DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present application, filed on or after 3/16/2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
This action is in reply to the Remarks and claims filed 08/31/2026 in response to PTAB decision (6/29/2026) Affirming Examiner on all rejections.
Claims 1-16 have been canceled.
Claims 17-26 are new.
Claims 17-26 have been examined and are pending.
(AIA ) Examiner Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 18 recites the following: “The hyperlocation navigation system of Claim 17, wherein the first electronic data from a first beacon further comprises first location determinative information about one or more desired locations.” for which there is no support in the original disclosure. The limitation is considered impermissible new matter.
Examiner notes, that the Remarks of counsel do not provide any indication where support in the original disclosure might be found for applicant’s new claims and Examiner finds applicant does not have support for this feature as claimed. Note, it appears this first location determinative information about one or more desired locations refers to a location different than the user’s location and different than the beacon’s location. Applicant’s original disclosure does appear to contemplate a beacon which transmits its own location by which a user smartphone may use to determine the location of itself (i.e. the smartphone) but applicant’s original disclosure does not appear to support the idea that the beacon transmits some other location which is different than its own location. Note applicant’s drawings, consisting of a single diagram depicting simple product shelving, checkout lanes, and beacon 110 locations does not support the applicant’s new feature. The entire original disclosure is silent in regards to this newly introduced idea. Therefore, applicant fails to have support for his limitation. Accordingly, the claims are improperly directed to impermissible new matter.
How to Overcome This Rejection: Examiner notes Applicant may amend to distinctly claim only subject matter which is not considered impermissible new matter such as removing reference to those features noted supra which do not find support in the original disclosure.
Dependent claim 19 inherits the deficiencies of their parent claim and are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or (for pre-AIA ) 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor, a joint inventor, or (for pre-AIA ) the applicant regards as the invention.
Dependent claims 25 and 26 each recite in part the following: “the remote service”. However, this limitation lacks an antecedent basis. The term “the” is a definite article. As such, this term must refer to a definite previous recitation of the noun which it modifies. However, no previous recitation of “remote service” has been provided. Therefore, this limitation lacks an antecedent basis for the claimed step. Because this limitation lacks an antecedent basis, the claim limitation is indefinite.
Examiner acknowledges, the parent claim, claim 24, upon which claims 25 and 26 depend does recite: “remote server”. However, it is not clear that “remote service” is intended to reference “remote server” as these are two distinct ideas and terms. For the purpose of compact prosecution, examiner interprets “remote service” to be a typing error intended to be “remote server”. Nonetheless, correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (i.e. a judicial exception) without significantly more.
Per step 1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, the claims are directed towards a process, machine, or manufacture.
Per step 2A Prong One, the claims recite specific limitations which fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in MPEP 2106, as follows:
Per Independent claim 17:
determine and display directions from [a] first position to a designated location;
update the displayed directions based upon [a] second position, and
issue an advertisement or coupon upon entering a defined geolocation within the facility.
As noted supra, these limitations fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in MPEP 2106. Specifically, these limitations fall within the group Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity (e.g. fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
That is, these steps, as drafted, are each a process that under a broadest reasonable interpretation, are nothing more than commercial interactions such as advertising, marketing, or sales/business activities such as location based targeted advertising and marketing – i.e. displaying/presenting a user with directions from a known location to a designated location of a merchant is a principal of sales and marketing which is a basic fundamental economic practice. The updating of displayed directions is nothing more than a repeating of this process, e.g. as a person takes a step forward or backward, their position changes to a new second location and displaying/presenting a user with directions from this known second location to a designated location of a merchant is also a basic fundamental economic practice. Furthermore, issuing an advertisement or coupon based on targeting criteria, such as geolocation, e.g. entering a known and defined location, is nothing more than targeted marketing based on known user location – e.g. controlling the behavior of persons concerning the use of coupons, etc. to purchase products or services. In this later regard, the PTAB (Examiner Affirmed 6/29/2026, pg. 5) has already found that it follows from prior Supreme Court cases, including Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63 (1972), in particular, that… Controlling the behavior of persons concerning access to wallet objects such as coupons is a method of organizing human behavior, which is not patentable subject matter. See Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355-56.
Therefore, the Examiner finds the combination of ideas recited in the aforementioned limitations appears to be nothing more than good business practice implemented within a technological environment which is not the applicant’s invention (e.g. via a generic “portable electronic device” which applicant notes is not his invention and can be any such known device as noted per Specification at [0003], e.g.: “…a mobile computing device such as a smartphone, tablet, PDS, portable media player of the like…” and using known technology, e.g. per Specification at [0003]-[0004]: “Coupons, sales flyers and other like documents have transitioned from the traditional paper documents to digital items offering a broader range of customization. Together with loyalty cards, gift cards, event tickets, boarding passes and the like, these digital documents are often referred to as "passes" ("pass" singular), with regard to devices using Apple's operating system, but can include even broader or additional features on other devices such as those devices using the Android operating system. Accordingly, as used herein, these digital documents utilized by various operating platforms are referred to as mobile wallet objects… mobile wallet object may be designed such that the creator or provider of the object can inform an end user that the object is about to expire or has been updated… As previously stated, one example of a mobile wallet object and electronic wallet system is the Passbook application available in the iOS operating system from Apple, Inc. Another example of a mobile wallet object and electronic wallet system is the Google Wallet system available on the Android Operating System.”) hence falling within the enumerated group of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
There is no technical solution here and there is no technical problem being solved. Furthermore, the mere nominal recitation of a generic hardware and infrastructure (e.g. portable electronic computing device, and beacons, etc…) does not take the claim limitation out of the enumerated grouping. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Per step 2A Prong 2, the Examiner finds that the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Although there are additional elements, other than those noted supra, recited in the claim, none of these additional element(s) or a combination of elements as recited in the claims apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. As drafted, the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the aforementioned concepts and/or link them to a field of use (i.e. in this case location based targeted advertising and marketing) and/or serve as insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g. mere data-gathering, transmittal, storage, and receipt). The claimed computer components (i.e. a plurality of beacons, a facility, a portable electronic device, etc…) are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to implement the idea but are not technical in nature nor are they applicant’s invention.
These additional limitations are as follows: “A hyperlocation navigation system comprising: a plurality of beacons positioned at different locations within a facility; and a portable electronic device; wherein the portable electronic device is configured to receive first electronic data from a first beacon, determine from the first electronic data a first position of the device within the facility… subsequently receive second electronic data from a second beacon after movement of the device, determine from the second electronic data a second position of the device, …”
These elements do not present a technical solution to a technical problem and these recitations do not impose "a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception." Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 53 and MPEP 2106. Examiner finds no indication in the Specification, nor does Applicant provide evidence, that the operations recited in claim 17 invoke any inventive programming, require any specialized computer hardware or other inventive computer components, i.e., a particular machine, or that the claimed invention is implemented using anything other than generic computer components to perform generic computer functions. See DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1256 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("[A]fter Alice, there can remain no doubt: recitation of generic computer limitations does not make an otherwise ineligible claim patent-eligible.").
Note that Applicant’s invention is not hardware. Applicant is merely using known hardware infrastructure (e.g. Specification as noted supra per [0003]-[0004] and per [0011]: “…the sensors include Bluetooth LE equipped beacons or other suitable low-energy communication protocol sensors. Examples of suitable Bluetooth LE beacons include the iBeacons available from StickNFind Technologies of Uniondale, NY; or the Mobile to Mortar™ iBeacon platform available from inMarket Media, LLC of Venice, CA.”) and therefore the “plurality of beacons” is not applicant’s invention. Furthermore, the mentioned portable electronic computing devices are generic and not the subject of technical improvements but instead are merely used to tie the abstract idea to a field of use – e.g. targeted mobile advertising, where targeting information is gathered via beacons communicating with a mobile wallet object, operating as they were designed to operate. The additional elements do not recite a specific manner of performing any of the steps core to the already identified abstract idea. Instead, these features merely serve to generally “apply” the aforementioned concepts within an existing technological environment and link them to a field of use or are insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g. data-gathering, transfer, storage, and display) in regards to the already identified abstract idea and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application thereof.
The Examiner also notes there is no indication in the Specification that this now claimed invention affects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Nor does the Examiner find anything of record, short of attorney argument, that attributes any improvement in computer technology and/or functionality to the claimed invention or that otherwise indicates that the claimed invention integrates the abstract idea into a "practical application," as that phrase is used in the revised Guidance and MPEP 2106.
In this regard, the recitation does not affect an improvement in the functioning of the beacons, the facility, the portable electronic device, or other technology, does not recite a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, and does not transform or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing. Id. Thus, claim 17 recites a judicial exception that is not integrated into a practical application and is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Per Step 2B, the Examiner does not find that the claims provide an inventive concept, i.e., the claims do not recite additional element(s) or a combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception recited in the claim. Because the Examiner finds that claim 17 is directed to abstract ideas, the claim must include an "inventive concept" in order to be patent-eligible, i.e., there must be an element or combination of elements that is sufficient to ensure that the claim in practice amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 217-18 (quoting Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73). However, as discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the independent claims were considered as merely serving to generally “apply” the aforementioned concepts via generically described computer components and/or “link” them to a field of use (i.e. targeted advertising/marketing), or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
For the same reason these elements are not sufficient to provide an inventive concept; i.e. the same analysis applies here in 2B. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component and conventional data gathering cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Taking the claim elements separately, the function performed by the computer elements at each step of the process is purely conventional. Using a computer to retrieve, select, and apply decision criteria to data and modify the data as a result amounts to electronic data query and retrieval-one of the most basic functions of a computer. All of these computer functions are well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the trading industry. See Elec. Power Grp., LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d at 1354; see also In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litig., 639 F .3d 1303, 1316(Fed. Cir. 2011) ("Absent a possible narrower construction of the terms 'processing,' 'receiving,' and 'storing,' ... those functions can be achieved by any general purpose computer without special programming"). In short, each step does no more than require a generic computer to perform generic computer functions. As to the data operated upon, "even if a process of collecting and analyzing information is 'limited to particular content' or a particular 'source,' that limitation does not make the collection and analysis other than abstract." SAP Am., Inc. v. lnvestPic, LLC, 890 F.3d 1016, 1022 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
Considered as an ordered combination, the computer elements of Appellant's claim 17 add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. The sequence of data reception-analysis access/display is equally generic and conventional or otherwise held to be abstract. See Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (sequence of receiving, selecting, offering for exchange, display, allowing access, and receiving payment recited an abstraction), Inventor Holdings, LLCv. Bed Bath & Beyond, Inc., 876 F.3d 1372, 1378 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (holding that sequence of data retrieval, analysis, modification, generation, display, and transmission was abstract), Two-Way Media Ltd. v. Comcast Cable Commc'ns, LLC, 874 F.3d 1329, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (holding sequence of processing, routing, controlling, and monitoring was abstract). The ordering of the steps is, therefore, ordinary and conventional.
So, upon revaluating here in step 2B, claim 17 amounts to nothing significantly more than instructions to apply the identified abstract idea(s) using some unspecified, generic computer and/or gather and transmit data which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field; i.e. note the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs Court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(ll) indicate that mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). This is not enough to transform an abstract idea into a patent eligible invention. Again, see Alice, 573 U.S. at 226.
Accordingly, alone and in combination, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, as found supra, nor provide an inventive concept, and thus the claims are not patent eligible.
As for the dependent claims, the dependent claims do recite a combination of additional elements. However, these claims as a whole, considered either independently or in combination with the parent claims, do not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application thereof nor do they provide an inventive concept.
For example, dependent claim 18 recites the following: “The hyperlocation navigation system of Claim 17, wherein the first electronic data from a first beacon further comprises first location determinative information about one or more desired locations..” However, this description of the data does nothing more than confirm the abstractness of the recited idea – i.e. a description that the location information comprises information which allows determination about a desired location (e.g. location of a merchant) is part of marketing and advertising. Providing a merchant’s location to user so the user can be directed to the merchant falls squarely within the already identified abstract idea and this is not significantly more than that idea in any way. As such, this is not significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Therefore, the Examiner does not find that these additional claim limitations integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor provide an inventive concept. Instead, these limitations, as a whole and in combination with the already recited claim elements of the parent claims, are not significantly more than the already identified abstract idea. A similar finding is found for the remaining dependent claims.
For these reasons, the claims are not found to include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and are therefore patent ineligible.
Please see the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019 (found at http://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/examination-guidance-and-training-materials).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claims 17, 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Filler et al. (US 2015/0227925 A1; hereinafter, "Filler”) in view of Rodriquez et al. (US 2014/0244514 A1; hereinafter, "Rodriguez”).
Claim 17:
Pertaining to claim 17, Filler as shown teaches the following:
A hyperlocation information system comprising:
a plurality of beacons positioned at different locations within a facility (Filler, see at least [0084]-[0098] teaching stores [facilities] such as Safeway, Target, and Walmart may use iBeacons [a plurality of beacons] positioned at different locations within the store to signal their location. Note per at least [0084]: “…For example, the virtual wallet may determine that the phone is currently located in Wal-Mart or Target. Location information can be determined from… environmental information sensed by the user device upon entering the store (e.g.,… beacons like Apple's iBeacons,…), etc…”; note also per at least [0119] the signal source, e.g. iBeacon, may coincide with a “point of sale terminal” [a location within the facility] ); and
a portable electronic device (Filler, see at least [0006] and [0084]-[0098]. e.g.: “[0006] In accordance with one aspect of the present technology, a smartphone [portable electronic device] programmed with a virtual wallet [digital wallet] provides a user interface to present a wallet of virtual credit cards…”);
wherein the portable electronic device is configured to receive first electronic data from a
first beacon, determine from the first electronic data a first position of the device within the facility, (Filler, see citations noted supra, e.g. [0084]-[0098] teaching the smartphone [portable electronic device] may be configured with a virtual wallet which receives electronic data, e.g. via a beacon like Apple’s iBeacons, from which the virtual wallet may determine a location of the smartphone; e.g. determine user has entered into a store such as Safeway, Wal-Mart, or Target, e.g.: “…For example, the virtual wallet may determine that the phone is currently located in Wal-Mart or Target. Location information [a first position of the device within the facility] can be determined from…, environmental information sensed by the user device upon entering the store (e.g., … beacons like Apple's iBeacons [from a first beacon], Wi-Fi information network, etc.), etc. The virtual wallet can start to solicit bids from financial vendors associated with the virtual wallet or user as soon as the virtual wallet determines that the user is in a retail establishment, even though the user has not finished populating their cart and are not located at checkout… when the virtual wallet enters a store (or comes in proximity of a remote checkout terminal, e.g., a computer), the virtual wallet can receive location [determine from the first electronic data a first position of the device within the facility] or retail information, e.g., included in a signal [first electronic data] emanating from an iBeacon [from a first beacon]... The virtual wallet may use retail information to search through its stored, previously encountered audio. The virtual wallet can prompt the user if discounts, coupons, promotions are found, or may apply any such discounts/coupons at checkout.”) determine and display directions from the first position to a designated location (Filler, see citations noted supra, including again at least [0094]: “…the virtual wallet may launch mapping software on the mobile device, pass into the mapping software a winning station's address [a designated location] or GPS coordinates, so that the user can have [determine and display] step-by-step driving directions [from user position] to the station [to the designated location]…”)
receive second electronic data from a second beacon after movement of the device, determine from the second electronic data a second position of the device, (Filler, see citations noted supra, e.g. per [0084], Filler teaches his virtual wallet may determine that the phone is “…currently located in Wal-Mart or Target. Location information can be determined from… beacons like Apple’s iBeacons [plural – i.e first and second beacons].” and per at least [0098] Filler teaches: “Later, when the virtual wallet enters a store (or comes in proximity of a remote checkout terminal, e.g., a computer), the virtual wallet can receive… location information, e.g., included in a signal emanating from an iBeacon…”; it is clear from Filler’s disclosure that a plurality of beacons exist and second signals from second iBeacons may be received by the user’s smartphone, e.g. as user moves from proximity of a first beacon to proximity of second beacon, e.g. when entering a store and later at a remote checkout terminal.)
[…]
and issue an advertisement or coupon upon entering a defined geolocation within the facility (Filler, see citations noted supra, e.g. again per [0098], e.g.: “…Later, when the virtual wallet enters a store [a facility] (or comes in proximity of a remote checkout terminal [entering a defined geolocation within the facility], e.g., a computer), the virtual wallet can receive location or retail information, e.g., included in a signal emanating from an iBeacon... The virtual wallet may use retail information to search through its stored, previously encountered audio. The virtual wallet can prompt the user if discounts, coupons, promotions are found, or may apply any such discounts/coupons at checkout [issue and advertisement or coupon]…”).
Although Filler teaches the above limitations, including per [0094], teaching: “…the virtual wallet may launch mapping software on the mobile device… so that the user can have step-by-step driving directions…”, which clearly implies the user’s directions are updated as the user changes location to a second position and therefore this second position must be known, and Filler, as shown supra, has been shown to teach receiving second location information from a second iBeacon, he may not explicitly teach within a single embodiment that his “step-by-step” directions are based upon this second location [position] information which he does receive, e.g. from a signal of a second iBeacon. Nonetheless, regarding the below recited nuance, Filler in view of Rodriguez, which is a CIP of Filler, teaches the following:
update the displayed directions based upon the second position (Rodriguez, see at least [0096]: “…the virtual wallet may launch mapping software on the mobile device, pass into the mapping software a winning station's address or GPS coordinates, so that the user can have step-by-step driving directions [first directions] to the station...” and per [0100], teaching: “…the virtual wallet can receive location [second position] or retail information, e.g., included in a signal emanating from an iBeacon,.... The virtual wallet may use received location [second position] or retail information to search through stored or previously encountered audio or video derived information. The virtual wallet can prompt the user if discounts, coupons, promotions are found, and may apply any such discounts/coupons at checkout. The virtual wallet may also access a store map [update displayed directions] or product in-store location to help the user navigate to those products for which the virtual wallet has discounts or coupons. These may correspond to previously encountered advertising which the wallet has collected or caused to be stored…”; Rodriguez’s teaching regarding access of a store map implies this map is displayed to the user to enable his teaching regarding “to help the user navigate to those products” and therefore it would have been obvious to update his user’s previously displayed directions, e.g. regarding navigation to a station or store, with this specific store map, e.g. after the user enters the store and encounters a second iBeacon, to help the user navigate to those products of interest within the specific store because per MPEP 2143(I) (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention is obvious. The motivation may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. Id. at 1366, 80 USPQ2d at 1649.)
Therefore, the Examiner understands that the limitation in question is merely applying a known technique of Rodriguez (directed towards a technique of updating a displayed map/directions on a user’s smart phone based on second location/position information received from a second iBeacon) which is applicable to a known base device/method of Filler (already directed towards a system/method by which a smartphone of a user receives beacon information including location information from signals emanating from iBeacons and provides step-by-step directions to a location of interest to the user, e.g. a gas station, or store, etc…) to yield predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Rodriguez to the device/method of Filler in order to perform the limitation in question because Filler and Rodriguez are analogous art in the same field of endeavor (at least G06Q30/02; /06, etc… as well as G01S 1/00; /024 beacon transmitters; /08 systems for determining direction or position line) and because according to MPEP 2143(I) (C) and/or (D), the use of known technique to improve a known device, methods, or products in the same way (or which is ready for improvement) is obvious.
Claim 20:
Filler/Rodriguez teaches the limitations upon which this claim depends. Furthermore, Filler teaches the following: The system of Claim 17, wherein the plurality of beacons comprise Bluetooth LE beacons (Filler, see at least [0211] e.g.: “…the signaling source comprises an iBeacon or Bluetooth transmitter.”; see also at least [0119], [0224] etc.. teaching Bluetooth; Examiner notes that iBeacon is a BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy) beacon – i.e. its protocol for communication is built on top of what is known as Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) commonly used for indoor navigation, retail store marketing, and asset tracking.)
Claim 21:
Filler/Rodriguez teaches the limitations upon which this claim depends. Furthermore, Filler teaches the following: The hyperlocation navigation system of Claim 17, wherein the portable electronic device is a smartphone having a digital wallet, storage space and a display (Filler, see at least [0006]: “…smartphone programmed with a virtual wallet provides a user interface to present a wallet…” and per [0262]: “…The design of smartphones and other computers referenced in this disclosure is familiar to the artisan. In general tenns, each includes one or more processors, one or more memories (e.g. RAM), storage (e.g., a disk or flash memory), a user interface (which may include, e.g., a keypad, a TFT LCD or OLEO display screen…”).
Claim 22:
Filler/Rodriguez teaches the limitations upon which this claim depends. Furthermore, Filler teaches the following: The hyperlocation navigation system of Claim 21, wherein the smartphone is further configured to display directions from the first position to the designated location by updating a mobile wallet object1 stored on the smartphone to display the directions (Filler, see citations noted supra, e.g. again at least [0084]-[0098], teaching, e.g.: “…the virtual wallet may launch mapping software [mobile wallet object] on the mobile device, pass into [therefore update] the mapping software [wallet object] a winning station's address or GPS coordinates, so that the user can have step-by-step driving directions to the station…”; Filler per at least [0259] teaches: “…Particularly contemplated smartphones include the Apple iPhone 5; smartphones following Google's Android specification… etc…”; and Filler per at least [0158] also teaches “Google Wallet”; note the Applicant explicitly identifies per his own Specification at [0004] an example of a mobile wallet object and electronic wallet system is the Google Wallet system available on the Android Operating System – see footnote. Furthermore, Filler, see also at least [0171] teaching, e.g. “…The virtual wallet may manage and provide many different types of notifications. For example, bill-payment due dates, account balances, credit limits, offers, promotions and advertising are just a few examples of such….”; in view of these findings, Examiner understands that Filler teaches smartphone, which follows Google’s Android specification, and teaches Google Wallet, and Filler also teaches his wallet may launch mapping software. In view of these teachings Examiner finds Filler provides motivation to implement his mapping software as a type of wallet object, e.g. Filler’s Google Wallet, and by virtue of Filler’s teaching regarding the wallet’s interaction with such software; i.e. Filler teaches the wallet passes new location information such as address or GPS coordinates to the mapping software, thereby updating such mapping software, so that the user can have step-by-step driving directions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed the limitation in question, i.e. configure Filler’s smartphone per Google’s Android specification with Google Wallet, which applicant notes is an example of a mobile wallet object and electronic wallet system, to display directions from the first position to the designated location by updating Filler’s mapping software, implemented as a mobile wallet object within the Google Wallet system, by passing this wallet object stored on the smartphone, updated location information such as an address or GPS coordinates of the designated location, for the purpose of displaying the directions to the user step-by-step directions from the user’s location to the address or GPS coordinates of the designated location because per MPEP 2143(I) (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention is obvious. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. Id. at 1366, 80 USPQ2d at 1649. )
Claim 23:
Filler/Rodriguez teaches the limitations upon which this claim depends. Furthermore, Filler teaches the following: The hyperlocation navigation system of Claim 17, wherein the portable electronic device is further configured to use the first electronic data to determine particularized location information of the portable electronic device (Filler, again see citations noted supra, e.g. [0084]: “…the virtual wallet may determine that the phone is currently located in Wal-Mart or Target. Location information can be determined from… environmental information sensed by the user device upon entering the store ( e.g., …beacons like Apple’s iBeacon’s, etc…))
Claim 24:
Filler/Rodriguez teaches the limitations upon which this claim depends. Furthermore, Filler teaches the following: The hyperlocation navigation system of Claim 17, further comprising a remote server. (Filler, see at least [0097]-[0099], [0258], and [0267], e.g.: “…Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a smartphone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated…”).
Claim 25:
Filler/Rodriguez teaches the limitations upon which this claim depends. Furthermore, Filler teaches the following: The hyperlocation navigation system of Claim 24, wherein the plurality of beacons are
configured to send information to the remote serv[er] and to receive information from the remote
server. (Filler, see citations noted supra, e.g. again per at least [0267], e.g.: “…Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a smartphone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated…”; thus the information which is discussed as being sent back/forth between smart phone and iBeacon may be sent between iBeacon and remote server.).
Claim 26:
Filler/Rodriguez teaches the limitations upon which this claim depends. Furthermore, Filler teaches the following: The hyperlocation navigation system of Claim 24, wherein the portable electronic device
is configured to send information to the remote serv[er] and to receive information from the remote server. (Filler, see citations noted supra, e.g. again per at least [0267], e.g.: “…Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device …is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated…”; thus the information which is discussed as being sent back/forth between smart phone and iBeacon may be sent between smart phone and remote server.).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Filler in view of Rodriquez further in view of Tomaru (US 6,601,060 A1; hereinafter, "Tomaru”).
Claim 18.
Although Filler/Rodriguez teaches the limitations upon which this claim depends, they may not explicitly teach their beacons which do provide electronic data, e.g. signals, comprise location determinative information about a different location than the location of the beacon and/or user as the below recited nuance appears to imply. However, regarding this nuance as recited below Filler in view of Tomaru teaches the following:
The hyperlocation navigation system of Claim 17, wherein the first electronic data from a first beacon further comprises first location determinative information about one or more desired locations (Tomaru, see at least Figs. 1 and 7, and [17:40-66] teaching a beacon transmits a signal to a user’s portable device where the beacon, e.g. located within a hotel, provides directions to a different location within this signal transmitted to the user device, where the different location is also within the hotel and which is a location to where the user desires to travel; e.g. breakfast is located to the right, or, go straight ahead, to the dinning hall called AZALEA, etc…).
Therefore, the Examiner understands that the limitation in question is merely applying a known technique of Tomaru which is applicable to a known base device/method of Filler to yield predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Tomaru to the device/method of Filler in order to perform the limitation in question because Filler and Tomaru are analogous art in the same field of endeavor (at least G01S 1/00; /024 beacon transmitters; /08 systems for determining direction or position line) and because according to MPEP 2143(I) (C) and/or (D), the use of known technique to improve a known device, methods, or products in the same way (or which is ready for improvement) is obvious.
Claim 19.
Filler/Rodriguez/Tomaru teaches the limitations upon which this claim depends. Furthermore, Filler/Rodriguez teaches the following: The hyperlocation navigation system of Claim 18, wherein the second electronic data from a second beacon further comprises second location determinative information about the one or more desired locations (Rodriguez, see citations noted supra, e.g. per at least [0100], teaching: “…the virtual wallet can receive location [second determinative information] or retail information, e.g., included in a signal emanating from an iBeacon [second beacon],.... The virtual wallet may use received location [second location determinative information about the one or more desired locations] or retail information to search through stored or previously encountered audio or video derived information. The virtual wallet can prompt the user if discounts, coupons, promotions are found, and may apply any such discounts/coupons at checkout. The virtual wallet may also access a store map or product in-store location to help the user navigate to those products for which the virtual wallet has discounts or coupons. These may correspond to previously encountered advertising which the wallet has collected or caused to be stored…”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant canceled all claims are provided all new claims, i.e. new claims 17-26 on 8/31/2026, after the PTAB decision (6/29/2026 fully affirming the Examiner’s position and rejections of applicant’s invention). Applicant's arguments (hereinafter “Remarks”) also filed 8/31/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments. Note the new 35 USC 101, 112, and 103 rejections with Filler in view of Rodriguez.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL J SITTNER whose telephone number is (571)270-3984. The examiner can normally be reached M-F; ~9:30-6:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Waseem Ashraf can be reached on (571) 270-3948. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Michael J Sittner/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621
1 Specification [0004]: “…Another example of a mobile wallet object and electronic wallet system is the Google Wallet system available on the Android Operating System.”