DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argued that Wang and Wang2 do not teach “transmit, via a cross-layer service entity of the UE, to a connected device an indication of one or more parameters of a link between the UE and a network node of a wireless network.”.
Particularly, the applicant argued that Wang and Wang2 do not teach “cross-layer service entity”, which is distinct from Wang’s teaching “There are two sets of protocol stacks for relay discovery, including the physical (physical, PHY) layer, media access control (media access control ,MAC), and proximity service protocol (prose protocol) later; PC5-U is used for SL communication.”.
That argument turns on the interpretation of “cross-layer service entity”, which is broad in scope. There is no customary meaning in the art for the term of cross layer service entity. The specification had many references to the term, but there is no clear definition. As a result, the examiner takes plain meaning of the phrase “cross-layer service entity”. A person with ordinary skill in the art would understand that “protocol stacks including physical layer to application layer” for PC5 messages is a kind of cross-layer service entity.
The applicant is advised to cite other supports to their interpretation of “cross-layer service entity” and the examiner will take them for future considerations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-13, 15, 21, 26, 28, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang; Nanxin et al. US PGPUB 20230093649 A1, in view of WANG; Nanxin et al. US PGPUB 20220338093 A1
Regarding claim 1. Wang teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, (Fig. 12, Memory, Processor etc) configured to:
transmit, to a connected device an indication of one or more parameters of a link between the UE and a network node of a wireless network; (Fig. 7 Remote UE = Connected device, Relay UE = claimed UE. Third arrow, Serving cell parameters. ([0138] the relay terminal sends a serving cell parameter of the relay terminal to the remote terminal, and the remote terminal obtains a first PF and a first PO of the remote terminal through calculation based on the serving cell parameter of the relay terminal (for example, a parameter such as default DRX, N, Ns, and PFoffset corresponding to the serving cell),)
receive, from the connected device, an indication associated with management of one or more communications between the connected device and the network node of a wireless network, wherein the one or more communications are carried by the UE between the connected device and the network node; (Fig. 7, First PF, first PO … see [0138] the remote terminal obtains a first PF and a first PO of the remote terminal through calculation based on the serving cell parameter of the relay terminal (for example, a parameter such as default DRX, N, Ns, and PF_offset corresponding to the serving cell), an S-TMSI of the remote terminal, and specific DRX of the remote terminal, and sends the first PF and the first PO that are obtained through calculation and first identifier information of the remote terminal to the relay terminal.) and
configure, based at least in part on the indication, the UE for carrying the one or more communications between the connected device and the network node, (see Fig. 9 [0173] After receiving the first PF and the first PO from the remote terminal, the relay terminal associates (in other words, binds) the first PF and the first PO with the third identifier information of the remote terminal. It may be understood that, when the relay terminal is connected to a plurality of remote terminals, and first PFs and first POs of the plurality of remote terminals are the same, the relay terminal may associate third identifier information of the plurality of remote terminals under the same first PFs and first POs.)
Wang does not teach
transmit, via a cross-layer service entity of the UE,
receive, at a cross-layer service entity of the UE,
wherein the one or more communications are between an application layer and a physical layer.
However, Wang2 teaches
transmit, ([0102] S502: The second terminal device sends the first SCI and the first message to a first terminal device, and correspondingly, the first terminal device receives the first SCI and the first message from the second terminal device.) via a cross-layer service entity of the UE, ([0003] there are two protocol stacks, respectively used for the relay discovery and the SL communication, between the remote UE and the relay UE. PC5-D is used for the relay discovery, and a protocol stack on PC5-D includes a physical (PHY) layer, a media access control (MAC) layer, and a proximity-based services protocol (prose protocol) layer. PC5-U is used for the SL communication, and a protocol stack on PC5-U includes a PHY layer, a MAC layer, a radio link control (RLC) layer, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, an internet protocol (IP) layer, and an application layer.)
receive, ([0021] that the first terminal device sends a second message to the second terminal device includes: The first terminal device sends the second message to the second terminal device on a second resource, where the second resource is a resource specially used to transmit a discovery message.) at a cross-layer service entity of the UE, ([0003] PC5-U is used for the SL communication, and a protocol stack on PC5-U includes a PHY layer, a MAC layer, a radio link control (RLC) layer, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, an internet protocol (IP) layer, and an application layer.)
wherein the one or more communications are between an application layer and a physical layer. ([0003] PC5-U is used for the SL communication, and a protocol stack on PC5-U includes a PHY layer, a MAC layer, a radio link control (RLC) layer, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, an internet protocol (IP) layer, and an application layer.)
in order to increase network capacity by achieving communication between a remote UE and SL UE. (Id.)
Wang and Wang2 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in Wang with the technique of messaging between application layer and physical layer in Wang2 in order to increase network capacity.
Regarding claim 2. Wang and Wang2 teach The UE of claim 1, and Wang teaches wherein a first link between the UE and the connected device is based at least in part on a first radio access technology (RAT), ([0118] For example, the network device may include a long term evolution (LTE) system or an evolved NodeB (NodeB, eNB, or e-NodeB, evolved NodeB) in a long term evolution-advanced (LTE-A) system; or may include a next generation NodeB (gNB) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system; or may further include a transmission reception point (TRP), a home base station (for example, a home evolved NodeB, or a home NodeB, HNB), a baseband unit (BBU), a Wi-Fi access point (AP), or the like; or may further include a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU) in a cloud access network (C-RAN) system. This is not limited in embodiments of this application.)
Regarding claim 10. Wang and Wang2 teach The UE of claim 1, and Wang2 teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the network node, an indication of one or more parameters for the one or more communications, wherein the indication of the one or more parameters is based at least in part on the UE establishing a connection with the connected device for the UE to carry the one or more communications between the connected device and the network node. (Fig. 9 First PF and first PO from Relay to Second Network device. [0174] In some implementations, after receiving a first PF and a first PO from the remote terminal, the relay terminal sends the first PF and the first PO to the second network device corresponding to the relay terminal, to notify the second network device of a paging message of the remote terminal monitored by the relay terminal on the first PO of the first PF.)
Regarding claim 11. Wang and Wang2 teach The UE of claim 1, and Wang teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: carry the one or more communications between the connected device and the network node based at least in part on configuring the UE. ([0175] After the second network device corresponding to the relay terminal receives the first paging message sent by the first network device (the network device corresponding to the remote terminal, for example, a network device that last serves the remote terminal before the remote terminal enters the inactive state from the active state, which may also be referred to as an anchor network device of the remote terminal), or receives the first paging message sent by the first core network device (the core network device corresponding to the remote terminal)
Regarding claim 12. Wang and Wang2 teach teaches The UE of claim 11, and Wang teaches wherein the one or more processors, to carry the one or more communications between the connected device and the network node, are configured to: transmit downlink communications to the connected device via one or more sockets of the UE, or receive uplink communications from the connected device via one or more sockets of the UE. ([0175] After the second network device corresponding to the relay terminal receives the first paging message sent by the first network device (the network device corresponding to the remote terminal, for example, a network device that last serves the remote terminal before the remote terminal enters the inactive state from the active state, which may also be referred to as an anchor network device of the remote terminal), or receives the first paging message sent by the first core network device (the core network device corresponding to the remote terminal)
Regarding claim 13. Cheng teaches A UE for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memory, (Fig. 12, Memory, Processor etc) configured to:
transmit a first indication of one or more first parameters of a communication link an indication associated with management of one or more communications (see Fig. 8 [0141] the relay terminal obtains an S-TMSI and specific DRX of the remote terminal, and reports the S-TMSI and the specific DRX to the second network device corresponding to the relay terminal. ) and
receive, from the network node, based at least in part on the first indication, a second indication of one or more second parameters for communicating across the network. ([0141] The second network device obtains a first PF and a first PO of the remote terminal through calculation based on a parameter of the serving cell (the serving cell of the relay terminal) (for example, a parameter such as default DRX, N, Ns, or PF_offset corresponding to a serving cell), the S-TMSI of the remote terminal, and the specific DRX, and sends the first PF and the first PO that are obtained through calculation to the relay terminal.)
Wang does not teach
transmit, via a cross-layer service entity of the UE,
receive, at a cross-layer service entity of the UE,
wherein the one or more communications are between an application layer and a physical layer.
However, Wang2 teaches
transmit, ([0102] S502: The second terminal device sends the first SCI and the first message to a first terminal device, and correspondingly, the first terminal device receives the first SCI and the first message from the second terminal device.) via a cross-layer service entity of the UE, ([0003] there are two protocol stacks, respectively used for the relay discovery and the SL communication, between the remote UE and the relay UE. PC5-D is used for the relay discovery, and a protocol stack on PC5-D includes a physical (PHY) layer, a media access control (MAC) layer, and a proximity-based services protocol (prose protocol) layer. PC5-U is used for the SL communication, and a protocol stack on PC5-U includes a PHY layer, a MAC layer, a radio link control (RLC) layer, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, an internet protocol (IP) layer, and an application layer.)
receive, ([0021] that the first terminal device sends a second message to the second terminal device includes: The first terminal device sends the second message to the second terminal device on a second resource, where the second resource is a resource specially used to transmit a discovery message.) at a cross-layer service entity of the UE, ([0003] PC5-U is used for the SL communication, and a protocol stack on PC5-U includes a PHY layer, a MAC layer, a radio link control (RLC) layer, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, an internet protocol (IP) layer, and an application layer.)
wherein the one or more communications are between an application layer and a physical layer. ([0003] PC5-U is used for the SL communication, and a protocol stack on PC5-U includes a PHY layer, a MAC layer, a radio link control (RLC) layer, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, an internet protocol (IP) layer, and an application layer.)
in order to increase network capacity by achieving communication between a remote UE and SL UE. (Id.)
Wang and Wang2 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in Wang with the technique of messaging between application layer and physical layer in Wang2 in order to increase network capacity.
Regarding claim 15. Cheng and Wang teach The UE of claim 13, and Cheng teaches wherein the network node comprises a core network (CN) network node, (Fig. 7A, MME/HSS/SGW) and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the first indication of the one or more first parameters, (Fig. 7A RRCCConnSetup 732) are configured to receive the first indication via a radio access network (RAN) network node. (Fig. 7A, Base Station 706)
Regarding claim 21. Wang and Wang2 teach A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising steps performed by the UE recited in claim 1. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 26 and 28. Wang and Wang2 teach A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising steps performed by UE in claim 13 and 15. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 3, 9, 14, 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Wang2 as applied to claim 1, 13, 21 and 26 above, and further in view of Tseng; Yung-Lan et al. US PGPUB 20180054237 A1.
Regarding claim 3. Wang and Wang2 teach The UE of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: provide, to the connected device, an indication of one or more of: a throughput of a link between the UE and the network node, or timing parameters of the link between the UE and the network node.
However, Tseng teaches
provide, to the connected device, an indication of one or more of: a throughput of a link between the UE and the network node, or timing parameters of the link between the UE and the network node. ([0069] In one embodiment, relay UE 204 may only broadcast SLSS (and DMRS) in the SL-sync subframe. As such, remote UE 206 may receive the relay discovery message based on the timing information and configuration from base station 202.)
in order to achieve efficient radio resource management by sharing timing information with remote UEs ([0003])
Wang and Tseng are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wang with the technique of sharing timing information in Tseng in order to achieve efficient radio resource management.
Regarding claim 9. Wang and Wang2 teach The UE of claim 1, but they do not teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the connected device, an indication of communication occasion timing for a link between the UE and the network node, wherein the indication associated with management of the one or more communications between the connected device and the network node is based at least in part on the communication occasion timing.
However, Tseng teaches
transmit, to the connected device, an indication of communication occasion timing for a link between the UE and the network node, ([0069] In one embodiment, relay UE 204 may only broadcast SLSS (and DMRS) in the SL-sync subframe. As such, remote UE 206 may receive the relay discovery message based on the timing information and configuration from base station 202) wherein the indication associated with management of the one or more communications between the connected device and the network node is based at least in part on the communication occasion timing. ([0084] To help remote UE 706 access the network, relay UE 704 may become a sidelink synchronization source, which broadcasts the SL-sync subframe periodically. The configuration of SL-sync subframe may be based on pre-configured parameters (e.g., SL-Preconfiguration stored in relay UE 704) or based on the configuration from base station 202 SL-radio resource configuration message or SIB18/SIB19).)
in order to achieve efficient radio resource management by sharing timing information with remote UEs ([0003])
Wang and Tseng are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wang with the technique of sharing timing information in Tseng in order to achieve efficient radio resource management.
Regarding claim 14. Wang and Wang2 teach The UE of claim 13, but it does not teach wherein the first indication indicates one or more of: a throughput of a link between the UE and an additional network node associated with the network node, or timing parameters of a link between the UE and the additional network node.
However, Tseng teaches
provide, to the connected device, an indication of one or more of: a throughput of a link between the UE and the network node, or timing parameters of the link between the UE and the network node. ([0069] In one embodiment, relay UE 204 may only broadcast SLSS (and DMRS) in the SL-sync subframe. As such, remote UE 206 may receive the relay discovery message based on the timing information and configuration from base station 202.)
in order to achieve efficient radio resource management by sharing timing information with remote UEs ([0003])
Wang and Tseng are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wang with the technique of sharing timing information in Tseng in order to achieve efficient radio resource management.
Regarding claim 22. Wang, Wang2 and Tseng teaches The method of claim 21, performing the steps recited in claim 3. It is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 27. Wang, Wang2 and Tseng teaches The method of claim 26, performing the steps recited in claim 14. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 31. Wang and Wang2 teaches The UE of claim 1, and Wang teaces wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more of a quality of service (QoS) parameter, a latency parameter, ([0136] a parameter of a serving cell (the serving cell of the relay terminal) (for example, a parameter such as default (default) DRX, N, Ns, or PF_offset corresponding to the serving cell),
[0125] div represents rounding, mod represents modulo, and floor represents rounding down. Meanings of the foregoing parameters are shown in the following Table 1: T represents a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of a serving cell, N represents a quantity of PFs included in each DRX cycle of the serving cell, Ns represents a quantity of POs included in each PF of the serving cell, PF_offset represents a PF offset corresponding to the serving cell, and UE_ID represents a value of a S-temporary mobile subscriber identifier (S-TMSI) mod 1024 of the terminal.) a periodicity, or a bandwidth parameter.
Claims 4-8, 16-20, 23-25 and 29-30. are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Wang2 as applied to claim 1, 13, 21 and 26 above, and further in view of Tenny; Nathan Edward et al. US PGPUB 20170150363 A1.
Regarding claim 4. Wang and Wang2 teach The UE of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication, are configured to: receive, from a cross-layer service proxy entity of the connected device.
However, Tenny teaches
receive, from a cross-layer service proxy entity of the connected device, ([0097] FIG. 8 is a block diagram illustrating proxy NAS security, version 3 or case 3 generally at 800. Elements of proxy NAS security include a first device 810 such as a UE, and a remote second device 815 such as a WD that have a direct wireless connection between them.).
in order to reduce power consumption of the connected devices ([0003])
Wang and Tenny are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wang with the technique of corss-laywer proxy service in Tenny in order to reduce power consumption of the connected device.
Regarding claim 5. Wang and Wang2 teach The UE of claim 1, but Wang does not teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: establish a connection between a cross-layer service proxy entity of the connected device and the application layer entity, where the application layer entity comprises a cross-layer service entity of the UE.
However, Wang2 teaches
where the application layer entity comprises a cross-layer service entity of the UE. (Figure 1 is a schematic diagram of the protocol stack used for relay discovery and SL communication in the existing R15;)
in order to increase network capacity by achieve communication between a remote UE and SL UE. (Id.)
Wang and Wang2 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in Wang with the technique of messaging between application layer and physical layer in Wang2 in order to increase network capacity.
Wang and Wang2 do not teach
establish a connection between a cross-layer service proxy entity of the connected device and the a cross-layer service entity of the UE.
However, Tenny teaches
establish a connection between a cross-layer service proxy entity of the connected device and a cross-layer service entity of the UE. ([0122] In proxy RRC, version 3 corresponding to case 3, once RRC security for the WD and the NAS signaling connection between the WD and the MME are established,)
in order to reduce power consumption of the connected devices ([0003])
Wang and Tenny are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wang with the technique of corss-laywer proxy service in Tenny in order to reduce power consumption of the connected device.
Regarding claim 6. Wang, Wang2 and Tenny teach The UE of claim 5, and Wang teaches wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection, are configured to perform one or more of: a discovery operation in which the connected device discovers a service via the UE, or an authentication operation in which the connected device and the UE mutually authenticate the connection. ([0004] a paging message sent by a network side cannot be received by the remote terminal and the remote terminal cannot establish a connection to the network device. Therefore, a communication solution is needed, to ensure that the network side can normally initiate paging to the remote terminal.)
Regarding claim 7. Wang, Wang2 and Tenny teach The UE of claim 6, and Wang teaches wherein the discovery operation comprises one or more of: a local area network direct information exchange, a short-range wireless information exchange, or a domain name system information exchange. ([0006] a first paging message including the first identifier information, sending, by the relay terminal, the first paging message to the remote terminal or sending first indication information to the remote terminal, where the first indication information indicates that the remote terminal is paged.)
Regarding claim 8. Wang, Wang2 and Tenny teach The UE of claim 6, Wang does not teach wherein the authentic operation comprises one or more of: a device-level mutual authentication, or a shared secret key authentication.
However, Tenny teaches
the authentic operation comprises one or more of: a device-level mutual authentication, or a shared secret key authentication. ([0122] establishment of the WD's RRC security already depends on having K.sub.ASME for the WD, i.e., the WD must have performed an authentication and key exchange (AKA) procedure and the eNB should have enough knowledge of the WD to allow the derivation of K.sub.eNB.)
in order to reduce power consumption of the connected devices ([0003])
Wang and Tenny are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wang with the technique of corss-laywer proxy service in Tenny in order to reduce power consumption of the connected device.
Regarding claim 16. Wang and Wang2 teach The UE of claim 13, but it does not teach wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the first indication, are configured to: transmit the first indication to a cross-layer service proxy entity of the network node.
However, Tenny teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the first indication, are configured to: transmit the first indication to a cross-layer service proxy entity of the network node. ([0076] This “partial NAS” protocol could be provided as part of the direct link interface (e.g. as a control message on the PC5 interface used for ProSe/D2D (device to device) in LTE).)
in order to reduce power consumption of the connected devices ([0003])
Wang and Tenny are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wang2 with the technique of corss-laywer proxy service in Tenny in order to reduce power consumption of the connected device.
Regarding claim 17. Wang, Wang2 and Tenny teaches The UE of claim 13, Wang does not teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: establish a connection between a cross-layer service proxy entity of the connected device and the cross-layer entity.
However, Wang2 teaches
establish a connection between a cross-layer service proxy entity of the connected device and the cross-layer entity. (Figure 1 is a schematic diagram of the protocol stack used for relay discovery and SL communication in the existing R15;)
in order to increase network capacity by achieve communication between a remote UE and SL UE. (Id.)
Wang and Wang2 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in Wang with the technique of messaging between application layer and physical layer in order to increase network capacity.
Wang and Wang2 do not teach
establish a connection between a cross-layer service proxy entity of the connected device and the a cross-layer service entity of the UE.
However, Tenny teaches
establish a connection between a cross-layer service proxy entity of the connected device and a cross-layer service entity of the UE. ([0122] In proxy RRC, version 3 corresponding to case 3, once RRC security for the WD and the NAS signaling connection between the WD and the MME are established,)
in order to reduce power consumption of the connected devices ([0003])
Wang and Tenny are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wang with the technique of corss-laywer proxy service in Tenny in order to reduce power consumption of the connected device.
Regarding claim 18. Wang, Wang2 and Tenny teach The UE of claim 17, and Wang teaches wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection, are configured to perform one or more of: a discovery operation in which the network node discovers the cross-layer service entity of the UE, or an authentication operation in which the network node and the UE mutually authenticate the connection. . ([0006] a first paging message including the first identifier information, sending, by the relay terminal, the first paging message to the remote terminal or sending first indication information to the remote terminal, where the first indication information indicates that the remote terminal is paged.)
Regarding claim 19. Wang, Wang2 and Tenny teach The UE of claim 18, and Wang teaches wherein the discovery operation comprises one or more of: a local area network direct information exchange, a short-range wireless information exchange, or a domain name system information exchange. ([0006] a first paging message including the first identifier information, sending, by the relay terminal, the first paging message to the remote terminal or sending first indication information to the remote terminal, where the first indication information indicates that the remote terminal is paged.)
Regarding claim 20. Wang, Wang2 and Tenny teach The UE of claim 18, it does not teach wherein the authentic operation comprises one or more of: a device-level mutual authentication, or a shared secret key authentication.
However, Tenny teaches
the authentic operation comprises one or more of: a device-level mutual authentication, or a shared secret key authentication. ([0122] establishment of the WD's RRC security already depends on having K.sub.ASME for the WD, i.e., the WD must have performed an authentication and key exchange (AKA) procedure and the eNB should have enough knowledge of the WD to allow the derivation of K.sub.eNB.)
in order to reduce power consumption of the connected devices ([0003])
Wang and Tenny are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wang with the technique of corss-laywer proxy service in Tenny in order to reduce power consumption of the connected device.
Regarding claim 23, 24 and 25. Wang, Wang2 and Tenny teach The method of claim 21, comprising steps performed by the UE recited in claim 4, 5 and 11. It is rejected for the same reasons above.
Regarding claim 29 and 30. Wang, Wang2 and Tenny teach The method comprising steps performed by the UE recited in claim 16 and 17. It is rejected for the same reasons above.
Claim 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Wang2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MADANI, HABIB et al. CN 110249606 A.
Regarding claim 32. Wang and Wang2 teaches The UE of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the UE comprises one or more of a high level operating system (HLOS) or a software development kit (SDK), (SDN/IoT controller/application 120 can be connected to various software development kit (software development kit (SDK) and associated API.) wherein the cross-layer service entity is included in the HLOS or the SDK. ( can process the event but not overall processing by the central processing entity, these techniques has cross-layer and level boundaries provide natural ability of fine slice.)
However, Madani teaches
wherein the UE comprises one or more of a high level operating system (HLOS) or a software development kit (SDK), (page 13, first paragraph “SDN/IoT controller/application 120 can beconnected to various software development kit (software development kit(SDK) and associated API. As”) wherein the cross-layer service entity is included in the HLOS or the SDK. (page 23, last full paragraph, different from the traditional method, by using the technology described herein, can process the event but not overall processing by the central processing entity, these techniques has cross-layer and level boundaries provide natural ability of fine slice.)
in order to improve load flexibility (page 22, last full paragraph)
Wang and Madani are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wang with the technique of SDK in Madani in order to improve load flexibility.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468