DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 8, and 10-13 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomes (US 20220155390), hereinafter Gomes, in view of Taracila et al (US 20180120391), hereinafter, Taracila.
Regarding claim 1, Gomes teaches a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus (220) (1100) (1200) comprising:
a static magnetic field magnet (230) (1130) configured to generate a static magnetic field having a magnetic field strength that changes spatially (“the housing comprises a permanent magnet for providing an inhomogeneous permanent gradient field" [0003]; “As shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, the housing 220 includes a permanent magnet 230... As shown in FIGS. 2C and 2D, the permanent magnet 230 can include a plurality of magnets disposed in an array configuration.” [0057]; “In accordance with various embodiments, the housing includes a permanent magnet for providing an inhomogeneous permanent gradient field" [0263]; Figs. 2A-D, 11);
a plurality of radio frequency coils (“FIG. 6A is an example schematic illustration of a radio frequency receive coil (RF-RX) array including individual coil elements” [0020]) including a transmitter coil (240) (320) (“As shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, the housing 220 includes …a radio frequency transmit coil 240” [0057]; “FIG. 3 is a schematic view of an implementation of a magnetic imaging apparatus 300, according to various embodiments. As shown in FIG. 3, the apparatus 300 includes a radio frequency transmit coil 320 that projects the RF power outwards away from the coil 320.” [0065]) configured to transmit a radio frequency pulse to a subject (“the coil 320 generates a magnetic field that is pulsed at a radio frequency between about 1 kHz and about 1 GHz" [0074]; Fig. 3) and a plurality of receiver coils tuned to different frequencies (“a RF-RX coil array with elements tuned to frequencies that are dependent upon the spatial inhomogeneity of the magnetic field" [0108]; “the RF-RX array can be comprised of individual coil elements that are each tuned to a variety of frequencies. The appropriate frequency can be chosen, for example, to match the frequency of the magnetic field located at the specific spatial location where the specific coil is located. Because the magnetic field can vary as a function of space, as shown in FIG. 6A, the field and frequency of the coil can be adjusted to approximately match the spatial location. Here the coils can be designed to image the field locations B1, B2, and B3, which are physically separated along a single axis" [0110]) and configured to receive a nuclear magnetic resonance signal generated from a subject (1100) (Fig. 10) by an influence of the radio frequency pulse (“the coil 320 generates a magnetic field that is pulsed at a radio frequency between about 1 kHz and about 1 GHz" [0074]; Fig. 3) transmitted to the subject (“a RF-RX coil array with elements tuned to frequencies that are dependent upon the spatial inhomogeneity of the magnetic field" [0108]. “Upon receiving the waveform, the radio frequency transmit system 1240 causes the spins in the target subject to generate a signal, which is detected by the radio frequency receive system 1270. This radio frequency receive system 1270 is also activated and manipulated with a blanking and tuning signal.” [0202]; Fig. 12), the subject being placed in the static magnetic field having a magnetic field strength that changes spatially (“The plurality of magnets of the permanent magnet 230 are illustrated to cover an entire surface as shown in the front view of FIG. 2C and illustrated as bars in a horizontal direction as shown in the side view of FIG. 2D. As shown in FIG. 2A, the main permanent magnet might include an access aperture 235 for accessing the patient from multiple sides of the system.” [0057]); and
processing circuitry (1212) configured to:
control the transmitter coil to transmit the radio frequency pulse in a band including a plurality of frequencies (“up to about 200 kHz”) tuned according to at least a distribution of the static magnetic field (“In accordance with various embodiments, a scanner is provided that has a permanent gradient, specially optimized using small magnet elements arranged in a pattern to create a weak enough gradient to allow for a wide RF bandwidth excitation up to about 200 kHz but strong enough for spatial encoding in the permanent magnet direction. The scanner can also have an RF coil that has multiple legs to increase overall field strength that allows for strong and uniform excitation of a wide range of bandwidth with adiabatic pulses." [0173] “The imaging system 1310 includes a radio frequency transmit system 1340, a tuning box 1312" [0205]; Fig. 13. “In accordance with various embodiments, the system is controlled by the tuning box 1312, which alters the frequency response of the transmit coil 1348" [0206]);
control each of the receiver coils to receive the nuclear magnetic resonance signal at different frequencies of the plurality of frequencies (“the coil 320 includes one or more electronic components for tuning the magnetic field. The one or more electronic components can include a varactor, a PIN diode, a capacitor, or a switch, including a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS) switch, a solid state relay, or a mechanical relay. In accordance with various embodiments, the coil can be configured to include any of the one or more electronic components along the electrical circuit.” [0078]; “a RF-RX coil array with elements tuned to frequencies that are dependent upon the spatial inhomogeneity of the magnetic field" [0108]. “The MRI system, in accordance with various embodiments, can have a variant magnetic field from the magnet, and its strength can vary linearly along the z direction. The RX coils can be located in different positions in z-direction, and each coil can be tuned to different frequencies, which can depend on the location of the coils in the system.” [0117]; “the tuning box 1212, which adjusts the frequency response of the system.” [0201]. “This radio frequency receive system 1270 is also activated and manipulated with a … tuning signal.” [0202]; Fig. 12).
Gomes does not teach that the processing circuitry is configured to control each of the receiver coils to simultaneously receive the nuclear magnetic resonance signal; and perform parallel imaging using the plurality of receiver coils tuned to the different frequencies respectively set to a plurality of resonance frequencies each corresponding to the magnetic field strength of the static magnetic field at a position of each receiver coil.
However, in the magnetic resonance imaging systems field of endeavor, Taracila discloses a system and method for magnetic resonance imaging one or more subjects, which is analogous art. Taracila teaches that the processing circuitry is configured to control each of the receiver coils (146 and 148) to simultaneously receive by each of the receiver coils the nuclear magnetic resonance signal (“the first 146 and the second 148 RF coils may … receive simultaneously with respect to each other” [0042]); and perform parallel imaging (“for simultaneous MRI imaging of the subject 84." [0042]) using the plurality of receiver coils respectively set to a plurality of resonance frequencies (“a first Larmor frequency… a second Larmor frequency different from the first Larmor frequency” [0042]) each corresponding to the magnetic field strength of the static magnetic field (B0 [0003]) at a position of each receiver coil (“Moving now to FIGS. 6 and 7, in embodiments, the magnet assembly 56 may include a first RF coil 146 and a second RF coil 148, which in embodiments, may both be of a birdcage design having rungs 150, 152 connected by rings 154, 156. The first RF coil 146 transmits and/or receives a first set of RF pulses at a first Larmor frequency, and the second RF coil 148 transmits and/or receives a second set of RF pulses at a second Larmor frequency different from the first Larmor frequency… the first 146 and the second 148 RF coils may transmit and/or receive simultaneously with respect to each other, e.g., the first 146 and the second 148 RF coils may provide for simultaneous MRI imaging of the subject 84." [0042]).
Therefore, based on Taracila’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Gomes to have the processing circuitry that is configured to control each of the receiver coils to simultaneously receive the nuclear magnetic resonance signal; and perform parallel imaging using the plurality of receiver coils tuned to the different frequencies respectively set to a plurality of resonance frequencies each corresponding to the magnetic field strength of the static magnetic field at a position of each receiver coil, as taught by Taracila, in order to speed-up the acquisition time for multiple slices.
Regarding claim 2, Gomes modified by Taracila teaches the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Gomes teaches that the plurality of receiver coils are respectively tuned to the plurality of frequencies (“a RF-RX coil array with elements tuned to frequencies that are dependent upon the spatial inhomogeneity of the magnetic field" [0108]).
Regarding claim 8, Gomes modified by Taracila teaches the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Gomes teaches that the processing circuitry (the processing circuitry to implement “the decoupling techniques” [0116]) is configured to control each of the plurality of receiver coils to be in a decoupled state (“As for the needs of multiple RX coils, in various embodiments, decoupling between them can prove beneficial for various embodiments of an MRI system RX coil array. In those cases, each coil can be de-coupled with the other coils, and the decoupling techniques can include, for example, 1) geometry decoupling, 2) capacitive/inductive decoupling, and 3) low-/high impedance pre-amplifier coupling.” [0116]).
Regarding claim 10, Gomes modified by Taracila teaches the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Gomes teaches that the static magnetic field having the magnetic field strength that changes spatially is a static magnetic field (“the housing includes a permanent magnet for providing an inhomogeneous permanent gradient field" [0263]; Figs. 2A-D and 10) that dominates a region (a region outside of the housing with patient 1100 in Fig. 10) where a magnetic field strength decays as a distance from the static magnetic field magnet increases (“FIG. 10 illustrates an example position of patient for imaging in a magnetic resonance imaging system 1000, according to various embodiments. As illustrated in FIG. 10, the receive (Rx) coil 1070 can be placed on a patient 1100.” [0183]).
Regarding claim 11, Gomes modified by Taracila teaches the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Gomes teaches that the static magnetic field having the magnetic field strength that changes spatially is a static magnetic field (“the housing includes a permanent magnet for providing an inhomogeneous permanent gradient field" [0263]; Figs. 2A-D and 10) that dominates a region (a region outside of the housing with patient 1100 in Fig. 10) outside a uniform region (a uniform region inside the housing in Figs. 2A-D and 10) where a magnetic field strength is uniform (a magnetic field strength is uniform near the center of the housing as seen in Fig. 2C because of the symmetry of the permanent magnet arrangement inside the housing).
Regarding claim 12, Gomes modified by Taracila teaches the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Gomes teaches that the static magnetic field having the magnetic field strength that changes spatially is a static magnetic field that constantly forms a region where a magnetic field strength is not uniform (“the housing comprises a permanent magnet for providing an inhomogeneous permanent gradient field" [0003]; “As shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, the housing 220 includes a permanent magnet 230... As shown in FIGS. 2C and 2D, the permanent magnet 230 can include a plurality of magnets disposed in an array configuration.” [0057]; “In accordance with various embodiments, the housing includes a permanent magnet for providing an inhomogeneous permanent gradient field" [0263]; Figs. 2A-D and 10-11).
Regarding claim 13, Gomes teaches a magnetic resonance imaging method comprising:
generating a static magnetic field having a magnetic field strength that changes spatially (“an inhomogeneous permanent gradient field" [0263]), by using a static magnetic field magnet (230) (1130) (“the housing comprises a permanent magnet for providing an inhomogeneous permanent gradient field" [0003]; “As shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, the housing 220 includes a permanent magnet 230... As shown in FIGS. 2C and 2D, the permanent magnet 230 can include a plurality of magnets disposed in an array configuration.” [0057]; “In accordance with various embodiments, the housing includes a permanent magnet for providing an inhomogeneous permanent gradient field" [0263]; Figs. 2A-D, 11);
controlling each of a plurality of radio frequency coils (“FIG. 6A is an example schematic illustration of a radio frequency receive coil (RF-RX) array including individual coil elements” [0020]) including a transmitter coil (240) (320) (“As shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, the housing 220 includes …a radio frequency transmit coil 240” [0057]; “FIG. 3 is a schematic view of an implementation of a magnetic imaging apparatus 300, according to various embodiments. As shown in FIG. 3, the apparatus 300 includes a radio frequency transmit coil 320 that projects the RF power outwards away from the coil 320.” [0065]) configured to transmit a radio frequency pulse to a subject (“the coil 320 generates a magnetic field that is pulsed at a radio frequency between about 1 kHz and about 1 GHz" [0074]; Fig. 3) and a plurality of receiver coils tuned to different frequencies (“a RF-RX coil array with elements tuned to frequencies that are dependent upon the spatial inhomogeneity of the magnetic field" [0108]; “the RF-RX array can be comprised of individual coil elements that are each tuned to a variety of frequencies. The appropriate frequency can be chosen, for example, to match the frequency of the magnetic field located at the specific spatial location where the specific coil is located. Because the magnetic field can vary as a function of space, as shown in FIG. 6A, the field and frequency of the coil can be adjusted to approximately match the spatial location. Here the coils can be designed to image the field locations B1, B2, and B3, which are physically separated along a single axis" [0110]) and configured to receive a nuclear magnetic resonance signal (“the waveform” [0202]) generated from a subject (1100) by an influence of the radio frequency pulse (“the coil 320 generates a magnetic field that is pulsed at a radio frequency between about 1 kHz and about 1 GHz" [0074]; Fig. 3) transmitted to the subject (“a RF-RX coil array with elements tuned to frequencies that are dependent upon the spatial inhomogeneity of the magnetic field" [0108]. “FIG. 10 illustrates an example position of patient for imaging in a magnetic resonance imaging system 1000, according to various embodiments. As illustrated in FIG. 10, the receive (Rx) coil 1070 can be placed on a patient 1100.” [0183]. “Upon receiving the waveform, the radio frequency transmit system 1240 causes the spins in the target subject to generate a signal, which is detected by the radio frequency receive system 1270.” [0202]; Fig. 12), the subject being placed in the static magnetic field having a magnetic field strength that changes spatially (“The plurality of magnets of the permanent magnet 230 are illustrated to cover an entire surface as shown in the front view of FIG. 2C and illustrated as bars in a horizontal direction as shown in the side view of FIG. 2D. As shown in FIG. 2A, the main permanent magnet might include an access aperture 235 for accessing the patient from multiple sides of the system.” [0057]; Fig. 10), thereby transmitting the radio frequency pulse in a band including a plurality of frequencies (“up to about 200 kHz”) tuned according to at least a distribution of the static magnetic field (“In accordance with various embodiments, a scanner is provided that has a permanent gradient, specially optimized using small magnet elements arranged in a pattern to create a weak enough gradient to allow for a wide RF bandwidth excitation up to about 200 kHz but strong enough for spatial encoding in the permanent magnet direction. The scanner can also have an RF coil that has multiple legs to increase overall field strength that allows for strong and uniform excitation of a wide range of bandwidth with adiabatic pulses." [0173] “The imaging system 1310 includes a radio frequency transmit system 1340, a tuning box 1312" [0205]; Fig. 13. “In accordance with various embodiments, the system is controlled by the tuning box 1312, which alters the frequency response of the transmit coil 1348" [0206] and receiving by each of the receiver coils the nuclear magnetic resonance signal at different frequencies of the plurality of frequencies tuned according to at least a distribution of the static magnetic field (“the coil 320 includes one or more electronic components for tuning the magnetic field. The one or more electronic components can include a varactor, a PIN diode, a capacitor, or a switch, including a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS) switch, a solid state relay, or a mechanical relay. In accordance with various embodiments, the coil can be configured to include any of the one or more electronic components along the electrical circuit.” [0078]; “a RF-RX coil array with elements tuned to frequencies that are dependent upon the spatial inhomogeneity of the magnetic field" [0108]. “The MRI system, in accordance with various embodiments, can have a variant magnetic field from the magnet, and its strength can vary linearly along the z direction. The RX coils can be located in different positions in z-direction, and each coil can be tuned to different frequencies, which can depend on the location of the coils in the system.” [0117]; “the tuning box 1212, which adjusts the frequency response of the system.” [0201]. “This radio frequency receive system 1270 is also activated and manipulated with a … tuning signal.” [0202]; Fig. 12).
Gomes does not teach simultaneously receiving by each of the receiver coils the nuclear magnetic resonance signal; and performing parallel imaging using the plurality of receiver coils tuned to the different frequencies respectively set to a plurality of resonance frequencies each corresponding to the magnetic field strength of the static magnetic field at a position of each receiver coil.
However, in the magnetic resonance imaging systems field of endeavor, Taracila discloses a system and method for magnetic resonance imaging one or more subjects, which is analogous art. Taracila teaches simultaneously receiving by each of the receiver coils (146 and 148) the nuclear magnetic resonance signal (“the first 146 and the second 148 RF coils may … receive simultaneously with respect to each other” [0042]); and performing parallel imaging (“for simultaneous MRI imaging of the subject 84." [0042]) using the plurality of receiver coils respectively set to a plurality of resonance frequencies (“a first Larmor frequency… a second Larmor frequency different from the first Larmor frequency” [0042]) each corresponding to the magnetic field strength of the static magnetic field (B0 [0003]) at a position of each receiver coil (“Moving now to FIGS. 6 and 7, in embodiments, the magnet assembly 56 may include a first RF coil 146 and a second RF coil 148, which in embodiments, may both be of a birdcage design having rungs 150, 152 connected by rings 154, 156. The first RF coil 146 transmits and/or receives a first set of RF pulses at a first Larmor frequency, and the second RF coil 148 transmits and/or receives a second set of RF pulses at a second Larmor frequency different from the first Larmor frequency… the first 146 and the second 148 RF coils may transmit and/or receive simultaneously with respect to each other, e.g., the first 146 and the second 148 RF coils may provide for simultaneous MRI imaging of the subject 84." [0042]).
Therefore, based on Taracila’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Gomes to employ the steps of simultaneously receiving by each of the receiver coils the nuclear magnetic resonance signal; and performing parallel imaging using the plurality of receiver coils tuned to the different frequencies respectively set to a plurality of resonance frequencies each corresponding to the magnetic field strength of the static magnetic field at a position of each receiver coil, as taught by Taracila, in order to speed-up the acquisition time for multiple slices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Gomes in view of Taracila.
Response to the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection arguments on pages 5-6 of the REMARKS.
Claims 1-2, 8, and 10-13
The Applicant argues that “Claim 1 is patentable over Gomes and Harvey.” (Page 6). This argument is moot because the rejection is made over Gomes in view of Taracila. The dependent claims and claim 13 are also rejected over Gomes in view of Taracila.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXEI BYKHOVSKI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798