DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bharath et al. [U.S. Publication No. 2020/0066830 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Bharath discloses a magnetic inlay (e.g., 101, Paragraph 0033, Fig. 1) comprising:
a magnetic matrix (e.g., 103, Paragraph 0033, Fig. 1-2); and
a plurality of electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., 102a, 102b, Paragraph 0043, Fig. 2A, 2B) extending vertically through the magnetic matrix (e.g., 103),
wherein the magnetic matrix 103 comprises a dielectric resin matrix with embedded magnetic particles (see Paragraph 0037), or wherein the magnetic matrix 103 is magnetic itself.
Regarding claim 2, Bharath discloses wherein the plurality of electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., 102a, 102b) are arranged in a pattern of rows and columns (see Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 3, Bharath discloses wherein at least one of the electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., 102a, 102b) is a through hole filled partially with a metal (Paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 4, Bharath discloses wherein at least one of the electrically conductive vertical through connection (e.g., 102a, 102b) is a hollow lining (e.g., conductive sleeve 105, Paragraph 0035, see Fig. 2A) which is filled at least partially with an electrically insulating material (e.g., 104).
Regarding claim 5, Bharath discloses wherein at least one of the electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., 102a, 102b) is a circular cylindrical through hole (e.g., conductive sleeve 105) filled at least partially with electrically conductive material (Paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 7, Bharath discloses magnetic matrix (e.g., 103) continuously fills a volume between and around a plurality of electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., 102a, 102b, Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 9, Bharath discloses further comprising: at least one horizontally extending electrically conductive trace (e.g., 114, Paragraph 0051, Fig. 2A) on one of main surfaces of the magnetic matrix 103.
Regarding claim 10, Bharath discloses wherein the at least one horizontally extending electrically conductive trace (e.g., 114) and at least one of the electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., 102a, 102b) are electrically coupled with each other (Paragraph 0051, Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 11, Bharath discloses further comprising:
at least one pad (e.g., 109) electrically coupling the at least one horizontally extending electrically conductive trace (e.g., 114) and at least one of the electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., 102a, 102b).
Regarding claim 12, Bharath discloses wherein the at least one horizontally extending electrically conductive trace 114 and the at least one of the electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., 102a, 102b) are connected to form at least one winding (e.g., inductor 101, Paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 13, Bharath discloses wherein the magnetic matrix (e.g., 103) comprises at least of a rigid solid (e.g., core block, Paragraph 0033, 0038).
Regarding claim 14, Bharath discloses wherein the magnetic matrix (e.g., 103) comprises of electrically insulating (e.g., non-conductive material, Paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 15, Bharath discloses a relative magnetic permeability µr of the magnetic matrix103 is in a range from 2 to 106 (e.g., 5-20, Paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 16, Bharath discloses wherein the magnetic matrix 12b comprises soft magnetic material (e.g., iron, Paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 17, Bharath discloses a component carrier (see Figure 2A), comprising:
a stack (Fig. 2A) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (e.g., conductive sleeve 105, horizontal electrical trace 114, vias 113, pads 109, 116, Paragraph 0051, Fig. 2A) and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure (e.g., substrate 107, dielectric 106, Paragraph 0048); and
a magnetic inlay (see Fig. 2A) assembled to the stack, the magnetic inlay including a magnetic matrix (e.g., 103, Paragraph 0036-0038, Fig. 2A) and a plurality of electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., 102a, 102b, Paragraph 0036, 0050, Fig. 2A) extending vertically through the magnetic matrix 103,
wherein the magnetic matrix 103 comprises a dielectric resin matrix with embedded magnetic particles (see Paragraph 0037), or the magnetic matrix 103 is magnetic itself.
Regarding claim 18, Bharath discloses further comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the magnetic inlay (the magnetic inlay including a magnetic matrix 103, and a plurality of electrically conductive vertical through connections 102a, 102b) is embedded in the stack (see Fig. 2A);
wherein the magnetic inlay is surface mounted on the stack (e.g., 103 mounted on dielectric 106, Fig. 2A);
wherein the at least one electrically conductive layer structure (e.g., 114, Fig. 2A) is electrically coupled with at least one of the electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., 102a, 102b);
wherein the at least one electrically conductive layer structure (e.g., 114) electrically coupled with at least one of the electrically conductive vertical through connections (102a, 102b) to form a coil structure (e.g., 101, Paragraph 0051, Fig. 2A, 2B);
wherein the component carrier (Fig. 2A) is configured as one of a DC-DC converter (Paragraph 0086).
Claim 19 and 20 are rejected for reciting methods/steps derived from the structure of at least claim 1 which is rejected above.
Bharath also discloses in particular wherein the method comprises forming at least one through hole by drilling (Paragraph 0031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bharath et al. [U.S. Publication No. 2020/0066830 A1] in view of Lin et al. [U.S. Patent No. 9854671].
Regarding claim 6, Bharat discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein at least one of the electrically conductive vertical through connections is a frustoconical through hole filled at least partially with electrically conductive material.
Lin discloses wherein at least one of the electrically conductive vertical through connections 164 is a frustoconical through hole filled at least partially with electrically conductive material (see Fig. 8D, column 7, lines 63-66).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electrically conductive vertical through connections is a frustoconical through hole filled at least partially with electrically conductive material as taught by Lin to the vertical through connections of Bharath to provide the vertical connection with wedged embedded structure for reliable mechanical contact and ensure larger mechanical surface circuit connection.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bharath et al. [U.S. Publication No. 2020/0066830 A1] in view of Edo et al. [CN 1531093 A].
Regarding claim 8, Bharath discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for comprising a hole in the magnetic matrix between a first group and a second group of the plurality of electrically conductive vertical through connections.
Edo discloses a hole (e.g., cut off region of magnetic plate 11 where separation layer 17 is disposed, page 5 of translation, Fig. 2-4) in magnetic matrix (e.g., magnetic plate 11) between a first group and a second group of the plurality of electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., between vertical through connections 14 of coil conductors 12a, 12b and 13a, 13b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a hole in the magnetic matrix between a first group and a second group of the plurality of electrically conductive vertical through connections as taught by Edo to the magnetic matrix of Bharath to provide multiple independent inductors within the stack for a multiple power converting circuits in an ultra-small power conversion device for multiple output system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
The applicant has amended claims 1, 17 and 19 to recite “…wherein the magnetic matrix comprises a dielectric resin matrix with embedded magnetic particles, or wherein the magnetic matrix is magnetic itself…”. The applicant argues that the prior art Lin does not disclose a plurality of electrically conductive vertical through connections extending vertically through the magnetic matrix. However, the arguments and amendments are moot in view of the new prior art Bharath.
Regarding claim 1, Bharath discloses a magnetic inlay (e.g., 101, Paragraph 0033, Fig. 1) comprising: a magnetic matrix (e.g., 103, Paragraph 0033, Fig. 1-2); and a plurality of electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., 102a, 102b, Paragraph 0043, Fig. 2A, 2B) extending vertically through the magnetic matrix (e.g., 103). The magnetic matrix 103 comprises a dielectric resin matrix with embedded magnetic particles (see Paragraph 0037), or wherein the magnetic matrix 103 is magnetic itself.
Claim 19 and 20 are rejected for reciting methods/steps derived from the structure of at least claim 1 which is rejected above.
Bharath also discloses in particular wherein the method comprises forming at least one through hole by drilling (Paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 17, Bharath discloses a component carrier (see Figure 2A), comprising: a stack (Fig. 2A) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (e.g., conductive sleeve 105, horizontal electrical trace 114, vias 113, pads 109, 116, Paragraph 0051, Fig. 2A) and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure (e.g., substrate 107, dielectric 106, Paragraph 0048); and a magnetic inlay (see Fig. 2A) assembled to the stack. The magnetic inlay including a magnetic matrix (e.g., 103, Paragraph 0036-0038, Fig. 2A) and a plurality of electrically conductive vertical through connections (e.g., 102a, 102b, Paragraph 0036, 0050, Fig. 2A) extending vertically through the magnetic matrix 103. The magnetic matrix 103 comprises a dielectric resin matrix with embedded magnetic particles (see Paragraph 0037), or the magnetic matrix 103 is magnetic itself.
All dependent claims which depend directly or indirectly to claims 1, 17 and 19 are rejected as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.S.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/MALCOLM BARNES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837