DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant's election with traverse of FILLIN "Enter claim indentification information" \* MERGEFORMAT Species A, claims 10-13, 15, and 17-25 in the reply filed on FILLIN "Enter mail date of the reply." \* MERGEFORMAT 01/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that FILLIN "Enter claim indentification information" \* MERGEFORMAT the applicant believes the identified species are not "substantially dissimilar and structurally divergent" and therefore there is no search burden on the examiner . This is not found persuasive because FILLIN "Enter claim indentification information" \* MERGEFORMAT the identified species have entirely different structures, even if they share some similar functionalities. Even as the indicated by the applicant, the embodiment of Species A (FIGS. 3-4) discloses a portable jig device which is structurally different than the embodiment of Species B (FIGS. 5-6) which is disclosed to be a tabletop jig with a completely different shape and entirely separate stabilizing features (60, FIG. 5) which make it unique as compared to Species A, and the embodiment of Species A has unique tabs (34, 36) which Species B does not have, therefore, the identified species are two different embodiments with completely independent and distinct structures which is enough to conclude that they are directed to different inventions and a search burden would be imposed on the examiner . The examiner has withdrawn claims 16 and 26 as being drawn to the non-elected embodiment. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ramp in claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim FILLIN "Enter claim indentification information" \* MERGEFORMAT s 15 , 18 and 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 recites the limitation “ the sheath stop component is further configured to be disposed at the predefined distance from a working channel exit port of the scope ” and the independent claim 10, which claim 15 depends upon, recites “ the sheath stop component includes a datum surface disposed at a predefined distance from a working channel exit port of the scope .” This is confusing and unclear since the independent claim already establishes the sheath stop component is disposed at a distance from a working channel exit port , and then claim 15 reintroduces “a working channel exit port.” It is indefinite whether or not this is the same working channel exit port or a new one due to the inconsistent language found in claim 15. The examiner suggests amending claim 15 to either recite “the working channel exit port” or more particularly point out the structure of a second working channel exit port, depending on the intended structure of the invention as claimed. Claim 18 recites the limitation “for use with an endoscope” followed by the limitation “removably attachable to a distal end of an endoscope” it is indefinite and unclear whether or not two separate endoscopes are being claimed or if both limitations are directed to the same endoscope. The examiner suggests amending the second limitation to recite “the endoscope” or more particularly claiming the structure of a second endoscope to more distinctly claim the invention as intended. Claim 23 recites t he term “ FILLIN "Enter the relative term that renders the claim indefinite." \* MERGEFORMAT approximately ” which is a relative term and renders the claim indefinite. The term “ FILLIN "Re-enter the relative term that renders the claim indefinite." \* MERGEFORMAT approximately ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. FILLIN "Explain which parameter or quantity or other limitation in the claim has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term appearing in bracket 1." \* MERGEFORMAT This language is indefinite because it is unclear what the approximation is relative to and what is being limited . The examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “substantially parallel” or another alternative to “approximately.” Examiner’s Comments The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. (See MPEP 2141.02(VI)) Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 10-13 , 15, 17-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 FILLIN "Insert either \“(a)(1)\” or \“(a)(2)\” or both. If paragraph (a)(2) of 35 U.S.C. 102 is applicable, use form paragraph 7.15.01.aia, 7.15.02.aia or 7.15.03.aia where applicable." \d "[ 2 ]" (a)(1) as being FILLIN "Insert either—clearly anticipated—or—anticipated—with an explanation at the end of the paragraph." \d "[ 3 ]" anticipated by FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 4 ]" Smith et al. (US 20130172918 A1, hereinafter Smith) . Regarding Claim 10, Smith discloses A device ( EMR cap assembly 100 , FIG. 1A-1C ) comprising: a housing ( inner cap 102 + outer cap 104 , FIG. 1A ) configured to be removably connectable to a distal end ( distal end 504 , FIG. 5 ) of a scope ( elongate tube 502 , FIG. 5 ; par. 71 disclose s elongate tube is an endoscope, par. 37 , 82 disclose cap assembly may be detachably connected to distal end of endoscope ) ; and a sheath stop component ( section 206 , FIG. 2A-2B ) configured to limit distal movement of a sheath received within the scope (par. 50 discloses section accommodates an outer sheath of a resection device/ loop, and a ledge of section stops the sheath from extending distally beyond its distal end) , wherein the sheath stop component includes a datum surface ( ledge 210 , FIG. 2B) disposed at a predefined distance from a working channel exit port of the scope ( par. 79 discloses tube may include one or more channels such as a resection loop/ device channel ; par. 53 discloses resection loop channel’s, i.e. overall section and ledge structure, placement may vary, par. 57 discloses angular displacement of sections may vary based on application, i.e. under consideration of endoscope channels ) . Regarding Claim 11, Smith discloses The device of Claim 10, wherein the housing is further configured to be slidably received over a transducer head (distal head of tube 504, FIG. 5) of the distal end of the scope (par. 82 discloses cap assembly may be detachably attached to distal end of tube using any known coupling technique, i.e. slidably fit) . Regarding Claim 12, Smith discloses The device of Claim 11, wherein the housing comprises: a frame ( outer cap 104, FIG. 1A ) configured to form a hollow passage (lumen 111) ; and one or more tabs configured to protrude from the frame into the hollow passage (par. 66 discloses outer cap may include grooves, i.e. tabs, on its inner wall, i.e. protruding into the lumen) . Regarding Claim 13, Smith discloses The device of Claim 12, wherein at least one of the frames or the one or more tabs are configured to snap fit onto the distal end of the scope (par. 66 discloses snap fitting of outer and inner caps allows for releasable connection to endoscope, par. 82 discloses snap-fitting coupling of cap assembly and distal end of endoscope) . Regarding Claim 15, Smith discloses The device of Claim 10, wherein: the housing further comprises a cavity ( working channel 202 , FIG. 2B ) configured to receive the distal end of the scope (FIG. 5, par. 87-88 disclose tube is connected to working channel of cap assembly) ; and the sheath stop component is further configured to be disposed at the predefined distance from a working channel exit port of the scope when the distal end of the scope is received within the cavity (par. 79 discloses tube may include one or more channels such as a resection loop/ device channel; par. 53 discloses resection loop channel’s, i.e. overall section and ledge structure, placement may vary, par. 57 discloses angular displacement of sections may vary based on application, i.e. under consideration of endoscope channels when scope is received ) . Regarding Claim 17, Smith discloses The device of Claim 15, wherein a normal vector of the sheath stop component is parallel to a longitudinal axis of a ramp of the working channel exit port of the scope (par. 7 6 discloses tube distal end, i.e. working channel(s), may be designed to include geometric structures such as beveled terminal ends or faces, i.e. a ramp ; Modified FIG. 5-1 below depicts the axis of the section (206 in FIGS. 2A-2B)/ ledge (210 in FIGS. 2A-2B) at the most tapered portion in blue and the subsequent normal vector in green, Modified FIG. 5 -2 below depicts the longitudinal axis of the tube working channel, i.e. longitudinal axis of ramp, in red and the normal vector of the section/ ledge of the cap assembly in green , are parallel ) . Modified FIG. 5- 1 (US 20130172918 A1) Modified FIG. 5 -2 ( US 20130172918 A1 ) Regarding Claim 18, Smith discloses A sheath distance setting jig ( EMR cap assembly 100, FIG. 1A-1C ) for use with an endoscope ( elongate tube 502, FIG. 5; par. 71 discloses elongate tube is an endoscope used with cap assembly) , comprising: a housing ( inner cap 102 + outer cap 104, FIG. 1A ) configured to be removably attachable to a distal end ( distal end 504, FIG. 5 ) of an endoscope ( par. 37, 82 disclose cap assembly may be detachably connected to distal end of endoscope ) ; a datum surface ( section 206 + ledge 210, FIG. 2B ) disposed within the housing and positioned to limit distal movement of a sheath advanced through a working channel of the endoscope (par. 50 discloses section accommodates an outer sheath of a resection device/ loop, and ledge of section stops the sheath from extending distally beyond its distal end ; par. 79 discloses tube may include one or more channels such as a resection loop/ device channel ) ; wherein the datum surface is located at a predefined distance from an exit port of the endoscope when the housing is attached to the distal end ( par. 79 discloses tube may include one or more channels , i.e. exit port/ opening for each channel ; par. 53 discloses resection loop channel’s, i.e. overall section and ledge structure, placement may vary, par. 57 discloses angular displacement of sections may vary based on application, i.e. under consideration of endoscope channels when scope is received ) . Regarding Claim 19, Smith discloses The jig of claim 18, wherein the housing comprises a hollow structure ( Lumen s 110 +111, FIG. 1A) having a proximal opening (working channel 202, FIG. 2B) partially blocked by the datum surface (depicted in FIG. 2B) . Regarding Claim 20, Smith discloses The jig of claim 18, wherein the housing is configured to mount over a transducer section ( distal head of tube 504, FIG. 5 ) of the distal end of the endoscope ( par. 82 discloses cap assembly may be detachably attached to distal end of tube using any known coupling technique ) . Regarding Claim 21, Smith discloses The jig of claim 20, further comprising one or more flexible tabs configured to snap fit onto the distal end of the endoscope to maintain the jig in a predetermined longitudinal position (par. 66 discloses outer cap may include grooves, i.e. tabs, on its inner wall, i.e. protruding into the lumen ; par. 66 discloses snap fitting of outer and inner caps allows for releasable connection to endoscope and snap fitting the devices into place, i.e. in longitudinal position of endoscope as depicted in FIG. 5; FIG. 5, par. 82 disclose snap-fitting coupling of cap assembly and distal end of endoscope ) . Regarding Claim 22, Smith discloses The jig of claim 21, wherein the tabs are positioned such that, in a resting configuration, an internal dimension between the tabs is smaller than a cross-sectional width of the transducer section but larger than a cross-sectional dimension of a position proximal to the transducer section (FIG. 5 depicts cap assembly snap fitted onto distal head of endoscope, par. 66 discloses protrusions and grooves of inner and outer caps will snap fit to couple with distal head of endoscope, i.e. cross-section of distal head must be larger than that of the protrusions and grooves to require them to snap fit in order to be secured around the endoscope head; par. 66 further discloses the connection snap fits the endoscope and cap assembly in place, i.e. the cross-section of the protrusions and grooves must be large enough to keep the cap secured to the distal end ) . Regarding Claim 23, Smith discloses The jig of claim 18, wherein the datum surface is oriented such that a normal vector of the datum surface is approximately parallel to a longitudinal axis of the exit port of the endoscope ( Modified FIG. 5-1 below depicts the axis of the section (206 in FIGS. 2A-2B)/ ledge (210 in FIGS. 2A-2B) at the most tapered portion in blue and the subsequent normal vector in green, Modified FIG. 5 below depicts the longitudinal axis of the tube working channel in red and the longitudinal axis of the section/ ledge of the cap assembly in green are, parallel). Modified FIG. 5- 1 (US 20130172918 A1) Modified FIG. 5 -2 ( US 20130172918 A1 ) Regarding Claim 24, Smith discloses The jig of claim 18, wherein the housing is formed from a medical grade material selected from the group consisting of metals and plastics (par. 40 discloses inner and outer caps may be formed of metals, plastics or biocompatible material ) . Regarding Claim 25, Smith discloses The jig of claim 18, further comprising a cross-hatched frame (inner cap 102, FIG. 1A-1C) with a membrane formed over the frame (par. 66 discloses a membrane between the inner cap and outer cap) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ABDUL HADI ABBASI whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-4076 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 5:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Anhtuan Nguyen can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-4963 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ABDUL HADI ABBASI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795 /ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795 04/01/26