Response to RCE
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicants claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and (f). The certified copy has been filed in parent application JP2021-020160 filed on 02/10/2021.
Claim Objection
Claims 3 and 4 recites the limitation “can”, the limitation is ambiguous. Examiner recommends removing the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the third angle". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sakaguchi (US20190351546) in view of Spenninger (US20220347866) and Ojima (US20180264651) and Greer (US20100174410).
Regarding claim 1, Sakaguchi teaches a robot system, comprising a robot, a control device for controlling the robot, and a teaching device, wherein the teaching device generates an operation program for executing an operation of a robot having a robot arm, the control device storing the operation program generated by the teaching device, the robot arm has a proximal arm and a distal arm, the proximal arm including a first arm and a second arm rotatably coupled to the first arm, the control device has a first processor, a memory and an interface circuit, and a command signal generated by the first processor is transmitted to the robot via the interface circuit so the robot arm can execute a predetermined task, the teaching device comprising ([0028]-[0032] disclosing a multi-articular arm robot including at least a first and second arm and a third arm rotatably connected to each other and rotates around their axis, Fig 1 shows at least the arm 22 and arm 23 rotatably connected to each other is a proximal arm and arm 26 is a distal arms, the wrist 24 could also be the distal arm. [0036] disclosing a control system that stores operations and motions taught by the teacher and controls the robot motion based on the motion program. [0041] disclosing a teaching mode to teach the robot to execute an operation. [0119]-[0121] disclosing processor, memory and a network circuit interface that communicates the operation unit commands to the robot to move according to the operation command):
A screen displaying ([0055] disclosing a display for displaying an operation screen including image of angle indicators).
a first icon showing a first attitude that is a state where an angle formed by the first arm and the second arm of the robot arm is a first angle ([0055] disclosing a display for displaying an operation screen including image of angle indicators “icon”. [0082] and figure 4 discloses displaying angle limits for each joint “joint angle formed between the first and second arm”, the angle includes at least an angle limit 562 which is a lower angle limit “first icon showing first attitude”),
a second icon showing a second attitude that is a state where the angle formed by the first arm and the second arm of the robot arm is a second angle that is different from the first angle ([0055] disclosing a display for displaying an operation screen including image of angle indicators “icon”. [0082] and figure 4 discloses displaying angle limits for each joint “joint angle formed between the first and second arm”, the angle includes at least an angle limit 563 which is a upper angle limit “second icon showing second attitude”), and
a first operation unit accepting an operation of designating a third attitude that is a state where the angle formed by the first arm and the second arm of the robot arm is a third angle equal to or greater than the first angle and equal to or smaller than the second angle ([0037]-[0040] disclosing the operation device for controlling the robot joint angle and the setting of the joint angles according to the target positions set by the operation units. [0039] disclosing an operation specified by control command which joint target angle “third attitude” is set “designated” based on the command. [0041] disclosing the motion is generated based on the motion teaching operation input. [0042] disclosing the operation input is inputted by touching the screen by an operator. [0044] disclosing detecting position on the screen of the based on an input on the touch panel to control the robot based on the input. [0055], [0082] and figure 4 discloses a status angle “third angle” is greater than the lower limit “first angle” and smaller than the upper limit “second angle” which is a current angle of the joint which is interpreted to be a joint angle between first and a second arm is formed between the upper limit and lower limit. [0157] disclosing the angle status “third attitude” and the angle limits “first and second angles” provides the operator with knowledge of the movable limit of the robot, it is interpreted that the operation is accepted when the third angle is between the first and the second angles.. from figures 3, 4, 5 all show input in an operation screen that can change the joint angle of the robot, 421-433 controls of figure 3 are first operation unit that designates a joint angle based on the position of the end effector designated, also 522 of figure 4 and similarly figures 5-7, see [0039] about inverse kinematics to calculate the joint angles of the robot based on the leading end position set by the teaching mode using the operation unit); and
a second processor programmed to generate generating the operation program, based on the third attitude designated at the first operation unit ([0039] disclosing an operation specified by control command which joint target angle “third attitude” is set “designated” based on the command and controlling the robot based on the joint angle, i.e., third attitude. [0119] discloses including at least one processor, i.e., a second processor).
Wherein the screen displays a second operation unit for designating a position of a control point set for the robot arm and then performing an operation of changing the attitude of the robot arm ([0066] at least and figure 5 shows the controls 530 that can change the attitude of the arm in one dimension, [0067] disclosing the motion scalar quantity by which the leading end moves is determined based on the movement on the input with respect to a reference point in the screen image), the first operation unit is configured to perform an operation of changing the attitude of the robot arm ([0055]-[0058] and figures 4-7 disclosing the input operation unit area 522 that changes the attitude of the robot arm lead end point based on a point pressed inputted on the screen), the second operation unit is configured to perform an operation of changing the attitude of the robot arm in a world coordinate system set for the space where the robot exists ([0057] at least discloses the first coordinate system in which the movement of the leading end of the robot based on an input “first or second operation unit input” is based on. The fixed coordinate system is defined with respect to the base in the real world where the robot exists).
The screen displays the first operation unit and the second operation unit simultaneously (at least figures 4-7 disclosing the input operation controls 522 “first operation unit” and the input operation controls 521/530 in the same screen simultaneously),
The second operation unit is at least one of a button (figures 4-7 and [0066] disclosing point operations in a target areas 533A and B, i.e., buttons pressed representing the second operation unit “521”).
Sakaguchi does not specifically teach an angle formed by the first arm and the second arm of the robot arm is a “first angle, second angle or third angle”; The first operation unit is at least a knob or a slide bar; in a joint coordinate system set for joints of the robot arm.
Spenninger teaches an angle formed by the first arm and the second arm of the robot arm is a “first angle, second angle or third angle” ([0014] disclosing a joint angle formed between two respective members of the robotic manipulator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Sakaguchi to incorporate the teaching of Spenninger of an angle formed by the first arm and the second arm of the robot arm is a “first angle, second angle or third angle”, it would have been obvious to try to modify the joint angle of Sakaguchi with an angle formed between the first arm and the second arm from among predictable solutions for controlling the robot with a reasonable expectation of success and would yield to gradual and granular control of the joint angles of the robot.
Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger does not teach in a joint coordinate system set for joints of the robot arm; The first operation unit is at least a knob or a slide bar.
Ojima teaches in a joint coordinate system set for joints of the robot arm ([026] disclosing a joint coordinate system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teaching of Ojima of a joint coordinate system in order to convert the first coordinate system into a joint coordinate system for controlling the multi-axis robot as taught by Ojima.
Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima does not teach the first operation unit is at least a knob or a slide bar.
Greer teaches the operation unit is at least a knob or a slide bar ([0032] disclosing a slider bar to control the orientation “angle” and position of the robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teaching of Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima to incorporate the teaching of Greer of the operation unit is at least a knob or a slide bar in order to allow a user to use any suitable input means to perform any of a variety of functions, including to select elements in order to define and store one or more automated movements (e.g., by selecting two or more tool positions and orientations, such as a tool tip position and a tool axis orientation as taught by Greer [0032].
Regarding claim 2, Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer teaches the robot system according to claim 1. Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer further teaches wherein the first operation unit has a slider bar that can continuously change the third angle. However, Sakaguchi teaches the third angle [0039].
Specifically, Greer teaches wherein the first operation unit has a slider bar that can continuously change the angle ([0032] disclosing a slider bar to control the orientation “angle” and position of the robot. It is interpreted that the slider changes the orientation continuously since a slider slides through a set of position continuously, making the robot control continuously move through a set of positions and angles).
Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Szalek and Greer are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, robotic control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Szalek to incorporate the teaching of Greer of wherein the first operation unit has a slider bar that can continuously change the third angle in order to allow a user to use any suitable input means to perform any of a variety of functions, including to select elements in order to define and store one or more automated movements (e.g., by selecting two or more tool positions and orientations, such as a tool tip position and a tool axis orientation as taught by Greer [0032].
Regarding claim 3, Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Koenig and Greer teaches the robot system according to claim 1, wherein the first operation unit has a button that can change the third angle stepwise (Sakaguchi figure 3 and [0055]-[0059] disclosing the changing the position and angle of a robot leading tip via the buttons that can change the angle and position in increments, i.e., stepwise. It is interpreted from the citation that a joint angle is also changed in increments based on the increments of change of the arm positions and angles.).
Regarding claim 9, Sakaguchi teaches a teaching method for a robot system comprising a robot, a control device for controlling the robot, and a teaching device, wherein the teaching device generates an operation program for executing an operation of a robot having a robot arm, the control device storing the operation program generated by the teaching device, the robot arm has a proximal arm and a distal arm, the proximal arm including a first arm and a second arm rotatably coupled to the first arm, the control device has a first processor, a memory and an interface circuit, and a command signal generated by the first processor is transmitted to the robot via the interface circuit so the robot arm can execute a predetermined task, the teaching method comprising ([0028]-[0032] disclosing a multi-articular arm robot including at least a first and second arm and a third arm rotatably connected to each other and rotates around their axis, Fig 1 shows at least the arm 22 and arm 23 rotatably connected to each other is a proximal arm and arm 26 is a distal arms, the wrist 24 could also be the distal arm. [0036] disclosing a control system that stores operations and motions taught by the teacher and controls the robot motion based on the motion program. [0041] disclosing a teaching mode to teach the robot to execute an operation. [0119]-[0121] disclosing processor, memory and a network circuit interface that communicates the operation unit commands to the robot to move according to the operation command):
a display step of displaying a first icon showing a first attitude that is a state where an angle formed by a first arm and a second arm rotatably coupled to the first arm of the robot arm is a first angle, a second icon showing a second attitude that is a state where the angle formed by the first arm and the second arm of the robot arm is a second angle that is different from the first angle, and a first operation unit accepting an operation of designating a third attitude that is a state where the angle formed by the first arm and the second arm of the robot arm is a third angle equal to or greater than the first angle and equal to or smaller than the second angle ([0055] disclosing a display for displaying an operation screen including image of angle indicators “icon”. [0082] and figure 4 discloses displaying angle limits for each joint “joint angle formed between the first and second arm”, the angle includes at least an angle limit 562 which is a lower angle limit “first icon showing first attitude”. [0082] and figure 4 discloses displaying angle limits for each joint “joint angle formed between the first and second arm”, the angle includes at least an angle limit 563 which is a upper angle limit “second icon showing second attitude”. ([0037]-[0040] disclosing the operation device for controlling the robot joint angle and the setting of the joint angles according to the target positions set by the operation units. [0039] disclosing an operation specified by control command which joint target angle “third attitude” is set “designated” based on the command. [0041] disclosing the motion is generated based on the motion teaching operation input. [0042] disclosing the operation input is inputted by touching the screen by an operator. [0044] disclosing detecting position on the screen of the based on an input on the touch panel to control the robot based on the input. [0055], [0082] and figure 4 discloses a status angle “third angle” is greater than the lower limit “first angle” and smaller than the upper limit “second angle” which is a current angle of the joint which is interpreted to be a joint angle between first and a second arm is formed between the upper limit and lower limit. [0157] disclosing the angle status “third attitude” and the angle limits “first and second angles” provides the operator with knowledge of the movable limit of the robot, it is interpreted that the operation is accepted when the third angle is between the first and the second angles.. from figures 3, 4, 5 all show input in an operation screen that can change the joint angle of the robot, 421-433 controls of figure 3 are first operation unit that designates a joint angle based on the position of the end effector designated, also 522 of figure 4 and similarly figures 5-7, see [0039] about inverse kinematics to calculate the joint angles of the robot based on the leading end position set by the teaching mode using the operation unit);); and
an operation program generation step of accepting information about
the third attitude designated at the first operation unit ([0157] disclosing the angle status “third attitude” and the angle limits “first and second angles” provides the operator with knowledge of the movable limit of the robot, it is interpreted that the operation is accepted when the third angle is between the first and the second angles),
and generating an operation program for executing an operation of a robot having the robot arm, based on the information about the third attitude that is accepted ([0039] disclosing an operation specified by control command which joint target angle “third attitude” is set “designated” based on the command and controlling the robot based on the joint angle, i.e., third attitude which is interpreted as being accepted).
Sakaguchi does not specifically teach an angle formed by the first arm and the second arm of the robot arm is a “first angle, second angle or third angle”.
Spenninger teaches an angle formed by the first arm and the second arm of the robot arm is a “first angle, second angle or third angle” ([0014] disclosing a joint angle formed between two respective members of the robotic manipulator).
Sakaguchi and Spenninger are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, robotic control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Sakaguchi to incorporate the teaching of Spenninger of an angle formed by the first arm and the second arm of the robot arm is a “first angle, second angle or third angle”, it would have been obvious to try to modify the joint angle of Sakaguchi with an angle formed between the first arm and the second arm from among a finite number of solutions to control the robot movement which would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success and would yield to gradual and granular control of the joint angles of the robot.
Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger does not teach in a joint coordinate system set for joints of the robot arm; The first operation unit is at least a knob or a slide bar.
Ojima teaches in a joint coordinate system set for joints of the robot arm ([026] disclosing a joint coordinate system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teaching of Ojima of a joint coordinate system in order to convert the first coordinate system into a joint coordinate system for controlling the multi-axis robot as taught by Ojima.
Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima does not teach the first operation unit is at least a knob or a slide bar.
Greer teaches the operation unit is at least a knob or a slide bar ([0032] disclosing a slider bar to control the orientation “angle” and position of the robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teaching of Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima to incorporate the teaching of Greer of the operation unit is at least a knob or a slide bar in order to allow a user to use any suitable input means to perform any of a variety of functions, including to select elements in order to define and store one or more automated movements (e.g., by selecting two or more tool positions and orientations, such as a tool tip position and a tool axis orientation as taught by Greer [0032].
Claim 10 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 9, see above rejection.
Claims 4-5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sakaguchi (US20190351546) in view of Spenninger (US20220347866) and Ojima (US20180264651) and Greer (US20100174410) and Yamamoto (US20180311825).
Regarding claim 4, Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer teaches the robot system according to claim 1. Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Szalek does not teach wherein a rotating arm of the first arm and the second arm is displayed differently in the first icon and the second icon.
Yamamoto teaches wherein a rotating arm of the first arm and the second arm is displayed differently in the first icon and the second icon (figure3 vs figure 12 shows display wherein a first arm and a second arm are shown at different angles. If figure 3 is interpreted as incorporating a first icon and figure 12 as incorporating a second icon which is an attitude and orientation of the angles, then the first arm and second arm are displayed differently in each icon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer to incorporate the teaching of Yamamoto of wherein a rotating arm of the first arm and the second arm is displayed differently in the first icon and the second icon in order to visually distinguish the robot models displayed as taught by Yamamoto [0062].
Claim 5, Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer and Yamamoto teaches the robot system according to claim 4. Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer and Yamamoto does not yet teach wherein an indicator showing a direction in which the rotating arm of the first arm and the second arm moves is displayed in the first icon and the second icon.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein an indicator showing a direction in which the rotating arm of the first arm and the second arm moves is displayed in the first icon and the second icon (figures 3 and 12 disclose a direction in which both arms in the display are moved. If figure 3 is interpreted as incorporating the first icon and figure 12 as incorporating the second icon, then the arrow in figure 3 and 12 represent a direction of movement of both arms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer and Yamamoto to incorporate the teaching of Yamamoto of wherein an indicator showing a direction in which the rotating arm of the first arm and the second arm moves is displayed in the first icon and the second icon in order to visually distinguish the robot models displayed as taught by Yamamoto [0062].
Regarding claim 7, Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer teaches the robot system according to claim 1. Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer does not teach wherein the display unit has a virtual robot display unit displaying a virtual robot, and the virtual robot in an attitude linked to an operation of the first operation unit is displayed on the virtual robot display unit.
Yamamoto teaches wherein the display unit has a virtual robot display unit displaying a virtual robot ([figures 3 and 12 shows virtual robot displayed on a display), and
the virtual robot in an attitude linked to an operation of the first operation unit is displayed on the virtual robot display unit (figures 3 and 12 discloses the attitude of the robot changes with operating the touch screen “first operation unit” and is displayed in the changed attitude).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer to incorporate the teaching of Yamamoto of wherein the display unit has a virtual robot display unit displaying a virtual robot and the virtual robot in an attitude linked to an operation of the first operation unit is displayed on the virtual robot display unit in order to visually distinguish the robot models displayed as taught by Yamamoto [0062].
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sakaguchi (US20190351546) in view of Spenninger (US20220347866) and Ojima (US20180264651) and Greer (US20100174410) and Albright (US20200301568).
Regarding claim 6, Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer teaches the robot system according to claim 1, Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer does not teach wherein the first angle is an angle representing a movement range limit of the robot arm or an angle within 20° from the movement range limit, and the second angle is an angle representing the movement range limit of the robot arm or an angle within 20° from the movement range limit.
Albright teaches wherein the first angle is an angle representing a movement range limit of the robot arm or an angle within 20° from the movement range limit ([0049] disclosing a range of movement limit for the robot arm. [0055] disclosing the range includes angle ranges, a range is interpreted to include a first and second angle), and
the second angle is an angle representing the movement range limit of the robot arm or an angle within 20° from the movement range limit ([0049] disclosing a range of movement limit for the robot arm. [0055] disclosing the range includes angle ranges, a range is interpreted to include a first and second angle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer to incorporate the teaching of Albright of the second angle is an angle representing the movement range limit of the robot arm or an angle within 20° from the movement range limit in order to limit the movement of the robot arm outside of an acceptable range as taught by Albright [0049].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sakaguchi (US20190351546) in view of Spenninger (US20220347866) and Ojima (US20180264651) and Greer (US20100174410) and Szalek (US20120130541).
Regarding claim 11, Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer teaches the robot system of claim 1. Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer does not teach wherein the screen displays a switching button for switching between a mode for performing an operation of designating the proximal arm to change the attitude of the robot arm and a mode for performing an operation of designating the distal arm to change the attitude of the robot arm.
Szalek teaches switching button for switching between a mode for performing an operation of designating the proximal arm to change the attitude of the robot arm and a mode for performing an operation of designating the distal arm to change the attitude of the robot arm ([0015] disclosing a switch to select between the arm “proximal” or wrist “distal arm” control. [0022] disclosing discloses switching between the robot arm teaching mode and the wrist teaching mode, see [0022] and claim 2. It is interpreted from the citations that the switch button switches between the proximal arm and the distal arm changing the attitude of the robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Sakaguchi as modified by Spenninger and Ojima and Greer to incorporate the teaching of Szalek of switching button for switching between a mode for performing an operation of designating the proximal arm to change the attitude of the robot arm and a mode for performing an operation of designating the distal arm to change the attitude of the robot arm in order to make it possible to guide the robot arms without applying the force to the wrist itself, thus not affecting the wrist position as taught by Szalek [0015].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/15/2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 U.S.C. 101 rejection: incorporating the robotic arm control steps overcomes the 101 rejection.
35 U.S.C. 103 rejection: with respect to applicant’s arguments regarding cancelled claim 8 and amended subject matter of claim 1, Sakaguchi discloses the operation input unit that controls the position and orientation of the robotic arm, see at least [0037]-[0055], see full rejection above. Sakaguchi at least in figures 4-7 discloses displaying at least two different operation input units for controlling the robotic arm position simultaneously.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited in PTO-892 and not mentioned above disclose related devices and methods.
US20180079090 discloses a slider bar to control the robotic arm.
US20210252713 discloses limiting a robot within position and orientation range.
/MOHAMAD O EL SAYAH/Examiner, Art Unit 3664B