DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on January 21, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7-17, 21, and 23-24 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-17, 21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 7, and 10 recite “a flow cross-section increases at a transition from degassing channels to the particle trap device”. It is unclear from the amended claim language whether the degassing channels correspond to the at least one first gas space. Accordingly, the location of the transition from degassing channels to the particle trap device is unclear.
Further, a plurality of “degassing channels” does not correspond to an “at least one first gas space” when there is only one first gas space, as encompassed by the broadest reasonable interpretation of claims 1, 7, and 10.
Therefore, claims 1, 7, and 10 are indefinite. Claims 2-5, 8-17, 21, and 23-24 depend from a rejected base claim, and thus, are also rejected.
Claim 24 recites the limitation of "wherein the degassing opening are bursting membranes" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as “wherein the first degassing opening is a bursting membrane”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 10-13, 17, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 109103391 A (Li ‘391 – citing to the English translation) in view of US 20210066690 A1 (Gondoh ‘690 – with a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) effective filing date of February 13, 2019) and US 20210313650 A1 (Gondoh ‘650 – with a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) effective filing date of June 18, 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Li ‘391 teaches a degassing device for discharging gases from a battery of a motor vehicle (a lithium ion battery system 100 for releasing gas from an eruption to the outside; para 92), the degassing device comprising: at least one first gas space (1 & 2 in annotated Fig. 16) configured to fluidically coupled to a releasable first degassing opening of at least one first battery cell (the first gas space 1 is fluidically coupled to the battery safety valves 11 or valves 403 in 44, wherein gas erupts through the valve when the pressure exceeds the pressure limit of the lithium ion battery cell 10; paras 90 and 98 & annotated Fig. 16), so that gas exiting the first degassing opening can be introduced into the at least one first gas space (gas exits the valves 11/403 to the first gas space 1; see annotated Fig. 16), and a particle trap device having a mechanical labyrinth that is configured to separate particles from the gas flowing through the particle trap device, wherein the mechanical labyrinth comprises several dead ends configured to provide increased particle separation (as defined in the instant specification on page 13, a labyrinth system 34 causes several deflections in the flow path, wherein the mechanical deflection and labyrinth structure promotes particle separation and cools down the exit gas; in Li ‘391, a similar mechanical labyrinth structure is disclosed, wherein the outlet structure 40 includes a barrier absorbing structure 70 that is for effecting a collision with the gas to consume energy of the gas such that the temperature of the gas is reduced (para 106); the barrier absorbing structure 70 may include blocking partitions 720 of various structures and shapes, wherein some of the solid material of the exit gas that collides with the plurality of blocking partitions 720 does not continue moving through the outlet structure 40 and remains at each blocking partition 720 (para 112)), the particle trap device is fluidically connected to the at least one first gas space (the outlet structure 40 is fluidically connected to the first gas space 1 by the channel leading from 44 to 42; para 130 & Fig. 16), the degassing device is configured to provide a first flow path from the at least one first gas space into the particle trap device (the first flow path being from first gas space 1 at 44 to 42 into the outlet structure 40; see annotated Fig. 16 below), and a flow cross-section increases at a transition from degassing channels to the particle trap device (the flow cross-section increases at a transition from the first and second gas spaces/channels 1, 2 at the gathering structure 42, i.e., the transition from the channels 1, 2 to the outlet structure 40; see annotated Fig. 16 below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (L)]
Li ‘391 does not disclose that at least one dead end is located on opposite sides of an outlet area of the particle trap device.
Gondoh ‘690 discloses a battery pack exhaust duct 6 including a guide tube 30, exhaust inlets 32, exhaust outlet 34, and at least two exhaust guide components 36 ([0033]). Exhaust guide components 36 control first exhaust flow F1 and second exhaust flow F2 ([0039]). Further, exhaust guide components 36 collect particles in first exhaust flow F1 and particles in second exhaust flow F2 ([0039]). The plurality of exhaust guide components 36 are arranged in a staggered pattern within guide tube 30 ([0039]). Exhaust contains gas and particles P ([0054]). Mass of each particles P is heavier than mass of gas ([0054]). When first exhaust flow F1 meanders, the inertial force (or centrifugal force) that acts on each of particles P is larger than inertial force (or centrifugal force) that acts on the gas ([0054]). Consequently, particles P separate from first exhaust flow F1 and move toward openings of collecting pockets 42 ([0054]). The particles P are collected in collecting pockets 42 ([0054]; also see Fig. 4 and Fig. 6B). Each of the collecting pockets 42 has a small inlet (outlet), and becomes wider from the small inlet ([0054]). Therefore, particles P that have entered collecting pockets 42 are less likely to leave collecting pockets 42 ([0054]). Consequently, a temperature and a pressure of the exhaust are lowered ([0062]).
The exhaust guide components 36 in the letter “L” shape are provided on opposite sides of the exhaust outlet 34 for increased collection of particles, wherein the dead ends are formed in the pockets 42 of the L shaped exhaust guide component, because the particles P are collected and remain therein ([0039], [0054], [0067], and Figs. 3, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the outlet structure 40, as taught by Li ‘391, with the exhaust duct 6 of Gondoh ‘690, to provide an outlet structure with two exhaust inlets 32 including a plurality of exhaust guide components 36 on opposite sides of exhaust outlet 34, to collect particles from the exhaust, wherein the temperature of the exhaust is lowered, because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
When modifying Li ‘391 with Gondoh ‘690, each of the first degassing channel 1 and the second degassing channel 2 of annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391 would be attached to a respective exhaust inlet 32 of the exhaust duct 6 of Fig. 3 of Gondoh ‘690 for the exhaust to meander therethrough and exit from the exhaust outlet 34.
Li ‘391 and Gondoh ‘690 do not explicitly disclose that the cross-section of which is larger within at least one area of the particle trap device than in the at least one first gas space.
Gondoh ‘650 discloses a cooling path 13 for cooling and guiding gas ejecting from exhaust valve 12 to the outside of battery module 10 ([0024]). The cooling path 13 is also called an exhaust duct, like the exhaust duct of Gondoh ‘690 ([0024]). Cooling path 13 is formed by providing partition plates 15a, 15b that define the path inside module case 14 ([0024]). Module case 14 is formed with an opening that serves as outlet 13a of cooling path 13 for discharging the gas ejected from exhaust valve 12 to the outside of the case ([0024]). Cooling path 13 lowers temperature T of the exhaust gas ejected from outlet 13a ([0025]). The temperature of the exhaust gas that decreased by the exhaust gas passing through cooling path 23 depends on, for example, a length of cooling path 13 (path length) ([0025]). In general, the longer the path length, the easier it is for temperature T of the exhaust gas at outlet 13a to decrease ([0025]). However, the longer path length may cause a problem such as an increase in a size of battery module 10, and it is therefore important to design an efficient path in sufficient consideration of
safety ([0025]).
As shown in Fig. 1A, the cross section of the first gas space (the space between partition plate 15a and 15b where the exhaust valves 12 are located) is smaller than the cross section of the particle trap device (cooling path 13/exhaust duct) between the side wall 14c and partition plate 15b ([0024] - [0027]). The cooling channel may be any path as long as the cooling path can cool the gas until the gas is discharged from the path outlet, and an arrangement, shape, and the like of the cooling path are not limited ([0028]). For example, the cooling channel may be formed below or at a side of a group of batteries inside the module case ([0028]). Further, an exhaust duct may be attached to the module case, and this exhaust duct may be used as the cooling path ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cross-section of exhaust duct 6 in the degassing device, as taught by Li ‘391 in view Gondoh ‘690, to be larger than the cross-section of the first gas space where the exhaust is released from the valves 24 of the batteries 12 into the exhaust inlets 32 of the exhaust duct 6, to ensure that the discharged gas/exhaust is cooled before being discharged to the outside, wherein the cooling channel may be any path, arrangement, shape, as suggested by Gondoh ‘650, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 2, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one first gas space is configured as a first degassing channel (first gas space 1 has a lithium ion battery derivative collection structure 44; para 131), which has a length (L) in a longitudinal direction of (x) (see annotated Fig. 16) of the first degassing channel that is greater than a width (B) and a height of the first degassing channel (the arrow corresponding to length (L) has a greater length than the width and height of the lithium ion battery derivative collection structure 44; see annotated Fig. 16), wherein the first flow path extends along the longitudinal direction of extension (x) of the first degassing channel (the gas is collected first in the collection structure 44 in the longitudinal direction of the collection structure 44 before moving through the pipe to collection structure 42; see annotated Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 3, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 1, wherein the particle trap device is configured to cool a gas flow passing through the particle trap device as it passes through (the outlet structure 40 has a barrier absorbing structure 70 that is for effecting a collision with the gas to consume energy of the gas such that the temperature of the gas is reduced; para 106 of Li ‘391; since particles P are collected by exhaust guide components 36 in the battery pack exhaust duct 6, a temperature and a pressure of the exhaust are lowered; [0062] - [0063] of Gondoh ‘690; cooling path 13 lowers temperature T of the exhaust gas ejected from outlet 13a; [0025] of Gondoh ‘650).
Regarding claim 4, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 1, wherein the particle trap device has at least one inlet area (the outlet structure 40 has an inlet at 420 and an outlet at 430; annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391; exhaust duct 6 has two exhaust inlets 32 and an exhaust outlet 34; [0033] & Fig. 3 of Gondoh ‘690), the particle trap device is configured in such a way that the first flow path is deflected several times from at least one inlet area to the outlet area (the outlet structure 40 has a barrier absorbing structure 70 that is for effecting a collision with the gas, represented by the plurality of lines in the U shaped channel, to consume energy of the gas such that the temperature of the gas is reduced; para 106 & annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391; a plurality of exhaust guide components 36 present in the exhaust duct 6 cause the flows of exhaust to meander, wherein particles Pare more surely collected, because the exhaust is “deflected several times” by the shape “L” of the plurality of exhaust guide components 36; [0067] – [0068] & Fig. 3 of Gondoh ‘690).
Regarding claim 7, Li ‘391 teaches a battery for a motor vehicle (a lithium ion battery system 100 for a vehicle; para 132), comprising: a degassing device for discharging gases from a battery of a motor vehicle (a lithium ion battery system 100 for releasing gas from an eruption to the outside; para 92), comprising: at least one first gas space (1 & 2 in annotated Fig. 16) which is configured to fluidically coupled to a releasable first degassing opening of at least one first battery cell (the first gas space 1 is fluidically coupled to the battery safety valves 11 or valves 403 in 44, wherein gas erupts through the valve when the pressure exceeds the pressure limit of the lithium ion battery cell 10; paras 90 and 98 & annotated Fig. 16), so that gas exiting the first degassing opening can be introduced into the at least one first gas space (gas exits the valves 11/403 to the first gas space 1; see annotated Fig. 16), and a particle trap device having a mechanical labyrinth that is configured to separate particles from the gas flowing through the particle trap device, wherein the mechanical labyrinth comprises several dead ends configured to provide increased particle separation (as defined in the instant specification on page 13, a labyrinth system 34 causes several deflections in the flow path, wherein the mechanical deflection and labyrinth structure promotes particle separation and cools down the exit gas; in Li ‘391, a similar mechanical labyrinth structure is disclosed, wherein the outlet structure 40 includes a barrier absorbing structure 70 that is for effecting a collision with the gas to consume energy of the gas such that the temperature of the gas is reduced (para 106); the barrier absorbing structure 70 may include blocking partitions 720 of various structures and shapes, wherein some of the solid material of the exit gas that collides with the plurality of blocking partitions 720 does not continue moving through the outlet structure 40 and remains at each blocking partition 720 (para 112)), wherein the particle trap device is fluidically connected to the at least one first gas space (the outlet structure 40 is fluidically connected to the first gas space 1 by the channel leading from 44 to 42; para 130 & Fig. 16), the degassing device is configured to provide a first flow path from the at least one first gas space into the particle trap device (the first flow path being from first gas space 1 at 44 to 42 into the outlet structure 40; see annotated Fig. 16 below), and a flow cross-section increases at a transition from degassing channels to the particle trap device (the flow cross-section increases at a transition from the first and second gas spaces/channels 1, 2 at the gathering structure 42, i.e., the transition from the channels 1, 2 to the outlet structure 40; see annotated Fig. 16 below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (L)]
Li ‘391 does not disclose that at least one dead end is located on opposite sides of an outlet area of the particle trap device.
Gondoh ‘690 discloses a battery pack exhaust duct 6 including a guide tube 30, exhaust inlets 32, exhaust outlet 34, and at least two exhaust guide components 36 ([0033]). Exhaust guide components 36 control first exhaust flow F1 and second exhaust flow F2 ([0039]). Further, exhaust guide components 36 collect particles in first exhaust flow F1 and particles in second exhaust flow F2 ([0039]). The plurality of exhaust guide components 36 are arranged in a staggered pattern within guide tube 30 ([0039]). Exhaust contains gas and particles P ([0054]). Mass of each particles P is heavier than mass of gas ([0054]). When first exhaust flow F1 meanders, the inertial force (or centrifugal force) that acts on each of particles P is larger than inertial force (or centrifugal force) that acts on the gas ([0054]). Consequently, particles P separate from first exhaust flow F1 and move toward openings of collecting pockets 42 ([0054]). The particles P are collected in collecting pockets 42 ([0054]; also see Fig. 4 and Fig. 6B). Each of the collecting pockets 42 has a small inlet (outlet), and becomes wider from the small inlet ([0054]). Therefore, particles P that have entered collecting pockets 42 are less likely to leave collecting pockets 42 ([0054]). Consequently, a temperature and a pressure of the exhaust are lowered ([0062]).
The exhaust guide components 36 in the letter “L” shape are provided on opposite sides of the exhaust outlet 34 for increased collection of particles, wherein the dead ends are formed in the pockets 42 of the L shaped exhaust guide component, because the particles P are collected and remain therein ([0039], [0054], [0067], and Figs. 3, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the outlet structure 40, as taught by Li ‘391, with the exhaust duct 6 of Gondoh ‘690, to provide an outlet structure with two exhaust inlets 32 including a plurality of exhaust guide components 36 on opposite sides of exhaust outlet 34, to collect particles from the exhaust, wherein the temperature of the exhaust is lowered, because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
When modifying Li ‘391 with Gondoh ‘690, each of the first degassing channel 1 and the second degassing channel 2 of annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391 would be attached to a respective exhaust inlet 32 of the exhaust duct 6 of Fig. 3 of Gondoh ‘690 for the exhaust to meander therethrough and exit from the exhaust outlet 34.
Li ‘391 and Gondoh ‘690 do not explicitly disclose that the cross-section of which is larger within at least one area of the particle trap device than in the at least one first gas space.
Gondoh ‘650 discloses a cooling path 13 for cooling and guiding gas ejecting from exhaust valve 12 to the outside of battery module 10 ([0024]). The cooling path 13 is also called an exhaust duct, like the exhaust duct of Gondoh ‘690 ([0024]). Cooling path 13 is formed by providing partition plates 15a, 15b that define the path inside module case 14 ([0024]). Module case 14 is formed with an opening that serves as outlet 13a of cooling path 13 for discharging the gas ejected from exhaust valve 12 to the outside of the case ([0024]). Cooling path 13 lowers temperature T of the exhaust gas ejected from outlet 13a ([0025]). The temperature of the exhaust gas that decreased by the exhaust gas passing through cooling path 23 depends on, for example, a length of cooling path 13 (path length) ([0025]). In general, the longer the path length, the easier it is for temperature T of the exhaust gas at outlet 13a to decrease ([0025]). However, the longer path length may cause a problem such as an increase in a size of battery module 10, and it is therefore important to design an efficient path in sufficient consideration of safety ([0025]).
As shown in Fig. 1A, the cross section of the first gas space (the space between partition plate 15a and 15b where the exhaust valves 12 are located) is smaller than the cross section of the particle trap device (cooling path 13/exhaust duct) between the side wall 14c and partition plate 15b ([0024] - [0027]). The cooling channel may be any path as long as the cooling path can cool the gas until the gas is discharged from the path outlet, and an arrangement, shape, and the like of the cooling path are not limited ([0028]). For example, the cooling channel may be formed below or at a side of a group of batteries inside the module case ([0028]). Further, an exhaust duct may be attached to the module case, and this exhaust duct may be used as the cooling path ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cross-section of exhaust duct 6 in the degassing device, as taught by Li ‘391 in view Gondoh ‘690, to be larger than the cross-section of the first gas space where the exhaust is released from the valves 24 of the batteries 12 into the exhaust inlets 32 of the exhaust duct 6, to ensure that the discharged gas/exhaust is cooled before being discharged to the outside, wherein the cooling channel may be any path, arrangement, shape, as suggested by Gondoh ‘650, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 10, Li ‘391 teaches a motor vehicle (a lithium ion battery system 100 for a vehicle; para 132) comprising: a battery comprising: a degassing device (the lithium ion battery system 100 is for releasing gas from an eruption to the outside; para 92) having at least one first gas space (1 & 2 in annotated Fig. 16), the degassing device configured to be fluidically coupled to a releasable first degassing opening of at least one first battery cell (the first gas space 1 is fluidically coupled to the battery safety valves 11 or valves 403 in 44, wherein gas erupts through the valve when the pressure exceeds the pressure limit of the lithium ion battery cell 10; paras 90 and 98 & annotated Fig. 16), so that gas exiting the first degassing opening can be introduced into the at least one first gas space (gas exits the valves 11/403 to the first gas space 1; see annotated Fig. 16); and a particle trap device having a mechanical labyrinth that is configured separate particles from the gas flowing through the particle trap device, wherein the mechanical labyrinth comprises several dead ends configured to provide increased particle separation (as defined in the instant specification on page 13, a labyrinth system 34 causes several deflections in the flow path, wherein the mechanical deflection and labyrinth structure promotes particle separation and cools down the exit gas; in Li ‘391, a similar mechanical labyrinth structure is disclosed, wherein the outlet structure 40 includes a barrier absorbing structure 70 that is for effecting a collision with the gas to consume energy of the gas such that the temperature of the gas is reduced (para 106); the barrier absorbing structure 70 may include blocking partitions 720 of various structures and shapes, wherein some of the solid material of the exit gas that collides with the plurality of blocking partitions 720 does not continue moving through the outlet structure 40 and remains at each blocking partition 720 (para 112)), wherein the particle trap device is fluidically connected to the at least one first gas space (the outlet structure 40 is fluidically connected to the first gas space 1 by the channel leading from 44 to 42; para 130 & Fig. 16), the degassing device is configured to provide a first flow path from the at least one first gas space into the particle trap device (the first flow path being from first gas space 1 at 44 to 42 into the outlet structure 40; see annotated Fig. 16 below), and a flow cross-section increases at a transition from degassing channels to the particle trap device (the flow cross-section increases at a transition from the first and second gas spaces/channels 1, 2 at the gathering structure 42, i.e., the transition from the channels 1, 2 to the outlet structure 40; see annotated Fig. 16 below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (L)]
Li ‘391 does not disclose that at least one dead end is located on opposite sides of an outlet area of the particle trap device.
Gondoh ‘690 discloses a battery pack exhaust duct 6 including a guide tube 30, exhaust inlets 32, exhaust outlet 34, and at least two exhaust guide components 36 ([0033]). Exhaust guide components 36 control first exhaust flow F1 and second exhaust flow F2 ([0039]). Further, exhaust guide components 36 collect particles in first exhaust flow F1 and particles in second exhaust flow F2 ([0039]). The plurality of exhaust guide components 36 are arranged in a staggered pattern within guide tube 30 ([0039]). Exhaust contains gas and particles P ([0054]). Mass of each particles P is heavier than mass of gas ([0054]). When first exhaust flow F1 meanders, the inertial force (or centrifugal force) that acts on each of particles P is larger than inertial force (or centrifugal force) that acts on the gas ([0054]). Consequently, particles P separate from first exhaust flow F1 and move toward openings of collecting pockets 42 ([0054]). The particles P are collected in collecting pockets 42 ([0054]; also see Fig. 4 and Fig. 6B). Each
of the collecting pockets 42 has a small inlet (outlet), and becomes wider from the small inlet ([0054]). Therefore, particles P that have entered collecting pockets 42 are less likely to leave collecting pockets 42 ([0054]). Consequently, a temperature and a pressure of the exhaust are lowered ([0062]).
The exhaust guide components 36 in the letter “L” shape are provided on opposite sides of the exhaust outlet 34 for increased collection of particles, wherein the dead ends are formed in the pockets 42 of the L shaped exhaust guide component, because the particles P are collected and remain therein ([0039], [0054], [0067], and Figs. 3, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the outlet structure 40, as taught by Li ‘391, with the exhaust duct 6 of Gondoh ‘690, to provide an outlet structure with two exhaust inlets 32 including a plurality of exhaust guide components 36 on opposite sides of exhaust outlet 34, to collect particles from the exhaust, wherein the temperature of the exhaust is lowered, because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
When modifying Li ‘391 with Gondoh ‘690, each of the first degassing channel 1 and the second degassing channel 2 of annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391 would be attached to a respective exhaust inlet 32 of the exhaust duct 6 of Fig. 3 of Gondoh ‘690 for the exhaust to meander therethrough and exit from the exhaust outlet 34.
Li ‘391 and Gondoh ‘690 do not explicitly disclose that the cross-section of which is larger within at least one area of the particle trap device than in the at least one first gas space.
Gondoh ‘650 discloses a cooling path 13 for cooling and guiding gas ejecting from exhaust valve 12 to the outside of battery module 10 ([0024]). The cooling path 13 is also called an exhaust duct, like the exhaust duct of Gondoh ‘690 ([0024]). Cooling path 13 is formed by providing partition plates 15a, 15b that define the path inside module case 14 ([0024]). Module case 14 is formed with an opening that serves as outlet 13a of cooling path 13 for discharging the gas ejected from exhaust valve 12 to the outside of the case ([0024]). Cooling path 13 lowers temperature T of the exhaust gas ejected from outlet 13a ([0025]). The temperature of the exhaust gas that decreased by the exhaust gas passing through cooling path 23 depends on, for example, a length of cooling path 13 (path length) ([0025]). In general, the longer the path length, the easier it is for temperature T of the exhaust gas at outlet 13a to decrease ([0025]). However, the longer path length may cause a problem such as an increase in a size of battery module 10, and it is therefore important to design an efficient path in sufficient consideration of
safety ([0025]).
As shown in Fig. 1A, the cross section of the first gas space (the space between partition plate 15a and 15b where the exhaust valves 12 are located) is smaller than the cross section of the particle trap device (cooling path 13/exhaust duct) between the side wall 14c and partition plate 15b ([0024] - [0027]). The cooling channel may be any path as long as the cooling path can cool the gas until the gas is discharged from the path outlet, and an arrangement, shape, and the like of the cooling path are not limited ([0028]). For example, the cooling channel may be formed below or at a side of a group of batteries inside the module case ([0028]). Further, an exhaust duct may be attached to the module case, and this exhaust duct may be used as the cooling path ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cross-section of exhaust duct 6 in the degassing device, as taught by Li ‘391 in view Gondoh ‘690, to be larger than the cross-section of the first gas space where the exhaust is released from the valves 24 of the batteries 12 into the exhaust inlets 32 of the exhaust duct 6, to ensure that the discharged gas/exhaust is cooled before being discharged to the outside, wherein the cooling channel may be any path, arrangement, shape, as suggested by Gondoh ‘650, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 11, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 2, wherein the particle trap device is configured to cool a gas flow passing through the particle trap device as it passes through (the outlet structure 40 has a barrier absorbing structure 70 that is for effecting a collision with the gas to consume energy of the gas such that the temperature of the gas is reduced; para 106 of Li ‘391; since particles P are collected by exhaust guide components 36 in the battery pack exhaust duct 6, a temperature and a pressure of the exhaust are lowered; [0062] - [0063] of Gondoh ‘690; cooling path 13 lowers temperature T of the exhaust gas ejected from outlet 13a; [0025] of Gondoh ‘650).
Regarding claim 12, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 2, wherein the particle trap device has at least one inlet area (the outlet structure 40 has an inlet at 420 and an outlet at 430; annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391; exhaust duct 6 includes two exhaust inlets 32 and an exhaust outlet 34; [0034] - [0036] & Fig. 3 of Gondoh ‘690), the particle trap device is configured in such a way that the first flow path is deflected several times from at least one inlet area to the outlet area (the outlet structure 40 has a barrier absorbing structure 70 that is for effecting a collision with the gas, represented by the plurality of lines in the U shaped channel, to consume energy of the gas such that the temperature of the gas is reduced; para 106 & annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391; a plurality of exhaust guide components 36 present in the exhaust duct 6 cause the flows of exhaust to meander, wherein particles Pare more surely collected, because the exhaust is “deflected several times” by the shape “L” of the plurality of exhaust guide components 36; [0067] – [0068] & Fig. 3 of Gondoh ‘690).
Regarding claim 13, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 3, wherein the particle trap device has at least one inlet area (the outlet structure 40 has an inlet at 420 and an outlet at 430; annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391; exhaust duct 6 includes two exhaust inlets 32 and an exhaust outlet 34; [0034] - [0036] & Fig. 3 of Gondoh ‘690), the particle trap device is configured in such a way that the first flow path is deflected several times from at least one inlet area to the outlet area (the outlet structure 40 has a barrier absorbing structure 70 that is for effecting a collision with the gas, represented by the plurality of lines in the U shaped channel, to consume energy of the gas such that the temperature of the gas is reduced; para 106 & annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391; a plurality of exhaust guide components 36 present in the exhaust duct 6 cause the flows of exhaust to meander, wherein particles Pare more surely collected, because the exhaust is “deflected several times” by the shape “L” of the plurality of exhaust guide components 36; [0067] – [0068] & Fig. 3 of Gondoh ‘690).
Regarding claim 17, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 2, further comprising at least one second degassing channel (second degassing channel at 2 in annotation Fig. 16 of Li ‘391), spatially separated from the first degassing channel (see annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391 where 1 is spatially separated from 2), which is fluidically coupled to the particle trap device (second degassing channel is also fluidically coupled to outlet structure 40 at 42; annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391) and which can be fluidically coupled to a releasable second degassing opening of at least one second battery cell of the battery (fluidically coupled to second degassing openings at valves 11/403 of 2; annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391), so that the gas exiting the second degassing opening can be introduced into the at least one second degassing channel and guided into the particle trap device along a second flow path (the second flow path extending from 44 of 2 to 42 into outlet structure 40, wherein gas flows from the plurality of batteries 10 to the outlet structure 40; annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391).
Regarding claim 21, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 1, wherein the mechanical labyrinth is configured to cause several deflections in the first flow path (the barrier absorbing structure 70 may include blocking partitions 720 of various structures and shapes; para 112 of Li ‘391; when the high temperature/high pressure exit gas flows through the outlet structure 40, the exit gas collides with the blocking partitions 720, i.e., is deflected several times, consuming energy and causing the temperature of the gas to decrease; para 112 of Li ‘391; a plurality of exhaust guide components 36 present in the exhaust duct 6 cause the flows of exhaust to meander, wherein particles P are more surely collected, because the exhaust is “deflected several times” by the shape “L” of the plurality of exhaust guide components 36; [0067] – [0068] & Fig. 3 of Gondoh ‘690).
Regarding claim 23, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 1, wherein the flow cross-section increases at the transition by a multiple of about 20 times (the flow cross-section increases at a transition from the first and second gas spaces/channels 1, 2 at the gathering structure 42, i.e., the transition from the channels 1, 2 to the outlet structure 40; see annotated Fig. 16 of Li ‘391).
The change in size or proportion of an article is not a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claims 5 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 109103391 A (Li ‘391 – citing to English translation) in view of US 20210066690 A1 (Gondoh ‘690 – with a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) effective filing date of February 13, 2019) and US 20210313650 A1 (Gondoh ‘650 – with a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) effective filing date of June 18, 2019), and further in view of US 4869738 A (Alcorn ‘738).
Regarding claim 5, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 1, but does not disclose that the particle trap device has a particle filter arranged in the first flow path and made of steel wool.
Alcorn ‘738 discloses a regenerable particulate trap for continuously separating particulate from, for example, the exhaust gas from a diesel engine, characterized by a rotatable trap member mounted for rotation in the exhaust gas stream (abstract). The rotatory trap member 700 includes a right-hand portion 708 that is filled with a fine particle trapping structure, for example, stainless steel wool 709 (para 22). Metal wool is most effective in trapping extremely fine particles of submicron size (para 22). Therefore, prior to the to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to include a particle filter arranged in the first flow path and made of steel wool, to trap extremely fine particles, as suggested by Alcorn ‘738, in the degassing device, as taught by Li ‘391.
Regarding claim 14, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 2, but does not disclose that the particle trap device has a particle filter arranged in the first flow path and made of steel wool.
Alcorn ‘738 discloses a regenerable particulate trap for continuously separating particulate from, for example, the exhaust gas from a diesel engine, characterized by a rotatable trap member mounted for rotation in the exhaust gas stream (abstract). The rotatory trap member 700 includes a right-hand portion 708 that is filled with a fine particle trapping structure, for example, stainless steel wool 709 (para 22). Metal wool is most effective in trapping extremely fine particles of submicron size (para 22). Therefore, prior to the to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to include a particle filter arranged in the first flow path, in particular made of steel wool, to trap extremely fine particles, as suggested by Alcorn ‘738, in the degassing device, as taught by Li ‘391.
Regarding claim 15, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 3, but does not disclose that the particle trap device has a particle filter arranged in the first flow path and made of steel wool.
Alcorn ‘738 discloses a regenerable particulate trap for continuously separating particulate from, for example, the exhaust gas from a diesel engine, characterized by a rotatable trap member mounted for rotation in the exhaust gas stream (abstract). The rotatory trap member 700 includes a right-hand portion 708 that is filled with a fine particle trapping structure, for example, stainless steel wool 709 (para 22). Metal wool is most effective in trapping extremely fine particles of submicron size (para 22). Therefore, prior to the to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to include a particle filter arranged in the first flow path, in particular made of steel wool, to trap extremely fine particles, as suggested by Alcorn ‘738, in the degassing device, as taught by Li ‘391.
Regarding claim 16, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device according to claim 4, but does not disclose that the particle trap device has a particle filter arranged in the first flow path and made of steel wool.
Alcorn ‘738 discloses a regenerable particulate trap for continuously separating particulate from, for example, the exhaust gas from a diesel engine, characterized by a rotatable trap member mounted for rotation in the exhaust gas stream (abstract). The rotatory trap member 700 includes a right-hand portion 708 that is filled with a fine particle trapping structure, for example, stainless steel wool 709 (para 22). Metal wool is most effective in trapping extremely fine particles of submicron size (para 22). Therefore, prior to the to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to include a particle filter arranged in the first flow path, in particular made of steel wool, to trap extremely fine particles, as suggested by Alcorn ‘738, in the degassing device, as taught by Li ‘391.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 109103391 A (Li ‘391 – citing to English translation) in view of US 20210066690 A1 (Gondoh ‘690 – with a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) effective filing date of February 13, 2019) and US 20210313650 A1 (Gondoh ‘650 – with a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) effective filing date of June 18, 2019), and further in view of DE 102014213916 A1 (Stein ‘916 – citing to English translation).
Regarding claim 8, Li ‘391 teaches the battery according to claim 7, further comprising a first battery area with at least one first row of cells with several first battery cells arranged next to one another in a first direction (x) (see annotated Fig. 16 where area 1 has a row of cells with several battery cells 10 arranged next to each other in a first direction (x)), where each battery cell of the several first battery cells has a releasable first degassing opening (each battery cell 10 of area 1 includes a valve 403 for releasing gas to the collection structure 44; para 98 and annotated Fig. 16), and a second battery area with at least one second row of cells with several second battery cells arranged next to one another in the first direction (see annotated Fig. 16 where area 2 has a row of cells with several first battery cells arranged next to each other in a first direction (x)), which battery cells each have releasable second degassing openings (each battery cell 10 of area 2 includes a valve 403 for releasing gas to the collection structure 44; para 98 and annotated Fig. 16), wherein the first degassing channel is coupled to the releasable first degassing openings of the several first battery cells and extends in the first direction (x) with respect to the particle trap device (see annotated Fig. 16 where collection structure 44 of area 1 is coupled to the valves 403 of battery cells 10 extending in the first direction (x) to the outlet structure 40), and the second degassing channel is coupled to the releasable second degassing openings of the second battery cells (see annotated Fig. 16 where collection structure 44 of area 2 is coupled to the valves 403 of battery cells 10 extending in the same first direction (x) to the outlet structure 40).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (L)]
Li ‘391 does not disclose that the particle trap device is arranged between the first battery area and the second battery area with respect to the first direction (x), and that the second degassing channel extends opposite the first direction (x) with respect to the particle trap device.
Stein ‘916 discloses a battery system 10, with a plurality of battery cells 14 arranged in a cell housing 16, wherein the cell housings 16 each have a degassing valve 18 for degassing emission that form in the cell housing 16 in the event of a fault, and wherein a degassing collection 20 is provided for discharging the degassing emissions from the battery system 10 ([0076] & Fig. 9a). The degassing collector 20 comprises openings with are connected to the degassing valves 18 in a pressure-tight manner in order to guide the degassing emissions from the cell housing 16 into the degassing collector 20 ([0076]). The battery cells 14 and the degassing collector 20 are at least partially surrounded by a flexible casing 42 ([0092]). The degassing collector 20 has degassing channels 21 which lead from respective battery cells 14 and are connected together in a main degassing channel 23 ([0092]). As shown in Fig. 9a, degassing channels 21 allow for gas collected in the channel to flow to the degassing channel 23 in the center, wherein degassing channel 23 is arranged in the middle of the battery cells 14, such that, gas can flow in the direction perpendicular to the degassing channel 23 from either side, i.e., in the first direction (x) and in the direction opposite to the first direction. Advantageously, the battery system of Stein ‘916 allows for improved degassing by allowing safe degassing and removal of degassing emissions while being cost-effective to manufacture and requiring very little space ([0013]).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in seeking to provide a cost-effective battery system allowing for removal of degassing emissions that requires little space, would have found it obvious, to modify the battery, as taught by Li ‘391, to have the particle trap device arranged between the first battery area and the second battery area with respect to the first direction (x) and that the second degassing channel extends opposite the first direction (x) with respect to the particle trap device, as suggested by Stein ‘916.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 109103391 A (Li ‘391 – citing to English translation) in view of in view of US 20210066690 A1 (Gondoh ‘690 – with a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) effective filing date of February 13, 2019), US 20210313650 A1 (Gondoh ‘650 – with a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) effective filing date of June 18, 2019), and DE 102014213916 A1 (Stein ‘916 – citing to English translation), and further in view of US 20220144066 A1 (Kellner ‘066) and DE 102019117828 B3 (Grass ‘828 – citing to English translation).
Regarding claim 9, Li ‘391 teaches the battery according to claim 8, but does not disclose a cooling base on which at least one first battery cell of the several first battery cells is arranged, wherein the degassing device has an exhaust channel which is coupled to the outlet opening of the particle trap device, the exhaust channel is arranged on a side of the cooling base facing away from the at least one battery cell.
Kellner ‘066 discloses a motor vehicle including a traction battery module having a housing in which at least one cell stack pair including a left-hand-side and a right-hand-side cell stack (abstract). The traction battery module is arranged in the vehicle floor and has a bottom wall in a horizontal plane (abstract). A gas space is formed in the module housing between the left-hand-side cell stack and the right-hand-side cell stack (abstract). The module bottom wall has a degassing element centrally located in the region of the gas space (abstract). A cooling base 40 is arranged adjoining the bottom of the bottom wall 26 of the module housing 20 ([0020]). The cooling base 40 is thermally coupled over the entire surface area to the module housing bottom wall 26, so that most of the heat generated by the traction battery module 10 is dissipated via the cooling base 40 in the charging mode or in the traction mode ([0020]). The cooling base 40 has a corresponding degassing opening 46, through which the gas can escape from the gas space 66 perpendicularly downward to the vehicle center in the case of degassing, in vertical
alignment with the degassing element 30 ([0020] & Fig. 2).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate a cooling base on which the at least one first battery cell is arranged, and that the degassing device has an exhaust channel which is coupled to the outlet opening of the particle trap device, wherein the exhaust channel is arranged on a side of the cooling base facing away from the at least one battery cell, to dissipate heat via the cooling base and allow for degassing, as suggested by Kellner ‘066, of the battery, as taught by Li ‘391.
Li ‘391 does not explicitly disclose that the exhaust gas channel is provided by a spatial region between the cooling base and an underbody protection.
Grass ‘828 discloses a ventilation unit for a motor vehicle battery with a discharge duct for discharging both air and condensate from the battery housing to the environment ([0009]). For example, the discharge channel can be led through a base plate, which is provided in particular for cooling the base of the battery housing, so that the condensate can drip onto a surface and does not remain in the motor vehicle ([0020]). In particular, the outlet opening of the discharge channel can open into an underbody of the motor vehicle, so that a wind flowing along the underbody of the motor vehicle while the motor vehicle is driving can generate a negative pressure at the outlet opening of the discharge channel, supporting removal of the condensate ([0020]).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, that the battery, as taught by Li ‘391, is located in a motor vehicle with underbody protection provided below the bottom of the battery including the cooling base, wherein the exhaust gas channel is provided by a spatial region between the cooling base and the underbody protection, to support removal of the discharged gas from the degassing device, as suggested by Grass ‘828.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 109103391 A (Li ‘391 – citing to the English translation) in view of US 20210066690 A1 (Gondoh ‘690 – with a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) effective filing date of February 13, 2019) and US 20210313650 A1 (Gondoh ‘650 – with a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) effective filing date of June 18, 2019), and further in view US 20170187014 A1 (Rank ‘014).
Regarding claim 24, Li ‘391 teaches the degassing device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first degassing opening is a bursting membrane.
Rank ‘014 discloses at least one safety means may be disposed at a suitable point on a battery cell housing, for the selective discharging of fluids ([0035]). For example, the at least one safety means may be in the form of a venting valve or bursting membrane that forms a vent in the case of overheating of the battery cell, and thus, protects the battery cell from explosion ([0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that the battery safety valve in the degassing device, as taught by Li ‘391 is a bursting membrane, to protect the battery from explosion, as suggested by Rank ‘014.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on January 21, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant asserts that that the cited prior art does not disclose the amended limitation of claims 1, 7, and 10, wherein “a flow cross-section increases at a transition from degassing channels to the particle trap device.” However, Applicant’s assertion is not persuasive, because Li ‘391 discloses the flow cross-section increases at a transition from the first and second gas spaces/channels 1, 2 at the gathering structure 42, i.e., the transition from the channels 1, 2 to the outlet structure 40 (see annotated Fig. 16).
Applicant additionally asserts that Li ‘391 does not disclose that the battery safety valves can be bursting membranes. Applicant’s assertion is not persuasive in view of Rank ‘014 disclosing the at least one safety means disposed on a battery cell may be in the form of a venting valve or bursting membrane that forms a vent in the case of overheating of the battery cell ([0035]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2018153564 A1 (Ernst ‘006 - citing to US 20200112006 A1 as an English translation) discloses that the flowthrough cross section of the conduit 26 enlarges in a mouth area 34 of the line 26 ([0034] & Fig. 1).
US 20080028935 A1 (Andersson ‘935) discloses that the cross-sectional area A2 of the flue gas duct 18 in the second position P2 will be about 1.5 times the cross-sectional area A1 in the first position P1 ([0033] & Figs. 2-3).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725 /NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725