DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russel (US 20150097731, hereinafter “Russel”), and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20140070991, hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 1, Russell discloses,
A method for switching between communication networks, comprising:
receiving one or more signals via a first wireless communication network with a mobile device (the small coverage area device 110 provides cellular or wireless fidelity (WiFi) or wireless broadband service to a small coverage area 140 generally intended to be limited to at least a portion of an interior space within a structure 142, [0031]);
receiving one or more signals from a satellite navigation network including a satellite identification code for a navigation satellite (Location service 106 (FIG. 1) can be provided by a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), such as Global Positioning System (GPS), Globalnaya navigatsionnaya sputnikovaya sistema (GLONASS), GALILEO or BeiDou Navigation Satellite System (BDS). In the example portable device 100, location service 106 is provided by GPS 106a, [0037]);
determining, a second wireless communication network (RAN cellular network 108, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) is available based at least in part on a location of the mobile device, the satellite identification code (a determination of whether the device 100 is in an outside or an indoor space in start state 502 is made, based upon the signal strength of the GPS signals and the number of visible satellites. As depicted by state transition 510, if the GPS module is activated from Cold Start 504, the device is determined to be located outside if one GPS satellite can be received with a carrier to noise ratio (C/No) of at least 26 db-Hz with at least three other GPS satellites being received with at least 23 dB-Hz. As further depicted by state transition 510, if the GPS module is activated from Warm Start 506, the device is determined to be located outside for the same conditions, [0065]-[0068]), and a determination of line of sight between the mobile device and a node of the second wireless communication network based on one or more sensor measurement from one or more sensors of the mobile device ( At least one sensor 112 generates sensor data 114 that can be utilized as contextual information 116 that may be used to assist in differentiating between an indoor space 118 versus an outdoor space 120 of the portable communication device 100. The at least one sensor 112 can be on-device, i.e., commonly housed within the portable communication device 100, or can optionally be external to (see 112' depicted in phantom), but moving with the portable communication device 100. As an example of the external sensor 112', the sensor can be an accessory device worn or carried by the user (see, for example, 100', FIG. 2) and which can provide additional sensed or detected data, [0025]);
detaching the mobile device from the first wireless communication network based on determining that the second wireless communication network is available and receiving one or more signals from the second wireless communication network with the mobile device after detaching the mobile device ( the portable communication device 100 can capture sensor data and contextual information associated with the hard handover for future opportunities at the current location. The portable communication device 100 can also seed a dead reckoning engine with the last location determined from the outside location service. Similarly, as depicted at 520 the portable communication device 100 can encounter a hard handover from indoor operating state 516 to the outdoor operating state 512 going from a small coverage area device to a cellular RAN, [0067]-[0070).
However, Russel does not disclose, determining, a second wireless communication network is available based at least in part on a location of the mobile device, and a determination of line of sight between the mobile device and a node of the second wireless communication network based on one or more sensor measurement from one or more sensors of the mobile device. In the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, a second wireless communication network is available based at least in part on a location of the mobile device (At block 802, the method can approximate a location of a mobile device based upon a last accurate GPS reading, [0092]), and a determination of line of sight between the mobile device (At block 804, the method can identify expected GPS data from a set of GPS satellites that should be in line of sight to the mobile device based upon the last accurate GPS reading and ephemeris information, [0093]) and a node of the second wireless communication network based on one or more sensor measurement from one or more sensors of the mobile device (Cell hardware 234, Wi-Fi hardware 236, gyroscope 238, accelerometer 240, and magnetometer 242 can function as relative location mechanisms that provide location and/or movement data in relation to an absolute location. For example, gyroscope 238, accelerometer 240, and magnetometer 242 can sense movement of the mobile device from an absolute location determined by the GPS hardware 232. Similarly, the Wi-Fi hardware can detect one or more wireless access points. The location of the wireless access points may be obtained from data store 208 to estimate movement of the mobile device since the last absolute location was obtained, [0020]-[0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective the filing date of claimed invention to modify Russel by specifically providing determining, a second wireless communication network is available based at least in part on a location of the mobile device, and a determination of line of sight between the mobile device and a node of the second wireless communication network based on one or more sensor measurement from one or more sensors of the mobile device, as taught by Liu for the purpose of predicting future effects of the obstruction on the mobile device based at least in part on a location of the obstruction and a direction of travel of the mobile device [0003].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Russel and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Russell discloses,
wherein determining the second wireless communication network is available includes determining that the location of the mobile device is within a coverage area of the second wireless communication network ( the portable communication device 100 can capture sensor data and contextual information associated with the hard handover for future opportunities at the current location. The portable communication device 100 can also seed a dead reckoning engine with the last location determined from the outside location service. Similarly, as depicted at 520 the portable communication device 100 can encounter a hard handover from indoor operating state 516 to the outdoor operating state 512 going from a small coverage area device to a cellular RAN, [0067]-[0070).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Russel and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Russell discloses,
wherein the one or more sensors include at least one of a radar sensor, a lidar sensor, an optical sensor, and a proximity sensor (It should be appreciated that the user interface device 239 can include one or more integral or distinct input devices, such as camera 241, microphone 243, touch screen and/or touch pad, keypad, and/or one or more integral or distinct output devices, such as display, speaker and others (not shown). Some input devices can also be used, or have a dedicated purpose, as contextual sensors 112a rather than for the user interface 239. Examples of other contextual sensors can be an ambient light sensor 245 and temperature sensor 247, [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Russel and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Russell discloses,
wherein the one or more sensors are configured for radio frequency sensing (Indoor location services can be provided by dead reckoning engine 233 of indoor/outdoor detection utility 124. For instance, the sensor processor 122b can access sensor data 114 from dead reckoning sensors 112b depicted as gyroscope 249, accelerometers 251, magnetometer 253, chronometer 255, barometer 267, and altimeter 269. Whether indoor or outdoor, the dead reckoning engine 233 can provide a power saving mode or provide a fallback capability for location services, [0042]-[0043]).
Claims 3, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russel, in view of Liu and further in view of Vare et al. (US 20130121229, hereinafter “Vare”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Russel and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Russel and Liu does not disclose, wherein the first wireless communication network is a cellular network and the second wireless communication network is a satellite network.
In the same field of endeavor, Vare discloses, wherein the first wireless communication network is a cellular network (Fig. 1B; 101) and the second wireless communication network is a satellite network (Fig. 1B; 107).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Russel and Liu by specifically providing wherein the first wireless communication network is a cellular network and the second wireless communication network is a satellite network, as taught by Vare for the purpose of performing a handover to the satellite-transmitted signal when the electronic device moves into a satellite coverage area [0003].
Regarding claim 28, Russell discloses,
A method for switching between communication networks, comprising:
receiving one or more signals via a terrestrial wireless communication network with a mobile device (the small coverage area device 110 provides cellular or wireless fidelity (WiFi) or wireless broadband service to a small coverage area 140 generally intended to be limited to at least a portion of an interior space within a structure 142, [0031]);
detecting, at the mobile device, one or more signals from at least one satellite of a global navigation satellite system (Location service 106 (FIG. 1) can be provided by a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), such as Global Positioning System (GPS), Globalnaya navigatsionnaya sputnikovaya sistema (GLONASS), GALILEO or BeiDou Navigation Satellite System (BDS). In the example portable device 100, location service 106 is provided by GPS 106a, [0037]);
determining, at the mobile device, that the mobile device is in an outdoor location based on one or more sensor measurements from one or more sensors of the mobile device ( At least one sensor 112 generates sensor data 114 that can be utilized as contextual information 116 that may be used to assist in differentiating between an indoor space 118 versus an outdoor space 120 of the portable communication device 100. The at least one sensor 112 can be on-device, i.e., commonly housed within the portable communication device 100, or can optionally be external to (see 112' depicted in phantom), but moving with the portable communication device 100. As an example of the external sensor 112', the sensor can be an accessory device worn or carried by the user (see, for example, 100', FIG. 2) and which can provide additional sensed or detected data, [0025]) ;
determining, at the mobile device, that a communication network is available based at least in part on detecting the one or more signals from the at least one satellite of the global navigation satellite system and determining that the mobile device is in the outdoor location (In the data structure 400, context D can be described as walking outside of home. This conclusion can be corroborated by a cellular RAN signal increasing or remaining consistently strong whereas a small coverage area signal is weakening. GPS can have a higher strength with a changing, greater number of visible/receivable signals from SVs. A dead reckoning sensor or other location service can indicate pedestrian speed movement with a trajectory away from the home. Appointment information can confirm that the user is scheduled to be away from the home, Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 and [0059]-[0061]); and
detaching, based at least in part on determining the communication network is available, the mobile device from the terrestrial wireless communication network and activating a satellite communication mode on the mobile device ( the portable communication device 100 can capture sensor data and contextual information associated with the hard handover for future opportunities at the current location. The portable communication device 100 can also seed a dead reckoning engine with the last location determined from the outside location service. Similarly, as depicted at 520 the portable communication device 100 can encounter a hard handover from indoor operating state 516 to the outdoor operating state 512 going from a small coverage area device to a cellular RAN, [0067]-[0070).
However, Russel does not disclose, determining, at the mobile device, that the mobile device is in an outdoor location and in line of sight of the at least one satellite based on one or more sensor measurements from one or more sensors of the mobile device and determining, at the mobile device, that a satellite communication network is available based at least in part on detecting the one or more signals from the at least one satellite of the global navigation satellite system and determining that the mobile device is in the outdoor location and in line of sight of the at least one satellite. In the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, determining, at the mobile device, that the mobile device is in an outdoor location (At block 802, the method can approximate a location of a mobile device based upon a last accurate GPS reading, [0092]) and in line of sight of the at least one satellite (At block 804, the method can identify expected GPS data from a set of GPS satellites that should be in line of sight to the mobile device based upon the last accurate GPS reading and ephemeris information, [0093]) based on one or more sensor measurements from one or more sensors of the mobile device and determining, at the mobile device, that a satellite communication network is available based at least in part on detecting the one or more signals from the at least one satellite of the global navigation satellite system and determining that the mobile device is in the outdoor location and in line of sight of the at least one satellite (Cell hardware 234, Wi-Fi hardware 236, gyroscope 238, accelerometer 240, and magnetometer 242 can function as relative location mechanisms that provide location and/or movement data in relation to an absolute location. For example, gyroscope 238, accelerometer 240, and magnetometer 242 can sense movement of the mobile device from an absolute location determined by the GPS hardware 232. Similarly, the Wi-Fi hardware can detect one or more wireless access points. The location of the wireless access points may be obtained from data store 208 to estimate movement of the mobile device since the last absolute location was obtained, [0020]-[0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective the filing date of claimed invention to modify Russel by specifically providing determining, at the mobile device, that the mobile device is in an outdoor location and in line of sight of the at least one satellite based on one or more sensor measurements from one or more sensors of the mobile device and determining, at the mobile device, that a satellite communication network is available based at least in part on detecting the one or more signals from the at least one satellite of the global navigation satellite system and determining that the mobile device is in the outdoor location and in line of sight of the at least one satellite, as taught by Liu for the purpose of predicting future effects of the obstruction on the mobile device based at least in part on a location of the obstruction and a direction of travel of the mobile device [0003].
Further, the combination of Russel and Liu does not explicitly disclose, switching from terrestrial wireless communication network to satellite communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, Vare discloses, switching from terrestrial wireless communication network to satellite communication network (Fig. 9; steps 902-910).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Russel and Liu by specifically providing switching from terrestrial wireless communication network to satellite communication network, as taught by Vare for the purpose of performing a handover to the satellite-transmitted signal when the electronic device moves into a satellite coverage area [0003].
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Russel, Liu and Vare discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), further Russel discloses, wherein detecting the one or more signals from the at least one satellite includes detecting a satellite identification code (Location service 106 (FIG. 1) can be provided by a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), such as Global Positioning System (GPS), Globalnaya navigatsionnaya sputnikovaya sistema (GLONASS), GALILEO or BeiDou Navigation Satellite System (BDS). In the example portable device 100, location service 106 is provided by GPS 106a, [0037]).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russel, in view of Liu and further in view of Ma et al. (US 20210194571, hereinafter “Ma”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Russel and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3), however the combination of Russel and Liu does not disclose, wherein the first wireless communication network is a first satellite network and the second wireless communication network is a second satellite network, separate from the first satellite network.
In the same field of endeavor, Ma discloses, wherein the first wireless communication network is a first satellite network and the second wireless communication network is a second satellite network, separate from the first satellite network (FIG 5 illustrates multiple satellite TRPs 410a-410b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Russel and Liu by specifically providing wherein the first wireless communication network is a first satellite network and the second wireless communication network is a second satellite network, separate from the first satellite network, as taught by Ma for the purpose of providing a more flexible communication system with extended wireless coverage range and enhanced service quality compared to conventional communication systems (abstract).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Russel, Liu and Ma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4), in addition Ma discloses, receiving one or more signals from a cellular network concurrently with receiving one or more signals on the first wireless communication network, and receiving one or more signals from the cellular network concurrently with receiving one or more signals on the second wireless communication network (The communication system 400 includes several examples of multiple simultaneous connections being formed to different types of TRPs. In one example, the UE 402b has formed simultaneous connections with the satellite TRP 410a, the flying TRP 406a and the terrestrial TRP 404, Fig. 4 and [0157]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russel and further in view of Hassan et al. (US 11075689, hereinafter “Hassan”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Russel and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), the combination of Russel and Liu does not explicitly disclose, “receiving a satellite observation forecast, wherein determining the second wireless communication network is available is based on an indication of one or more detectable satellite vehicles at the location and the time.”
In the same field of endeavor, Hassan discloses, “receiving a satellite observation forecast, wherein determining the second wireless communication network is available is based on an indication of one or more detectable satellite vehicles at the location and the time (the computing server 145 identifies the path data by obtaining or receiving satellite ephemeris data from the satellite network control station 150 (e.g., from a computing system associated with the satellite control station) or from one or more satellites in the satellite network 115. The computing server 115 then extracts the location data and associated timing data from the satellite ephemeris data, such as by parsing or processing by any suitable means, a data structure that includes ephemeris data, Col. 8; lines 58-Col. 9; lines 10).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Russel and Liu by specifically providing receiving a satellite observation forecast, wherein determining the second wireless communication network is available is based on an indication of one or more detectable satellite vehicles at the location and the time, as taught by Hassan for the purpose of improving satellite communications by increasing that likelihood that the computing device will be in range of a satellite that is useful for achieving the communication objective (abstract).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Russel, Liu and Hassan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7), in addition Hassan discloses, “wherein the satellite observation forecast is received from a network station (the computing server 145 identifies the path data by obtaining or receiving satellite ephemeris data from the satellite network control station 150 (e.g., from a computing system associated with the satellite control station) or from one or more satellites in the satellite network 115. The computing server 115 then extracts the location data and associated timing data from the satellite ephemeris data, such as by parsing or processing by any suitable means, a data structure that includes ephemeris data, Col. 8; lines 58-Col. 9; lines 10).”
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russel, in view of Liu, in view of Hassan and further in view of Uchiyama (US 20180255525, hereinafter “Uchiy”.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Russel, Liu and Hassan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7), however the combination of Russel, Liu and Hassan does not disclose, “wherein the satellite observation forecast is received from a proximate user equipment via a sidelink.”
In the same field of endeavor, Uchiy does not disclose, “wherein the satellite observation forecast is received from a proximate user equipment via a sidelink (the UE 20F receives a synchronization signal (GNSS signal) from the GPS satellite 40 which acts as a source device, acquires synchronization timings based on the synchronization signal, and transmits a synchronization signal. Additionally, the UE 20G uses the synchronization signal transmitted from the UE 20F to acquire synchronization timings, [0117]-[0120]).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Russel, Liu and Hassan by specifically providing wherein the satellite observation forecast is received from a proximate user equipment via a sidelink, as taught by Uchiy for the purpose of performing a synchronization process based on a determination that the electronic device is moving toward a location at which at least one of the synchronization signals is not available (abstract).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russel, in view of Liu and further in view of Sayed (US 20120270563, hereinafter “Sayed”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Russel and Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Russel and Liu does not disclose, providing satellite observation information to a network server, wherein the satellite observation information is based on signals received from the first wireless communication network, the second wireless communication network, or both.
In the same field of endeavor, Sayed discloses, providing satellite observation information to a network server, wherein the satellite observation information is based on signals received from the first wireless communication network, the second wireless communication network, or both (The user (by way of the invention's software application running on the user's mobile device, and the invention's host server software) can then use the mobile device to establish a communications link with the host internet server, transmit the user's present location and map viewing location of his or her mobile device to the host internet server, and also transmit at least a maximum communication thread viewing radius and one or more communication thread categories (e.g. a request to show the user some or all of the various event, housing, marketplace, and so on categories) to the host internet server, [0020]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Russel and Liu by specifically providing satellite observation information to a network server, wherein the satellite observation information is based on signals received from the first wireless communication network, the second wireless communication network, or both, as taught by Sayed for the purpose of providing location based wireless communication (abstract).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russel, in view of Liu in view of Vare and further in view of Sayed.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Russel, Liu and Vare discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Russel, Liu and Vare does not disclose, providing satellite observation information to a network server, wherein the satellite observation information is based on signals received from the first wireless communication network, the second wireless communication network, or both.
In the same field of endeavor, Sayed discloses, providing satellite observation information to a network server, wherein the satellite observation information is based on signals received from the first wireless communication network, the second wireless communication network, or both (The user (by way of the invention's software application running on the user's mobile device, and the invention's host server software) can then use the mobile device to establish a communications link with the host internet server, transmit the user's present location and map viewing location of his or her mobile device to the host internet server, and also transmit at least a maximum communication thread viewing radius and one or more communication thread categories (e.g. a request to show the user some or all of the various event, housing, marketplace, and so on categories) to the host internet server, [0020]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Russel, Liu and Vare by specifically providing satellite observation information to a network server, wherein the satellite observation information is based on signals received from the first wireless communication network, the second wireless communication network, or both, as taught by Sayed for the purpose of providing location based wireless communication (abstract).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20240012084: A method for facilitating position information determination includes: sending, from a UE, an uplink reference signal to one or more base stations and a request for positioning resources to a network entity; receiving, at the UE from one or more of the one or more base stations, a plurality of first downlink reference signals in a first plurality of beams in response to the uplink reference signal and the request; determining, at the UE, a second plurality of beams, from the first plurality of beams, based on one or more respective measurements of the plurality of first downlink reference signals..
US 20230413141: According to some embodiments, a method performed by a wireless device comprises: receiving a broadcast of full ephemeris data for a serving cell satellite, the broadcast of full ephemeris data occurring at a first periodicity; determining a position of the serving cell satellite based on the full ephemeris data; receiving a broadcast of delta ephemeris data for the serving cell satellite, the broadcast of delta ephemeris data occurring at a second periodicity more frequent than the first periodicity; and determining a position of the serving cell satellite based on the full ephemeris data and the delta ephemeris data.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641