DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on May 21, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-7 are pending in the application. Claims 6-7 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuromiya et al (JP 2019/154289 A, using the machine translation for the citations below) in view of Nikkola et al (WO 2019/110868 A1) and Hamabe et al (US 2018/0201770 A1), as evidenced by ASTM International (Designation: D1909 - 13 (Reapproved 2020), Standard Tables of Commercial Moisture Regains and Commercial Allowances for Textile Fibers, p.1-3) and Rocca-Smith et al (Beyond Biodegradability of Poly(lactic acid): Physical and Chemical Stability in Humid Environments, 5 Feb 2017, ACS Sustainable Chemistry and Engineering, vol. 5, p.2751-2762).
Regarding Claims 1 and 3-4: Kuromiya teaches a composite resin composition containing a resin (para. 0009), a fibrous filler with defibrated sites at the end in a length direction dispersed in the resin (para. 0009) that is in contact with the surface of the molded body (para. 0024), and a volatile agent (para. 0009), such as an insect repellant, insecticide, aroma, or an agricultural chemical (para. 0027), supported on the fibrous filler. Kuromiya also teaches that the fibrous filler may be a cellulose (para. 0018) and is included at a loading of 1-70% by mass (para. 0027). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an overlapping amount of fibrous filler and would have been motivated to do so since Kuromiya teaches this amount is acceptable to achieve the disclosed invention.
Kuromiya further teaches that the fibers are in contact with each other (para. 0024, Fig. 1), and that the fibers have defibrated ends and central portions that are not defibrated (Fig. 2). Kuromiya teaches that the volatile chemical may be exposed to the surface of the resin in the non-fibrillated portions of the fibrous filler (para. 0026), which indicates that the central/non-fibrillated portion of at least one fiber is exposed on the surface of the molded body.
Kuromiya does not explicitly teach that the water content of the fibers is at least 5%, as defined by ASTM D 1909. However, Kuromiya discloses cellulose containing fibers, such as cotton, hemp, jute, and rayon (para. 0018). ASTM International teaches that these fibers have a moisture content/moisture regain of between 7% and 13.75% (p.2, Table 1).
Kuromiya is silent about the hydrolyzable coating resin and the relationship between melting temperatures of the base resin and coating resin and the carbonization temperature of the fibrous filler.
Nikkola teaches a cellulose-containing masterbatch with a hydrolysable resin coating the cellulose fibers (p.28, lines 35-37, polylactic acid thermoplastic compatibilizer), wherein the coating resin improves the compatibility between the cellulose fibers and the base resin (p.4, lines 15-17). Nikkola also teaches that the melting temperatures of both the base resin and the coating resin are lower than the degradation temperature of the cellulose fibers to avoid charring (p.3, lines 32-37). Nikkola and Kuromiya are analogous art because they in the same field of endeavor, i.e. resin composites containing a cellulose fibrous filler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coat the fibrous filler with a hydrolyzable resin and select resins with melting points below the carbonization temperature of the fibrous filler to make the fibrous filler more compatible with the base resin and to avoid charring of the molded article.
Nikkola does not explicitly teach the PLA’s decomposition in an environment with a humidity of 50% or more. However, Rocca-Smith demonstrates that PLA naturally decomposes in environments with 50% or higher humidity, as shown by the decrease in molecular weight over time in humid environments (p.2755, Fig. 2).
Nikkola does not explicitly disclose that the melting temperature of the coating resin is higher than the melting temperature of the base resin. However, the reference teaches a polylactic acid coating resin and a polyolefin base resin (p.1, lines 36-37), both of which are cited in the instant specification as an exemplary coating resin and base resin, respectively. Therefore, the relationship between the melting points of the coating resin and the base resin is implicitly disclosed by Nikkola.
Kuromiya is silent to the defibrated site being 5-50% of the fiber length of the fibrous filler.
Hamabe teaches a composite material comprising a resin and a fibrous filler (para. 0018) such as a cellulose-containing fiber (para. 0024), wherein a fiber length direction end is defibrated and the defibrated site is 5-50% of the total fiber length, which allows for a composite with optimal mechanical properties from the balance of surface area and aspect ratio of the fibers (para. 0026). Hamabe and Kuromiya are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely resin composites containing a cellulose fibrous filler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a fibrous filler wherein the defibrated portion is 5-50% of the fiber length in the composition taught by Kuromiya because a defibrated portion in that amount will result in superior mechanical properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine Rocca-Smith with Kuromiya, Nikkola, and Hamabe: Rocca-Smith is used as an evidentiary reference to demonstrate the behavior of PLA; since Rocca-Smith is not relied on for modifying the teachings of Kuromiya, Nikkola, and Hamabe, no motivation to combine is needed.
In response to applicant’s argument that the PLA of Rocca-Smith is in the form of a film, rather than a coating on a fiber, and therefore does not necessarily display the claimed decomposition in an environment with a humidity of 50% or more: the ability of a PLA polymer to degrade will not change based on its position.
In response to applicant’s argument that the PLA of Rocca-Smith begins to degrade immediately upon exposure to high-humidity environments, as opposed to the slow degradation of the PLA in the instant invention: although the position of the PLA polymer does not affect its ability to degrade, the rate of degradation will be affected. In the instant invention, where the PLA is coating fibers dispersed in a base resin, the PLA will have a relatively low exposure to environmental humidity as compared to the film of Rocca-Smith; therefore, the rate of degradation will be lower.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767