DETAILED ACTION
The instant amendment is almost identical to the previously submitted and examined claims, with almost all amendments to the claims coming from other claims that were previously examined and rejected. Because the prior art relied upon in the instant rejection is the same, the embodiments relied upon from those prior art references are the same, and no new issues are raised, the first action final of the instant amendment is proper.
Applicant has submitted two sets of claim amendments with substantially similar amendments on 10/4/2025 and 10/6/2026. While a supplemental response is permitted, it must be made in view of any prior amendments also submitted. As such, re-amending the same claims in a similar manner as was previously done is improper as those amendments were already part of a prior claim set. It is presumed that applicant did not wish to have the amendments filed 10/4/2025 entered, and instead, desired the amended set of 10/6/2025 to be examined. All future amendments must comply with the rules set forth in the MPEP.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the arguments on page 13 directed towards the IDS,
The Examiner respectfully notes that the previous documents at issue were not considered because no written opinion or document with the listed title for the first NPL document on the IDS has been provided, and the Chinese language document was not reasonably identified in the manner required by 37 C.F.R. 1.98. The issue here is therefore not that applicant perform a translation of any document, but that no document with the listed title was provided consistent with the above rule. As such, the references at issue have not been considered.
With regard to the arguments on pages 14-18 directed towards the previous 112(a) rejections,
As to Claim 16,
Applicant notes that the previous Office Action asserted that the previous 112(a) rejection of Claim 16 was withdrawn but then Claim 16 was rejected. The Examiner respectfully notes that the reason for this is that the issue raised in the Office Action of 6/4/2025 was different than that raised in the Office Action of 11/27/2024. The issue raised in the earlier action was withdrawn, but a new issue was then raised. That stated, the previous 112(a) rejection of this claim is withdrawn in view of applicant’s arguments.
As to Claim 17,
Applicant points to page 25 for support for the claim feature, but the Examiner respectfully notes that disclosing that different magnets can be associated to a single sensor element is not reasonably stating that plural magnets with overlapping fields are associated with one sensor, nor does it reasonably explain the manner in which such a feature would be implemented. What applicant is showing in Figure 3a is the presence of plural magnets in the presence of plural sensors. As such, all sensors would reasonable experience the superposition of the magnetic fields from the magnets, with any movement of the collective magnets being different for each relative sensor. However, this does not reasonably explain how any superposition or overlapping of any set of or subset of the magnets are “associated” with any particular magnetic element. Meaning, merely because the collective magnetic field will be detectable at any particular sensor does not mean that the magnetic elements are associated with any particular sensor. The magnets are no more associated with any particular sensor as they were to any or all sensors. As such, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As to Claims 18 and 19,
Applicant argues that support is found in Figures 10a, 10b, and page 21, lines 12-21. On a first note, the above noted page a line numbers do not appear to line up with those of the filed specification. That stated, none of these sections, or any ability to determine a different between two sensor signals does not reasonably explain the manner in which any correction is implemented. Applicant argues the reducing of disturbances, but the Examiner respectfully notes that this is not disclosed with reference to the difference, and that merely taking a difference does not reasonably perform a correction nor explain the manner in which any correction is implemented.
Applicant then argues that the information missing is conventional technical knowledge. First, the Examiner respectfully notes that attorney argument cannot reasonably establish what was and was not conventional, as attorney argument is not evidence (see MPEP 2145(I)). Second, the Examiner respectfully notes that whether a feature was or was not conventional does not make it part of the disclosure. As explained in Lockwood v. Am. Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997), “The question is not whether a claimed invention is an obvious variant of that which is disclosed in the specification. Rather, a prior application itself must describe an invention, and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that the inventor invented the claimed invention as of the filing date sought. See Martin v. Mayer, 823 F.2d 500, 504, 3 USPQ2d 1333, 1337 (Fed.Cir.1987) (stating that it is "not a question of whether one skilled in the art might be able to construct the patentee's device from the teachings of the disclosure.... Rather, it is a question whether the application necessarily discloses that particular device.") (quoting Jepson v. Coleman, 50 C.C.P.A. 1051, 314 F.2d 533, 536, 136 USPQ 647, 649-50 (1963)).” The written description requirement is such that it is the original disclosure that must reasonably demonstrate the manner in which applicant implements a claim feature in order to establish possession. To that point, without any reasonable explanation as to the manner in which applicant performed any type of correction, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably recognize whether applicant intended to rely upon a conventional correction approach, or if applicant had invented a new approach and was relying upon the invented approach. Second, even to the extent that applicant intended to rely upon a conventional approach, the original disclosure cannot be completely silent as to the manner in which such an approach is implemented. While applicant may rely upon that which is well-known in the art and thus limit the amount of features that are disclosed, applicant must still provide some reasonable guidance as to what that well-known approach is in order to establish proper written description. For example, if applicant intended to use convergence to minimize the difference between values in order to perform some type of data correction, then applicant need only state as such. A person of ordinary skill in the art would then understand how to implement such a feature. However, when the original disclosure is completely silent, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably recognize what type of correction applicant intended, or any manner in which applicant intended to use for such a correction. As such, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As to Claims 13 and 14,
While this section is directed towards 112(a), applicant argues the 112(b) rejections for the above claims. To that point, the Examiner respectfully notes that while applicant identifies the mirror-symmetrical setup, applicant does not reasonably explain, within the confines of the four corners of the application, where such an arrangement provides the claimed unambiguous association. Figure 3a shows four magnets, and each sensor will experience the superposition (combined overall magnetic field) from these four magnets. The use of these four magnets are not reasonably disclosed to provide any unambiguous association, and the original disclosure itself does not reasonably make or explain such a feature with regard to these magnets. Furthermore, even to the extent that a sensor experiences a stronger magnetic field due to a proximity to one magnet over another, this does not explain the presence or affect of the other magnets, nor does it reasonably demonstrate that any association is unambiguous. Note that an association of one object to another is not clearly limited to any form of detection. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With regard to the arguments on page 19 directed towards the previous 112(b) rejections,
No specific arguments are presented, and thus those rejections that are overcome by the instant amendments are withdrawn, and those that are not are repeated below.
With regard to the arguments on pages 20-30 directed towards the previous 102 and 103 rejections,
Applicant argues that Nakajima (US 2010/0301847) does not disclose the coating because it discloses a completely different concept because the particles are kneaded in molten thermoplastic resin and then injection molded. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the Examiner respectfully notes that the prior art is only required to disclose that which is claimed, and there is no requirement that the prior art disclose features from the specification.
Second, Claim 1 is an apparatus claim. As explained in MPEP 2113(II), “II. ONCE A PRODUCT APPEARING TO BE SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL IS FOUND AND A PRIOR ART REJECTION IS MADE, THE BURDEN SHIFTS TO THE APPLICANT TO SHOW AN NONOBVIOUS DIFFERENCE
"The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 803, 218 USPQ 289, 292-33 (Fed. Cir. 1983).”
To that point, the final product of Nakajima is reasonably substantially identical to that of applicant. Applicant does not reasonably present any evidence to support that the final product using applicant’s method of manufacture would impart any different in the final product, nor provide any evidence that such a different is a “non-obvious difference.” Meaning, as explained above, it is not sufficient that applicant demonstrate that some difference exists, if such a different would even be present. Instead, applicant bears the burden of demonstrating that such a difference would also be a non-obvious difference.
Applicant then argues that atomic layer deposition and kneading molten resin are fundamentally different manufacturing approaches, along with various citations from Wikipedia. However, this does not reasonably overcome the prior art or establish that any argued difference is non-obvious. First, merely because two approaches to manufacturing are different does not reasonably mean that the final product has any structural difference. While applicant points to the melting points of the materials, the Examiner respectfully notes that this speaks to the actual materials used to form the products, and not the actual manufacturing processes themselves. Meaning, the issue here is not what actual materials were used in the final product, but rather, the issue here is whether the argued process to form the final product would yield structural distinctions. Applicant does not claim any specific type of material, and thus the claims are not limited to any particular material beyond one that can reasonable be said to be magnetic. Applicant has not presented any evidence that manufacturing process used in the prior art would yield a structurally different final product than that of applicant using applicant’s atomic layer deposition process. For example, if the same material in both processes were used, there is no evidence that the final product formed from one process would have a structural distinction from one formed from the other process. Second, none of what applicant has cited is evidence, because merely citing websites without actually providing the articles themselves is not providing evidence to support applicant’s position. Third, Wikipedia, respectfully, is not evidence because it is well recognized that this website is user-editable. Four, what applicant is presenting is attorney argument, and nothing cited reasonably coveys or explains that the two different manufacturing approaches would yield final products having structural distinctions. Lastly, even to the extent that the final products did have structural distinctions, applicant ha snot presented any evidence, as required, that these differences would be non-obvious.
Applicant then argues that Gao et al. (Gao) (US 2019/0068008) does not teach the use of atomic layer deposition to form a magnetic structure out of particles. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, whether Gao does or does not form a magnet using particles is not at issue, and Gao is not relied upon for such a feature. The purpose of Gao is to demonstrate that the process of forming an overall magnet using the approach in Nakajima and the process of using atomic deposition to form a magnet was obvious. The test here is not whether the actual materials used in the process are different, but whether the overall processes themselves are obvious when used to form a magnet. Gao reasonably demonstrates that these processes are obvious, where it explains that “The hybrid permanent magnet 100 may also be assembled via integration such as injection or compression molding. More specifically, M1 magnet powder may be melted together and injected onto the M2 magnets 104a-b or the M2 magnets 104a-b may be brought into atomic contact with the M1 magnet 102 via force and/or heat (atomic layer deposition)” (Paragraph [0034]). Such an explanation demonstrates that it was obvious to use either the type of injection molding disclosed by Nakajima to form a magnet, or to use the type of atomic layer deposition to form it, similar to that of applicant. Based on this evidence, no nonobvious difference would exist between the approach used by Nakajima and the atomic layer deposition as claimed by applicant.
Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that atomic deposition is not used to form a magnetic structural out of particles. Gao expressly states that the magnets include a powder and use atomic deposition to from the magnets. As such, Gao must include the argued features.
Applicant then argues that an interpretation the magnets M1 and M2 have coated particles is not reasonable, but the Examiner respectfully notes that no coated particles are claimed, and to the extent that the atomic deposition processes provides such a feature, then by using atomic deposition to form magnets formed from powder, which must include particles as powder is nothing more than a bunch of particles, then Gao’s process must include the coating as claimed. While coated particles are not claimed, the atomic deposition process, is reasonably demonstrated by Gao to be an obvious variant of the process of Nakajima when forming a magnet. As such, no non-obviousness reasonably exists between these processes.
Applicant then notes the amended range of values in the claim, but the Examiner respectfully notes that these features were previously rejected and stand rejected as being obvious for the same reasons previously noted.
Lastly, applicant notes Bickford et al. (Bickford) (US 2017/0097394), but this reference as not relied upon for any atomic deposition. Applicant admits that there are many size options disclosed in the prior art, and then Examiner acknowledges this and notes this is evidence that these dimensions are result effective variables. Applicant further notes that the prior art does not disclose manufacturing a micromagnet using atomic layer deposition on magnetic particles, but the Examiner respectfully notes that such a feature is not required in the claim. As explained above, using atomic deposition is at most an obvious approach to that one relied upon in the prior art, and there is no evidence that this approach would necessarily provide a difference in the final product as opposed to the process used in the prior art. The prior art combination otherwise discloses a magnet of the claimed size, and where the magnet includes particles as explained in the rejection found below and in the response above. As such, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With regard to the arguments on pages 26-28 directed towards Claim 39,
Almost the entirety of the arguments are directed towards Nakamura, but this claim (and previous Claim 40), were rejected by Xue et al. (Xue) (US 2007/0209437) and not Nakamura. Xue discloses the claim feature for the reasons explained below.
The only argument directed towards Xue is that Xue does not suggest an amplitude ratio. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Xue discloses an amplitude of a magnetic field of a permanent-magnetic element of the other adjacent permanent-magnetic elements is at most 10 % of an amplitude of the magnetic field of a the one permanent-magnetic element at the position of the sensor element (Figure 13), (Paragraphs [0063],[0086],[0087]).
Xue is stated to disclose the above claim feature because magnets 504,512, and 522 are reasonably spaced apart such that their own respective magnetic sensors can detect their movement, as such, it is reasonable to conclude that any affect these magnetic elements have on the sensors of other corresponding magnetic elements is insignificant and at most 10% as claimed, because magnetic sensor elements spaced apart by 1 micron would not reasonably, as a function of distance, have any appreciable effect on each other as magnetic field amplitudes decrease by the formula 1/r^3.
As such, whether Xue explicitly discloses the amplitude or not does not preclude it from disclosing it implicitly or inherently. Xue reasonably discloses this feature for the reasons stated above. Even to the extent that Xue does not disclose the feature, the Examiner has already previously explained why such a feature is obvious. As such, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With regard to the arguments on pages 28-30 directed towards Claim 41 directed towards Xue et al. (Xue) (US 2007/0209437) in view of view of Shoji (US 2007/0119253),
On a first note, the argued mirror symmetric feature is not positively recited in the claim. The mirror-symmetric arrangement is expressly claimed to be “in a rest position of the microsystem.” This phrase is the same as reciting that the mirror-symmetric arrangement occurs when the system is in a rest position. However, there is no requirement for the rest position, and the prior art system will, in use, not be in a rest position when the magnets are moving. As such, the prior art can reasonably be stated to disclose the claim feature when the device is not in the rest position. However, for completeness, the rejection below address the mirror symmetric feature in the situation that the device is in a rest position.
Applicant first argues that Shoji does not disclose any advantage to arrangement magnets and sensors in a mirror symmetric manner. There is no requirement that the prior art provide explicit motivation for an explicit feature as is essentially argued by applicant. Instead, Shoji states that by having the magnets and sensors in the disclosed manner, a benefit exists, such as the ability to downsize the sensor (paragraph [0083]). An additional benefit is also provided by providing a physical and processing configuration that ensures that the movement in a direction is correctly detected by the correct sensors such that sensors for detecting other directions have outputs that cancel each other out, thus minimizing errors in detection (see paragraphs [0163],[0164]).
Applicant then argues that Xue teaches an in-plane sensor arrangement while Shoji teaches an out of plane arrangement. However, both sensor systems function in a similar manner, and whether an in-plane or out of plane system were used, the combination would still reasonably detect the intended magnetic fields. Applicant, respectfully, has not reasonably presented evidence or argument demonstration that the combination would not reasonably function as intended.
Applicant the asks how a person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude a benefit from a mirror-symmetry, but the Examiner respectfully notes that such a question does not reasonably demonstrate non-obviousness, nor does it address the express motivations provided in the previous rejections.
Applicant then asks why a person skilled in the art would considering mirroring the 522,526, and 525 configuration of Xue, but this again, respectfully, does not reasonably demonstrate non-obviousness, nor does it address the express motivations provided in the previous rejections. Applicant states there is no motivation, but applicant, respectfully, is not one skilled in the art, and instead what applicant is presenting attorney argument but where evidence is required (see MPEP 2145(I)).
Applicant argues that Shoji discloses the downsize of the sensor is with regard to the GMR elements having the same magnetization directions and not a mirror-symmetrical setup. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, as it is reasonably the entirety of the setup that provides such a benefit, and not merely one specific feature. That stated, this argument does not address the other motivation previously presented.
Applicant then argues that the combination would teach away, because the working principle of the embodiment would require a change to Xue. However, the Examiner respectfully notes that applicant does not reasonably explain why the combination would not work as intended, even if any change were made, and the Examiner further respectfully disagrees. Both references are directed towards a similar type of movement detection, and merely because a different approach were implemented, in the combination, does not mean that the combination would not work as intended. The Examiner therefore respectfully disagrees with applicant, as the prior art combination would reasonably work as intended, regardless of whether the location of the magnets were different in the combination than as disclosed in Xue. The Examiner therefore respectfully disagrees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 18, 19, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to Claim 17,
The phrase “the permanent- magnetic unit comprises a first permanent-magnetic element for generating a first magnetic field associated to the first permanent-magnetic element and a second permanent-magnetic element for generating a second magnetic field associated to the second permanent-magnetic element, for providing at least respective partial portions of the magnetic field; the sensor unit comprising a sensor element associated to the first permanent-magnetic element and the second permanent-magnetic element and the sensor unit being sensor means comprising calculation means configured to detect overlapping of the first magnetic field and the second magnetic field” on lines 1-7 lacks proper written description.
At issue here is that applicant does not reasonably disclose the manner in which applicant implements the above claim feature using two magnets and a sensor element that is itself configured to detect overlapping magnetic fields from the two magnets. In each of applicant’s described embodiments, a single sensor is associated with a corresponding magnet, or plural sensors are associated with an associated magnet. The issue here is not whether plural magnets could be associated with one sensor element, but rather the manner in which applicant would implement such an embodiment. Applicant’s disclosure is completely silent as to the manner in which two magnets are positioned or otherwise implemented together to allow a sensor element to detect them. Further, applicant’s disclosure is completely silent as to the manner in which the sensor would be implemented and located relative to these magnets in order to implement the claim feature. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description because a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably recognize the manner in which applicant implements the claim feature in order to establish possession of the claim feature.
As to Claim 18,
The phrase “the sensor unit comprises at least one sensor element, wherein each sensor element is configured to provide an associated measuring signal, the sensor unit being sensor means comprising calculation means configured to correct disturbing influences on the at least one sensor element at least partly” on lines 1-4 lacks proper written description.
At issue here is that the disclosure is completely silent as to the manner in which any component corrects disturbing influences. The original disclosure does not provide any explanation as to the manner in which the device uses the reference sensor output to make a correction. The disclosure does not provide reasonable guidance as to what would be considered a correction and the manner in which such a correction is implemented. Applicant provides no flow charts, formulas, or other reasonable explanation to reasonably establish possession of this claim feature. Merely stating that a correction is done without further guidance as to the manner in which this correction is implemented does not reasonably demonstrate possession.
As to Claim 19,
The phrase “the sensor unit comprises a reference sensor element configured to detect a reference magnetic field and provide a reference signal, the sensor unit being configured to adjust the measuring signal or the sensor signal using the reference signal to correct the disturbing influences at least partly” on lines 1-4 lacks proper written description.
1) At issue here is that the disclosure is completely silent as to the manner in which any component corrects disturbing influences. The original disclosure does not provide any explanation as to the manner in which the device uses the reference sensor output to make a correction. While applicant is claiming that the sensor unit is configured to adjust the measuring signal or sensor signal using the reference signal, applicant provides no guidance as to the manner in which these signals are adjusted to correct disturbing influences. The disclosure does not provide reasonable guidance as to what would be considered a correction and the manner in which such a correction is implemented. Applicant provides no flow charts, formulas, or other reasonable explanation to reasonably establish possession of this claim feature. Merely stating that a correction is done without further guidance as to the manner in which this correction is implemented does not reasonably demonstrate possession.
2) As best understood, the sensor unit is comprised of any one or more of the actual sensors of the disclosure, such as a Hall sensor. However, such a device is not reasonably capable of performing the claimed correction. While applicant does disclose a sensor means that can include an ASIC, the claim language does not reasonably include or require the sensor unit to be the disclosed sensor means. To the extent that the sensor unit is not the sensor means, the Examiner acknowledges that applicant connects two sensors to a calculation unit in Figure 11, but such a calculation unit is not reasonably part of the sensor unit. Applicant does not reasonably disclose the manner in which the sensor unit itself performs or is capable of performing the above correction, in that there is no disclosure as the manner in which the sensor unit itself is capable of this function. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description.
As to Claims 19, 20, and 23,
These claims stand rejected for incorporating and reciting the above rejected subject matter of their respective parent claim(s) and therefore stand rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 9, 13, 14, 17, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 9,
The phrase “the distance to one another relates to a pair of the one and another one of the other adjacent permanent-magnetic elements of the plurality of permanent- magnetic elements and is at least 50 μm for each pair of the one and the other one permanent-magnetic elements; or at least double a lateral dimension of the one or the other one permanent-magnetic element along a direction between the one permanent-magnetic element and the other one permanent-magnetic element” on lines 1-7 is indefinite.
Reciting “a distance to one another of a pair of the one and another one of the other adjacent permanent-magnetic elements of the plurality of permanent- magnetic elements” is redefining the distance already defined in Claim 7. Claim 7 also recites that the distance to one another is a distance from one magnet to another. As such, the magnets are all arranged at the claimed distance, one from each other. Claim 9 then states that a distance to one another of a pair formed from the previous recited “one” magnet and “another one” of the permanent magnets. Such a recitation no longer limits the distance to be from one magnet to another, as an adjacent magnet does not have to be one that is immediately adjacent. To the extent that applicant intends the phrase to mean immediately adjacent, Claim 7 already reasonably discloses an captures all possible adjacent magnets by reciting the one permanent magnetic element and other adjacent permanent-magnetic elements in Claim 7. Such a recitation would reasonably include all possible adjacent magnets to the one permanent magnetic element. No “another” permanent magnetic element would therefore exist to be the another element as recited in Claim 9.
As to Claims 13 and 14,
The phrase “wherein exactly one sensor element is associated unambiguously to each permanent-magnetic element of the number of permanent-magnetic elements” on lines 4-6 is indefinite. At issue here is that it is unclear what is meant by the sensor element being unambiguously associated to each magnet. It is unclear what specific structure limitation this feature imparts on the claim. It is unclear if merely having a clear relationship between a sensor and magnet is sufficient, or if such a limitation requires more than this relation.
As to Claim 17,
The phrase “the permanent- magnetic unit comprises a first permanent-magnetic element for generating a first magnetic field associated to the first permanent-magnetic element and a second permanent-magnetic element for generating a second magnetic field associated to the second permanent-magnetic element; the sensor unit comprising a sensor element associated to the first permanent-magnetic element and the second permanent-magnetic element and the sensor unit being sensor means comprising calculation means configured to detect overlapping of the first magnetic field and the second magnetic field” on lines 1-9 is indefinite.
Applicant is reciting a first and second magnetic field in the above phrase. Claim 1 already recites a magnetic field generated by the magnetic unit. These fields are being distinctly recited, but where they are not distinct as the field generated by the unit would reasonably include the field from any particular element of the unit. As such, this phrase is unclear.
As to Claim 41,
The phrase “wherein exactly one sensor element is associated unambiguously to each permanent-magnetic element of the number of permanent-magnetic elements” on lines 13-15 is indefinite. At issue here is that it is unclear what is meant by the sensor element being unambiguously associated to each magnet. It is unclear what specific structure limitation this feature imparts on the claim. It is unclear if merely having a clear relationship between a sensor and magnet is sufficient, or if such a limitation requires more than this relation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Xue et al. (Xue) (US 2007/0209437) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Xue et al. (Xue) (US 2007/0209437).
As to Claim 39,
Xue discloses A microsystem comprising: a first support element (508 or 608) and a second support element (500 or 600) (Figures 13 or 14), wherein a relative position of the first support element and the second support element relative to each other is variable (Paragraphs [0087],[0088] or [0090] / note cantilever 520 or 602 deflects and thus changes the relative position of the first and second support element); the first support element is formed as a plate element (Figure 14), a permanent-magnetic unit (504 or 604) integrated in the first support element in a mechanically fixed manner and configured to generate a magnetic field (Paragraphs [0087],[0110] or [0090],[0110] / note the magnetic field emitter can be a permanent magnet, and the magnet is reasonably “integrated in” the above first support as it is inside the plate and integrated with the plate), (Figures 13 or 14); a sensor unit (506 or 606) connected to the second support element in a mechanically fixed manner and configured to detect the magnetic field and to provide a sensor signal which is based on the magnetic field (Abstract),(Paragraphs [0060], [0087], [0110] or [0060],[0090],[0110] / note the sensor provide an electrical output associated with the movement of the magnet); wherein the sensor signal indicates the relative position of the support elements relative to each other ((Abstract),(Paragraphs [0060], [0087], [0110] or (Abstract),(Paragraphs [0060],[0090],[0110] / note the sensor provide an electrical output associated with the movement of the magnet), the permanent- magnetic unit comprises a plurality of permanent-magnetic elements for providing at least respective partial portions of the magnetic field, which are arranged at a distance to one another such that a detection of a magnetic field of one permanent-magnetic element of the plurality of permanent-magnetic elements at a position of a sensor element of the one or more sensor elements is influenced by fields of adjacent permanent- magnetic elements of the plurality of permanent-magnetic elements at most to an insignificant extent (Figure 13), (Paragraph [0087] / magnets 504,512, and 522 are reasonably spaced apart such that their own respective magnetic sensors can detect their movement, as such, it is reasonable to conclude that any affect these magnetic elements have on the sensors of other corresponding magnetic elements is insignificant), an amplitude of a magnetic field of a permanent-magnetic element of the other adjacent permanent-magnetic elements is at most 10 % of an amplitude of the magnetic field of a the one permanent-magnetic element at the position of the sensor element (Figure 13), (Paragraphs [0063],[0086],[0087]).
Xue is stated to disclose the above claim feature because magnets 504,512, and 522 are reasonably spaced apart such that their own respective magnetic sensors can detect their movement, as such, it is reasonable to conclude that any affect these magnetic elements have on the sensors of other corresponding magnetic elements is insignificant and at most 10% as claimed, because magnetic sensor elements spaced apart by 1 micron would not reasonably, as a function of distance, have any appreciable effect on each other as magnetic field amplitudes decrease by the formula 1/r^3.
Only to the extent that it is held that Xue does not disclose the above claim feature, Xue explains that different distances between the magnetic elements can be implemented (Paragraph [0063]), thus demonstrating that such a feature is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Xue to include positioning the magnetic elements at a distance such that an amplitude of a magnetic field of a permanent-magnetic element of the other adjacent permanent-magnetic elements is at most 10 % of an amplitude of the magnetic field of a the one permanent-magnetic element at the position of the sensor element given the above disclosure and teaching of Xue in order to advantageously reduce detection error so as to ensure that each sensor only detects the magnetic element that it is assigned to as explained in paragraph [0086], and because it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)” (MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-12, 25, 26, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. (Xue) (US 2007/0209437) in view of Nakajima (US 2010/0301847) and Bickford et al. (Bickford) (US 2017/0097394).
As to Claims 1, 2, 25, 31, and 32,
Xue discloses A microsystem comprising: a first support element (508 or 608) and a second support element (500 or 600) (Figures 13 or 14), wherein a relative position of the first support element and the second support element relative to each other is variable (Paragraphs [0087],[0088] or [0090] / note cantilever 520 or 602 deflects and thus changes the relative position of the first and second support element); a permanent-magnetic unit (504 or 604) connected to the first support element in a mechanically fixed manner and configured to generate a magnetic field (Paragraphs [0087],[0110] or [0090],[0110] / note the magnetic field emitter can be a permanent magnet), (Figures 13 or 14); a sensor unit (506 or 606) connected to the second support element in a mechanically fixed manner and configured to detect the magnetic field and to provide a sensor signal which is based on the magnetic field (Abstract),(Paragraphs [0060], [0087], [0110] or [0060],[0090],[0110] / note the sensor provide an electrical output associated with the movement of the magnet); wherein the sensor signal indicates the relative position of the support elements relative to each other ((Abstract),(Paragraphs [0060], [0087], [0110] or (Abstract),(Paragraphs [0060],[0090],[0110] / note the sensor provide an electrical output associated with the movement of the magnet), the permanent-magnetic unit comprises at least one permanent-magnetic element (604) (Paragraphs [0013],[0090]), the permanent-magnetic element comprising a first translatory dimension perpendicularly to a thickness direction z and a second, perpendicular translatory dimension (Figure 14).
Xue does not disclose the permanent- magnetic unit comprises at least one permanent-magnetic element comprising a plurality of particles connected among one another to form a fixed three-dimensional structure by means of a coating, the permanent- magnetic unit comprises at least one permanent-magnetic element comprising a plurality of particles connected among one another to form a fixed three-dimensional structure by means of atomic layer deposition, the first translatory and/or second translatory dimension a comprise a value of at least 20 μm and at most 2000 μm, wherein the first support element and the second support element, in a rest position of the microsystem, comprise a distance of at least 10 μm and at most 2000 μm, the first support element is connected to the second support element via at least one spring element, the at least one spring element presets an advantageous direction of movement for changing the relative position.
Nakajima discloses the permanent- magnetic unit comprises at least one permanent-magnetic element comprising a plurality of particles connected among one another to form a fixed three-dimensional structure by means of a coating (Paragraph [0054]), the permanent- magnetic unit comprises at least one permanent-magnetic element comprising a plurality of particles connected among one another to form a fixed three-dimensional structure (Paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Xue to include the permanent- magnetic unit comprises at least one permanent-magnetic element comprising a plurality of particles connected among one another to form a fixed three-dimensional structure by means of a coating, the permanent- magnetic unit comprises at least one permanent-magnetic element comprising a plurality of particles connected among one another to form a fixed three-dimensional structure by means of atomic layer deposition given the above disclosure and teaching of Nakajima in order to advantageously be able to precisely control the shape of the magnet when forming it, and to advantageously ensure that the magnet has the exact amount of magnetizability necessary for the desired function.
Bickford discloses wherein the first translatory and/or second translatory dimension a comprise a value of at least 20 μm and at most 2000 μm (Paragraphs [0045],[0058],[0074] / note the proof mass can be the dipole, and the proof mass has dimensions in the claimed range), wherein the first support element and the second support element, in a rest position of the microsystem, comprise a distance of at least 10 μm and at most 2000 μm (Figure 2 / note when the first support element is 132 and the second support element is 210, the distance from each other must be within the above range as the height of the proof mass is 500 μm, and the bottom of the proof mass to the top of 210 must therefore be within the above range), the first support element (132 portion between 120 and 134)) is connected to the second support element (210) via at least one spring element (132 portion between 134 and 210) (Paragraph [0044]) , the at least one spring element presets an advantageous direction of movement for changing the relative position (Paragraph [0044] / note the point of the sprints is to constrain the movement of the proof-mass and thus preset it).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Xue in view of Nakajima to include wherein the first translatory and/or second translatory dimension a comprise a value of at least 20 μm and at most 2000 μm, wherein the first support element and the second support element, in a rest position of the microsystem, comprise a distance of at least 10 μm and at most 2000 μm, the first support element is connected to the second support element via at least one spring element, the at least one spring element presets an advantageous direction of movement for changing the relative po