RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant remarks to Claims dated 5/20/2026 have been reviewed and a new non-final issued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,8-11,15,18-21,24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sun et al. (US20240073707A1) in view of Chen et al. (US20230216564A1) in further view of Dong et al. (US20240080083A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Sun teaches, A device for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive configuration information, the configuration information indicating that a Layer 1 / Layer 2 (L1/L2) control signal is to be used to indicate when the device is to activate the primary TRP functionality;[45]- the base station transmits a configuration message via a MAC CE to the UE 102. In some aspects, the configuration message is in a form of a TCI. For example, the UE 102 may determine that a code-point of the TCI maps to two TCI states and switch to the multi-TRP mode. On the other hand, the UE 102 may determine that the code-point of the TCI maps to one TCI state and switch to the single-TRP mode. In other aspects, the MAC CE includes a switch indicator.
receive the L1/L2 control signal [45]- For example, the base station transmits a configuration message via a MAC CE to the UE 102.
Sun does not teach, switch from additional transmission reception point (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to primary TRP functionality for a primary serving cell
Chen teaches, switch from additional transmission reception point (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to primary TRP functionality for a primary serving cell [218]- Fig 29, When UE1 moves to a new position(fig 29 shows both UE1 and UE2 connected to multiple TRPs), a better beam(=single TRP) from the same TRP (=TRP1 in Figure 29 = same primary cell) may be available. In this case, intra- TRP beam switching may be performed (=within same primary cell). In this case, intra-TRP beam switching may be performed (=same cell)
[225]- Within the UE, the mobility decision can be made by either the L3 layer (e.g., NR RRC) or by the L2 layer (e.g., MAC) or L1 layer (e.g., PHY layer) (=switch using L1/L2 signaling)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun, switch from additional transmission reception point (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to primary TRP functionality for a primary serving cell as taught by Chen to send message to network specifying MBS of interest to be communicated.
While Sun teaches, switch from point (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to TRP functionality for a primary serving cel ,
Sun in view of Chen does not teach, activate, based at least in part on the L1/L2 control signal, the primary TRP functionality, wherein to activate the primary TRP functionality, the one or more processors are configured to switch the device to become a primary TRP configured to carry control information
Dong teaches, activate, based at least in part on the L1/L2 control signal, the primary TRP functionality, wherein to activate the primary TRP functionality, the one or more processors are configured to switch the device to become a primary TRP configured to carry control information [66]- a DCI/a second MAC CE from NW to switch/activate the TCI state set for the same serving cell with the first MAC CE; [70]- activating the TCI state set associated with a second PCI indicated by the first MAC CE is confirmed when receiving an ACK from NW in response to the first MAC CE or the initiated RACH procedure being successfully terminated. TRP whose TCI state governs the UE’s PDCCH reception is a TRP “configured to carry control information” and the previously additional TRP assuming that role is the TRP to primary TRP switch.
wherein the primary cell is configured for multi-TRP communications; [38]- The present disclosure provides methods, systems, and devices that provide fast mobility within the multi-TRP model such that user equipment has the ability to activate and/or change TCI states in a serving cell that it is communicating with. In implementations described below, the TCI state sets associated with a first physical cell(=primary cell)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen, activate, based at least in part on the L1/L2 control signal, the primary TRP functionality, wherein to activate the primary TRP functionality, the one or more processors are configured to switch the device to become a primary TRP configured to carry control information; wherein the primary cell is configured for multi-TRP communications as taught by Dong to send message to network specifying MBS of interest to be communicated.
Regarding Claim 2, Sun teaches, The device of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is received via radio resource control (RRC) communication [53] For example, the base station transmits the BFD configuration via an RRC signaling or a MAC CE.
Regarding Claim 3, Sun teaches, The device of claim 1, wherein the L1/L2 control signal is received via a medium access control element (MAC CE). [67]- the base station transmits the MAC CE to the UE 102 to instruct the UE 102 to switch to the single-TRP mode. The UE 102 continues to monitor the one or more beams of the communication link 110.
Regarding Claim 4, Sun teaches, The device of claim 1, wherein the L1/L2 control signal is received via downlink control information (DCI). [60]-In some aspects, the base station can transmit the BFR configuration via DCI that indicates the selected BFR option. For example, the DCI can be format 1_1 DCI or format 1_2 DCI that includes a field to indicate the selected BFR option
Regarding Claim 8, Sun teaches, A network node for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:provide configuration information, the configuration information indicating that a Layer 1 / Layer 2 (L1/L2) control signal is to be used to indicate when a transmission reception point (TRP) is to: [45]- the base station transmits a configuration message via a MAC CE to the UE 102. In some aspects, the configuration message is in a form of a TCI. For example, the UE 102 may determine that a code-point of the TCI maps to two TCI states and switch to the multi-TRP mode. On the other hand, the UE 102 may determine that the code-point of the TCI maps to one TCI state and switch to the single-TRP mode. In other aspects, the MAC CE includes a switch indicator.
determine that one or more conditions for the TRP to switch functionality are satisfied; and [46]- At 312, the UE 102 drops one TRP to switch to the single-TRP mode, such as the TRP 104, by refraining from communicating user data to and from the TRP.
provide, based at least in part on the determination, the L1/L2 control signal to the TRP. [45]- For example, the base station transmits a configuration message via a MAC CE to the UE 102.
Sun in view of Chen does not teach, switch from additional point (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to primary TRP functionality for a primary serving cell.
Chen teaches, switch from additional point (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to primary TRP functionality for a primary serving cell.
[218]- Fig 29, When UE1 moves to a new position(fig 29 shows both UE1 and UE2 connected to multiple TRPs), a better beam(=single TRP) from the same TRP (=TRP1 in Figure 29 = same primary cell) may be available. In this case, intra- TRP beam switching may be performed (=within same primary cell). In this case, intra-TRP beam switching may be performed (=same cell)
[225]- Within the UE, the mobility decision can be made by either the L3 layer (e.g., NR RRC) or by the L2 layer (e.g., MAC) or L1 layer (e.g., PHY layer) (=switch using L1/L2 signaling)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun, switch from additional point (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to primary TRP functionality for a primary serving cell as taught by Chen to send message to network specifying MBS of interest to be communicated.
Sun in view of Chen does not teach, the primary TRP functionality including responsibility for carrying control information; wherein the primary cell is configured for multi-TRP communications;
Dong teaches, the primary TRP functionality including responsibility for carrying control information[70]- activating the TCI state set associated with a second PCI indicated by the first MAC CE is confirmed when receiving an ACK from NW in response to the first MAC CE or the initiated RACH procedure being successfully terminated. TRP whose TCI state governs the UE’s PDCCH reception is a TRP “configured to carry control information” and the previously additional TRP assuming that role is the TRP to primary TRP switch.
wherein the primary cell is configured for multi-TRP communications; [38]- The present disclosure provides methods, systems, and devices that provide fast mobility within the multi-TRP model such that user equipment has the ability to activate and/or change TCI states in a serving cell that it is communicating with.. In implementations described below, the TCI state sets associated with a first physical cell(=primary cell)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen, the primary TRP functionality including responsibility for carrying control information; wherein the primary cell is configured for multi-TRP communications as taught by Dong to send message to network specifying MBS of interest to be communicated.
Regarding Claim 9, Sun teaches, The network node of claim 8, wherein the configuration information is provided via radio resource control (RRC) communication. [53] For example, the base station transmits the BFD configuration via an RRC signaling or a MAC CE.
Regarding Claim 10, Sun teaches, The network node of claim 8, wherein the L1/L2 control signal is provided via a medium access control element (MAC CE) [67]- the base station transmits the MAC CE to the UE 102 to instruct the UE 102 to switch to the single-TRP mode. The UE 102 continues to monitor the one or more beams of the communication link 110.
Regarding Claim 11, Sun teaches, The network node of claim 8, wherein the L1/L2 control signal is provided via downlink control information (DCI) [60]-In some aspects, the base station can transmit the BFR configuration via DCI that indicates the selected BFR option. For example, the DCI can be format 1_1 DCI or format 1_2 DCI that includes a field to indicate the selected BFR option.
Regarding Claim 15, Sun teaches, The network node of claim 8, wherein the TRP is acting as the secondary serving cell for communications with another device, and wherein the L1/L2 control signal indicates that the device is to become the primary serving cell and the primary TRP for further communications with the other device[54]-For example, the BFD configuration includes the selected BFD of the TRP 104 and a selected BFD option of the TRP 106.
Regarding Claim 18, Sun teaches, A method of wireless communication performed by a device, comprising: receiving configuration information, the configuration information indicating that a Layer 1 / Layer 2 (L1/L2) control signal is to be used to indicate when the device is to: [45]- the base station transmits a configuration message via a MAC CE to the UE 102. In some aspects, the configuration message is in a form of a TCI. For example, the UE 102 may determine that a code-point of the TCI maps to two TCI states and switch to the multi-TRP mode. On the other hand, the UE 102 may determine that the code-point of the TCI maps to one TCI state and switch to the single-TRP mode. In other aspects, the MAC CE includes a switch indicator.
Sun does not teach, switch from point (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to TRP functionality for a primary serving cell
Chen teaches, switch from point (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to TRP functionality for a primary serving cell [218]- Fig 29, When UE1 moves to a new position(fig 29 shows both UE1 and UE2 connected to multiple TRPs), a better beam(=single TRP) from the same TRP (=TRP1 in Figure 29 = same primary cell) may be available. In this case, intra- TRP beam switching may be performed (=within same primary cell). In this case, intra-TRP beam switching may be performed (=same cell)
[225]- Within the UE, the mobility decision can be made by either the L3 layer (e.g., NR RRC) or by the L2 layer (e.g., MAC) or L1 layer (e.g., PHY layer) (=switch using L1/L2 signaling)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun, switch from point (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to TRP functionality for a primary serving cell as taught by Chen to send message to network specifying MBS of interest to be communicated.
Sun in view of Chen does not teach, activating, based at least in part on the L1/L2 control signal, the primary TRP functionality, wherein activating the primary TRP functionality includes switching the device to become a primary TRP;wherein the primary cell is configured for multi-TRP communications;
Dong teaches, activating, based at least in part on the L1/L2 control signal, the primary TRP functionality, wherein activating the primary TRP functionality includes switching the device to become a primary TRP
[66]- a DCI/a second MAC CE from NW to switch/activate the TCI state set for the same serving cell with the first MAC CE; [70]- activating the TCI state set associated with a second PCI indicated by the first MAC CE is confirmed when receiving an ACK from NW in response to the first MAC CE or the initiated RACH procedure being successfully terminated. TRP whose TCI state governs the UE’s PDCCH reception is a TRP “configured to carry control information” and the previously additional TRP assuming that role is the TRP to primary TRP switch.
wherein the primary cell is configured for multi-TRP communications; [38]- The present disclosure provides methods, systems, and devices that provide fast mobility within the multi-TRP model such that user equipment has the ability to activate and/or change TCI states in a serving cell that it is communicating with. In implementations described below, the TCI state sets associated with a first physical cell(=primary cell)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen, activating, based at least in part on the L1/L2 control signal, the primary TRP functionality, wherein activating the primary TRP functionality includes switching the device to become a primary TRP; wherein the primary cell is configured for multi-TRP communications as as taught by Dong to send message to network specifying MBS of interest to be communicated.
Regarding Claim 19, Sun teaches, The method of claim 18, wherein the configuration information is received via radio resource control (RRC) communication. communication [53] For example, the base station transmits the BFD configuration via an RRC signaling or a MAC CE.
Regarding Claim 20, Sun teaches, The method of claim 18, wherein the L1/L2 control signal is received via a medium access control element (MAC CE). [67]- the base station transmits the MAC CE to the UE 102 to instruct the UE 102 to switch to the single-TRP mode. The UE 102 continues to monitor the one or more beams of the communication link 110.
Regarding Claim 21, Sun teaches, The method of claim 18, wherein the L1/L2 control signal is received via downlink control information (DCI). [60]-In some aspects, the base station can transmit the BFR configuration via DCI that indicates the selected BFR option. For example, the DCI can be format 1_1 DCI or format 1_2 DCI that includes a field to indicate the selected BFR option.
Regarding Claim 24, Sun teaches, The method of claim 22, wherein the device is acting as the secondary serving cell for communications with another device, and wherein the L1/L2 control signal indicates that the device is to become the primary serving cell and the primary TRP for further communications with the other device. [54]-For example, the BFD configuration includes the selected BFD of the TRP 104 and a selected BFD option of the TRP 106.
Regarding Claim 25, Sun teaches, A method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising: providing configuration information, the configuration information indicating that a Layer 1 / Layer 2 (L1/L2) control signal is to be used to indicate when a transmission reception point (TRP) is to:;[45]- the base station transmits a configuration message via a MAC CE to the UE 102. In some aspects, the configuration message is in a form of a TCI. For example, the UE 102 may determine that a code-point of the TCI maps to two TCI states and switch to the multi-TRP mode. On the other hand, the UE 102 may determine that the code-point of the TCI maps to one TCI state and switch to the single-TRP mode. In other aspects, the MAC CE includes a switch indicator.
determining that one or more conditions for the TRP to switch functionality are satisfied; and [46]- At 312, the UE 102 drops one TRP to switch to the single-TRP mode, such as the TRP 104, by refraining from communicating user data to and from the TRP.
providing, based at least in part on the determination, the L1/L2 control signal to the TRP. [45]- For example, the base station transmits a configuration message via a MAC CE to the UE 102.
Sun in view of Chen does not teach, switch from additional (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to TRP functionality for a primary serving cell
Chen teaches, switch from additional (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to TRP functionality for a primary serving cell [218]- Fig 29, When UE1 moves to a new position(fig 29 shows both UE1 and UE2 connected to multiple TRPs), a better beam(=single TRP) from the same TRP (=TRP1 in Figure 29 = same primary cell) may be available. In this case, intra- TRP beam switching may be performed (=within same primary cell). In this case, intra-TRP beam switching may be performed (=same cell)
[225]- Within the UE, the mobility decision can be made by either the L3 layer (e.g., NR RRC) or by the L2 layer (e.g., MAC) or L1 layer (e.g., PHY layer) (=switch using L1/L2 signaling)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun, switch from additional (TRP) functionality for a primary serving cell to TRP functionality for a primary serving cell as taught by Chen to send message to network specifying MBS of interest to be communicated.
Sun in view of Chen does not teach,the primary TRP functionality including responsibility for carrying control information; wherein the primary cell is configured for multi-TRP communications;
Dong teaches, the primary TRP functionality including responsibility for carrying control information [70]- activating the TCI state set associated with a second PCI indicated by the first MAC CE is confirmed when receiving an ACK from NW in response to the first MAC CE or the initiated RACH procedure being successfully terminated. TRP whose TCI state governs the UE’s PDCCH reception is a TRP “configured to carry control information” and the previously additional TRP assuming that role is the TRP to primary TRP switch.
wherein the primary cell is configured for multi-TRP communications; [38]- The present disclosure provides methods, systems, and devices that provide fast mobility within the multi-TRP model such that user equipment has the ability to activate and/or change TCI states in a serving cell that it is communicating. In implementations described below, the TCI state sets associated with a first physical cell(=primary cell)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen, the primary TRP functionality including responsibility for carrying control information ;wherein the primary cell is configured for multi-TRP communications as taught by Dong to send message to network specifying MBS of interest to be communicated.
Regarding Claim 26, Sun teaches, The method of claim 25, wherein the configuration information is provided via radio resource control (RRC) communication communication [53] For example, the base station transmits the BFD configuration via an RRC signaling or a MAC CE.
Regarding Claim 27, Sun teaches, The method of claim 25, wherein the L1/L2 control signal is provided via a medium access control element (MAC CE). ). [67]- the base station transmits the MAC CE to the UE 102 to instruct the UE 102 to switch to the single-TRP mode. The UE 102 continues to monitor the one or more beams of the communication link 110.
Regarding Claim 28, Sun teaches, The method of claim 25, wherein the L1/L2 control signal is provided via downlink control information (DCI). [60]-In some aspects, the base station can transmit the BFR configuration via DCI that indicates the selected BFR option. For example, the DCI can be format 1_1 DCI or format 1_2 DCI that includes a field to indicate the selected BFR option
Claim(s) 12,29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sun et al. (US20240073707A1) in view of Chen et al. (US20230216564A1) in further view of Dong et al. (US20240080083A1) in further view of Chen et al. (US20200267582A1)(hereinafter “Chen2”)
Regarding Claim 12, Sun teaches, determine that the TRP is to receive the configuration information based at least in part on one or more of: a capability of the TRP, or channel conditions associated with the TRP; and
Sun in view of Chen and Dong does not teach, and provide the configuration information based at least in part on determining that the TRP is to receive the configuration information.[74]- If an event type C is present, it indicates that the relative relationship between the measurement qualities of the master TRP 1 and the secondary TRP 2 meets the first threshold α0, and the measurement quality of the secondary TRP 2 is better than the measurement quality of the master TRP 1.
Chen2 teaches, provide the configuration information based at least in part on determining that the TRP is to receive the configuration information.[113]- simultaneously configure the UE to measure the two signals (there may be corresponding CSI-RS resource setting configurations and reporting setting configurations).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen and Dong, The network node of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine that the TRP is to receive the configuration information based at least in part on one or more of:a capability of the TRP, or channel conditions associated with the TRP; and provide the configuration information based at least in part on determining that the TRP is to receive the configuration information as taught by Chen2 to send message to network specifying MBS of interest to be communicated.
Regarding Claim 29, Sun teaches, The method of claim 25, further comprising: determining that the TRP is to receive the configuration information based at least in part on one or more of:a capability of the TRP, or channel conditions associated with the TRP; [74]- If an event type C is present, it indicates that the relative relationship between the measurement qualities of the master TRP 1 and the secondary TRP 2 meets the first threshold α0, and the measurement quality of the secondary TRP 2 is better than the measurement quality of the master TRP 1.
Sun in view of Chen and Dong does not teach, and providing the configuration information based at least in part on determining that the TRP is to receive the configuration information.
Chen2 teaches, providing the configuration information based at least in part on determining that the TRP is to receive the configuration information. [113]- simultaneously configure the UE to measure the two signals (there may be corresponding CSI-RS resource setting configurations and reporting setting configurations).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen and Dong, The method of claim 25, further comprising: determining that the TRP is to receive the configuration information based at least in part on one or more of: a capability of the TRP, or channel conditions associated with the TRP; and providing the configuration information based at least in part on determining that the TRP is to receive the configuration information as taught by Chen2 to send message to network specifying MBS of interest to be communicated.
Claims 5,7,13,16,17,22,30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US20240073707A1) in view of Chen et al. (US20230216564A1) in further view of Dong et al. (US20240080083A1) in view of Alfarhan et al. ( US20220400396A1) in view of Kazmi et al. (US20230228837A1)
Regarding Claim 5, Sun in view of Chen and Dong does not teach, The device of claim 1, wherein the device is a TRP configured for inter-frequency carrier aggregation, and wherein the multi-TRP communications comprise intra-frequency multi- TRP communications.
Alfarhan teaches, The device of claim 1, wherein the device is a TRP configured for inter-frequency carrier aggregation, and wherein the multi-TRP communications comprise intra-frequency multi- TRP communications.[180]- The WTRU may perform intra-cell mobility, e.g. when TRPs in the cell are configured with different PCIs. [55]- The SGW 164 may perform other functions, such as anchoring user planes during inter-eNode B handovers, triggering paging when DL data is available.
[68]- In an embodiment, the gNBs 180 a, 180 b, 180 c may implement carrier aggregation technology.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen and Dong The device of claim 1, wherein the device is a TRP configured for inter-frequency carrier aggregation, and wherein the multi-TRP communications comprise intra-frequency multi- TRP communications as taught by Alfarhan to use inter and intra frequency for TRP frequency for handover.
Sun in view of Chen and Alfarhan does not teach, and wherein the multi-TRP communications comprise intra-frequency multi- TRP communications
Kazmi teaches, and wherein the multi-TRP communications comprise intra-frequency multi- TRP communications.[405]- Proposal 17: Ecat=1 for intra-frequency WD 22 Rx-Tx measurements, 1 report capable of WD 22 Rx-Tx measurements and also PRS-RSRP measurements (when configured for multi-RTT) on at least X2 TRPs.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen and Dong and alfarhan and wherein the multi-TRP communications comprise intra-frequency multi- TRP communications as taught by Kazmi to use inter and intra frequency for TRP frequency for handover.
Regarding Claim 7, Sun teaches, The device of claim 5, wherein the device is acting as the secondary serving cell for communications with another device, and wherein the L1/L2 control signal indicates that the device is to become the primary serving cell and the primary TRP for further communications with the other device [54]-For example, the BFD configuration includes the selected BFD of the TRP 104 and a selected BFD option of the TRP 106.
Regarding Claim 13, Sun in view of Chen and Dong does not teach, the network node of claim 8, wherein the one or more conditions are associated with channel conditions of the primary serving cell.
Alfarhan teaches, the network node of claim 8, wherein the one or more conditions are associated with channel conditions of the primary serving cell. [101]- but then monitor the PDCCH on another cell (e.g. the SpCell or the PCell), e.g. when other cells don't have a valid PUCCH resource.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen and Dong the network node of claim 8, wherein the one or more conditions are associated with channel conditions of the primary serving cell as taught by Alfarhan to use inter and intra frequency for TRP frequency for handover.
Regarding Claim 16, Sun in view of Chen and Dong does not teach, The network node of claim 8, wherein the TRP is configured for inter- frequency carrier aggregation,
Alfarhan teaches, The network node of claim 8, wherein the TRP is configured for inter- frequency carrier aggregation, [180]- The WTRU may perform intra-cell mobility, e.g. when TRPs in the cell are configured with different PCIs. [55]- The SGW 164 may perform other functions, such as anchoring user planes during inter-eNode B handovers, triggering paging when DL data is available. [68]- In an embodiment, the gNBs 180 a, 180 b, 180 c may implement carrier aggregation technology.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen The network node of claim 8, wherein the TRP is configured for inter- frequency carrier aggregation, as taught by Alfarhan to use inter and intra frequency for TRP frequency for handover.
Sun in view of Chen , Dong and Alfarhan does not teach, and wherein the multi-TRP communications comprise intra-frequency multi- TRP communications
Kazmi teaches, and wherein the multi-TRP communications comprise intra-frequency multi- TRP communications.[405]- Proposal 17: Ecat=1 for intra-frequency WD 22 Rx-Tx measurements, 1 report capable of WD 22 Rx-Tx measurements and also PRS-RSRP measurements (when configured for multi-RTT) on at least X2 TRPs.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen and Dong and alfarhan and wherein the multi-TRP communications comprise intra-frequency multi- TRP communications as taught by Kazmi to use inter and intra frequency for TRP frequency for handover.
Regarding Claim 17, Sun teaches, The network node of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors, to provide the configuration information, are configured to: provide the configuration information to the first TRP and at least one other TRP of the multiple TRPs;[45]- the base station transmits a configuration message via a MAC CE to the UE 102. In some aspects, the configuration message is in a form of a TCI. For example, the UE 102 may determine that a code-point of the TCI maps to two TCI states and switch to the multi-TRP mode. On the other hand, the UE 102 may determine that the code-point of the TCI maps to one TCI state and switch to the single-TRP mode. In other aspects, the MAC CE includes a switch indicator.
Regarding Claim 22, Sun in view of Chen and Dong does not teach, The method of claim 18, wherein the device is a TRP configured for inter- frequency carrier aggregation
Alfarhan teaches, The method of claim 18, wherein the device is a TRP configured for inter- frequency carrier aggregation, [180]- The WTRU may perform intra-cell mobility, e.g. when TRPs in the cell are configured with different PCIs. [55]- The SGW 164 may perform other functions, such as anchoring user planes during inter-eNode B handovers, triggering paging when DL data is available.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen and Dong, The method of claim 18, wherein the device is a TRP configured for inter- frequency carrier aggregation as taught by Alfarhan to use inter and intra frequency for TRP frequency for handover.
Sun in view of Chen and Alfarhan does not teach, and wherein the multi-TRP communications comprise intra-frequency multi- TRP communications
Kazmi teaches, and wherein the multi-TRP communications Include intra-frequency multi- TRP communications.[405]- Proposal 17: Ecat=1 for intra-frequency WD 22 Rx-Tx measurements, 1 report capable of WD 22 Rx-Tx measurements and also PRS-RSRP measurements (when configured for multi-RTT) on at least X2 TRPs.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen and Dong and alfarhan and wherein the multi-TRP communications include intra-frequency multi- TRP communications as taught by Kazmi to use inter and intra frequency for TRP frequency for handover.
Regarding Claim 30, Sun in view of Chen and Dong does not teach, The method of claim 25, wherein the one or more conditions are associated with channel conditions of the primary serving cell.
Alfarhan teaches, The method of claim 25, wherein the one or more conditions are associated with channel conditions of the primary serving cell. [101]- but then monitor the PDCCH on another cell (e.g. the SpCell or the PCell), e.g. when other cells don't have a valid PUCCH resource.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen and Dong The method of claim 25, wherein the one or more conditions are associated with channel conditions of the primary serving cell as taught by Alfarhan to use inter and intra frequency for TRP frequency for handover.
Claim 6,23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US20240073707A1) in view of Chen et al. (US20230216564A1) in further view of Dong et al. (US20240080083A1) in view of Alfarhan et al. ( US20220400396A1) In further view of Yang et al. ( US20200053661A1)
Regarding Claim 6, Sun in view of Chen and Dong and Alfarhan does not teach, The device of claim 5, wherein the device is acting as the primary serving cell for communications with another device, and wherein the L1/L2 control signal indicates that the device is to become the primary TRP for further communications with the other device.
Yang teaches, The device of claim 5, wherein the device is acting as the primary serving cell for communications with another the other device, and wherein the L1/L2 control signal indicates that the device is to become the primary TRP for further communications with another device. [83]- the network may configure the transmission power for an IMRS based on interference (e.g., such as WTRU-WTRU interference, TRP-TRP interference, and/or CLI). The network and/or the aggressor WTRU may estimate CLI based on the victim WTRU's transmission power for IMRS.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen and Dong and Alfarhan Alfarhan, The device of claim 5, wherein the device is acting as the primary serving cell for communications with another the other device, and wherein the L1/L2 control signal indicates that the device is to become the primary TRP for further communications with the other device as taught by Yang to make a separate WTRU as primary device.
Regarding Claim 23, Sun in view of Chen and Dongand Alfarhan does not teach, The method of claim 22, wherein the device is acting as the primary serving cell for communications with another device, and wherein the L1/L2 control signal indicates that the device is to become the primary TRP for further communications with the other device.
Yang teaches, The method of claim 22, wherein the device is acting as the primary serving cell for communications with another device, and wherein the L1/L2 control signal indicates that the device is to become the primary TRP for further communications with another device. [83]- the network may configure the transmission power for an IMRS based on interference (e.g., such as WTRU-WTRU interference, TRP-TRP interference, and/or CLI). The network and/or the aggressor WTRU may estimate CLI based on the victim WTRU's transmission power for IMRS.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen and Dong and Alfarhan The method of claim 22, wherein the device is acting as the primary serving cell for communications with another device, and wherein the L1/L2 control signal indicates that the device is to become the primary TRP for further communications with the other device as taught by Yang to make a separate WTRU as primary device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US20240073707A1) in view of Chen et al. (US20230216564A1) in further view of Dong et al. (US20240080083A1) In view of Yang et al. ( US20200053661A1)
Regarding Claim 14, Sun in view of Chen and Dong does not teach, The network node of claim 8, wherein the TRP is acting as the primary serving cell for communications with another device, and wherein the L1/L2 control signal indicates that the TRP is to become the primary TRP for further communications with the other device.
Yang teaches, The network node of claim 8, wherein the TRP is acting as the primary serving cell for communications with another device, and wherein the L1/L2 control signal indicates that the TRP is to become the primary TRP for further communications with the other device. [83]- the network may configure the transmission power for an IMRS based on interference (e.g., such as WTRU-WTRU interference, TRP-TRP interference, and/or CLI). The network and/or the aggressor WTRU may estimate CLI based on the victim WTRU's transmission power for IMRS.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Chen and Dong The network node of claim 8, wherein the TRP is acting as the primary serving cell for communications with another device, and wherein the L1/L2 control signal indicates that the TRP is to become the primary TRP for further communications with the other device as taught by Yang to make a separate WTRU as primary device.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478