DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 6-10 are currently pending. Claims 1-5 and 11-20 have been cancelled. Claims 6-10 have been amended. Claim 7 has been amended to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 02 June 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: EEG recording device in claim 6.
“EEG recording device” is interpreted as an EEG that includes electrodes on an EEG cap or headband, as mentioned in Figs. 4 and 5 and [0082]-[0083] of the PGPUB.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. A streamlined analysis of claim 6 follows.
STEP 1
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites a series of structural elements, including a device. Thus, the claim is directed to a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
STEP 2A, PRONG ONE
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The steps of
calculating a metric of the EEG at the stimulation frequency;
calculating the metric at the additional stimulation frequency;
calculating the metric at the additional stimulation frequency; and
determining the intrinsic frequency as equal to the additional stimulation frequency where the metric is optimized
set forth a judicial exception. These steps describe a concept performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). Thus, the claim is drawn to a Mental Process, which is an Abstract Idea.
STEP 2A, PRONG TWO
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim fails to recite an additional element or a combination of additional elements to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception. Claim 6 recites an interface operable to present the intrinsic frequency to a user and the step of causing the device to provide a subsequent stimulus to the person at a pulse frequency that is based upon the intrinsic frequency, which is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The presenting of the intrinsic frequency and providing the subsequent stimulus does not provide an improvement to the technological field, the method does not effect a particular treatment or effect a particular change based on the presented intrinsic frequency and the provided subsequent stimulus, nor does the machine use a particular machine to perform the Abstract Idea.
STEP 2B
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception. Besides the Abstract Idea, the claim recites additional steps of:
a device operable to provide a stimulus to the person;
an EEG recording device, operable to record an EEG of the brain of the person;
recording, using the EEG recording device, the EEG when the stimulus is administered to the person at a stimulation frequency; and
recording, using the EEG recording device, an additional EEG when an additional stimulus is administered to the person at an additional stimulation frequency that is incremented or decremented from the stimulation frequency.
The providing and recording steps are well-understood, routine and conventional activities for those in the field of medical diagnostics. Further, the providing and recording steps are each recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to insignificant presolution activity, e.g., mere data gathering step necessary to perform the Abstract Idea. When recited at this high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation, such as a particular or unconventional step that distinguishes it from well-understood, routine, and conventional data gathering and comparing activity engaged in by medical professionals prior to Applicant's invention. Furthermore, it is well established that the mere physical or tangible nature of additional elements such as the obtaining and comparing steps do not automatically confer eligibility on a claim directed to an abstract idea (see, e.g., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S.Ct. 2347, 2358-59 (2014)).
Consideration of the additional elements as a combination also adds no other meaningful limitations to the exception not already present when the elements are considered separately. Unlike the eligible claim in Diehr in which the elements limiting the exception are individually conventional, but taken together act in concert to improve a technical field, the claim here does not provide an improvement to the technical field. Even when viewed as a combination, the additional elements fail to transform the exception into a patent-eligible application of that exception. Thus, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. The claim is therefore drawn to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 6, the device recited in the claim is a generic device comprising generic components configured to perform the abstract idea. The recited device and EEG recording device are generic sensors configured to perform pre-solutional data gathering activity, the interface is configured to perform insignificant extra-solution activity, and the processor is configured to perform the Abstract Idea. According to section 2106.05(f) of the MPEP, merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea does not integrate the Abstract Idea into a practical application.
The dependent claims also fail to add something more to the abstract independent claims. Claims 7-10 merely recite what the metric is, which does not add anything significantly more. The steps recited in the independent claims maintain a high level of generality even when considered in combination with the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Phillips et al. ‘756 (US Pub No. 2016/0045756 – cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 6, Phillips et al. ‘756 teaches a system for determining an intrinsic frequency of an electroencephalogram (EEG) band of a brain of a person (Title, Abstract), comprising:
a device operable to provide a stimulus to the person ([0027]; “NEST device”);
an EEG recording device operable to record an EEG of the brain of the person ([0033]; “receiving a first EEG recording obtained from an EEG sensor in a time domain”);
an interface operable to present the intrinsic frequency to a user ([0088]; “a display to send visual information to a user”);
a processor ([0036]; “digital processing device”) and a memory ([0036]; “memory”) having instructions ([0036]; “…executable instructions and a memory”) that, when executed by the processor, comprises
recording, using the EEG electrode device, the EEG when the stimulus is administered to the person at a stimulation frequency ([0031]; “a valid intrinsic alpha frequency (vIAF) is determined by quantitatively analyzing EEG records”),
calculating a metric of the EEG at the stimulation frequency ([0008]; “standard deviation”),
recording, using the EEG recording device, an additional EEG ([0007]; “a second EEG recording”) when an additional stimulus is administered to the person at an additional stimulation frequency that is incremented or decremented from the stimulation frequency ([0007]; “decrementing N”),
calculating the metric at the additional stimulation frequency ([0007]; “second standard deviation (SD) of the N epoch IAF values”), and
determining the intrinsic frequency as equal to the additional stimulation frequency where the metric is optimized ([0017]; “…the second time domain EEG recording and the third time domain EEG recording is calculated and is set equal to the final intrinsic alpha frequency (fIAF).”), and
causing the device to provide a subsequent stimulus to the person at a pulse frequency that is based upon the intrinsic frequency ([0017], [0027]; “the device is configured to deliver low amplitude stimulation at an intrinsic alpha frequency that is the same as a patient’s intrinsic alpha frequency”).
Regarding claim 7, Phillips et al. ‘756 teaches wherein the metric is a maximum energy of the EEG of the brain of the person at the stimulation frequency across a subset of all EEG channels, and the metric is optimized when the metric is a maximum ([0040]; “peak IAF estimate”).
Regarding claim 8, Phillips et al. ‘756 teaches wherein the metric is an average energy of the EEG of the brain of the person at the stimulation frequency across a subset of all EEG channels, and the metric is optimized when the metric is a maximum ([0027], [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Phillips et al. ‘756 teaches wherein the metric is an average of a bandwidth of the EEG of the brain of the person in an area around the stimulation frequency across a subset of all EEG channels, and the metric is optimized when the metric is a minimum ([0012]; “band between 8.0 Hz-13.0 Hz”).
Regarding claim 10, Phillips et al. ‘756 teaches wherein the metric is a standard deviation of a frequency corresponding to a peak magnitude of a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) in a range around the stimulation frequency across all EEG channels, and the metric is optimized when the metric is a minimum ([0017]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the processor providing a subsequent stimulus to the person at a pulse frequency provides a technological change and thus, overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection. Examiner respectfully disagrees, as the subsequent stimulus is outputted based off the determination of the intrinsic frequency. This is merely a data point (subsequent stimulus) is outputted based off another output of data (intrinsic frequency). Applicant mentions that Fig. 5 and [0083] of the PGPUB provides support for this. However, it is unclear to the Examiner if the technological change is transforming the stimulus since the stimulus is applied at repetitive stimulation frequencies. If this is true, Examiner suggests to amend the claim to clearly reflect that the stimulus is being transformed to optimize function to potentially overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection.
Applicant argues that the amendments overcome the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection. Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Phillips et al. ‘756 teaches decrementing signals ([0007]). As such, the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AURELIE H TU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791