DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 9, 2025 on Page 7 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Wurman does not disclose the drive device is programmed to move each carrier to the moving positions, or the control device is programmed to determine with the second moving position of a first carrier is already reserved, and if so, the control device plans the second move for the first carrier.
First, Applicant’s arguments that Wurman does not disclose that the control device is “programmed to” to perform actions is not persuasive.
Management module 15 includes a processor, memory, resource scheduling module, route planning module, segment reservation module, and communication interface module (Fig. 2). The processor 90 is operable to execute instructions associated with the functionality provided by the management module 15, and may comprise general purpose computers, dedicated microprocessors, and other processing devices capable of communicating electronic information (Para. 0054). Memory 91 stores processor instructions, inventory requests, reservation information, state information for the various components of inventory system 10 and/or any other appropriate values, parameters, or information utilized by management module 15 during operation (Para. 0055). To control the movement of the carriers 20 based on information, the processor (90) communicates with the mobile drive units 20 (carriers) using any combination of hardware and software (Para. 0054).
These instructions executed by the processor 90 serve to, based on information such as: inventory requests, reservation information, state information for the various components of inventory system 10 and/or any other appropriate values, parameters, or information utilized by management module 15; the knowledge of current congestion, historical traffic trends, task prioritization, and/or other appropriate considerations, select an optimal path for the requesting mobile drive unit to take in getting to the destination (Para. 0048). The instructions also execute the controlling of the drive device (120) connected to the mobile drive unit (20) and the moving of the mobile drive unit (20) accordingly. That is, the management module (15) provides a specific set of instructions to control and move the mobile drive units 20 based on the specific needs of the system. The instructions executed by the processor 90 corresponds to the management module 15 being programed to perform the various claimed functions, including: determining reserved moving positions, determining if the planned moving position is located on a determined reserved moving position of another carrier, controlling the drive device, etc. Similarly, the control module (170) or “drive device”, of the mobile drive unit (20), which monitors and controls the operation of the drive module 120, also receives commands and communicates information back to the management module 15. The control module 170 includes hardware and software located in components, and includes a general-purpose microprocessor programmed to provide the described functionality (Para. 0072). The drive device 120 propels, or moves the mobile drive unit 20. The management module 15 transmits instructions to each mobile drive unit 20, and the carrier includes a control module 170 to control the drive device 120 of the carrier in accordance with the received instructions.
Therefore, the drive device 120 is effectively programmed to move the mobile drive unit 20, as it operates under the control module 170 executing instructions received from the management module 15.
Applicant’s arguments on Page 7, Para. 3 regarding the cited portions of Wurman point to the “availability” of various moving positions as the positions being reserved as claimed.
Wurman expressly discloses that the segment reservation module 96 determines whether another mobile drive unit 20 has already reserved a requested segment 17 when considering a reservation request initiated by a mobile drive unit 20 (Para. 0092). That is, when a mobile drive unit 20 is requesting a segment 17 for reservation to provide a path to travel, the segment reservation module 96 determines if the segment 17 has already been reserved by another mobile robot 20. If the segment 17 is already reserved by another mobile robot 20, then the segment reservation module 96 may refuse that segment for the requesting mobile robot 20. The reservation module 96 also allows the mobile drive units 20 to request cells adjacent to cells 14 of the requested path segment 17 through which the path 16 runs (Para. 0094).
Please see the revised rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurman et al (US PG. Pub. 2007/0290040). Relative to claims 1, 3-4, Wurman discloses all claim limitation above, including:
claim 1) a method for a distribution system (10) to move carriers (20)(Fig. 1) on a transport plane (see grid of workspace, 70)(Fig. 1), the distribution system comprises at least one first carrier (20) and at least one second carrier (20) each adapted to carry a good (Para. 0029),
the transport plane comprising a number of moving positions (14)(Fig. 1) at which each carrier (20) can start to move, move, stop, wait, and/or change its moving direction (Para. 0042),
a drive device (120) is programmed to move each carrier (20) to the moving positions, and
a control device (15, 170) programmed to control the drive device (Para. 0030), the method comprises the following steps:
a) the control device (15) plans for each carrier (20) a move from a first moving position to a planned second moving position (Para. 0087), and the control device (15) determines for each carrier (20) determined reserved moving positions (14) adjacent to its planned second moving position (Para. 0088; 0094, Fig. 5, each segment may include a start location and an ending location and includes any and all cells to be included in the segment; for instance, in Fig. 5, cell next to destination 17e are included in the segment);
the control device (15) is programmed to determine reserved moving positions for each carrier (20) comprising:
at least one determined reserved moving position which is adjacent to and located immediately in front of its planned second moving position (Para. 0094, cells can be reserved that are adjacent to cells through which the path 16 runs), and
at least one determined reserved moving position which is adjacent to and located immediately to one side of its planned second moving position with respect to the direction of its planned move (Para. 0094);
b) the control device (15) is further programmed to determine if the planned second moving position of the at least one first carrier (20) is located on a determined reserved moving position of the at least one second carrier (Para. 0092);
c) in response to determining that the planned second moving position of the at least one first carrier (20) is located on a determined reserved moving position of the at least one second carrier (20), the control device (15) is programmed to plan for the at least one first carrier (20) a new move to a new second moving position which is not located on a determined reserved moving position of the at least one second carrier (20)(Para. 0097, 0107, path may be modified); and
d) the control device (15) is programmed to control the drive device (120) to move the at least one first carrier (20) to its planned new second moving position and to move the at least one second carrier (20) to its planned second moving position (Para. 0097);
claim 3) in step c) the planning of the new move to a new second moving position comprises extending the planned move (Para. 0115 Para. 0210; 0048; 0133); and
claim 4) the planned move is extended by extending the planned move in the same direction of the planned move or in a direction perpendicular to the direction of the planned move (Para. 115: the reservation module 96 may request one or more cells beyond that included in the requested segment 17, that extend in the direction that the requesting mobile drive unit is traveling).
Wurman does not expressly disclose:
claim 3) in step c) the planning of the new move to a new second moving position comprises shortening the planned move.
Wurman teaches planning of the new move comprises shortening the planned move as an obvious matter of design choice based on current conditions of the workspace to improve operational efficiency and reduce collisions between mobile drive units (Para. 0110; 0208).
Wurman teaches the segment reservation module 96 modifying the requested segment to reserve a different portion of the workspace to account for potential uncertainties, collisions, errors and other circumstances as appropriate (Para. 0015; 0110). Wurman also teaches selecting or modifying paths to a destination that minimizes costs in terms of time, space and other resources (Para. 0209).
Therefore, Wurman can be modified so that the new second moving position comprises shortening the planned move in order to minimize costs in terms of time, space and other resources, and/or to account for uncertainties, potential collisions, errors and other circumstances as appropriate in the workspace.
It is also obvious that modifying a path to a shorter distance or that travels through fewer cells can minimize costs of the system. Moreover, if a requested segment is unavailable, it is obvious that the path can be shortened to avoid a collision, to make way for a carrier that has a higher priority in the same or nearby group of cells or path segment, or any other factors to provide an optimal path for the drive unit 20 (See Fig. 5)(Para. 0209-0210; 0048; 0133). See MPEP §2144.01, §2144.03
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wurman to provide a new path that is shorter than the planned move minimize costs, avoids collisions, to make way for a carrier that has a higher priority, or any other factors resulting in an optimal path.
Relative to claims 9-10, Wurman discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, including:
claim 9) the transport plane (workspace 70 grid) comprises a first area comprising a number of moving positions (14), the distribution system (10) further comprises a carrier detection system (inherently included but not shown) configured to detect carriers (20) in the first area (first area may include any portion of workspace), to determine the number of the detected carriers (20) in the first area (system, 15, knows current congestion level in an area, task assignments for mobile drive units, 20, and positions of mobile drive units 20 in an area based on communicated information, Para. 0047-0048), and to send a value of the determined number of detected carriers (20) in the first area to the control device (15)(Para. 0047-0048); and
prior to step b) the control device (15) receives the value of the determined number of detected carriers (20) in the first area (Para. 0030; 0047-0048); and
claim 10) the transport plane (workspace 70 grid) comprises a first area and a second area each comprising a number of moving positions (see any two areas in workspace comprising a number of cells 14), the distribution system (10) further comprises a carrier detection system (inherently included) configured to detect carriers (20) in the first area or in the first area and in the second area (Para. 0048), to determine the number of the detected carriers (20) in the first area, and to send a value of the determined number of detected carriers (20) in the first area to the control device (15), and
prior to step b) the control device (15) receives the value of the determined number of detected carriers (20) in the first area (see Para. 0048, 0047, 0030; system 15 uses collected data, including states of mobile drive units 20 to determine congestion levels in areas of the workspace and other information regarding the mobile drive units).
Wurman does not expressly disclose:
prior to step b) the control device calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are occupied by detected carriers based on the received value,
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers detected in the first area if the calculated percentage of moving positions which are occupied by detected carriers is above a predefined threshold; or
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the second area or for carriers detected in the second area if the calculated percentage of moving positions which are occupied by detected carriers in the first area is above a predefined threshold.
Wurman teaches: the control device calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are occupied by detected carriers based on the received value, and executes steps b) to d) for carriers (20) if the calculated percentage of moving positions which are occupied by detected carriers is above a predefined threshold; and
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers (20) for which a second moving position was planned in the second area, or for carriers (20) detected in the second area (see any area in workspace 70) if the calculated percentage of moving positions which are occupied by detected carriers (20) in the first area is above a predefined threshold as an obvious matter of design choice based on the user’s preference.
Wurman considers the current congestion level which includes the value the determined number of detected carriers in a first or second area and chooses an optimal path based on the information (Para. 0030; 0048; 0107).
The percentage of moving positions of the first or second area in the workspace can be easily determined by the system 15 based on the current congestion level in an area (Para. 0048). This information can be used by the system 15 to assign paths for carriers (20) if the calculated percentage of available spaces 14 is above a predefined threshold in order to minimize costs associated with traversing a path segment, reduce collisions, and improve operational efficiency (Para. 0107). See MPEP §2144.01,2144.03
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify the system of Wurman with calculating the percentage of moving positions of the first or second area in the workspace, and assigning paths for carriers if the percentage of available spaces is above a predefined threshold in order to minimize costs associated with traversing a path segment, reduce collisions, and improve operational efficiency.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurman as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Liu (US PG. Pub. 2021/0078175). Relative to claims 5-6, Wurman in view of Liu discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
claim 5) in step a) the control device further plans for the at least one first carrier a subsequent move from its planned second moving position to a third moving position, and
in step c) the planning of the new move to a new second moving position comprises minimizing the number of moving positions located between the new second moving position and the planned third moving position; or
claim 6) in step c) the planning of the new move to a new second moving position further comprises determining for the at least one first carrier, new reserved moving positions adjacent to its planned new second moving position, and maximizing an overlap of the new determined reserved moving positions of the at least one first carrier with the determined reserved moving positions of the at least one second carrier.
Liu teaches:
claim 5) in step a) the control device (120)(Fig. 1) further plans for the at least one first carrier (110) a subsequent move from its planned second moving position to a third moving position (path reserved for robot changes based on information Para. 0076-0077; 0093); and
in step c) the planning of the new move to a new second moving position comprises minimizing the number of moving positions located between the new second moving position and the planned third moving position (Para. 0042, path segments are planned based on shortest path); and
claim 6) in step c) the planning of the new move to a new second moving position further comprises determining for the at least one first carrier (110), new reserved moving positions (cells in segment) adjacent to its planned new second moving position, and
maximizing an overlap of the new determined reserved moving positions of the at least one first carrier (110) with the determined reserved moving positions of the at least one second carrier (110)(Para. 0061).
Liu teaches the control device planning for the carrier a subsequent move from its planned second moving position to a third moving position, minimizing the number of moving positions, determining new reserved moving positions adjacent to its planned new second moving position, and maximizing an overlap of the new determined reserved moving positions of the at least one first carrier as claimed for the purpose of providing a method for routing a picking robot along a path that prevents robot deadlock and improves overall efficiency (Para. 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify the system of Wurman with the: planning for the carrier a subsequent move from its planned second moving position to a third moving position, minimizing the number of moving positions, and maximizing an overlap of the new determined reserved moving positions as taught in Liu for the purpose of providing a method for routing a picking robot along a path that prevents robot deadlock and improves overall efficiency (Para. 0018).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurman as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Aggarwal (US Patent No. 11,126,944). Relative to claims 7-8, Wurman discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, including: the transport plane (workspace grid) comprises a first area comprising a number of moving positions (Fig. 1, 5)(Para. 0042), the transport plane (workspace grid) comprises a first area and a second area each comprising a number of moving positions (areas may include any groups of cells 14 in workspace)(Fig. 1, 5)(Para. 0042).
Wurman does not expressly disclose:
claim 7) in step a) the control device further calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions,
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the first area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold; or
claim 8) in step a) the control device further calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions,
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the second area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold.
Aggarwal teaches:
claim 7) in step a) the control device (102)(Col. 9, lines 53-56) further calculates density values for volume of a grid, which indicates a number of MDU’s currently within an area associated with the given volume, (Col. 19, lines 10-20); congestion of MDU’s within a sub-area of the workspace - which includes moving spaces within the sub-area-(Col. 10, lines 55-65), restricted spaces of the workspace (Col. 4, lines 49-52); obstacles within the workspace, (Col. 3, lines 50-65); and reserved spaces, (Col. 29, lines 15-25);
the control device (102) executes steps b) to d) for carriers (104) for which a second moving position was planned in the first area if the density of moving positions is above a predefined threshold, (path may be modified based on congestion or density level being too high, Col. 11, lines 30-43); and
claim 8) in step a) the control device (102) further calculates a density values of MDU’s for volume of a grid, congestion of MDU’s within a sub-area of the workspace, restricted and reserved spaces (Col. 9, lines 53-56; Col. 19, lines 10-20; Col. 10, lines 55-65; Col. 29, lines 15-25).
the control device (102) executes steps b) to d) for carriers (104) for which a second moving position was planned in the second area if the if the density of moving positions is above a predefined threshold (path may be modified based on density and congestion levels, Col. 4, lines 5-8; Col. 11, lines 324-35).
Aggarwal teaches the: calculating density values for a volume of a grid, congestion of MDU’s within a sub-area of the workspace; and planning a new second moving position, and moving the drive device to the new second moving position as described above, for the purpose of providing a system and method for detecting obstacles within a workspace of an inventory system that is more efficient and minimizes delays (Col. 7, lines 45-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify the system of Wurman with the calculating density values for a volume of a grid, congestion of MDU’s within a sub-area of the workspace; and planning a new second moving position, and moving the drive device to the new second moving position as described above, as taught in Aggarwal for the purpose of providing a system and method for detecting obstacles within a workspace of an inventory system that is more efficient and minimizes delays.
Relative to claims 7-8, Wurman in view of Aggarwal, while does not expressly disclose:
claim 7) in step a) the control device further calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions,
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the first area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold; and
claim 8) in step a) the control device further calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions,
the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the second area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold.
Wurman in view of Aggarwal teaches: the control device further calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions, the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the first area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold; and
the control device further calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions, and the control device executes steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the second area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold described above as an obvious matter of design choice.
A percentage of moving positions of the first area which are planned second moving positions can be determined based on the density values indicating a number of MDU’s currently within an area, including future density values, congestion of MDU’s within (or will be within) a sub-area of the workspace. The areas within a grid corresponding to a density or number of MDU’s within a volume or that will be within a volume, congestion levels in an area, constitute moving positions within the area of the grid. For instance, if a number of moving spaces or spaces in within an area of the grid is known, and the number of MDU’s or density within a volume of the grid (or that will be within a volume), current and future congestion levels, etc., in the same area of the grid is known, the percentage of moving positions which are planned second moving positions can also be calculated. MPEP §2144.01, §2144.03
Accordingly, since the control device executes the steps b) to d) if the density values, congestion level, etc,. is too high, and since the system is capable of determining the percentages of the moving spaces within the first and second area, as well as the number of second moving positions above, then the control device can execute steps b) to d) for carriers for which a second moving position was planned in the first area if the calculated percentage of moving positions is above a predefined threshold. MPEP §2144.01, §2144.03
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wurman in view of Aggarwal, so that the control device calculates a percentage of moving positions of the first area that are planned second moving positions, and executes steps b) to d) for carriers if the calculated percentage of moving positions in a first or second area is above a predefined threshold as a matter of design choice based on the known density values in the area (or that will be in the area), congestion levels representing locations of MDU’s in a given area (or that will be in a given area), reserved positions in the area, etc., are known.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
D’Andrea - US Patent No. 7,920,962
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651