Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Malkamaki et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0225207), herein referred to as “Malkamaki”, in view of in view of Shaheen et. al (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0053588), herein referred to as “Shaheen”. The Shaheen reference has support in, and claims priority, to provisional application 62/734972.
Regarding Claim 1,
Malkamaki discloses: A communication control method performed in a relay apparatus comprising a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) layer, the communication control method comprising: establishing a backhaul link between the relay apparatus and a first upper relay apparatus that is under the control of a first donor apparatus
[0054] IAB network consists of a tree where the IAB-donor is the root and IAB-nodes connect to it and other IAB-nodes (see FIG. 1). An adaptation layer supports mapping of UE bearer (i.e. access bearer) to backhaul RLC channel and/or routing in the IAB tree. It has been agreed that routing in the IAB tree uses adaptation layer addresses, either destination addresses (IAB-node (DL) or IAB-donor CU or DU address (UL)) or path identifiers. The “adaptation layer” is officially named Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP).
receiving a BAP data unit from a lower relay apparatus lower than the relay apparatus
[0089] In some example embodiments, the parent node may send a packet comprising the identification of the new IAB node (e.g. an adaptation layer/BAP control PDU with the IAB-donor DU destination address) after having received the UL packet. In particular, the parent node may respond to the unspecified destination address by a packet comprising the identification of the new IAB node.
transferring the BAP data unit to the first upper relay apparatus
[0089] In some example embodiments, the parent node may send a packet comprising the identification of the new IAB node (e.g. an adaptation layer/BAP control PDU with the IAB-donor DU destination address) after having received the UL packet. In particular, the parent node may respond to the unspecified destination address by a packet comprising the identification of the new IAB node.
Malkamaki does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
However, Shaheen discloses: detecting a radio link failure in the backhaul link established between the relay apparatus the first upper relay apparatus.
[0068] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of an exemplary process method of reestablishing connection with an IAB-donor after a Radio Link Failure (RLF) in a wireless network in which the system comprises the same nodes as depicted in FIGS. 8A-8B. The method depicted in the flowchart includes the steps of: (a) IAB-node C detects RLF with IAB-node B (step 910); (b) IAB-node C informs IAB-donor of the RLF including involved nodes and affected DRBs (step 920); (c) IAB-donor CU may then determine the affected IAB-node(s) (e.g., IAB-node B) (step 930); (d) the CU may determine the alternative routing path based on the received information (step 940); (e) the CU may establish a connection with all new IAB nodes involved in the new route, and updating the local routing tables in the affected IAB-nodes (step 950); (f) reconfigure the downstream IAB-node (e.g., IAB-node B) with the new connections (step 960); and (g) IAB-node B reconstruct the new local routing table and reselects the next hop cell based on the new configuration received from the CU, and re-establish the DRBs with the target IAB-node.
Note: IAB node C in this reference is the “first upper relay apparatus” (comparing to Figure 6 of Applicant’s specification), and IAB node C in this reference would be the equivalent of element 300b in Figure 6 of Applicant’s specification). The IAB Donor then establishes a new connection with another node (the “second upper relay apparatus”, and in this reference it is IAB Node X per Figure 8A).
Shaheen further discloses: in response to detecting the radio link failure, establishing a backhaul link with a second upper relay apparatus.
[0068] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of an exemplary process method of reestablishing connection with an IAB-donor after a Radio Link Failure (RLF) in a wireless network in which the system comprises the same nodes as depicted in FIGS. 8A-8B. The method depicted in the flowchart includes the steps of: (a) IAB-node C detects RLF with IAB-node B (step 910); (b) IAB-node C informs IAB-donor of the RLF including involved nodes and affected DRBs (step 920); (c) IAB-donor CU may then determine the affected IAB-node(s) (e.g., IAB-node B) (step 930); (d) the CU may determine the alternative routing path based on the received information (step 940); (e) the CU may establish a connection with all new IAB nodes involved in the new route, and updating the local routing tables in the affected IAB-nodes (step 950); (f) reconfigure the downstream IAB-node (e.g., IAB-node B) with the new connections (step 960); and (g) IAB-node B reconstruct the new local routing table and reselects the next hop cell based on the new configuration received from the CU, and re-establish the DRBs with the target IAB-node.
Note: The backhaul link is established with IAB Node X as per Figure 8A.
Shaheen also discloses: receiving, via the second upper relay apparatus, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message including an identifier for a second donor apparatus under the control of which the second upper relay apparatus is placed.
[0069] In the present aspects of different embodiments, a set of new and/or existing Information Elements in existing RRC messages (RRC Re-establishment, RRC Resume, RRC Reconfiguration) may be used to provide additional and/or expanded function in order to convey IAB-Node RLF conditions including one or more affected IAB Node ID, affected DRBs, affected Next hop IAB Node ID, or target IAB Donor Node. In one embodiment, the Adaptation layer may extract these IEs for the RRC message and determine the alternative Next Hop IAB or the route toward IAB Donor node CU. Accordingly, the current embodiments may take the RRC signal and add information useful to connectivity and send to the other layers.
Shaheen additionally discloses: in response to the determining, based on the identifier, that the second donor apparatus is identical to the first donor apparatus, transferring the BAP data to the second upper relay apparatus.
[0068] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of an exemplary process method of reestablishing connection with an IAB-donor after a Radio Link Failure (RLF) in a wireless network in which the system comprises the same nodes as depicted in FIGS. 8A-8B. The method depicted in the flowchart includes the steps of: (a) IAB-node C detects RLF with IAB-node B (step 910); (b) IAB-node C informs IAB-donor of the RLF including involved nodes and affected DRBs (step 920); (c) IAB-donor CU may then determine the affected IAB-node(s) (e.g., IAB-node B) (step 930); (d) the CU may determine the alternative routing path based on the received information (step 940); (e) the CU may establish a connection with all new IAB nodes involved in the new route, and updating the local routing tables in the affected IAB-nodes (step 950); (f) reconfigure the downstream IAB-node (e.g., IAB-node B) with the new connections (step 960); and (g) IAB-node B reconstruct the new local routing table and reselects the next hop cell based on the new configuration received from the CU, and re-establish the DRBs with the target IAB-node.
[0069] In the present aspects of different embodiments, a set of new and/or existing Information Elements in existing RRC messages (RRC Re-establishment, RRC Resume, RRC Reconfiguration) may be used to provide additional and/or expanded function in order to convey IAB-Node RLF conditions including one or more affected IAB Node ID, affected DRBs, affected Next hop IAB Node ID, or target IAB Donor Node. In one embodiment, the Adaptation layer may extract these IEs for the RRC message and determine the alternative Next Hop IAB or the route toward IAB Donor node CU. Accordingly, the current embodiments may take the RRC signal and add information useful to connectivity and send to the other layers.
Malkamaki and Shaheen are considered to be analogous because they involve the concept of backhaul communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Malkamaki to include the concept of detecting a radio link failure occurring in a backhaul link and establishing a backhaul link with an upper relay apparatus in response to the failure, the concept of an RRC Reconfiguration message containing the donor identifier, and that the second donor apparatus is identical to the first donor apparatus as taught by Shaheen so as to promote efficient communication within the network.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Malkamaki discloses: A relay apparatus comprising: a controller configured to establish a backhaul link between the relay apparatus and a first upper relay apparatus that is under the control of a first donor apparatus; and a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) layer configured to receive a BAP data unit from a lower relay apparatus lower than the relay apparatus from a lower relay apparatus
[0054] IAB network consists of a tree where the IAB-donor is the root and IAB-nodes connect to it and other IAB-nodes (see FIG. 1). An adaptation layer supports mapping of UE bearer (i.e. access bearer) to backhaul RLC channel and/or routing in the IAB tree. It has been agreed that routing in the IAB tree uses adaptation layer addresses, either destination addresses (IAB-node (DL) or IAB-donor CU or DU address (UL)) or path identifiers. The “adaptation layer” is officially named Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP).
wherein the BAP layer is configured to transfer the BAP data unit to the first upper relay apparatus
[0089] In some example embodiments, the parent node may send a packet comprising the identification of the new IAB node (e.g. an adaptation layer/BAP control PDU with the IAB-donor DU destination address) after having received the UL packet. In particular, the parent node may respond to the unspecified destination address by a packet comprising the identification of the new IAB node.
Malkamaki does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
However, Shaheen discloses: the controller is configured to detect a radio link failure in the backhaul link established between the relay apparatus the first upper relay apparatus.
[0068] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of an exemplary process method of reestablishing connection with an IAB-donor after a Radio Link Failure (RLF) in a wireless network in which the system comprises the same nodes as depicted in FIGS. 8A-8B. The method depicted in the flowchart includes the steps of: (a) IAB-node C detects RLF with IAB-node B (step 910); (b) IAB-node C informs IAB-donor of the RLF including involved nodes and affected DRBs (step 920); (c) IAB-donor CU may then determine the affected IAB-node(s) (e.g., IAB-node B) (step 930); (d) the CU may determine the alternative routing path based on the received information (step 940); (e) the CU may establish a connection with all new IAB nodes involved in the new route, and updating the local routing tables in the affected IAB-nodes (step 950); (f) reconfigure the downstream IAB-node (e.g., IAB-node B) with the new connections (step 960); and (g) IAB-node B reconstruct the new local routing table and reselects the next hop cell based on the new configuration received from the CU, and re-establish the DRBs with the target IAB-node.
Note: IAB node C in this reference is the “first upper relay apparatus” (comparing to Figure 6 of Applicant’s specification), and IAB node C in this reference would be the equivalent of element 300b in Figure 6 of Applicant’s specification). The IAB Donor then establishes a new connection with another node (the “second upper relay apparatus”, and in this reference it is IAB Node X per Figure 8A).
Shaheen further discloses: in response to detecting the radio link failure, establishing a backhaul link with a second upper relay apparatus.
[0068] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of an exemplary process method of reestablishing connection with an IAB-donor after a Radio Link Failure (RLF) in a wireless network in which the system comprises the same nodes as depicted in FIGS. 8A-8B. The method depicted in the flowchart includes the steps of: (a) IAB-node C detects RLF with IAB-node B (step 910); (b) IAB-node C informs IAB-donor of the RLF including involved nodes and affected DRBs (step 920); (c) IAB-donor CU may then determine the affected IAB-node(s) (e.g., IAB-node B) (step 930); (d) the CU may determine the alternative routing path based on the received information (step 940); (e) the CU may establish a connection with all new IAB nodes involved in the new route, and updating the local routing tables in the affected IAB-nodes (step 950); (f) reconfigure the downstream IAB-node (e.g., IAB-node B) with the new connections (step 960); and (g) IAB-node B reconstruct the new local routing table and reselects the next hop cell based on the new configuration received from the CU, and re-establish the DRBs with the target IAB-node.
Note: The backhaul link is established with IAB Node X as per Figure 8A.
Shaheen also discloses: receive from a first donor apparatus of the relay apparatus via the second upper relay apparatus, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message including an identifier for a second donor apparatus under the control of which the second upper relay apparatus is placed.
[0069] In the present aspects of different embodiments, a set of new and/or existing Information Elements in existing RRC messages (RRC Re-establishment, RRC Resume, RRC Reconfiguration) may be used to provide additional and/or expanded function in order to convey IAB-Node RLF conditions including one or more affected IAB Node ID, affected DRBs, affected Next hop IAB Node ID, or target IAB Donor Node. In one embodiment, the Adaptation layer may extract these IEs for the RRC message and determine the alternative Next Hop IAB or the route toward IAB Donor node CU. Accordingly, the current embodiments may take the RRC signal and add information useful to connectivity and send to the other layers.
Shaheen additionally discloses: the BAP layer is configured to, in response to the determining, based on the identifier, that the second donor apparatus is identical to the first donor apparatus, transfer the BAP data to the second upper relay apparatus.
[0068] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of an exemplary process method of reestablishing connection with an IAB-donor after a Radio Link Failure (RLF) in a wireless network in which the system comprises the same nodes as depicted in FIGS. 8A-8B. The method depicted in the flowchart includes the steps of: (a) IAB-node C detects RLF with IAB-node B (step 910); (b) IAB-node C informs IAB-donor of the RLF including involved nodes and affected DRBs (step 920); (c) IAB-donor CU may then determine the affected IAB-node(s) (e.g., IAB-node B) (step 930); (d) the CU may determine the alternative routing path based on the received information (step 940); (e) the CU may establish a connection with all new IAB nodes involved in the new route, and updating the local routing tables in the affected IAB-nodes (step 950); (f) reconfigure the downstream IAB-node (e.g., IAB-node B) with the new connections (step 960); and (g) IAB-node B reconstruct the new local routing table and reselects the next hop cell based on the new configuration received from the CU, and re-establish the DRBs with the target IAB-node.
[0069] In the present aspects of different embodiments, a set of new and/or existing Information Elements in existing RRC messages (RRC Re-establishment, RRC Resume, RRC Reconfiguration) may be used to provide additional and/or expanded function in order to convey IAB-Node RLF conditions including one or more affected IAB Node ID, affected DRBs, affected Next hop IAB Node ID, or target IAB Donor Node. In one embodiment, the Adaptation layer may extract these IEs for the RRC message and determine the alternative Next Hop IAB or the route toward IAB Donor node CU. Accordingly, the current embodiments may take the RRC signal and add information useful to connectivity and send to the other layers.
Malkamaki and Shaheen are considered to be analogous because they involve the concept of backhaul communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Malkamaki to include the concept of detecting a radio link failure occurring in a backhaul link and establishing a backhaul link with an upper relay apparatus in response to the failure, the concept of an RRC Reconfiguration message containing the donor identifier, and that the second donor apparatus is identical to the first donor apparatus as taught by Shaheen so as to promote efficient communication within the network.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Malkamaki discloses: A chipset provided in a relay apparatus comprising a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) layer, the chipset comprising a processor and a memory, wherein, the processor configured to execute processes of establishing a backhaul link between the relay apparatus and a first upper relay apparatus that is under the control of a first donor apparatus
[0054] IAB network consists of a tree where the IAB-donor is the root and IAB-nodes connect to it and other IAB-nodes (see FIG. 1). An adaptation layer supports mapping of UE bearer (i.e. access bearer) to backhaul RLC channel and/or routing in the IAB tree. It has been agreed that routing in the IAB tree uses adaptation layer addresses, either destination addresses (IAB-node (DL) or IAB-donor CU or DU address (UL)) or path identifiers. The “adaptation layer” is officially named Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP).
receiving a BAP data unit from a lower relay apparatus lower than the relay apparatus
[0089] In some example embodiments, the parent node may send a packet comprising the identification of the new IAB node (e.g. an adaptation layer/BAP control PDU with the IAB-donor DU destination address) after having received the UL packet. In particular, the parent node may respond to the unspecified destination address by a packet comprising the identification of the new IAB node.
transferring the BAP data unit to the first upper relay apparatus
[0089] In some example embodiments, the parent node may send a packet comprising the identification of the new IAB node (e.g. an adaptation layer/BAP control PDU with the IAB-donor DU destination address) after having received the UL packet. In particular, the parent node may respond to the unspecified destination address by a packet comprising the identification of the new IAB node.
Malkamaki does not disclose the final limitations of this claim.
However, Shaheen discloses: detecting a radio link failure in the backhaul link established between the relay apparatus the first upper relay apparatus.
[0068] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of an exemplary process method of reestablishing connection with an IAB-donor after a Radio Link Failure (RLF) in a wireless network in which the system comprises the same nodes as depicted in FIGS. 8A-8B. The method depicted in the flowchart includes the steps of: (a) IAB-node C detects RLF with IAB-node B (step 910); (b) IAB-node C informs IAB-donor of the RLF including involved nodes and affected DRBs (step 920); (c) IAB-donor CU may then determine the affected IAB-node(s) (e.g., IAB-node B) (step 930); (d) the CU may determine the alternative routing path based on the received information (step 940); (e) the CU may establish a connection with all new IAB nodes involved in the new route, and updating the local routing tables in the affected IAB-nodes (step 950); (f) reconfigure the downstream IAB-node (e.g., IAB-node B) with the new connections (step 960); and (g) IAB-node B reconstruct the new local routing table and reselects the next hop cell based on the new configuration received from the CU, and re-establish the DRBs with the target IAB-node.
Note: IAB node C in this reference is the “first upper relay apparatus” (comparing to Figure 6 of Applicant’s specification), and IAB node C in this reference would be the equivalent of element 300b in Figure 6 of Applicant’s specification). The IAB Donor then establishes a new connection with another node (the “second upper relay apparatus”, and in this reference it is IAB Node X per Figure 8A).
Shaheen further discloses: in response to detecting the radio link failure, establishing a backhaul link with a second upper relay apparatus.
[0068] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of an exemplary process method of reestablishing connection with an IAB-donor after a Radio Link Failure (RLF) in a wireless network in which the system comprises the same nodes as depicted in FIGS. 8A-8B. The method depicted in the flowchart includes the steps of: (a) IAB-node C detects RLF with IAB-node B (step 910); (b) IAB-node C informs IAB-donor of the RLF including involved nodes and affected DRBs (step 920); (c) IAB-donor CU may then determine the affected IAB-node(s) (e.g., IAB-node B) (step 930); (d) the CU may determine the alternative routing path based on the received information (step 940); (e) the CU may establish a connection with all new IAB nodes involved in the new route, and updating the local routing tables in the affected IAB-nodes (step 950); (f) reconfigure the downstream IAB-node (e.g., IAB-node B) with the new connections (step 960); and (g) IAB-node B reconstruct the new local routing table and reselects the next hop cell based on the new configuration received from the CU, and re-establish the DRBs with the target IAB-node.
Note: The backhaul link is established with IAB Node X as per Figure 8A.
Shaheen also discloses: receiving, via the second upper relay apparatus, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message including an identifier for a second donor apparatus under the control of which the second upper relay apparatus is placed.
[0069] In the present aspects of different embodiments, a set of new and/or existing Information Elements in existing RRC messages (RRC Re-establishment, RRC Resume, RRC Reconfiguration) may be used to provide additional and/or expanded function in order to convey IAB-Node RLF conditions including one or more affected IAB Node ID, affected DRBs, affected Next hop IAB Node ID, or target IAB Donor Node. In one embodiment, the Adaptation layer may extract these IEs for the RRC message and determine the alternative Next Hop IAB or the route toward IAB Donor node CU. Accordingly, the current embodiments may take the RRC signal and add information useful to connectivity and send to the other layers.
Shaheen additionally discloses: in response to the determining, based on the identifier, that the second donor apparatus is identical to the first donor apparatus, transferring the BAP data to the second upper relay apparatus.
[0068] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of an exemplary process method of reestablishing connection with an IAB-donor after a Radio Link Failure (RLF) in a wireless network in which the system comprises the same nodes as depicted in FIGS. 8A-8B. The method depicted in the flowchart includes the steps of: (a) IAB-node C detects RLF with IAB-node B (step 910); (b) IAB-node C informs IAB-donor of the RLF including involved nodes and affected DRBs (step 920); (c) IAB-donor CU may then determine the affected IAB-node(s) (e.g., IAB-node B) (step 930); (d) the CU may determine the alternative routing path based on the received information (step 940); (e) the CU may establish a connection with all new IAB nodes involved in the new route, and updating the local routing tables in the affected IAB-nodes (step 950); (f) reconfigure the downstream IAB-node (e.g., IAB-node B) with the new connections (step 960); and (g) IAB-node B reconstruct the new local routing table and reselects the next hop cell based on the new configuration received from the CU, and re-establish the DRBs with the target IAB-node.
[0069] In the present aspects of different embodiments, a set of new and/or existing Information Elements in existing RRC messages (RRC Re-establishment, RRC Resume, RRC Reconfiguration) may be used to provide additional and/or expanded function in order to convey IAB-Node RLF conditions including one or more affected IAB Node ID, affected DRBs, affected Next hop IAB Node ID, or target IAB Donor Node. In one embodiment, the Adaptation layer may extract these IEs for the RRC message and determine the alternative Next Hop IAB or the route toward IAB Donor node CU. Accordingly, the current embodiments may take the RRC signal and add information useful to connectivity and send to the other layers.
Malkamaki and Shaheen are considered to be analogous because they involve the concept of backhaul communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Malkamaki to include the concept of detecting a radio link failure occurring in a backhaul link and establishing a backhaul link with an upper relay apparatus in response to the failure, the concept of an RRC Reconfiguration message containing the donor identifier, and that the second donor apparatus is identical to the first donor apparatus as taught by Shaheen so as to promote efficient communication within the network.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411