DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17, 19-20 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Versini (US 20100215808) [provided in IDS].
Regarding claim 15, Versini discloses “a pod” (abstract, i.e., a capsule and capsule envelope and fig.1) “for holding beverage material” (intended use. Fig.1, 2), “the pod” (fig.1) comprising:
“a holder” (fig.1, 3), and
“a wrapper” (fig.1, 4) fully enclosing “the holder” (fig.1, 3), “the wrapper defining an exterior of the pod” (fig.1, 4) and “unattached to the holder” (fig.1, 3), wherein “the exterior of the pod” (fig.1, 4) “is configured to be punctured to form an exterior inlet and an exterior outlet” (abstract, i.e., for puncturing the capsule envelope … said conditioning envelope is adapted to be punctured on essentially any portion of its surface. This suggest that the exterior of pod 4 is capable of being punctured to form an exterior inlet and an exterior outlet. Examiner noted that the exterior inlet and exterior outlet formed is not part of the original product (hence, a pod), the inlet and outlet forms after piercing process);
wherein “the holder and wrapper do not require joining and remain separate from each other when assembled together to define the pod” (fig.1 shows the holder 3 and the wrapper 4 do not require joining and remain separate from each other when assembled together to define the pod).
Regarding claim 16, Versini discloses “the holder has an extruded shape” (fig.1 shows he holder 3 has an extruded shape on the right hand portion with respect to a horizontal center line of cross-sectional view).
Regarding claim 17, Versini discloses “the holder comprises at least two flat sides parallel to each other” (annotated fig.1 shows two flat surface or sides parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 19, Versini discloses “the holder defines a rigid structure of the pod” (holder has a sufficient rigid structure in order to hold ingredients. Examiner noted that “rigid” is a relative term).
Regarding claim 20, Versini discloses “the holder” (3) includes “at least one opening” (the holder 3 is a filter envelope. See para.0032, i.e., filtering envelope is advantageously constituted by a porous woven or non-woven material. This suggest that the filter inherently has a openings because it must be porous material allowing air or liquid to pass through) having “at least a portion” (user defined portion of the holder 3) aligning with “the exterior outlet to define a fluid outlet” (Examiner noted that the exterior inlet and exterior outlet formed is not part of the original product (hence, a pod), the inlet and outlet forms after piercing process)
Regarding claim 25, Versini discloses “the wrapper is a single piece of material” (4 is a single piece of material when assembled).
Regarding claim 26, Versini discloses “the wrapper is snug fit around the holder” (the gap between the wrapper 4 and the holder 3 is small to allow snug fit).
Claim(s) 15, 21 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Versini (US 20100215808) [provided in IDS]. (interpretation with respect to aperture).
Regarding claim 15, Versini discloses “a pod” (abstract, i.e., a capsule and capsule envelope and fig.1) “for holding beverage material” (intended use. Fig.1, 2), “the pod” (fig.1) comprising:
“a holder” (fig.1, 3), and
“a wrapper” (fig.1, 4) fully enclosing “the holder” (fig.1, 3), “the wrapper defining an exterior of the pod” (fig.1, 4) and “unattached to the holder” (fig.1, 3), wherein “the exterior of the pod” (fig.1, 4) “is configured to be punctured to form an exterior inlet and an exterior outlet” (abstract, i.e., for puncturing the capsule envelope … said conditioning envelope is adapted to be punctured on essentially any portion of its surface. This suggest that the exterior of pod 4 is capable of being punctured to form an exterior inlet and an exterior outlet. Examiner noted that the exterior inlet and exterior outlet formed is not part of the original product (hence, a pod), the inlet and outlet forms after piercing process);
wherein “the holder and wrapper do not require joining and remain separate from each other when assembled together to define the pod” (fig.1 shows the holder 3 and the wrapper 4 do not require joining and remain separate from each other when assembled together to define the pod).
Regarding claim 21, Versini discloses “the holder includes at least one aperture having at least a portion” (the holder 3 is a filter envelope. See para.0032, i.e., filtering envelope is advantageously constituted by a porous woven or non-woven material. This suggest that the filter inherently has openings because it must be porous material allowing air or liquid to pass through) aligning with “the exterior inlet to define a fluid inlet” (Examiner noted that the exterior inlet and exterior outlet formed is not part of the original product (hence, a pod), the inlet and outlet forms after piercing process).
Regarding claim 36, Versini discloses “the at least one aperture is two apertures that overlap to define a common aperture having at least a portion” (the holder 3 is a filter envelope. See para.0032, i.e., filtering envelope is advantageously constituted by a porous woven or non-woven material. This suggest that the filter inherently has openings because it must be porous material allowing air or liquid to pass through. A user defined area can be a common aperture formed by the apertures having at least a portion) aligning with “the exterior inlet to define the fluid inlet” (Examiner noted that the exterior inlet and exterior outlet formed is not part of the original product (hence, a pod), the inlet and outlet forms after piercing process).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Versini (US 20100215808) [provided in IDS] in view of Design Choice.
Regarding claim 18, Versini discloses “the extruded shape is a annotated fig.1).
Versini is silent regarding the shape is cuboid shape.
However, the applicant has not disclosed that “cuboid shape” solves any stated problem or provides any unexpected results. The examiner notes that cuboid shape just for design configuration. As such, the examiner considers this limitation to be a design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious as a matter of design choice to modify Versini having cuboid shape as proposed by the applicant, since the applicant has not disclosed that cuboid shape solves any stated problem or provides any unexpected results and it appears that a protrusion with a shape would perform equally well, since cuboid shape just for design configuration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 27-35 are allowed.
Claims 22-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-26 and 36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 04/23/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761