DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-20, and 22-28 is/are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, p. 3, line 9, the comma should be deleted.
In claim 15, p. 9, line 5, the comma should be deleted.
The remaining claims are dependent upon the objected to claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-20, and 22-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)/2nd ¶ as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regard as the invention.
Claim 1, p. 3, lines 12-14 recites "in accordance with the carrier tracking loop, code tracking loop, and/or channel tracking loop and clock bias". This is indefinite because it is unclear whether it means:
"in accordance with (1) the carrier tracking loop, (2) code tracking loop, and/or (3) channel tracking loop and clock bias", or
"in accordance with (1) (a) the carrier tracking loop, (b) code tracking loop, and/or (c) channel tracking loop and (2) clock bias".
Read (A), the prior art rejection of the claims could be maintained unmodified. However, since applicant's arguments on p. 16, ¶1 implies that applicant intends reading (B), the claim will be interpreted in accordance with reading (B) in comparison with the prior art in order to expedite the prosecution of this application.
Claim 15, p. 9, lines 8-10 recites "in accordance with the carrier tracking loop, code tracking loop, and/or channel tracking loop clock bias". Firstly, it appears --and-- should be added between "channel tracking loop" and "clock bias" to be consistent with claim 1 and applicant's arguments. Additionally, the claim is indefinite because it is unclear whether it means:
"in accordance with (1) the carrier tracking loop, (2) code tracking loop, and/or (3) channel tracking loop and clock bias", or
"in accordance with (1) (a) the carrier tracking loop, (b) code tracking loop, and/or (c) channel tracking loop and (2) clock bias".
Read (A), the prior art rejection of the claims could be maintained with the rejection of claim 7 added to the rejection of claim 1, and the rejection of claim 21 added to the rejection of claim 15. However, since applicant's arguments on p. 16, ¶1 implies that applicant intends reading (B), the claim will be interpreted in accordance with reading (B) in comparison with the prior art in order to expedite the prosecution of this application.
The remaining claims are dependent upon the rejected claims.
“We note that the patent drafter is in the best position to resolve the ambiguity in the patent claims, and it is highly desirable that patent examiners demand that applicants do so in appropriate circumstances so that the patent can be amended during prosecution rather than attempting to resolve the ambiguity in litigation.”, Halliburton Energy Services Inc. v. M-I LLC., 85 USPQ2d 1654 at 1663.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-20, and 22-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu '201 (EP 3742201 A1) in view of Fenton '975 (EP 0552975 A2), Dubash (US 2014/0369452 A1), and Abbott (US 6,516,021 B1). [Yu '201 was published more than a year before the priority date that each claim in this application is entitled to (where the effective filing date of a claimed invention is determined on a claim-by-claim basis), and thus Yu '201 is prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1). See also In re Chu, 36 USPQ2d 1089, section II.]
In regard to claim 1, Yu '201 discloses:
selecting a received GNSS signal as a channel, set of channels, or aggregate channel representative of the set, for acquisition to acquire the received GNSS signal that is susceptible to Doppler frequency shifts or propagation-related frequency shifts (316, Fig. 4; upper and lower channels, Fig. 3; ¶12) [where any GNSS signal is susceptible to Doppler frequency shifts caused by the satellite moving, and potentially the GNSS receiver moving, and any GNSS signal is susceptible to propagation-related frequency shifts due to signal propagation through the ionosphere];
providing a carrier frequency offset signal to generate one or more candidates of the local carrier frequency signal or local intermediate frequency (IF) signal based on evaluation of signal energy associated with correlations, each of the candidates having relative phase offsets with respect to others of the candidates (Fig. 10B; Fig. 11A; 1024, Fig. 12);
mixing the received GNSS signal and the local carrier frequency signal or local carrier intermediate frequency signal to provide a baseband signal in which a carrier of the received GNSS signal is removed (404, Fig. 4; ¶29-30);
low-pass filtering and decimating of the received samples of digital baseband signal that is encoded by a received PN sequence (410, Fig. 4-5; ¶32);
generating a buffer memory control signal to attempt to align temporally one or more received samples of the received PN sequence, or a portion thereof, in a buffer data storage device with a set of local samples of corresponding PN local sequence, or portion thereof, of a local signal or PN replica signal (signal from 420 to 414, Fig. 4; ¶36-37);
generating the set of the local samples of the local PN sequence or local PN signal with respective one or more phase offsets [by performing a code phase shift] (1212, Fig. 12; ¶53);
transferring the received samples of each scheduled received PN sequence, or portion thereof, and the corresponding local samples of the local PN sequence, or portion thereof, into a data processing module or correlators (signal from 414 to 418, Fig. 4; ¶36);
correlating, by the correlators or the data processing module, the received samples of the received PN code sequence, or portion thereof, in the buffer data storage with the respective set of local samples of the local PN sequence, or portion thereof, to pursue identification of a temporally aligned, local PN code sample associated with the corresponding selected, received GNSS signal (Fig. 6; 1214, Fig. 12; p. 2, lines 51-52; ¶52; ¶56);
generating integrations of the correlations at millisecond or sub-millisecond intervals (¶54-55); and
evaluating the signal energy of the integrations of the correlations between received samples and local samples for each sampling interval or epoch, where the candidate local carrier frequency or candidate local IF corresponding to the correlations with the greatest signal energy or magnitude with identifiable symbol transitions is indicative of acquisition of or the identification of the proper temporally aligned carrier frequency offset of the GNSS signal among the generated candidates to compensate for the Doppler frequency shifts or propagation-related frequency shifts (1214, Fig. 12; ¶86-88; ¶116).
Yu '201 fails to disclose applying adaptive or dynamic filtering to corresponding sampling intervals of the received GNSS signal to mitigate interference; mixing the filtered GNSS signal; the generating the buffer memory control signal to attempt to align temporally one or more received samples of the received PN sequence, or a portion thereof, in a buffer data storage device with a clock edge or symbol transition of the clock signal of the set of local samples of corresponding PN local sequence, or portion thereof, of the local signal or PN replica signal, the generating integrations of the correlations to identify clock edge or symbol transitions in the received PN code sequence; tracking an error based on signal energy analysis of the integrations of the correlations wherein the carrier offset signal or tracking error is configured to align the carrier frequency/carrier phase, or change in carrier phase, with respect to the code phase of the local PN sequence or PN code replica in accordance with the carrier tracking loop, code tracking loop, and/or channel tracking loop and clock bias; and the generating of the set of the local samples of the local PN sequence or local PN signal with respective one or more phase offsets being via one or more shift registers or digital delay units.
Fenton '975 teaches:
generating a buffer memory control signal to attempt to align temporally one or more received samples of a received PN sequence, or a portion thereof, in a buffer data storage device with a clock edge or symbol transition of the clock signal of the set of local samples of corresponding PN local sequence, or portion thereof, of the local signal or PN replica signal, the generating integrations of the correlations to identify clock edge or symbol transitions in the received PN code sequence (p. 7, lines 9-12);
generating a set of the local samples of the local PN sequence or local PN signal with respective one or more phase offsets being via one or more shift registers or digital delay units (p. 8, lines 55-57) [where Fenton teaches performing a code phase shift via code phase shift registers]; and
tracking an error based on signal energy analysis of the integrations of the correlations wherein the carrier offset signal or tracking error is configured to align the carrier frequency/carrier phase, or change in carrier phase, with respect to the code phase of the local PN sequence or PN code replica in accordance with (1) (a) the carrier tracking loop and/or (b) code tracking loop (Fig. 8-9; p. 9, line 44 to p. 10, line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining the clock edge of the local samples of the corresponding PN local sequence into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to more accurately determine the pseudorange and thus determine a more accurate position of the GNSS receiver.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that a more accurate position of the GNSS receiver is achieved.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the one or more shift registers into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to implement the code phase shift disclosed by Yu '201.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the code phase shift of Yu '201 is implemented.
Dubash teaches applying adaptive or dynamic filtering to corresponding sampling intervals of the received GNSS signal to mitigate interference (Fig. 2A-3B; ¶21-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the receiver of Yu '201 to determine its position even in the presence of interference in or near the some of the frequencies transmitted by the GNSS satellites. In particular, Yu '201 discloses the use of a multi-constellation multifrequency receiver (¶22), and the filter of Dubash is specifically for mitigating interference in such a receiver (¶2-3; ¶8-9).
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the position of the receiver will be accurately determined.
In the combination, Yu '201's RF-to-IF conversion (306a, 306b, Fig. 3; ¶23) corresponds to Dubash's RF-to-IF conversion (Mixer, Fig. 2A and 3A; ¶23). Yu '201's ADCs (308a, 308b, Fig. 3) corresponds to Dubash's ADCs (ADC, Fig. 2A and 3A). Thus, the filter between the RF-to-IF conversion and the ADC in Dubash would be placed between the RF-to-IF conversion and the ADC of Yu '201 in the combination. The filtered GNSS signal would then propagate from 308a/308b to 310a/310b to 316 in Fig. 3 of Yu '201. In Fig. 4, which shows the internal structure of 316, the filtered GNSS signal would propagate to 402 to mixer 404. Thus, in the combination, mixer 404 is mixing the filtered GNSS signal.
Abbott teaches tracking an error based on signal energy analysis of the integrations of the correlations wherein the carrier offset signal or tracking error is configured to align the carrier frequency/carrier phase, or change in carrier phase, with respect to the code phase of the local PN sequence or PN code replica in accordance with (2) clock bias (col. 6, lines 27-38; col. 11, lines 16-35) [in order to reduce clock instability and increase the speed of integration (and therefore position determination) (col. 5, lines 47-50; col. 6, lines 36-38; col. 6, line 67 to col. 7, line 4); where every time the navigation state vector is updated, the receive clock bias will be updated].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce clock instability and increase the speed of integration (and therefore position determination).
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the position of the GNSS receiver is determined more quickly.
In regard to claim 15, Yu '201 discloses:
a selection module configured to select a received GNSS signal as a channel, set of channels, or aggregate channel representative of the set, for acquisition to acquire the received GNSS signal that is susceptible to Doppler frequency shifts or propagation-related frequency shifts (316, Fig. 4; upper and lower channels, Fig. 3; ¶12) [where any GNSS signal is susceptible to Doppler frequency shifts caused by the satellite moving, and potentially the GNSS receiver moving, and any GNSS signal is susceptible to propagation-related frequency shifts due to signal propagation through the ionosphere];
a frequency offset module configured to provide a carrier frequency offset signal to generate one or more candidates of the local carrier frequency signal or local intermediate frequency (IF) signal based on evaluation of signal energy associated with correlations, each of the candidates having relative phase offsets with respect to others of the candidates (Fig. 10B; Fig. 11A; 1024, Fig. 12);
a mixer for mixing the received GNSS signal and the local carrier frequency signal or local carrier intermediate frequency signal to provide a baseband signal in which a carrier of the received GNSS signal is removed (404, Fig. 4; ¶29-30);
a second filter configured to low-pass filter and to decimate the received samples of digital baseband signal that is encoded by a received pseudo random noise code (PN) sequence (410, Fig. 4-5; ¶32);
a control module configured to generate a buffer memory control signal to attempt to align temporally one or more received samples of the received PN sequence, or a portion thereof, in a buffer data storage device with a set of local samples of corresponding PN local sequence, or portion thereof, of a local signal or PN replica signal (signal from 420 to 414, Fig. 4; ¶36-37);
generating the set of the local samples of the local PN sequence or local PN signal with respective one or more phase offsets (1212, Fig. 12; ¶53);
one or more memory devices configured to transfer the received samples of each scheduled received PN sequence, or portion thereof, and the corresponding local samples of the local PN sequence, or portion thereof, into a data processing module or correlators (signal from 414 to 418, Fig. 4; ¶36);
a set of correlators or the data processing module configured correlate the received samples of the received PN code sequence, or portion thereof, in a buffer data storage with the respective set of local samples of the local PN sequence, or portion thereof, to pursue identification of a temporally aligned, local PN code sample associated with the corresponding selected, received GNSS signal (Fig. 6; 1214, Fig. 12; p. 2, lines 51-52; ¶52; ¶56);
a plurality of integrators or the data processing module configured to generate integrations of the correlations at millisecond or sub-millisecond intervals to identify clock edge or symbol transitions in the received PN code sequence (¶54-55); and
a data processing module configured to evaluate the signal energy of the integrations of the correlations between received samples and local samples for each sampling interval or epoch, where the candidate local carrier frequency or candidate local IF corresponding to the correlations with the greatest signal energy or magnitude with identifiable symbol transitions is indicative of acquisition of or the identification of the proper temporally aligned carrier frequency offset of the GNSS signal among the generated candidates to compensate for the Doppler frequency shifts or propagation-related frequency shifts (1214, Fig. 12; ¶86-88; ¶116).
Yu '201 fails to disclose a first filter configured to adaptively or dynamically filter corresponding sampling intervals of the received GNSS signal to mitigate interference; mixing the filtered GNSS signal; the control module configured to generate a buffer memory control signal to attempt to align temporally one or more received samples of the received PN sequence, or a portion thereof, in a buffer data storage device with a clock edge or symbol transition of the clock signal of a set of local samples of corresponding PN local sequence, or portion thereof, of a local signal or PN replica signal, a plurality of integrators or the data processing module configured to generate integrations of the correlations at millisecond or sub-millisecond intervals to identify clock edge or symbol transitions in the received PN code sequence; and one or more shift registers or digital delay units configured to perform the generating of the set of the local samples of the local PN sequence or local PN signal with respective one or more phase offsets; and wherein the data processing module or a tracking module is configured to track an error based on signal energy analysis of the integrations of the correlations wherein the carrier offset signal or tracking error is configured to align the carrier frequency/carrier phase, or change in carrier phase, with respect to the code phase of the local PN sequence or PN code replica in accordance with the carrier tracking loop, code tracking loop, and/or channel tracking loop clock bias.
Fenton '975 teaches:
generating a buffer memory control signal to attempt to align temporally one or more received samples of the received PN sequence, or a portion thereof, in a buffer data storage device with a clock edge or symbol transition of the clock signal of a set of local samples of corresponding PN local sequence, or portion thereof, of a local signal or PN replica signal, a plurality of integrators or the data processing module configured to generate integrations of the correlations at millisecond or sub-millisecond intervals to identify clock edge or symbol transitions in the received PN code sequence (p. 7, lines 9-12);
generating a set of the local samples of the local PN sequence or local PN signal with respective one or more phase offsets being via one or more shift registers or digital delay units (p. 8, lines 55-57) [where Fenton teaches performing a code phase shift via code phase shift registers]; and
wherein the data processing module or a tracking module is configured to track an error based on signal energy analysis of the integrations of the correlations wherein the carrier offset signal or tracking error is configured to align the carrier frequency/carrier phase, or change in carrier phase, with respect to the code phase of the local PN sequence or PN code replica in accordance with (1) (a) the carrier tracking loop and/or (b) code tracking loop (Fig. 8-9; p. 9, line 44 to p. 10, line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining the clock edge of the local samples of the corresponding PN local sequence into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to more accurately determine the pseudorange and thus determine a more accurate position of the GNSS receiver.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that a more accurate position of the GNSS receiver is achieved.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the one or more shift registers into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to implement the code phase shift disclosed by Yu '201.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the code phase shift of Yu '201 is implemented.
Dubash teaches a first filter configured to adaptively or dynamically filter corresponding sampling intervals of the received GNSS signal to mitigate interference (Fig. 2A-3B; ¶21-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the receiver of Yu '201 to determine its position even in the presence of interference in or near the some of the frequencies transmitted by the GNSS satellites. In particular, Yu '201 discloses the use of a multi-constellation multifrequency receiver (¶22), and the filter of Dubash is specifically for mitigating interference in such a receiver (¶2-3; ¶8-9).
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the position of the receiver will be accurately determined.
In the combination, Yu '201's RF-to-IF conversion (306a, 306b, Fig. 3; ¶23) corresponds to Dubash's RF-to-IF conversion (Mixer, Fig. 2A and 3A; ¶23). Yu '201's ADCs (308a, 308b, Fig. 3) corresponds to Dubash's ADCs (ADC, Fig. 2A and 3A). Thus, the filter between the RF-to-IF conversion and the ADC in Dubash would be placed between the RF-to-IF conversion and the ADC of Yu '201 in the combination. The filtered GNSS signal would then propagate from 308a/308b to 310a/310b to 316 in Fig. 3 of Yu '201. In Fig. 4, which shows the internal structure of 316, the filtered GNSS signal would propagate to 402 to mixer 404. Thus, in the combination, mixer 404 is mixing the filtered GNSS signal.
Abbott teaches tracking an error based on signal energy analysis of the integrations of the correlations wherein the carrier offset signal or tracking error is configured to align the carrier frequency/carrier phase, or change in carrier phase, with respect to the code phase of the local PN sequence or PN code replica in accordance with (2) clock bias (col. 6, lines 27-38; col. 11, lines 16-35) [in order to reduce clock instability and increase the speed of integration (and therefore position determination) (col. 5, lines 47-50; col. 6, lines 36-38; col. 6, line 67 to col. 7, line 4); where every time the navigation state vector is updated, the receive clock bias will be updated].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce clock instability and increase the speed of integration (and therefore position determination).
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the position of the GNSS receiver is determined more quickly.
In regard to claims 2 and 16, Yu '201 further discloses the integrators or the data processing module configured to generate multiple sub-millisecond integrations from the correlations or accumulations in the data storage device, the data processing module, or both to attempt to align temporally one or more received samples of the received PN sequence, or a portion thereof, in a buffer data storage device with a set of local samples of corresponding PN local sequence, or portion thereof, of a local signal or PN replica signal, for a corresponding GNSS channel or set of GNSS channels based on a data hypothesis consistent with publicly available specifications of the received PN code sequence (p. 7, lines 9-12) [where the locally generated code is generated based on code specifications].
Fenton '975 further teaches searching for bit or word transitions, as identifiable symbol transitions, in the received PN sequence, or portion thereof (p. 8, lines 55-57).
In regard to claims 3 and 17, Yu '201 further discloses the integrators or the data processing module configured to generate multiple sub-millisecond integrations from the correlations or accumulations in the data storage device, in data registers of the data processing module, or both to attempt to align temporally one or more received samples of the received PN sequence, or a portion thereof, in a buffer data storage device with a set of local samples of corresponding PN local sequence, or portion thereof, of a local signal or PN replica signal, for a corresponding GNSS channel or set of GNSS channels based on one or more of the following associated with the selected received GNSS signal: a recorded pilot PN sequence, a stored pilot PN sequence, a coherent integration period, a data/overlay code pattern, and code specifications (¶54-55) [where the locally generated code is generated based on code specifications].
Fenton '975 further teaches searching for bit or word transitions, as identifiable symbol transitions, in the received PN sequence, or portion thereof (p. 8, lines 55-57).
In regard to claims 4 and 18, Yu '201 further discloses an evaluator or the data processing module configured to evaluate the signal energy of the integrations of the correlations or accumulations based on Fourier transform signal products (Fig. 7; Fig. 10B; p. 4, lines 1-5; ¶58).
Fenton '975 further teaches an evaluator or the data processing module configured to evaluate the signal energy of the integrations of the correlations or accumulations based on dot product power or substantially coherent dot product power of various in-phase (I) components, and quadrature components (Q) with different time/phase offsets of the received GNSS signal (p. 9, lines 12-42).
In regard to claims 5 and 19, Yu '201 further discloses after the proper temporally aligned carrier frequency offset is identified, the Fourier transform signal products comprise fast Fourier transform signal products or discrete Fourier transform signal products (Fig. 7; Fig. 10B; p. 4, lines 1-5; ¶58).
Fenton '975 further teaches dot product power of various in-phase (I) components, and quadrature components (Q) with different time offsets comprising early, prompt and late time offsets arising from processing the output of one or more correlators of the acquisition engine, and carrier loop discriminators and/or code loop discriminators (p. 9, lines 12-42).
In regard to claims 6 and 20, Yu '201 further discloses the GNSS received signal comprises a L1 C/A (coarse-acquisition signal) or a L2C signal that is modulated with a navigation data message (¶11-12).
In regard to claims 8 and 22, Yu '201 further discloses configuring a control module or electronic data processor of the GNSS receiver for signal acquisition and correlation, wherein the signal acquisition parameters comprise any of the following: a coherent integration period and data/overlay code pattern or code specifications based on the selected GNSS signal (¶54-55) [where the locally generated code is generated based on code specifications].
In regard to claims 9 and 23, Yu '201 further discloses the control module or electronic data processing module controlling the state of one or more of: a bit pattern selection signal, a coherent integration signal, a Fourier transform selection signal (¶116), a load stored PN sequence signal, a carrier frequency offset signal (¶30), and buffer memory control signal (signal from 420 to 414, Fig. 4; ¶36-37).
In regard to claims 10 and 24, Yu '201 further discloses the plurality of integrators or data processing module configured process an integration time at a higher acquisition integration rate than a lower steady-state tracking rate for carrier, code and/or clock loops, providing a data bit pattern selection signal or a control signal for the data processing module to make and store various ranked combinations of products or dot products of Fourier transforms with greatest signal power, where the signal power comprises maximum power density or maximum signal magnitude over a frequency range of interest at the current code shift associated with the correlating (1214, Fig. 12; ¶86-88; ¶116) [where the selection is ranking a hypothesis with a highest ranking, and ranking to other hypotheses with a lower ranking].
In regard to claims 11 and 25, Yu '201 further discloses:
after making and evaluating and ranking combinations of products, or time-integrated products of discrete Fourier transforms and/or fast Fourier transforms, the GNSS receiver, shifting by one sample the PN pilot sequence in one or more registers of the processing module or data storage device (¶52);
repeating a correlation process by correlating the shifted pilot PN sequence with the local code replica of the PN sequence until a sufficient number of the code phases in the data storage device or registers have been evaluated to acquire or pull-in the carrier frequency of the selected, received GNSS signal that is compensated for Doppler frequency shift or propagation-related frequency shift (1206, Fig. 12; ¶55) [where selecting the time/frequency combination with the peak correlation compensates for Doppler frequency shift or propagation-related frequency shift].
In regard to claims 12 and 26, Yu '201 further discloses if a maximum integration, at the selected carrier frequency, is sufficiently above a threshold, the selected carrier frequency and the code shift is used to pull-in, initialize or establish preliminary, substantially coherent tracking of carrier phase and code phase on a GNSS channel that conforms to a reference spectral energy density, minimum signal quality or minimum signal-to-noise ratio, the code search for a PN on the GNSS channel, set of GNSS channels, or aggregate GNSS channel representative of the set of the GNSS channels, is completed (¶90; ¶99).
In regard to claim 13, Yu '201 further discloses the low-pass filtering and decimating of the digital baseband signal includes reducing a sampling rate of the baseband signal (410, Fig. 4-5; ¶32) [where decimating by definition reduces the sampling rate]; and quantizing the filtered signal to reduce possible quantization levels for storage in a buffer data storage device (308a, 308b, Fig. 3; ¶24; ¶76).
In regard to claim 27, Yu '201 further discloses the second filter is configured to filter with a low-pass filter signal-magnitude-versus-frequency response and to decimate of the digital baseband signal to reduce a sampling rate of the baseband signal; and quantize the filtered signal to reduce possible quantization levels for storage in a buffer data storage device (308a, 308b, Fig. 3; ¶24; ¶76) [where a low-pass filter passes signals at low frequencies and blocks signals at high frequencies, i.e., has a signal-magnitude-versus-frequency response].
In regard to claim 14, Yu '201 further discloses providing the carrier frequency offset signal to generate one or more candidates of the local carrier frequency signal or local intermediate frequency (IF) signal is based on a frequency hypothesis, and the frequency hypothesis is configured to depend upon the GNSS satellite (¶59).
In regard to claim 28, Yu '201 further discloses the frequency offset module (Fig. 10B; Fig. 11A; 1024, Fig. 12; ¶30) is configured to provide the carrier frequency offset signal to generate one or more candidates of the local carrier frequency signal or local intermediate frequency (IF) signal based on a frequency hypothesis, and the frequency hypothesis is configured to depend upon the GNSS satellite (¶59).
The following reference(s) is/are also found relevant:
Syrjarinne (US 2022/0137234 A1), which teaches mitigating interference by the selection of frequency bands (¶15-16; ¶24; ¶28).
Fenton '700 (US 2007/0058700 A1), which teaches generating a buffer memory control signal to attempt to align temporally one or more received samples of the received PN sequence, or a portion thereof, in a buffer data storage device with a clock edge or symbol transition of the clock signal of a set of local samples of corresponding PN local sequence, or portion thereof, of a local signal or PN replica signal, a plurality of integrators or the data processing module configured to generate integrations of the correlations at millisecond or sub-millisecond intervals to identify clock edge or symbol transitions in the received PN code sequence (¶44; ¶50); and generating of a set of the local samples of the local PN sequence or local PN signal with respective one or more phase offsets being via one or more shift registers or digital delay units (¶45; ¶47).
Xu (CN 1323101 A), which teaches generating a buffer memory control signal to attempt to align temporally one or more received samples of the received PN sequence, or a portion thereof, in a buffer data storage device with a clock edge or symbol transition of the clock signal of a set of local samples of corresponding PN local sequence, or portion thereof, of a local signal or PN replica signal, a plurality of integrators or the data processing module configured to generate integrations of the correlations at millisecond or sub-millisecond intervals to identify clock edge or symbol transitions in the received PN code sequence; and generating of a set of the local samples of the local PN sequence or local PN signal with respective one or more phase offsets being via one or more shift registers or digital delay units (p. 2, ¶4; p. 3, ¶7; p. 5, ¶4).
Gervais (FR 2668671 A1), which teaches generating a buffer memory control signal to attempt to align temporally one or more received samples of the received PN sequence, or a portion thereof, in a buffer data storage device with a clock edge or symbol transition of the clock signal of a set of local samples of corresponding PN local sequence, or portion thereof, of a local signal or PN replica signal, a plurality of integrators or the data processing module configured to generate integrations of the correlations at millisecond or sub-millisecond intervals to identify clock edge or symbol transitions in the received PN code sequence (p. 4, ¶4-9).
Feller (US 2007/0064776 A1), which teaches generating a buffer memory control signal to attempt to align temporally one or more received samples of the received PN sequence, or a portion thereof, in a buffer data storage device with a clock edge or symbol transition of the clock signal of a set of local samples of corresponding PN local sequence, or portion thereof, of a local signal or PN replica signal, a plurality of integrators or the data processing module configured to generate integrations of the correlations at millisecond or sub-millisecond intervals to identify clock edge or symbol transitions in the received PN code sequence (¶41; ¶44).
Applicant is encouraged to consider these documents in formulating their response (if one is required) to this Office Action, in order to expedite prosecution of this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on p. 13-16. with respect to the prior art rejection(s) have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the limitation added to claim 1 is not taught by the cited references, emphasizing the language "and clock bias".
However, it is noted that the language "in accordance with the carrier tracking loop, code tracking loop, and/or channel tracking loop and clock bias" can be interpreted in two ways:
"in accordance with (1) the carrier tracking loop, (2) code tracking loop, and/or (3) channel tracking loop and clock bias", or
"in accordance with (1) (a) the carrier tracking loop, (b) code tracking loop, and/or (c) channel tracking loop and (2) clock bias".
When interpreted as (A), the prior art rejection of the claims could have been maintained with the rejection of claim 7 added to the rejection of claim 1, and the rejection of claim 21 added to the rejection of claim 15. However, applicant's emphasis of the language "and clock bias" implies that applicant intends reading (B). Even interpreting the claims in this manner in order to expedite the prosecution of this application, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment of 9-23-2025 necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, e.g., claim(s) 1 was/were amended, necessitating the new grounds of rejection. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Fred H. Mull
Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/F. H. M./
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645