DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Amendments to claims 1 and 29 have been entered.
Claims 1 – 30 are currently pending.
Response to Remarks
The advantage of chirps is well documents. See for example Bharadwaj (US 20180321368 A1) and Li (US 20150276929 A1) Para. 49.
Gulati now replaces Hwang as the first secondary reference. O’Shea was used to teach first and second frequency of arrival. The primary reference was used to teach TRP’s while the secondary reference Gulati was used to teach chirps and identifying of chirps to avoid interference in coexistence of users as discussed below in the prior art rejection.
Applicant is welcomed to schedule an interview.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 18, 24, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Edge (US 20190166453 A1) published May 30, 2019 in view of Gulati (US 20190383925 A1) published Dec. 19, 2019.
Note: All citations are that of the primary reference unless otherwise specified.
As to claim 16, Edge discloses a method of wireless positioning performed by a network entity, the method comprising:
identifying a set of transmission/reception points (TRPs) for transmitting frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) signals for a positioning measurement, the set comprising at least a first TRP and a second TRP (Para. 123 “For example, if UE 105 indicates that it is capable of obtaining AOA and/or DAOA measurements from RF signals received from base stations 120, LS 160 may provide a list of cells supported by nearby base stations 120 (e.g. determined based on a current serving cell or current serving base station 120 for UE 105) and information (e.g. timing, frequency, bandwidth, code sequence, muting) for signals transmitted in these cells such as a positioning reference signal (PRS), a tracking reference signal (TRS), or a Cell-specific Reference Signal (CRS) used for AOA and/or DAOA measurements (e.g. as further described here in association with FIGS. 2 and 3).” Here, the base stations are the TRPs);
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), information identifying a capability of the UE to process FMCW signals (Fig. 12 steps 1220 and 1225);
and sending, to the UE, information identifying the set of TRPs and identifying FMCW signals to be transmitted by each TRP in the set of TRPs, the set comprising at least a first TRP and a second TRP (Fig. 12 at least step 1230 & Paras. 43 and 123.);
receiving, from a user equipment (UE) that sends and receives orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signals (Para. 159),
information identifying a capability of the UE to process FMCW signals; and sending, to the UE, information identifying the set of TRPs and identifying FMCW signals to be transmitted by each TRP in the set of TRPs (Para. 123).
Edge does not disclose frequency modulated signals, e.g., chirp.
In the same field of endeavor, Gulati teaches “FIG. 10 is a flowchart illustrating a method 1000 for enabling the multi-radar coexistence using phase-coded FMCW waveforms in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The operations of method 1000 may be implemented by a UE 120 or its components or other wireless communications device as described herein. At 1010, the UE 120 may identify a set of chirps associated with an FMCW waveform. At 1020, the UE 120 may determine a phase code for the set of chirps based on a codeword of a codebook (Paras. 24 – 25).”
In view of the teachings of Gulati it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before filing to include chirp capabilities in order to increase bandwidth thereby increasing resolution. Moreover, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled before filing to identify which chirps the communication devices (base stations) are to use in order to reduce interference in a coexistence setting thereby improving accuracy.
As to claim 18, Edge in view of Gulati teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: receiving, from the UE, a first measurement of a first FMCW signal that was transmitted by the first TRP; receiving, from the UE, a second measurement of a second FMCW signal that was transmitted by the second TRP; and determining a location of the UE based on the first measurement and the second measurement (Figs. 7A – 7B).
As to claim 24, Edge in view of Gulati teaches the method of claim 1/16, further comprising reporting, to the network entity, at least one of:
information identifying a resource or resource set (Fig. 12 step 1225);
information identifying a set of one or more preferred TRPs (Para. 86 “In the event that the UE 105 is moving while obtaining AOA measurements for two or more base stations 120, the UE 105 may provide information, referred to here as “sensor location information” or as “location sensor information”, to an LS 160 concerning changes in the location of the UE 105 and changes to the orientation of the UE 105.” See also Para. 34 “The UE can report the sensor measurements to a location server along with the AOA or DAOA measurements to allow the server to calculate the location—or the UE can perform the calculation itself if provided with base station coordinates by the location server or via broadcast (Para. 34).” See also Para. 51 “neighboring cells” provided for by the local server. See also Para. 134 “desired functionality” see also Fig. 12 step 1245.);
a list of all of frequency components of at least one of the first FMCW signal or the second FMCW signal (Not explicitly taught but the frequency components would be needed to correctly upconvert and down-convert – this is an optional feature.);
line-of-sight (LOS) or non-line-of-sight (NLOS) reporting (not taught but not this is an optional feature);
frequency reference signal received power (RSRP) of at least one of the first FMCW signal or the second FMCW signal (Para. 133 “RSRP”; a time stamp of at least one of the first FMCW signal or the second FMCW signal;
or a measurement quality of at least one of the first FMCW signal or the second FMCW signal (Para. 115 “quality or statistical uncertainty”).
As to claim 28, Edge in view of Gulati teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the network entity comprises a location server (Fig. 12).
As to claim 30, Edge discloses a network entity, comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (Fig. 12 shows the UE and LS both transceiving), the at least one processor configured to:
identify a set of transmission/reception points (TRPs) for transmitting frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) signals for a positioning measurement, the set comprising at least a first TRP and a second TRP (Para. 86 “In the event that the UE 105 is moving while obtaining AOA measurements for two or more base stations 120, the UE 105 may provide information, referred to here as “sensor location information” or as “location sensor information”, to an LS 160 concerning changes in the location of the UE 105 and changes to the orientation of the UE 105.” See also Para. 34 “The UE can report the sensor measurements to a location server along with the AOA or DAOA measurements to allow the server to calculate the location—or the UE can perform the calculation itself if provided with base station coordinates by the location server or via broadcast (Para. 34).” See also Para. 51 “neighboring cells” provided for by the local server. See also Para. 134 “desired functionality” see also Fig. 12 step 1245);
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a user equipment (UE), information identifying a capability of the UE to process FMCW signals; and send, via the at least one transceiver, to the UE, information identifying the set of TRPs and identifying FMCW signals to be transmitted by each TRP in the set of TRPs (Fig. 12 steps 1220 – 135).
Edge does not teach FMCW.
In the same field of endeavor, Gulati teaches “FIG. 10 is a flowchart illustrating a method 1000 for enabling the multi-radar coexistence using phase-coded FMCW waveforms in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The operations of method 1000 may be implemented by a UE 120 or its components or other wireless communications device as described herein. At 1010, the UE 120 may identify a set of chirps associated with an FMCW waveform. At 1020, the UE 120 may determine a phase code for the set of chirps based on a codeword of a codebook (Paras. 24 – 25).”
In view of the teachings of Gulati it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before filing to include chirp capabilities in order to increase bandwidth thereby increasing resolution. Moreover, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled before filing to identify which chirps the communication devices (base stations) are to use in order to reduce interference in a coexistence setting thereby improving accuracy.
Claims 1, 4 – 5, 8 – 14, 19 – 21, 23, 25 – 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Edge (US 20190166453 A1) published May 30, 2019 in view of Gulati (US 20180092083 A1) and O’Shea (US 20190120928 A1).
Note: All citations are that of the primary reference unless otherwise specified.
As to claim 1, Edge discloses a method of wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
sending, to a network entity, information identifying a capability (Para. 123 Fig. 12 steps 1200 & 1225)
of the UE to process frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) signals (Not explicitly taught.);
receiving, from a network entity, information identifying a set of transmission / reception points (TRPs) for transmitting FMCW signals for a positioning measurement (Para. 34 “if provided with base station coordinates by the location server or via a broadcast (Para. 34).” It appears that TRP and base station are used interchangeably per Spec. at Para. 27.),
the set comprising at least a first TRP and a second TRP (Fig. 1 shows a plurality of base stations 120 see also Para. 34 “triangulation”);
measuring a first FMCW signal that was transmitted by the first TRP to produce a first frequency of arrival (Para. 34 “AOA or DAPA measurements” Fig. 13 step 1310);
measuring a second FMCW signal that was transmitted by the second TRP to produce a second frequency of arrival (Fig. 13 step 1330); and
determining a location of the UE based on a frequency difference between the first frequency of arrival and the second frequency of arrival (Fig. 13 step 1340).
Edge does not teach a FMCW.
In the same field of endeavor, Gulati teaches “FIG. 10 is a flowchart illustrating a method 1000 for enabling the multi-radar coexistence using phase-coded FMCW waveforms in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The operations of method 1000 may be implemented by a UE 120 or its components or other wireless communications device as described herein. At 1010, the UE 120 may identify a set of chirps associated with an FMCW waveform. At 1020, the UE 120 may determine a phase code for the set of chirps based on a codeword of a codebook (Paras. 24 – 25).”
In view of the teachings of Gulati it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before filing to include chirp capabilities in order to increase bandwidth thereby increasing resolution. Moreover, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled before filing to identify which chirps the communication devices (base stations) are to use in order to reduce interference in a coexistence setting thereby improving accuracy.
Edge in view of Gulati does not explicitly teach determining a first frequency of arrival and a second frequency of arrival.
In the same field of endeavor, O’Shea teaches “determining the first metadata corresponding to the first radio signal may include determining descriptive information corresponding to at least one of a first time of arrival at which the first radio signal arrived at the first sensing device, or a first frequency of arrival of the first radio signal received at the first sensing device at the first time of arrival. In such implementations, determining the second metadata corresponding to the second radio signal may include determining descriptive information corresponding to at least one of a second time of arrival at which the second radio signal arrived at the second sensing device, or a second frequency of arrival of the second radio signal received at the second sensing device at the second time of arrival (Para. 15).”
In view of O’Shea, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before filing to determine the first and second frequency of arrival in order to prevent destructive interference when integrating the received signals thereby improving signal-to-noise. Also, the difference between the two frequencies of arrival may be used in determining location thus allowing for more efficient management of resources as well as navigation and tracking.
As to claim 4, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the location of the UE based on the frequency difference between the first frequency of arrival and the second frequency of arrival comprises:
determining, based on the first frequency of arrival, a first pseudo range comprising
a first range to the first TRP and a range error based on a timing error between the UE and the first TRP (Para. 31 error based on multiple position measurement types. See also Para. 127 “expected error associated with each measurement.”);
determining, based on the second frequency of arrival, a second pseudo range comprising a second range to the second TRP and a range error based on a timing error between the UE and the second TRP (Para. 93 describes error using at least two base stations); and
determining the location of the UE based on the first pseudo range and the second pseudo range (Para. 93).
O’Shea also teaches difference in frequency of arrival as discussed supra in claim 1.
As to claim 5, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the positioning measurement comprises a frequency difference of arrival (FDOA) measurement (Para. 51 wherein a change in frequency corresponds to change in phase which corresponds to angle-of-arrival. See also Para. 62 “TRS” where phase differences correspond to frequency changing corresponding to antennae element spacings.) and wherein determining the location of the UE based on the first pseudo range and the second pseudo range comprises:
determining a range difference between the first range to the first TRP and the second range to the second TRP (Para. 81 Time difference of arrival where time corresponds to range e.g., time (t) =
2
R
c
roundtrip or phase delay also known as time delay =
4
π
R
λ
where R is range, c is speed of light and
λ
is wavelength. Time (Range) difference implies subtracting two times from various sources. See also Para. 103 difference between UE locations. See also Paras. 34 and 75 “triangulation”); and
determining the location of the UE based on the range difference between the first range to the first TRP and the second range to the second TRP (Para. 4 “pairs of base stations” Para. 7 “The one or more base stations may include the first base station, the second base station, or both base stations. The one or more times may include the first time, the second time, or both times.”).
As to claim 8, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 5, wherein determining the location of the UE based on the range difference between the first range to the first TRP and the second range to the second TRP comprises: providing the range difference between the first range to the first TRP and the second range to the second TRP to a network entity; and receiving, from the network entity, the location of the UE (Fig. 14 steps 1410 – 1420).
As to claim 9, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the network entity comprises a location server (Fig. 12 item 160).
As to claim 10, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the positioning measurement comprises a round trip time (RTT) measurement and wherein determining the location of the UE based on the first pseudo range and the second pseudo range comprises: determining a range to the first TRP using a RTT calculation using the first pseudo range; determining a range to the second TRP using a second RTT calculation using the second pseudo range; and determining the location of the UE based on the range to the first TRP and the range to the second TRP (Para. 144 RTT and one or more base stations. See also Fig. 7).
As to claim 11, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 10, wherein determining the location of the UE based on the range to the first TRP and the range to the second TRP comprises: providing, to a network entity, the range to the first TRP and the range to the second TRP; and receiving, from the network entity, the location of the UE (Para. 144).
As to claims 12, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising reporting, to the network entity, at least one of:
information identifying a resource or resource set (Fig. 12 step 1225);
information identifying a set of one or more preferred TRPs (Para. 86 “In the event that the UE 105 is moving while obtaining AOA measurements for two or more base stations 120, the UE 105 may provide information, referred to here as “sensor location information” or as “location sensor information”, to an LS 160 concerning changes in the location of the UE 105 and changes to the orientation of the UE 105.” See also Para. 34 “The UE can report the sensor measurements to a location server along with the AOA or DAOA measurements to allow the server to calculate the location—or the UE can perform the calculation itself if provided with base station coordinates by the location server or via broadcast (Para. 34).” See also Para. 51 “neighboring cells” provided for by the local server. See also Para. 134 “desired functionality” see also Fig. 12 step 1245.);
a list of all of frequency components of at least one of the first FMCW signal or the second FMCW signal (Not explicitly taught but the frequency components would be needed to correctly upconvert and down-convert – this is an optional feature.);
line-of-sight (LOS) or non-line-of-sight (NLOS) reporting (not taught but not this is an optional feature);
frequency reference signal received power (RSRP) of at least one of the first FMCW signal or the second FMCW signal (Para. 133 “RSRP”; a time stamp of at least one of the first FMCW signal or the second FMCW signal;
or a measurement quality of at least one of the first FMCW signal or the second FMCW signal (Para. 115 “quality or statistical uncertainty”).
As to claim 13, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the positioning measurement comprises a frequency difference of arrival (FDOA) measurement, an angle of departure (AOD) measurement, an angle of arrival (AOA) measurement, a double-differential time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurement, a differential round-trip time (RTT) measurement, a double differential RTT measurement, or a combination thereof (see at least Paras. 81 & 133).
As to claims 14, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the positioning measurement comprises a positioning measurement based on measurement of a FMCW signal and a measurement of an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signal (Paras. 45 & 159).
As to claim 19, Edge in view of Gulati teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the first measurement of the first FMCW signal comprises a first frequency of arrival, wherein the second measurement of the second FMCW comprises a second frequency of arrival, and wherein determining the location of the UE based on the first measurement and the second measurement comprises determining the location of the UE based on a frequency difference between the first frequency of arrival and the second frequency of arrival (Fig. 13 step 1340).
Edge in view of Gulati does not specify determining the first frequency of arrival and the second frequency of arrival. The modification of Edge in view of Gulati with O’Shea as in claim 1 applies here.
As to claim 20, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 19, wherein determining the location of the UE based on the frequency difference between the first frequency of arrival and the second frequency of arrival comprises: determining, based on the first frequency of arrival, a first pseudo range comprising a first range from the UE to the first TRP and a range error based on a timing error between the UE and the first TRP (Para. 31 as cited in claim 4); determining, based on the second frequency of arrival, a second pseudo range comprising a second range from the UE to the second TRP and a range error based on a timing error between the UE and the second TRP (Para. 93 as cited in claim 4); and determining the location of the UE based on the first pseudo range and the second pseudo range (Para. 93 & Figure 7).
As to claim 21, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the positioning measurement comprises a frequency difference of arrival (FDOA) measurement and wherein determining the location of the UE based on the first pseudo range and the second pseudo range comprises: determining a range difference between the first range from the UE to the first TRP and the second range from the UE to the second TRP (Para. 81 as cited in claim 5); and determining the location of the UE based on the range difference between the first range from the UE to the first TRP and the second range from the UE to the second TRP (Paragraphs 4 and 7 as cited in claim 5).
As to claim 23, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the positioning measurement comprises a round trip time (RTT) measurement and wherein determining the location of the UE based on the first pseudo range and the second pseudo range comprises: determining a range from the UE to the first TRP using a RTT calculation using the first pseudo range (Para. 31 as cited in claim 4); determining a range from the UE to the second TRP using a second RTT calculation using the second pseudo range (Para. 93 as cited in claim 4); and determining the location of the UE based on the range from the UE to the first TRP and the range from the UE to the second TRP (Paras. 31 & 93 as cited in claim 4 and Fig. 7).
As to claim 25, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the positioning measurement comprises a frequency difference of arrival (FDOA) measurement, an angle of departure (AOD) measurement, an angle of arrival (AOA) measurement, a double-differential time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurement, a differential round-trip time (RTT) measurement, a double differential RTT measurement, or a combination thereof (see at least Paras. 81 & 133).
The modification of O’shea as described in claim 1 applies to claim 25.
As to claim 26, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 1/16, wherein the positioning measurement comprises a positioning measurement based on measurement of a FMCW signal and a measurement of an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signal (Paras. 45 & 159).
The modification of O’shea as described in claim 1 applies to claim 26.
As to claim 29, Edge teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver (Para. 126); and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (Paras. 10, 12, 89, 140 and 168. Edge Fig. 1 shows transceiving. Edge does state that sensor may be part of or attached to the UE. See Edge Para. 86. One of ordinary kill may also argue this is inherent be UE is a device that comprises sensor and processor and the processor processes data from the sensor.), the at least one processor configured to:
send, via the at least one transceiver, to a network entity, information identifying a capability of the UE to process frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) signals (Fig. 12 steps 1220 – 1235);
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a network entity, information identifying a set of transmission / reception points (TRPs) for transmitting FMCW signals for a positioning measurement, the set comprising at least a first TRP and a second TRP (Para. 86 “In the event that the UE 105 is moving while obtaining AOA measurements for two or more base stations 120, the UE 105 may provide information, referred to here as “sensor location information” or as “location sensor information”, to an LS 160 concerning changes in the location of the UE 105 and changes to the orientation of the UE 105.” See also Para. 34 “The UE can report the sensor measurements to a location server along with the AOA or DAOA measurements to allow the server to calculate the location—or the UE can perform the calculation itself if provided with base station coordinates by the location server or via broadcast (Para. 34).” See also Para. 51 “neighboring cells” provided for by the local server. See also Para. 134 “desired functionality” see also Fig. 12 step 1245.);
measure a first FMCW signal that was transmitted by the first TRP to produce a first frequency of arrival; measure a second FMCW signal that was transmitted by the second TRP to produce a second frequency of arrival; and determine a location of the UE based on a frequency difference between the first frequency of arrival and the second frequency of arrival (Figs. 4 – 7 and Fig. 13 as cited in claims 1 and 16).
Gulati and O’Shea are equally applied to this claim as it was with claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea and in further view of Lee (US 20210281455 A1).
As to claim 2, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein sending the information identifying a capability of the UE to process FMCW signals comprises sending at least one of:
an indication that the UE can or cannot process FMCW signals; an indication of how many FMCW signals per TRP that the UE can support; an indication of how many FMCW signals per resource set that the UE can support; an indication that the UE can or cannot support both FMCW signals and orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signals in a same resource set; an indication that the UE can or cannot support both FMCW signals and OFDM signals in a positioning reference signal (PRS) processing window; an indication of processing time for FMCW signals; or an indication of processing time for OFDM signals.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches “Alternatively, even when the BS indicates to use the DFT-s-OFDM waveform, if the UE is able to support the CP-OFDM waveform with low PAPR, the UE may inform the BS that the UE can use the CP-OFDM waveform with low PAPR and then perform transmission using the corresponding waveform (Para. 134).”
In the same field of endeavor, Gulati teaches “To improve the number of UEs 120 that can operate in the system with low mutual interference, the UEs 120 may implement phase codes on top of the FMCW waveforms, reducing or removing the limitation on the number of supported waveform combinations (Para. 113).”
In view of Lee and Gulati, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled before filing that there is a maximum number of waveforms that can be shared by a number of users in a crowed bandwidth/frequency range thus it would be reasonably obvious to include indications of what each UE is capable of handling with respect to various waveforms types and number of said waveform type in order to prevent unnecessary processing attempts thereby improving efficiency.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Edge in view of Gulati and in further view of Lee (US 20210281455 A1).
As to claim 17, Edge in view of Gulati does not teach the method of claim 16, wherein sending the information identifying a capability of the UE to process FMCW signals comprises sending at least one of:
an indication that the UE can or cannot process FMCW signals; an indication of how many FMCW signals per TRP that the UE can support; an indication of how many FMCW signals per resource set that the UE can support; an indication that the UE can or cannot support both FMCW signals and orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signals in a same resource set; an indication that the UE can or cannot support both FMCW signals and OFDM signals in a positioning reference signal (PRS) processing window; an indication of processing time for FMCW signals; or an indication of processing time for OFDM signals.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches “Alternatively, even when the BS indicates to use the DFT-s-OFDM waveform, if the UE is able to support the CP-OFDM waveform with low PAPR, the UE may inform the BS that the UE can use the CP-OFDM waveform with low PAPR and then perform transmission using the corresponding waveform (Para. 134).”
In the same field of endeavor, Gulati teaches “To improve the number of UEs 120 that can operate in the system with low mutual interference, the UEs 120 may implement phase codes on top of the FMCW waveforms, reducing or removing the limitation on the number of supported waveform combinations (Para. 113).”
In view of Lee and Gulati, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled before filing that there is a maximum number of waveforms that can be shared by a number of users in a crowed bandwidth/frequency range thus it would be reasonably obvious to include indications of what each UE is capable of handling with respect to various waveforms types and number of said waveform type in order to prevent unnecessary processing attempts thereby improving efficiency.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea in further view of Park (US 9971028 B2).
As to claim 3, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: measuring the first FMCW signal that was transmitted by the first TRP to produce the first frequency of arrival comprises determining frequency components of the first FMCW signal and identifying a lowest frequency component of the first FMCW signal as the first frequency of arrival; and measuring the second FMCW signal that was transmitted by the second TRP to produce the second frequency of arrival comprises determining frequency components of the second FMCW signal and identifying a lowest frequency component of the second FMCW signal as the second frequency of arrival.
In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses Fig. 1 which shows vertical difference gives Doppler and the horizontal difference gives range, thus one of ordinarily skill understands that the lowest frequency would have to be determined to determine range and doppler.
In view of Park, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before filing would be motivated to determine the lowest frequency in order to calculate range and Doppler thereby allowing for measurements of interest.
Claims 6 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea in further view of Boiero (US 20070103363 A1).
As to claims 6 and 22, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea does not teach method of claim 5/21, wherein determining the range difference between the first range to the first TRP and the second range to the second TRP comprises calculating subtracting the second pseudo range from the first pseudo range, which cancels the first and second range error and produces the range difference between first range to the first TRP and the second range to the second TRP.
Although Edge teaches “If LS 160, for example, assumes that the location estimate obtained for UE 105 most probably (or with least error) refers to the midpoint 1080 of the straight line 1050, LS 160 may extrapolate the location estimate to the second location 1020 by adding (or subtracting) X and Y coordinate increments corresponding to the straight line segment from the midpoint 1080 to the second location 1020 (Para. 107),” Edge does not teach cancelling error for distances between two base stations.
In the same field of endeavor, Boiero teaches “If only two equations relating to two satellites are available, the coordinate z (z.sub.u=z*.sub.u) is set with one of the techniques considered in the foregoing during the step 300 and the problem related to the clock offset is dispensed with by performing the difference of the two pseudo-range measurements so that the common error due to the clock cancels out (Para. 92).”
In view of Boiero, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before filing to subtract bast station ranges to cancel out clock error thereby improving efficiency.
Claims 6 – 7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea in further view of Sodano (US 3351942 A).
As to claims 6 and 22, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea does not teach method of claim 5/21, wherein determining the range difference between the first range to the first TRP and the second range to the second TRP comprises calculating subtracting the second pseudo range from the first pseudo range, which cancels the range error and produces the range difference between first range to the first TRP and the second range to the second TRP.
Although Edge teaches “If LS 160, for example, assumes that the location estimate obtained for UE 105 most probably (or with least error) refers to the midpoint 1080 of the straight line 1050, LS 160 may extrapolate the location estimate to the second location 1020 by adding (or subtracting) X and Y coordinate increments corresponding to the straight line segment from the midpoint 1080 to the second location 1020 (Para. 107),” Edge does not teach cancelling error for distances between two base stations.
In the same field of endeavor, Sadano teaches “since it pairs off approximately equal distances from station b, systematic errors will cancel by subtraction (col. 6 ll. 75 – col. 7 ll. 1 – 2).”
In view of Sadano, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before filing to subtract bast station ranges to cancel out systematic errors thereby improving efficiency.
As to claim 7, Edge in view of Gulati and O’Shea does not teach the method of claim 5, wherein the UE knows a location of the first TRP and a location of the second TRP and wherein determining the location of the UE based on the range difference between the first range to the first TRP and the second range to the second TRP comprises calculating the location of the UE using trilateration and the locations of the first TRP and the second TRP.
In the same field of endeavor, Sadano teaches “since it pairs off approximately equal distances from station b, systematic errors will cancel by subtraction (col. 6 ll. 75 – col. 7 ll. 1 – 2).”
In view of Sadano, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before filing to subtract bast station ranges to cancel out systematic errors thereby improving efficiency.
Sadano also teaches “This method allows for a determination of the distance and/or direction between two stations. The method therefore can be applied to long traverse lines in the absence of geodetic triangles. In addition, the azimuth between stations as determined by the method would be indispensable for the accurate Laplace orientation of long line trilateration nets (col. 2 ll. 5 – 9).”
In view of Sadano, it would have been obvious to apply trilateration, a well-known technique, to scenarios having fewer base stations in order to calculate positions in the absence of geodetic triangles thereby improving accuracy in said scenarios.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach all of the ordered features.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL W JUSTICE/Examiner, Art Unit 3648