DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 2-21 are pending.
Claim 1 is canceled.
Claims 2-3, 6, 9-10, 13, 16-17, and 20 are objected to.
Claims 2-21 are rejected.
Priority
This application is a CON of 15/579,475 filed Dec 4 2017 (abandoned), which claims priority to PCT/EP2016/062387, filed Jun 1 2016, and EP15170816.1, filed Jun 5 2015.
Accordingly, each of claims 2-21 are afforded the effective filing date of Jun 5 2015.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on Aug 31 2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has therefore been considered. A signed copy of the IDS document is included with this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following informalities: Fig. 1-6 are of poor quality and are difficult to read. Submission of higher quality drawings is requested.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to for the following informalities. It is noted that for purposes of the instant Office Action, any reference to the specification pertains to the specification as originally filed on May 25 2022.
Abstract
The abstract is objected to for the following informalities: on lines 4-5, “a first obtained data” should be amended to “first obtained data”; on line 5, “from” after “a first assigned value” should be deleted; on line 6, “a first storable data” should be amended to “first storable data”; on lines 7-8, “a second obtained data” should be amended to “second obtained data”; on line 10, “a second storable data” should be amended to “second storable data”; and on line 11-12, “a second transmittable data” should be amended to “second transmittable data”.
Appropriate correction for all objections to the specification is required.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to for the following informalities:
Claim 2, limitation 3, recites “as second data transmission connections”, where the “as” should be amended to recite “a”.
Claim 2, limitation 8, recites “a first storable data”, which should be amended to remove the “a”. Claims 9 and 16 are similarly objected to.
Claim 2, limitation 9 on p. 2 and first limitation on p. 3, recites “the second human DNA identifier”, which should be amended to recite “the second human DNA variant identifier” to maintain consistent claim language. Claims 9 and 16 are similarly objected to.
Claim 2, limitation 11, recites “a second storable data”, which should be amended to remove the “a”. Claims 9 and 16 are similarly objected to. Claims 9 and 16 are similarly objected to.
Claim 2, second limitation on p. 3, recites “a second transmittable data”, which should be amended to remove the “a”. Claims 9 and 16 are similarly objected to.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the first classification value and the second classification value is”, which should be amended to change the “is” to “are”. Claims 10 and 17 are similarly objected to.
Claim 6, second limitation, recites “the update first quality score”, which should be amended to recite “the updated first quality score”. Claims 13 and 20 are similarly objected to.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Terminology
Contingent Claiming
In the interest of compact prosecution, the instant claims are examined to consider all claim limitations. However, the claims contain recitations of intended use and contingent claim language that affect the scope of the claims, as listed below. The courts have stated that claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification (see MPEP § 2111).
The instant claims include a recitation of contingent claim language.
With respect to contingent claiming, said contingencies as claimed require that the claims are interpreted as provided for in the MPEP at 2111.04 (II), wherein: “the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met). For example, assume a method claim requires step A, if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B”.
In the instant claims, the following is a “contingent” recitation:
Claim 9, limitation 8: “determining, based on comparing the first human DNA variant identifier and the second human DNA identifier, whether the first human DNA variant identifier and the second human DNA variant identifier correspond to DNA variants observed in a similar region of a human genome”.
Claim 9, limitation 9: “in response to the first human DNA variant identifier and the second human DNA variant identifier corresponding to DNA variants observed in a similar region of a human genome and in response to the second quality score being higher than the first quality score, transmitting a second transmittable data to the first data repository, wherein the second transmittable data includes at least the second quality score and the second classification value; and updating, based on the second transmittable data, the first classification value within the first data repository”.
With respect to the interpretations above, it is suggested that the claims be amended to recite alternative language so as to avoid interpretation of contingent claiming.
These claims and the particular intended use and contingent recitations have been examined with respect to the prior art in the interest of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to one or more judicial exceptions without significantly more.
MPEP 2106 organizes judicial exception analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prongs One and Two) and 2B as follows below. MPEP 2106 and the following USPTO website provide further explanation and case law citations: uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/examination-guidance-and-training-materials.
Framework with which to Evaluate Subject Matter Eligibility:
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter;
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea;
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application (Prong Two); and
Step 2B: If the claims do not integrate the judicial exception, do the claims provide an inventive concept.
Framework Analysis as Pertains to the Instant Claims:
Step 1
With respect to Step 1: yes, the claims are directed to a system, a method, and a non-transitory computer readable medium, i.e., a process, machine, or manufacture within the above 101 categories [Step 1: YES; See MPEP § 2106.03].
Step 2A, Prong One
With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. The MPEP at 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships and mathematical calculations);
certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic practices or principles, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people); and/or
mental processes (procedures for observing, evaluating, analyzing/ judging and organizing information).
With respect to the instant claims, under the Step 2A, Prong One evaluation, the claims are found to recite abstract ideas that fall into the grouping of mental processes (in particular procedures for observing, analyzing and organizing information) are as follows:
Independent claims 2, 9, and 16: determining a first quality score of the first data point;
determining a first storable data from at least one of the first data point or the first quality score;
determining a second quality score of the second data point;
determining a second storable data from at least one of the second data point or the second quality score;
comparing the first human DNA variant identifier and the second human DNA variant identifier; and
determining, based on comparing the first human DNA variant identifier and the second human DNA identifier, whether the first human DNA variant identifier and the second human DNA variant identifier correspond to DNA variants observed in a similar region of a human genome; and
updating, based on the second transmittable data, the first classification value within the first data repository.
Dependent claims 6, 13, and 20: updating the first quality score.
Dependent claims 7, 14, and 21: converting the first DNA data point into the second data format;
converting the second DNA data point into the first data format; and
converting the first DNA data point and the second DNA data point into a central data format.
Dependent claims 8 and 15: using the updated first classification value to generate a diagnosis.
The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and determined to each cover performance either in the mind because the method only requires a user to manually compare determined parameters and update data stored in repositories based on those comparisons. Without further detail as to the methodology involved in “determining”, “comparing”, “updating”, and “converting”, under the BRI, one may simply, for example, use pen and paper to determine a first and second quality score of first and second data points, convert first and second data into each other’s format and a central data format, determine first and second storable data, compare first and second variant identifiers to determine the variants are in a similar region of the human genome, and, in response to the variants being in the similar region and the second quality score being higher, updating a first data repository.
Therefore, claims 1, 9, and 16 and those claims dependent therefrom recite an abstract idea [Step 2A, Prong 1: YES; See MPEP § 2106.04].
Step 2A, Prong Two
Because the claims do recite judicial exceptions, direction under Step 2A, Prong Two, provides that the claims must be examined further to determine whether they integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). A claim can be said to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application when it applies, relies on, or uses the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. This is performed by analyzing the additional elements of the claim to determine if the judicial exceptions are integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d).I.; MPEP 2106.05(a-h)). If the claim contains no additional elements beyond the judicial exceptions, the claim is said to fail to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d).III).
Additional elements, Step 2A, Prong Two
With respect to the instant recitations, the claims recite the following additional elements:
Independent claims 2, 9, and 16: receiving, from a first data repository, a first DNA data point, the first DNA data point including a first human DNA variant identifier and a first classification value of the first human DNA identifier;
receiving, from a second data repository, a second DNA data point, the second DNA data point including a second human DNA variant identifier and a second classification value of the second human DNA identifier; and
in response to the first human DNA variant identifier and the second human DNA variant identifier corresponding to DNA variants observed in a similar region of a human genome and in response to the second quality score being higher than the first quality score, transmitting a second transmittable data to the first data repository, wherein the second transmittable data includes at least the second quality score and the second classification value.
Dependent claims 5, 12, and 19: transmitting the first quality score to the first data repository;
storing the first storable data in a first storable memory; and
storing the second storable data in a second storable memory.
Dependent claims 6, 13, and 20: transmitting the update first quality score to at least one of the first data repository or the second data repository.
Dependent claims 3-4, 7, 10-11, 14, 17-18, and 21 recite steps that further limit the recited additional elements in the claims. For example, claims 3, 10, and 17 further limit the first and second classification values; claims 4, 11, and 18 further limit the first and second human DNA variant identifier; claims 7, 14, and 21 further limit the first and second DNA data point to being in different, incompatible formats.
The claims also include non-abstract computing elements. For example, independent claim 2 includes a data quality management system comprising: a database server; a first data repository coupled to the database server through a first data transmission connection; a second data repository coupled to the database server through as second data transmission connection; a processor; and memory, including instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations; independent claim 9 includes a computer implemented method; and claim 16 includes a non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions stored thereon, that when executed by a processor of a computing device cause the processor to perform operations.
Considerations under Step 2A, Prong Two
With respect to Step 2A, Prong Two, the additional elements of the claims do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application for the following reasons. Those steps directed to data gathering, such as “receiving” and “storing” data, and to data outputting, such as “transmitting” data, perform functions of collecting the data needed to carry out the judicial exceptions. Data gathering and outputting do not impose any meaningful limitation on the judicial exceptions, or on how the judicial exceptions are performed. Data gathering and outputting steps are not sufficient to integrate judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Further limitations directed to additional non-abstract computing elements do not describe any specific computational steps by which the “computer parts” perform or carry out the judicial exceptions, nor do they provide any details of how specific structures of the computer, such as the computer-readable recording media, are used to implement these functions. The claims state nothing more than a generic computer which performs the functions that constitute the judicial exceptions. Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions using a computer, and therefore the claim does not integrate that judicial exceptions into a practical application. The courts have weighed in and consistently maintained that when, for example, a memory, display, processor, machine, etc.… are recited so generically (i.e., no details are provided) that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer, and these limitations may be viewed as nothing more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The specification as published discloses that the method improves data quality at [0001], but does not provide a clear explanation for how the additional elements provide these improvements. Therefore, the additional elements do not clearly improve the functioning of a computer, or comprise an improvement to any other technical field. Further, the additional elements do not clearly affect a particular treatment; they do not clearly require or set forth a particular machine; they do not clearly effect a transformation of matter; nor do they clearly provide a nonconventional or unconventional step (MPEP2106.04(d)).
Thus, none of the claims recite additional elements which would integrate a judicial exception into a practical application, and the claims are directed to one or more judicial exceptions [Step 2A, Prong 2: NO; See MPEP § 2106.04(d)].
Step 2B (MPEP 2106.05.A i-vi)
According to analysis so far, the additional elements described above do not provide significantly more than the judicial exception. A determination of whether additional elements provide significantly more also rests on whether the additional elements or a combination of elements represents other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Conventionality is a question of fact and may be evidenced as: a citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during prosecution that demonstrates a well-understood, routine or conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to one or more of the court decisions as discussed in MPEP 2106(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); and/or a statement that the examiner is taking official notice with respect to the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
With respect to the instant claims, the courts have found that receiving and outputting data are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of a computer when claimed in a merely generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity (see Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information), buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network), Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015), and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)). As such, the claims simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception (MPEP2106.05(d)). The data gathering steps as recited in the instant claims constitute a general link to a technological environment which is insufficient to constitute an inventive concept which would render the claims significantly more than the judicial exception (MPEP2106.05(g)&(h)).
With respect to claims 2, 9, and 16 and those claims dependent therefrom, the computer-related elements or the general purpose computer do not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims state nothing more than a generic computer which performs the functions that constitute the judicial exceptions. Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions using a computer, which the courts have found to not provide significantly more when recited in a claim with a judicial exception (Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984; see MPEP 2106.05(A)). The specification as published also notes that computer processors and systems, as example, are commercially available or widely used at [0072]. The additional elements are set forth at such a high level of generality that they can be met by a general purpose computer. Therefore, the computer components constitute no more than a general link to a technological environment, which is insufficient to constitute an inventive concept that would render the claims significantly more than the judicial exceptions (see MPEP 2106.05(b)I-III).
Taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception(s). Even when viewed as a combination, the additional elements fail to transform the exception into a patent-eligible application of that exception. Thus, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself [Step 2B: NO; See MPEP § 2106.05].
Therefore, the instant claims are not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to one or more judicial exceptions without significantly more. For additional guidance, applicant is directed generally to the MPEP § 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Landrum et al. (Nucleic Acids Research, 42(D1):D980-D985; newly cited).
The prior art to Landrum discloses ClinVar, a freely available archive of reports of relationships among medically important variants and phenotypes (abstract). Landrum teaches the instant features, indicated by the closed circles, as follows. Instantly claimed elements which are considered to be equivalent to the prior art teachings are described in bold for all claims.
Claim 2 discloses a data quality management system comprising: a database server; a first data repository coupled to the database server through a first data transmission connection; a second data repository coupled to the database server through as second data transmission connection; a processor; and memory, including instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations. Claim 9 discloses a computer implemented method for quality management of DNA data. Claim 16 discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions stored thereon, that when executed by a processor of a computing device cause the processor to perform operations.
Landrum teaches that ClinVar is an archive accessed through the internet, which reads on a data quality management system comprising a processor and memory including instructions stored thereon as recited in claim 2, a computer implemented method as recited in claim 9, and a non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions stored thereon as recited in claim 16. ClinVar itself, or Reference ClinVar (p. D981, col. 1, par. 4), is considered to read on a database server, ClinVar released on the website (p. D982, col. 1, par. 4; p. D983, col. 2, par. 3) is considered to read on a first data repository as instantly claimed, and the submissions (abstract; p. D982, col. 1, par. 5 through p. D983, col. 2, par. 2) are considered to read on a second data repository as instantly claimed. As ClinVar communicates both with the released version and the submission, it is considered that this fairly teaches a coupling through a first and second data transmission connection as recited in claim 2.
The operations and method of claims 2, 9, and 16 comprise:
receiving, from a first data repository, a first DNA data point, the first DNA data point including a first human DNA variant identifier and a first classification value of the first human DNA identifier;
determining a first quality score of the first data point;
determining a first storable data from at least one of the first data point or the first quality score;
receiving, from a second data repository, a second DNA data point, the second DNA data point including a second human DNA variant identifier and a second classification value of the second human DNA identifier;
determining a second quality score of the second data point;
determining a second storable data from at least one of the second data point or the second quality score;
Landrum teaches generating a ClinVar record (i.e., determining first and second storable data) (Table 1), the contents of which include the variation (i.e. first DNA data point) with the sequence at one location the rs# or variant call identifier (i.e., first human DNA variant identifier), which Landrum further teaches is added when variants are submitted (i.e., second DNA data point) (p. D981, col. 1, par. 3 through col. 2, par. 3). Landrum teaches that the variants also include phenotype information (i.e., first and second classification values) (p. D981, col. 2, par. 4). Landrum further teaches that the evidence that supports an interpretation of the variation-phenotype relationship is included in the ClinVar record, which can include a number of observations per person or chromosome, number of segregations observed, the number of times other rare variations were identified in the same gene or other genes, etc. (i.e., determining a first and second quality score) (p. D982, col. 1, par. 3).
comparing the first human DNA variant identifier and the second human DNA variant identifier; and
determining, based on comparing the first human DNA variant identifier and the second human DNA identifier, whether the first human DNA variant identifier and the second human DNA variant identifier correspond to DNA variants observed in a similar region of a human genome;
Landrum teaches that variations submitted to ClinVar are compared with variant locations in other databases (p. D981, col. 1, p.ar 4). Landrum teaches that when data flow into ClinVar, ClinVar automatically processes the allelic variant portions of any gene record and defines the variants based on nucleotide coordinates (p. D982, col. 1, par. 4 through col. 2, par. 2), which is considered to read on the limitations directed to “comparing” and “determining” above because ClinVar groups variants together by gene and nucleotide coordinates.
in response to the first human DNA variant identifier and the second human DNA variant identifier corresponding to DNA variants observed in a similar region of a human genome and in response to the second quality score being higher than the first quality score, transmitting a second transmittable data to the first data repository, wherein the second transmittable data includes at least the second quality score and the second classification value; and
updating, based on the second transmittable data, the first classification value within the first data repository.
Landrum teaches that the submission process involves several validation steps (p. D982, col. 2, par. 5; p. D983, col. 1, par. 3 through col. 2, par. 1), including whether the reference sequence or expression is valid or if the clinical significance or phenotype differs from standard. Landrum teaches that once validated, submitted variants are included (i.e., transmitted) in the Reference ClinVar (RCV) record, which is accessible through the website (i.e., updating the first classification value within the first data repository), where the ClinVar record includes the newly submitted phenotype of the variant (i.e., classification value) (Table 1). Landrum is considered to teach transmitting the data when the second quality score being higher than the first quality score as instantly claimed because Landrum teaches including the submitted data when it is validated.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Landrum teaches claims 2, 9, and 16 as described above. Claims 3, 10, and 17 further add that the first classification value and the second classification value is one of: benign, likely benign, unknown significance, likely pathogenic, or pathogenic.
Landrum teaches including pathogenic variants as part of the examined phenotypes (p. D981, col. 2, par. 4).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Landrum teaches claims 2, 9, and 16 as described above. Claims 4, 11, and 18 further add at least one of the first human DNA variant identifier or the second human DNA variant identifier includes a coordinate of the human genome and a determined change with respect to a reference genome.
Landrum teaches that when data flow into ClinVar, ClinVar automatically processes the allelic variant portions (i.e., determined change) of any gene record and defines the variants based on nucleotide coordinates (p. D982, col. 1, par. 4 through col. 2, par. 2). Landrum teaches that the variations are represented relative to at least one reference sequence/genome (p. D981, col. 1, par. 3 through col. 1, par. 2).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Landrum teaches claims 2, 9, and 16 as described above. Claims 5, 12, and 19 further add transmitting the first quality score to the first data repository; storing the first storable data in a first storable memory; and storing the second storable data in a second storable memory.
Landrum teaches that ClinVar is released on the website (p. D982, col. 1, par. 4; p. D983, col. 2, par. 3), where the ClinVar record (i.e., first storable data) includes the evidence for the phenotypes of the variants (Table 1) (i.e., transmitting the first quality score to the first data repository; storing the first storable data in a first storable memory). Landrum teaches that submissions are converted to ClinVar’s submission XML (i.e., storing the second storable data in a second storable memory) (p. D982, col. 1, par. 5).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Landrum teaches claims 2, 9, and 16 as described above. Claims 6, 13, and 20 further add updating the first quality score; and transmitting the update first quality score to at least one of the first data repository or the second data repository.
Landrum teaches that ClinVar is released on the website (p. D982, col. 1, par. 4; p. D983, col. 2, par. 3), where the ClinVar record includes the evidence for the phenotypes of the variants (Table 1) (i.e., updating and transmitting the first quality score to the first data repository).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 21, Landrum teaches claims 2, 9, and 16 as described above. Claims 7, 14, and 21 further add that the first DNA data point is in a first data format and the second DNA data point is in a second data format incompatible with the first data format, and further add converting the first DNA data point into the second data format; converting the second DNA data point into the first data format; and converting the first DNA data point and the second DNA data point into a central data format.
Landrum teaches that ClinVar automatically processes the allelic variant portions of any gene record being submitted and converts them to ClinVar’s submission XML, converting submitted data in tables to ClinVar submission XML using standard transcript-based HGVS expressions to define variants in nucleotide coordinates, converting data in dbSNP to ClinVar submission XML, converting test or spreadsheet submissions into standard submission XML (p. D982, col. 1, par. 5 through col. 2, par. 3), which reads on converting the first and second DNA data points into a central data format as instantly claimed. Landrum teaches producing a README file which provides a comprehensive list, pointing, for example, to the file converting MIM numbers, GeneIDs and MedGen concepts ids on Gene’s FTP site (mim2gene_medgen), the standard terms at GTR’s FTP site and the tab-delimited, XML and VCF files from ClinVar (p. D984, col. 2, par. 2 through p. D985, col. 1, par. 1), which reads on converting the first and second DNA data points to the second and first data formats as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Landrum teaches claims 2 and 9 as described above. Claims 8 and 15 further add using the updated first classification value to generate a diagnosis.
Landrum teaches that the variations presented in ClinVar (i.e., updated first classification value, as described above) include phenotypic information such as diagnostic terms or indications for genetic testing (p. D981, col. 2, par. 4).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Inquiries
/JANNA NICOLE SCHULTZHAUS/Examiner, Art Unit 1685