DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-17, 23-24, 26-28, and 31-32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2022/0210667 A1) in view of in view of Varatharaajan et al. (US 2022/0123799 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 25, Fan discloses:
a user equipment (UE) (fig.11 depicts a wireless communications apparatus for wireless communications) for wireless communication (fig.11 depicts a wireless communications network comprising a plurality mobile stations), comprising:
a memory (fig.11 depicts a memory element 1102); and
one or more processors (fig.11 depicts a processor in a UE), coupled to the memory (fig.11 depicts the memory and processor as being communicatively coupled), configured to perform a method comprising:
receive a configuration (par.[0004] describes a network forwarding a configuration to the mobile device) of a least one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (par.[0004] which recites, in part, “A terminal device receives configuration information from a network device, where the configuration information includes a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set,”) including at least five SRS resource or at least two SRS resource sets collectively including the at least five SRS resources (par.[0004] describes the SRS resource set as comprising one or more SRS resources, see e.g. “ the SRS resource set includes N SRS resources, and N is an integer greater than 0”. As can be seen the value N must be greater than 0, thus, the N could include 5 or more SRS resources. Thus, the SRS resource set could comprise 5 or more SRS resources based on N is greater than 0), each SRS resource, of the at least five SRS resources, corresponding to an SRS port of at least five SRS ports (par.[0005 – 0006] describes the SRS Ports correspond to the value of the SRS resources. Par.[0102] which recites, in part, “Alternatively, this may be described as that each SRS resource corresponds to one or more antenna ports.”);
receive downlink control information indicating a set of selected SRS resource, including the at least five SRS resources (par.[0104] wherein the network devices sends DCI wherein the DCI includes the SRI which corresponds to SRS resources in a Resource Set. The M value corresponds to the selected SRS resources in the resource set not to exceed the N value of the total amount of SRS resources included in the SRS resource set.), for an uplink transmission (par.[0104] describes forwarding, on the uplink, using the M SRS resources corresponding to the N SRS resources in the SRS resource Set signaled initially by the terminal device ) wherein an SRS resource indicator field (par.[0030] describes the SRI field) of the downlink control information (par.[0030] describes the SRI being transmitted in the downlink control information); and
wherein the uplink transmission is a non-codebook uplink transmission (par.[0020] which describes an uplink non-codebook transmission);
transmit the uplink transmission based at least in part on the set of selected SRS resources (par.[0105] which recites, that the terminal device sends uplink data by the M SRS resources which were signaled in the DCI).
As can be seen above, Fan discloses:
forwarding by the base station to the mobile device a SRS resource set configuration and further discloses that a DCI is sent with an SRI.
The disclosure of Fan may not teach:
wherein the configuration is an SRS resource set radio resource control (RRC) configuration, and wherein the at least one SRS resource set indicates the at least five SRS resources based at least in part on SRS resource identifier (ID) parameter of the at least five SRS resources;
wherein an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field of the downlink control information indicates a set of SRS ports, wherein the uplink transmission is a non-codebook transmission that includes at least five layers; and
wherein the set of selected SRS resources includes the at least five SRS resources includes the at least five SRS resources based at least in part on the non-codebook uplink transmission including the at least five layers.
However, the above technique was known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application. For example, the disclosure Varatharaajan teaches:
wherein the configuration is an SRS resource set (par.[0008] describes a plurality of SRS resource sets, which is sent/set by higher layer signaling) radio resource control (RRC) configuration (par.[0008] the higher layer signaling and RRC), and wherein the at least one SRS resource set indicates the at least five SRS resources based at least in part on SRS resource identifier (ID) parameter of the at least five SRS resources (par.[0028] as the SRI is included in the DCI and indicates the ‘r’ SRS resources, also, par.[0032] the at least five SRS resources as discussed, that is ‘r’ resources are indicated by the SRI which can be at least 5);
wherein an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field (par.[0028] which describes the SRI) of the downlink control information (par.[0028] describes the SRI in the Downlink Control Information) indicates a set of SRS ports (par.[0028] the DCI with SRI wherein the SRI includes the ‘r’ SRS resources. It is noted that SRS ports are resources), wherein the uplink transmission is a non-codebook transmission that includes at least five layers (par.[0031 – 0032] which describes non-codebook uplink transmission with at least five layers);
wherein the SRS resource indicator field indicates a set of SRS ports (par.[0034] describes TPMI values in the SRI fields which indicates ports that correspond to a SRS resource), wherein the uplink transmission is a non-codebook uplink transmission (par.[0003] describes non-codebook uplink transmission) that includes at least five layers, and wherein the set of selected SRS resources includes the at least five SRS resources based at least in part on the non-codebook uplink transmission including the at least five layers (par.[0034] describes the SRS resources comprising a one-to-one mapping with DMRS ports (e.g. non-codebook allows for one port per SRS resource), the ports corresponding to the transmission layers on the PUSCH. The disclosure teaches that a SRS resource set may comprise one or more SRS resources, (see e.g. par.[0070]. Thus, when a resource set comprises one or more SRS resource, see e.g. par.[0029] which discloses that the resource set comprises one or more resources) and a UE is configured with at least 2 SRS resource sets, see e.g. par.[0032] which recites, in part, “configuring at least two SRS resource sets for a UE via a higher layer, wherein each SRS resource set comprises at least one SRS resource, and wherein the higher layer configuration of the SRS comprises a parameter usage and the value of the parameter is set to nonCodebook …….”. With the above disclosure the UE is capable of receiving at least 5 SRS resources across different sets, wherein the resource sets may allocate one or more (e.g. at least 5) SRS resources. The SRS resources corresponds to DMRS ports which correspond to individual transmission layers of the uplink transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the techniques as discussed in Fan for forwarding a DCI with SRI therein, with the method as discussed in Varatharaajan for mapping the DMRS ports to transmission layers. The motivation/suggestion would have been to provide a mechanism for uplink transmission using correct ports which corresponds to SRS and beams associated with said ports.
Regarding claims 2, 14, and 26, Fan discloses:
wherein the downlink control information indicating the set of selected SRS resources comprises one or more SRI fields identifying the set of selected SRS resources (par.[0009] which recites, in part, “In a possible design, the determining the M SRS resources by using the SRI field”, and par.[0104] which teaches that the SRI field is the SRS Resource Indicator field).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Fan discloses:
wherein the at least one SRS resource set comprises a single SRS resource set including the at least five SRS resources (par.[0004] describes the SRS resource set as comprising one or more SRS resources, see e.g. “ the SRS resource set includes N SRS resources, and N is an integer greater than 0”. As can be seen the value N must be greater than, thus, the N could include 5 or more. Thus, the SRS resource set could comprise 5 or more SRS resources based on N is greater than 0).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Fan discloses:
wherein the set of SRS ports correspond to the set of selected SRS resources (par.[0005 – 0006] describes the SRS Ports correspond to the value of the SRS resources. Par.[0102] which recites, in part, “Alternatively, this may be described as that each SRS resource corresponds to one or more antenna ports.”).
Regarding claim 5 and 17, Fan discloses:
wherein the at least two SRS resource sets include a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set (par.[0101 – 0102] describes the SRS resource set configuration as comprising one or more SRS resource sets).
Regarding claims 11 and 23, Fan discloses:
wherein the uplink transmission is a non-codebook physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (par.[0081] describes codebook and non-codebook uplink transmissions).
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Fan discloses:
wherein the at least one SRS resource set or the at least two SRS resource sets are associated with a non-codebook usage (par.[0164] which recites, in part, “The configuration information includes an SRS resource set whose usage (usage) parameter is a non-codebook (non-codebook), there is one or more SRS resource sets, and the SRS resource set includes a plurality of SRS resources.”) and wherein the at least two SRS resource sets comprise two SRS resource sets (par.[0032] as discussed above wherein the resources are split between two resources sets, thus the two resource sets comprise two SRS resource sets comprising resources).
Regarding claim 27, Varatharaajan discloses:
Wherein the at least two SRS resource sets collectively indicate that least five SRS resources based at least in part on the SRS resource ID parameter of the at least five SRS resources (par.[0028] as the SRI is included in the DCI and indicates the ‘r’ SRS resources, also, par.[0032] the at least five SRS resources as discussed, that is ‘r’ resources are indicated by the SRI which can be at least 5) and wherein the SRS resource set RRC configuration is associated with a set index (par.[0061] describes the SRS resource set index, and par.[0008] describes the resources sets being sent via higher layer signaling).
Regarding claims 13 and 28, Fan discloses:
a network node (fig.11 depicts a network node for wireless communications) for wireless communication (fig.1 depicts a wireless communications network), comprising:
a memory (fig.11 element 1102 depicts a memory); and
one or more processors (fig.11 depicts a processor), coupled to the memory (fig.11 depicts a processor and memory coupled together), configured to perform a method comprising:
receive and/or transmit a configuration (par.[0004] describes a network forwarding a configuration to the mobile device) of a least one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (par.[0004] which recites, in part, “A terminal device receives configuration information from a network device, where the configuration information includes a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set,”) including at least five SRS resource or at least two SRS resource sets collectively including the at least five SRS resources (par.[0004] describes the SRS resource set as comprising one or more SRS resources, see e.g. “ the SRS resource set includes N SRS resources, and N is an integer greater than 0”. As can be seen the value N must be greater than, thus, the N could include 5 or more. Thus, the SRS resource set could comprise 5 or more SRS resources based on N is greater than 0), each SRS resource, of the at least five SRS resources, corresponding to an SRS port of at least five SRS ports (par.[0005 – 0006] describes the SRS Ports correspond to the value of the SRS resources. Par.[0102] which recites, in part, “Alternatively, this may be described as that each SRS resource corresponds to one or more antenna ports.”); and
transmit downlink control information indicating a set of selected SRS resource, including the at least five SRS resources (par.[0104] wherein the network devices sends DCI wherein the DCI includes the SRI which corresponds to SRS resources in a Resource Set. The M value corresponds to the selected SRS resources in the resource set not to exceed the N value of the total amount of SRS resources included in the SRS resource set.), for an uplink transmission (par.[0104] describes forwarding, on the uplink, using the M SRS resources corresponding to the N SRS resources in the SRS resource Set signaled initially by the terminal device ).
As can be seen above, Fan discloses:
forwarding by the base station to the mobile device a SRS resource set configuration and further discloses that a DCI is sent with an SRI.
The disclosure of Fan may not teach:
wherein the configuration is an SRS resource set radio resource control (RRC) configuration, and wherein the at least one SRS resource set indicates the at least five SRS resources based at least in part on SRS resource identifier (ID) parameter of the at least five SRS resources;
wherein an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field of the downlink control information indicates a set of SRS ports, wherein the uplink transmission is a non-codebook transmission that includes at least five layers; and
wherein the set of selected SRS resources includes the at least five SRS resources includes the at least five SRS resources based at least in part on the non-codebook uplink transmission including the at least five layers.
However, the above technique was known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application. For example, the disclosure Varatharaajan teaches:
wherein the configuration is an SRS resource set (par.[0008] describes a plurality of SRS resource sets, which is sent/set by higher layer signaling) radio resource control (RRC) configuration (par.[0008] the higher layer signaling and RRC), and wherein the at least one SRS resource set indicates the at least five SRS resources based at least in part on SRS resource identifier (ID) parameter of the at least five SRS resources (par.[0028] as the SRI is included in the DCI and indicates the ‘r’ SRS resources, also, par.[0032] the at least five SRS resources as discussed, that is ‘r’ resources are indicated by the SRI which can be at least 5);
wherein an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field (par.[0028] which describes the SRI) of the downlink control information (par.[0028] describes the SRI in the Downlink Control Information) indicates a set of SRS ports (par.[0028] the DCI with SRI wherein the SRI includes the ‘r’ SRS resources. It is noted that SRS ports are resources), wherein the uplink transmission is a non-codebook transmission that includes at least five layers (par.[0031 – 0032] which describes non-codebook uplink transmission with at least five layers);
wherein the SRS resource indicator field indicates a set of SRS ports (par.[0034] describes TPMI values in the SRI fields which indicates ports that correspond to a SRS resource), wherein the uplink transmission is a non-codebook uplink transmission (par.[0003] describes non-codebook uplink transmission) that includes at least five layers, and wherein the set of selected SRS resources includes the at least five SRS resources based at least in part on the non-codebook uplink transmission including the at least five layers (par.[0034] describes the SRS resources comprising a one-to-one mapping with DMRS ports (e.g. non-codebook allows for one port per SRS resource), the ports corresponding to the transmission layers on the PUSCH. The disclosure teaches that a SRS resource set may comprise one or more SRS resources, (see e.g. par.[0070]. Thus, when a resource set comprises one or more SRS resource, see e.g. par.[0029] which discloses that the resource set comprises one or more resources) and a UE is configured with at least 2 SRS resource sets, see e.g. par.[0032] which recites, in part, “configuring at least two SRS resource sets for a UE via a higher layer, wherein each SRS resource set comprises at least one SRS resource, and wherein the higher layer configuration of the SRS comprises a parameter usage and the value of the parameter is set to nonCodebook …….”. With the above disclosure the UE is capable of receiving at least 5 SRS resources across different sets, wherein the resource sets may allocate one or more (e.g. at least 5) SRS resources. The SRS resources corresponds to DMRS ports which correspond to individual transmission layers of the uplink transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the techniques as discussed in Fan for forwarding a DCI with SRI therein, with the method as discussed in Varatharaajan for mapping the DMRS ports to transmission layers. The motivation/suggestion would have been to provide a mechanism for uplink transmission using correct ports which corresponds to SRS and beams associated with said ports.
Regarding claim 31, Varatharaajan discloses:
wherein the non-codebook uplink transmission includes a number of layers, and wherein the set of selected SRS resources includes a number of SRS resources that is the same as the number of layers based at least in part on the non-codebook uplink transmission including the number of layers (As discussed above, the SRS resource set can comprise one or more SRS resources as discussed in both Fan and Varatharaajan, thus, additionally, they each disclose the allocation of multiple SRS resource sets comprising multiple resources, thus a UE could potentially receive a SRS resource set with at least one, or five, or more SRS resources. Additionally, the SRI is used to indicate the SRS resources and resource sets used for uplink transmission, the SRS resources are mapped to one only one port in non-codebook, and the port is mapped to an SRS port, which is then mapped to a transmission layer. Thus, when the UE has 5 SRS reference signals to transmit each mapped to one SRS port, wherein the SRS port is mapped to a DMRS port, which is then mapped to an individual transmission layer. As DMRS ports are essentially antenna ports, and correspond with individual layers).
Regarding claim 32, Varatharaajan discloses:
wherein the non-codebook uplink transmission includes five layers, and wherein the set of selected SRS resources includes five SRS resources based at least in part on the non-codebook uplink transmission including the five layers (As discussed above, the SRS resource set can comprise one or more SRS resources as discussed in both Fan and Varatharaajan, additionally, they each disclose the allocation of multiple SRS resource sets comprising multiple resources, thus a UE could potentially receive a SRS resource set with at least one, five, or more SRS resources. Additionally, the SRI is used to indicate the SRS resources and resource sets used for uplink transmission, the SRS resources are mapped to one only one port in non-codebook, and the port is mapped to an SRS port, which is then mapped to a transmission layer. Thus, when the UE has 5 SRS reference signals to transmit each mapped to one SRS port, wherein the SRS port is mapped to a DMRS port, which is then mapped to an individual transmission layer. As DMRS ports are essentially antenna ports, and correspond with individual layers.).
Claim(s) 6-10, 18-22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan and Varatharaajan as applied to claim 3, in view of Lin et al. (US 2024/0372669 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Fan and Varatharaajan discloses:
as discussed above the disclosure of Fan teaches forwarding an SRI to the mobile device, but does not disclose:
wherein a second SRI field of the downlink control information indicates a proper subset of the set of selected SRS resources, and wherein a third SRI field of the downlink control information indicates a remainder of the set of selected SRS resources, other than the proper subset of the set of selected SRS resources.
However, the above technique was known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application for example, the disclosure of Lin teaches:
wherein a second SRI field of the downlink control information indicates a proper subset of the set of selected SRS resources, and wherein a third SRI field of the downlink control information indicates a remainder of the set of selected SRS resources, other than the proper subset of the set of selected SRS resources (par.[0041] which recites, in part, “In some embodiments, the at least one first message comprises at least two SRI fields corresponding to the at least two subsets of SRS resources.” And par.[0040] wherein the one subset listed in one of the two SRI fields comprises less than the entirety of the SRS resources. Wherein the at least 2 SRI fields being a second or third field in a plurality of fields).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the control information signaling methods as discussed in Fan with the control signaling methods as discussed in the Lin. The motivation/suggestion would have been to efficiently manage the transmission of control and data information over the ran in a logical and efficient manner to improve throughput and resource utilization (Lin: par.[0004 – 0005]).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Lin discloses:
wherein the proper subset includes a first number of SRS resources and the remainder includes a second number of SRS resources, wherein the first number differs from the second number by one (par.[0022] describes 8 SRS resources being configured at the UE. Par.[0025] describes each of the SRI subsets comprising equal number of resources or rather the fields comprising less than or equal to 4 SRS resources. Par.[0020] describes up to 8 SRS resources being configured to the UE).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Lin discloses:
wherein the first number is greater than the second number (par.[0025] describes at least one subset indicated in one of the first and second SRI being greater than or equal to the second number).
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Lin discloses:
wherein the first number is lesser than the second number (par.[0025] which teaches that either the first and second SRI being equal or the one or the first SRI and second SRI being greater, making the other SRI less than the other).
Regarding claims 10 and 22, Lin discloses:
wherein the first SRS resource set includes up to four SRS resources and the second SRS resource set includes up to four SRS resources (par.[0020] describes up to 8 SRS resources, and par.[0025] describes that 4 SRS resources may be indicated in each SRI).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-28 and 31-32, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Harrison et al. (US 2019/0103949 A1) “Efficient SRS Resource Indication Methods”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411