DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 and 3-31 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-12, 25-26 and 32 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEHRAVAN et al. WO 2023/083453 A1, TELEFONAKTIEBOLAGET LM ERICSSON, hereafter BEHRAVAN in view of ALI US 2024/0223135 (as supported in priority document FI 20215502) hereafter ALI further in view of Lee et al, US 2018/0248677 hereafter Lee and further in view of Dezfooliyan et al, US 2020/0052656.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 4-5, 7-12, 25-26 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEHRAVAN et al. WO 2023/083453 A1, TELEFONAKTIEBOLAGET LM ERICSSON, hereafter BEHRAVAN in view of ALI US 2024/0223135 (as supported in priority document FI 20215502) hereafter ALI further in view of Lee et al, US 2018/0248677 hereafter Lee and further in view of Dezfooliyan et al, US 2020/0052656 hereafter Dezfooliyan.
As for claim 1, BEHRAVAN discloses:
A first network node (BEHRAVAN, FIG. 19, [0129], A network node including a processor and a memory) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory (BEHRAVAN, FIG. 19, [0129], A network node including a processor and a memory), the at least one processor configured to cause the first network node to:
receive a distortion indication comprising distortion information in accordance with a signal transmission configuration corresponding to a second network node (BEHRAVAN, FIG. 7, 702, 704, [0019], [0084]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], Receiving the ATRS comprising non-linearity report/profile in accordance with transmissions corresponding to the transmitter 702. The Examiner interprets the ATRS comprising non-linearity report/profile to correspond to the distortion indication/information);
the distortion information comprises an indication of a crest factor reduction (CFR) method (BEHRAVAN, [0094], The parameters include crest factor reduction algorithm settings),
perform, in accordance the distortion information, a digital post distortion (DPoD) operation in accordance with the signal having the distortion characteristic (BEHRAVAN, [0043]-[0044], [0084]-[0087], [0094], Perform, based on the received nonlinearity profile, digital post processing in accordance with a signal having profile/report details),
communicate with the second network node in accordance performing the DPoD operation (BEHRAVAN, [0019], [0084]-[0087], Communicating with the transmitter based on performing digital post distortion operations).
BEHRAVAN does not explicitly disclose receive a signal having a distortion characteristic…wherein the distortion characteristic corresponds to the distortion information.
ALI discloses receive a signal having a distortion characteristic (ALI, FIG. 3, 301, 303, 304, 309, 310, [0062]-[0068], [0073], Receive a signal 301 indicating capability for supporting receiver-based PA distortion compensation comprising PA distortion model indication. The signal 301 is sent separately than the uplink data transmission 309, see FIG. 3, 309, [0072]-[0073], The one or more first reference signals comprise the pre-defined signal, which is distorted by PA distortion caused by the UE power amplifier.)… wherein the distortion characteristic corresponds to the distortion information (ALI, FIG. 3, 301, 303, 304, 309, 310,, [0062]-[0068], [0073], Receive a signal 301 indicating capability for supporting receiver-based PA distortion compensation comprising PA distortion model indication. The one or more first reference signals comprise the pre-defined signal, which is distorted by PA distortion caused by the UE power amplifier. The gNB selects the model with the best performance for compensating the PA distortion from the one or more first reference signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of BEHRAVAN with receive a signal having a distortion characteristic… wherein the distortion characteristic corresponds to the distortion information as taught by ALI to provide improved performance of the communications system (ALI, [0047]-[0048]).
BEHRAVAN discloses transmitting between a transmitter 702 and a receiver 704. BEHRAVAN [00117] states “The transmitter 702 reports the capability to send ATRS at 711, for example a UE reports such capability in UL scenario. This reporting can then be used by the receiver 704 (e.g. a network node) to configure ATRS transmission (e.g. by a UE). [00117] provides as an example that 702 and 704 correspond to a UE and network node, respectively.
BEHRAVAN discloses the first/transmitting node is e.g. a UE. The combination of BEHRAVAN and ALI does not explicitly disclose the first/transmitting node is a network node.
However, Lee discloses the transmitting node is a network node (Lee, [0101], The BS may transmit the RS resource allocation information changed according to the level of nonlinearity of the SI signal of the BS to a neighboring BS or small-cell BS (small cell eNB) through a higher layer signal or an X2 interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of BEHRAVAN and ALI with the transmitting node is a network node as taught by Lee to improve channel estimation performance (Lee, [0099]).
The combination of BEHRAVAN, ALI and Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the CFR method corresponds to at least one of a polar model or a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) Cartesian optimized CFR model.
However, Dezfooliyan discloses wherein the CFR method corresponds to a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) Cartesian optimized CFR model. (Dezfooliyan, [0026], convert the output of the digital pre-distortion system 130 back to Cartesian domain, pass the Cartesian-domain signal to a DAC 140 for conversion to an analog signal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of BEHRAVAN, ALI and Lee with wherein the CFR method corresponds to at least one of a polar model or a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) Cartesian optimized CFR model as taught by Dezfooliyan to provide improve signal compensation.
As for claim 4, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The distortion information comprises one or more transmission power adjustment parameters (BEHRAVAN, [0093]-[0094], [0107], The nonlinearity profile including transmit power settings for adapting/adjustment of the transmit power).
As for claim 5, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The one or more transmission power adjustment parameters indicate at least one crest factor reduction (CFR) parameter, wherein the at least one CFR parameter corresponds to at least one CFR model (BEHRAVAN, [0094], The parameters include crest factor reduction algorithm/model settings).
As for claim 7, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The distortion information comprises non-linearity information in accordance with a non-linearity model (BEHRAVAN, [0089]-[0094], The received information comprises a non-linearity profile).
As for claim 8, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The at least processor is further configured to cause the first network node to determine a non-linearity model estimate corresponding to the non-linearity model (BEHRAVAN, [0089]-[0094], The received information comprises a non-linearity profile).
As for claim 9, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The distortion information indicates an update in accordance with the non-linearity model (BEHRAVAN, [0089]-[0094], The received information comprises a non-linearity profile).
As for claim 10, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The update comprises a change from a first non-linearity type to a second non-linearity type (BEHRAVAN, FIG. 15, 1509,1511,1513, [0125], Provide feedback indicating the updated/changed non-linearity profile).
As for claim 11, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The at least processor is further configured to cause the first network node to determine an updated non-linearity model estimate in accordance the update (BEHRAVAN, [0055], [0094], [0111], Adapt/update the crest factor reduction).
As for claim 12, BEHRAVAN discloses:
Cause the first network node to perform the DPoD operation, the at least one processor is configured to cause the first network node to determine a crest factor reduction (CFR) parameter (BEHRAVAN, [0094], The parameters include crest factor reduction algorithm settings), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first network node to determine an updated CFR parameter in accordance the update (BEHRAVAN, [0055], [0094], [0111], Adapt/update the crest factor reduction).
As for claim 25, BEHRAVAN discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a first network node, comprising:
receiving a distortion indication comprising distortion information in accordance with a signal transmission configuration corresponding to a second network node (BEHRAVAN, FIG. 7, 702, 704, [0019], [0084]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], Receiving the ATRS comprising non-linearity report/profile in accordance with transmissions corresponding to the transmitter 702);
performing, in accordance the distortion information, a digital post distortion (DPoD) operation in accordance with the signal having the distortion characteristic (BEHRAVAN, [0043]-[0044], [0084]-[0087], [0094], Perform, based on the received nonlinearity profile, digital post processing in accordance with a signal having profile/report details),
communicating with the second network node in accordance performing the DPoD operation (BEHRAVAN, [0019], [0084]-[0087], Communicating with the transmitter based on performing digital post distortion operations).
BEHRAVAN does not explicitly disclose receive a signal having a distortion characteristic…wherein the distortion characteristic corresponds to the distortion information.
ALI discloses receive a signal having a distortion characteristic (ALI, FIG. 3, 301, 303, 304, 309, 310, [0062]-[0068], [0073], Receive a signal 301 indicating capability for supporting receiver-based PA distortion compensation comprising PA distortion model indication. The signal 301 is sent separately than the uplink data transmission 309, see FIG. 3, 309, [0072]-[0073], The one or more first reference signals comprise the pre-defined signal, which is distorted by PA distortion caused by the UE power amplifier.)… wherein the distortion characteristic corresponds to the distortion information (ALI, FIG. 3, 301, 303, 304, 309, 310,, [0062]-[0068], [0073], Receive a signal 301 indicating capability for supporting receiver-based PA distortion compensation comprising PA distortion model indication. The one or more first reference signals comprise the pre-defined signal, which is distorted by PA distortion caused by the UE power amplifier. The gNB selects the model with the best performance for compensating the PA distortion from the one or more first reference signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of BEHRAVAN with receive a signal having a distortion characteristic… wherein the distortion characteristic corresponds to the distortion information as taught by ALI to provide improved performance of the communications system (ALI, [0047]-[0048]).
BEHRAVAN discloses transmitting between a transmitter 702 and a receiver 704. BEHRAVAN [00117] states “The transmitter 702 reports the capability to send ATRS at 711, for example a UE reports such capability in UL scenario. This reporting can then be used by the receiver 704 (e.g. a network node) to configure ATRS transmission (e.g. by a UE). [00117] provides as an example that 702 and 704 correspond to a UE and network node, respectively.
BEHRAVAN discloses the first/transmitting node is e.g. a UE. The combination of BEHRAVAN and ALI does not explicitly disclose the first/transmitting node is a network node.
However, Lee discloses the transmitting node is a network node (Lee, [0101], The BS may transmit the RS resource allocation information changed according to the level of nonlinearity of the SI signal of the BS to a neighboring BS or small-cell BS (small cell eNB) through a higher layer signal or an X2 interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of BEHRAVAN and ALI with the transmitting node is a network node as taught by Lee to improve channel estimation performance (Lee, [0099]).
The combination of BEHRAVAN, ALI and Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the CFR method corresponds to at least one of a polar model or a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) Cartesian optimized CFR model.
However, Dezfooliyan discloses wherein the CFR method corresponds to a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) Cartesian optimized CFR model. (Dezfooliyan, [0026], convert the output of the digital pre-distortion system 130 back to Cartesian domain, pass the Cartesian-domain signal to a DAC 140 for conversion to an analog signal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of BEHRAVAN, ALI and Lee with wherein the CFR method corresponds to at least one of a polar model or a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) Cartesian optimized CFR model as taught by Dezfooliyan to provide improve signal compensation.
As for claim 26, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The distortion information comprises one or more transmission power adjustment parameters (BEHRAVAN, [0093]-[0094], [0107], The nonlinearity profile including transmit power settings for adapting/adjustment of the transmit power).
As for claim 32, BEHRAVAN discloses:
wherein the one or more transmission power adjustment parameters indicate at least one CFR parameter, wherein the at least one CFR parameter corresponds to at least one CFR model. (BEHRAVAN, [0093]-[0094], [0107], The nonlinearity profile including transmit power settings for adapting/adjustment of the transmit power).
5. Claims 28-30 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEHRAVAN et al. WO 2023/083453 A1, TELEFONAKTIEBOLAGET LM ERICSSON, hereafter BEHRAVAN in view of Dezfooliyan et al, US 2020/0052656 hereafter Dezfooliyan,
As for claim 28, BEHRAVAN discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
transmitting a distortion indication comprising distortion information in accordance with a signal transmission configuration (BEHRAVAN, FIG. 7, 702, 704, [0019], [0084]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], Transmitting the ATRS comprising non-linearity report/profile in accordance with transmissions corresponding to the transmitter 702); and
transmitting a signal having a distortion characteristic corresponding to the distortion information (BEHRAVAN, [0019], [0084]-[0087], Communicating/transmitting/receiving based on performing digital post distortion operations).
BEHRAVAN does not explicitly disclose wherein the CFR method corresponds to at least one of a polar model or a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) Cartesian optimized CFR model.
However, Dezfooliyan discloses wherein the CFR method corresponds to a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) Cartesian optimized CFR model. (Dezfooliyan, [0026], convert the output of the digital pre-distortion system 130 back to Cartesian domain, pass the Cartesian-domain signal to a DAC 140 for conversion to an analog signal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of BEHRAVAN with wherein the CFR method corresponds to at least one of a polar model or a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) Cartesian optimized CFR model as taught by Dezfooliyan to provide improve signal compensation.
As for claim 29, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The distortion information comprises one or more transmission power adjustment parameters (BEHRAVAN, [0093]-[0094], [0107], The nonlinearity profile including transmit power settings for adapting/adjustment of the transmit power).
As for claim 30, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The distortion information comprises non-linearity information in accordance with a non-linearity model (BEHRAVAN, [0089]-[0094], The received information comprises a non-linearity profile).
As for claim 34, BEHRAVAN discloses:
the one or more transmission power adjustment parameters indicate at least one CFR parameter, wherein the at least one CFR parameter corresponds to at least one CFR model. (BEHRAVAN, [0093]-[0094], [0107], The nonlinearity profile including transmit power settings for adapting/adjustment of the transmit power).
6. Claims 15, 17-18 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEHRAVAN et al. WO 2023/083453 A1, TELEFONAKTIEBOLAGET LM ERICSSON, hereafter BEHRAVAN in view of Lee et al, US 2018/0248677.
As for claim 15, BEHRAVAN discloses:
A network node (BEHRAVAN, FIG. 19, [0129], A network node including a processor and a memory) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory (BEHRAVAN, FIG. 19, [0129], A network node including a processor and a memory), the at least one processor configured to cause the network node to:
Transmit, to a second network node (BEHRAVAN, FIG. 7, FIG. 16, 1601, FIG. 17, s1702, [0126], [0117], Transmit to receiver 704, (e.g. a network node)), a distortion indication comprising distortion information in accordance with a signal transmission configuration (BEHRAVAN, FIG. 7, 702, 704, FIG. 16, 1601, FIG. 18, S1802, [0019], [0084]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0126], Transmitting the ATRS comprising non-linearity report/profile in accordance with transmissions corresponding to the transmitter 702);
the distortion information comprises an indication of a crest factor reduction (CFR) method (BEHRAVAN, [0094], The parameters include crest factor reduction algorithm/model settings) and
transmit a signal having a distortion characteristic corresponding to the distortion information (BEHRAVAN, FIG. 16, 1607, FIG. 18, S1802, [0019]-[0020], [0084]-[0087], [0126], [0128], Communicating/transmitting/receiving based on performing digital post distortion operations. The transmission sent by a transmitter has a corresponding distortion).
BEHRAVAN discloses transmitting between a transmitter 702 and a receiver 704. BEHRAVAN [00117] states “The transmitter 702 reports the capability to send ATRS at 711, for example a UE reports such capability in UL scenario. This reporting can then be used by the receiver 704 (e.g. a network node) to configure ATRS transmission (e.g. by a UE). [00117] provides as an example that 702 and 704 correspond to a UE and network node, respectively.
BEHRAVAN discloses the first/transmitting node is e.g. a UE. BEHRAVAN does not explicitly disclose the first/transmitting node is a network node.
However, Lee discloses the transmitting node is a network node (Lee, [0101], The BS may transmit the RS resource allocation information changed according to the level of nonlinearity of the SI signal of the BS to a neighboring BS or small-cell BS (small cell eNB) through a higher layer signal or an X2 interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of BEHRAVAN the transmitting node is a network node as taught by Lee to improve channel estimation performance (Lee, [0099]).
As for claim 17, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The distortion information comprises one or more transmission power adjustment parameters (BEHRAVAN, [0093]-[0094], [0107], The nonlinearity profile including transmit power settings for adapting/adjustment of the transmit power).
As for claim 18, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The one or more transmission power adjustment parameters indicate at least one crest factor reduction (CFR) parameter, wherein the at least one CFR parameter corresponds to at least one CFR model (BEHRAVAN, [0004], [0111], Adapt/update the crest factor reduction to maintain the peak-to-average power ratio).
As for claim 20, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The distortion information comprises non-linearity information in accordance with a non-linearity model (BEHRAVAN, [0089]-[0094], The received information comprises a non-linearity profile).
As for claim 21, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The distortion information indicates an update in accordance with the non-linearity model (BEHRAVAN, [0089]-[0094], The received information comprises a non-linearity profile).
As for claim 22, BEHRAVAN discloses:
The update comprises a change from a first non-linearity type to a second non-linearity type (BEHRAVAN, FIG. 15, 1509,1511,1513, [0125], Provide feedback indicating the updated/changed non-linearity profile).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 6, 13-14, 19, 23-24, 33 and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2017/0310347
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469