DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 17/664,877 filed 5/25/2022. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The Request for Continued Examination and Amendment presented on 10/23/2025 which provides amendment to claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, 16-18, 20, 21, and 23-25 is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, 16-18, and 20-25 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections – Withdrawn
The previous 35 U.S.C § 112(a) rejection of claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, 16-18, and 20-25 has been withdrawn as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, and 13 have been considered, however, the amendment(s) to the claims necessitated a new consideration and search resulting in new prior art cited below.
Additionally, with respect to the 35 U.S.C § 112(b) rejection below. The Examiner recognizes it is known in the art that there are some applications with dialog boxes (like context menus) that become dismissed as soon as changes to the underlying selections (context) are received. Perhaps more prevalent, however, are modal type dialog boxes that prevent input outside of the dialog box while it is being displayed. In any event, the claims do not recite features that the dialog box cancelling the when input is received outside of the dialog box. Therefore, the claim limitation is “prevent[ing]” something that is not recited explicitly or implicitly to occur, which creates the indefiniteness issue.
Applicant contends in several locations of the remarks that the third input, if not for cache memory, “would have otherwise canceled the dialog box.”
However, first, as previously noted by the Examiner, even Applicant’s specification (See at least [0033], [0037], and [0041]) acknowledges, that cache-type memory is not necessarily the storage location for the retained selections and operations. Contrary to Applicant’s assertions, one of ordinary skill would know that whether the selections, operations, and dialog box are retained on a display during the third input has nothing to do with type of memory used to store the selections and operations, and everything to do with the programming of the functionality of the dialog box and application using said dialog box.
Second, the claims do not recite that the third input, if not for cache memory, “would have otherwise canceled the dialog box” either explicitly or implicitly. As asserted previously Singh is merely relied on to suggest using cache type of memory when a user interface performs operations on selected objects. Again, one of ordinary skill understands that the type of memory where user interface elements are stored has no effect on the functions programmed into the user interface. The widely understood difference between cache memory verses regular memory is that has faster read/write capability. Whether or not a dialog is dismissed or selections cancelled when input is received is programmed into the function of that dialog and associated application.
Third, Applicants consistent assertion that “caching facilitates retention of the dialog box with the operation as well as the selections of the content data previously selected before an input that would otherwise have canceled those selections and the dialog box” is undermined by Applicant’s own claim 13, which does not recite “cache memory”, but rather, “memory”, for the functionality.
Fourth, two Youtube videos (published by “MrExcell.com” and “Jargonfreehelp”) have been cited on the PTO-892 showing the capabilities that Microsoft Excel has had for a very long time. There are many ways Excel uses non-modal dialog boxes to select cells, but these two videos describe the case of inserting a function into a spreadsheet, the “Function Arguments” dialog box allows a user to select multiple cells to enter the arguments of the function being created without closing the dialog and without having a specific memory type requirement. Applicant is advised to consider this prior art when responding.
Finally, new prior art Malak cited below shows non-modal dialog boxes for performing operations on selected items with the ability to add to the selected items without closing the dialog and without any memory type requirement. See the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, 16-18, and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly in claims 7 and 13), “thereby prevent cancellation from the GUI of the first selections of the content data and the dialog box as a result of the third input” is not clear. Specifically, the limitation implies that there is a function recited in the claims the does cancel the first selections and the dialog box, however, such function is not recited. Therefore, the function is indefinite.
Dependent claims not mentioned inherit the deficiencies of their parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10-12, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doan et al. (US 2013/0125041 A1, hereafter referred to as “Doan”), in view of Malak et al. (US 2020/0320068 A1, hereinafter “Malak”), and further in view of Singh (US 7,765,529 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Doan teaches a method for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface (GUI), More specifically, a format object task pane is provided that presents contextual formatting controls for formatting objects (Doan, abstract).
the method implemented by a computing device and comprising:
displaying on the GUI, content data; receiving, from an input device of the computing device, [a selection] of content data made via one or more first inputs; displaying, on the GUI, the [selection] of the content data in response to the one or more first inputs, and, in response to a second input received from the input device a dialog box comprising an operation to be performed on the [selection] of the content data. More specifically, a format object task pane 205 may be displayed upon receiving an indication of a right-clicking on a shape object 140 and a selection of a "format" functionality. Formatting controls 360 associated with the selected object 120,130,140,145 may be provided in a format object task pane 205 (515) (Doan, [0035]). Formatting controls (operations) may behave contextually and display controls specific to a currently selected object (content data) (Doan, abstract). Doan additionally discloses that a formatting dialog box 125 can be modeless (Doan, [0020]); which means the formatting dialog box can maintain being displayed while the selected objects behind can be changed (Doan, [0022]). The user can choose to switch back and forth between a task pane on the side of display and a modeless pane, construed as dialog box that can be moved over a document (Doan, [0022], [0024] at least Figures 2-4 depict a task pane with controls at the very top right for switching back to a dialog box).
…
receiving, via a third input from the input device, one or more changes made by the GUI comprising a second selection of other content data. More specifically, a mouse is a selection device with clicking input, the format object task pane 205 may be automatically updated with formatting controls 360 associated with selecting a second object (Doan, [0025], [0035], [0040], claim 11, since Doan does not clearly select multiple simultaneously, Doan essentially cancels a selection in leu of another). The user can choose to switch back and forth between a task pane on the side of display and a dialog box (Doan, [0022], at least Figures 2-4 depict a task pane with controls at the very top right for undocking the task pane, making it a floating dialog box).
While Doan additionally states “a user may select a plurality of objects 120,130,140,145 to format” (Doan [0040]), it is not explicit defined that these objects are selected simultaneously, therefore, Doan, may not explicitly teach every aspect of
[the selection is] first selections;
after receiving the third input: displaying on the GUI the second selection of the other content data;
and using the first selections of the content data and the operation …to retain on the GUI the first selections of the content data and the dialog box with the operation and thereby prevent cancellation from the GUI of the first selections of the content data and the dialog box as a result of the third input.
Malak describes a user interface for performing operations on selections of content (Malak, abstract). The user interface involves a spreadsheet with selectable cells of text/characters for use in generating regular expressions based on the selected text. After first characters are selected/highlighted, a non-modal dialog box is shown for performing an operation on the selected characters (Malak, [0141]-[0146], at least Figure 14, the first selection is “360-224-0539”). A user can select/highlight additional text characters under the non-modal dialog box and the non-modal dialog box is updated accordingly (Malak, [0149], at least Figure 15, the first selection is maintained, and text “(786) 222-9069” and “(919) 257-5648” are added to the selection). The fact that the dialog box is described as updated instantly responsive to additional user selecting/highlighting shows the previous text selection and non-modal dialog box are not canceled/dismissed responsive to additional text selections.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Doan and Malak that a method for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface would include retaining previous selections of objects/content and the dialog box of an operation while additional selections are added. With Doan and Malak disclosing the selection of objects and the display of an operation to be performed on the selected objects, with Doan disclosing the formatting operation task pane can be switched between docked and undocked (dialog) at any time, and that the selected objects can change at any time while the formatting operation task pane/dialog is displayed, and with Malak additionally disclosing retaining previous selections of objects/content and the dialog box of an operation while additional selections are added, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface would include retaining of selections of objects/content and operations as additional objects are multiply selected in order to allow a user to perform operations on more than one object at the same time without closing the dialog thus speeding up the operations. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface.
However, Doan and Malak may not explicitly teach every aspect of
storing, in local cache memory of the computing device, the first selections of the content data and the operation.
Singh discloses in a graphical modeling environment, one of a selection of transformation operations is performed on a graphical object by first selecting the graphical object. A user may select a particular transformation operation to be executed on the graphical object from a list of transformation operations displayed to the user (Singh, abstract). The modeling application caches information related to the selected object. The information that is cached includes the selected object, the system containing the selected object, the destination system and the location of the transformed block in the destination system (Singh, col 12, lines 1-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Doan and Malak with Singh that a method for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface would include store, in local cache memory, by the computing device, the first selections of the content data and the operation to be performed. With Doan, Malak, and Singh disclosing the selection of objects and operations to be performed on the selected objects, and with Doan disclosing that the selected objects can change at any time while the formatting operation pane/dialog is displayed, with Malak disclosing that more than one content object can be selected at the same time as well as are retained on the display, and with Singh additionally disclosing that user interface selections can utilize cache type memory, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface would include store, in local cache memory, by the computing device, the first selections of the content data and the operation to be performed in order to utilize typical memory types when items are selected for operations. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface.
Regarding claim 4, Doan, Malak, and Singh teach the method as set forth in claim 1 further comprising performing the operation after displaying the result of the one or more changes while retaining, on the GUI, the first selections of the content data. More specifically, when a formatting operation is selected the formatting operation is performed (Doan, [0038]). The selected object can be changed and the formatting options reflect the change (Doan, [0039]-[0040]). Additionally, selections are maintained while additional selections can be added (Malak, [0149], Figures 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 5, Doan, Malak, and Singh teach the method as set forth in claim 1 further comprising, storing, in the local cache memory the one or more changes prior to displaying the result of the one or more changes on the GUI while retaining, on the GUI, the first selections of the content data and the operation. More specifically, the combination of using cache to store selections (Singh) with the formatting operations can be performed after any changes of the selected objects (Doan, Figure 5, steps 520, 525, and 530). The formatting options include drop down boxes and sliders that would be continuously changeable (Doan, at least Figures 1 and 3). Additionally, selections are maintained while additional selections can be added (Malak, [0149], Figures 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 6, Doan, Malak, and Singh teach the method as set forth in claim 1 further comprising: receiving one or more operation changes to the operation; and displaying the one or more operation changes while retaining, on the GUI, the one or more changes and the first selections of the content data and the second selection of the other content data. More specifically, the formatting operations can be performed after any changes of the selected objects (Doan, Figure 5, steps 520, 525, and 530). The formatting options include drop down boxes and sliders that would be continuously changeable (Doan, at least Figures 1 and 3). Additionally, selections are maintained while additional selections can be added (Malak, [0149], Figures 14 and 15).
Regarding claims 7 and 10-12 these claims recite a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon instructions to perform the steps of the method of claims 1 and 4-6, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 24, Doan and Malak with Singh teach the method as set forth in claim 1 wherein the one or more changes comprises an additional content data selection, and the method further comprises: displaying a first set of one or more possible operations to be performed on the first selections of the content data, wherein the operation is selected from the first set of possible operations; and displaying a second set of one or more possible operations to be performed on the additional content data selection. More specifically, Doan suggests updating of the operations according to changes in the selected objects (Doan, Figure 5, [0040]). Additionally, multiple text/characters can be selected ay any time while the non-model dialog box is open without canceling the dialog box. At least Figures 14, 15, 16A, 16B, 17, depict a first set of operations and at least Figures 25A, 25B, 28, 31, 34, 35, 39, and 42-48 depict additional operations for additional selections (Malak, [0149], Figures 25, 28, 31, 34, 35, 39, and 42-48 and associated description).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doan, Malak, and Singh, and further in view of Raskin (US 8,510,668 B1).
Regarding claim 25, Doan and Malak with Singh teach the one or more non-transitory computer readable media as set forth in claim 7, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the executable code, when executed by the at least one processor, further causes the at least one processor to: determine that the dialog box obscures at least some of the content data; and adjust a transparency of the dialog box to allow for display of all the content data.
Raskin discloses dialog boxes are typically opaque and require the user to actuate one of the user interface controls (or use a keyboard equivalent) in order to dismiss the dialog box and continue working (Raskin, col 26, lines 25-52). Thus, with conventional opaque message boxes and dialog boxes, at least a portion of the display is typically obscured by the message or dialog box. Also, the user typically must take some additional action--beyond merely continuing to do what the user was doing before the box was displayed--to dismiss the message or dialog box. The transparent message box solves most of these problems by allowing the user to both see and to click on items that are visually "beneath" the scrim-like message (Raskin, col 26, lines 53-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Doan, Malak, and Singh, with Raskin that a computing device for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface using a dialog box would include determining, by the computing device, that the dialog box obscures at least some of the content data; [and] adjusting, by the computing device, the transparency of the dialog box to allow for display of all the content data. With Doan, Malak, and Singh, with Raskin disclosing the selection of objects and operations to be performed on the selected objects, with Doan disclosing that the selected objects can change at any time while the formatting operation pane/dialog is displayed, with Malak disclosing that more than one content object can be selected at the same time, and with Raskin disclosing making dialog boxes transparent so that a user can continue to make selections below the dialog box, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a computing device for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface using a dialog box would include determining, by the computing device, that the dialog box obscures at least some of the content data; [and] adjusting, by the computing device, the transparency of the dialog box to allow for display of all the content data in order to allow a user to see and continue to work with items underneath a displayed dialog box. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this computing device for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface.
Claim(s) 13, 16-18, 20, 21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doan, and further in view of Malak.
Regarding claim 13, Doan teaches a computing device, comprising memory having stored thereon instructions for providing dynamic selection of contents in a graphical user interface (GUI) and couple to one or more processor configured to execute the instructions to:
display, on the GUI, content data, receive, from an input device of the computing device…[a selection] of the content data made via one or more first inputs display, on the GUI, [the selection] of the content data in response to the one or more first inputs, and, in response to a second input received from the input device, a dialog box comprising an operation to be performed on the [the selection] of the content data; store, in the memory, [the selection] of the content data and the operation. More specifically, a format object task pane 205 may be displayed upon receiving an indication of a right-clicking on a shape object 140 and a selection of a "format" functionality. Formatting controls 360 associated with the selected object 120,130,140,145 may be provided in a format object task pane 205 (515) (Doan, [0035]). Formatting controls (operations) may behave contextually and display controls specific to a currently selected object (content data) (Doan, abstract). Doan additionally discloses that a formatting dialog box 125 can be modeless (Doan, [0020]); which means the formatting dialog box can maintain being displayed while the selected objects behind can be changed (Doan, [0022]). The user can choose to switch back and forth between a task pane on the side of display and a modeless pane, construed as dialog box that can be moved over a document (Doan, [0022], [0024] at least Figures 2-4 depict a task pane with controls at the very top right for switching back to a dialog box).
…
receive, via a third input from the input device, one or more changes made via the GUI comprising a second selection of other content data; More specifically, a mouse is a selection device with clicking input, the format object task pane 205 may be automatically updated with formatting controls 360 associated with selecting a second object (Doan, [0025], [0035], [0040], claim 11, since Doan does not clearly select multiple simultaneously, Doan essentially cancels a selection in leu of another). The user can choose to switch back and forth between a task pane on the side of display and a dialog box (Doan, [0022], at least Figures 2-4 depict a task pane with controls at the very top right for undocking the task pane, making it a floating dialog box).
While Doan additionally states one or more application programs 620 may be loaded into memory 762 and run on or in association with operating system 764 (Doan, [0054]) and “a user may select a plurality of objects 120,130,140,145 to format” (Doan [0040]), it is not explicit that these objects are selected simultaneously, therefore, Doan, may not explicitly teach every aspect of
[the selection is] first selections;
after receiving the third input: display on the GUI the second selection of the other content data;
and use the first selections of the content data and the operation stored in memory to retain on the GUI the first selections of the content data and the dialog box with the operation and thereby prevent cancellation from the GUI of the first selections of the content data and the dialog box as a result of the third input.
Malak describes a user interface for performing operations on selections of content (Malak, abstract). The user interface involves a spreadsheet with selectable cells of text/characters for use in generating regular expressions based on the selected text. After first characters are selected/highlighted, a non-modal dialog box is shown for performing an operation on the selected characters (Malak, [0141]-[0146], at least Figure 14, the first selection is “360-224-0539”). A user can select/highlight additional text characters under the non-modal dialog box and the non-modal dialog box is updated accordingly (Malak, [0149], at least Figure 15, the first selection is maintained, and text “(786) 222-9069” and “(919) 257-5648” are added to the selection). The fact that the dialog box is described as updated instantly responsive to additional user selecting/highlighting shows the previous text selection and non-modal dialog box are not canceled/dismissed responsive to additional text selections.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Doan and Malak that a computing device for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface would include retaining previous selections of objects/content and the dialog box of an operation while additional selections are added. With Doan and Malak disclosing the selection of objects and the display of an operation to be performed on the selected objects, with Doan disclosing the formatting operation task pane can be switched between docked and undocked (dialog) at any time, and that the selected objects can change at any time while the formatting operation task pane/dialog is displayed, and with Malak additionally disclosing retaining previous selections of objects/content and the dialog box of an operation while additional selections are added, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a computing device for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface would include retaining of selections of objects/content and operations as additional objects are multiply selected in order to allow a user to perform operations on more than one object at the same time without closing the dialog thus speeding up the operations. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this computing device for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface.
Regarding claim 16, Doan and Malak teach the computing device as set forth in claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to perform the operation after displaying a result of the one or more changes while retaining, on the GUI, the first selections of the content data. More specifically, when a formatting operation is selected the formatting operation is performed (Doan, [0038]). The selected object can be changed and the formatting options reflect the change (Doan, [0039]-[0040]). Additionally, selections are maintained while additional selections can be added (Malak, [0149], Figures 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 17, Doan and Malak teach the computing device as set forth in claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to store, in the memory, the one or more changes prior to displaying a result of the one or more changes in the GUI while retaining, on the GUI, the selections of the content data and the operation. More specifically, the combination of memory naturally storing GUI selections (Doan or Malak) with the formatting operations can be performed after any changes of the selected objects (Doan, Figure 5, steps 520, 525, and 530). The formatting options include drop down boxes and sliders that would be continuously changeable (Doan, at least Figures 1 and 3). Additionally, selections are maintained while additional selections can be added (Malak, [0149], Figures 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 18, Doan and Malak teach the computing device as set forth in claim 13 wherein the one or more processors are further configured execute the instructions to: receive one or more operation changes to the operation; and display the one or more operation changes while retaining, on the GUI, the one or more changes and the first selections of the content data and the second selection of the other content data. More specifically, the formatting operations can be performed after any changes of the selected objects (Doan, Figure 5, steps 520, 525, and 530). The formatting options include drop down boxes and sliders that would be continuously changeable (Doan, at least Figures 1 and 3). Additionally, selections are maintained while additional selections can be added (Malak, [0149], Figures 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 20, Doan and Malak teach the computing device as set forth in claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: display a set of one or more possible operations to be performed on the first selections of the content data, wherein the operation is selected from the set of possible operations; and update the GUI to reduce a displayed number of possible operations based on the one or more changes. More specifically, Doan suggests to updating of the operations according to changes in the selected objects (Doan, Figure 5, [0040]). Additionally, multiple text/characters can be selected ay any time while the non-model dialog box is open without canceling the dialog box. At least Figures 14, 15, 16A, 16B, 17, depict a first set of operations and at least Figures 25A, 25B, 28, 31, 34, 35, 39, and 42-48 depict additional operations for additional selections (Malak, [0149], Figures 25, 28, 31, 34, 35, 39, and 42-48 and associated description).
Regarding claim 21, Doan and Malak teach the computing device as set forth in claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: display a set of one or more possible operations to be performed on the first selections of the content data, wherein the operation is selected from the set of possible operations; and update the GUI to add one or more new possible operations based on the one or more changes. More specifically, Doan suggests updating of the operations according to changes in the selected objects (Doan, Figure 5, [0040]). Additionally, multiple text/characters can be selected ay any time while the non-model dialog box is open without canceling the dialog box. At least Figures 14, 15, 16A, 16B, 17, depict a first set of operations and at least Figures 25A, 25B, 28, 31, 34, 35, 39, and 42-48 depict additional operations for additional selections (Malak, [0149], Figures 25, 28, 31, 34, 35, 39, and 42-48 and associated description).
Regarding claim 23, Doan and Malak teach the computing device as set forth in claim 13, wherein the one or more changes comprises an additional content data selection, and the one or more processors are further configured execute the instructions to: display a first set of one or more possible operations to be performed on the first selections of the content data, wherein the operation is selected from the first set of possible operations; and display a second set of one or more possible operations to be performed on the additional content data selection. More specifically, Doan suggests updating of the operations according to changes in the selected objects (Doan, Figure 5, [0040]). Additionally, multiple text/characters can be selected ay any time while the non-model dialog box is open without canceling the dialog box. At least Figures 14, 15, 16A, 16B, 17, depict a first set of operations and at least Figures 25A, 25B, 28, 31, 34, 35, 39, and 42-48 depict additional operations for additional selections (Malak, [0149], Figures 25, 28, 31, 34, 35, 39, and 42-48 and associated description).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doan and Malak, and further in view of Raskin.
Regarding claim 22, Doan and Malak teach the computing device as set forth in claim 13, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to:
determine that the dialog box obscures at least some of the content data; and adjust a transparency of the dialog box to allow for display of all the content data.
Raskin discloses dialog boxes are typically opaque and require the user to actuate one of the user interface controls (or use a keyboard equivalent) in order to dismiss the dialog box and continue working (Raskin, col 26, lines 25-52). Thus, with conventional opaque message boxes and dialog boxes, at least a portion of the display is typically obscured by the message or dialog box. Also, the user typically must take some additional action--beyond merely continuing to do what the user was doing before the box was displayed--to dismiss the message or dialog box. The transparent message box solves most of these problems by allowing the user to both see and to click on items that are visually "beneath" the scrim-like message (Raskin, col 26, lines 53-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Doan and Malak with Raskin that a computing device for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface using a dialog box would include determining, by the computing device, that the dialog box obscures at least some of the content data; [and] adjusting, by the computing device, the transparency of the dialog box to allow for display of all the content data. With Doan and Malak with Raskin disclosing the selection of objects and operations to be performed on the selected objects, with Doan disclosing that the selected objects can change at any time while the formatting operation pane/dialog is displayed, with Malak disclosing that more than one content object can be selected at the same time, and with Raskin disclosing making dialog boxes transparent so that a user can continue to make selections below the dialog box, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a computing device for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface using a dialog box would include determining, by the computing device, that the dialog box obscures at least some of the content data; [and] adjusting, by the computing device, the transparency of the dialog box to allow for display of all the content data in order to allow a user to see and continue to work with items underneath a displayed dialog box. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this computing device for providing dynamic selection in a graphical user interface.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
“Jargonfreehelp” (Youtube: “Excel 2003:VLOOKUP Function”) – dialog box is maintained on screen while a user can change selections below.
“MrExcell.com” (Youtube: “Excel - Entering Functions using the Function Arguments Dialog - Episode 409”) – dialog box is maintained on screen while a user can change selections below.
Thorsander (CA 2807126 A1) – a sidebar/overlay with functions for the selected objects allows for selecting more 770 objects.
Adobe Creative Cloud (“Adobe XD Release March 2019: Selecting objects across groups for easy editing | Adobe Creative Cloud”, Youtube) – selecting multiple objects (with shift clicking) resulting in properties/operations pertaining to the selected objects being displayed for adjusting.
Winbush (“Unreal Engine Select Multiple Objects In Viewport”, Youtube) - selecting multiple objects (with shift clicking) resulting in properties/operations pertaining to the selected objects being displayed for adjusting.
ETCVideoLibrary (“Hierarchy and Inspector Tools”) - selecting multiple objects (with shift clicking) resulting in properties/operations pertaining to the selected objects being displayed for adjusting.
Radtke (US 8,117,542 B2) – operation menu is invoked for a selected object, and the selected object can be changed while the menu is maintained.
No (US 10,409,808 B2) - operation menu is invoked for a selected object, and the selected object can be changed while the menu is maintained.
Mihalcea (US 2011/0010645 A1) – a dialog can be made transparent allowing mouse clicks to pass through it ([0037]).
Lefor (US 2017/0242567 A1) – a dialog can be made transparent allowing visibility below it ([0049]).
Andrew (US 6,633,310 B1) – a dialog can be made transparent allowing visibility below it (col 2, lines 9-25).
Conclusion
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171