Response to Amendment/Arguments
The Amendment filed 9/8/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-16 remain pending on the application.
Applicant argues that Makii does not teach the new claim limitation dry the liquid discharged onto the medium by transporting in claim 12. However, the previous grounds of rejection for claim 12 had already set forth that decreasing the transport velocity in this region would result in more liquid toner being removed by the drums, which constitutes some degree of drying. In addition, the slower velocity has the effect of allowing more time for evaporation. Therefore, the slower velocity would read on being configured to dry the discharged liquid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makii (JP 2005115268 A, provided in Applicant’s IDS of 5/19/2022, additional translation copy provided with the office action filed 5/15/2025 is used as the reference).
Regarding claim 12, Makii teaches A recording device comprising:
a liquid discharging head configured to discharge a liquid to a medium to perform recording (Fig. 1: developing unit 38);
a first transport region is provided downstream of the recording section in a transport path configured to transport the media (Fig. 1: path contacted by rollers 60 and 62).
an ultraviolet-light emitting portion provided in the first transport region and configured to emit ultraviolet light toward the medium (Fig. 1: UV lamp 28; pg. 8 par. 2: The ultraviolet lamps 28and 29 for performing the sterilization process may be provided between… or the convex cleaning roller 60 and the discharge roller pair. 68 may be provided); and
a control unit configured to control the ultraviolet-light emitting portion and configured to control the ultraviolet-light emitting portion so as to emit ultraviolet light to the medium that passes through the first transport region (Fig. 1: CPU 99; pg. 7 2nd last par.: A series of processing by the image forming apparatus 1 is controlled by a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 99 as control means. The CPU 99 adjusts the operation timing of each unit, and the processing is smoothly continued by each unit) but does not teach
the first transport region being configured to dry the liquid discharged onto the medium by transporting the media at a second media transport velocity that is reduced relative to a first media transport velocity that is used to transport the media before the media is sent to the first transport region,
wherein the ultraviolet-light emitting portion at an entrance of the first transport region that is downstream of the liquid discharging head.
Makii already teaches wherein the device is capable of controlling the speeds of individual portions of the device (pg. 7 2nd last par.: A series of processing by the image forming apparatus 1 is controlled by a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 99 as control means. The CPU 99 adjusts the operation timing of each unit, and the processing is smoothly continued by each unit) such that it is capable of adjusting the transport velocity of the media in the first transport section). This is especially since Makii teaches wherein the transport velocity in this section is particularly slower than the velocity of the rollers (pg. 7 par. 4: Therefore, the convex cleaning roller 60 is provided to electrostatically remove the toner. For example, when the toner has a negative potential, a bias voltage of +300 V is applied to the convex cleaning roller 60 and the opposing roller 62 is grounded. As a result, only the toner on the convex portion 10 of the sheet 2 is attracted to the convex cleaning roller 60. Note that a bias voltage within a range of about −500 V to +500 V is applied to the convex cleaning roller 60 according to the potential of the toner… In this example, the convex cleaning roller 60 is rotated counterclockwise in FIG. 1 so that the lower part in contact with the sheet 2 has the same direction as the conveyance direction of the sheet 2 and a higher speed).
Furthermore, a mere change in proportion, even if it leads to better results, holds no patentable significance:
MPEP 2144.05.II.A: Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."
especially if it can be shown that the change in proportions can be done by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization of a known result-effective variable (MPEP 2144.05.II.B: the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process).
In this case, the change in proportion is the change in the relative velocities of the media conveyance in different sections of the device. The result effective variable is the thoroughness of the removal of the toner in the first transport region; having a slower speed of conveyance would increase the effectiveness of the removal especially since the conveyance speed needs to be slower than the roller speed. The relative speed of the conveyance can therefore be adjusted until the optimal toner removal amount is achieved.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conveyance speed of the first transport region of Makii to be slower than the conveyance speed of an upstream region, with the reasonable expectation that the amount of toner removed can be optimized. Thus, this slower velocity has the effect of drying the liquid toner that has been discharged on the medium. In addition, the slower velocity would allow greater drying through a greater time allowed for evaporation.
Makii still does not teach wherein the ultraviolet-light emitting portion at an entrance of the first transport region that is downstream of the liquid discharging head.
However, in the absence of any teaching to the contrary, the location of the UV lamps does not affect operation since they would sterilize the medium anyway. Absent a showing of significance or unexpected results, the claimed locations of the components are prima facie obvious and do not modify the operation of the invention and further, do not add patentable significance. The Manual of Patent Examining Procedures discloses that in In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70(CCPA 1950), a mere rearrangement of parts for a design change has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
In this case, Makii teaches wherein the sterilization can be performed after the image on the medium is updated (pg. 4 par. 1: In the reusable media processing apparatus of the present invention, the image recorded on the reusable medium by the first processing means is erased or updated to another image, and the reusable media is sterilized by the second processing means; pg. 10 3rd last par.: In the above, the process of erasing the image recorded on the sheet 2 and the process of writing anew image on the sheet 2 after the image erasure are performed in the integrated image forming apparatus (housing 12). However, these processes may be performed by separate apparatuses, for example, a cleaning apparatus that erases an image and a printer apparatus that writes a new image. In that case, the sterilization process may be performed on either the cleaning device or the printer device) which means that there would be no difference in result from sterilizing the medium after updating the image versus before updating the image. Thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists to simply rearrange the UV lights.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UV lamps of Makii to be arranged downstream of its liquid discharging head, with the reasonable expectation that they would be just as capable of sterilizing the medium for repeated use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 3-11 and 13-16 are allowed.
Regarding claim 1, Makii teaches A recording device comprising:
a medium accommodation portion configured to accommodate a plurality of media (Fig. 1: paper feed cassette 18);
a feeding portion configured to send out the media from the medium accommodation portion (Fig. 1: sheet feeding roller 24;
a recording section configured to perform recording on the media sent out from the medium accommodation portion (Fig. 1: 32, 34, 36, 38, 42, 44);
an ultraviolet-light emitting portion provided at a position opposed to the medium accommodation portion (Fig. 1: ultraviolet lamp 28)
a control unit (pg. 7 2nd last par.: a CPU 99)
but does not teach and configured to emit ultraviolet light toward the media accommodated in the medium accommodation portion; and
wherein the control unit is configured to control the ultraviolet-light emitting portion to emit ultraviolet light to the media by utilizing a period before the feeding portion starts to feed the media.
Makii itself teaches wherein the location of its UV lamps may vary (pg. 8 par. 2: the ultraviolet lamps 28 and 29… are not limited thereto
Wasil teaches a currency bill sterilizing device (abstract: An ATM is configured to dispense both used currency bills that have been in public circulation and clean, new, uncirculated currency bills. The ATM provides users an option to receive the uncirculated currency bills in exchange for a clean cash surcharge fee). Wasil teaches an analogous system in that sheets are transported through a machine via rollers (Fig. 10) and UV light is used to sterilize the sheets (C26L63-C27L1: The exemplary embodiment further includes one or more cleaner/disinfecting devices generally indicated 146. In exemplary embodiments the cleaner/disinfecting devices may include one or more ultraviolet radiation emitting devices. Such a device may be used in an ultraviolet germicidal irradiation (UVGI) cleaning/disinfecting method). Wasil teaches wherein additional UV lights at other locations within the system may be included in order to have additional sterilization effect (C30L37-41: Further UV disinfecting devices and other devices 146 may be operated in various other locations in the machine to help assure that the bills which have been disinfected do not attract contaminants as they are moved from the belt recycler to the user). This provides the motivation to add UV light sources to the apparatus of Makii in other locations.
Yanke teaches a UV sterilization cash drawer (abstract: One preferred embodiment incorporates a slide able drawer within a cash box where currency is stored, taken, or added randomly over a period of time. Especially designed lamps allow for a rapid switching means to control the time period for activating or deactivating lamps, thus regulating UV exposure. Exposure time with UVC and the orientation of the UV lamps provides complete germicidal decontamination within seconds). Thus Yanke teaches a system analogous to the paper feed cassette of Makii, which is also a storage for sheets, and more broadly teaches an apparatus for processing sheets wherein UV sterilization is employed. In teaching a UV light source within the storage area of the sheets (par. 46: A further embodiment of the PCB Ultraviolet-C (UVC) lamp and circuit board is shown in FIG. 7. FIG. 7 Panel A shows a modular UVC lamp unit for assembly into a UV cash box. Two separate PCB lamp circuit board assemblies (65), each having two UV-C lamps are mounted on the circuit board), Yanke teaches a location for having UV lights to fulfill the motivation of Wasil.
Furthermore, the UV light sources are positioned on an inner top surface of the outer box, opposed to the inner container where the bills are stored (par. 10: In one embodiment, a cash drawer incorporates, in part, an outer casing configured to substantially enclose an inner volume, an inner container configured to receive a paper currency; par. 46: Once assembled the modular lamp component is quickly and easily installed with 4 screws (71) onto a support platform (72) on the inner top surface of the outer box). The UV light source is controlled to activate whenever the drawer is closed (par. 31: When the drawer is closed, a calculated dose of germicidal UVC energy is delivered automatically within the box, eliminating or significantly reducing the microbes). When applied to the device of Makii, this means that the UV light would activate whenever the paper feed cassette is attached, since the paper feed cassette is taught to be detachable (pg. 6 par. 4: A paper feed cassette 18 that supports the stacked sheets 2 is detachably mounted on the left wall of the housing). Consequently, unless the device of Makii is constantly recording, there would be a period of time before the feeding portion operates wherein the controller controls the UV light to irradiate on the sheets stored in the paper cassette feed, because the paper cassette feed must necessarily be attached before any feeding begins.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Makii to have a UV light source mounted on an inner top surface of its outer casing that is opposed to the paper feed cassette and to modify the controller to activate this UV light source whenever the cassette is attached, as taught by Wasil and Yanke, in order to have an additional sterilization source at a different location within the sheet processing machine, for additional sterilization effect.
Makii modified by Wasil and Yanke teaches the recording device according to claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein, when feeding the plurality of media, the control unit sets the ultraviolet-light emitting portion in an emitting state before starting to feed a first one of the media (see Wasil and Yanke modification in claim 1 rejection), but does not teach and then, keeps the emitting state at least until completion of feeding of a last one of the media.
Claims 3-11 and 14-16 are allowed as dependent on claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Modified Makii modified by Wasil and Yanke as applied to claim 8 above teaches a recording device comprising:
a medium accommodation portion configured to accommodate a plurality of media (Fig. 1: paper feed cassette 18);
a recording section configured to perform recording on a medium (Fig. 1: 32, 34, 36, 38, 42, 44);
a switch-back path disposed downstream of the recording section in a transport path configured to transport the medium, the switch-back path being configured to perform switch-back transport of the medium (Fig. 1: path between roller 60 and roller 68 is interpreted as a switch-back path because it is responsible for the paper switching directions when discharged);
an ultraviolet-light emitting portion disposed at an entrance to the switch-back path and configured to emit ultraviolet light toward the medium (Fig. 1: UV lamp 28; pg. 8 par. 2: The ultraviolet lamps 28 and 29 for performing the sterilization process may be provided between… or the convex cleaning roller 60 and the discharge roller pair. 68 may be provided); and
a control unit configured to control the ultraviolet-light emitting portion, the control unit being configured to control the ultraviolet-light emitting portion so as to emit ultraviolet light to the medium when the medium enters the switch-back path (Fig. 1: CPU 99; pg. 6 2nd last par.: By these ultraviolet lamps 28 and 29, sterilization treatment is performed in which ultraviolet rays are irradiated from above and below the sheet 2; NOTE: the UV lamps must necessarily be controlled to be active at least shortly after the time that the media enters the path in order to perform sterilization on the media) and when the medium exits the switch-back path (see routine optimization modification in claim 8 rejection)
wherein the control unit is configured to control the ultraviolet-light emitting portion, (Fig. 1: CPU 99; pg. 6 2nd last par.: By these ultraviolet lamps 28 and 29, sterilization treatment is performed in which ultraviolet rays are irradiated from above and below the sheet 2).
but does not teach
a stack height detector configured to detect a stack height of the media in the medium accommodation portion
and is configured to, when the stack height is a first height, cause a period, in which the ultraviolet- light emitting portion emits ultraviolet light to the medium, to be shorter than when the stack height is a second height that is lower than the first height.
Teoh (US 20200238734 A1) teaches a stack height detector (abstract: The present subject matter describes determination of amount of print media present in an input tray of a printing system). Teoh teaches a stack height detector for the purpose of informing the other operations of the printer, such as where the feeding mechanism needs to be positioned (par. 9: the amount of print media present in the input tray is generally detected by sensors, for example, opto-interrupter sensors or reflectance sensors positioned in the input tray. The sensors may detect a height of a stack of the print media and provide information of the sensed height to a control unit of the printing system. The control unit based on the information of the sensed height may determine the amount of print media present in the input tray. The control unit may also regulate operation of the motor that drives the pick arm based on the determined amount of print media present in the input tray. The determined amount of print media may also be used by the control unit for sequencing or scheduling different operations of the printing system, such as pick, feed, and discharge of print media).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Makii modified by Wasil and Yanke to have a stack height detector for its paper feed cassette, as taught by Teoh, in order to inform other operations of the printer such as where the feeding device needs to be positioned).
However, Makii modified by Wasil, Yanke, and Teoh still does not teach
the control unit is configured to, when the stack height is a first height, cause a period, in which the second ultraviolet-light emitting portion emits ultraviolet light to the media, to be shorter than when the stack height is a second height that is lower than the first height.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799