DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Claims 11-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected an invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 16 June 2025.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to because in Figure 5, reference number 227 "power supple" should read "power supply". Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Claim 2 the playback end comprises the bone conduction vibrator, but figure 4 shows the vibrator located in the candy body not the playback end
Claim 14 bone conduction vibration sounding system not illustrated
must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
5. The use of the term Bluetooth, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: "second read- write memory" in line 2 and " second decoding portion" in line 4 there is no first read-write memory or decoding portion Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
8. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: system end to perform” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claims 3-5, and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
11. Claim 3 recites the limitation "the bone conduction vibrator" in lines 18 and 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears as if claim 3 is supposed to be dependent on claim 2.
12. Claim 3 recites the limitation "the holding portion" in lines 18 and 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
13. Claims 4-5 are dependent on claim 3 and are similarly rejected based on the inherited deficiencies.
14. Claim 10 recites “the plurality of power supply compartments” in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears as if claim 10 is supposed to be dependent on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 1-5, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US. Patent No. 12262169) hereinafter, referred to as Ma in view of Zeng et al. (US. Publication No. 20170280221) hereinafter, referred to as Zeng.
17. Regarding claim 1, Ma teaches a bone conduction vibration sounding candy (Ma, bone conduction based sound generating lollipop, column 8, lines 35-36), comprising:
a bone conduction playback end (Ma, housing, figure 1, #1), a system end (Ma, external device, column 12, lines 36-39) to perform identification and transmit a preselected readable sound file according to an identification result for sound playback (Ma, column 12, lines 36-39 and lines 51-58) and
a candy body (Ma, edible object, figure 1, #7), arranged on the bone conduction playback end for chewing (Ma, column 10, lines 34-37).
Ma fails to teach a playback end having a unique identification two-dimensional code.
Zeng teaches playback end having a unique identification two-dimensional code (Zeng, unique visual identifier, page 2, paragraph 0033).
Ma and Zeng are not analogous art, but Zeng is pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, particularly with transferring audio files to device for audio emanation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the playback end as taught by Ma to have a unique identification two-dimensional code as taught by Zeng. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to transmit specific audio file to a device (Zeng, page 2, paragraph 0033).
18. Regarding claim 2, the bone conduction vibration sounding candy according to claim 1 as taught by Ma as modified above, wherein the bone conduction playback end comprises:
a holding portion (Ma, handle shaped component, figure 2, #12), is arranged on the holding portion (Ma, column 12, lines 36-39 and figure 2, holding portion #12, and controller #2), and the holding portion has an accommodating cavity (Ma, system section, figure 2, #122);
a circuit control portion (Ma, controller, figure 1, #2), accommodated in the accommodating cavity and configured to be wirelessly connected to the system end, to receive the preselected readable sound file and convert the preselected readable sound file into an amplified analog sound signal (Ma, column 8 lines 45-55, column 9, lines 22-28, and column 16, lines 9-14); and
a bone conduction vibrator (Ma, vibrating element, figure 1, #4), connected to the circuit control portion through a wire and configured to output the amplified analog sound signal (Ma, column 8, lines 51-59).
Ma as modified fails to teach a playback end having a unique identification two-dimensional code.
Zeng teaches playback end having a unique identification two-dimensional code (Zeng, unique visual identifier, page 2, paragraph 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the holding portion as taught by Ma as modified to have a unique identification two-dimensional code as taught by Zeng. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to transmit specific audio file to a device (Zeng, page 2, paragraph 0033).
19. Regarding claim 3, the bone conduction vibration sounding candy according to claim 1 as taught by Ma as modified above, wherein
the bone conduction vibrator is fixed in the holding portion and wrapped by the candy body; (Ma, column 8, lines 40-47 and figure 1) and
an end of the holding portion for fixing the bone conduction vibrator has a spherical or columnar expansion portion (Ma, head, figure 1, #11, and column 18, lines 5-6), and the expansion portion has a preset size to be suitable for oral chewing (Ma, supporting component, figure 1, #11, and column 8, lines 42-43).
20. Regarding claim 4, the bone conduction vibration sounding candy according to claim 3 as taught by Ma as modified above, wherein a hardness of the expansion portion is more than 10 degrees Shore (Ma, column 10, lines 38-40).
21. Regarding claim 5, the bone conduction vibration sounding candy according to claim 3 as taught by Ma as modified above, wherein an outer diameter of the expansion portion is a size suitable for oral chewing (Ma, column 8, lines 42-43).
22. Regarding claim 14, a bone conduction vibration sounding system, comprising:
a system end (Ma, external device, column 12, lines 36-39), configured to identify a two-dimensional code sound file, to generate a readable sound file (Ma, column 12, lines 36-39 and lines 51-58) and store the readable sound file in the system end (Ma, column 13, lines 1-4);
a bone conduction playback end (Ma, housing, figure 1, #1), for the system end (Ma, external device, column 12, lines 36-39) to perform identification and transmit a preselected readable sound file according to an identification result for music playback (Ma, column 12, lines 36-39 and lines 51-58); and
a candy body (Ma, edible object, figure 1, #7), arranged on the bone conduction playback end for chewing (Ma, column 10, lines 34-37).
Ma fails to teach a playback end having a unique identification two-dimensional code.
Zeng teaches playback end having a unique identification two-dimensional code (Zeng, unique visual identifier, page 2, paragraph 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the playback end as taught by Ma to have a unique identification two-dimensional code as taught by Zeng. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to transmit specific audio file to a device (Zeng, page 2, paragraph 0033).
23. Regarding claim 15, the bone conduction vibration sounding system according to claim 14 as taught by Ma as modified above, wherein the bone conduction playback end comprises:
a holding portion (Ma, handle shaped component, figure 2, #12), is arranged on the holding portion (Ma, column 12, lines 36-39 and figure 2, holding portion #12, and controller #2), and the holding portion has an accommodating cavity (Ma, system section, figure 2, #122);
a circuit control portion (Ma, controller, figure 1, #2), accommodated in the accommodating cavity and configured to be wirelessly connected to the system end, to receive the preselected readable sound file and convert the preselected readable sound file into an amplified analog sound signal (Ma, column 8 lines 45-55, column 9, lines 22-28, and column 16, lines 9-14); and
a bone conduction vibrator (Ma, vibrating element, figure 1, #4), connected to the circuit control portion through a wire and configured to output the amplified analog sound signal (Ma, column 8, lines 51-59).
Ma as modified fails to teach a playback end having a unique identification two-dimensional code.
Zeng teaches playback end having a unique identification two-dimensional code (Zeng, unique visual identifier, page 2, paragraph 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the holding portion as taught by Ma as modified to have a unique identification two-dimensional code as taught by Zeng. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to transmit specific audio file to a device (Zeng, page 2, paragraph 0033).
24. Regarding claim 16, the bone conduction vibration sounding system according to claim 15 as taught by Ma as modified above, wherein
the bone conduction vibrator is fixed in the holding portion and wrapped by the candy body (Ma, column 8, lines 40-47, and figure 1); and
an end of the holding portion for fixing the bone conduction vibrator has a spherical or columnar expansion portion (Ma, head, figure 1, #11, and column 18, lines 5-6), and the expansion portion has a preset size to be suitable for oral chewing (Ma, supporting component, figure 1, #11, and column 8, lines 42-43).
25. Regarding claim 17, the bone conduction vibration sounding system according to claim 16 as taught by Ma as modified above, wherein a hardness of the expansion portion is more than 10 degrees Shore (Ma, column 10, lines 38-40).
26. Regarding claim 18, the bone conduction vibration sounding system according to claim 16 as taught by Ma as modified above, wherein an outer diameter of the expansion portion is a size suitable for oral chewing (Ma, column 8, lines 42-43).
27. Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US. Patent No. 12262169) and Zeng et al. (US. Publication No. 20170280221) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Lutzenberger (DE publication No. DE102010060296A1) hereinafter, referred to as Lutzenberger.
28. Regarding claim 6, the bone conduction vibration sounding candy according to claim 1 as taught by Ma as modified, wherein
Ma as modified fails to teach the candy body is a sugar-free food.
Lutzenberger teaches the candy body is a sugar-free food (Lutzenberger, page 1, paragraph 0001).
Ma, Zeng, and Lutzenberger are not analogous art, but Lutzenberger is pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, particularly with candy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the candy body as taught by Ma as modified to be made of sugar-free food as taught by Lutzenberger. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to minimize the formation of tooth decay (Lutzenberger, page 1, paragraph 0002).
29. Regarding claim 19, the bone conduction vibration sounding system according to claim 14 as taught by Ma as modified above, wherein
Ma as modified fails to teach the candy body is a sugar-free food.
Lutzenberger teaches the candy body is a sugar-free food (Lutzenberger, page 1, paragraph 0001).
Ma, Zeng, and Lutzenberger are not analogous art, but Lutzenberger is pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, particularly with candy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the candy body as taught by Ma as modified to be made of sugar-free food as taught by Lutzenberger. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to minimize the formation of tooth decay (Lutzenberger, page 1, paragraph 0002).
30. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US. Patent No. 12262169) and Zeng et al. (US. Publication No. 20170280221) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN Publication No. CN203722822) hereinafter, referred to as Zhang.
31. Regarding claim 7, the bone conduction vibration sounding candy according to claim 2 as taught by Ma as modified above.
Ma as modified teaches wherein the circuit control portion (Ma, controller, figure 1, #2) comprises:
a control circuit board (Ma, figure 1, #2, and column 21, lines 26-35), accommodated in the accommodating cavity for circuit control; an input portion, connected to the control circuit board and configured to be wirelessly connected to the system end, to receive the readable sound file (Ma, column 12, lines 51-54);
a second read-write memory (Ma, memory, column 12, lines 26-29), connected to the control circuit board and the input portion, and configured to store the readable sound file (Ma, column 13, lines 1-4).
Ma as modified fails to teach a second decoding portion, connected to the control circuit board and the second read- write memory, and configured to decode the readable sound file into a digital audio file;
a digital-to-analog conversion portion connected to the control circuit board and the second decoding portion, and configured to convert the digital audio file into an analog sound;
a power amplifier connected to the control circuit board and the digital-to-analog conversion portion, and configured to amplify the analog sound signal; and
a power supply connected to the control circuit board and configured to supply power to the control circuit board.
Zhang teaches a second decoding portion, connected to the control circuit board and the second read- write memory (Zhang, decoding chip, page 2, paragraph 0008), and configured to decode the readable sound file into a digital audio file (Zhang, page 4, paragraph 0021);
a digital-to-analog conversion portion connected to the control circuit board and the second decoding portion, and configured to convert the digital audio file into an analog sound signal (Zhang, conductor, page 7, paragraph 0039);
a power amplifier connected to the control circuit board and the digital-to-analog conversion portion, and configured to amplify the analog sound signal (Zhang, audio amplifier chip, page 2, paragraph 0008 and page 7, paragraph 0039); and
a power supply connected to the control circuit board and configured to supply power to the control circuit board (Zhang, lithium battery, page 2, paragraph 0008).
Ma and Zhang are analogous art, both are related to music conducting lollipop. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit control board and memory as taught by Ma as modified to include a second decoding portion, connected to the control circuit board and the second read- write memory, and configured to decode the readable sound file into a digital audio file; a digital-to-analog conversion portion connected to the control circuit board and the second decoding portion, and configured to convert the digital audio file into an analog sound; a power amplifier connected to the control circuit board and the digital-to-analog conversion portion, and configured to amplify the analog sound signal; and a power supply connected to the control circuit board and configured to supply power to the control circuit board as taught by Zhang. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a tooth conducting music lollipop with a simple structure (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 0007).
32. Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US. Patent No. 12262169) and Zeng et al. (US. Publication No. 20170280221) as applied to claims 2 and 14 above, and further in view of Goorevich et al. (US. Publication No. 20170180874) hereinafter, referred to as Goorevich.
33. Regarding claim 8, the bone conduction vibration sounding candy according to claim 2 as taught by Ma as modified above.
Ma as modified fails to teach wherein the circuit control portion has adjustable power supply compartments for placing power supplies with different power levels, and the power levels are determined according to a duration of sound playback by the bone conduction playback end.
Goorevich teaches wherein the circuit control portion has adjustable power supply compartments for placing power supplies with different power levels, and the power levels are determined according to a duration of sound playback by the bone conduction playback end (Goorevich, page 5, paragraph 0050).
Ma and Goorevich are analogous art because both are related to a device capable of bone conduction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit control portion and power supply as taught by Ma as modified to have the circuit control portion has adjustable power supply compartments for placing power supplies with different power levels, and the power levels are determined according to a duration of sound playback by the bone conduction playback end as taught by Goorevich. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to account for different power consumptions levels (Goorevich, page 5, paragraph 0050) in the different operation modes as taught by Ma as modified.
34. Regarding claim 20, the bone conduction vibration sounding system according to claim 14 as taught by Ma as modified above.
Ma as modified fails to teach wherein the circuit control portion has adjustable power supply compartments for placing power supplies with different power levels, and the power levels are determined according to a duration of sound playback by the bone conduction playback end.
Goorevich teaches wherein the circuit control portion has adjustable power supply compartments for placing power supplies with different power levels, and the power levels are determined according to a duration of sound playback by the bone conduction playback end (Goorevich, page 5, paragraph 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit control portion and power supply as taught by Ma as modified to have the circuit control portion has adjustable power supply compartments for placing power supplies with different power levels, and the power levels are determined according to a duration of sound playback by the bone conduction playback end as taught by Goorevich. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to account for different power consumptions levels (Goorevich, page 5, paragraph 0050) in the different operation modes as taught by Ma as modified.
35. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US. Patent No. 12262169), Zeng et al. (US. Publication No. 20170280221) and Goorevich et al. (US. Publication No. 20170180874) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Thiel et al (US. Publication No. 20100272304) hereinafter, referred to as Thiel.
36. Regarding claim 9, the bone conduction vibration sounding candy according to claim 8 as taught by Ma as modified above.
Ma as modified fails to teach the circuit control portion has a plurality of power supply compartments, the power supplies are placed in the power supply compartments, and the power supplies in the plurality of power supply compartments are connected in series or independent of each other.
Thiel teaches the circuit control portion has a plurality of power supply compartments, the power supplies are placed in the power supply compartments, and the power supplies in the plurality of power supply compartments are connected in series or independent of each other (Thiel, page 3, paragraph 0032).
Ma, Goorevich, and Thiel are analogous art all are related to devices capable of bone conduction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit control portion and power supplies as taught by Ma as modified to have the circuit control portion has a plurality of power supply compartments, the power supplies are placed in the power supply compartments, and the power supplies in the plurality of power supply compartments are connected in series or independent of each other as taught by Thiel. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to power separate components (Thiel, page 3, paragraph 0032).
37. Regarding claim 10, the bone conduction vibration sounding candy according to claim 8 as taught by Ma as modified above.
Ma as modified fails to teach wherein the plurality of power supply compartments have different sizes for respectively placing power supplies of different sizes.
Thiel teaches wherein the plurality of power supply compartments have different sizes for respectively placing power supplies of different sizes (Thiel, power sources #9 and #10, and page 3, paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power supply compartments as taught by Ma as modified to the plurality of power supply compartments have different sizes for respectively placing power supplies of different sizes as taught by Thiel. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to power separate components (Thiel, page 3, paragraph 0032).
Conclusion
38. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ma et al. (US. Publication No. 20230099026) related to a bone conduction food device.
/E.H.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3761 30 June 2025
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761