Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from 05/27/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the rejection of claims as judicial exceptions to 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant submits that claim 1 is not directed to a mental process at Step 2A prong 1, because the claim includes elements that are not mental processes.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. At Step 2A prong 1, the question is whether a claim recites any abstract ideas, not whether all elements are abstract ideas. As stated below, claim 1 recites “predicting, based on the refinement data … to recognize one or more relationships between the refinement data and new metric data representative of a new development operations tools metric data of the assets, a new entry to assign to an occurrence of an incident associated with the new metric data, wherein the predicted new entry indicates: an incident type; a plurality of severity designations; and a plurality of issue levels associated with the plurality of severity designations, wherein each issue level indicates a different threshold amount affected by the incident type in relation to the new metric data,” which can be performed as a mental process. Therefore the claim is not found eligible at Step 2A prong 1, and consideration must continue to step 2A prong 2.
Applicant further submits that claim 1 is eligible at Step 2A prong 2, because the claim’s recitation of “predicting, based on the refinement data being input to a prediction machine learning model trained to recognize one or more relationships between the refinement data and new metric data representative of a new development operations tools metric data of the assets, a new entry to assign to an occurrence of an incident associated with the new metric data, wherein the predicted new entry indicates ... a plurality of issue levels associated with the plurality of severity designations, wherein each issue level indicates a different threshold amount affected by the incident type in relation to the new metric data” is an improvement the functioning of computers, namely improving “the ability of computing devices to identify and predict severity designations as part of a new entry to an existing severity matrix.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The portion of the claim quoted by the Applicant is a mental process found by the Examiner, except for its performance on a machine learning model described at a high level of generality (“… being input to a prediction machine learning model trained to …”). The abstract idea cannot provide the improvement itself (“It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements” (MPEP 2106.05(a)). Performance of a mental process by a generic computer does not provide transform the abstract idea into a practical application.
Applicant further submits that claim 1 is eligible at Step 2B, because “the claim describes a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement that provides an inventive concept that predicts a new entry associated with an incident and a plurality of different severity designations for a given occurrence of an incident associated with the new metric data.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in MPEP 2106.05 (I), “[a]n inventive concept ‘cannot be furnished by the unpatentable law of nature (or natural phenomenon or abstract idea) itself.’ […] Instead, an ‘inventive concept’ is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” While the abstract idea may contain non-conventional or non-generic elements, the surrounding implementation does not. The further elements of the claim merely recite the gathering of the data, and, after the new entry has been generated by the mental process, the updating of the model to reflect the new entry. No particular model or method of training, using, or updating the model is recited. Examiner therefore concludes that the claim does not amount to more than the implementation of the abstract idea on a computer.
The arguments are therefore found unpersuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant’s arguments are directed towards amended portions of the claims that have not been previously examined. New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are given below.
Claim Objections
Claims 14–18 objected to because of the following informality. Claim 14, upon which claims 15–18 depend, recites a list of data items included in a predicted modification to the severity matrix. Examiner suggests an “and” should be inserted between the next-to-last and last items in the list (i.e., between “a plurality of severity designations;” and “a plurality of issue levels associated with the plurality of severity designations,” as has been done when the list is recited in claims 1 and 19.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-15, and 17-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Analysis is provided for the claims under the guidelines of MPEP 2106.
Regarding claim 1:
Step 1:
The claim recites “A method comprising” steps that follow. Thus the claim is to a process, which is a statutory category of invention.
Step 2A prong 1:
The limitation (bold only) “predicting, based on the refinement data being input to a prediction machine learning model trained to recognize one or more relationships between the refinement data and new metric data representative of a new development operations tools metric data of the assets, a new entry to assign to an occurrence of an incident associated with the new metric data, wherein the predicted new entry indicates: an incident type; a plurality of severity designations; and a plurality of issue levels associated with the plurality of severity designations, wherein each issue level indicates a different threshold amount affected by the incident type in relation to the new metric data” in its broadest reasonable interpretation, recites a mental process. Given a compilation of input data, consisting of ownership data, metric data, and severity matrix data, and refinement data that updates the input data, a person could recognize relationships between the refinement data and new metric data. And further, the person could determine severity designations for application to new incidents, where the designations include issue levels categorized by threshold amounts, with different thresholds for different issue levels. A person could perform this process using judgment and opinion.
Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A prong 2:
The further element “compiling, by a first computing device, ownership data, metric data, and severity matrix data as input data to a machine learning model data store” recites mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The further elements “wherein the ownership data comprises data representative of assets of an entity and data representative of relationships between the assets, wherein the metric data comprises data representative of development operations tools metric data of the assets, and wherein the severity matrix data comprises a plurality of entries, wherein each entry comprises data representative of a severity of a consequence of a particular incident occurrence affecting the metric data” recite the source or type of data gathered. These elements merely link the judicial exception to a particular field of use, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
The further elements “receiving, based on the input data being input to a refinement machine learning model trained to recognize relationships between the input data in the machine learning model data store, refinement data indicating one or more relationships between the input data” describes model training at a high level of generality. No particular model or method of training is described. The elements merely recite the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” or the equivalent to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitation (bold only) “predicting, based on the refinement data being input to a prediction machine learning model trained to recognize one or more relationships between the refinement data and new metric data representative of a new development operations tools metric data of the assets, a new entry to assign to an occurrence of an incident associated with the new metric data” recites model training at a high level of generality. No particular model or method of training is described. The elements merely recite the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” or the equivalent to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The further element “modifying, based on user input associated with the new entry, the severity matrix data to include the predicted new entry; and causing, based on the user input associated with the predicted new entry, at least one modification to at least one parameter associated with the prediction machine learning model” recites data updating and model retraining at a high level of generality. No particular method of updating or retraining is described. The association between the user input and the predicted new entry is not defined and reasonably includes a mere user confirmation of the data update. Therefore the elements merely recite the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” or the equivalent to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Thus, the additional elements merely connect the abstract idea to a field of use, recite the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea or recite insignificant extra-solution activity. Taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Considering the elements together as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not present from examining the elements individually. The elements, individually or together, do not describe an improvement in the functioning of technology.
Step 2B:
The claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The element “compiling, by a first computing device, ownership data, metric data, and severity matrix data as input data to a machine learning model data store” recites mere data gathering, which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
The further elements “wherein the ownership data comprises data representative of assets of an entity and data representative of relationships between the assets, wherein the metric data comprises data representative of development operations tools metric data of the assets, and wherein the severity matrix data comprises a plurality of entries, wherein each entry comprises data representative of a severity of a consequence of a particular incident occurrence affecting the metric data” merely link the judicial exception to a particular field of use.
These additional claim elements merely recite the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea:
“receiving, based on the input data being input to a refinement machine learning model trained to recognize relationships between the input data in the machine learning model data store, refinement data indicating one or more relationships between the input data”
(bold only) “predicting, based on the refinement data being input to a prediction machine learning model trained to recognize one or more relationships between the refinement data and new metric data representative of a new development operations tools metric data of the assets, a new entry to assign to an occurrence of an incident associated with the new metric data”
“modifying, based on user input associated with the new entry, the severity matrix data to include the predicted new entry; and causing, based on the user input associated with the predicted new entry, at least one modification to at least one parameter associated with the prediction machine learning model”
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 2:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 2 further limits claim 1 and the same elements in claim 2 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the further element “wherein the user input indicates a confirmation of adding the new entry to the severity matrix data” recites mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
For step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The element “wherein the user input indicates a confirmation of adding the new entry to the severity matrix data” recites mere data gathering, which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 4:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 4 further limits claim 1 and the same elements in claim 4 still recite an abstract idea. The further element “wherein the predicting the new entry comprises identifying one or more specific characteristics of entries within the severity matrix data and the new metric data” further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 but it remains an abstract idea; in performing the predicting using judgement and opinion, a person could identify specific characteristics of entries.
For step 2A prong 2, and step 2B, no further elements remain to be considered. The claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception and is ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 5:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 5 further limits claim 4 and the same elements in claim 5 still recite an abstract idea. The further element “wherein the one or more specific characteristics include one or more of cloud infrastructure, physical infrastructure, a recovery time objective, or a customer base” further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 but it remains an abstract idea; in performing the predicting using judgement and opinion, a person could identify one or more of the specific characteristics listed in the claim.
For step 2A prong 2, and step 2B, no further elements remain to be considered. The claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception and is ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 6:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 6 further limits claim 1 and the same elements in claim 6 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the further element “wherein the first and second computing devices are the same computing device” merely allows the two devices to be the same. This does not alter that the use of computing devices in the claim merely recites the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” or the equivalent to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
For step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The limitation “wherein the first and second computing devices are the same computing device” merely recites the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea.
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 7:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 7 further limits claim 1 and the same elements in claim 7 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the further element “wherein the user input indicates a modification to the new entry to the severity matrix data” recites mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
For step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The element “wherein the user input indicates a modification to the new entry to the severity matrix data” recites mere data gathering, which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 8:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 8 further limits claim 7 and the same elements in claim 8 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the further element “wherein modifying the severity matrix data includes the modification to the new entry” recites updating a data table at a high level of generality. The element merely recites the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” or the equivalent to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
For step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The limitation “wherein modifying the severity matrix data includes the modification to the new entry” merely recites the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea.
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 10:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 10 further limits claim 1 and the same elements in claim 10 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the further element “receiving, by the first computing device, the ownership data” recites mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
For step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The element “receiving, by the first computing device, the ownership data” recites mere data gathering, which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 11:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 11 further limits claim 1 and the same elements in claim 11 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the further element “receiving, by the first computing device, the metric data” recites mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
For step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The element “receiving, by the first computing device, the metric data” recites mere data gathering, which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 12:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 12 further limits claim 1 and the same elements in claim 12 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the further element “receiving, by the first computing device, the severity matrix data” recites mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
For step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The element “receiving, by the first computing device, the severity matrix data” recites mere data gathering, which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 13:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 13 further limits claim 1 and the same elements in claim 13 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the further element “receiving, by the second computing device, the new metric data” recites mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
For step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The element “receiving, by the second computing device, the new metric data” recites mere data gathering, which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 14:
Step 1:
The claim recites “A method comprising” steps that follow. Thus the claim is to a process, which is a statutory category of invention.
Step 2A prong 1:
The limitation “identifying an entry of the development operations tools metric data for input to a prediction machine learning model trained to recognize one or more relationships between the input data in the machine learning model data store and the identified entry” in its broadest reasonable interpretation, recites a mental process. For example, a person could review metric data and identify an entry based on its perceived value in improving a model, using judgement.
The limitation (bold only) “predicting, via the prediction machine learning model, a modification to the identified entry of the development operations tools metric data, the predicted modification comprising data indicating: an incident type associated with the identified entry; a plurality of severity designations; a plurality of issue levels associated with the plurality of severity designations, wherein each issue level indicates a different threshold amount affected by the incident type in relation to the development operations tools metric data,” in its broadest reasonable interpretation, recites a mental process. A person could generate a modification to the severity designations, including an incident type and severity designations, where the designations include and issue level, and the different issue levels are each associated with a different threshold amount. A person could perform this process using judgment and opinion.
Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A prong 2:
The further element “compiling, by a first computing device, ownership data, metric data, and severity matrix data as input data to a machine learning model data store” recites mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The further elements “wherein the ownership data comprises data representative of assets of an entity and data representative of relationships between the assets, wherein the metric data comprises data representative of development operations tools metric data of the assets, and wherein the severity matrix data comprises a plurality of entries, wherein each entry comprises data representative of a severity of a consequence of a particular incident occurrence affecting the metric data” recite the source or type of data gathered. This merely links the judicial exception to a particular field of use, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
The limitation (bold only) “predicting, via the prediction machine learning model, a modification to the identified entry of the development operations tools metric data” recites model training at a high level of generality. No particular model or method of training is described. The elements merely recite the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” or the equivalent to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The further element “modifying, based on user input associated with the predicted modification to the identified entry, the severity matrix data to include the predicted modification to the identified entry; and causing, based on the user input associated with the predicted modification to the identified entry, at least one modification to at least one parameter associated with the prediction machine learning model” recites data updating and model retraining at a high level of generality. No particular method of updating or model retraining is described. The association between the user input and the predicted modification is not defined and reasonably includes a mere user confirmation of the data update. Therefore the elements merely recite the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” or the equivalent to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Thus, the additional elements merely connect the abstract idea to a field of use, recite the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea or recite insignificant extra-solution activity. Taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Considering the elements together as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not present from examining the elements individually. The elements, individually or together, do not describe an improvement in the functioning of technology.
Step 2B:
The claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The element “compiling, by a first computing device, ownership data, metric data, and severity matrix data as input data to a machine learning model data store” recites mere data gathering, which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
The further elements “wherein the ownership data comprises data representative of assets of an entity and data representative of relationships between the assets, wherein the metric data comprises data representative of development operations tools metric data of the assets, and wherein the severity matrix data comprises a plurality of entries, wherein each entry comprises data representative of a severity of a consequence of a particular incident occurrence affecting the metric data” merely link the judicial exception to a particular field of use.
These additional claim elements merely recite the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea:
(bold only) “predicting, via the prediction machine learning model, a modification to the identified entry of the development operations tools metric data”
“modifying, based on user input associated with the predicted modification to the identified entry, the severity matrix data to include the predicted modification to the identified entry; and causing, based on the user input associated with the predicted modification to the identified entry, at least one modification to at least one parameter associated with the prediction machine learning model”
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 15:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 15 further limits claim 14 and the same elements in claim 15 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the further element “wherein the user input indicates confirmation of modifying the identified entry” recites mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
For step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The element “wherein the user input indicates confirmation of modifying the identified entry” recites mere data gathering, which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 17:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 17 further limits claim 14 and the same elements in claim 17 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 1, claim 4 further limits claim 1 and the same elements in claim 4 still recite an abstract idea. The further element “wherein the predicting the modification comprises identifying one or more specific characteristics of the identified entry and other entries within the severity matrix data” further limits the abstract idea of claim 14 but it remains an abstract idea; in performing the predicting using judgement and opinion, a person could identify specific characteristics of entries.
For step 2A prong 2, and step 2B, no further elements remain to be considered. The claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception and is ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 18:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 18 further limits claim 14 and the same elements in claim 18 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the further element “wherein the user input indicates change to the predicted modification to the identified entry to the severity matrix data” recites mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
For step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The element “wherein the user input indicates change to the predicted modification to the identified entry to the severity matrix data” recites mere data gathering, which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claims 19-20:
These claims recite “One or more non-transitory media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform steps comprising” steps that follow. Therefore, the claims recite a product, which is a statutory category of invention under step 1. The claims are otherwise analogous to claims 1-2, respectively, and are rejected by the same arguments.
Regarding claim 21:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 21 further limits claim 1 and the same elements in claim 21 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the element “outputting a notification of adding the new entry to the severity matrix data” recites mere data output, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B:
The claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The element “outputting a notification of adding the new entry to the severity matrix data” recites mere data output, which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 22:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 22 further limits claim 14 and the same elements in claim 22 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the element “outputting a notification of the modification to the severity matrix data comprising the predicted new entry” recites mere data output, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B:
The claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The element “outputting a notification of the modification to the severity matrix data comprising the predicted new entry” recites mere data output, which is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 23:
For step 2A prong 1, claim 23 further limits claim 18 and the same elements in claim 23 still recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A prong 2, the element “wherein modifying the severity matrix data includes the change to the predicted modification to the identified entry” recites data updating at a high level of generality. No particular method of updating is described. Therefore the elements merely recite the use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” or the equivalent to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
For step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
The additional element “wherein modifying the severity matrix data includes the change to the predicted modification to the identified entry” recites mere instructions to apply the abstract idea.
Even when considered in combination, the additional elements connect the abstract idea to a field of use, represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–2, 4–8, 10–15, and 17–23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Goodwin et al., US Patent No. 12,169,794 (hereafter Goodwin) in view of Bulut at al., US Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0075814 (hereafter Bulut) and Mazar et al., US Patent No. 11055980 (hereafter Mazar).
Regarding claim 1 and analogous claim 19:
Goodwin teaches:
“A method comprising”: Goodwin, col. 1, lines 39-40, “Various embodiments of the disclosed inventions relate to a computer-implemented method, comprising [A method comprising]:”; Goodwin, col. 24, lines 11-19, “Example computing systems and devices may include one or more processing units each with one or more processors, one or more memory units each with one or more memory devices, and one or more system buses that couple various components including memory units to processing units. Each memory device may include non-transient volatile storage media, non-volatile storage media, non-transitory storage media ( e.g., one or more volatile and/or non-volatile memories), etc.”
“compiling, by a first computing device, ownership data, metric data, and severity matrix data as input data to a machine learning model data store”: Goodwin, col. 10, lines 1-4, “Database 130 may provide the provider system 110 with large sets of application data [ownership data, metric data, and severity matrix data] which may be filtered and processed [compiling] by the provider system 110 for use as training datasets [as input data to a machine learning model data store].”
“wherein the ownership data comprises data representative of assets of an entity and data representative of relationships between the assets”: Goodwin, Table 1, “Flag to note if application has a CP Discrete Variable (coordination point) server assigned for all its assets [sample data item which is representative of assets of an entity and representative of relationships between the assets]”
(bold only) “wherein the metric data comprises data representative of development operations tools metric data of the assets”: Goodwin, Table 1, “Flag to note if application has a meets the Discrete Variable requirement that all its assets should meet the 200 miles distance criterion [representative of … metric data of the assets] between production servers and CP servers”
“and wherein the severity matrix data comprises a plurality of entries, wherein each entry comprises data representative of a severity of a consequence of a particular incident occurrence affecting the metric data”: Goodwin, Table 1, “
SEV12_FLAG; Flag to note if application had a severity 1 or 2 event; Response Variable
SEV3_CNT; Number of severity 3 events in rolling 1 year time period; Continuous Variable
SEV4_CNT; Number of severity 4 events in rolling 1 year time period; Continuous Variable
SEV5_CNT; Number of severity 5 events in rolling 1 year time period; Continuous Variable
SEV45_CNT; sum of severity 4 and 5 events in rolling 1 year time period; Continuous Variable [plurality of entries, wherein each entry comprises data representative of a severity of a consequence of a particular incident occurrence affecting the metric data].”
“receiving, based on the input data being input to a refinement machine learning model trained to recognize relationships between the input data in the machine learning model data store, refinement data indicating one or more relationships between the input data”: Goodwin, col. 6, lines 44-63, “In various embodiments, a predictive model may be trained to provide a classifier capable of, for example, accepting, as inputs, states or features of one or more applications in an enterprise IT system and provide, as outputs, probabilities of subsequent high severity events. The predictive model may be trained, for example, using a training dataset that includes features of applications that were previously involved in high severity events [based on the input data being input to a refinement a refinement machine learning model trained to recognize relationships between the input data in the machine learning model data store]. In some embodiments, the model may be retrained on a regular basis (such as each time a new high severity event is detected) using a training dataset that additionally includes features of the applications involved in the new high severity event. In certain embodiments, the model may be retrained periodically (e.g., every week, month, quarter, or year). In some embodiments, the retraining may use training datasets [wherein the refinement data updates the input data in the machine learning model data store] that account for actual outcomes as compared with predicted likelihoods of high severity events [receiving … refinement data indicating one or more relationships between the input data]. The parameters of the predictive model may be adjusted or updated based on new data that may include, for example, prior predictions, user reprioritizations, newly-added features and state data, etc.”
(bold only) “predicting, based on the refinement data being input to a prediction machine learning model trained to recognize one or more relationships between the refinement data and new metric data representative of a new development operations tools metric data of the assets, a new entry to assign to an occurrence of an incident associated with the new metric data”: Goodwin, col. 6, lines 44-63, “In various embodiments, a predictive model may be trained to provide a classifier capable of, for example, accepting, as inputs, states or features of one or more applications in an enterprise IT system and provide, as outputs, probabilities of subsequent high severity events. The predictive model may be trained, for example, using a training dataset that includes features of applications that were previously involved in high severity events. In some embodiments, the model may be retrained on a regular basis (such as each time a new high severity event is detected) using a training dataset that additionally includes features of the applications involved in the new high severity event. In certain embodiments, the model may be retrained periodically (e.g., every week, month, quarter, or year). In some embodiments, the retraining may use training datasets that account for actual outcomes as compared with predicted likelihoods of high severity events. The parameters of the predictive model may be adjusted or updated based on new data that may include, for example, prior predictions, user reprioritizations, newly-added features and state data, etc. [predicting, based on the refinement data being input to a prediction machine learning model trained to recognize one or more relationships between the refinement data and new metric data representative of a new … metric data of the assets, a new entry to assign to an occurrence of an incident associated with the new metric data].”
“wherein the predicted new entry indicates: an incident type; a plurality of severity designations”: Goodwin, col. 4, lines 32-42, “Severity types may be created to classify the severity of events that may be caused by the failure of various applications [the predicted new entry indicates: an incident type]. High severity events may be so rare and severe that they may be a proxy for information technology and operational disruption. In the present disclosure, severities are categorized along a spectrum from type 1 to type 5 in decreasing order of severity [a plurality of severity designations]. Severity types 1 and 2 will be classified as high severity 40 events, however it should be appreciated that other classifiers, ranks, and identifiers may be used to identify high severity events.”
“modifying, based on user input associated with the new entry, the severity matrix data to include the predicted new entry”: Goodwin, col. 2, lines 36-45, “displaying the ranked probability of the high-severity event for a number of applications in the application set on one or more pages of a graphical user interface, the graphical user interface having one or more selectable graphical components; and in response to a user interacting with the one or more graphical components [based on user input associated with the predicted new entry], modifying the number of displayed applications [modifying, based on user input associated with the new entry, the severity matrix data to include the predicted new entry, interpreted as including modifying the display of an application’s severity data], the ranking of each of the applications in the application set, and the probability of the high-severity event for one or more applications in the application set.”
“causing, based on the user input associated with the predicted new entry, at least one modification to at least one parameter associated with the prediction machine learning model“: Goodwin, col. 21, lines 24-41, “In an embodiment, applications may be classified using the CAT score based on one or more user's experience. For example, user experience with an application may result in the user (or group of users) classifying the application as failing 60% of the time. Thus, the application may be classified as being a medium application. A different group may classify applications according to different experiences. For instance, the same application may be classified differently to a different group of users. For example, an application used every day may be considered a critical application to that group of users. Additionally or alternatively, users may manually classify and reclassify applications based on whether the application interfaces with one or more third parties [based on the user input associated with the predicted new entry]. For example, users may classify applications that interact with third parties directly as critical application because the failure of the application may disrupt third party experiences with the application”; Goodwin, col. 6, lines 44-63, “In various embodiments, a predictive model may be trained to provide a classifier capable of, for example, accepting, as inputs, states or features of one or more applications in an enterprise IT system and provide, as outputs, probabilities of subsequent high severity events. The predictive model may be trained, for example, using a training dataset that includes features of applications that were previously involved in high severity events. In some embodiments, the model may be retrained on a regular basis (such as each time a new high severity event is detected) using a training dataset that additionally includes features of the applications involved in the new high severity event. In certain embodiments, the model may be retrained periodically (e.g., every week, month, quarter, or year). In some embodiments, the retraining may use training datasets that account for actual outcomes as compared with predicted likelihoods of high severity events. The parameters of the predictive model may be adjusted or updated [at least one modification to at least one parameter associated with the prediction machine learning model] based on new data that may include, for example, prior predictions, user reprioritizations, newly-added features and state data, etc.”
Goodwin does not explicitly teach:
(bold only) “wherein the metric data comprises data representative of development operations tools metric data of the assets”
(bold only) “predicting, based on the refinement data being input to a prediction machine learning model trained to recognize one or more relationships between the refinement data and new metric data representative of a new development operations tools metric data of the assets, a new entry to assign to an occurrence of an incident associated with the new metric data”
“a plurality of issue levels associated with the plurality of severity designations, wherein each issue level indicates a different threshold amount affected by the incident type in relation to the new metric data”
Bulut teaches (bold only) “wherein the metric data comprises data representative of development operations tools metric data of the assets” and (bold only) “predicting, based on the refinement data being input to a prediction machine learning model trained to recognize one or more relationships between the refinement data and new metric data representative of a new development operations tools metric data of the assets, a new entry to assign to an occurrence of an incident associated with the new metric data”: Bulut, paragraph 0062, “Metric assignment component 108 can employ such a model defined above (e.g., LSTM, GRU, CNN, etc.) to assign one or more of such risk assessment metrics defined above based on vulnerability data of a compliance process, where such a compliance process can include, but is not limited to: a security process; a patching process; an identity and access management process; a development and operations (DevOps) process [metric data comprises data representative of development operations tools metric data of the assets]; a development, security, and operations (DevSecOps) process; a runtime process; and/or another compliance process. In some embodiments, examples of such vulnerability data of such a compliance process can include, but is not limited to, vulnerability descriptions, vulnerability categories, and/or vulnerability scores corresponding to vulnerabilities ( e.g., defects) of the compliance process.”
Bulut and Goodwin are analogous arts as they are both related to risk assessment of IT processes. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the use of developer operations tools data from Bulut to the teachings of Goodwin to arrive at the present invention, in order to help assess the vulnerabilities of the system under analysis, as stated in Bulut, paragraph 0062, “Metric assignment component 108 can employ such a model defined above (e.g., LSTM, GRU, CNN, etc.) to assign one or more of such risk assessment metrics defined above based on vulnerability data of a compliance process, where such a compliance process can include, but is not limited to: a security process; a patching process; an identity and access management process; a development and operations (DevOps) process; a development, security, and operations (DevSecOps) process; a runtime process; and/or another compliance process. In some embodiments, examples of such vulnerability data of such a compliance process can include, but is not limited to, vulnerability descriptions, vulnerability categories, and/or vulnerability scores corresponding to vulnerabilities ( e.g., defects) of the compliance process.”
Mazar teaches “a plurality of issue levels associated with the plurality of severity designations, wherein each issue level indicates a different threshold amount affected by the incident type in relation to the new metric data”: Mazar, col. 11, line 55 – col. 12, line 7, “In some implementations, collected vital signs can be compared to threshold values to not only determine a type of alarm state, but also to identify a severity of an alarm state [a plurality of issue levels associated with the plurality of severity designations]. For example, a patient experiencing a respiration rate that is slightly above the preferred range for the patient can be identified as having a respiratory alarm state of a tier 2 level while a patient experiencing a respiration rate that deviates significantly from a preferred range can be identified as having a respiratory alarm state of a tier 1 level (e.g., a higher urgency level). As indicated in the preceding example, alarm states can be divided into different tier levels. As another example, information collected by an accelerometer included in the chest sensor 102 can indicate that the patient 104 has fallen. If the distance and velocity of the fall can be compared to threshold values to identify a severity for the fall and associate an alarm state tier level for the fall. For example, a slow fall from a height of two feet can have a severity level of tier 2 while a quick fall from a height of five can be assigned a severity level of tier 1 [each issue level indicates a different threshold amount affected by the incident type in relation to the new metric data].”
Mazar and Goodwin are analogous arts as they are both related to measurement of incident severity. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the multiple severity threshold levels of Mazar with the teachings of Goodwin to arrive at the present invention, in order to align responses to severity levels, as stated in Mazar, col. 11, lines 4–8, “In some implementations, alarm states can be tiered based on the severity of an alarm state, with some alarms being identified as more important (and/or in need or more immediate attention from a caregiver) than others.”
Regarding claim 2 and analogous claim 20:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 1.”
Goodwin further teaches “wherein the user input indicates a confirmation of adding the new entry to the severity matrix data”: Goodwin, col. 2, lines 36-45, “displaying the ranked probability of the high-severity event for a number of applications in the application set on one or more pages of a graphical user interface, the graphical user interface having one or more selectable graphical components; and in response to a user interacting with the one or more graphical components [the user input indicates a confirmation], modifying the number of displayed applications [adding the new entry to the severity matrix data, interpreted as including modifying the display of an application’s severity data], the ranking of each of the applications in the application set, and the probability of the high-severity event for one or more applications in the application set.”
Regarding claim 4:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 1.”
Goodwin further teaches “wherein the predicting the new entry comprises identifying one or more specific characteristics of entries within the severity matrix data and the new metric data”: Goodwin, col. 16, lines 36-42, “In various embodiments, step 210-1 may be performed by the provider system 110 to determine parameters for the independent variables. Parameters may be determined to tune the independent variables ( e.g., the features most indicative of high severity events that were determined in process 208 [identifying one or more specific characteristics of entries within the severity matrix data and the new metric data]) using any appropriate technique of tuning parameters.”
Regarding claim 5:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 4.”
Goodwin further teaches “wherein the one or more specific characteristics include one or more of cloud infrastructure, physical infrastructure, a recovery time objective, or a customer base”: Goodwin, col. 16, lines 24-29, “The CP to production server ratio independent variable conveys an infrastructure footprint. That is, the ratio may measure the hardware associated with each application [physical infrastructure]. An application relying on many servers, databases and the like may have a noticeably different ratio than an application relying on only one server.”
Regarding claim 6:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 1.”
Goodwin further teaches “wherein the first and second computing devices are the same computing device”: Goodwin, col. 6, lines 44-63, “In various embodiments, a predictive model may be trained to provide a classifier capable of, for example, accepting, as inputs, states or features of one or more applications in an enterprise IT system and provide, as outputs, probabilities of subsequent high severity events. The predictive model may be trained, for example, using a training dataset that includes features of applications that were previously involved in high severity events. In some embodiments, the model may be retrained [second model is a retrained first model, hence, the first and second computing devices are the same computing device] on a regular basis (such as each time a new high severity event is detected) using a training dataset that additionally includes features of the applications involved in the new high severity event. In certain embodiments, the model may be retrained periodically (e.g., every week, month, quarter, or year). In some embodiments, the retraining may use training datasets that account for actual outcomes as compared with predicted likelihoods of high severity events. The parameters of the predictive model may be adjusted or updated based on new data that may include, for example, prior predictions, user reprioritizations, newly-added features and state data, etc.”
Regarding claim 7:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 1.”
Goodwin further teaches “wherein the user input indicates a modification to the new entry to the severity matrix data”: Goodwin, col. 21, lines 24-41, “In an embodiment, applications may be classified using the CAT score based on one or more user's experience. For example, user experience with an application may result in the user (or group of users) classifying the application as failing 60% of the time. Thus, the application may be classified as being a medium application. A different group may classify applications according to different experiences. For instance, the same application may be classified differently to a different group of users. For example, an application used every day may be considered a critical application to that group of users. Additionally or alternatively, users may manually classify and reclassify applications based on whether the application interfaces with one or more third parties [wherein the user input indicates a modification to the new entry to the severity matrix data]. For example, users may classify applications that interact with third parties directly as critical application because the failure of the application may disrupt third party experiences with the application.”
Regarding claim 8:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 7.”
Goodwin further teaches “wherein modifying the severity matrix data includes the modification to the new entry”: Goodwin, col. 21, lines 24-41, “In an embodiment, applications may be classified using the CAT score based on one or more user's experience. For example, user experience with an application may result in the user (or group of users) classifying the application as failing 60% of the time. Thus, the application may be classified as being a medium application. A different group may classify applications according to different experiences. For instance, the same application may be classified differently to a different group of users. For example, an application used every day may be considered a critical application to that group of users. Additionally or alternatively, users may manually classify and reclassify applications based on whether the application interfaces with one or more third parties. For example, users may classify applications that interact with third parties directly as critical application because the failure of the application may disrupt third party experiences with the application”; Goodwin, col. 21, lines 42-51, “The CAT scores may be fed as an input into the predictive model 115 [wherein modifying the severity matrix data includes the modification to the new entry]. For instance, one or more features may be extracted from the application dataset that represent or are otherwise associated with the CAT score ( or other ranking system) of each of the applications in the dataset. The CAT score may be treated as an independent variable of the model and considered in the determination of the probability of applications causing high severity events. Alternatively, as shown, the CAT scores may be displayed in conjunction with the results from predictive model 115.”
Regarding claim 10:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 1.”
Goodwin further teaches “receiving, by the first computing device, the ownership data”: Goodwin, col. 10, lines 1-4, “Database 130 may provide the provider system 110 with large sets of application data [receiving, by the first computing device] which may be filtered and processed by the provider system 110 for use as training datasets”; Goodwin, Table 1, “Flag to note if application has a CP Discrete Variable (coordination point) server assigned for all its assets [sample data item which includes ownership data].”
Regarding claim 11:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 1.”
Goodwin further teaches “receiving, by the first computing device, the metric data”: Goodwin, col. 10, lines 1-4, “Database 130 may provide the provider system 110 with large sets of application data [receiving, by the first computing device] which may be filtered and processed by the provider system 110 for use as training datasets”; Goodwin, Table 1, “Flag to note if application has a meets the Discrete Variable requirement that all its assets should meet the 200 miles distance criterion [metric data] between production servers and CP servers”
Regarding claim 12:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 1.”
Goodwin further teaches “receiving, by the first computing device, the severity matrix data”: Goodwin, col. 10, lines 1-4, “Database 130 may provide the provider system 110 with large sets of application data [receiving, by the first computing device] which may be filtered and processed by the provider system 110 for use as training datasets”; Goodwin, col. 4, lines 32-52, “Severity types may be created to classify the severity of events that may be caused by the failure of various applications. High severity events may be so rare and severe that they may be a proxy for information technology and operational disruption. In the present disclosure, severities are categorized along a spectrum from type 1 to type 5 in decreasing order of severity. Severity types 1 and 2 will be classified as high severity events, however it should be appreciated that other classifiers, ranks, and identifiers may be used to identify high severity events. Severity types 3 , 4 and 5 may be classified as low severity events. Severity type 5 events may be events with a low probability of information technology and operational disruption. For instance, severity type 5 events may cause inconveniences. An example of a severity type 5 event may be a PC or hard drive issue. Other types of severity classifiers, identifiers, and rankings may be created to describe and identify a source (such as an application) that has the ability to disrupt an enterprise (e.g., by failing and causing information technology and operational disruption) [severity matrix data].”
Regarding claim 13:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 1.”
Goodwin further teaches “receiving, by a second computing device, the new metric data”: Goodwin, col. 10, lines 1-4, “Database 130 may provide the provider system 110 with large sets of application data [receiving, by a second computing device] which may be filtered and processed by the provider system 110 for use as training datasets”; Goodwin, col. 6, lines 44-63, “In various embodiments, a predictive model may be trained to provide a classifier capable of, for example, accepting, as inputs, states or features of one or more applications in an enterprise IT system and provide, as outputs, probabilities of subsequent high severity events. The predictive model may be trained, for example, using a training dataset that includes features of applications that were previously involved in high severity events. In some embodiments, the model may be retrained on a regular basis (such as each time a new high severity event is detected) using a training dataset that additionally includes features of the applications involved in the new high severity event [receiving, by a second computing device, the new metric data]. In certain embodiments, the model may be retrained periodically (e.g., every week, month, quarter, or year). In some embodiments, the retraining may use training datasets that account for actual outcomes as compared with predicted likelihoods of high severity events. The parameters of the predictive model may be adjusted or updated based on new data that may include, for example, prior predictions, user reprioritizations, newly-added features and state data, etc.”
Regarding claim 14:
Goodwin teaches:
“A method comprising”: Goodwin, col. 1, lines 39-40, “Various embodiments of the disclosed inventions relate to a computer-implemented method, comprising [A method comprising]:”; Goodwin, col. 24, lines 11-19, “Example computing systems and devices may include one or more processing units each with one or more processors, one or more memory units each with one or more memory devices, and one or more system buses that couple various components including memory units to processing units. Each memory device may include non-transient volatile storage media, non-volatile storage media, non-transitory storage media ( e.g., one or more volatile and/or non-volatile memories), etc.”
“compiling, by a first computing device, ownership data, metric data, and severity matrix data as input data to a machine learning model data store”: Goodwin, col. 10, lines 1-4, “Database 130 may provide the provider system 110 with large sets of application data [ownership data, metric data, and severity matrix data] which may be filtered and processed [compiling] by the provider system 110 for use as training datasets [as input data to a machine learning model data store].”
“wherein the ownership data comprises data representative of assets of an entity and data representative of relationships between the assets”: Goodwin, Table 1, “Flag to note if application has a CP Discrete Variable (coordination point) server assigned for all its assets [sample data item which is representative of assets of an entity and representative of relationships between the assets]”
(bold only) “wherein the metric data comprises data representative of development operations tools metric data of the assets”: Goodwin, Table 1, “Flag to note if application has a meets the Discrete Variable requirement that all its assets should meet the 200 miles distance criterion [representative of … metric data of the assets] between production servers and CP servers”
“and wherein the severity matrix data comprises a plurality of entries, wherein each entry comprises data representative of a severity of a consequence of a particular incident occurrence affecting the metric data”: Goodwin, Table 1, “
SEV12_FLAG; Flag to note if application had a severity 1 or 2 event; Response Variable
SEV3_CNT; Number of severity 3 events in rolling 1 year time period; Continuous Variable
SEV4_CNT; Number of severity 4 events in rolling 1 year time period; Continuous Variable
SEV5_CNT; Number of severity 5 events in rolling 1 year time period; Continuous Variable
SEV45_CNT; sum of severity 4 and 5 events in rolling 1 year time period; Continuous Variable [plurality of entries, wherein each entry comprises data representative of a severity of a consequence of a particular incident occurrence affecting the metric data].”
(bold only) “predicting, via the prediction machine learning model, a modification to the identified entry of the development operations tools metric data”: Goodwin, col. 6, lines 44-63, “In various embodiments, a predictive model may be trained to provide a classifier capable of, for example, accepting, as inputs, states or features of one or more applications in an enterprise IT system and provide, as outputs, probabilities of subsequent high severity events. The predictive model may be trained, for example, using a training dataset that includes features of applications that were previously involved in high severity events. In some embodiments, the model may be retrained on a regular basis (such as each time a new high severity event is detected) using a training dataset that additionally includes features of the applications involved in the new high severity event. In certain embodiments, the model may be retrained periodically (e.g., every week, month, quarter, or year). In some embodiments, the retraining may use training datasets that account for actual outcomes as compared with predicted likelihoods of high severity events. The parameters of the predictive model may be adjusted or updated based on new data that may include, for example, prior predictions, user reprioritizations, newly-added features and state data, etc. [predicting, via the prediction machine learning model, a modification to the identified entry of the development operations tools metric data]”
“the predicted modification comprising data indicating: an incident type associated with the identified entry; a plurality of severity designations”: Goodwin, col. 4, lines 32-42, “Severity types may be created to classify the severity of events that may be caused by the failure of various applications [the predicted modification comprising data indicating: an incident type associated with the identified entry]. High severity events may be so rare and severe that they may be a proxy for information technology and operational disruption. In the present disclosure, severities are categorized along a spectrum from type 1 to type 5 in decreasing order of severity [a plurality of severity designations]. Severity types 1 and 2 will be classified as high severity 40 events, however it should be appreciated that other classifiers, ranks, and identifiers may be used to identify high severity events.”
“modifying, based on user input associated with the predicted modification to the identified entry, the severity matrix data to include the predicted modification to the identified entry”: Goodwin, col. 2, lines 36-45, “displaying the ranked probability of the high-severity event for a number of applications in the application set on one or more pages of a graphical user interface, the graphical user interface having one or more selectable graphical components; and in response to a user interacting with the one or more graphical components [based on user input associated with the predicted modification to the identified entry], modifying the number of displayed applications [modifying, based on user input associated with the predicted modification to the identified entry, the severity matrix data to include the predicted modification to the identified entry, interpreted as including modifying the display of an application’s severity data], the ranking of each of the applications in the application set, and the probability of the high-severity event for one or more applications in the application set.”
“and causing, based on the user input associated with the predicted modification to the identified entry, at least one modification to at least one parameter associated with the prediction machine learning model“: Goodwin, col. 21, lines 24-41, “In an embodiment, applications may be classified using the CAT score based on one or more user's experience. For example, user experience with an application may result in the user (or group of users) classifying the application as failing 60% of the time. Thus, the application may be classified as being a medium application. A different group may classify applications according to different experiences. For instance, the same application may be classified differently to a different group of users. For example, an application used every day may be considered a critical application to that group of users. Additionally or alternatively, users may manually classify and reclassify applications based on whether the application interfaces with one or more third parties [based on the user input associated with the predicted modification to the identified entry]. For example, users may classify applications that interact with third parties directly as critical application because the failure of the application may disrupt third party experiences with the application”; Goodwin, col. 6, lines 44-63, “In various embodiments, a predictive model may be trained to provide a classifier capable of, for example, accepting, as inputs, states or features of one or more applications in an enterprise IT system and provide, as outputs, probabilities of subsequent high severity events. The predictive model may be trained, for example, using a training dataset that includes features of applications that were previously involved in high severity events. In some embodiments, the model may be retrained on a regular basis (such as each time a new high severity event is detected) using a training dataset that additionally includes features of the applications involved in the new high severity event. In certain embodiments, the model may be retrained periodically (e.g., every week, month, quarter, or year). In some embodiments, the retraining may use training datasets that account for actual outcomes as compared with predicted likelihoods of high severity events. The parameters of the predictive model may be adjusted or updated [at least one modification to at least one parameter associated with the prediction machine learning model] based on new data that may include, for example, prior predictions, user reprioritizations, newly-added features and state data, etc.”
Goodwin does not explicitly teach:
(bold only) “wherein the metric data comprises data representative of development operations tools metric data of the assets”
(bold only) “predicting, via the prediction machine learning model, a modification to the identified entry of the development operations tools metric data”
“identifying an entry of the development operations tools metric data for input to a prediction machine learning model trained to recognize one or more relationships between the input data in the machine learning model data store and the identified entry”
“a plurality of issue levels associated with the plurality of severity designations, wherein each issue level indicates a different threshold amount affected by the incident type in relation to the development operations tools metric data”
Bulut teaches:
(bold only) “wherein the metric data comprises data representative of development operations tools metric data of the assets,” (bold only) “predicting, via the prediction machine learning model, a modification to the identified entry of the development operations tools metric data,” and (bold only) “a plurality of issue levels associated with the plurality of severity designations, wherein each issue level indicates a different threshold amount affected by the incident type in relation to the development operations tools metric data”: Bulut, paragraph 0062, “Metric assignment component 108 can employ such a model defined above (e.g., LSTM, GRU, CNN, etc.) to assign one or more of such risk assessment metrics defined above based on vulnerability data of a compliance process, where such a compliance process can include, but is not limited to: a security process; a patching process; an identity and access management process; a development and operations (DevOps) process [metric data comprises data representative of development operations tools metric data of the assets] [development operations tools metric data]; a development, security, and operations (DevSecOps) process; a runtime process; and/or another compliance process. In some embodiments, examples of such vulnerability data of such a compliance process can include, but is not limited to, vulnerability descriptions, vulnerability categories, and/or vulnerability scores corresponding to vulnerabilities ( e.g., defects) of the compliance process.”
“identifying an entry of the development operations tools metric data for input to a prediction machine learning model trained to recognize one or more relationships between the input data in the machine learning model data store and the identified entry”: Bulut, paragraph 0065, “In an example, metric assignment component 108 can employ model 300a described below with reference to FIG. 3A to assign one or more risk assessment metrics of one or more (e.g., different) compliance process vulnerability scoring systems based on such vulnerability data defined above of one or more (e.g., different) compliance processes. In another example, metric assignment component 108 can employ model 300b described below with reference to FIG. 3b to assign one or more risk assessment metrics of one or more (e.g., different) compliance process vulnerability scoring systems based on such vulnerability data defined above of one or more ( e.g., different) compliance processes. In this example, metric assignment component 108 can employ model 300b to assign such one or more risk assessment metrics [identifying an entry of the development operations tools metric data] based on transfer learning, where model 300b can learn to assign risk assessment metrics from a certain compliance process vulnerability scoring system using information it has learned previously in assigning risk assessment metrics from other compliance process vulnerability scoring systems [input to a prediction machine learning model trained to recognize one or more relationships between the input data in the machine learning model data store and the identified entry]. In another example, metric assignment component 108 can employ deep learning model 412 described below with reference to FIG. 4C to assign one or more risk assessment metrics of one or more ( e.g., different compliance process vulnerability scoring systems based on such vulnerability data defined above of one or more (e.g., different) compliance processes.”
Bulut and Goodwin are analogous arts as they are both related to risk assessment of IT processes. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the use of developer operations tools data from Bulut to the teachings of Goodwin to arrive at the present invention, in order to help assess the vulnerabilities of the system under analysis, as stated in Bulut, paragraph 0062, “Metric assignment component 108 can employ such a model defined above (e.g., LSTM, GRU, CNN, etc.) to assign one or more of such risk assessment metrics defined above based on vulnerability data of a compliance process, where such a compliance process can include, but is not limited to: a security process; a patching process; an identity and access management process; a development and operations (DevOps) process; a development, security, and operations (DevSecOps) process; a runtime process; and/or another compliance process. In some embodiments, examples of such vulnerability data of such a compliance process can include, but is not limited to, vulnerability descriptions, vulnerability categories, and/or vulnerability scores corresponding to vulnerabilities ( e.g., defects) of the compliance process.”
Mazar teaches “a plurality of issue levels associated with the plurality of severity designations, wherein each issue level indicates a different threshold amount affected by the incident type in relation to the development operations tools metric data”: Mazar, col. 11, line 55 – col. 12, line 7, “In some implementations, collected vital signs can be compared to threshold values to not only determine a type of alarm state, but also to identify a severity of an alarm state [a plurality of issue levels associated with the plurality of severity designations]. For example, a patient experiencing a respiration rate that is slightly above the preferred range for the patient can be identified as having a respiratory alarm state of a tier 2 level while a patient experiencing a respiration rate that deviates significantly from a preferred range can be identified as having a respiratory alarm state of a tier 1 level (e.g., a higher urgency level). As indicated in the preceding example, alarm states can be divided into different tier levels. As another example, information collected by an accelerometer included in the chest sensor 102 can indicate that the patient 104 has fallen. If the distance and velocity of the fall can be compared to threshold values to identify a severity for the fall and associate an alarm state tier level for the fall. For example, a slow fall from a height of two feet can have a severity level of tier 2 while a quick fall from a height of five can be assigned a severity level of tier 1 [each issue level indicates a different threshold amount affected by the incident type in relation to the … metric data].”
Mazar and Goodwin are analogous arts as they are both related to measurement of incident severity. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the multiple severity threshold levels of Mazar with the teachings of Goodwin to arrive at the present invention, in order to align responses to severity levels, as stated in Mazar, col. 11, lines 4–8, “In some implementations, alarm states can be tiered based on the severity of an alarm state, with some alarms being identified as more important (and/or in need or more immediate attention from a caregiver) than others.”
Regarding claim 15:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 14.”
Goodwin further teaches “wherein the user input indicates a confirmation of modifying the identified entry”: Goodwin, col. 2, lines 36-45, “displaying the ranked probability of the high-severity event for a number of applications in the application set on one or more pages of a graphical user interface, the graphical user interface having one or more selectable graphical components; and in response to a user interacting with the one or more graphical components [the user input indicates a confirmation], modifying the number of displayed applications [modifying the identified entry, interpreted as including modifying the display of an application’s severity data], the ranking of each of the applications in the application set, and the probability of the high-severity event for one or more applications in the application set.”
Regarding claim 17:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 14.”
Goodwin further teaches “predicting the modification comprises identifying one or more specific characteristics of the identified entry and other entries within the severity matrix data”: Goodwin, col. 16, lines 36-42, “In various embodiments, step 210-1 may be performed by the provider system 110 to determine parameters for the independent variables. Parameters may be determined to tune the independent variables ( e.g., the features most indicative of high severity events that were determined in process 208 [identifying one or more specific characteristics of the identified entry and other entries within the severity matrix data]) using any appropriate technique of tuning parameters.”
Regarding claim 18:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 14.”
Goodwin further teaches “wherein the user input indicates a change to the predicted modification to the identified entry to the severity matrix data”: Goodwin, col. 21, lines 24-41, “In an embodiment, applications may be classified using the CAT score based on one or more user's experience. For example, user experience with an application may result in the user (or group of users) classifying the application as failing 60% of the time. Thus, the application may be classified as being a medium application. A different group may classify applications according to different experiences. For instance, the same application may be classified differently to a different group of users. For example, an application used every day may be considered a critical application to that group of users. Additionally or alternatively, users may manually classify and reclassify applications based on whether the application interfaces with one or more third parties [wherein the user input indicates a change to the predicted modification to the identified entry to the severity matrix data]. For example, users may classify applications that interact with third parties directly as critical application because the failure of the application may disrupt third party experiences with the application.”
Regarding claim 21:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 1.”
Goodwin further teaches “outputting a notification adding the new entry to the severity matrix data”: Goodwin, col. 2, lines 23-45, “Various embodiments of the disclosed inventions relate to a computer-implemented method, comprising: determining, based on a received trigger, a probability of a future event for each application in an application set, wherein determining the probability of the future event for each application in the application set comprises feeding one or more features to a predictive model, the one or more features corresponding to features of each of the applications in the application set, the predictive model tuned to receive the one or more features corresponding to applications in the application set and provide the probability of the future event for each application in the application set; ranking the probability of the high-severity event for each application in the application set according to the predictive model; displaying the ranked probability of the high-severity event for a number of applications in the application set on one or more pages of a graphical user interface [outputting a notification adding the new entry to the severity matrix data], the graphical user interface having one or more selectable graphical components; and in response to a user interacting with the one or more graphical components, modifying the number of displayed applications, the ranking of each of the applications in the application set, and the probability of the high-severity event for one or more applications in the application set.”
Regarding claim 22:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 14.”
Goodwin further teaches “outputting a notification of the modification to the severity matrix data comprising the predicted modification to the identified entry”: Goodwin, col. 2, lines 23-45, “Various embodiments of the disclosed inventions relate to a computer-implemented method, comprising: determining, based on a received trigger, a probability of a future event for each application in an application set, wherein determining the probability of the future event for each application in the application set comprises feeding one or more features to a predictive model, the one or more features corresponding to features of each of the applications in the application set, the predictive model tuned to receive the one or more features corresponding to applications in the application set and provide the probability of the future event for each application in the application set; ranking the probability of the high-severity event for each application in the application set according to the predictive model; displaying the ranked probability of the high-severity event for a number of applications in the application set on one or more pages of a graphical user interface [outputting a notification of the modification to the severity matrix data comprising the predicted modification to the identified entry], the graphical user interface having one or more selectable graphical components; and in response to a user interacting with the one or more graphical components, modifying the number of displayed applications, the ranking of each of the applications in the application set, and the probability of the high-severity event for one or more applications in the application set.”
Regarding claim 23:
Goodwin as modified by Bulut and Mazar teaches “The method of claim 18.”
Goodwin further teaches “wherein modifying the severity matrix data includes the change to the predicted modification to the identified entry”: Goodwin, col. 21, lines 24-41, “In an embodiment, applications may be classified using the CAT score based on one or more user's experience. For example, user experience with an application may result in the user (or group of users) classifying the application as failing 60% of the time. Thus, the application may be classified as being a medium application. A different group may classify applications according to different experiences. For instance, the same application may be classified differently to a different group of users. For example, an application used every day may be considered a critical application to that group of users. Additionally or alternatively, users may manually classify and reclassify [wherein modifying the severity matrix data includes the change to the predicted modification to the identified entry] applications based on whether the application interfaces with one or more third parties. For example, users may classify applications that interact with third parties directly as critical application because the failure of the application may disrupt third party experiences with the application.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Levin et al., US Pre-Grant Publication 2020/0336506, discloses a system for predicting security incidents that includes assigning one of multiple severity levels to an incident based on series of thresholds.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VAS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2129
/MICHAEL J HUNTLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2129