DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 4/29/2025. Claims 1-30 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9,11-20,23-25 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu (US 20220078779).
As to claim 1, Xu discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device (Methods in fig. 3-4,7 and 11. Wireless communication devices 100 and 200 in Figs. 1-2) the method comprising: transmitting, to a second wireless communication device (primary and secondary serving EH), at least one of an energy request or an energy level indication ([0083]-[0085] and [0113] Specifically, the user equipment can detect its own remaining power in real time, for example. During the communication with the DT primary serving gNB, the user can report basic information to it (i.e. Fig. 11 “Report basic information”) , including the energy status of the device terminal. Once the user equipment detects that its remaining power is lower than a certain threshold, it can actively report the EH request to the primary serving gNB (i.e. Fig. 11 “Report EH request”). [0114] If the DT primary serving gNB is the base station closest to the EH user, there is no need to switch the primary serving base station); receiving, from the second wireless communication device in response to the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication, an indication of one or more resources (“information on the resource for energy harvesting”) for receiving a radio frequency (RF) energy harvesting signal (Fig. 11 “Report current SFI” to “select new frame structure” to “transmit handshake information. [0038]-[0042] .. the information on the resource for energy harvesting may include indication information on a frame structure of the wireless signal. The indication information may include, for example, a Slot Format Indication (SFI), which is a bit sequence used to indicate the time slot format…. the time-frequency resource… symbols for energy harvesting… downlink symbols for data transmission….and symbols for energy harvesting (which hereinafter may be referred to as EH symbols) in the frame structure of the wireless signal.. [0067] In order to transmit energy to EH users, the primary EH serving gNB re-selects an appropriate frame structure … … Then, the EH primary serving gNB can notify the EH user and the secondary gNB of the SFI corresponding to the selected frame structure through handshake information); receiving, from the second wireless communication device in the one or more resources, the RF energy harvesting signal ([0040] and [0076] …the user equipment to harvest energy on at least the symbols for energy harvesting… to receive data or harvest energy on the downlink symbols for data transmission) and converting the RF energy harvesting signal to energy ([0111] After receiving signals from multiple gNBs, the EH user converts the signals into electrical energy through an energy conversion module and stores it in the battery).
As to claim 2, Xu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a configuration for a user-assistance information signaling occasion (i.e..”EH request” and “basic information” such as “the energy status of the device terminal, …, the device type, and the battery type” identified as “a user-assistance information signaling occasion”), wherein the transmitting the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication comprises: transmitting, during the user-assistance information signaling occasion, the energy request (Communication method (i.e. frequency and standard) in which the request is made identified as the configuration for “a user-assistance information signaling occasion”).
As to claim 3, Xu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a configuration for a configured grant resource (i.e..”EH request” and “basic information” such as “the energy status of the device terminal, …, the device type, and the battery type” identified as “grant resource”), wherein the transmitting the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication comprises: transmitting, in the configured grant resource, the energy request (Communication method (i.e. frequency and standard) in which the request is made identified as the configuration for “grant resource”).
As to claim 4, Xu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting an indication of an energy harvesting time duration (Fig. 11 and [0088] an energy harvesting dedicated pilot (reference signal) (that may be referred to as EH-RS) is transmitted from the EH user to the EH primary serving gnB... the EH-RS is used to estimate downlink channel parameters ([0097]) which are used by the EH for energy harvesting ([0040] and Fig. 18 [0076]). The downlink parameters and EH-RS indicates a number of symbols ([0095]-[0099] and [0040]) and therefore “an energy harvesting time duration” ).
As to claim 5, Xu discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising: determining the energy harvesting time duration based on at least one of an energy harvesting rate, a number of tasks, a reference transmit power, a channel parameter ([0097] based on the EH-RS, and uses the uplink channel parameters as estimates of the downlink channel parameters), or a radio frequency-to-energy conversion parameter.
As to claim 6, Xu discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the transmitting the indication of the energy harvesting time duration comprises: transmitting an indication of a number of symbols ([0095]-[0099]… the two symbols used to design the EH-RS are discrete in both the time domain and the frequency domain. … [0097] In addition, in the case of performing energy harvesting from the cooperative base station, the EH user can transmit the EH-RS to the primary serving gNB and the secondary gNB. Each gNB estimates the uplink channel based on the EH-RS, and uses the uplink channel parameters as estimates of the downlink channel parameters…. Therefore, the gNB can use uplink channel parameters as estimates of downlink channel parameters which indicate a number of symbols and therefore “an energy harvesting time duration” .
As to claim 7, Xu discloses the method of claim 4, wherein a size of the one or more resources is based on the energy harvesting time duration [0038]-[0042] .. the information on the resource for energy harvesting may include indication information on a frame structure of the wireless signal. The indication information may include, … downlink symbols for data transmission….and symbols for energy harvesting (which hereinafter may be referred to as EH symbols) in the frame structure of the wireless signal..).
As to claim 8, Xu discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising: receiving a request for the indication of the energy harvesting time duration (Fig. 11 and [0088] an energy harvesting dedicated pilot (reference signal) (that may be referred to as EH-RS) is transmitted from the EH user to the EH primary serving gnB... [0095]-[0099]… the two symbols used to design the EH-RS are discrete in both the time domain and the frequency domain and estimates of downlink channel parameters ).
As to claim 9, Xu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication comprises: transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, the energy level indication indicating a low energy level satisfying a threshold, a low energy level failing to satisfy the threshold, a medium energy level, or a high energy level ([0083]-[0085] and [0196]-[0197] the user equipment can detect its own remaining power in real time, for example. During the communication with the DT primary serving gNB, the user can report basic information to it (i.e. Fig. 11 “Report basic information”) , including the energy status of the device terminal).
As to claim 11, Xu discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device (Methods in fig. 3-4,7 and 11. Wireless communication devices 100 and 200 in Figs. 1-2), the method comprising: receiving, from a second wireless communication device (primary and secondary serving EH), at least one of an energy request or an energy level indication ([0083]-[0085] and [0113] Specifically, the user equipment can detect its own remaining power in real time, for example. During the communication with the DT primary serving gNB, the user can report basic information to it (i.e. Fig. 11 “Report basic information”) , including the energy status of the device terminal. Once the user equipment detects that its remaining power is lower than a certain threshold, it can actively report the EH request to the primary serving gNB (i.e. Fig. 11 “Report EH request”). [0114] If the DT primary serving gNB is the base station closest to the EH user, there is no need to switch the primary serving base station); transmitting, to the second wireless communication device in response to the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication, an indication of one or more resources (“information on the resource for energy harvesting”) for transmitting a radio frequency (RF) energy harvesting signal (Fig. 11 “Report current SFI” to “select new frame structure” to “transmit handshake information. [0038]-[0042] .. the information on the resource for energy harvesting may include indication information on a frame structure of the wireless signal. The indication information may include, for example, a Slot Format Indication (SFI), which is a bit sequence used to indicate the time slot format…. the time-frequency resource… symbols for energy harvesting… downlink symbols for data transmission….and symbols for energy harvesting (which hereinafter may be referred to as EH symbols) in the frame structure of the wireless signal.. [0067] In order to transmit energy to EH users, the primary EH serving gNB re-selects an appropriate frame structure … … Then, the EH primary serving gNB can notify the EH user and the secondary gNB of the SFI corresponding to the selected frame structure through handshake information); and transmitting, to the second wireless communication device in the one or more resources, the RF energy harvesting signal ([0040] and [0076] …the user equipment to harvest energy on at least the symbols for energy harvesting… to receive data or harvest energy on the downlink symbols for data transmission).
As to claim 12, Xu discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, a configuration for a user- assistance information signaling occasion (i.e..”EH request” and “basic information” such as “the energy status of the device terminal, …, the device type, and the battery type” identified as “a user-assistance information signaling occasion”), wherein the receiving the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication: receiving, from the second wireless communication device during the user-assistance information signaling occasion, the energy request (Communication method (i.e. frequency and standard) in which the request is made identified as the configuration for “a user-assistance information signaling occasion”). .
As to claim 13, Xu discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, a configuration for a configured grant resource (i.e..”EH request” and “basic information” such as “the energy status of the device terminal, …, the device type, and the battery type” identified as “grant resource”), wherein the receiving the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication: receiving, from the second wireless communication device in the configured grant resource, the energy request (Communication method (i.e. frequency and standard) in which the request is made identified as the configuration for “grant resource”).
As to claim 14, Xu discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving, from the second wireless communication device, an indication of an energy harvesting time duration (Fig. 11 and [0088] an energy harvesting dedicated pilot (reference signal) (that may be referred to as EH-RS) is transmitted from the EH user to the EH primary serving gnB... the EH-RS is used to estimate downlink channel parameters ([0097]) which are used by the EH for energy harvesting ([0040] and Fig. 18 [0076]). The downlink parameters and EH-RS indicates a number of symbols ([0095]-[0099] and [0040]) and therefore “an energy harvesting time duration” ).
As to claim 15, Xu discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the energy harvesting time duration is based on at least one of an energy harvesting rate, a number of tasks, a reference transmit power, a channel parameter ([0097] based on the EH-RS, and uses the uplink channel parameters as estimates of the downlink channel parameters), or a radio frequency-to-energy conversion parameter.
As to claim 16, Xu discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the receiving the indication of the energy harvesting time duration comprises: receiving an indication of a number of symbols ([0095]-[0099]… the two symbols used to design the EH-RS are discrete in both the time domain and the frequency domain. … [0097] In addition, in the case of performing energy harvesting from the cooperative base station, the EH user can transmit the EH-RS to the primary serving gNB and the secondary gNB. Each gNB estimates the uplink channel based on the EH-RS, and uses the uplink channel parameters as estimates of the downlink channel parameters…. Therefore, the gNB can use uplink channel parameters as estimates of downlink channel parameters which indicate a number of symbols and therefore “an energy harvesting time duration”).
As to claim 17, Xu discloses the method of claim 14, wherein a size of the one or more resources is based on the energy harvesting time duration ([0038]-[0042] .. the information on the resource for energy harvesting may include indication information on a frame structure of the wireless signal. The indication information may include, … downlink symbols for data transmission….and symbols for energy harvesting (which hereinafter may be referred to as EH symbols) in the frame structure of the wireless signal..).
As to claim 18, Xu discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising: determining the size of the one or more resources based on at least one of the energy harvesting time duration or an energy harvesting unit resource ([0038]-[0042] .. the information on the resource for energy harvesting may include indication information on a frame structure of the wireless signal. The indication information may include, … downlink symbols for data transmission….and symbols for energy harvesting (which hereinafter may be referred to as EH symbols) in the frame structure of the wireless signal..).
As to claim 19, Xu discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising: transmitting a request for the indication of the energy harvesting time duration (Fig. 11 and [0088] an energy harvesting dedicated pilot (reference signal) (that may be referred to as EH-RS) is transmitted from the EH user to the EH primary serving gnB... [0095]-[0099]… the two symbols used to design the EH-RS are discrete in both the time domain and the frequency domain and estimates of downlink channel parameters ).
As to claim 20, Xu discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the receiving the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication comprises: receiving, from the second wireless communication device, the energy level indication indicating a low energy level satisfying a threshold, a low energy level failing to satisfy the threshold, a medium energy level, or a high energy level ([0083]-[0085] and [0196]-[0197] the user equipment can detect its own remaining power in real time, for example. During the communication with the DT primary serving gNB, the user can report basic information to it (i.e. Fig. 11 “Report basic information”) , including the energy status of the device terminal).
As to claim 23, it is based on the rejection of claim 1 and is similarly rejected and includes the following: Xu discloses the a first wireless communication device (User Equipment and Fig. 1 and [0033] an electronic device 100) comprising: a memory (an electronic device 100 for wireless communication according to the embodiment includes processing circuitry 110. The processing circuitry 110 may be implemented as, for example, a chip, a chipset, a central processing unit (CPU), or the like. [0147] In FIG. 8, a central processing unit (CPU) 1401 performs various processing based on programs stored in a read only memory (ROM) 1402); a transceiver (Fig. 11); an energy harvester ([0111] After receiving signals from multiple gNBs, the EH user converts the signals into electrical energy through an energy conversion module and stores it in the battery); and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the transceiver, and the energy harvester ([0147] In FIG. 8, a central processing unit (CPU) 1401 performs various processing based on programs stored in a read only memory (ROM) 1402).
As to claim 27, it is based on the rejection of claim 11 and is similarly rejected and includes the following: Xu discloses the a first wireless communication device (Primary and secondary serving EH gNB [0060]-[0064] and Fig. 12 and [0033] an electronic device 100) comprising: a memory (an electronic device 100 for wireless communication according to the embodiment includes processing circuitry 110. The processing circuitry 110 may be implemented as, for example, a chip, a chipset, a central processing unit (CPU), or the like. [0147] In FIG. 8, a central processing unit (CPU) 1401 performs various processing based on programs stored in a read only memory (ROM) 1402); a transceiver (Fig. 11); an energy harvester ([0111] After receiving signals from multiple gNBs, the EH user converts the signals into electrical energy through an energy conversion module and stores it in the battery); and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the transceiver, and the energy harvester ([0147] In FIG. 8, a central processing unit (CPU) 1401 performs various processing based on programs stored in a read only memory (ROM) 1402).
As to claims 24 and 28, it is based on the rejection of claims 5 and 15 and is similarly rejected.
As to claim 25 and 29, it is based on the rejection of claims 8 and 19 and is similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10,21,26, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 20220078779) in view of Moyer (US 20150333530).
As to claims 10 and 26, Xu discloses the method of claim 1.
Xu does not disclose/teach entering a sleep mode after transmitting the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication and detecting a wake-up signal (WUS) while in the sleep mode.
Moyer teaches entering a sleep mode after transmitting the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication ([0033] Additionally or alternatively, the receiver device 304 can transmit a signal indicating the battery is charged, and in response the transmitter device may enter a low power or sleep state) and detecting a wake-up signal (WUS) while in the sleep mode ([0040] hen the transmitter device 402 is in a low power or sleep state, the transmitter device 402 may wake up periodically.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Xu to enter a sleep mode after transmitting the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication and detecting a wake-up signal (WUS) while in the sleep mode in order to reducing power consumption and waste energy.
Xu in view of Moyer does not disclose/teach wherein the receiving the indication of the one or more resources is based on detecting the WUS
However it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device to wherein the receiving the indication of the one or more resources is based on detecting the WUS in order to for the electronic device to properly operate.
As to claims 21 and 30, Xu discloses the method of claim 11.
Xu does not disclose/teach detecting the second wireless communication device is operating in a sleep mode; and transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, a wake-up signal (WUS).
Moyer teaches detecting the second wireless communication device is operating in a sleep mode ([0033] Additionally or alternatively, the receiver device 304 can transmit a signal indicating the battery is charged, and in response the transmitter device may enter a low power or sleep state) and transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, a wake-up signal (WUS) ([0040] hen the transmitter device 402 is in a low power or sleep state, the transmitter device 402 may wake up periodically.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Xu to detecting the second wireless communication device is operating in a sleep mode; and transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, a wake-up signal (WUS) in order to reducing power consumption and waste energy.
Xu in view of Moyer does not disclose/teach wherein the receiving the indication of the one or more resources is based on detecting the WUS
However it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device to wherein the transmitting the indication of the one or more resources is based on the WUS in order to for the electronic device to properly operate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 22, Although the prior art discloses refraining, based on the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication, from scheduling a communication with the second wireless communication device, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“refraining, based on the at least one of the energy request or the energy level indication, from scheduling a communication with the second wireless communication device.”
Conclusion
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859