DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riddle et al. (Riddle) US 2021/0004706 in view of Biggs et al. (Biggs) US 2022/0180168 and Fukuda et al. (Fukuda) US 2017/0178168
In regard to claim 1, Riddle disclose A system, ([0010]-[0011] system) comprising:
at least a processor; ([0121][0122] [0125][0131] a processing unit) and
at least one memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, ([0121]-[0125][0131] a memory with instructions executed by the processing unit) facilitate performance of operations, ([0011][0029][0073] facilitate actions) comprising:
training an artificial intelligence risk model to produce a trained model, wherein labeled training data for the training ([0011]-[0020] [0024]-[0034] [0043] [0068][0103] training the ML to generate a trained ML model, and labeled data to form a training set)
in response to applying a input to the trained model, wherein the input comprises a feature of a user and a product, producing an output that indicates a first predicted support cost probability distribution that corresponds to the input; ([0012]-[0026] in response to the user input to the trained model, the input has comments associated with a service ticket, such as a product and information about a product user, a assigned service agent, engagement score, etc. and generate an output of change-based probability that product user escalates service for the service ticket (which imply the higher support cost))
based on the first predicted support cost probability distribution, sending offering data to the entity, wherein the offering data is indicative of an offer to modify the product to a modified product, ([0012]-[0029] [0076]-[0095] based on the predicted cost probability distribution change, sending a changed offer to the user, for example, with 95% probability that will escalate service, the new higher level of service is provided, such as extend an agreement to support the product user, etc.) and wherein the modified product is associated with a second predicted support cost with respect to the entity; and
based on receiving acceptance data that is associated with the entity and that is indicative of accepting the offer, switching from the product to the modified product with respect to the entity. ([0012]-[0029] [0055]-[0069] [0073]-[0095][0102] based on the predicted cost probability distribution change, sending a changed offer to the product user, with lower probability to escalate the service, (which imply the lower support cost) , such as by extend (upgrade) an agreement to support the product user, etc. and based on user input to agree with the offer from user comments, change to the modified service offer to the user)
But Riddle fail to explicitly disclose “the labeled training data for the training comprises respective features of users and products, wherein the trained model comprises a causal tree model that is configured to differentiate between first features that are immutable to an entity that utilizes the trained model and second features that are mutable to the entity;”
Biggs disclose the labeled training data for the training comprises respective features of users and products; ([0033]-[0052] groups of customers (with location, age, gender, etc. features), features of products, such as price, etc.)
wherein the trained model comprises a causal tree model that is configured to differentiate between first features that are immutable to an entity that utilizes the trained model and second features that are mutable to the entity; ([0033]-[0047] [0050]-[0052] Fig. 3, using split tree to train the ML model and separate data into two set (features) based on user-defined splitting criterion, such as groups of customers (with same location, age, gender, etc.), one group single male (fixed) with a price vs. another probable houseowner, renter, with a price, etc. Note: please further specify the entity, there are many possibilities and please use functional language to describe the invention.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Biggs’s method of segmentation and interpretable prescriptive polies generation into Riddle’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Biggs’s using split tree to distinguish the different features would help to provide more ML training method to Riddle’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that distinguishing the different features using the split tree would facilitate the finetuning of the ML model and improve the output accuracy of the ML model.
But Riddle and Biggs fail to explicitly disclose “and corresponding labels of respective support costs, wherein the first predicted support cost probability distribution identifies multiple samples that identify respective possible support costs and respective probabilities that each of the respective possible support costs will occur;”
Fukuda disclose and corresponding labels of respective support costs, ([0003][0017][0024]-[0031] corresponding labels of the costs)
wherein the first predicted support cost probability distribution identifies multiple samples that identify respective possible support costs and respective probabilities that each of the respective possible support costs will occur; ([0003][0017][0024]-[0031] cost probability distribution identify test samples that identify each cost for each service and the probabilities the cost estimation for the service.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Fukuda’s method of training a machine learning model into Biggs and Riddle’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Fukuda’s identify probability distributions for the cost would help to provide a cost estimation method to Biggs and Riddle’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing a cost estimation with probability distributions would improve the cost prediction accuracy of the ML model.
In regard to claim 3, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The system of claim 1, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the causal tree model is configured to implement decision tree learning to identify a strategy for splitting observed individuals into groups to estimate heterogeneous treatment effects.”
Biggs disclose wherein the causal tree model is configured to implement decision tree learning to identify a strategy for splitting observed individuals into groups to estimate heterogeneous treatment effects. ([0033]-[0047] [0050]-[0052] Fig. 3, using split tree to train the ML model and separate data into two set (features) based on user-defined splitting criterion to segment user such as groups of customers (with location, age, gender, etc.) with various prices to get the maximum revenue.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Biggs’s method of segmentation and interpretable prescriptive polies generation into Fukuda and Riddle’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Biggs’s using split tree to distinguish the different features would help to provide more ML training method to Fukuda and Riddle’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that distinguishing the different features using the split tree would facilitate the finetuning of the ML model and improve the output accuracy of the ML model.
In regard to claim 8, Riddle disclose A method, ([0019]-[0020] method) comprising:
performing learning, by a system comprising a processor, on the explainable artificial intelligence risk model to produce a trained model, ([0011]-[0020] [0024]-[0034] [0043] [0068][0103][0121][0122][0125] [0131] a processing unit, perform learning and on a ML model to generate a trained ML model) wherein labeled training data for the training ([0011]-[0020] [0024]-[0034] [0043] [0068][0103] training the ML to generate a trained ML model, and labeled data to form a training set)
in response to applying a first input to the trained model, wherein the first input comprises a feature of a user and a product, producing, by the trained model, an output that indicates a first predicted support cost probability distribution that corresponds to the first input; ([0012]-[0026] in response to the user input to the trained model, the input has comments associated with a service ticket, such as a product and information about a product user, a assigned service agent, engagement score, etc. and generate an output of change-based probability that product user escalates service for the service ticket (which imply the higher support cost))
based on the first predicted support cost probability distribution, sending, by the system, offering data to the entity, wherein the offering data is indicative of an offer to modify the product to a modified product, ([0012]-[0029] [0076]-[0095] based on the predicted cost probability distribution change, sending a changed offer to the user, for example, with 95% probability that will escalate service, the new higher level of service is provided, such as extend an agreement to support the product user, etc.) and wherein the modified product is associated with a second predicted support cost with respect to the entity; and based on receiving acceptance data that is associated with the entity and that is indicative of accepting the offer, switching, by the system, from the product to the modified product with respect to the entity. ([0012]-[0029] [0055]-[0069] [0073]-[0095][0102] based on the predicted cost probability distribution change, sending a changed offer to the product user, with lower probability to escalate the service, (which imply the lower support cost) , such as by extend (upgrade) an agreement to support the product user, etc. and based on user input to agree with the offer from user comments, change to the modified service offer to the user)
But Riddle fail to explicitly disclose “an explainable artificial intelligence risk model, wherein the trained model comprises a causal tree model;”
Biggs disclose an explainable artificial intelligence risk model, wherein the trained model comprises a causal tree model; ([0006]-[0007] [0020]-[0024] [0033]-[0047] [0050]-[0052] the ML model is a interpretable policy model,8using split tree to train the ML model and separate data into two set based on user-defined splitting criterion)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Biggs’s method of segmentation and interpretable prescriptive polies generation into Sandler’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Biggs’s using split tree to distinguish the different features would help to provide more ML training method to Sandler’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that distinguishing the different features using the split tree would facilitate the finetuning of the ML model and improve the output accuracy of the ML model.
But Riddle and Biggs fail to explicitly disclose “performing supervised learning,
and corresponding labels of respective support costs, wherein the first predicted support cost probability distribution identifies multiple samples that identify respective possible support costs and respective probabilities that each of the respective possible support costs will occur;”
Fukuda disclose performing supervised learning, ([0025] supervised ML)
and corresponding labels of respective support costs ([0003][0017][0024]-[0031] corresponding labels of the costs)
wherein the first predicted support cost probability distribution identifies multiple samples that identify respective possible support costs and respective probabilities that each of the respective possible support costs will occur; ([0003][0017][0024]-[0031] cost probability distribution identify test samples that identify each cost for each service and the probabilities the cost estimation for the service.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Fukuda’s method of training a machine learning model into Biggs and Riddle’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Fukuda’s identify probability distributions for the cost would help to provide a cost estimation method to Biggs and Riddle’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing a cost estimation with probability distributions would improve the cost prediction accuracy of the ML model.
In regard to claim 9, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The method of claim 8, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle and Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the causal tree model comprises an uplift tree model that is configured to determine an impact of a treatment on a target given a feature.”
Biggs disclose wherein the causal tree model comprises an uplift tree model that is configured to determine an impact of a treatment on a target given a feature. ([0005]- [0009] [0020]-[0024][0034]-[0052] quantify between accuracy and interpretability to provide guidance to a decision-maker, “a difference between the best expected outcome and an expected outcome for the interpretable prescriptive policy is determined, where the difference quantifies a trade-off between the first policy and interpretability of the interpretable prescriptive policy in terms of expected outcome” the interpretability cost is utilized as a loss function to facilitate finetuning/adjusting/updating of the boosted tree model)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Biggs’s method of segmentation and interpretable prescriptive polies generation into Fukuda and Riddle ’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Biggs’s using split tree to distinguish the different features would help to provide more ML training method to Fukuda and Riddle’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that distinguishing the different features using the split tree would facilitate the finetuning of the ML model and improve the output accuracy of the ML model.
In regard to claim 10, Riddle, Biggs and Fukuda disclose The method of claim 8, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Fukuda and Riddle fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the labeled training data omits a feature of the product that is able to be part of a second input to the trained model.”
Biggs disclose wherein the labeled training data omits a feature of the product that is able to be part of a second input to the trained model. ([0034]-[0039] a path from the root node of the tree to a particular leaf node of the tree specifies particular splitting segments, where constructing a decision tree with a user-defined splitting criterion based on the feature of the product, and the optimal path is selected with largest gain, the other segments are ignored)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Biggs’s method of segmentation and interpretable prescriptive polies generation into Fukuda and Riddle ’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Biggs’s using split tree to filter different features would help to provide more feature filtering method to Fukuda and Riddle’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that filtering features using the split tree would facilitate the finetuning of the ML model and improve the output accuracy of the ML model.
In regard to claim 11, Riddle, Biggs and Fukuda disclose The method of claim 8, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Fukuda and Riddle fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the trained model is a first trained model, and further comprising: determining, by the system, a first risk type and a second risk type associated with the features of users and products, wherein the first trained model is associated with the first risk type; and performing supervised learning, by the system, on the explainable artificial intelligence risk model to produce a second trained model, wherein the second trained model is associated with the second risk type.”
Biggs disclose wherein the trained model is a first trained model, and further comprising: determining, by the system, a first risk type and a second risk type associated with the features of users and products, wherein the first trained model is associated with the first risk type; ([0007]-[0009][0020]-[0028] [0034]-[0052] training a first AI model, the first model is associated with a likelihood of a desired outcome for a given action, which is risk minimization problem associated with features of product or a customer, for example, purchase an item) and performing supervised learning, by the system, on the explainable artificial intelligence risk model to produce a second trained model, wherein the second trained model is associated with the second risk type. ([0007]-[0009] [0020]-[0028] [0034]-[0052] the second model with a prescriptive tree and trained using labeled data (disclosed by Sandler) and generate interpretable prescriptive policies to determine the expected outcome for the interpretable prescriptive policy which is a second risk type and this is user defined, for example, expected revenue maximization to produce the trained model)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Biggs’s training multiple ML models into Riddle and Fukuda’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Biggs’s training multiple ML models would help to provide more ML training method to Riddle and Fukuda’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that training multiple ML models would facilitate model training based on the target.
In regard to claim 12, Riddle, Biggs and Fukuda disclose The method of claim 11, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Fukuda and Riddle fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the first trained model and the second trained model are part of a group of trained models, and further comprising: training, by the system, a third trained model that is configured to process first inputs of the first risk type using the first trained model and second inputs of the second risk type using the second trained model; and wherein producing, by the first trained model, the output is performed with the third trained model.
Biggs disclose wherein the first trained model and the second trained model are part of a group of trained models, ([0007]-[0009] [0020]-[0028] [0034]-[0052] the first and second trained models are integrated together) and further comprising: training, by the system, a third trained model that is configured to process first inputs of the first risk type using the first trained model and second inputs of the second risk type using the second trained model; and wherein producing, by the first trained model, the output is performed with the third trained model. ([0007]-[0009] [0020]-[0028] [0034]-[0052] training a first AI model, the first model is associated with a likelihood of a desired outcome for a given action, which is risk minimization problem associated with features of product or a customer, for example, purchase an item, the second model with a prescriptive tree and trained using labeled data (disclosed by Sandler) and generate interpretable prescriptive policies (based on a set of rules defined) to determine the expected outcome for the interpretable prescriptive policy which is a second risk type and this is user defined, for example, expected revenue maximization to produce the different trained models)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Biggs’s training multiple ML models into Riddle and Fukuda’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Biggs’s training multiple ML models would help to provide more ML training method to Riddle and Fukuda’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that training multiple ML models would facilitate model training based on the target.
In regard to claim 13, Riddle, Biggs and Fukuda disclose The method of claim 8, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle and Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises a geographical location associated with the user.”
Biggs disclose wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises a geographical location associated with the user. ([0033]-[0052] groups of customers (with location, age, gender, etc. features))
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Biggs’s training multiple ML models into Riddle and Fukuda’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Biggs’s training data with user features would help to provide more ML training data into Riddle and Fukuda’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more ML training data with user features would facilitate model training based on the target user.
In regard to claim 17, claim 17 is a medium claim corresponding to the method claim 8 above and, therefore, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claim 8.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riddle et al. (Riddle) US 2021/0004706, Biggs et al. (Biggs) US 2022/0180168 and Fukuda et al. (Fukuda) US 2017/0178168 as applied to claim 1, further in view of Sandler et al. (Sandler) US 2020/0380545
In regard to claim 4, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The system of claim 1, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the operations further comprise: while training the artificial intelligence risk model, determining that a first value of the predicted support cost is less than a predetermined threshold value; and increasing a penalty associated with the first value.”
Sandler disclose wherein the operations further comprise: while training the artificial intelligence risk model, determining that a first value of the predicted support cost is less than a predetermined threshold value; and increasing a penalty associated with the first value. ([0042]-[0048] training the ML model, determine of the quantity of the product available when the user-specific price was determined for purchase is less than a threshold amount, the user-specific price may be increased)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Sandler’s method of ML training into Fukuda and Riddle’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Sandler’s method of ML training with a threshold value would help to provide more training criteria into Fukuda and Riddle’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more training criteria would facilitate the finetuning of the ML model and improve the output accuracy of the ML model.
In regard to claim 5, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The system of claim 1, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the operations further comprise: while training the artificial intelligence risk model, determining that a first value of the predicted support cost is greater than a predetermined threshold value; and decreasing a penalty associated with the first value.”
Sandler disclose wherein the operations further comprise: while training the artificial intelligence risk model, determining that a first value of the predicted support cost is greater than a predetermined threshold value; and decreasing a penalty associated with the first value. ([0042]-[0048] training the ML model, determine of the quantity of the product available when the user-specific price was determined for purchase is greater than a threshold amount, the user-specific price may be decreased)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Sandler’s method of ML training into Fukuda and Riddle’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Sandler’s method of ML training with a threshold value would help to provide more training criteria into Fukuda and Riddle’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more training criteria would facilitate the finetuning of the ML model and improve the output accuracy of the ML model.
In regard to claim 6, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The system of claim 1, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises an industry of the user.”
Sandler disclose wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises an industry of the user. ([0021-[0028] user profile include various user information, such as job, etc. although not mentioned, but this is a very common attribute of the user included in the user profile which is not an invention)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Sandler’s method of ML training into Fukuda and Riddle’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Sandler’s user feature would help to provide more training data feature into Fukuda and Riddle’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more training data feature would facilitate the finetuning of the ML model and improve the output accuracy of the ML model.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Riddle et al. (Riddle) US 2021/0004706, Biggs et al. (Biggs) US 2022/0180168 and Fukuda et al. (Fukuda) US 2017/0178168 as applied to claim 1, further in view of Chen et al. (Chen) US 2022/0405623
In regard to claim 2, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The system of claim 1, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the trained model is configured to provide a user-understandable explanation regarding why the trained model produced the output.”
Chen disclose wherein the trained model is configured to provide a user-understandable explanation regarding why the trained model produced the output. ([0003]-[0017] [0027]-[0033] provide the explanation for the output generated by the ML model)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Chen’s explainable AI into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Chen’s providing why the output is generated based on the input would help to provide more ML training reasoning method to Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing the ML explanation to the output generated based on the input would facilitate ML model development and decision-making and improve the output accuracy of the ML model.
Claims 7, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Riddle et al. (Riddle) US 2021/0004706, Biggs et al. (Biggs) US 2022/0180168 and Fukuda et al. (Fukuda) US 2017/0178168 as applied to claim 1, further in view of DeFranks et al. (DeFranks) US 2019/0208918.
In regard to claim 7, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The system of claim 1, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises a size of an entity associated with the user.”
DeFranks disclose wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises a size of an entity associated with the user. ([0021]-[0029] [0036] [0042] the bedding system including king size or queen size, etc. bed with size of the mattress, etc. associated with the user)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate DeFranks’s active comfort controlled bedding system into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of using feature data of the products. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because DeFranks’s active comfort controlled bedding system would help to provide more product feature data into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more product features would help to train the ML model.
In regard to claim 14, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The method of claim 8, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises a dust removal capability of a geographical location associated with the user.”
DeFranks disclose wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises a dust removal capability of a geographical location associated with the user. ([0006]-[0008] [0047] [0048] reverse air flow feature of the air blower assembly can remove dust particles and it is at a location associated with the user)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate DeFranks’s active comfort controlled bedding system into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of using feature data of the products. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because DeFranks’s active comfort controlled bedding system would help to provide more product feature data into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more product features would help to train the ML model.
In regard to claim 15, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The method of claim 8, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises a cooling capability of a geographical location associated with the user.”
DeFranks disclose wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises a cooling capability of a geographical location associated with the user. ([0006]-[0008] [0047] [0048] air blower assembly can provide cooling and it is at a location associated with the user)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate DeFranks’s active comfort controlled bedding system into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of using feature data of the products. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because DeFranks’s active comfort controlled bedding system would help to provide more product feature data into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more product features would help to train the ML model.
In regard to claim 16, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The method of claim 8, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises an electrical infrastructure of a geographical location associated with the user.”
DeFranks disclose wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises an electrical infrastructure of a geographical location associated with the user. ([0006]-[0008] [0033] [0034] [0047] [0048][0064] air blower assembly which is a electrical infrastructure and it is at a location associated with the user)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate DeFranks’s active comfort controlled bedding system into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of using feature data of the products. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because DeFranks’s active comfort controlled bedding system would help to provide more product feature data into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more product features would help to train the ML model.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Riddle et al. (Riddle) US 2021/0004706, Biggs et al. (Biggs) US 2022/0180168 and Fukuda et al. (Fukuda) US 2017/0178168 as applied to claim 1, further in view of Vega et al. (Vega) US 2021/0123771.
In regard to claim 18, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises an electricity usage associated with the product.”
Vega disclose wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises an electricity usage associated with the product. ([0076]-[0086] [0419] historical usage electricity data associated with the smart device, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Vega’s optimizing utility consumption into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of using feature data of the products. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Vega’s optimizing utility consumption with usage data would help to provide more product feature data into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more product features would help to train the ML model.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Riddle et al. (Riddle) US 2021/0004706, Biggs et al. (Biggs) US 2022/0180168 and Fukuda et al. (Fukuda) US 2017/0178168 as applied to claim 1, further in view of Belchee et al. (Belchee) US 2017/0063865.
In regard to claim 19, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises an indication of whether a program or an operating system associated with the product is current.”
Belchee disclose wherein a feature of the features of users and products comprises an indication of whether a program or an operating system associated with the product is current. ([0013] [0029] [0033] user device may provide indications of characteristics whether user device is running current software version)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Belchee’s characteristics of user devices into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of using feature data of the products. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Belchee’s software version data would help to provide more product feature data into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more product feature data would help to train the ML model.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Riddle et al. (Riddle) US 2021/0004706, Biggs et al. (Biggs) US 2022/0180168 and Fukuda et al. (Fukuda) US 2017/0178168 as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kolen et al. (Kolen) US 2020/0306632.
In regard to claim 21, Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda disclose The system of claim 1, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Biggs, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “predicting a lower maintenance cost than an observed maintenance cost by an amount; and predicting a higher maintenance cost than the observed maintenance cost by the amount;”
Riddle disclose predicting a maintenance cost with an observed maintenance cost by an amount; and predicting a maintenance cost with the observed maintenance cost by the amount; ([0014]-[0026] [0035]-[0044] [0094][0095] [0106]-[0108] generate expected cost of an escalation for each customer and with observed service escalation by an amount, for example hour of time, etc. )
But Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the training of the artificial intelligence risk model to produce a trained model comprises: implementing a first training penalty in training the artificial intelligence risk model, wherein the first training penalty corresponds to predict a lower value than the observed value by the amount; and implementing a second training penalty in training the artificial intelligence risk model, wherein the second training penalty corresponds to predicting a higher value than the observed value, wherein the first training penalty is greater than the second training penalty.”
Kolen disclose wherein the training of the artificial intelligence risk model to produce a trained model comprises: implementing a first training penalty in training the artificial intelligence risk model, wherein the first training penalty corresponds to predict a lower value than the observed value by the amount; and implementing a second training penalty in training the artificial intelligence risk model, wherein the second training penalty corresponds to predicting a higher value than the observed value, wherein the first training penalty is greater than the second training penalty. ([0078]-[0089] [0097]-[0098] the penalty can be associated with threshold degree of accuracy, above or below the threshold, etc. with lower or higher penalties. Note: higher or lower penalties can be based on the implementation which is a design choice)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Kolen’s predictive execution of game engines into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of using feature data of the products in training ML model. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Kolen’s ML model with training penalty would help to provide more training criteria into Riddle and Biggs, Fukuda’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more training criteria with penalty would help to provide more accurate predictions to the user by the trained ML model.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19, 21 filed on 11/17/2025 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
PATENT PUB. # PUB. DATE INVENTOR(S) TITLE
US 20200380573 A1 2020-12-03 Shoshan et al.
MACHINE LEARNING-BASED DYNAMIC OUTCOME-BASED PRICING FRAMEWORK
Shoshan et al. disclose A service request is received at an intelligence service server from a user, where the service request includes a number of required inputs associated with the user. The number of required inputs are executed by the intelligence service server to generate an inference, an outcome probability distribution and a price quote, where the price quote corresponds to the outcome probability distribution. The outcome probability distribution and the price quote are returned by the intelligence service server to the user. It is determined by the intelligence service server that whether the user accepts the price quote based on a response from the user. If so, the inference is returned by the intelligence service server to the user. Otherwise, the response from the user is logged in a database associated with the intelligence service server by the intelligence service server… see abstract.
XUYANG XIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2143
/XUYANG XIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143