Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on Page 8, Para. 2-3 in the response filed 7/2/2026 on have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Wurman does not disclose that the control device is “programmed” to determine if second moving position of the first carrier is already reserved by a second carrier. Applicant states that the art cites to an “availability” of various moving positions.
As mentioned in the previous rejection, the control device is “programmed” to control the drive device, as claimed.
The drive device 120 is effectively programmed to move the mobile drive unit 20, as it operates under the control module 170 executing instructions received from the management module 15. In Wurman, the “control device” is the management module (15)(Fig. 2) in combination of the control module (170)(Fig. 3B). The management module 15 runs on a processor 90 that executes stored instructions, and a memory that stored those instructions and the reservation information (Para. 0054-0055)(See Fig. 2).
In other words, Wurman’s controller is a computer running software that decides which positions are available and reserves them for the carriers (mobile drive units 20). A controller that is implemented as software instructions executed by a processor and stored in memory is a controller that is “programmed to” perform those determinations and reservations as recited in the claims.
Wurman does not merely determine whether or not moving positions are available. Wurman determines whether the moving positions are actually reserved and reserves the segment (17).
In Wurman, the mobile drive unit (20) attempts to reserve a segment (17) or other portion of a path (16) to move holders (30) in a workspace 70 (Para. 0088). To reserve a segment (17), the reservation module 96 determines whether the requested segment (17) includes cells that are already reserved by another drive unit (0092). If so, the reservation module 96 may refuse the reservation requested by the mobile drive unit (20)(Para. 0092). Otherwise, the segment reservation module 96 reserves the requested segment (17)(Para. 0098). Thus, Wurman’s reservation module 96 both determines whether moving positions are already reserved and reserves segments accordingly.
Wurman also discloses that the system is programmed to reserve side and front moving positions that are adjacent to its planned second moving position as claimed. Wurman discloses the reservation for a mobile drive unit (20) may include neighboring cells 14 that are adjacent to the cells through which the path 16 runs (Para. 0094). If the second moving position along a requested path includes a cell 14 along the path segment (16), then the cells to the front or side of the cell, that are adjacent to the cell through which the path 16 runs, may also be reserved (Para. 0094).
The claims do not recite that the control device “reserves adjacent cells in every possible case”. It just requires that the control device is programmed to reserve front and side positions adjacent to the second moving position.
Applicant's arguments filed on Page 9, Para. 2 in the response filed 7/2/2026 on have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Wurman recites reserving “any position”.
Wurman does not disclose reserving “any position”, but discloses that the mobile drive units 20 reserve specific path segments 17 to a location, based on input from the path planning module 94 (Para. 0087). Paths 16 are generated by the route planning module for the mobile drive unit 20 to move from it’s current location to a requested destination (Para. 0086). Wurman reserves a path segment 17 that may include cells 14 that are adjacent to the cells through which the path 16 runs and through which the mobile drive unit moves (Para. 0094). These adjacent cells 14 include cells that are immediately in front of and to the side of a planned second moving position for the mobile drive unit (Para. 0094).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the system in Wurman is reserving a segment 17 that is made up of both the along-path cell 14 (the second moving position) and the front or side adjacent cells 14, which are themselves moving positions.
Applicant's arguments filed on Page 9, Para. 4 in the response filed 7/2/2026 on have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the Wurman does not teach or suggest reserved front and side reserved moving positions, but speaks in general terms.
As mentioned above, the system is programmed to reserve side and front moving positions that are adjacent to cells along a path 16 through which the mobile drive unit 20 moves (Para. 0094). Wurman discloses the reservation for a mobile drive unit (20) may include neighboring cells 14 that are adjacent to the cells through which the path 16 runs and through the mobile drive unit 20 moves (Para. 0094).
Applicant's arguments filed on Page 9, Para. 4 in the response filed 7/2/2026 on have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the Wurman does not disclose that the control device “determines”, “plans”, or “is programmed” as explicitly recited.
Examiner maintains that the control device “determines”, “plans”, and “is programmed” to perform the functions recited in the claims.
As discussed above, Wurman’s management module 15 (including the route planning module 94 and the reservation module 96) plans paths 16 for the mobile drive units 20 before movement, (Para. 0087; 0091; 0098), and is programmed to determine which cells 14 are already reserved in a requested path segment 17 (that is requested by the mobile drive unit), and reserves cells 14 adjacent to cells of the planned moving positions.
The adjacent cells 14 neighboring a path 16 that can be reserved include cells that are immediately in front of and to the side of its planned second moving position (Para. 0094).
Applicant's arguments filed on Page 10, Para. 4 in the response filed 7/2/2026 on have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Wurman is non-analogous art, and that the Examiner stated that the art was “totally unrelated”.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that Wurman is non-analogous art, Examiner stated in the interview that the present application includes transporting laboratory containers on a laboratory distribution system (See Applicant’s specification, Para. 0002). Wurman does not expressly disclose transporting laboratory containers on a laboratory distribution system. However, the present claims do not recite moving laboratory containers on a laboratory distribution system.
In that discussion, Examiner was attempting to point to distinguishing features of the present invention as compared to the cited prior art to assist the Applicant with potential amendments.
Examiner also notes that the present application drawn to a method for moving carriers also applies to transporting payloads such as goods in a warehouse, products to be manufactured, or other objects on a transport plane, and not just transporting laboratory containers on a laboratory distribution system (see “Technical Field” of Applicant’s Specification, Para. 0002).
Please see the updated rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In line 24, “the control device comprising” is unclear. Does Applicant mean,
“b) the control device determines, for each carrier, determined reserved moving positions adjacent to its planned second moving position, including:
at least one determined reserved moving position which is adjacent to and located immediately in front of its planned second moving position with respect to the direction of its planned move, ..”?
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wurman et al (US PG. Pub. 2007/0290040). Relative to claims 1, 3-4, Wurman discloses:
claim 1) a method for a distribution system (10) to move carriers (20)(Fig. 1) on a transport plane (see grid of workspace, 70)(Fig. 1), the distribution system comprises at least one first carrier (20)(Fig. 1) and at least one second carrier (20) each adapted to carry a good (Para. 0029),
the transport plane comprising a number of moving positions (14)(Fig. 1) at which each carrier (20) can start to move, move, stop, wait, and/or change its moving direction (Para. 0042),
a drive device (120)(Fig. 3A) is programmed to move, and moving, each carrier (20) to the moving positions (Para. 0065), and
a control device (15, 170)(Fig. 2, 3A) programmed to control, and controlling, the drive device (120)(management module 15 executes instructions on processor and memory to select components, determine paths, reserve segments, assign and control the mobile drive units 20, Para. 0030; 0054-0056; See also Para. 0072, the control module 170 receives commands transmitted to the mobile drive unit 20 from the management module 15, “the control module 170 is programmed to provide the described functionality”), the method comprises the following steps:
a) the control device (15) plans for each carrier (20) a move from a first moving position (current location) to a planned second moving position (Para. 0087), and the control device (15) determines for each carrier (20) determined reserved moving positions (14) adjacent to its planned second moving position (reservation module 96 reserves a requested path segment 17 for a requesting mobile drive unit 20 to travel, Para. 0098, each reserved path segment 17 includes starting and ending coordinates of that segment 17 (Para. 0091), path segments 17 identify cells 14 along a path 16 on the grid through which the mobile drive unit moves, see Fig. 5, Para. 0086; 0088; in addition to cells 14 in a path 16 the mobile drive unit is to use, cells adjacent to path 16 may also be reserved, Para. 0094, for instance, for a path 16 in Fig. 5, along segment 17a, any neighboring cells to along the path 16 may also be reserved, these neighboring cells may include cells to the front of a cell through which the path 16 runs, or a cell to the side of the cells in the path 16, See Fig. 5);
the control device (15) is programmed to determine, and determines adjacent reserved moving positions (moving positions includes a path segment 17, which may include cells 14 neighboring or adjacent to a designated path 16; Para. 0094) for each carrier (20) comprising:
at least one determined reserved moving position which is adjacent to and located immediately in front of its planned second moving position with respect to its planned move (Para. 0094, reserved path segments 17 include cells 14 along portions of a path 16 towards a designated location, Para. 0087, the requested/reserved path segment can include cells 14 that are adjacent to cells through which the path 16 runs; Para. 0094, that is any adjacent cells 14 that neighbor a planned path 16 may be reserved, the cells are the moving positions), and
the control device (15) determining at least one determined reserved moving position which is adjacent to and located immediately to one side of its planned second moving position with respect to the direction of its planned move (Para. 0094);
b) the control device (15) is further programmed to determine, and the control device determines, if the planned second moving position of the at least one first carrier (20) is located on a determined reserved moving position of the at least one second carrier (Para. 0092);
c) in response to determining that the planned second moving position of the at least one first carrier (20)(Fig. 1) is located on a determined reserved moving position of the at least one second carrier (20), the control device (See Ref. 15) is programmed to plan, and the control device plans (Para. 0087), for the at least one first carrier (20) a new move to a new second moving position which is not located on a determined reserved moving position of the at least one second carrier (20)(new paths 16 and/or adjusted path segments 17 can be requested and reserved; Para. 0097; 0107); and
d) the control device (15)(Fig. 2) is programmed to control, and the control device (15, 170) controls, the drive device (120) to move the at least one first carrier (20) to its planned new second moving position and to move the at least one second carrier (20) to its planned second moving position (Para. 0097).
Relative to claim 11 (as understood by the Examiner), the disclosure of Wurman includes:
A method for a distribution system (10)(Fig. 1) to move carriers (20) on a transport plane (Fig. 1), the distribution system comprises:
at least one first carrier (20) and at least one second carrier (20) each adapted to carry a good (Para. 0029),
a transport plane (grid of workspace) comprising a number of moving positions (14) at which each carrier (20) can start to move, move, stop, wait, and/or change its moving direction (Para. 0042),
a drive device (120)(Fig. 3A) programmed to move each carrier to the moving positions (Para. 0065), and
a control device (see Ref. 15, 170) programmed to control the drive device (120), the control device being programmed:
i) to plan for each carrier (20) a move from a first moving position to a planned second moving position (Para. 0087),
ii) to determine for each carrier (20) determined reserved moving positions adjacent to its planned second moving position (Para. 0094),
iii) to determine if the planned second moving position of the at least one first carrier is located on a determined reserved moving position of the at least one second carrier (Para. 0092, system determines whether requested segment 17 is reserved by another mobile drive unit 20), and
iv) in response to determining that the planned second moving position of the first carrier (20) is located on a determined reserved moving position of the at least one second carrier (20), planning for the at least one first carrier (20) a new move to a new second moving position (Para. 0097, new path may be requested or a requested path segment may be adjusted and reserved);
the method comprises the following steps:
a) the control device (15) plans for each carrier (20) a move from a first moving position to a planned second moving position (Para. 0087),
b) the control device (15) determines, for each carrier (20), determined reserved moving positions adjacent to its planned second moving position (Para. 0094, reservation module may reserve neighboring cells along the path through which the mobile drive unit travels), the control device comprising:
at least one determined reserved moving position which is adjacent to and located immediately in front of its planned second moving position with respect to the direction of its planned move (Para. 0094), and
at least one determined reserved moving position which is adjacent to and located immediately to one side of its planned second moving position with respect to the direction of its planned move (Para. 0094; 0113);
c) the control device (included with Ref. 15) determines if the planned second moving position of the at least one first carrier (20) is located on a determined reserved moving position of the at least one second carrier (20)(Para. 0092);
d) in response to determining that the planned second moving position of the at least one first carrier (20) is located on a determined reserved moving position of the at least one second carrier (20), the control device (15) plans for the at least one first carrier (20) a new move to a new second moving position which is not located on a determined reserved moving position of the at least one second carrier (Para. 0097; 0107); and
e) the control device (15, 170) controls the drive device (120) to move the at least one first carrier (20) to its planned new second moving position and to move the at least one second carrier (20) to its planned second moving position (Para. 0097; 0064).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurman et al (US PG. Pub. 2007/0290040). Relative to claims 3-4, Wurman discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, including:
claim 3) in step c) the planning of the new move to a new second moving position comprises extending the planned move (Para. 0115 Para. 0210; 0048; 0133); and
claim 4) the planned move is extended by extending the planned move in the same direction of the planned move or in a direction perpendicular to the direction of the planned move (Para. 115: the reservation module 96 may request one or more cells beyond that included in the requested segment 17, that extend in the direction that the requesting mobile drive unit is traveling).
Wurman does not expressly disclose:
claim 3) in step c) the planning of the new move to a new second moving position comprises shortening the planned move.
Wurman teaches planning of the new move comprises shortening the planned move as an obvious matter of design choice based on current conditions of the workspace to improve operational efficiency and reduce collisions between mobile drive units (Para. 0110; 0208).
Wurman teaches the segment reservation module 96 modifying the requested segment to reserve a different portion of the workspace to account for potential uncertainties, collisions, errors and other circumstances as appropriate (Para. 0015; 0110). Wurman also teaches selecting or modifying paths to a destination that minimizes costs in terms of time, space and other resources (Para. 0209).
Therefore, Wurman can be modified so that the new second moving position comprises shortening the planned move in order to minimize costs in terms of time, space and other resources, and/or to account for uncertainties, potential collisions, errors and other circumstances as appropriate in the workspace.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would know to modify a path to a decrease or minimize a travelling distance for the mobile drive unit improves efficiency and minimizes costs of the system. Moreover, if a requested segment is unavailable, it is obvious that the path can be shortened to avoid a collision, to make way for a mobile drive unit that has a higher priority in the same or nearby group of cells or path segment, or any other factors to provide an optimal path for the drive unit 20 (See Fig. 5)(Para. 0209-0210; 0048; 0133). See MPEP §2144.01, §2144.03, §2144.05 (II) - Routine Optimization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wurman to provide a new path that is shorter than the planned move minimize costs, avoids collisions, to make way for a carrier that has a higher priority, or any other factors resulting in an optimal path.
Relative to claims 9-10, Wurman discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, including:
claim 9) the transport plane (workspace 70 grid) comprises a first area comprising a number of moving positions (14), the distribution system (10) further comprises a carrier detection system (inherently included but not shown) configured to detect carriers (20) in the first area (first area may include any portion of workspace), to determine the number of the detected carriers (20) in the first area (system, 15, knows current congestion level in an area, task assignments for mobile drive units, 20, and positions of mobile drive units 20 in an area based on communicated information, Para. 0047-0048), and to send a value of the determined number of detected carriers (20) in the first area to the control device (15)(Para. 0047-0048); and
prior to step b) the control device (15) receives the value of the determined number of detected carriers (20) in the first area (Para. 0030; 0047-0048); and
claim 10) the transport plane (workspace 70 grid) comprises a first area and a second area each comprising a number of moving positions (see any two areas in workspace comprising a number of cells 14), the distribution system (10) further comprises a carrier detection system (inherently included) configured to detect carriers (20) in the first area or in the first area and in the second area (Para. 0048), to determine the number of the detected carriers (20) in the first area, and to send a value of the determined number of detected carriers (20) in the first area to the control device (15)(Para. 0048, 0090; 0193) and
prior to step b) the control device (15) receives the value of the determined number of detected carriers (20) in the first area (see Para. 0048, 0047, 0030; system 15 uses collected data, including states of mobile drive units 20 to determine congestion levels in areas of the workspace and other information regarding the mobile drive units).
Wurman does not expressly disclose:
prior to step b) the control device calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are occupied by detected carriers based on the received value,
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers detected in the first area if the calculated percentage of moving positions which are occupied by detected carriers is above a predefined threshold; or
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the second area or for carriers detected in the second area if the calculated percentage of moving positions which are occupied by detected carriers in the first area is above a predefined threshold.
Wurman teaches: the control device calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are occupied by detected carriers based on the received value, and executes steps b) to d) for carriers (20) if the calculated percentage of moving positions which are occupied by detected carriers is above a predefined threshold; and
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers (20) for which a second moving position was planned in the second area, or for carriers (20) detected in the second area (see any area in workspace 70) if the calculated percentage of moving positions which are occupied by detected carriers (20) in the first area is above a predefined threshold as an obvious matter of design choice based on the user’s preference.
Wurman considers the current congestion level which includes the value the determined number of detected carriers in a first or second area and chooses an optimal path based on the information (Para. 0030; 0048; 0107).
The percentage of moving positions of the first or second area in the workspace can be easily determined by the system 15 based on the current congestion level in an area (Para. 0048). This information can be used by the system 15 to assign paths for carriers (20) if the calculated percentage of available spaces 14 is above a predefined threshold in order to minimize costs associated with traversing a path segment, reduce collisions, and improve operational efficiency (Para. 0107). See MPEP §2144.01, §2144.03
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify the system of Wurman with calculating the percentage of moving positions of the first or second area in the workspace, and assigning paths for carriers if the percentage of available spaces is above a predefined threshold in order to minimize costs associated with traversing a path segment, reduce collisions, and improve operational efficiency.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurman as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Liu (US PG. Pub. 2021/0078175). Relative to claims 5-6, Wurman in view of Liu discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
claim 5) in step a) the control device further plans for the at least one first carrier a subsequent move from its planned second moving position to a third moving position, and
in step c) the planning of the new move to a new second moving position comprises minimizing the number of moving positions located between the new second moving position and the planned third moving position; or
claim 6) in step c) the planning of the new move to a new second moving position further comprises determining for the at least one first carrier, new reserved moving positions adjacent to its planned new second moving position, and maximizing an overlap of the new determined reserved moving positions of the at least one first carrier with the determined reserved moving positions of the at least one second carrier.
Liu teaches:
claim 5) in step a) the control device (120)(Fig. 1) further plans for the at least one first carrier (110) a subsequent move from its planned second moving position to a third moving position (path reserved for robot changes based on information Para. 0076-0077; 0093); and
in step c) the planning of the new move to a new second moving position comprises minimizing the number of moving positions located between the new second moving position and the planned third moving position (Para. 0042, path segments are planned based on shortest path); and
claim 6) in step c) the planning of the new move to a new second moving position further comprises determining for the at least one first carrier (110), new reserved moving positions (cells in segment) adjacent to its planned new second moving position, and
maximizing an overlap of the new determined reserved moving positions of the at least one first carrier (110) with the determined reserved moving positions of the at least one second carrier (110)(Para. 0061).
Liu teaches the control device planning for the carrier a subsequent move from its planned second moving position to a third moving position, minimizing the number of moving positions, determining new reserved moving positions adjacent to its planned new second moving position, and maximizing an overlap of the new determined reserved moving positions of the at least one first carrier as claimed for the purpose of providing a method for routing a picking robot along a path that prevents robot deadlock and improves overall efficiency (Para. 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify the system of Wurman with the: planning for the carrier a subsequent move from its planned second moving position to a third moving position, minimizing the number of moving positions, and maximizing an overlap of the new determined reserved moving positions as taught in Liu for the purpose of providing a method for routing a picking robot along a path that prevents robot deadlock and improves overall efficiency (Para. 0018).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurman as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Aggarwal (US Patent No. 11,126,944). Relative to claims 7-8, Wurman discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, including: the transport plane (workspace grid) comprises a first area comprising a number of moving positions (Fig. 1, 5)(Para. 0042), the transport plane (workspace grid) comprises a first area and a second area each comprising a number of moving positions (areas may include any groups of cells 14 in workspace)(Fig. 1, 5)(Para. 0042).
Wurman does not expressly disclose:
claim 7) in step a) the control device further calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions,
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the first area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold; or
claim 8) in step a) the control device further calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions,
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the second area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold.
Aggarwal teaches:
claim 7) in step a) the control device (102)(Col. 9, lines 53-56) further calculates density values for volume of a grid, which indicates a number of MDU’s currently within an area associated with the given volume, (Col. 19, lines 10-20); congestion of MDU’s within a sub-area of the workspace - which includes moving spaces within the sub-area-(Col. 10, lines 55-65), restricted spaces of the workspace (Col. 4, lines 49-52); obstacles within the workspace, (Col. 3, lines 50-65); and reserved spaces, (Col. 29, lines 15-25);
the control device (102) executes steps b) to d) for carriers (104) for which a second moving position was planned in the first area if the density of moving positions is above a predefined threshold, (path may be modified based on congestion or density level being too high, Col. 11, lines 30-43); and
claim 8) in step a) the control device (102) further calculates a density values of MDU’s for volume of a grid, congestion of MDU’s within a sub-area of the workspace, restricted and reserved spaces (Col. 9, lines 53-56; Col. 19, lines 10-20; Col. 10, lines 55-65; Col. 29, lines 15-25).
the control device (102) executes steps b) to d) for carriers (104) for which a second moving position was planned in the second area if the if the density of moving positions is above a predefined threshold (path may be modified based on density and congestion levels, Col. 4, lines 5-8; Col. 11, lines 324-35).
Aggarwal teaches the: calculating density values for a volume of a grid, congestion of MDU’s within a sub-area of the workspace; and planning a new second moving position, and moving the drive device to the new second moving position as described above, for the purpose of providing a system and method for detecting obstacles within a workspace of an inventory system that is more efficient and minimizes delays (Col. 7, lines 45-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify the system of Wurman with the calculating density values for a volume of a grid, congestion of MDU’s within a sub-area of the workspace; and planning a new second moving position, and moving the drive device to the new second moving position as described above, as taught in Aggarwal for the purpose of providing a system and method for detecting obstacles within a workspace of an inventory system that is more efficient and minimizes delays.
Relative to claims 7-8, Wurman in view of Aggarwal, while does not expressly disclose: claim 7) in step a) the control device further calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions,
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the first area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold; and
claim 8) in step a) the control device further calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions,
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the second area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold.
Wurman in view of Aggarwal teaches: the control device further calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions, the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the first area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold; and
the control device further calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions, and the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the second area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold described above as an obvious matter of design choice.
A percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions can be determined based on the density values indicating a number of MDU’s currently within an area, including future density values, congestion of MDU’s within (or will be within) a sub-area of the workspace. The areas within a grid corresponding to a density or number of MDU’s within a volume or that will be within a volume, congestion levels in an area, constitute moving positions within the area of the grid. For instance, if a number of moving spaces or spaces in within an area of the grid is known, and the number of MDU’s or density within a volume of the grid (or that will be within a volume), current and future congestion levels, etc., in the same area of the grid is known, the percentage of moving positions which are planned second moving positions can also be calculated. MPEP §2144.01, §2144.03
Accordingly, since the control device executes the steps b) to d) if the density values, congestion level, etc., is too high, and since the system is capable of determining the percentages of the moving spaces within the first and second area, as well as the number of second moving positions above, then the control device can execute steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the first area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold. MPEP §2144.01, §2144.03
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wurman in view of Aggarwal, so that the control device calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area that are planned second moving positions, and executes steps b) to d) for carriers if the calculated percentage of moving positions in a first or second area is above a predefined threshold as a matter of design choice based on the known density values in the area (or that will be in the area), congestion levels representing locations of MDU’s in a given area (or that will be in a given area), reserved positions in the area, etc., are known.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651