DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The RCE and amendment filed 3/16/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 31-59 are rejected.
Claims 2-30 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 31, 41, 49, 54, and 58-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG RAN #94-e, e-Meeting, December 6-17, 2021, RP-213333, NEC, Views on Rel-18 XR” (hereinafter as “RP-213333”) in view of Bhamri (US 2023/0022915).
Regarding Claim 1, “RP-213333” teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a configured grant (CG) configuration that defines a plurality of CG occasions within a data period (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration);
transmitting a skip indicator indicating to skip a set of CG occasions that includes one or more CG occasions of the plurality of CG occasions (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, hence traffic is in general transmitted on the multiple PUSCH occasions within the CG with the UE notifying of a skipped CG PUSCH occasion); and
transmitting data in at least one CG occasion, of the plurality of CG occasions, wherein the at least one CG occasion is excluded from the set of CG occasions (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, hence traffic is in general transmitted on the multiple PUSCH occasions within the CG with the UE notifying of a skipped CG PUSCH occasion).
“RP-213333” does not explicitly teach the below limitation:
(transmitting), via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), (a skip indicator indicating to skip a set of CG occasions that includes one or more CG occasions of the plurality of CG occasions);
However Bhamri teaches the below limitation:
(transmitting), via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), (a skip indicator indicating to skip a set of CG occasions that includes one or more CG occasions of the plurality of CG occasions) (Bhamri, paragraph 52, a skipping indication may be encoded separately from UL data (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH) or associated transport blocks on an UL transmission occasion, hence the skipping indication may be encoded on PUSCH or PUCCH);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333” by adding the skipping indication being transmitted in PUSCH as taught by Bhamri. Because “RP-213333” and Bhamri teach configured grants, and specifically Bhamri teaches the skipping indication being transmitted in PUSCH for the benefit of the analogous art of transmission skipping based on a beam correspondence (Bhamri, abstract).
Regarding Claim 31, “RP-213333” and Bhamri further teach wherein transmitting the data comprises transmitting the data to the network entity in multiple PUSCHs within the data period (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration).
Regarding Claim 41, “RP-213333” and Bhamri further teach wherein transmitting the data to the network entity in multiple PUSCHs within the data period comprises:
transmitting one or more PUSCHs within the at least one CG occasion (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, hence traffic is in general transmitted on the multiple PUSCH occasions within the CG with the UE notifying of a skipped CG PUSCH occasion); and
transmitting one or more PUSCHs scheduled via one or more dynamic grants (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration, dynamic scheduling is extended to SPS/CG cases, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, hence traffic is in general transmitted on the multiple PUSCH occasions within the CG with the UE notifying of a skipped CG PUSCH occasion).
Regarding Claim 49, “RP-213333” and Bhamri further teach wherein transmitting the skip indicator comprises transmitting the skip indicator via at least one of sequence-based signaling, uplink control information (UCI), PUSCH, or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions, the indication to the UE that a PUSCH is skipped would be considered uplink control information regardless of whether the indication is sent via PUSCH or PUCCH).
Regarding Claim 54, “RP-213333” teaches a method for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configured grant (CG) configuration that defines a plurality of CG occasions within a data period (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration);
receiving a skip indicator indicating to skip a set of CG occasions that includes one or more CG occasions of the plurality of CG occasions (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, hence traffic is in general transmitted on the multiple PUSCH occasions within the CG with the UE notifying of a skipped CG PUSCH occasion); and
monitoring for data in at least one CG occasion, of the plurality of CG occasions, in accordance with the skip indicator, wherein the at least one CG occasion is excluded from the set of CG occasions (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, hence traffic is in general transmitted on the multiple PUSCH occasions within the CG with the UE notifying of a skipped CG PUSCH occasion).
“RP-213333” does not explicitly teach the below limitation:
(receiving), via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), (a skip indicator indicating to skip a set of CG occasions that includes one or more CG occasions of the plurality of CG occasions);
However Bhamri teaches the below limitation:
(receiving), via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), (a skip indicator indicating to skip a set of CG occasions that includes one or more CG occasions of the plurality of CG occasions) (Bhamri, paragraph 52, a skipping indication may be encoded separately from UL data (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH) or associated transport blocks on an UL transmission occasion, hence the skipping indication may be encoded on PUSCH or PUCCH);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333” by adding the skipping indication being transmitted in PUSCH as taught by Bhamri. Because “RP-213333” and Bhamri teach configured grants, and specifically Bhamri teaches the skipping indication being transmitted in PUSCH for the benefit of the analogous art of transmission skipping based on a beam correspondence (Bhamri, abstract).
Regarding Claim 58, “RP-213333” teaches a user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communication, comprising (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity):
a memory comprising computer-executable instructions (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, a UE would inherently have processors executing instructions stored on a memory); and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, a UE would inherently have processors executing instructions stored on a memory):
receive, from a network entity, a configured grant (CG) configuration that defines a plurality of CG occasions within a data period (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration); and
transmit a skip indicator indicating to skip a set of CG occasions that includes one or more CG occasions of the plurality of CG occasions (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, hence traffic is in general transmitted on the multiple PUSCH occasions within the CG with the UE notifying of a skipped CG PUSCH occasion); and
transmit data in at least one CG occasion, of the plurality of CG occasions, wherein the at least one CG occasion is excluded from the set of CG occasions (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, hence traffic is in general transmitted on the multiple PUSCH occasions within the CG with the UE notifying of a skipped CG PUSCH occasion).
“RP-213333” does not explicitly teach the below limitation:
(transmit), via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), (a skip indicator indicating to skip a set of CG occasions that includes one or more CG occasions of the plurality of CG occasions);
However Bhamri teaches the below limitation:
(transmit), via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), (a skip indicator indicating to skip a set of CG occasions that includes one or more CG occasions of the plurality of CG occasions) (Bhamri, paragraph 52, a skipping indication may be encoded separately from UL data (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH) or associated transport blocks on an UL transmission occasion, hence the skipping indication may be encoded on PUSCH or PUCCH);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333” by adding the skipping indication being transmitted in PUSCH as taught by Bhamri. Because “RP-213333” and Bhamri teach configured grants, and specifically Bhamri teaches the skipping indication being transmitted in PUSCH for the benefit of the analogous art of transmission skipping based on a beam correspondence (Bhamri, abstract).
Regarding Claim 59, “RP-213333” teaches a network entity configured for wireless communication, comprising (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions):
a memory comprising computer-executable instructions (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, a network entity such as a gNB would inherently have processors executing instructions stored on a memory); and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the network entity to (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, a network entity such as a gNB would inherently have processors executing instructions stored on a memory):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configured grant (CG) configuration that defines a plurality of CG occasions within a data period (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration);
receive a skip indicator indicating to skip a set of CG occasions that includes one or more CG occasions of the plurality of CG occasions (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, hence traffic is in general transmitted on the multiple PUSCH occasions within the CG with the UE notifying of a skipped CG PUSCH occasion); and
monitor for data in at least one CG occasion, of the plurality of CG occasions, in accordance with the skip indicator, wherein the at least one CG occasion is excluded from the set of CG occasions (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity, hence traffic is in general transmitted on the multiple PUSCH occasions within the CG with the UE notifying of a skipped CG PUSCH occasion).
“RP-213333” does not explicitly teach the below limitation:
(receive), via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), (a skip indicator indicating to skip a set of CG occasions that includes one or more CG occasions of the plurality of CG occasions);
However Bhamri teaches the below limitation:
(receive), via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), (a skip indicator indicating to skip a set of CG occasions that includes one or more CG occasions of the plurality of CG occasions) (Bhamri, paragraph 52, a skipping indication may be encoded separately from UL data (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH) or associated transport blocks on an UL transmission occasion, hence the skipping indication may be encoded on PUSCH or PUCCH);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333” by adding the skipping indication being transmitted in PUSCH as taught by Bhamri. Because “RP-213333” and Bhamri teach configured grants, and specifically Bhamri teaches the skipping indication being transmitted in PUSCH for the benefit of the analogous art of transmission skipping based on a beam correspondence (Bhamri, abstract).
Claims 32, 35. 36, 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG RAN #94-e, e-Meeting, December 6-17, 2021, RP-213333, NEC, Views on Rel-18 XR” (hereinafter as “RP-213333”) and Bhamri (US 2023/0022915), and further in view of Xiao (US 2024/0205919).
Regarding Claim 32, “RP-21333” and Bhamri teach all the limitations of parent claim 31, but do not explicitly teach wherein the CG configuration comprises a plurality of CG parameters for each of the PUSCHs, however Xiao teaches wherein the CG configuration comprises a plurality of CG parameters for each of the PUSCHs (Xiao, paragraph 54, power control parameters are configured by the CG configuration according to which the PUSCH transmission is transmitted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333” by adding a plurality of CG parameters per PUSCH as taught by Xiao. Because “RP-213333” and Xiao teach configured grants, and specifically Xiao teaches a plurality of CG parameters per PUSCH for the benefit of the analogous art of multiple transmit-receive point (M-TRP) based PUSCH transmission (Xiao, abstract).
Regarding Claim 35, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Xiao further teach wherein the plurality of CG parameters include at least one parameter that specifies a maximum number of PUSCHs for each CG occasion of the plurality of CG occasions (Xiao, paragraph 93, The maximum number of PUSCH transmissions may be determined based on the CG configuration).
Regarding Claim 36, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Xiao further teach further comprising transmitting an indication that the UE does not intend to use all of the maximum number of PUSCHs within a CG occasion (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions).
Regarding Claim 55, “RP-213333” and Bhamri further teach wherein:
monitoring for the data comprises monitoring for the data in multiple PUSCHs within the data period (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration);
“RP-213333” and Bhamri do not explicitly teach the below limitation:
the CG configuration comprises a plurality of CG parameters for each of the PUSCHs;
However Xiao teaches the below limitation:
the CG configuration comprises a plurality of CG parameters for each of the PUSCHs (Xiao, paragraph 54, power control parameters are configured by the CG configuration according to which the PUSCH transmission is transmitted);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333” by adding a plurality of CG parameters per PUSCH as taught by Xiao. Because “RP-213333” and Xiao teach configured grants, and specifically Xiao teaches a plurality of CG parameters per PUSCH for the benefit of the analogous art of multiple transmit-receive point (M-TRP) based PUSCH transmission (Xiao, abstract).
Claims 33 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG RAN #94-e, e-Meeting, December 6-17, 2021, RP-213333, NEC, Views on Rel-18 XR” (hereinafter as “RP-213333”), Bhamri (US 2023/0022915), and Xiao (US 2024/0205919), and further in view of Rossbach (US 2023/0269620).
Regarding Claim 33, “RP-21333”, Bhamri, and Xiao teach all the limitation of parent claim 32, but do not explicitly teach wherein at least some of the CG parameters vary:
across PUSCHs within a CG occasion; or
across different CG occasions within the data period.
However Rossbach teaches wherein at least some of the CG parameters vary:
across PUSCHs within a CG occasion; or
across different CG occasions within the data period (Rossbach, paragraph 160, it may be possible to vary CG parameter configurations for different instances of a CG such that the grant sizes are staggered or a different reliability is associated with each of the different CG instances).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Xiao by adding varying parameters across CG occasions as taught by Rossbach. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamri, Xiao, and Rossbach teach configured grants, and specifically Rossbach teaches varying parameters across CG occasions for the benefit of the analogous art of power saving techniques for extended reality applications (Rossbach, paragraph 1).
Regarding Claim 56, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Xiao teach all the limitations of parent claim 55, but do not explicitly teach wherein at least some of the CG parameters vary:
across PUSCHs within a CG occasion; or
across different CG occasions within the data period.
However Rossbach teaches wherein at least some of the CG parameters vary:
across PUSCHs within a CG occasion; or
across different CG occasions within the data period (Rossbach, paragraph 160, it may be possible to vary CG parameter configurations for different instances of a CG such that the grant sizes are staggered or a different reliability is associated with each of the different CG instances).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Xiao by adding varying parameters across CG occasions as taught by Rossbach. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamri, Xiao, and Rossbach teach configured grants, and specifically Rossbach teaches varying parameters across CG occasions for the benefit of the analogous art of power saving techniques for extended reality applications (Rossbach, paragraph 1).
Claims 34 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG RAN #94-e, e-Meeting, December 6-17, 2021, RP-213333, NEC, Views on Rel-18 XR” (hereinafter as “RP-213333”), Bhamri (US 2023/0022915), and Xiao (US 2024/0205919), and further in view of Chen (US 2015/0085794).
Regarding Claim 34, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Xiao teach all the limitations of parent claim 32, but do not explicitly teach wherein the parameters for each of the PUSCHs include a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for each of the PUSCHs and a number of resource blocks (RBs) for each of the PUSCHs, however Chen teaches wherein the parameters for each of the PUSCHs include a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for each of the PUSCHs and a number of resource blocks (RBs) for each of the PUSCHs (Chen, paragraph 31, uplink TBS may be determined based on (1) a number of RBs needed to transmit particular data, and (2) a modulation coding scheme (MCS), which is associated with the system configuration, both of which are indexed to the PUSCH, hence each PUSCH would have a MCS and a number of RBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Xiao by adding MCS and number of RBs per PUSCH as taught by Chen. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamri, Xiao, and Chen teach grants, and specifically Chen teaches MCS and number of RBs per PUSCH for the benefit of the analogous art of determining a transport block size (Chen, abstract).
Regarding Claim 57, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Xiao teach all the limitations of parent claim 55, but do not explicitly teach wherein the parameters for each of the PUSCHs include a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for each of the PUSCHs and a number of resource blocks (RBs) for each of the PUSCHs, however Chen teaches wherein the parameters for each of the PUSCHs include a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for each of the PUSCHs and a number of resource blocks (RBs) for each of the PUSCHs (Chen, paragraph 31, uplink TBS may be determined based on (1) a number of RBs needed to transmit particular data, and (2) a modulation coding scheme (MCS), which is associated with the system configuration, both of which are indexed to the PUSCH, hence each PUSCH would have a MCS and a number of RBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Xiao by adding MCS and number of RBs per PUSCH as taught by Chen. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamri, Xiao, and Chen teach grants, and specifically Chen teaches MCS and number of RBs per PUSCH for the benefit of the analogous art of determining a transport block size (Chen, abstract).
Claims 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG RAN #94-e, e-Meeting, December 6-17, 2021, RP-213333, NEC, Views on Rel-18 XR” (hereinafter as “RP-213333”), Bhamri (US 2023/0022915), and Xiao (US 2024/0205919), and further in view of Babaei (US 2022/0174724).
Regarding Claim 37, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Xiao teach all the limitations of parent claim 36, but do not explicitly teach further comprising transmitting an indication at least one of:
a change to one or more CG parameters for one or more subsequent PUSCHs; or
a request to change to one or more CG parameters for one or more subsequent PUSCHs.
However Babaei teaches further comprising transmitting an indication at least one of:
a change to one or more CG parameters for one or more subsequent PUSCHs (Babaei, paragraph 393, a wireless device may update its configured-grant transmission parameters and indicate the changes to the base station within the uplink burst, UCI multiplexed with PUSCH may also indicate the UE updated transmission parameters); or
a request to change to one or more CG parameters for one or more subsequent PUSCHs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333”, Bhamra, and Xiao by adding changing CG parameters as taught by Babaei. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamra, Xiao, and Babaei teach configured grants, and specifically Babaei teaches changing CG parameters for the benefit of the analogous art of operation of configured grants. (Babaei, paragraph 39).
Regarding Claim 38, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, Xiao, and Babaei further teach wherein the request is for a change to one or more CG parameters for one or more subsequent PUSCHs in the same CG occasion, a subsequent CG occasion, or a group of subsequent CG occasions (Babaei, paragraph 393, a wireless device may update its configured-grant transmission parameters and indicate the changes to the base station within the uplink burst, UCI multiplexed with PUSCH may also indicate the UE updated transmission parameters, it is interpreted that the change in CG parameters is for the next CG occasion(s))).
Regarding Claim 39, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, Xiao, and Babaei wherein the change or request to change is indicated via at least one of sequenced-based signaling, uplink control information (UCI) or medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Babaei, paragraph 393, a wireless device may update its configured-grant transmission parameters and indicate the changes to the base station within the uplink burst, UCI multiplexed with PUSCH may also indicate the UE updated transmission parameters, it is interpreted that the UE indicating a parameter change to the base station would be considered uplink control information).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG RAN #94-e, e-Meeting, December 6-17, 2021, RP-213333, NEC, Views on Rel-18 XR” (hereinafter as “RP-213333”), Bhamri (US 2023/0022915), and Xiao (US 2024/0205919), and further in view of Su (US 2023/0403702).
Regarding Claim 40, “RP-213333” teaches all the limitations of parent claim 35, but does not explicitly teach further comprising transmitting an indication that the UE intends to use more than the maximum number of PUSCHs within a CG occasion, however Su teaches further comprising transmitting an indication that the UE intends to use more than the maximum number of PUSCHs within a CG occasion (Su, paragraph 337, the number of PUSCH repetitions may be increased, paragraph 342, the maximum number of PUSCH time domain resource allocations, maxNrofUL-Allocations, can be increased).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333”, Bhamra, and Xiao by adding increasing the maximum number of PUSCH as taught by Su. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamra, Xiao, and Su teach configured grants, and specifically Su teaches increasing the maximum number of PUSCH for the benefit of the analogous art of enhancement for uplink data transmission. (Su, abstract).
Claims 42-43 and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG RAN #94-e, e-Meeting, December 6-17, 2021, RP-213333, NEC, Views on Rel-18 XR” (hereinafter as “RP-213333”) and Bhamri (US 2023/0022915), and further in view of Lee (US 2024/0224289) (hereinafter as Lee’289).
Regarding Claim 42, “RP-213333” and Bhamri further teach further comprising:
wherein at least one of the dynamic grants is sent (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, extend the dynamic scheduling to the SPS/CG cases, Section 1, enhancements for dynamic grants).
“RP-213333” and Bhamri do not explicitly teach the below limitation:
transmitting at least one scheduling request (SR), (wherein at least one of the dynamic grants is sent) in response to the SR;
However Lee’289 teaches the below limitation:
transmitting at least one scheduling request (SR), (wherein at least one of the dynamic grants is sent) in response to the SR (Lee’289, paragraph 131, The PUCCH carries uplink control information, HARQ-ACK, and/or a scheduling request (SR), paragraph 112, dynamic scheduling);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333” and Bhamra by adding scheduling requests as taught by Lee’289. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamra, and Lee’289teach configured grants, and specifically Lee’289teaches scheduling requests for the benefit of the analogous art of transmitting and receiving data in a wireless communication system (Lee’289, paragraph 1).
Regarding Claim 43, “RP-213333” and Bhamri further teach further comprising:
transmitting PUSCH on at least some of the pre-configured PUSCH resources (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration).
“RP-213333” and Bhamri do not explicitly teach the below limitations:
transmitting a more data indication that triggers pre-configured PUSCH resources;
However Lee’289 teaches the below limitations:
transmitting a more data indication that triggers pre-configured PUSCH resources (Lee’289, paragraph 131, The PUCCH carries uplink control information, HARQ-ACK, and/or a scheduling request (SR), paragraph 112, dynamic scheduling);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333” and Bhamra by adding more data indication (scheduling request) as taught by Lee’289. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamra, and Lee’289 teach configured grants, and specifically Lee’289teaches more data indication (scheduling request) for the benefit of the analogous art of transmitting and receiving data in a wireless communication system (Lee’289, paragraph 1).
Regarding Claim 45, “RP-213333” and Bhamri further teach further comprising:
wherein at least one of the dynamic grants is sent (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, extend the dynamic scheduling to the SPS/CG cases, Section 1, enhancements for dynamic grants).
“RP-213333” and Bhamri do not explicitly teach the below limitation:
transmitting a more data indication in one of the PUSCHs, (wherein at least one of the dynamic grants is sent) in response to the more data indication;
However Lee’289 teaches the below limitation:
transmitting a more data indication in one of the PUSCHs, (wherein at least one of the dynamic grants is sent) in response to the more data indication (Lee’289, paragraph 131, The PUCCH carries uplink control information, HARQ-ACK, and/or a scheduling request (SR), paragraph 130, PUSCH carries uplink data (e.g., UL-shared channel transport block, UL-SCH TB) and/or uplink control information (UCI), hence PUSCH can also carry a SR as a SR would be UCI, paragraph 112, dynamic scheduling);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333” and Bhamra by adding more data indication (scheduling request) as taught by Lee’289. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamra, and Lee’289 teach configured grants, and specifically Lee’289 teaches more data indication (scheduling request) for the benefit of the analogous art of transmitting and receiving data in a wireless communication system (Lee’289, paragraph 1).
Regarding Claim 46, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Lee’289 further teach wherein the more data indicator is transmitted via at least one of demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or uplink control information (UCI) (Lee’289, paragraph 131, The PUCCH carries uplink control information, HARQ-ACK, and/or a scheduling request (SR), paragraph 112, dynamic scheduling, “RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, extend the dynamic scheduling to the SPS/CG cases, Section 1, enhancements for dynamic grants, the request from UE to BS can be considered UCI).
Regarding Claim 47, “RP-213333” and Bhamri further teach further comprising at least one CG occasion, of the plurality of CG occasions, within the data period (“RP-213333”, Section 2.2, first paragraph under Proposal 2, multi-PDSCH and multi-PUSCH scheduling by a single DCI, allowing multi-PDSCH/PUSCH occasions per period with a single SPS/CG configuration).
“RP-213333” and Bhamri do not explicitly teach the below limitation:
further comprising transmitting a more data indication that indicates the UE intends to use (at least one CG occasion, of the plurality of CG occasions, within the data period);
However Lee’289 teaches the below limitation:
further comprising transmitting a more data indication that indicates the UE intends to use (at least one CG occasion, of the plurality of CG occasions, within the data period) (Lee’289, paragraph 131, The PUCCH carries uplink control information, HARQ-ACK, and/or a scheduling request (SR), paragraph 130, PUSCH carries uplink data (e.g., UL-shared channel transport block, UL-SCH TB) and/or uplink control information (UCI), hence PUSCH can also carry a SR as a SR would be UCI, paragraph 112, dynamic scheduling);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333” and Bhamra by adding more data indication (scheduling request) as taught by Lee’289. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamra, and Lee’289 teach configured grants, and specifically Lee’289 teaches more data indication (scheduling request) for the benefit of the analogous art of transmitting and receiving data in a wireless communication system (Lee’289, paragraph 1).
Claim 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG RAN #94-e, e-Meeting, December 6-17, 2021, RP-213333, NEC, Views on Rel-18 XR” (hereinafter as “RP-213333”), Bhamri (US 2023/0022915), and Lee (US 2024/0224289) (hereinafter as Lee’289), and further in view of Babaei (US 2022/0174724).
Regarding Claim 48, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Lee’289 teach all the limitations of parent claim 47, but do not explicitly teach wherein the more data indicator also indicates a modification to one or more CG parameters, however Babaei teaches wherein the more data indicator also indicates a modification to one or more CG parameters (Babaei, paragraph 393, a wireless device may update its configured-grant transmission parameters and indicate the changes to the base station within the uplink burst, UCI multiplexed with PUSCH may also indicate the UE updated transmission parameters);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Lee’289 by adding changing CG parameters as taught by Babaei. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamri, Lee’289, and Babaei teach configured grants, and specifically Babaei teaches changing CG parameters for the benefit of the analogous art of operation of configured grants. (Babaei, paragraph 39).
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG RAN #94-e, e-Meeting, December 6-17, 2021, RP-213333, NEC, Views on Rel-18 XR” (hereinafter as “RP-213333”) and Bhamri (US 2023/0022915), and further in view of Salem (US 2021/0105815).
Regarding Claim 44, “RP-213333” and Bhamri teach all the limitations of parent claim 41, but do not explicitly teach further comprising transmitting an indication in one of the PUSCHs that indicates an end of one of the bursts.
However Salem teaches further comprising transmitting an indication in one of the PUSCHs that indicates an end of one of the bursts (Salem, Fig 5, paragraph 173, CG-UCI 540 includes a “UL burst end” bit 542).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333” and Bhamri by adding an end of burst indicator as taught by Salem. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Salem teach configured grants, and specifically Salem teaches an end of burst indicator for the benefit of the analogous art of configured-grant transmission (Salem, paragraph 2).
Claims 50 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG RAN #94-e, e-Meeting, December 6-17, 2021, RP-213333, NEC, Views on Rel-18 XR” (hereinafter as “RP-213333”) and Bhamri (US 2023/0022915), and further in view of Lyu (US 2019/0074950).
Regarding Claim 50, “RP-213333” and Bhamri further teaches wherein transmitting the skip indicator comprises transmitting, at the start of the data period, including the skip indicator to indicate that the UE does intend to use the set of CG occasions within the data period (“RP-213333”, second paragraph under Proposal 2, the UE informs gNB of skipped CG PUSCH occasions in order to avoid resource wasting and improve system capacity);
“RP-213333” and Bhamri do not explicitly teach the below limitation:
(wherein transmitting the skip indicator comprises transmitting, at the start of the data period), a wake-up signal (WUS) (including the skip indicator to indicate that the UE does intend to use the set of CG occasions within the data period);
However Lyu teaches the below limitation:
(wherein transmitting the skip indicator comprises transmitting, at the start of the data period), a wake-up signal (WUS) (including the skip indicator to indicate that the UE does intend to use the set of CG occasions within the data period) (Lyu, paragraph 89, uplink paging to wake up the base station to serve the user equipment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333” and Bhamri by adding a wakeup signal sent from UE to BS as taught by Lyu. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Lyu teach communication in a wireless network, and Lyu teaches a wakeup signal sent from UE to BS for the benefit of the analogous art of a pilot signal transmission method (Lyu, paragraph 2).
Regarding Claim 53, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Lyu further teach wherein transmitting the WUS comprises transmitting the WUS via at least one of sequenced-based signaling, uplink control information (UCI), or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Lyu, paragraph 89, uplink paging to wake up the base station to serve the user equipment, uplink paging of WUS would be considered UCI).
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG RAN #94-e, e-Meeting, December 6-17, 2021, RP-213333, NEC, Views on Rel-18 XR” (hereinafter as “RP-213333”), Bhamri (US 2023/0022915), and Lyu (US 2019/0074950), and further in view of Lee (US 2021/0377924) (hereinafter as Lee’924).
Regarding Claim 51, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Lyu teach all the limitations of parent claim 50, but do not explicitly teach wherein transmitting the WUS comprises transmitting the WUS at a fixed offset from a first PUSCH transmitted by the UE, however Lee’924 teaches wherein transmitting the WUS comprises transmitting the WUS at a fixed offset from a first PUSCH transmitted by the UE (Lee’924, paragraph 120, the independent transmissions of an SR and a PUSCH may be simultaneous or offset in time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Lyu by adding an offset between WUS and PUSCH as taught by Lee’924. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamri, Lyu, and Lee’924 teach communication in a wireless network, and Lee’924 teaches an offset between WUS and PUSCH for the benefit of the analogous art of grant-based (GB) and grant-less (GL) uplink transmissions in a multiple access (MA) scheme (Lee’924, paragraph 4).
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG RAN #94-e, e-Meeting, December 6-17, 2021, RP-213333, NEC, Views on Rel-18 XR” (hereinafter as “RP-213333”), Bhamri (US 2023/0022915), and Lyu (US 2019/0074950), and further in view of Babaei (US 2022/0174724).
Regarding Claim 52, “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Lyu teach all the limitations of parent claim 50, but do not explicitly teach wherein the WUS also indicates a modification to one or more CG parameters, however Babaei teaches wherein the WUS also indicates a modification to one or more CG parameters (Babaei, paragraph 393, a wireless device may update its configured-grant transmission parameters and indicate the changes to the base station within the uplink burst, UCI multiplexed with PUSCH may also indicate the UE updated transmission parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “RP-213333”, Bhamri, and Lyu by adding changing CG parameters as taught by Babaei. Because “RP-213333”, Bhamri, Lyu, and Babaei teach communication in a wireless network, and specifically Babaei teaches changing CG parameters for the benefit of the analogous art of operation of configured grants. (Babaei, paragraph 39).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been thoroughly considered but are respectfully moot as new grounds of rejection are used. Please see updated rejection.
Conclusion
/T.N.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412