DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s RCE filed 1/5/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 32 was added.
Claims 1-5 and 7-32 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims (pages 15-17) in a reply filed 1/5/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 11-14, 16, 17, and 22-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. US 20240195440 (hereinafter “Liu”) in view of You et al. US 20240323936 (hereinafter “You”)
As to claim 1 and 16 (claim 16 is the method claim for the UE in claim 1):
Liu discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (“terminal device”, Liu [0004]) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory (“memory”, Liu [0048]) ; and at least one processor (“processor”, Liu [0046]) communicatively coupled with the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to cause the UE to:
transmit, to a network entity, an indication that the UE supports downlink subband filtering within a bandwidth of a component carrier (CC) (FIG. 19 shows S1902 where the terminal device sends capability information to the network device, where the capability information includes a filter bandwidth supported by the terminal device, Liu) (“To reduce the CLI between terminal devices, the first time-frequency resource may be filtered through the filter with the first bandwidth. When the frequency domain resource corresponding to the first time-frequency resource is the first subband, correspondingly, the first bandwidth is less than the active BWP of the terminal device or the CC. For example, the first bandwidth is the first subband. This can reduce or avoid, as much as possible, leakage that is of a signal sent by the terminal device on the first time-frequency resource and that is to another subband adjacent to the first subband, to reduce the CLI between terminal devices. Similarly, the terminal device filters, through the filter with the first bandwidth, a signal received on the first time-frequency resource, to avoid or reduce, as much as possible, a CLI signal received by the terminal device, so that power of a signal received by a receiver of the terminal device is not additionally increased due to the CLI. This reduces a blocking probability of the receiver of the terminal device.”, Liu [0017])
receive, from the network entity and based on transmitting the indication, the downlink signal within the downlink subband, wherein the downlink subband is included in the bandwidth of the CC, based on filtering out signals within the bandwidth of the CC that are in frequency domain resources not included within the downlink subband. (“It may be understood that if there is only one transmission direction on a same time domain resource in the BWP, the bandwidth of the filter may be at the BWP level or the CC level. The signal that is to be sent and the signal that is received by the terminal device are filtered through the filter with the BWP-level or CC-level bandwidth. If a same time domain resource in the BWP includes an uplink transmission direction and a downlink transmission direction, the bandwidth of the filter, namely, the first bandwidth, may be less than the CC or the active BWP of the terminal device. For example, the first bandwidth may be at the subband level. The signal that is to be sent or is received by the terminal device is filtered through a filter with a subband-level bandwidth. For ease of description, in this specification, a mode of performing filtering through a filter with a subband-level bandwidth is referred to as a subband-level filtering mode.”, Liu [0134])
Liu as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmit, to a network entity, an indication of an in-channel selectivity (ICS) value of the UE,
wherein the ICS value is in accordance with the downlink subband;
However, You further teaches ICS value which includes:
transmit, to a network entity, an indication of an in-channel selectivity (ICS) value of the UE, (“This means that it is needed to reduce the amount of signal received from neighboring subbands below a certain level. The ratio of the power of these received signals to the power of signals received in neighboring subbands is called adjacent channel selection (ACS) for convenience.”, You [0305]) (“To reduce the impact of UE-to-UE CLI between neighboring subbands received from other cells, it is necessary to reduce the magnitude of radiation from UL signals transmitted by the UE in the UL subband (second frequency resource) to the DL subband (first frequency resource) below a certain level, similar to the previous point. In other words, the UE needs to transmit the ACLR to the DL subband (i.e., ACLR.sub.UE) below a certain value when transmitting UL signals. In addition, when receiving DL signals, the UE may need to reduce the level of signals received outside the DL subband (first frequency resource) to a level below a certain level in order to reduce the impact of signals received in frequency resources outside the DL subband on DL reception in the DL subband. In other words, when receiving a DL signal, the UE needs to receive ACS (i.e., ACS.sub.UE) on frequency resources outside the DL subband (or UL subband) so that it is below a certain value.”, You [0306]) (“Alternatively, because there are differences in capabilities between UEs, the amount of guard subbands required to satisfy a specific ACLR.sub.UE and ACS.sub.UE may vary depending on the UE. Considering this case, the location and/or size of guard frequency resources applied between UEs may be different. In this case, the size and/or location of the guard frequency resource can be applied UE-specifically, and this information can be set UE-specifically for the UE. When the size of the guard frequency resource is set UE-specifically for the UE, the network needs to determine the size of the guard frequency resource needed by the UE. To this end, the UE can report or request information about the size of the required guard frequency resources to the base station. In this case, the UE can specifically transmit the following information to the base station.”, You [0314-0315]) (Examiner’s Note: the Examiner interpreted “ACS” as how well the receiver rejects an interference signal that is on an adjacent channel or subband while receiving a signal in the assigned subband and the specification defines “ICS” as “a measure of the UE120 receiver’s ability to receive a signal at the assigned subband within a channel frequency in the presence of adjacent subband signal within the same channel”. The size of the required guard frequency resources is transmitted to the base station and this indicates the “ACS” or “ICS” value of the UE since the size of the guard subband is determined to satisfy a specific ACLR/ACS value of the UE)
Liu and You are analogous because they pertain to techniques for minimizing adjacent channel interference.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ICS value as described in You into Liu. By modifying the method to include ICS value as taught by You, the benefits of improved selectivity (You [0305]) and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
As to claim 2 and 17 (claim 17 is the method claim for the UE in claim 1):
Liu discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the indication that the UE supports downlink subband filtering within the bandwidth of the CC includes an indication of at least one of:
a quantity of downlink subbands, within the CC, that are supported by the UE,
whether a single downlink subband or multiple downlink subbands within the CC are supported by the UE
a first supported quantity of frequency domain resources between subbands within the CC,
a second supported quantity of frequency domain resources between subbands within the CC,
a bandwidth of each subband in the CC,
or a third supported quantity of frequency domain resources between an uplink subband and the downlink subband in accordance with the UE filtering out signals included in the uplink subband when receiving signals included in the downlink subband. (“It may be understood that the terminal device may support one or more filter bandwidths. The filter bandwidth supported by the terminal device varies with a capability of the terminal device. The first bandwidth should fall within the one or more filter bandwidths supported by the terminal device. The first signal is sent on the first time-frequency resource, and the first bandwidth should be a minimum filter bandwidth greater than a third bandwidth. The third bandwidth may be a bandwidth occupied by the first subband in the BWP, may be a bandwidth occupied by the first subband in the CC, or may be a bandwidth occupied by a channel carrying the first signal. Otherwise, the first signal is damaged. The terminal device may determine the first bandwidth based on the supported filter bandwidth and the third bandwidth. For example, to reduce, as much as possible, interference to another terminal device that is caused by the sending of the first signal by the terminal device, the first bandwidth may be a minimum filter bandwidth that is in the filter bandwidth supported by the terminal device and that is greater than or equal to the third bandwidth. In embodiments of this application, an implementation of the third bandwidth includes one or more of the following, and an implementation to be used is not limited in embodiments of this application.”, Liu [0142])
As to claim 3:
Liu discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to receive, from the network entity and in accordance with transmitting the indication, a communication scheduling the downlink signal in a subband full-duplex (SBFD) (“subband full duplex (SBFD) system”, Liu [0002]) slot in one or more downlink subbands including the downlink subband, and one or more uplink subbands. (“FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of SBFD. FIG. 2 uses an example in which a frequency domain resource is one CC.”, Liu [0096])
As to claim 7 and 22 (claim 22 is the method claim for the UE in claim 1):
Liu discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the downlink signal corresponds to a first transmission power, wherein the downlink subband comprises a first bandwidth, and wherein, to cause the UE to receive the downlink signal, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive an interfering signal communicated in another subband within the CC, wherein the interfering signal corresponds to a second transmission power (“the terminal device 2 may filter the received signal through a filter with a small bandwidth, to reduce power of a received CLI signal, and therefore reduce the power of the signal received by the receiver and reduce or avoid the blocking interference”, Liu [0097]), wherein the other subband comprises a second bandwidth (“CLI caused by the terminal device 1 to the terminal device 2 mainly includes interference caused by leakage of the uplink signal of the terminal device 1 in the subband 1 to an adjacent subband (namely, a subband in which the signal from the network device is located)”, Liu [0097]), and wherein the downlink subband and the other subband are separated in a frequency domain by a quantity of frequency domain resources; and filter the downlink signal to reduce interference caused by the interfering signal. (“Filtering a first time-frequency resource through the filter with the first bandwidth can reduce or avoid leakage of the first signal to another subband adjacent to the first subband”, Liu [0131]) (“the BWP corresponding to the second time-frequency resource includes two subbands for downlink transmission and one subband for uplink transmission. The terminal device filters the two subbands for the downlink transmission together”, Liu [0132])
As to claim 11:
Liu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit, to the network entity, a measurement report indicating a measurement of the interfering signal.
However, You further teaches providing information that indicates a measurement of the interfering signal which includes:
The UE of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit, to the network entity, a measurement report indicating a measurement of the interfering signal. (“This means that it is needed to reduce the amount of signal received from neighboring subbands below a certain level. The ratio of the power of these received signals to the power of signals received in neighboring subbands is called adjacent channel selection (ACS) for convenience.”, You [0305]) (“To reduce the impact of UE-to-UE CLI between neighboring subbands received from other cells, it is necessary to reduce the magnitude of radiation from UL signals transmitted by the UE in the UL subband (second frequency resource) to the DL subband (first frequency resource) below a certain level, similar to the previous point. In other words, the UE needs to transmit the ACLR to the DL subband (i.e., ACLR.sub.UE) below a certain value when transmitting UL signals. In addition, when receiving DL signals, the UE may need to reduce the level of signals received outside the DL subband (first frequency resource) to a level below a certain level in order to reduce the impact of signals received in frequency resources outside the DL subband on DL reception in the DL subband. In other words, when receiving a DL signal, the UE needs to receive ACS (i.e., ACS.sub.UE) on frequency resources outside the DL subband (or UL subband) so that it is below a certain value.”, You [0306]) (“Alternatively, because there are differences in capabilities between UEs, the amount of guard subbands required to satisfy a specific ACLR.sub.UE and ACS.sub.UE may vary depending on the UE. Considering this case, the location and/or size of guard frequency resources applied between UEs may be different. In this case, the size and/or location of the guard frequency resource can be applied UE-specifically, and this information can be set UE-specifically for the UE. When the size of the guard frequency resource is set UE-specifically for the UE, the network needs to determine the size of the guard frequency resource needed by the UE. To this end, the UE can report or request information about the size of the required guard frequency resources to the base station. In this case, the UE can specifically transmit the following information to the base station.”, You [0314-0315]) (Examiner’s Note: the Examiner interpreted “ACS” as how well the receiver rejects an interference signal that is on an adjacent channel or subband while receiving a signal in the assigned subband and the specification defines “ICS” as “a measure of the UE120 receiver’s ability to receive a signal at the assigned subband within a channel frequency in the presence of adjacent subband signal within the same channel”. The size of the required guard frequency resources is transmitted to the base station and this indicates the “ACS” or “ICS” value of the UE since the size of the guard subband is determined to satisfy a specific ACLR/ACS value of the UE)
Liu and You are analogous because they pertain to techniques for minimizing adjacent channel interference.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ICS value as described in You into Liu. By modifying the method to include ICS value as taught by You, the benefits of improved selectivity (You [0305]) and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
As to claim 12 and 26 (claim 26 is the method claim for the network entity in claim 12):
Liu discloses:
A network entity for wireless communication (“network device”, Liu [0006]), comprising: at least one memory (“memory”, Liu [0209]); and at least one processor (“processor”, Liu [0209]) communicatively coupled with the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to cause the network entity to: receive an indication that a user equipment (UE) supports downlink subband filtering within a bandwidth of a component carrier (CC) (FIG. 19 shows S1902 where the terminal device sends capability information to the network device, where the capability information includes a filter bandwidth supported by the terminal device, Liu) (FIG. 5 shows bandwidth of the CC including a downlink subband, Liu); and transmit, based on receiving the indication, a communication scheduling a downlink signal for the UE in the CC in a slot comprising full-duplex operations. (“It may be understood that if there is only one transmission direction on a same time domain resource in the BWP, the bandwidth of the filter may be at the BWP level or the CC level. The signal that is to be sent and the signal that is received by the terminal device are filtered through the filter with the BWP-level or CC-level bandwidth. If a same time domain resource in the BWP includes an uplink transmission direction and a downlink transmission direction, the bandwidth of the filter, namely, the first bandwidth, may be less than the CC or the active BWP of the terminal device. For example, the first bandwidth may be at the subband level. The signal that is to be sent or is received by the terminal device is filtered through a filter with a subband-level bandwidth. For ease of description, in this specification, a mode of performing filtering through a filter with a subband-level bandwidth is referred to as a subband-level filtering mode.”, Liu [0134]) (“One or more BWPs may be configured for one terminal device on one CC, but the terminal device can apply only one active uplink BWP and one active downlink BWP simultaneously”, Liu [0088])
Liu as described above does not explicitly teach:
receive
wherein the ICS value is in accordance with the downlink subband;
However, You further teaches ICS value which includes:
receive
wherein the ICS value is in accordance with the downlink subband; (“This means that it is needed to reduce the amount of signal received from neighboring subbands below a certain level. The ratio of the power of these received signals to the power of signals received in neighboring subbands is called adjacent channel selection (ACS) for convenience.”, You [0305]) (“To reduce the impact of UE-to-UE CLI between neighboring subbands received from other cells, it is necessary to reduce the magnitude of radiation from UL signals transmitted by the UE in the UL subband (second frequency resource) to the DL subband (first frequency resource) below a certain level, similar to the previous point. In other words, the UE needs to transmit the ACLR to the DL subband (i.e., ACLR.sub.UE) below a certain value when transmitting UL signals. In addition, when receiving DL signals, the UE may need to reduce the level of signals received outside the DL subband (first frequency resource) to a level below a certain level in order to reduce the impact of signals received in frequency resources outside the DL subband on DL reception in the DL subband. In other words, when receiving a DL signal, the UE needs to receive ACS (i.e., ACS.sub.UE) on frequency resources outside the DL subband (or UL subband) so that it is below a certain value.”, You [0306]) (“Alternatively, because there are differences in capabilities between UEs, the amount of guard subbands required to satisfy a specific ACLR.sub.UE and ACS.sub.UE may vary depending on the UE. Considering this case, the location and/or size of guard frequency resources applied between UEs may be different. In this case, the size and/or location of the guard frequency resource can be applied UE-specifically, and this information can be set UE-specifically for the UE. When the size of the guard frequency resource is set UE-specifically for the UE, the network needs to determine the size of the guard frequency resource needed by the UE. To this end, the UE can report or request information about the size of the required guard frequency resources to the base station. In this case, the UE can specifically transmit the following information to the base station.”, You [0314-0315]) (Examiner’s Note: the Examiner interpreted “ACS” as how well the receiver rejects an interference signal that is on an adjacent channel or subband while receiving a signal in the assigned subband and the specification defines “ICS” as “a measure of the UE120 receiver’s ability to receive a signal at the assigned subband within a channel frequency in the presence of adjacent subband signal within the same channel”. The size of the required guard frequency resources is transmitted to the base station and this indicates the “ACS” or “ICS” value of the UE since the size of the guard subband is determined to satisfy a specific ACLR/ACS value of the UE)
Liu and You are analogous because they pertain to techniques for minimizing adjacent channel interference.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ICS value as described in You into Liu. By modifying the method to include ICS value as taught by You, the benefits of improved selectivity (You [0305]) and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
As to claim 13:
Liu discloses:
The network entity of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network entity to transmit the downlink signal intended for the UE. (FIG. 19 shows the network entity transmitting a downlink signal intended for the UE, Liu)
As to claim 14:
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4 from the perspective of the network entity.
As to claim 23:
Liu discloses:
The method of claim 22, wherein the second transmission power is greater than or equal to the first transmission power. (“Similarly, the terminal device 2 may filter the received signal through a filter with a small bandwidth, to reduce power of a received CLI signal, and therefore reduce the power of the signal received by the receiver and reduce or avoid the blocking interference”, Liu [0097])
As to claim 24:
Liu discloses:
The method of claim 22, wherein at least one of the second transmission power, the second bandwidth, or the quantity of frequency domain resources is in accordance with the first bandwidth. (“Similarly, the terminal device 2 may filter the received signal through a filter with a small bandwidth, to reduce power of a received CLI signal, and therefore reduce the power of the signal received by the receiver and reduce or avoid the blocking interference”, Liu [0097])
As to claim 25:
Liu discloses:
The method of claim 16, wherein the indication is in accordance with a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement report. (“It may be understood that filtering, by the terminal device through the filter with the first bandwidth, information received on the first time-frequency resource can reduce CLI from another terminal device, so that power of a signal received by a receiver of the terminal device is not additionally increased due to the CLI.”, Liu [0131])”, Liu [0017])
As to claim 27:
Liu discloses:
The method of claim 26, further comprising transmitting the downlink signal intended for the UE. (FIG. 19 shows the network entity transmitting a downlink signal intended for the UE, Liu)
As to claim 28:
Liu discloses:
The method of claim 26, wherein the indication that the UE supports downlink subband filtering within the bandwidth of the CC includes an indication of at least one of: a quantity of downlink subbands, within the CC, that are supported by the UE, whether a single downlink subband or multiple downlink subbands within the CC are supported by the UE (“the frequency domain resource corresponding to the first time-frequency resource includes a plurality of subbands, in other words, the terminal device sends the first signal in the plurality of subbands.”, Liu [0132]), a first supported quantity of frequency domain resources between subbands within the CC, a second supported quantity of frequency domain resources between subbands within the CC, a bandwidth of each subband in the CC, or a third supported quantity of frequency domain resources between an uplink subband and the downlink subband in accordance with the UE filtering out signals included in the uplink subband when receiving signals included in the downlink subband. (“The terminal device filters each subband by using the first bandwidth corresponding to the subband. It should be noted that there are a plurality of subbands in a same transmission direction, and the terminal device filters the plurality of subbands together, to reduce switching of a filter parameter. For example, the BWP corresponding to the second time-frequency resource includes two subbands for downlink transmission and one subband for uplink transmission. The terminal device filters the two subbands for the downlink transmission together”, Liu [0132])
As to claim 29:
Liu discloses:
The method of claim 26, wherein the slot is a subband full-duplex (SBFD) (“subband full duplex (SBFD) system”, Liu [0002]) slot associated with one or more downlink subbands and one or more uplink subbands. (“FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of SBFD. FIG. 2 uses an example in which a frequency domain resource is one CC.”, Liu [0096])
As to claim 30:
Liu discloses:
The method of claim 26, wherein the indication is based at least in part on a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement report. (“It may be understood that filtering, by the terminal device through the filter with the first bandwidth, information received on the first time-frequency resource can reduce CLI from another terminal device, so that power of a signal received by a receiver of the terminal device is not additionally increased due to the CLI.”, Liu [0131])
Claim(s) 4, 5, 19, 20, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of You, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. CN 103209420 A (hereinafter “Wang”)
As to claim 4 and 19 (claim 19 is the method claim for the UE in claim 1):
Liu discloses the concept of filtering out CLI between terminals due to adjacent subbands:
(“To reduce the CLI between terminal devices, the first time-frequency resource may be filtered through the filter with the first bandwidth. When the frequency domain resource corresponding to the first time-frequency resource is the first subband, correspondingly, the first bandwidth is less than the active BWP of the terminal device or the CC. For example, the first bandwidth is the first subband. This can reduce or avoid, as much as possible, leakage that is of a signal sent by the terminal device on the first time-frequency resource and that is to another subband adjacent to the first subband, to reduce the CLI between terminal devices. Similarly, the terminal device filters, through the filter with the first bandwidth, a signal received on the first time-frequency resource, to avoid or reduce, as much as possible, a CLI signal received by the terminal device, so that power of a signal received by a receiver of the terminal device is not additionally increased due to the CLI. This reduces a blocking probability of the receiver of the terminal device.”, Liu [0017])
The combination of Liu and You as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the ICS value that indicates a measure of an amount of interference rejection caused by a signal received in an adjacent
However, Wang further teaches ICS value which includes:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the ICS value that indicates a measure of an amount of interference rejection caused by a signal received in an adjacent (“passage-interference selective ACS (Adjacent Channel Selectivity) have the adjacent channel signal, the receiver receiving useful signal on the assigned channel frequency capacity, defined as the receiver filter on the appointed channel attenuation and the ratio of attenuation on the adjacent channel.”, Wang [0074]) (“Because of spectrum resources allocated to different, different component carriers will produce different interference for the second mobile communication system, therefore, an embodiment of the present invention, the at least two component carriers, the first component carrier corresponding to the first transmission power decrease amount is greater than the second component carrier corresponding to the second transmission power decrease amount, wherein the frequency spectrum resource allocation of the first component carrier to the second frequency spectrum resource between interval of the frequency interval between of less than that of the second component carrier allocated to the spectrum resource with the second frequency spectrum resource.”, Wang [0076])
Liu, Wang, and You are analogous because they pertain to techniques for minimizing adjacent channel interference.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ICS value as described in Wang into Liu as modified by You. By modifying the method to include ICS value as taught by Wang, the benefits of improved selectivity (You [0305] and Wang [0074]) and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
As to claim 5:
Liu discloses the concept of filtering out CLI between terminals due to adjacent subbands:
(“To reduce the CLI between terminal devices, the first time-frequency resource may be filtered through the filter with the first bandwidth. When the frequency domain resource corresponding to the first time-frequency resource is the first subband, correspondingly, the first bandwidth is less than the active BWP of the terminal device or the CC. For example, the first bandwidth is the first subband. This can reduce or avoid, as much as possible, leakage that is of a signal sent by the terminal device on the first time-frequency resource and that is to another subband adjacent to the first subband, to reduce the CLI between terminal devices. Similarly, the terminal device filters, through the filter with the first bandwidth, a signal received on the first time-frequency resource, to avoid or reduce, as much as possible, a CLI signal received by the terminal device, so that power of a signal received by a receiver of the terminal device is not additionally increased due to the CLI. This reduces a blocking probability of the receiver of the terminal device.”, Liu [0017])
The combination of Liu and You as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 4, wherein the ICS value is a ratio of a first filter attenuation associated with the downlink
However, Wang further teaches ICS value which includes:
The UE of claim 4, wherein the ICS value is a ratio of a first filter attenuation associated with the downlink (“passage-interference selective ACS (Adjacent Channel Selectivity) have the adjacent channel signal, the receiver receiving useful signal on the assigned channel frequency capacity, defined as the receiver filter on the appointed channel attenuation and the ratio of attenuation on the adjacent channel.”, Wang [0074]) (“Because of spectrum resources allocated to different, different component carriers will produce different interference for the second mobile communication system, therefore, an embodiment of the present invention, the at least two component carriers, the first component carrier corresponding to the first transmission power decrease amount is greater than the second component carrier corresponding to the second transmission power decrease amount, wherein the frequency spectrum resource allocation of the first component carrier to the second frequency spectrum resource between interval of the frequency interval between of less than that of the second component carrier allocated to the spectrum resource with the second frequency spectrum resource.”, Wang [0076])
Liu, Wang, and You are analogous because they pertain to techniques for minimizing adjacent channel interference.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ICS value as described in Wang into Liu as modified by You. By modifying the method to include ICS value as taught by Wang, the benefits of improved selectivity (You [0305] and Wang [0074]) and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
As to claim 20:
Liu discloses the concept of filtering out CLI between terminals due to adjacent subbands:
(“To reduce the CLI between terminal devices, the first time-frequency resource may be filtered through the filter with the first bandwidth. When the frequency domain resource corresponding to the first time-frequency resource is the first subband, correspondingly, the first bandwidth is less than the active BWP of the terminal device or the CC. For example, the first bandwidth is the first subband. This can reduce or avoid, as much as possible, leakage that is of a signal sent by the terminal device on the first time-frequency resource and that is to another subband adjacent to the first subband, to reduce the CLI between terminal devices. Similarly, the terminal device filters, through the filter with the first bandwidth, a signal received on the first time-frequency resource, to avoid or reduce, as much as possible, a CLI signal received by the terminal device, so that power of a signal received by a receiver of the terminal device is not additionally increased due to the CLI. This reduces a blocking probability of the receiver of the terminal device.”, Liu [0017])
The combination of Liu and You as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 19, wherein the ICS value is a ratio of a received power of the signal received in the adjacent
However, Wang further teaches ICS value which includes:
The method of claim 19, wherein the ICS value is a ratio of a received power of the signal received in the adjacent subband to a power of the signal after the UE performs the filtering of the downlink subband. (“passage-interference selective ACS (Adjacent Channel Selectivity) have the adjacent channel signal, the receiver receiving useful signal on the assigned channel frequency capacity, defined as the receiver filter on the appointed channel attenuation and the ratio of attenuation on the adjacent channel.”, Wang [0074]) (“Because of spectrum resources allocated to different, different component carriers will produce different interference for the second mobile communication system, therefore, an embodiment of the present invention, the at least two component carriers, the first component carrier corresponding to the first transmission power decrease amount is greater than the second component carrier corresponding to the second transmission power decrease amount, wherein the frequency spectrum resource allocation of the first component carrier to the second frequency spectrum resource between interval of the frequency interval between of less than that of the second component carrier allocated to the spectrum resource with the second frequency spectrum resource.”, Wang [0076])
Liu, Wang, and You are analogous because they pertain to techniques for minimizing adjacent channel interference.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ICS value as described in Wang into Liu as modified by You. By modifying the method to include ICS value as taught by Wang, the benefits of improved selectivity (You [0305] and Wang [0074]) and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
As to claim 31:
Liu discloses the concept of filtering out CLI between terminals due to adjacent subbands:
(“To reduce the CLI between terminal devices, the first time-frequency resource may be filtered through the filter with the first bandwidth. When the frequency domain resource corresponding to the first time-frequency resource is the first subband, correspondingly, the first bandwidth is less than the active BWP of the terminal device or the CC. For example, the first bandwidth is the first subband. This can reduce or avoid, as much as possible, leakage that is of a signal sent by the terminal device on the first time-frequency resource and that is to another subband adjacent to the first subband, to reduce the CLI between terminal devices. Similarly, the terminal device filters, through the filter with the first bandwidth, a signal received on the first time-frequency resource, to avoid or reduce, as much as possible, a CLI signal received by the terminal device, so that power of a signal received by a receiver of the terminal device is not additionally increased due to the CLI. This reduces a blocking probability of the receiver of the terminal device.”, Liu [0017])
The combination of Liu and You as described above does not explicitly teach:
The network entity of claim 12, wherein the ICS value indicates a measure of an amount of interference rejection caused by a signal received in an adjacent (“passage-interference selective ACS (Adjacent Channel Selectivity) have the adjacent channel signal, the receiver receiving useful signal on the assigned channel frequency capacity, defined as the receiver filter on the appointed channel attenuation and the ratio of attenuation on the adjacent channel.”, Wang [0074]) (“Because of spectrum resources allocated to different, different component carriers will produce different interference for the second mobile communication system, therefore, an embodiment of the present invention, the at least two component carriers, the first component carrier corresponding to the first transmission power decrease amount is greater than the second component carrier corresponding to the second transmission power decrease amount, wherein the frequency spectrum resource allocation of the first component carrier to the second frequency spectrum resource between interval of the frequency interval between of less than that of the second component carrier allocated to the spectrum resource with the second frequency spectrum resource.”, Wang [0076])
Liu, Wang, and You are analogous because they pertain to techniques for minimizing adjacent channel interference.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ICS value as described in Wang into Liu as modified by You. By modifying the method to include ICS value as taught by Wang, the benefits of improved selectivity (You [0305] and Wang [0074]) and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 8-10, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and You, as applied to claims 7,14, and 19 above, and further in view of Kapoor et al. US 20050208912 (hereinafter “Kapoor”)
As to claim 8:
The combination of You and Liu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 7, wherein the first transmission power is in accordance with a receiver sensitivity (REFSENSE) test value modified by a first value, wherein the first value is in accordance with the ICS value.
However, Kapoor further teaches receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity which includes:
The UE of claim 7, wherein the first transmission power is in accordance with a receiver sensitivity (REFSENSE) test value modified by a first value, wherein the first value is in accordance with the ICS value. (“The second set of components may be selected to provide greater receiver sensitivity, greater channel selectivity, or, in at least one embodiment, a combination thereof”, Kapoor [0048])
Liu and You are analogous because they pertain to filtering techniques.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity as described in Kapoor into Liu as modified by You. By modifying the method to include receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity as taught by Kapoor, the benefits of improved selectivity and sensitivity (Kapoor [0006] and You [0305]) and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
As to claim 9:
The combination of You and Liu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 8, wherein the second transmission power is in accordance with the REFSENSE test value modified by a second value, wherein the second value is in accordance with the ICS value.
However, Kapoor further teaches receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity which includes:
The UE of claim 8, wherein the second transmission power is in accordance with the REFSENSE test value modified by a second value, wherein the second value is in accordance with the ICS value. (“The second set of components may be selected to provide greater receiver sensitivity, greater channel selectivity, or, in at least one embodiment, a combination thereof”, Kapoor [0031])
Liu, You, and Kapoor are analogous because they pertain to filtering techniques.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity as described in Kapoor into Liu as modified by You. By modifying the method to include receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity as taught by Kapoor, the benefits of improved selectivity and sensitivity (Kapoor [0006] and You [0305]) and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
The combination of You and Liu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 8, wherein the REFSENSE test value is in accordance with an operating configuration of the UE, wherein the operating configuration includes at least one of: a frequency range, a sub-frequency range, a non-terrestrial network configuration, a terrestrial network configuration, a licensed frequency band configuration, an unlicensed frequency band configuration, a sidelink configuration, an intra-band carrier aggregation configuration, an inter-band carrier aggregation configuration, a dual connectivity configuration, a transmit receive point (TRP) configuration, or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configuration.
However, Kapoor further teaches receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity which includes:
The UE of claim 8, wherein the REFSENSE test value is based at least in part on an operating configuration associated with the UE, wherein the operating configuration includes at least one of: a frequency range (“Such characteristics may include, but are not limited to, amplifier gain, sensitivity, selectivity, and filtering. Sensitivity may be a measure of the ability of an amplifier to amplify the desired portion (e.g., pass band) of the received signal (e.g., gain or transfer function). Selectivity may be a measure of the roll-off rate of the frequency response of a filter”, Kapoor [0032]), a sub-frequency range, a non-terrestrial network configuration, a terrestrial network configuration, a licensed frequency band configuration, an unlicensed frequency band configuration, a sidelink configuration, an intra-band carrier aggregation configuration, an inter-band carrier aggregation configuration, a dual connectivity configuration, a transmit receive point (TRP) configuration, or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configuration.
Liu, You, and Kapoor are analogous because they pertain to filtering techniques.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity as described in Kapoor into Liu as modified by You. By modifying the method to include receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity as taught by Kapoor, the benefits of improved selectivity and sensitivity (Kapoor [0006] and You [0305]) and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
As to claim 15:
The combination of You and Liu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The network entity of claim 14, wherein the ICS value is in accordance with an operating configuration of the UE, wherein the operating configuration includes at least one of: a frequency range, a sub-frequency range, a non-terrestrial network configuration, a terrestrial network configuration, a licensed frequency band configuration, an unlicensed frequency band configuration, a sidelink configuration, an intra-band carrier aggregation configuration, an inter-band carrier aggregation configuration, a dual connectivity configuration, a transmit receive point (TRP) configuration, or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configuration.
However, Kapoor further teaches receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity which includes:
The network entity of claim 14, wherein the ICS value is based at least in part on an operating configuration associated with the UE, wherein the operating configuration includes at least one of: a frequency range (“Such characteristics may include, but are not limited to, amplifier gain, sensitivity, selectivity, and filtering. Sensitivity may be a measure of the ability of an amplifier to amplify the desired portion (e.g., pass band) of the received signal (e.g., gain or transfer function). Selectivity may be a measure of the roll-off rate of the frequency response of a filter”, Kapoor [0032]), a sub-frequency range, a non-terrestrial network configuration, a terrestrial network configuration, a licensed frequency band configuration, an unlicensed frequency band configuration, a sidelink configuration, an intra-band carrier aggregation configuration, an inter-band carrier aggregation configuration, a dual connectivity configuration, a transmit receive point (TRP) configuration, or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configuration.
Liu, You, and Kapoor are analogous because they pertain to filtering techniques.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity as described in Kapoor into Liu as modified by You. By modifying the method to include receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity as taught by Kapoor, the benefits of improved selectivity and sensitivity (Kapoor [0006] and You [0305]) and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
As to claim 21:
The combination of You and Liu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 19, wherein the ICS value is based at least in part on an operating configuration associated with the UE, wherein the operating configuration includes at least one of: a frequency range, a sub-frequency range, a non-terrestrial network configuration, a terrestrial network configuration, a licensed frequency band configuration, an unlicensed frequency band configuration, a sidelink configuration, an intra-band carrier aggregation configuration, an inter-band carrier aggregation configuration, a dual connectivity configuration, a transmit receive point (TRP) configuration, or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configuration.
However, Kapoor further teaches receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity which includes:
The method of claim 19, wherein the ICS value is based at least in part on an operating configuration associated with the UE, wherein the operating configuration includes at least one of: a frequency range (“Such characteristics may include, but are not limited to, amplifier gain, sensitivity, selectivity, and filtering. Sensitivity may be a measure of the ability of an amplifier to amplify the desired portion (e.g., pass band) of the received signal (e.g., gain or transfer function). Selectivity may be a measure of the roll-off rate of the frequency response of a filter”, Kapoor [0032]), a sub-frequency range, a non-terrestrial network configuration, a terrestrial network configuration, a licensed frequency band configuration, an unlicensed frequency band configuration, a sidelink configuration, an intra-band carrier aggregation configuration, an inter-band carrier aggregation configuration, a dual connectivity configuration, a transmit receive point (TRP) configuration, or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configuration.
Liu, You, and Kapoor are analogous because they pertain to filtering techniques.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity as described in Kapoor into Liu as modified by Rousu. By modifying the method to include receiver sensitivity and in-channel selectivity as taught by Kapoor, the benefits of improved selectivity and sensitivity (Kapoor [0006] and You [0305]) and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of You, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of GE et al. US 20210377923 (hereinafter “GE”)
As to claim 18:
The combination of You and Liu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 16, wherein transmitting the indication comprises transmitting the indication on at least one of a feature set per CC (FSPC) basis, a feature set (FS) basis, or a frequency band basis.
However, GE further teaches FSPC which includes:
The method of claim 16, wherein transmitting the indication comprises transmitting the indication on at least one of a feature set per CC (FSPC) basis, a feature set (FS) basis, or a frequency band basis. (“the terminal reports one such capability on each FSPC.”, GE [0442])
Liu, You, and GE are analogous because they pertain to reporting capability of a terminal/UE.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include FSPC as described in GE into Liu as modified by You. By modifying the method to include FSPC as taught by GE, the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (GE [0003]), improved selectivity (You [0305]), and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of You, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Furuichi US 20230291625 (hereinafter “Furuichi”)
The combination of You and Liu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the indication indicates a decibel (dB) value of the ICS value of the UE
However, Furuichi further teaches ICS value which includes:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the indication indicates a decibel (dB) value of the ICS value of the UE (Expression 5 through 21, Furuichi)
Liu, You, and Furuichi are analogous because they pertain to minimizing adjacent channel interference.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ICS value as described in Furuichi into Liu as modified by You. By modifying the method to include ICS value as taught by Furuichi, the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (GE [0003]), improved selectivity (You [0305]), and improved subband filtering (Liu [0134]) are achieved.
Conclusion
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471