Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2 and 3, filed 10/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 – 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Firstly, applicant argues that “the cited filters in Hanaoka do not correspond to the claimed filter because they are connected to inputs of the low noise amplifiers, rather than the outputs, as claimed.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hanaoka teaches all of the claim limitations, except: “an output switch that includes a plurality of input terminals and a plurality of output terminals and that is configured to electrically connect each of the plurality of input terminals to at least one of the plurality of output terminals.” Chen teaches, “an output switch (multi-channel selection switch 130, Fig. 5A) that includes a plurality of input terminals and a plurality of output terminals and that is configured to electrically connect each of the plurality of input terminals to at least one of the plurality of output terminals (“The multi-channel selection switch 130 includes at least one first terminal and a plurality of second terminals.” Paragraph [0053]).”
Chen teaches a power amplifier, a filter, and an output switch (See annotated Fig. 5A below). As shown in Fig. 5A annotated below, the filter in Chen is connected to the output of the power amplifier.
Fig. 5A of Chen annotated for ease of examination
Hanaoka and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of power amplifiers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an outer switch with a plurality of terminals in Hanaoka’s design in order to connect the outer switch with a plurality of terminals to the desired terminal in accordance with Chen’s design.
Secondly, applicant argues that “Chen only shows a power amplifier 110 having a filter 120 connected between the amplifier and switch 130. But this amplifier is never identified as a low noise amplifier, as claimed.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hanaoka teaches all of the claim limitations, except: “an output switch that includes a plurality of input terminals and a plurality of output terminals and that is configured to electrically connect each of the plurality of input terminals to at least one of the plurality of output terminals.” Chen teaches, “an output switch (multi-channel selection switch 130, Fig. 5A) that includes a plurality of input terminals and a plurality of output terminals and that is configured to electrically connect each of the plurality of input terminals to at least one of the plurality of output terminals (“The multi-channel selection switch 130 includes at least one first terminal and a plurality of second terminals.” Paragraph [0053]).”
Hanaoka teaches the low-noise amplifier (Fig. 1, 31M and 31L. See paragraph [0043] of Hanaoka, “The high-frequency amplification circuit includes low-noise amplifiers 31L and 31M and power amplifiers 32L and 32M.”] and Chen teaches the output switch (Fig. 5A, 130), as claimed. Hanaoka and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of power amplifiers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an outer switch with a plurality of terminals in Hanaoka’s design in order to connect the outer switch with a plurality of terminals to the desired terminal in accordance with Chen’s design.
Lastly, applicant argues that “Chen Fig. 5A only illustrates a single amplifier and other figures that show multiple amplifiers only illustrate a single low noise amplifier. Accordingly, it is not clear how the switch 130 might (or might not) be utilized when multiple low noise amplifiers are utilized.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hanaoka teaches all of the claim limitations, except: “an output switch that includes a plurality of input terminals and a plurality of output terminals and that is configured to electrically connect each of the plurality of input terminals to at least one of the plurality of output terminals.” Chen teaches, “an output switch (multi-channel selection switch 130, Fig. 5A) that includes a plurality of input terminals and a plurality of output terminals and that is configured to electrically connect each of the plurality of input terminals to at least one of the plurality of output terminals (“The multi-channel selection switch 130 includes at least one first terminal and a plurality of second terminals.” Paragraph [0053]).”
Chen teaches the output switch (Fig. 5A, 130), not the low-noise amplifier or the other terminal connections. Hanaoka and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of power amplifiers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an outer switch with a plurality of terminals in Hanaoka’s design in order to connect the outer switch with a plurality of terminals to the desired terminal in accordance with Chen’s design.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanaoka (US 20190140670 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 20230093847 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Hanaoka teaches,
A power amplifier module (communication apparatus, Fig. 1) comprising:
an output switch that includes a plurality of input terminals and a plurality of output terminals and that is configured to electrically connect each of the plurality of input terminals to at least one of the plurality of output terminals;
a first low noise amplifier (low-noise amplifier 31M, Fig. 1) configured to amplify a signal of a first frequency band and to output a first signal to a first input terminal among the plurality of input terminals, the signal of the first frequency band being input through a first antenna that receives signals of a plurality of frequency bands;
See paragraphs [0043], [0052], and [0119]. Some of the limitations above are implemented in Hanaoka’s design via an RFIC component. One of the key components of an RFIC, is an antenna.
a second low noise amplifier (low-noise amplifier 31L, Fig. 1) configured to amplify a signal of a second frequency band and to output a second signal to a second input terminal different from the first input terminal among the plurality of input terminals, the signal of the second frequency band being input through a second antenna that receives signals of another plurality of frequency bands; and
See paragraphs [0043], [0052], and [0119]. Some of the limitations above are implemented in Hanaoka’s design via an RFIC component. One of the key components of an RFIC, is an antenna.
wherein a filter (filters 12T, 12R, 13T, and 13R, Fig. 1) is electrically connected between the second input terminal and the second low noise amplifier, the filter being configured to attenuate a signal of a frequency band higher than the second signal.
Hanaoka is silent regarding:
an output switch that includes a plurality of input terminals and a plurality of output terminals and that is configured to electrically connect each of the plurality of input terminals to at least one of the plurality of output terminals;
Chen teaches,
an output switch (multi-channel selection switch 130, Fig. 5A) that includes a plurality of input terminals and a plurality of output terminals and that is configured to electrically connect each of the plurality of input terminals to at least one of the plurality of output terminals (“The multi-channel selection switch 130 includes at least one first terminal and a plurality of second terminals.” Paragraph [0053]);
Hanaoka and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of power amplifiers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an outer switch with a plurality of terminals in Hanaoka’s design in order to connect the outer switch with a plurality of terminals to the desired terminal in accordance with Chen’s design.
Regarding claim 2, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 1, wherein the second frequency band is lower than the first frequency band, and
See paragraph [0018].
wherein the second low noise amplifier is electrically connected to the second input terminal with the filter interposed therebetween.
The second low-noise amplifier of Hanaoka is electronically connected to the filter, see Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 3, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 2 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 2,
wherein the signal of the first frequency band is of a first reception band included in the first frequency band,
wherein the signal of the second frequency band is of a second reception band included in the second frequency band,
See paragraphs [0048] – [0059].
wherein the second low noise amplifier is electrically connected to the second input terminal with the filter interposed therebetween, and
The second low-noise amplifier of Hanaoka is electronically connected to the filter, see Fig. 1.
wherein the filter is configured to attenuate a portion of the second signal in a frequency band that is an integral multiple of a transmission band, the transmission band being a frequency band of a signal output from a transmission amplifier and being included in the second frequency band, the signal attenuated being included in the second signal.
See paragraph [0097].
Regarding claim 4, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 2 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 2, further comprising the filter (filters 12T, 12R, 13T, and 13R, Fig. 1).
See paragraphs [0050] and [0051].
Regarding claim 5, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 4 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 4, wherein the filter is configured to have a variable attenuation band.
See paragraphs [0008] – [0028].
Regarding claim 6, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 5 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 5,
wherein the filter comprises a first circuit element that is in a same module as the second low noise amplifier, and a second circuit element that is in a module different from the module comprising the first circuit element and the second low noise amplifier, and
See paragraph [0097].
wherein the second circuit element is electrically connected to the first element with a predetermined terminal interposed therebetween.
See paragraphs [0050] and [0051].
Regarding claim 7, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 1,
wherein the first low noise amplifier is connected to the first antenna with a first demultiplexer interposed therebetween, and
wherein the power amplifier module further comprises a first amplifier that is connected to the first antenna with the first demultiplexer interposed therebetween.
The limitations above are implemented in Hanaoka’s design via an RFIC component. One of the key components of an RFIC, is an antenna. See paragraphs [0043] and [0044].
Regarding claim 8, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 1,
wherein the first signal is of a third frequency band corresponding to a fourth generation mobile communication system or a fourth frequency band corresponding to a fifth generation mobile communication system, and
wherein the second signal is of a frequency band different from the frequency band of the first signal among the third frequency band and the fourth frequency band.
See paragraphs [0048] – [0059].
Regarding claim 9, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 1, wherein the plurality of frequency bands received by the first antenna include one or more of the same frequency bands as the another plurality of frequency bands received by the second antenna.
See paragraphs [0048] – [0059].
Regarding Independent Claim 10, Hanaoka teaches,
A power amplifier module (communication apparatus, Fig. 1) comprising:
a first low noise amplifier (low-noise amplifier 31M, Fig. 1) configured to amplify a first reception signal of a first predetermined frequency band and to output an amplified first reception signal to a first predetermined input terminal, the first reception signal being input through a first antenna that receives signals of a plurality of frequency bands, and the first predetermined input terminal being among a plurality of input terminals of an output switch (switch module 11, Fig. 1);
See paragraphs [0043], [0052], and [0119]. Some of the limitations above are implemented in Hanaoka’s design via an RFIC component. One of the key components of an RFIC, is an antenna.
a second low noise amplifier (low-noise amplifier 31L, Fig. 1) configured to amplify a second reception signal of a second predetermined frequency band and to output an amplified second reception signal to a second predetermined input terminal, the second reception signal being input through a second antenna that receives signals of another plurality of frequency bands, and the second predetermined input terminal being different from the first predetermined input terminal among the plurality of input terminals of the output switch;
See paragraphs [0043], [0052], and [0119]. Some of the limitations above are implemented in Hanaoka’s design via an RFIC component. One of the key components of an RFIC, is an antenna.
a first input switch that includes a first input terminal to which a signal of a first frequency band is input, a second input terminal to which a signal of a second frequency band higher than the first frequency band is input, and a first output terminal connected to the first low noise amplifier; and
The RFIC in Hanaoka functions as an input switch, allowing the input signal of any frequency band to be directed to the desired low-noise amplifier. See paragraphs [0043] and [0044].
a second input switch that includes a third input terminal to which a signal of a third frequency band lower than the first frequency band is input and a second output terminal connected to the second low noise amplifier,
The RFIC in Hanaoka functions as an input switch, allowing the input signal of any frequency band to be directed to the desired low-noise amplifier. See paragraphs [0043] and [0044].
wherein the signals input to the first input terminal and the second input terminal are among the signals received at the first antenna and are input through a first demultiplexer,
wherein the first demultiplexer is configured to electrically connect the first input terminal or the second input terminal to the first output terminal,
wherein the first demultiplexer is in a same module as the output switch,
wherein the signal input to the third input terminal is among the signals received at the second antenna and is input through a second demultiplexer,
wherein the second demultiplexer is in a module different from the module comprising the output switch,
wherein the second demultiplexer is configured to electrically connect the third input terminal to the second output terminal, and
wherein the first frequency band includes part of the third frequency band.
The combination of RFIC and BBIC of Hanaoka function as a demultiplex that is able to receive signals and assign signals to the corresponding low-noise amplifier, with the desired frequency band. See paragraphs [0043] – [0052] and [0117] – [0121].
Hanaoka is silent regarding:
wherein the signals input to the first input terminal and the second input terminal are among the signals received at the first antenna and are input through a first demultiplexer,
wherein the first demultiplexer is configured to electrically connect the first input terminal or the second input terminal to the first output terminal,
wherein the first demultiplexer is in a same module as the output switch,
Chen teaches,
wherein the signals input to the first input terminal and the second input terminal are among the signals received at the first antenna and are input through a first demultiplexer (multi-channel selection switch 130, Fig. 5A),
wherein the first demultiplexer is configured to electrically connect the first input terminal or the second input terminal to the first output terminal (“The multi-channel selection switch 130 includes at least one first terminal and a plurality of second terminals.” Paragraph [0053]),
wherein the first demultiplexer is in a same module as the output switch (multi-channel selection switch 130, Fig. 5A),
Hanaoka and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of power amplifiers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an outer switch with a plurality of terminals in Hanaoka’s design in order to connect the outer switch with a plurality of terminals to the desired terminal in accordance with Chen’s design.
Regarding claim 11, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 10 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 10, wherein the plurality of frequency bands received by the first antenna include one or more of the same frequency bands as the another plurality of frequency bands received by the second antenna.
See paragraphs [0048] – [0059].
Regarding claim 14, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 10 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 10, wherein the first frequency band is a frequency band of BAND 20.
The first frequency band in Hanaoka can be set to a desired value. See paragraph [0018].
Regarding claim 16, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 10 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 10,
wherein the second frequency band is a frequency band of BAND 8, and
wherein the third frequency band is a frequency band of BAND 28.
The second and third frequency bands in Hanaoka can be set to a desired value. See paragraph [0018].
Regarding claim 18, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 10 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 10, further comprising the plurality of input terminals, a plurality of output terminals, and the output switch.
All the components mentioned in the claim above have been mapped to elements of Hanaoka’s application.
Regarding Independent Claim 12, Hanaoka teaches,
A power amplifier module (communication apparatus, Fig. 1) comprising:
a first low noise amplifier (low-noise amplifier 31M, Fig. 1) configured to amplify a first reception signal of a first predetermined frequency band and to output an amplified first reception signal to a predetermined input terminal, the first reception signal being input through a first antenna that receives signals of a plurality of frequency bands, and the first predetermined input terminal being among a plurality of input terminals of an output switch (switch module 11, Fig. 1);
See paragraphs [0043], [0052], and [0119]. Some of the limitations above are implemented in Hanaoka’s design via an RFIC component. One of the key components of an RFIC, is an antenna.
a second low noise amplifier (low-noise amplifier 31L, Fig. 1) configured to amplify a second reception signal of a second predetermined frequency band and to output an amplified second reception signal to a second predetermined input terminal, the second reception signal being input through a second antenna that receives signals of another plurality of frequency bands, and the second predetermined input terminal being different from the first predetermined input terminal among the plurality of input terminals of the output switch;
See paragraphs [0043], [0052], and [0119]. Some of the limitations above are implemented in Hanaoka’s design via an RFIC component. One of the key components of an RFIC, is an antenna.
a first switch that includes a first input terminal to which a signal of a first frequency band is input, a second input terminal to which a signal of a second frequency band higher than the first frequency band is input, and a first output terminal connected to the first low noise amplifier; and
The RFIC in Hanaoka functions as an input switch, allowing the input signal of any frequency band to be directed to the desired low-noise amplifier. See paragraphs [0043] and [0044].
a second input switch that includes a third input terminal to which a signal of a third frequency band lower than the first frequency band is input, a fourth input terminal to which a signal of the first frequency band is input, and a second output terminal connected to the second low noise amplifier,
The RFIC in Hanaoka functions as an input switch, allowing the input signal of any frequency band to be directed to the desired low-noise amplifier. See paragraphs [0043] and [0044].
wherein the signals input to the first input terminal and the second input terminal are among the signals received at the first antenna and are input through a first demultiplexer,
wherein the first demultiplexer is configured to electrically connect the first input terminal or the second input terminal to the first output terminal,
wherein the first demultiplexer is in a same module as the output switch,
wherein the signals input to the third input terminal and the fourth input terminal are among the signals received at the second antenna and are input through a second demultiplexer,
wherein the second demultiplexer is in a module different from the module comprising the output switch,
wherein the second demultiplexer is configured to electrically connect the third input terminal to the second output terminal, and
wherein signals of different frequency bands based on a combination of the first frequency band and the third frequency band, a combination of the second frequency band and the third frequency band, and a combination of the first frequency band and the second frequency band, are received at the same time.
The combination of RFIC and BBIC of Hanaoka function as a demultiplex that is able to receive signals and assign signals to the corresponding low-noise amplifier, with the desired frequency band. See paragraphs [0043] – [0052] and [0117] – [0121].
Hanaoka is silent regarding:
wherein the signals input to the first input terminal and the second input terminal are among the signals received at the first antenna and are input through a first demultiplexer,
wherein the first demultiplexer is configured to electrically connect the first input terminal or the second input terminal to the first output terminal,
wherein the first demultiplexer is in a same module as the output switch,
Chen teaches,
wherein the signals input to the first input terminal and the second input terminal are among the signals received at the first antenna and are input through a first demultiplexer (multi-channel selection switch 130, Fig. 5A),
wherein the first demultiplexer is configured to electrically connect the first input terminal or the second input terminal to the first output terminal (“The multi-channel selection switch 130 includes at least one first terminal and a plurality of second terminals.” Paragraph [0053]),
wherein the first demultiplexer is in a same module as the output switch (multi-channel selection switch 130, Fig. 5A),
Hanaoka and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of power amplifiers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an outer switch with a plurality of terminals in Hanaoka’s design in order to connect the outer switch with a plurality of terminals to the desired terminal in accordance with Chen’s design.
Regarding claim 13, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 12 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 12, wherein the plurality of frequency bands received by the first antenna include one or more of the same frequency bands as the another plurality of frequency bands received by the second antenna.
See paragraphs [0048] – [0059].
Regarding claim 15, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 12 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 12, wherein the first frequency band is a frequency band of BAND 20.
The first frequency band in Hanaoka can be set to a desired value. See paragraph [0018].
Regarding claim 17, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 12 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 12,
wherein the second frequency band is a frequency band of BAND 8, and
wherein the third frequency band is a frequency band of BAND 28.
The second and third frequency bands in Hanaoka can be set to a desired value. See paragraph [0018].
Regarding claim 19, Hanaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 12 on which this claim depends. Hanaoka further discloses:
The power amplifier module according to Claim 12, further comprising the plurality of input terminals, a plurality of output terminals, and the output switch.
All the components mentioned in the claim above have been mapped to elements of Hanaoka’s application.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE E PINERO/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843