DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Per the prior art rejection: The claim limitation recites: “the oxygen-sensing assembly comprising: a housing having a flow pathway extending between an inlet end and an outlet end thereof, the inlet end configured to be attachable to a device transmitting bodily fluids from a patient;”. Examiner notes as currently recited, the ‘device’ is not positively recited and is not part of the oxygen-sensing assembly. The language recites that the inlet end is configured to be attachable to a device, this under BRI means that the inlet end must merely be capable of being attached to a device. The claim doesn’t require any specific attachment nor does it require direct contact. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a catheter can be attached to another catheter for transmitting bodily fluids, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a catheter can be attached to a syringe for transmitting bodily fluids. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a catheter, which has an inlet end, being attached to another structure at any other point on the catheter would still mean the inlet end is attached to that structure since it is part of the overall catheter. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the BRI of the claim language merely requires a housing that has an inlet end capable of being attached to a device that transmits bodily fluid from a patient. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection stands.
Response to Amendment
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-‘a device transmitting bodily fluids’ in claim 1 interpreted to be a catheter and equivalents thereof per the specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hunter (US 2017/0196478).
Regarding claim 1, Hunter teaches an assembly comprising an oxygen-sensing assembly (Abstract; Paragraph 0111), the oxygen-sensing assembly comprising:
a housing having a flow pathway extending between an inlet end and an outlet end thereof, the inlet end configured to be attachable to a device transmitting bodily fluids from a patient (Figure 3; Paragraph 0068; Examiner notes as currently recited, the ‘device’ is not positively recited and is not part of the oxygen-sensing assembly. The language recites that the inlet end is configured to be attachable to a device, this under BRI means that the inlet end must merely be capable of being attached to a device that transmits bodily fluid from a patient.); and
an oxygen sensor (Paragraphs 0018 and 0111) in operable communication with the flow pathway of the housing (chemical sensors can also be placed on and throughout; Figure 3; Paragraph 0068), the oxygen sensor configured to detect oxygen levels of a fluid flowing through the flow pathway (Paragraphs 0018 and 0111; Figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Hunter teaches wherein the inlet end of the housing is configured to be attached to a catheter (Figure 3; Paragraph 0068).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (US 2017/0196478) in view of Rhea, Jr. (US Patent No. 5916153).
Regarding claim 2, Hunter is silent on the sensor having a fiber-optic. Rhea teaches wherein the oxygen sensor comprises a fiber-optic sensor (Column 3, Lines 9-26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hunter with Rhea because it would only require the routine skill of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I. B.) in this case the oxygen sensor of Hunter with the fiber optic oxygen sensor of Rhea.
Regarding claim 14, Hunter is silent on the sensor having an excitation portion, sensing portion, and optical module. Rhea teaches wherein the oxygen sensor comprises: an excitation portion configured to generate light; a sensing portion configured to receive the generated light from the excitation portion; and an optical module that receives the light from the sensing portion. (Column 3, Lines 9-18; Figure 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hunter with Rhea because it would only require the routine skill of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I. B.) in this case the oxygen sensor of Hunter with the fiber optic oxygen sensor of Rhea.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (US 2017/0196478) in view of Luxon et al. (US 2016/0310711).
Regarding claim 13, Hunter is silent on the sensor being an electrochemical sensor. Luxon teaches wherein the oxygen sensor comprises an electrochemical sensor (Paragraph 0114). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hunter with Luxon because it would only require the routine skill of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I. B.) in this case the oxygen sensor of Hunter with the electrochemical oxygen sensor of Luxon.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (US 2017/0196478) in view of Rhea, Jr. (US Patent No. 5916153) and in further view of Elster et al. (US 2010/0182415).
Regarding claim 15, Hunter is silent on the analyzing of light to determine oxygen tension. Elster teaches further comprising a control system operably coupled to the sensing portion, the control system comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions thereon that (Paragraph 0029), when executed by at least one processor, cause the control system to:
receive the light from the sensing portion (Paragraphs 0019 and 0043);
analyze the light to determine a fluorescence; and based on the determined fluorescence (Paragraphs 0019 and 0043),
determine a measurement of oxygen tension of the fluid flowing through the flow pathway (Paragraphs 0019 and 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hunter with Elster because Elster teaches the use of fluorescence as being known in the art (Paragraph 0010 of Elster) and thus the modification would yield predictable results and it allows for easy identification of areas of interest (Paragraph 0014 of Elster).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (US 2017/0196478) in view of Rhea, Jr. (US Patent No. 5916153) and Elster et al. (US 2010/0182415) and in further view of Chin et al. (US 2005/0137459).
Regarding claim 16, Hunter is silent on the barrier member. Chin teaches further comprising a barrier member between the sensing portion and the excitation portion to prevent contact between the excitation portion and the fluid flowing through the flow pathway (Paragraph 0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hunter with Chin to prevent bodily fluids from contacting the light source (Paragraph 0025 of Chin).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (US 2017/0196478) in view of Rhea, Jr. (US Patent No. 5916153) and Elster et al. (US 2010/0182415) and in further view of Taboas et al. (US 2009/0215104).
Regarding claim 17, Hunter in view of Rhea and Elster is silent on the dye-impregnanted material. Taboas teaches wherein the sensing portion comprises a dye-impregnated material exhibiting a fluorescence based on an oxygen tension of a fluid to which it is exposed (Paragraphs 0033 and 0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hunter in view of Rhea and Elster with Taboas because it enables non-invasive monitoring of oxygen tension (Paragraph 0033 of Taboas).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (US 2017/0196478) in view of Westphal et al. (US Patent No. 5769087).
Regarding claim 18, Hunter is silent on the determination of temperature differences. Westphal further comprising a control system configured to determine a difference in a temperature of the fluid in a patient and a temperature of the fluid in the flow pathway (Column 10, Line 61-Column 11, Line 15; body temperature is temperature of fluid in the patient and is continuously monitored/displayed along with urine temperature thus constituting a comparison). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hunter with Westphal because it enables automation and continuous monitoring of the patient’s fluid levels (See description of Westphal).
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (US 2017/0196478) in view of Kumhyr (US 2008/0249388).
Regarding claim 22, Hunter is silent on the optical module. Kumhyr teaches further comprising a control system in operable communication with the oxygen-sensing assembly, the control system comprising:
an optical module coupled to the oxygen-sensing assembly (Paragraph 0021; Figure 3; optical fibers); and
a communication interface coupled to the optical module (Figure 3; transmitter 309).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hunter with Kumhyr because it allows for continuous, precise data detection (Paragraphs 0005-0010 of Kumhyr).
Regarding claim 23, Hunter is silent on the use of the oxygen, flowrate, and temperature to qualify the oxygen level with bladder/kidney/flowpath oxygen levels. Kumhyr teaches further comprising a control system (304) in operable communication with the oxygen sensor (Paragraphs 0021 and 0025), the control system comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (306) storing instructions thereon that, when executed by at least one processor (304; Paragraph 0025), cause the control system to:
based at least partially on at least one of a detected oxygen level of the fluid in the flow pathway, a detected flowrate of the fluid in the flow pathway, and a detected temperature of the fluid in the flow pathway, determine an oxygen level of the fluid in a bladder or a kidney of a patient (Paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hunter with Kumhyr because it allows for continuous, precise data detection (Paragraphs 0005-0010 of Kumhyr).
Regarding claim 24, Hunter is silent on the use of the oxygen, flowrate, and temperature to qualify the oxygen level with bladder/kidney/flowpath oxygen levels. Kumhyr teaches further comprising a control system (204) in operable communication with the oxygen sensor (Paragraphs 0021 and 0025), the control system comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (206) storing instructions thereon that, when executed by at least one processor (304; Paragraph 0025), cause the control system to:
based at least partially on at least one of a detected oxygen level of the fluid in the flow pathway, a detected flowrate of the fluid in the flow pathway, data from a flowrate sensor, and a detected temperature of the fluid in the flow pathway, qualify the at least one detected oxygen level to determine a relevance of the at least one detected oxygen level to one or more of a bladder oxygen tension, a kidney oxygen tension, and an oxygen level of the fluid in the flow pathway (Paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hunter with Kumhyr because it allows for continuous, precise data detection (Paragraphs 0005-0010 of Kumhyr).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 (and subsequently claims 4, 6, 11-12, and 19-21) are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791