DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the RCE filed on 12/29/25.
Claim(s) 1, 3-31 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9-10, 13-14, 17-19, 24, 26, 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunturu, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2022/0286325 A1 in view of Chen, US 2018/0235025 A1, and Zheng, US 2021/0345335 A1, and further in view of Lim, US 2010/0208687 A1.
As to claim 1, Gunturu teaches an apparatus for communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit a capability indication that indicates support for multiple discrete Fourier transform (DFT) or multiple inverse discrete Fourier transform (IDFT) for DFT spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) to a network entity (Gunturu, page 8, paragraph 94; page 9, paragraph 102-103; i.e., [0094] In an embodiment, the at least one UE-Capability information element may include an indication of a capability of the UE 202 to switch waveforms amongst a list of waveforms for an UL transmission and a DL transmission. In an embodiment, the UE 202 may be communicating through a previous waveform such as an existing OFDM waveform. In an embodiment, the UE 202 may mandatorily support a CPOFDM, and a DFT-S-OFDM);
receive, based on the capability indication, an activation associated with the multiple DFT or the multiple IDFT from the network entity, the activation indicating two or more BWP (Gunturu, page 6, table 4; page 9, paragraph 106; page 10, table 6; i.e., [0106] the UL transmission is indicated via one of a RACH MSG3 waveform indication similar to a DFT-S-OFDM indication using a uplinkWaveformindication Parameter. A bitmap associated with the first custom waveform with each bit representing a subset for a value associated with the first custom waveform; BWP indicator 0/1/2 bits Bandwidth part indication).
But Gunturu failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the multiple DFT or the multiple IDFT is associated with a DFT-s-OFDM waveform having different modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) in different bandwidth parts (BWPs) within one component carrier (CC) , and wherein each MCS of the different MCSs is based on a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) of a respective BWP of the different BWPs; wherein the multiple DFT or the multiple IDFT are simultaneous and associated with the two or more BWPs, and wherein the two or more BWPs are simultaneous; transmit or receive the DFT-s-OFDM waveform in the two or more BWPs, a DFT-s-OFDM waveform includes the multiple DFT with a dedicated DFT for each BWP of the two or more BWPs, or reception of the DFT-s-OFDM waveform includes the multiple IDFT with a dedicated IDFT for each BWP of the two or more BWPs, and wherein the two or more BWPs are associated with a single bandwidth (BW) within the CC.
However, Chen teaches the limitation wherein the multiple DFT or the multiple IDFT is associated with a DFT-s-OFDM waveform having different modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) in different bandwidth parts (BWPs) within one component carrier (CC) (Chen, page 10, paragraph 80, 83-84; i.e., [0083] In a next generation, NR, or 5G network, both Cyclic Prefix Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (CP-OFDM) and DFT-S-OFDM waveforms. DFT-S-OFDM waveforms may be further limited to a subset of possible modulation and coding schemes (MCSs), or to particular assignment bandwidths. For example, a DFT-SOFDM waveform may not support higher MCSs. In some cases, the reduced maximum assignment bandwidth may be less than a Device RF BW (e.g., a RF chain bandwidth). A DFT-S-OFDM waveform may not be associated with a reduced maximum assignment bandwidth in other frequency bands ( e.g., in a mm W band)); transmit or receive the DFT-s-OFDM waveform in the two or more BWPs, a DFT-s-OFDM waveform includes the multiple DFT with a dedicated DFT for each BWP of the two or more BWPs, or reception of the DFT-s-OFDM waveform includes the multiple IDFT with a dedicated IDFT for each BWP of the two or more BWPs, and wherein the two or more BWPs are associated with a single bandwidth (BW) within the CC (Chen, page 10, paragraph 80, 83-84; i.e., [0083] An "Aggregated CC BW" is a bandwidth of a plurality of CCs used in a multi-carrier mode ( e.g., a CA or dual connectivity mode); [0084] In some examples, a network access device having a NW RF BW capability (i.e., a supported RF BW capability of the network access device) may communicate with a UE having a UE RF BW capability. In some cases, one or both of the NW RF BW capability or a UE RF BW capability may support a same or different bandwidth as a CC BW. In some cases, an aggregated NW RF BW of the network access device may or may not match an aggregated UE RF BW of a UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Gunturu to substitute available system resource from Chen for radio resource from Gunturu to support operation over a smaller bandwidth lower cost UEs, or lower cost or shorter range network access devices) (Chen, page 1, paragraph 5).
However, Zheng teaches the limitation wherein the multiple DFT or the multiple IDFT are simultaneous and associated with the two or more BWPs, and wherein the two or more BWPs are simultaneous (Zheng, page 21, paragraph 319; page 23, paragraph 339; i.e., [0319] DFT or IDFT is performed on the sequence has an ideal autocorrelation characteristic, thereby facilitating fast synchronization between the terminal device and the network device; [0339] the first synchronization signal and the second synchronization signal, a third synchronization signal. The wireless communication system may serve a narrowband terminal device having a plurality of bandwidth capabilities, for example, a terminal device that accesses the wireless communication system by using a synchronization signal occupying one to six RBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Gunturu to substitute eMBB from Zheng for radio resource from Gunturu to the synchronization channels can be reused for another data transmission process, resource utilization efficiency is increased (Zheng, page 1, paragraph 4).
However, Lim teaches the limitation wherein each MCS of the different MCSs is based on a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) of a respective BWP of the different BWPs (Lim, page 2, paragraph 16-17 & 21-22; i.e., [0017] generating
a plurality of signal to interference and noise ratios each corresponding to the plurality of frequency bands by using the plurality of interference values; calculating a plurality of
transmission power densities each corresponding to the plurality of frequency bands by using the plurality of signal to interference and noise ratios; recognizing a modulation and coding scheme control level corresponding to a signal to interference and noise ratio of the one frequency band).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Gunturu to substitute OSICH from Lim for radio resource from Gunturu to experiences little restriction on transmission power and transmits packets using comparatively high power in the uplink. (Lim, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 5, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein the activation further indicates a set of locations associated with the two or more BWPs (Gunturu, page 6, table 4; i.e., BWP indicator 0/1/2 bits Bandwidth part indication).
As to claim 9, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit the DFT-s-OFDM waveform associated with the multiple DFT in each BWP of the two or more BWPs, and the at least one processor is further configured to:
perform a first DFT on a first bitstream to be transmitted in a first BWP of the two or more BWPs (Gunturu, page 9, paragraph 102 & 106; i.e., [0102] the UE 202 may mandatorily support a cyclic prefix-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-O-FDM), and a discrete Fourier transformspread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM). [0103] the first custom waveform may be calculated from the list of waveforms amongst which the UE 202 is capable to switch waveforms as indicated in the at least one VE-Capability Info element; [0106] a DFT-S-OFDM indication using a uplinkWaveformindication Parameter. A bitmap associated with the first custom waveform); and
perform a second DFT on a second bitstream to be transmitted in a second BWP of the two or more BWPs (Gunturu, page 9, paragraph 102 & 106; i.e., [0102] the UE 202 may mandatorily support a cyclic prefix-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-O-FDM), and a discrete Fourier transformspread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM). [0103] the first custom waveform may be calculated from the list of waveforms amongst which the UE 202 is capable to switch waveforms as indicated in the at least one VE-Capability Info element; [0106] a DFT-S-OFDM indication using a uplinkWaveformindication Parameter. A bitmap associated with the first custom waveform with each bit representing a subset for a value associated with the first custom waveform).
As to claim 10, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 9, wherein use an output of the first DFT and the second DFT as an input for an inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) to transmit a time domain waveform for each BWP of the two or more BWPs (Gunturu, page 10, paragraph 107 & table 6; i.e., [0107] the MIB may include a downlink: Waveformindication:=ENUMERATED{ CP-OFDM, OTFS, spare!, spare2, ... } for the DL and uplink:Waveformindication:=ENUMERATED{ CP-OFDM, DFT-SOFDM, OTFS, spare!, spare2, ... } for the UL; BWP indicator 0/1/2 bits Bandwidtb part indication).
As to claim 13, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein receive, in downlink control information (DCI) associated with the DFT-s-OFDM waveform associated with the multiple DFT or the multiple IDFT, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of each BWP of the two or more BWPs from the network entity (Gunturu, page 9, paragraph 102 & 106; i.e., [0102] the UE 202 may mandatorily support a cyclic prefix-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-O-FDM), and a discrete Fourier transformspread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM). [0103] the first custom waveform may be calculated from the list of waveforms amongst which the UE 202 is capable to switch waveforms as indicated in the at least one VE-Capability Info element; [0106] a DFT-S-OFDM indication using a uplinkWaveformindication Parameter. A bitmap associated with the first custom waveform with each bit representing a subset for a value associated with the first custom waveform).
As to claim 14, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 13, wherein the DCI comprises multiple DCI associated with multiple component carriers (CCs) associated with the two or more BWPs (Gunturu, page 4, paragraph 52; i.e., [0052] the UE 202 for transmitting the response message via one of a downlink control information (DCI) format, a radio resource control reconfiguration, and a master information block (MIB)).
As to claim 17, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein transmit, to the network entity, a performance report associated with the multiple DFT or the multiple IDFT (Gunturu, page 5, paragraph 69; i.e., [0069] the DE may be configured to report a capability of the DE for the custom CP lengths such as {1/nl, 1/n2, ... , 1/s, ¼, ... } of the OFDM symbol duration or {extendedCP, extendedCPl, extendedCP2, extendedCPn},).
As to claim 18, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, further comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor and configured to receive the DFT-s-OFDM waveform (Gunturu, page 9, paragraph 102 & 108; i.e., [0108] a downlink:Waveformindication: =ENUMERATED{CP-OFDM, OTFS, spare!, spare2, ... } for the DL and uplink:Waveformindication: =ENUMERATED{ CP-OFDM, DFT-S-OFDM, OTFS, spare!, spare2, ... } for the UL).
As to claim 26, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 19, wherein transmit, in downlink control information (DCI) associated with the DFT-s-OFDM waveform associated with the multiple DFT or the multiple IDFT, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of each BWP of the two or more BWPs, wherein the DCI comprises multiple DCI associated with multiple component carriers (CCs) associated with the two or more BWPs (Gunturu, page 4, paragraph 52; page 9, paragraph 102 & 106; i.e., [0052] the UE 202 for transmitting the response message via one of a downlink control information (DCI) format; [0102] the UE 202 may mandatorily support a cyclic prefix-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-O-FDM), and a discrete Fourier transformspread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM). [0106] a DFT-S-OFDM indication using a uplinkWaveformindication Parameter. A bitmap associated with the first custom waveform with each bit representing a subset for a value associated with the first custom waveform).
As to claim 31, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1. But Gunturu failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the capability indication indicates the support for the waveform with the different MCSs on the different BWPs of multiple BWPs that are supported simultaneously by the UE.
However, Chen teaches the limitation wherein the capability indication indicates the support for the waveform with the different MCSs on the different BWPs of multiple BWPs that are supported simultaneously by the UE (Chen, page 10, paragraph 80, 83-84; i.e., [0083] For example, a DFT-SOFDM waveform may not support higher MCSs. a Device RF BW (e.g., a RF chain bandwidth); [0084] In some examples, a network access device having a NW RF BW capability (i.e., a supported RF BW capability of the network access device) may communicate with a UE having a UE RF BW capability. The UE RF BW capability may be the same as, or different from, the NW RF BW capability. In some cases, one or both of the NW RF BW capability or a UE RF BW capability may support a same or different bandwidth as a CC BW. In some cases, an aggregated NW RF BW of the network access device may or may not match an aggregated UE RF BW of a UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Gunturu to substitute available system resource from Chen for radio resource from Gunturu to provide for more efficient use of the UE hardware implementation (Chen, page 1, paragraph 5).
Claim(s) 19, 29 & 30 is/are directed to a system and method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 19, 29 & 30 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 24 is/are directed to a system claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 9-10. Therefore, claim(s) 24 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 9-10.
Claim(s) 28 is/are directed to a system claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 18. Therefore, claim(s) 28 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 18.
Claim(s) 6, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunturu, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2022/0286325 A1 in view of Chen, US 2018/0235025 A1, and Zheng, US 2021/0345335 A1, and Lim, US 2010/0208687 A1, and further in view of Wang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. 2021/0058119 A1.
As to claim 6, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 5. But Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the two or more BWPs are associated with a same layer or different layers.
However, Wang teaches the limitation wherein the two or more BWPs are associated with a same layer or different layers (Wang, page 6, paragraph 90-94; page 11, paragraph 144; i.e., [0090] a quantity of layers is 1 (that is, one spatial stream); [0093] (2) Frequency Band [0094] System bandwidth (or carrier bandwidth) may be divided into a plurality of frequency bands; [00144] single spatial stream (for example, a data layer obtained through layer mapping) is sent in each frequency band in a single polarization direction.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim to substitute component vector from Wang for element structure from Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim to improve receiving quality of the spatial stream (Wang, page 1, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 21 is/are directed to a system claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 4. Therefore, claim(s) 21 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 4.
Claim(s) 22 is/are directed to a system claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 6. Therefore, claim(s) 22 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 6.
Claim(s) 3-4, 11-12, 15-16, 20, 25 & 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunturu, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2022/0286325 A1 in view of Chen, US 2018/0235025 A1, and Zheng, US 2021/0345335 A1, and Lim, US 2010/0208687 A1, and further in view of Yang, U.S. 2021/0068015 A1.
As to claim 3, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1. But Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the capability indication further indicates a respective frequency location associated with a respective BWP.
However, Yang teaches the limitation wherein the capability indication further indicates a respective frequency location associated with a respective BWP (Yang, page 2, paragraph 35; i.e., [0035] Bandwidth part (BWP): A cell served by the base station supports a large bandwidth (hereinafter referred to as the large bandwidth). Each BWP corresponds to a Numerology, a bandwidth, a frequency location (frequency location)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim to substitute CSI processing unit from Yang for single processing from Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim to utilization of the resources in the measurement process of the UE is reduced (Yang, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 4, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim-Yang teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 3, wherein the respective frequency location is based on one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) or one or more demodulation reference signals (DM-RS) (Gunturu, page 6, paragraph 67; i.e., [0067] a channel state information (CSI) feedback, a delay spread of a channel, a doppler spread/shift in the channel, and at least one other parameter derived from the channel information).
As to claim 11, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1. But Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim failed to teach the claim limitation wherein transmit a channel quality indicator (CQI), a pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI), or a rank indicator (RI) associated with each BWP of the two or more BWPs to the network entity.
However, Yang teaches the limitation wherein transmit a channel quality indicator (CQI), a pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI), or a rank indicator (RI) associated with each BWP of the two or more BWPs to the network entity (Yang, page 2, paragraph 31; i.e., [0031] CSI: namely channel state information. The CSI
may include at least one of a channel quality indicator (CQI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim to substitute CSI processing unit from Yang for single processing from Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim to utilization of the resources in the measurement process of the UE is reduced (Yang, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 12, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim-Yang teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 11. But Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receive channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) from the network entity based on the CQI, the PMI, or the RI associated with each BWP of the two or more BWPs.
However, Yang teaches the limitation wherein receive channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) from the network entity based on the CQI, the PMI, or the RI associated with each BWP of the two or more BWPs (Yang, page 2, paragraph 31; i.e., [0031] CSI: namely channel state information. The CSI
may include at least one of a channel quality indicator (CQI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim to substitute CSI processing unit from Yang for single processing from Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim to utilization of the resources in the measurement process of the UE is reduced (Yang, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 15, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1. But Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receive a deactivation associated with the multiple DFT or the multiple IDFT from the network entity, wherein the deactivation further indicates one BWP.
However, Yang teaches the limitation wherein receive a deactivation associated with the multiple DFT or the multiple IDFT from the network entity, wherein the deactivation further indicates one BWP (Yang, page 3, paragraph 50; i.e., [0050] the first signaling may be cell deactivation signaling or BWP switching signaling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim to substitute CSI processing unit from Yang for single processing from Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim to utilization of the resources in the measurement process of the UE is reduced (Yang, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 16, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim-Yang teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 15, wherein receive a second DFT-s-ODFM waveform associated with the one BWP from the network entity (Gunturu, page 9, paragraph 102 & 106; i.e., [0102] the UE 202 may mandatorily support a cyclic prefix-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-O-FDM), and a discrete Fourier transformspread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM). [0103] the UE 202 is capable to switch waveforms as indicated in the at least one VE-Capability Info element; [0106] a DFT-S-OFDM indication using a uplinkWaveformindication Parameter. A bitmap associated with the first custom waveform with each bit representing a subset for a value associated with the first custom waveform).
Claim(s) 20 is/are directed to a system claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim(s) 20 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 3.
Claim(s) 25 is/are directed to a system claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 12. Therefore, claim(s) 25 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 12.
Claim(s) 27 is/are directed to a system claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 16-17. Therefore, claim(s) 27 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 16-17.
Claim(s) 7-8, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunturu, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2022/0286325 A1 in view of Chen, US 2018/0235025 A1, and Zheng, US 2021/0345335 A1, and Lim, US 2010/0208687 A1, and further in view of Kim, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. 2011/0002322 A1.
As to claim 7, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the DFT-s-OFDM waveform associated with the multiple IDFT in each BWP of the two or more BWPs, and the at least one processor is further configured to:
perform a first IDFT on a first portion of the signal in a first BWP of the two or more BWPs to obtain a first bitstream (Gunturu, page 9, paragraph 102 & 106; i.e., [0102] the UE 202 may mandatorily support a cyclic prefix-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-O-FDM), and a discrete Fourier transformspread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM). [0106] a DFT-S-OFDM indication using a uplinkWaveformindication Parameter. A bitmap associated with the first custom waveform with each bit representing a subset for a value associated with the first custom waveform); and
perform a second IDFT on a second portion of the signal in a second BWP of the two or more BWPs to obtain a second bitstream (Gunturu, page 9, paragraph 102 & 106; i.e., [0102] the UE 202 may mandatorily support a cyclic prefix-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-O-FDM), and a discrete Fourier transformspread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM). [0103] the first custom waveform may be calculated from the list of waveforms amongst which the UE 202 is capable to switch waveforms as indicated in the at least one VE-Capability Info element; [0106] a DFT-S-OFDM indication using a uplinkWaveformindication Parameter. A bitmap associated with the first custom waveform with each bit representing a subset for a value associated with the first custom waveform).
But Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim failed to teach the claim limitation wherein demap portions of the DFT-s-OFDM waveform for each of the two or more BWPs to generate a signal.
However, Kim teaches the limitation wherein demap portions of the DFT-s-OFDM waveform for each of the two or more BWPs to generate a signal (Kim, page 5, paragraph 71; i.e., [0071] The processor 1440 uses the estimated channel to perform demapping).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim to substitute single carrier from Kim for sub-carriers spaces from Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim to support both a narrowband and a broadband (Kim, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 8, Gunturu-Chen-Zheng-Lim-Kim teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 7, the at least one processor is further configured to: use an output of a fast Fourier transform (FFT) as an input to the first IDFT and the second IDFT to receive a time domain waveform for each BWP of the two or more BWPs (Gunturu, page 9, paragraph 102; i.e., [0102] the UE 202 may mandatorily support a cyclic prefix-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-O-FDM), and a discrete Fourier transformspread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM)).
Claim(s) 23 is/are directed to a system claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 7-8. Therefore, claim(s) 23 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 7-8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-31has/have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant’s arguments include the failure of previously applied art to expressly disclose “each MCS of the different MCSs is based on a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) of a respective BWP of the different BWPs” (see Applicant’s response, 12/29/25, page 11-12). It is evident from the detailed mappings found in the above rejection(s) that Lim disclosed this functionality (see Lim, page 2, paragraph 16-17 & 21-22). Further, it is clear from the numerous teachings (previously and currently cited) that the provision for “each MCS of the different MCSs is based on a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) of a respective BWP of the different BWPs” was widely implemented in the networking art. Thus, Applicant’s arguments drawn toward distinction of the claimed invention and the prior art teachings on this point are not considered persuasive.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Akkarakaran, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20200412590 A1 discloses synchronization signals for the DFT-s-OFDM waveform and multiple carrier bandwidths.
Zhang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210135823 A1 discloses DFT-s-OFDM and multiple bandwidth or subband sets.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416