DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action is response to communications received on 09/24/2025. Claims 20-39 are currently pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the rejection is moot as original claims 1-19 are cancelled, and that new claims 20-39 are not anticipated by McKay (US 9,364,583).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. A new ground(s) of rejection is made infra in view of McKay (US 9,364,583) addressing all of the claim limitations as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 36 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim is missing a period (punctuation). Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 20-31 & 35-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,241,317. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claim 20, patent claims 1, 11, 18 & 19 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 21, patent claim 18 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claims 22-26, patent claims 2-6 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claims 27-30, patent claims 12-15 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 31, patent claim 19 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claims 35-38, patent claims 7-10 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 39, patent claim 21 recites the same limitations.
Claims 1-3, 6-8 & 11-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,121,440. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claims 20, 21, 27, 29, 31, 35, 37 & 38, patent claims 1 & 2 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 28, patent claim 3 recites the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-31 & 35-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McKay (US 9,364,583).
Regarding Claim 20, McKay teaches a method of preparing an implantable bone graft device, the method comprising:
providing an open-ended (Col 22:lines 37-47) bioresorbable casing (112) comprising a cavity (114) for receiving and containing a fill material (Fig 2) and a surface having both micropores and macropores (Col 9: lines 5-8), wherein the macropores are created in a sheet of bioresorbable material by mechanical (Col 15: lines 14-17 and Col 19: lines 20-34), chemical, or thermal process and patterned (Col 15: Lines 5-16 teaches a mesh, which would be patterned) and sized to prevent the fill material within the cavity from escaping therethrough (Col 14: lines 16-27 teaches fill fibers with a size incapable of passing through the pore size taught) while allowing osteogenic cells to pass through (Col 13: lines 45-47); and
filling the open-ended bioresorbable casing with a fill material (Col 22: lines 37-47).
Regarding Claim 21, McKay teaches wherein the fill material comprises one or more of the group consisting of demineralized bone matrix (DBM) and bioceramics (Col 13: lines 40-45).
Regarding Claim 22, McKay teaches wherein the bioresorbable casing comprises collagen (Col 15: lines 5-16).
Regarding Claim 23, McKay teaches wherein the collagen casing contains demineralized bone matrix (DBM) in one or more formats selected from the group consisting of fibers, granules, paste, powder, chips, strips, and sponge (Col 13: lines 56-63).
Regarding Claim 24, McKay teaches wherein the DBM is processed from one or more of the group consisting of cortical and cancellous bone (Col 9: lines 21-24).
Regarding Claim 25, McKay teaches wherein the collagen casing contains bioceramics (Col 17: lines 13-27; Col 7: lines 37-38) in one or more formats selected from the group consisting of fibers, granules, paste, powder, chips, strips, and sponge.
Regarding Claim 26, McKay teaches wherein the collagen casing contains demineralized bone matrix (DBM) (Col 9: lines 21-24) and bioceramics (Col 17: lines 13-27; Col 7: lines 37-38).
Regarding Claim 27, McKay teaches wherein the bioresorbable casing is formed by one or more strips of collagen (Col 15: lines 5-16) joined together with sutures (Col 22: lines 42-44).
Regarding Claim 28, McKay teaches wherein the sutures comprise a bioabsorbable material selected from the group consisting of polyglycolic acid, polylactic acid, and poly(lactic-co- glycolic acid).
Regarding Claim 29, McKay teaches wherein the bioresorbable casing is formed from a single strip of folded collagen (Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 30, McKay teaches wherein the bioresorbable casing is molded in a single piece (Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 31, McKay teaches wherein the method further comprises: implanting the implantable bone graft device at a target site; and closing the open end of the filled bioresorbable casing, wherein closing comprises suturing the open end of the filled bioresorbable casing (Col 22: lines 42-44).
Regarding Claim 35, McKay teaches wherein the micropores are random (Col 16: line 64-Col 17: line 12 teaches several random natural materials).
Regarding Claim 36, McKay teaches wherein the macropores are generated through molding (Col 17: lines 36-44).
Regarding Claim 37, McKay teaches wherein the macropores are generated through mechanical or thermal techniques (Col 15: lines 14-17 and Col 19: lines 20-34).
Regarding Claim 38, McKay teaches wherein the bioresorbable casing is closed (Col 22: lines 37-47).
Regarding Claim 39, McKay teaches wherein the device is sized and configured for placement in an anatomical structure of a spine (Col 21: lines 31-47).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 32-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774