 further teaches the execution history is a history of the frequency in which the blood pressure measurement was taken (Paragraph [0016] - The notification pattern is based on, for example, a measurement frequency). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the notification system of Khanuja’400 in view of Lin’941 and further in view of Ryu et. al.'844 to include a notification system that alters the mode of the notification based on the frequency in which the blood pressure measurement was obtained in order to catch the user’s attention better and improve motivation to get blood pressure measurements as seen in Misako et. al.’798 (Paragraph [0017] - for a person who is infrequently used, a notification pattern emphasizing the meaning of warning and caution is set to be notified, thereby obtaining an effect of increasing motivation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 February 2026 have been fully considered and they are not entirely persuasive.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome any prior claim objections.
Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the claims are rejected under 103 as necessitated by the amendments. This can be seen in Paragraphs 6-8.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments pertaining to “fixed and unchangeable recommended time periods”, the examiner does not fully find the applicant’s arguments to be persuasive. It is to be noted that the claim does not recite “recommended time periods fixed and unchangeable within a system” but rather “recommended time periods fixed and unchangeable by the user” (emphasis added). Therefore, the interpretation of this claim limitation is that a measurement device system could compute or change recommended time periods as long as those computations and/or changes were not made by the user. For those reasons, the examiner stands by the interpretations and modifications of previously cited prior art Damiano’454. However, the examiner has cited additional prior art in Lin’941 that does not rely on algorithms or “probabilistic theory” and is more “deterministic” in order to better address the applicant’s intended application of the “fixed and unchangeable” recommended time periods and overcome any previous concerns.
Conclusion
/SARAH ANN WESTFALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ETSUB D BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791