DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on December 17, 2024 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that at least a portion for the Restriction Requirement where inventions I and IV are unrelated is an error as the burden of showing that inventions I and IV are not capable of use together was not satisfied. This is not found persuasive because Invention I is directed to an apparatus and Invention IV is directed to a composition of matter, Invention I (claim 1) does not recite structure that uses the “solution” in Invention IV (claim 19), and the limitation in the preamble “for combining with soap chips to form a soap mixture” in claim 19 does not impart patentability to the claim as the body of the claims intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claim inventions, therefore, the preamble of claim 19 merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02 (II). Therefore, Invention I and IV are not capable of use together and have different designs, modes of operation, and effects.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on December 17, 2024.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are examined.
Claims 11-20 are currently withdrawn in an election with traverse filed December 17, 2024.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology “means”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
“means for increasing surface area of the soap parts” and “means of agitation” in claim 1.
Regarding the limitation “means for increasing surface area of the soap parts” in claim 1, the claim provides the generic placeholder “means” and the recited function “for increasing surface area of the soap parts by producing soap chips,” but the function does not provide structure to the “means.” For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted in line with the instant specification in ¶ [0041] and dependent claim 6 as “a soap blade array and soap blade die” and “a soap chopper, shredder, grinder, or die and blade array”.
Regarding the limitation “means of agitation” in claim 1, the claim provides the generic placeholder “means” and the recited function “agitation,” but the function does not provide structure to the “means.” For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted in line with the instant specification in ¶ [0093] and dependent claim 5 as “a mixing arm or ultrasound”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (CN 105567482 A, an English machine translation is provided in this Office Action), in view of Lyu (CN 111808693 A, an English machine translation is provided in this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Cui discloses a device (¶ [0002] – soap reformer) for converting soap parts into bar soap or liquid soap mixture (¶ [0002] – soap reproduction), the device comprising:
a hopper (¶ [0012], [0025] – feed inlet with feeding bell mouth) for receiving the soap parts (¶ [0012] – soap blocks are placed into feeding bell mouth);
means (101) for increasing surface area of the soap parts by producing soap chips (¶ [0012] – spiral crusher 101 so as to crush the soap blocks), the means (101) for increasing the surface area being in communication with the hopper (¶ [0009] – feeding bell mouth is arranged at the feeding port of the spiral pulverizer 101) and at least some of the soap chips being smaller in size than the soap parts (¶ [0012] – crush soap blocks);
mixing vessel (¶ [0011], [0026] – heating container 201) for receiving the soap chips and forming a liquid soap mixture (¶ [0012] – heats and stirs the input materials until material become liquid), the mixing vessel comprising a means of agitation (¶ [0013] – blade evenly stirs in 201);
The limitation “for converting soap parts into bar soap” is recited in the preamble. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02 (II).
As the body of the claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention and the limitation “converting soap parts into bar soap” is not recited within the body of the claim, the limitation recites purpose or intended use of the invention.
Cui does not disclose liquid reservoir in fluid communication with the mixing vessel; ingredients reservoir in fluid communication with the mixing vessel; and a control unit having one or more processors; and a non-transitory memory operatively coupled to the one or more processors comprising a set of instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the one or more processors to control one or more of the hopper, the means for increasing surface area, the mixing vessel, the means for agitation, and the ingredients reservoir.
Analogous art Lyu discloses an alkali solution treatment mechanism 6, a soap making mixing mechanism 7 and a mold-introducing mechanism 8 (¶ [0019], [0027]). Reactants are added into alkali solution treatment mechanism 6, then other substances are added into the soap making mixing mechanism 7 (mixing vessel) for heating and mixing (¶ [0019]).
Lyu further discloses liquid reservoir (601) (¶ [0033] – a first liquid adding tank 601 of 6) in fluid communication with the mixing vessel (7) (¶ [0034] – first valve pipe 6018 of 6 is opened to add alkali solution into 7); ingredients reservoir (607) (¶ [0033] – a second liquid adding tank 607 of 6) in fluid communication with the mixing vessel (¶ [0034] – first valve pipe 6018 of 6 is opened to add alkali solution into 7), a control unit having one or more processors (¶ [0032] – real-time control screen 4) and a non-transitory memory operatively coupled to the one or more processors (control screen 4 inherently comprises of non-transitory memory to provide control) comprising a set of instructions executable by the one or more processors (control screen 4 inherently comprises set of instructions to provide control) to cause the one or more processors to control one or more of the mixing vessel (¶ [0036] – first heating plate 7011 is powered on through control screen 4 to heat the second mixing chamber 701 of 7). Reactants sodium hydroxide and water from the tank 601 and tank 607, respectively, are added to form the alkali solution (¶ [0034]). The alkali solution of suitable concentration and temperature is added to mixing mechanism 7 (¶ [0032], [0034]) for full mixing and saponification reaction, then transferred to mold-feeding mechanism to be feed to mold, and produce soap (¶ [0032]). Efficient mixing of sodium hydroxide and water is achieved, and saponification temperature reaches the optimal temperature (¶ [0032]).
Cui and Lyu disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function of forming and molding soap. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the alkali solution treatment mechanism including a first and second liquid adding tank in communication with soap making mixing mechanism and the control screen powering to heat the second mixing chamber in Lyu to the heating container in Cui to reach the suitable concentration and temperature to achieve optimal saponification reaction to produce soap (¶ [0032], [0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Cui discloses at least one of a bar soap mold (3) (¶ [0027] – mold assembly 3) and a bar soap discharge area (303) (¶ [0027] – a demolding spring plate 303)
Regarding claim 3, Cui discloses a liquid soap mixture dispenser (206) (¶ [0026] – discharge port of 201 connected to a steering hose 206).
Regarding claim 4, Cui discloses a bar soap mold (3) (¶ [0027] – mold assembly 3), a bar soap discharge area (303) (¶ [0027] – a demolding spring plate 303) and a liquid soap mixture dispenser (206) (¶ [0026] – discharge port of the heating container connected to a steering hose 206).
Regarding claim 5, Cui discloses the means of agitation is a mixing arm (¶ [0013] – blade evenly stirs in 201).
Regarding claim 6, Cui discloses the means for increasing the surface area comprises at least one of a chopper, a shredder, and a grinder (¶ [0009] – grinding assembly comprises a spiral pulverizer).
Regarding claim 8, Cui discloses at least one of the mixing vessel comprises a heater (201) that heats contents of at least one of the mixing vessel mixture (¶ [0011-0012] – 201 heats the input materials until material become liquid).
Regarding claim 9, Cui discloses at the discharge port of the container 201 is provided with a liquid blocking plate to adjust the flow rate (¶ [0026]).
Cui does not disclose one or more pumps to move one or more of liquid from the liquid reservoir to the mixing vessel, ingredients from the ingredients reservoir to the mixing vessel, and contents from the mixing vessel.
Lyu discloses disclose one or more pumps (7016) to move one or more of contents from the mixing vessel (7012) (¶ [0035] – water bath heating chamber 7012 of 7 is connected with control connecting pipe 7015 and plugged with water pump 7016). After the saponification reaction is completed, water pump 7016 is powered on through the real-time control panel 4 to pump saponified product into the mold-in mechanism 8, thereby completing the saponification of raw materials (¶ [0036]).
Cui and Lyu disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the water pump powered by control panel in Lyu to the discharge port of the heating container in Cui to pump saponified product into the mold, thereby completing the saponification of raw materials (¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Cui discloses a user interface screen (4) in electrical communication with the control unit (4) (Lyu ¶ [0032] – real-time control screen 4) that controls at least one of a heater (7011) (Lyu ¶ [0036] – first heating plate 7011 of 7 is powered on through 4) and flow from the mixing tank to the bar soap mold (Lyu ¶ [0035] – water pump 7016 of 7 is powered on through 4).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (CN 105567482 A) in view of Lyu (CN 111808693 A), as applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Huang (CN 110885721 A, an English machine translation is provided in this Office Action).
Regarding claim 7, Cui and Lyu do not disclose a device cleaning solution reservoir in fluid communication with the means for increasing surface area of the soap parts.
Huang discloses a crushed soap recovery agitator comprising a processing assembly and a stirring assembly connected by a connecting pipe (¶ [0009]). The processing assembly comprises a crushing assembly (means for increasing surface area of the soap parts) and the stirring assembly comprises a stirring box (mixing vessel) a plurality of stirring rods (means for agitation) (¶ [0009]).
Huang further discloses a device cleaning solution reservoir (¶ [0019] - a cleaning component includes water tank) in fluid communication with the means for increasing surface area of the soap parts (¶ [0019] – connected to water pump connected to spray pipe and plurality of nozzles in the stirring component). The processing assembly and stirring assembly are connected by a connecting pipe (¶ [0009]); therefore the cleaning component is in “fluid communication” with processing assembly comprising crushing assembly through stirring component. By setting up cleaning component, the inside of stirring component can be cleaned, thereby improving the cleanliness of the inside of the stirring component (¶ [0022]).
Cui and Huang disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function of forming and molding soap. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the cleaning component in Huang to the heating container in Cui to thereby improve the cleanliness of the inside of the heating container (¶ [0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0070386 A1 discloses a soap reforming assembly controlled by a control circuit
US 4781564 discloses an apparatus for reforming soap comprising a soap press component and grinding component
CN 109355140 A discloses a device for recycling broken soap that integrates crushing and pressing functions of soap fragments
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754